Bee & Thistle Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
131 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

great experience

4,8 su ottobre 19, 2014

very friendly and helpful hosts, upgrade in the wonderful lion´s suite, delicious breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits, great location next to a variety of all kinds of restaurants


Outstanding B & B

5 su ottobre 05, 2014

The Bee and Thistle made our last stop in North America memorable for all the right reasons. From Lyn and Michael's personalized and attentive service, to the wonderful decor of Molly's room and the delicious breakfasts. Thanks again and full marks.


Wonderful home away from home!

4,6 su settembre 27, 2014

We stayed at the Bee & Thistle for 5 nights. The house and our room was lovely and even tho our hosts Lynn and Michael were taking a week off to do some work to the house they still made themselves available to the guests which was really appreciated and provided daily cleaning of our room. We were warned in advance that no breakfasts would be provided during this week (which was fine as there were many restaurants in the vicinity) so hard to rate the dining but if the cookies which were left in our room were anything to go by they would have been very tasty. The B&B is in East Vancouver but we were easily able to get to the city and tourist attractions by bus or bus and sky train. Lynn & Michael made us feel very welcome and I highly recommend this B&B.


Very comfortable and clean rooms

3,6 su settembre 26, 2014

We gave 2 stars for service because it wasn't until after the first night we were there that we were notified that there would be no towel or trash service for 7 days because the inkeepers were taking a week off. We were not given this sort of warning when we made our reservations, nor at any time prior to arriving there. We had been warned that there would be no breakfast the second morning we were there, but didn't realize (or connect the dots, I guess) that there would also be no other services provided (breakfast included) for the next 7 days. Fortunately, we were leaving after the second morning anyway, so the lack of other services didn't impact us too much.


Brilliant breakfast B&B

5 su settembre 25, 2014

We stayed 6 days in the Lions Den, the top floor. It is self contained and a lovely space to relax when you are all walked out from sightseeing. The breakfasts are continental style but amazing with fresh baked goods daily made by the hosts. If visiting Vancouver again would defiantly stay here. We were made very welcome.


A perfect stay !!

5 su settembre 24, 2014

We had wonderful days in the B&Bl and thank you for the perfect stay.


Warm, comfortable, and relaxing stay

5 su settembre 08, 2014

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Bee and Thistle tremendously! The rooms were cozy and clean, and the bed was heavenly to sleep on. Our hosts, Lynn and Michael, were so pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were tasty with homemade scones and muffins. The Bee and Thistle is close to public transportation so you can get downtown Vancouver very easily or stay in the area and enjoy some wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay very much and would gladly go back if we ever visit the Vancouver area again.


Wonderful stay in Vancouver!

4,4 su agosto 14, 2014

Bus & train provide easy access to downtown Vancouver, with the bus stop just down the street from the B&B on Commercial St. Staff is very nice, but I wish there would have been late checkout or early check-in options. That would be the only feature that would've taken service over the roof! Overall, great place to stay.


A Great Stay!

5 su agosto 14, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at the Bee & Thistle. The house is beautiful and always kept very clean, and Lynn & Micheal were always willing to help with finding your way around Vancouver, giving suggestions of places to go, etc. The breakfast buffets had a variety of delicious, mostly homemade foods including a daily baked good that melted in your mouth. We will definitely be staying there again next time we're in Vancouver!


Gem

4,4 su agosto 09, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bee and Thistle. The Ivy room is spacious, clean and offers some great views out to vancouver. The breakfasts are fresh, delicious and adequate. The hosts Lynn and Michael are always around to assist and offer advice. Although not in the city centre, the local transport is easy to use and get downtown when needed.


Excellent B & B

5 su luglio 09, 2014

We recently spent 5 days in Vancouver staying in the Bee & Thistle in the Florence Room. Lynn and Michael are superb hosts providing very nice accommodation, excellent breakfasts and snacks (cookies). It was always nice at breakfast time meeting with fellow guests and comparing experiences. Lynn and Michael were always on hand to give assistance with information on trips and visits and saved us a lot of time searching around for information. Bee & Thistle is located in the Commercial Drive area and is convenient for a choice restaurants and shops but also provides easy access to central Vancouver by SkyTrain. Definitely a good place to stay in Vancouver.


A winner

5 su luglio 04, 2014

Very lovely; gracious and extremely helpful hosts; convenient to public transportation and restaurants (Absinthe was very good!); we'd definitely stay again


As good as it gets!

4,6 su giugno 23, 2014

The Bee and Thistle came well recommended, and totally lived up to its reputation. Our hosts were attentive without being in any way intrusive, the rooms were well equipped and comfortable and the breakfast food was delicious. The location is convenient although parking might sometimes be a problem at certain times of day, and there are steps up from the street, but help was available to carry up our baggage. All-in-all an exceptional B&B, and deservedly popular.


The best!

4,8 su giugno 11, 2014

What a beautiful and comfortable place. And the breakfasts were perfect! Wonderful light choices and incredibly delicious homemade baked goods each day. This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed!


Wonderful place for your vacation.

5 su giugno 03, 2014

When I stayed this place, I was very comfortable. All facilities were good. One of the best things is that the owner of B&B is so kindness. He was so helpful, gentle...and his wife's breakfast is like a work of art,,,flowers on the food,,,It was also plentiful. I was impressed with his shrewd judgement when I went to the Vancouver international airport to come back my country, I found out that I mislaid my iPad in the B&B. But, he offered me the best way to find my iPad, and I could received it very soon. If I have a chance to go Vancouver again, I really want to stay here during trip.


Try this place!

4,6 su maggio 31, 2014

Hosts were welcoming, friendly and very accommodating. Close to public transit, in an interesting and quiet residential area. Loved the 2nd floor reading porch, with views of the mountains and harbour. Lions loft was a treat!


Fabulous Vancouver B&B

4,4 su maggio 27, 2014

My daughter and I recently visited Vancouver for the first time. We chose the Bee & Thistle Guest House as it was in close proximity to the area where my son and his fiancé live. After reading some of the other reviews (all very favourable), we decided to stay there. The accommodations (Lion's Loft) were incredible...a beautiful spacious and bright suite with a kitchen and dining area, lovely sitting room, beautiful sleeping area, spacious bathroom and walk in closet. The antique furnishings were lovely, the kitchen and bathroom were well equipped and the views were gorgeous. Each day, delicious fresh baked cookies were left in our room. Although we made other arrangements for breakfast, the smell of coffee and fresh baked goods greeted us each morning as we headed out for the day. Lynn and Michael are wonderful hosts and we look forward to returning to this beautiful B&B the next time we visit Vancouver!


Could not be happier!

5 su febbraio 07, 2014

Lynn and Michael were so, very welcoming, and their bed and breakfast was stunning. My husband and I arrived after a very long flight from Asia, Vancouver was our last stop on our honeymoon. We were so happy to stay in such a comfortable spot! Because it was our honeymoon our room was upgraded and Lynn and Michael left us a card and a bottle of champagne, a gesture that we very much appreciated. We could not have been happier about the room, the house, the breakfast (sooo good), the location of the house and the ease of getting downtown. I'd review the Bee & Thistle with 5 stars many times if I could!


Fantastic B&B

5 su gennaio 12, 2014

Our stay here was perfect! Lynn and Michael took care of everything, and made our stay really wonderful. They provided a lot of useful information about Vancouver and Victoria and we really enjoyed our conversations while we were having breakfast. Definitely, our home away from home in Vancouver!


Home away from Home

4,6 su dicembre 30, 2013

What a wonderful place! Lynne & Michael made us feel like family. We will definatley be back.


November in Vancouver

4,8 su dicembre 05, 2013

Friendly and helpful hosts. Wonderful and quiet room. We both enjoyed our first visit.


A Four-Year Romance

5 su settembre 18, 2013

This was our 4th time at the Bee and Thistle. We first came for a part of our honeymoon and have been back every year for our anniversary since then. We adore Lynn and Michael, the house is incredible, the food is amazing, and we always enjoy Vancouver. This year we rode bikes all around downtown, starting at the BnB, down and around Stanley Park, and back again-- this was a lovely way to see the city!


Home Away from Home B&B

4,2 su settembre 10, 2013

Hosts were very warm, thoughtful and initiated - delivered breakfast to our room without our asking as we were still having jetlag and would have missed all the painstakingly, passsionately prepared wonderful and delicious breakfasts....


Awesome breakfast

5 su agosto 19, 2013

Lynne and Michael were excellent hosts, great chefs, and so very very helpful - from helping us with local bus transportation to helping repair a screw in my glasses!


Amazing!

5 su agosto 18, 2013

Amazing bed and breakfast! We strongly recommend it!


Breakfast to die for!

4,6 su agosto 05, 2013

This place serves up the most amazing breakfast I've ever seen - TWO courses, including a smoothie, pastry, parfait and entree with meat. Innkeeper, Lynn, decorates each dish with flowers from her garden - they deserve a magazine spread, they're so beautiful. Our bathroom was over-the-top elegant with a chandelier no less (Florence Room) and the bedroom overlooks the delightful garden, plus has fireplace, TV, magazines, fridge stocked with goodies, tea/coffee makings, freshly baked cookies daily and even a laptop - WOW. Neighborhood downtown within walking distance - eclectic but lots of character.


Perfection with unbeatable Value!

5 su agosto 01, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent three night stay at the Bee & Thistle with friendly hosts, Lynn and Michael, as well as their delightful staff. Great location for exploring the vibrant Commercial Drive and Vancouver sights. Very reasonably priced accommodation, especially considering the quality and quantity of each varied gourmet breakfast ~ sure to please the most discriminating "foodie" in both taste and presentation. We would not hesitate to return and highly recommend this beautifully restored heritage building. Thank you Lynn and Michael for a memorable experience. S. McKelvie & R. Holbein, Vancouver Island, BC


Fantastic Breakfast!

4,8 su agosto 01, 2013

Lynn and Michael were very attentive hosts who really cared about making sure we had a wonderful stay. They continually went above and beyond by meeting us outside at the taxi and carrying our bags in, putting a "to go" breakfast in our fridge when we had early plans, and even giving us a ride to the train station! The breakfasts were not only delicious, but also very artistic. We stayed in Molly's room, and although small, every detail was carefully considered. There were candy and sodas in the fridge, shampoo and body was dispensers in the shower, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, a movie selection for the DVD player, and even a laptop for browsing the Internet in the room! If visiting the ecclectic shops and restaurants on Commercial Drive is one of your destinations in Vancouver, The Bee &Thistle House is the place to stay!


What else can I say...

5 su luglio 26, 2013

What else can I say that has not already been said in previous reviews. The home is very large and beautiful. We arrived later than expected but there was a very nice note on the door with a "pass code" set up specifically for our use that allowed access to the front door and our room -no need for keys which was nice. They both made a point to come and introduce themselves when they heard us coming downstairs. We spent one night in Ivy and the other in Molly, both were well decorated and comfortable. There was a very nice welcome letter on the bed as well as a preview of the next mornings breakfast. Breakfast was well thought out and very delicious. They also allowed us to use their washer and dryer which was super nice of them. My husband gave Michael a hand in one of the guest rooms and we came back to our room after dinner to a thank you note and a bottle of wine. It really is the little details that make you appreciate having had the opportunity to meet others. Everything about our stay was wonderful and we enjoyed both Lynn and Michael. Thank you


Relaxing, clean, and classy B&B

4,8 su luglio 18, 2013

The Bee & Thistle was the perfect spot to relax after spending the day exploring Vancouver. The Lion's Loft was clean, cozy, spacious and very classy. The breakfasts are amazing! This was our first time staying in a B&B and it was truly enjoyable.


Wonderful home away from home

4,8 su luglio 15, 2013

Excellent location, lovely arts and crafts home, scrumtuious over-the-top visually beautiful breakfasts, some of the most gracious, helpful hosts we've ever encountered anywhere. Terrific experience all around.


Bee &Thistle a delight

5 su giugno 27, 2013

We arrived earlier than expected to a warm welcome and a beautiful room. The atmosphere is wonderful and the staff outstanding. Michael and Lynn were away initially but we were thoroughly spoilt by their wonderful staff. The breakfast is sublime and a work of art, make sure you make room for all the courses. The home has been lovingly and beautifully restored and you immediately feel at home. Easy to get into the centre and good restaurants within walking distance. We had an outstanding experience staying at this wonderful B&B and highly recommend it as a lovely home away from home.


Outstanding guest house in a vibrant neighbourhood

5 su giugno 21, 2013

Lynn and Michael are lovely, welcoming people and we felt at home from the moment we checked in (which was quite early in the day, but no problem). Our room was quite large and beautifully decorated. Lynn's cooked breakfasts are legendary and she was happy to accommodate our early morning tours by leaving a substantial continental breakfast in our room the night before. The Commercial Drive neighbourhood is full of fantastic restaurants at reasonable prices and there is a lovely sense of community about the area. We loved it!


Great place to stay in Vancouver

4,8 su giugno 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bee and Thistle. Lynn and Michael are the ultimate hosts. The breakfasts were so outstanding that we didn't eat the rest of the day. Everything was perfect and we would highly recommend this. Nadine and Gary


Like Coming Home!

5 su giugno 01, 2013

My husband and I each stayed at the Bee & Thistle two years ago, on separate occasions. This year we were able to travel together. Our whole week's stay was perfect from beginning to end! Lynn and Michael were just as welcoming (not a surprise!), our room (Florence) was absolutely lovely, the breakfasts were amazing. We were there during a "continental breakfast" week. While a traditional B&T breakfast is a feast for both the eyes and tummy, the continental breakfast was also amazing! Coming down the stairs each morning to the aroma of a fresh baked goodie is the perfect way to start your day. We have more than enough to enjoy every morning, more often than not tucking away the second baked treat for a mid-morning snack. I just can't imagine staying anywhere else when we're in Vancouver!


Simply The Most Wonderful B&B Ever!

5 su maggio 27, 2013

Michael and Lynne were the most wonderful hosts I have ever had. He picked us up from the train station. Its not that far but instead of us walking with loads of luggage for a cruise but he insisted. The place is beautifully appointed. Eclectic and extremely clean .the beds were fitted with five star linens and heated bathroom floors . They had homemade cookies waiting in our room along with a custom folder with the breakfast for the following day, a weather report and so forth . The next morning the breakfast was fit for a queen and king . It was a mango frappe with a homemade muffin and a fruit custard but then ag plate of eggs benedict with potatoes. The presentation was over the top. She decorates the plate with edible flowers and it looks like its too pretty to eat. She cooks fantastically. I would love to go back . They go way above and beyond. Its a five star bed and breakfast


Wonderful Romantic Honeymoon Getaway

5 su maggio 23, 2013

Michael and Lynn were excellent hosts! They were very helpful in suggesting sightseeing places, giving us maps with areas circled with their favorite places marked. They were very welcoming and friendly, we loved our conversations over breakfast! This was our first experience in a B&B and we loved it!! The rooms are very nice and clean. We stayed in the Ivy Room and loved the ambiance. Very romantic setting for our honeymoon. The bathroom was clean and beautifully decorated with stain glass windows and a crystal chandelier. We stayed during "Super Continental" week and were surprised that even during this "lighter fare" time, of all the options (Fresh Fruit daily, free range boiled eggs, homemade granola, yogurt, and a fresh baked item daily). The location was ideal, very close to places like Stanley Park, Granville Island, Lynn Canyon (beautiful hiking area & FREE suspension bridge!). We wish we could of stayed longer but are hoping to make it back to stay during a normal breakfast week!! Though we know, we will have to baggy up some of the goodies because they provide so much!! Thank you for our wonderful start to our honeymoon!!!


Would stay again in a heartbeat!

5 su aprile 22, 2013

My husband and I wanted a bit of a get away and my sister recommended The Bee and Thistle. We were not disappointed. The room was cozy and welcoming. Snacks were abundant, breakfasts were a work of art (and huge!), and Lynn and Michael were personable,warm and extremely helpful with our travel plans. We had a great time and will return again if the opportunity arises.


Restored our love of B&Bs!

4,4 su aprile 15, 2013

Lynn and Michael offer the best Bs (Bed and Breakfast) we've experienced in quite some time, and we've tried out many over the years between the US and England. The scrumptious breakfasts, beautiful and comfortable accommodations in both the common areas and bedrooms, and warm hospitality from the hosts add up to memories we'll always look back on with smiles. The room was stocked with goodies such as in-room coffee and tea, a fridge with complementary drinks and snacks, a corkscrew, bath products for the soaking tub, and an awesome fireplace. Luxury sheets and duvet on the bed, along with thick yet soft towels in the bathroom, all made for a wonderful stay. I would come back to Vancouver just to be able to visit more with Lynn and Michael and once again enjoy their fabulous B&B.


I felt pampered

4,6 su aprile 02, 2013

After two nights on my daughters couch I decided to treat myself to an elegant B&B in her neighborhood. We knew we wouldn't be disappointed as we approached this elegant house. We were greeted by the innkeepers daughter Cheryl who was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was exceptionally luxurious with a "princess and the pea" bed, a lavish bathroom, a fridge full of treats and freshly baked cookies on a glass dish sitting on the bed. The most striking feature of the room was 2 beautiful 12 pane lead windows that looked out over the garden below. We had a restful sleep in soft linens and awoke to an early breakfast left at our door. This mouthwatering feast was eaten at the little table in front of the windows. My stay at the Bee and Thistle will not be soon forgotten!


Quiet and comfy with polite, honest inkeepers

4,2 su marzo 07, 2013

Lynn and Michael were able to accommodate my weather-delayed travel schedule with grace and understanding. Their B&B takes advantage of new technology that allowed me the ability to arrive late and leave early. Their house is immaculate with up to date conveniences in a bright, pleasing decor. I will return to their B&B in the future.


The best weekend getaway!!!

5 su febbraio 20, 2013

Everything was just perfect! Peaceful place to getaway from everything!


Love the hosts and everything

4,8 su febbraio 08, 2013

Bee & Thistle is one of the best B&B we have stayed around the world. Lynn and Michael are the best of the best. They not only make us feel welcome, but also genuinely care about who we are. We stayed at the Ivy's room which was spacious and clean, with plenty of closet and drawer spaces. The king size bed was comfortable and the fireplace kept us warm in the cold winter. It was nice to have a small fridge in the room. The view of the snow cap mountain was a surprising treat. The breakfast was delicious and pleasing to the eyes (we love gourmet cooking!). We were so full from breakfast that we did not even have lunch for the day.


A wonderful, unique B&B

5 su gennaio 08, 2013

We've been to B&B's on three diffferent continents and this one takes the cake. We came here right after Christmas on their holiday schedule, and were completely pleased with the lovely accomodations and the continental breakfast they offered. We were stuffed with their juive, yogurt, fruit, homemade granola and baked goods every morning. I can't imagine needing any more (though I hear they do have a large 3-course breakfast at regular times). We absoultely loved this place and would come back to Vancouver just to stay here with Lynn and Michael again. They are sweet, attentive, and completely willing to work with your needs. So relaxing and wonderful!


Wonderful

4,2 su novembre 22, 2012

Very nice will definitely stay there again.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast!

5 su ottobre 15, 2012

We loved our stay at the Bee & Thistle. The room was beautiful and very comfortable with all of the perfect extras - a netbook in the room, a comfortable bed, snacks, etc. The breakfasts were AMAZING! They were all delicious and presented beautifully. We will definitely stay here during our next visit.


Bee and Thistle, September 2012

5 su ottobre 05, 2012

Our hosts, Lynn and Michael, were warm, friendly and paid great attention to our comfort. We stayed in the cozy, quiet Ivy room (really comfortable queen bed and nicely appointed furnishings) on the 2nd floor, and enjoyed the use of a private balcony from which we could see all the way to the harbor downtown. Esp. beautiful with the colors of late September. Lynn's gourmet breakfasts were so tasty and the portions so large that we didn't ever have to eat lunch! We didn't bother with renting a car, as transit (Skytrain and buses) was so cheap and convenient. The B&B is only a couple blocks from Commercial Street, a very interesting '60's era string of retro shops and coops--had a blast exploring them. I have to say the people of Vancouver were some of the most helpful and friendly I've encountered, considering dozens of large cities I've visited over the years.


Simply wonderful.

5 su settembre 30, 2012

If we ever return to Vancouver, we will definitely stay here. The room, the people, and definitely the breakfast were beyond anything I could write. A totally wonderful experience.


An absolute treat

4,6 su settembre 18, 2012

From the moment I walked up the stairs to the Bee & Thistle, I felt at home, at rest, and like all my needs (and more) would be met. From the extremely comfortable room, to the over-the-top breakfasts and friendly company, everything was an absolute pleasure. Lynn and Michael have poured their heart and soul into the place and it shows! Thanks for an excellent stay. I look forward to returning soon.


Bee & Thistle

4,6 su settembre 15, 2012

Wonderful hosts in a lovely home. Great, convenient location in VanCouver. Breakfasts were unbelievable! We would definately stay here again!


just fantastic...

4,4 su settembre 12, 2012

It was such a pleasant stay and a warm welcome. The location is very central (bus) and the house/rooms are just gorgeous and the breakfast was just overwhelming. Lynn and Michael helped us with a lot of great information to make it a fantastic time


Superb Hosts

5 su settembre 02, 2012

Stayed at the Bee and Thistle for three nights in Mid Aug 2012. Our hosts were outstanding and nothing was too much for them. Our dietary requirements were catered for beautifully and the presentation of the meals was exquisite. Given that this was our first experience of B&B we were very impressed. The rooms were absolutely lovely and very comfortable. What more can I say other than I would have no hesitation in recommending the Bee and Thistle Guest House.


Treated like a king in the Lions Loft.

4,6 su agosto 19, 2012

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at the Bee and Thistle the beginning of August, 2012 What a wonderful experience. Michael and Lynn were friendly, engaging and extremely accommodating. They were immensely helpful with recommendations for dining, entertainment and sightseeing. The room was clean and well decorated, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and immaculate. The room came with a full size and well stocked kitchen. They had thought of everything. The refrigerator will full of soft drinks, bottled water and snacks. Breakfast was delicious. We were served, in their dining room, homemade scones and a fruit and yogurt parfait to start. Then came the the best Egg Benedict I have ever had. I realize this is a long review but we have stayed in other B&B's and the Bee and Thistle is truly one of the best experiences we have had. Everything was perfect. Thank you so much Lynn and Michael. We will be seeing you again! Rosario and Luciana Minnocci


Fantastic stay!

4,8 su agosto 18, 2012

From the moment the door was opened you were welcomed into a comfortable geust house. A lot of thought went into things provided to you in your room and at breakfast each morning. Breakfast was an artful presentation of wonderful homemade meals beyond what you expect to be served. We even were provided a fresh out of the oven pecan roll in a "to go" for our early ferry trip! Lynn and Michael were always helpful with suggestions and directions. The house is about 2 streets from "the drive" which had great places to eat and it was nice to be able to walk to dinner. Better yet, coming back to the comfort of your room! Lynn and Michael- fantastic, hope to see you again. R&B


Wonderful B&B

4,6 su agosto 18, 2012

Had a great time in Vancouver. Wonderful breakfasts, kept us going all day.


Best B&B we've ever stayed at!!! Outstanding in every way!

5 su agosto 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bee & Thistle on August 3 & 4, 2012. This B&B exceeded our expectations in every way, from the cleanliness and comfort of our room (Molly's room), the delicious gourmet food, and the wonderful hosts - we had an absolutely outstanding experience. I highly recommend the Bee & Thistle, and we will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Vancouver!


Best place to stay in Vancouver

5 su agosto 13, 2012

We loved the Bee & Thistle. Lynn and Michael are friendly but not intrusive. The rooms are comfortable and impressively well appointed. The location is close to the major areas of interest, with ample on-street parking. Lynn's breakfasts are amazing, she has such a talent for cooking! We had an amazing stay, and would love to visit again.


excellent BB in Vancouver

5 su agosto 11, 2012

Excellent rooms, best breakfast great . Bee & Thistle Guest House is hughly recommanded.


Absolutely charming!

5 su luglio 31, 2012

Beautifully redone house with warmth, charm and so much comfort. Every detail perfect. Food was exceptional, beautiful presentation, plentiful and so, so delicious. Lynn and Michael, our hosts, were charming, warm and helpful in every way. Made us feel so welcome and cosseted.


Getting to Know Vancouver from the Bee and Thistle

4,8 su luglio 30, 2012

We loved the Bee and Thistle, starting from the wonderfully fun neighborhood, close to great places to eat, walk around and just be in a lovely part of the city. Our rooms were terrific, with views of the downtown and the water, each with balconies for sitting outside in the late afternoon and enjoying the view and the summer weather. The breakfasts were incredible, fresh smoothies, fruit crumbles, delicious egg dishes and warm yummy baked goods, all made fresh, all garnished with flowers from the garden...and the portions were very generous. Our hosts knew so much of the city, gave us great advice about places not to miss, they made our trip a perfect, albeit, too short, Vancouver holiday....


A 50yj Anniversary to Remember

5 su luglio 19, 2012

We discovered Bee and Thistle two years ago; it is hard to find enough superlatives to describe it. For starters, the breakfasts are simply the best and most beautiful on the planet, fresh fruit courses and luscious baked treats are followed by perfectly prepared and sauced eggs, all artistically garnished with color-coordinated fresh flowers just plucked from the garden. Each plate is a work of art. From beautifully decorated rooms with comfortable beds to sumptuous towels and hand crafted soap, everything speaks of understated luxury. And of course there are freshly baked cookies in the room each afternoon... Best of all are the warm and friendly hosts Lynn and Michael, who seem to have thought of everything their guests might desire. We wanted a hike--Michael recommended a trail through a nearby canyon with lush ferns, tall firs and cedars, and a quiet stream, and loaned his guidebook to us. We asked about views from Grouse Mountain--Lynn suggested we might like to have dinner there and told us about the two grizzlies orphaned as infants who were rescued and who now live in a multi-acre enclosure there. When we booked our return trip Lynn asked about the reason for our travel, and we told her we had decided on a road trip to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We arrived to find a crystal vase holding an iced bottle of champagne surrounded by tiny pink rosebuds, the same flowers which graced our wedding cake 50 years earlier. We think of Lynn and Michael as friends, and hope our journeys will take us back for another visit.


The best Guest House in Vancouver

5 su luglio 17, 2012

Stayed for three nights after trip to the Rockies. Lynn and Michael, the hosts were brilliant. Superb room, well appointed. The Breakfasts were a work of art and delicious. Without doubt the best guest house I've stayed in for many years. Eric Wood


This B & B exceeded our expectations, just a great place to stya

5 su luglio 16, 2012

Imaculate spacious attractive rooms, freindly and extreamly helpful hosts.


An absolute jewel!

5 su luglio 13, 2012

A fabulous B&B. After a month touring western Canada, this was the best accommodation we stayed in. The key to its success are Michael and Lynn, wonderful hosts, so helpful, humorous, friendly and informative. Their renovated home is an intriguing delight. A 'must stay at' if one is ever visiting Vancouver.


Great place to stay

5 su luglio 13, 2012

I would recommend the Bee & Thistle to anyone who was traveling to Vancouver. It is a beautiful house, the rooms are magnificent, the food and service are top notch, and Lynn and Michael are wonderful hosts.


Excellence at it's best

5 su luglio 07, 2012

This B&B was fabulous. We were met by our host and given a tour of the lovely home, led to our room and informed of activity and dining options in the area. Also we were given cookies upon our arrival that were scrumptious! The location is within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants ranging in many ethnic cuisines. We slept soundly on the very comfortable beds in the Lion's Loft (great room with great views of the mountains!). Breakfast was one of the best we have had at a B&B. The detail and presentation were exquisite. I can't say enough good things about this B&B. We highly recommend Bee and Thistle and would definitely visit again.


First Bed and Breakfast Experience

4,6 su luglio 05, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Bee and Thistle for two nights and we could not have been more happy with the environment and our hosts. The room had just about everything that we needed and then some. They provided a laptop, Wi-Fi access, etc..etc..including umbrellas; they thought of just about everything. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Vancouver B.C. Our hosts were open, friendly, and had a smile whenever we saw them. They did everything to help us save money as we went sightseeing and didn't hesitate to guide us to comfortable restaurants and shows. Truly a wonderful experience.


Luxurious and Friendly

5 su luglio 04, 2012

When I think of the Bee & Thistle I think of WOW.....we were totally and utterly amazed at the beautiful and tasteful decoration and the attention to detail and friendly atmosphere. We booked Florences Room which was just gorgeous and overlooked a lovely garden at the rear of the property. It was spotlessly clean and and bathroom was fabulous with a tub,and walk in shower. Each evening we came home to the menu for breakfast the following day and this also gave you the names of your fellow guests (a lovely touch) and also the most yummy homemade cookies too. You may be thinking a menu for breakfast? Each morning the homecooked 3 course breakfast was different and really set you up for the day with the most exquisite presentaton. The location of the B&B just off Commercial Drive was great. There are numerous restaurants to choose from (check out Lynn & Michaels blog on their visits to local restaurants) and it is so easy to get into the centre of Vancouver (either the SkyTrain, 10min walk up Commercial Drive or the 20 Bus, which stops at the end of the street). We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and Lynn & Michael left us a bottle of wine in our room and a card, it brought tears to my eyes we were totally overwhelmed by their thoughtfulness. I would thoroughly recommend you stay at the Bee & Thistle if you want luxurious surroundings, very friendly service and great location.....give it a go, you won't be disappointed.


Memorable stay

5 su luglio 03, 2012

Lynn and Michael are the nicest hosts we have ever encountered at a B&B. They made our honeymoon stay very special. We arrived to a welcome of champagne in our room, waiting in an ice bucket filled with flowers. A lovely first impression! Our room was well designed and perfectly decorated. It had all the amenities we could want or need; great linens and bed, soaking tub and pampering shower, quality soaps and creams, computer, snacks, coffee and tea in the kitchen, a deck patio with a view. Lynn's breakfasts were a highlight of the stay. Every night, we were provided with a menu for the next day's breakfast; which made us very excited in anticipation for the next day's meal. The food quality and presentation was first rate and gourmet foodie fodder on a professional level! I hope Lynn publishes a cookbook someday; I would love to recreate some of her meals! She fed us more than we could possible eat, but we tried every morning, as everything was always so delicious. The location of the Bee and Thistle was also very convenient off Commercial drive, just a quick bus ride from downtown. I can't say one bad thing about this place, we absolutely loved it. We hope to return to Vancouver someday, and will not stay anywhere other than the Bee and Thistle and we have recommended it to all our friends!


Great spot for a relaxing stay.

3,8 su luglio 02, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Bee & Thistle. As bed and breakfasts go we thought it was very comfortable and the food was amazing. The only downside we felt unprepared for was the location in the city. While they are many restaurants just down the street many of the sites in the city are a decent distance away. This is not a problem if you are planning on renting a car. If you are planning on taking public transportation around then you will need ot be ready to spend a good amount of time on buses. The hosts are great and were very accomodating to us.


for an outstanding, relaxing port of call - bee&thistle

5 su luglio 02, 2012

We were there 2 days - and they were marvelous. Our hosts provided us with some excellent recommendations of places to visit and eat - in fact, to me, seemed to go out of their way to make our stay perfect.


One of the best

5 su giugno 27, 2012

This has to be one of the best B&B we have stayed in. The B&B is located in a quite area yet only a short walk to a great choice for evening meals. Downtown bus (number 20) is only a very short distance from B&B. The B&B is spacious, clean and you can see the effort of the owners in making your stay special. The room has all you need and is free of the clutter and those annoying unnecessary cushions, which you don’t know where to put, that you can experience with some B&B’s. The room has a fridge with soft drinks and chocolate bars; there are also cookies on your bed when you return each day along with the breakfast menu. The breakfast is 5 star and would leave many top hotels in the shade for both taste and presentation. It must take hours to do and has the wow factor. Leave the diet until you get home! To sum up there are no corners left unturned to ensure all your requirements are meet and you as quest are left felling special.


A Wonderful Weekend!

5 su giugno 18, 2012

We stayed at the Bee and Thistle in June for a short babymoon in Vancouver. Lynn and Michael were wonderful hosts, and the environment was very relaxing. My husband loved the fresh baked cookies, and we can't stop talking about the amazing breakfasts. If you're wondering whether or not you should stay here, stop wondering and make a reservation! You won't be sorry. :)


Over the Top Service and Beauty

5 su giugno 05, 2012

Our stay at the Bee and Thistle Guest House could not have been any better, even from the very beginning. We arrived early morning unexpectedly, rather than late afternoon, hoping to drop our luggage and leave for the day. Instead, we were warmly welcomed and shown directly to our comfy, up-to-date room with more amenities than in many b+bs (even umbrellas for the next day's rain). The bathroom had beautiful finishes and every convenience -lush towels, fragrant toiletries, plenty of shelves. A packet of information welcomed us with a personal note, a description of services, breakfast times, and a menu for the next morning (so we could dream all night in anticipation!). And the breakfasts! Beautiful artwork in their presentation, fabulous flavors of sweets and savories, generous portions - enough to save for a treat later in the day. Although we certainly didn't need it because there was always a plate of cookies waiting in our room at the end of the day along with the morning's menu. With our being unfamiliar with the area, Brittany, Lynn, and Michael searched out details and advised us, had bus tickets available for us, called a reliable taxi for us, all in the most friendly, homey, cheerful way. In summary, we could not have made a better choice for a wonderful visit to Vancouver!


Hidden Gem

4,8 su maggio 27, 2012

We visited Vancouver and decided on this B&B based on other reviews. Those reviews were right on about the owners and the house and food. The presentation of the breakfast and the flavor of the food was superior. The host Michael & Lynn were very responsive to our needs and provided help on touring the city. This B&B is only 2 short blocks from the bus line.


thoughtful b&b

4,6 su maggio 27, 2012

Lynn & Michael provide an excellent mix of thoughtfullness, friendliness & professionalism. Breakfasts were the highlight of the stay, a brilliant start to each day. L&J (Brisbane Australia)


DEVINE

5 su maggio 21, 2012

What can I say that others have not already. It's a wonderful FIRST CLASS B&B. Great accommodation, fantastic food & Lynn & Michael are just the most wonderful hard working couple. The Bee & Thistle is a credit to them. If you have the chance to stay here please do as you will not be disappointed. HAVE FUN AND ENJOY


Hidden Gem

4,6 su maggio 19, 2012

Lynn and Michael went out of their way to assist us with our vacation in Vancouver, BC. The room was outstanding and the breakfast was that of a 5 star resturant. This is definitely a hidden gem.


Beyond outstanding!

5 su maggio 14, 2012

Lynn and Michael run an excellent B&B - definitely the best that we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Every detail from the clever keyless entry to the front door of the imposing old house, through the exquisitely presented and tasting breakfasts to the beautiful yet functional decor of the rooms has clearly been carefully pondered and the most appealing option selected for the benefit of guests. Add to this a genuine friendly welcome and helpful atmosphere (we were chauffeured to the railway station when we left), and the location in a central suburb full of cool bars and restaurants, and you have the perfect place to stay in Vancouver.


Luxurious and delicious!

5 su maggio 12, 2012

Everything was perfect. Our room was lovely, spotless, and so comfortable. We loved being in walking distance to great restaurants but staying on a quiet street - perfect location. Michael and Lynn are both wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are amazing. I mean amazing! We have already planned our return!


Very pleasant stay in Vancouver

4,8 su aprile 19, 2012

We were extremely comfortable at the Bee and Thistle and the hosts were very helpful with local information and recommendations.


A Very Special B & B

4,0 su marzo 15, 2012

This was a wonderful B & B in a very tastefully restored Victorian Mansion and we spent 5 nights there. The hosts Lynn and Michael welcomed us with open arms and we immediately felt at home. From the awesome breakfasts all freshly prepared and beautifully presented, to the homemade delights waiting for us upon our return from sightseeing each day their attention to detail made this a very special B & B experience indeed. Always willing to provide help with information on Vancouver and the surroundings we found Lynn and Michael to be an absolute delight; and would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone wishing to spend time in Vancouver.


Cdouldn't have been better!

4,8 su febbraio 02, 2012

We've traveled a lot and stayed in many, many B and Bs but this experience was fantastic. The warmth of the host and hostess was beyond accomodating. The suite was adorable, with just the right about of ambience and the food was not only yummy, the presentation was a feast for the eyes. We would recommend it to everyone!


Bee and Thistle B&B

5 su gennaio 28, 2012

Fabulous stay at Bee and Thistle B&B. Hosts were excellent and nothing too much trouble.


Bee & Thistle Perfect Getaway

4,8 su gennaio 26, 2012

I just had the most wonderful stay at the Bee and Thistle. It was cozy, beautiful, warm, and the breakfasts divine. It is by far the best place I've stayed in a long time and I'd go back in a second. Lynn and Michael were so hospitable and the care they took with me was unmatched. Homemade cookies on my pillow, luxurious bedding, foot scrub, flowers, fireplaces, and the best food I've had for breakfast anywhere! If you're headed to Vancouver, this is the place to stay. The price is fine and a couple of blocks' walk to Commercial brings you to lots of cool shops and eateries. (Lynn and Michael are reviewing those restaurants themselves for their guests!) Risa Garcia of LA


Anniversary Weekend

4,6 su gennaio 15, 2012

My wife and I just spent our anniversary weekend at the Bee & Thistle and could not have been happier. Our hosts Lynn and Michael were fantastic, and while Lynn may claim she is not a professional chef don't let her humility deceive you, she prepared some of the most fantastic breakfasts I have ever had. In fact both days that we stayed I ended up skipping lunch due to the size (and wonderful taste!) of the breakfasts. On our last day of our stay we got to spend a minute chatting with Lynn and Michael and it was wonderful meeting them, everything about our stay was wonderful and I can't wait for an opportunity to go back.


An outstanding B&B on Commercial Drive

4,8 su gennaio 06, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bee and Thistle during a recent trip to Vancouver, and we recommend this B&B very, very highly. The accommodation is outstanding, in a beautifully renovated home just east of Commercial Drive. In renovating the house, they have made great decisions, such as increasing the sound-proofing between rooms, and decorating the bedrooms and bathrooms with both antique and modern touches. Our hosts, Lynn and Michael, were exceptionally courteous, and although we were not able to join them for breakfast, they provided a basket of fruit, homemade granola, and baked goods in our room. This is the most pleasant B&B experience we have ever had, and we will join them again on our next trip to Vancouver.


Perfect weekend getaway!

4,4 su dicembre 01, 2011

My husband and I flew to Vancouver last weekend for the Grey cup. We stays three nights at this bed and breakfast. It was the perfct location to walk to restaurants and stores and a short sk train to down town. We had the Molly room , it had a comfy queen bed , a desk , chair, table, fireplace and a mini fridge. Our bathroom was like a magazine it even had heard floors. Now getting to the breakfast he food was so delicious and had cure presentation. I will definatelt be going back to his b and b when we are back in Vancouver, it's a must!!


What's not to like?

4,6 su novembre 23, 2011

Lynn and Michael were very nice to us, even before we arrived. The B&B was beautiful, in a great location for exploring Vancouver and was more than we could have wished for. We're looking forward to going back again. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a place to stay.


Wonderful bed and breakfast

4,0 su ottobre 27, 2011

I stayed while I was taking a workshop. The location was perfect for all my needs. Being walking distance to shops and restaurants made the whole thing a breeze, plus walking distance to my course! How could it be better.


Fantastic stay

5 su ottobre 15, 2011

We stayed with Lynn and Michael at the end of Sept 2011. The level of luxury and attention to detail throughout the whole property was outstanding. The breakfasts were more like a feast and had everyone taking photos of them they looked so beautiful and too good to eat. Michael went out of his way twice to pick us up and drop us off in town, which was very much appreciated. We could not fault your hospitality and would highly recommend a stay with you. Thank you both again.


Just lovely, The Room , The Food and most importantly The Hosts

4,0 su ottobre 09, 2011

Where do I begin, everything about this B&B is just wonderful, the title says it all ! We stayed here for 4 days and returned for another night at the end of our trip. For us this B&B was just perfect, excellent local restaurants a short stroll away and great access into Vancouver, just hop on the bus No 20 at the bottom of the road! A quite location with all links on your doorstep. Thank you so much for such a great stay, Sheryll and Nigel


A Gem in Vancouver

5 su ottobre 05, 2011

Lynn and Michael are wonderful, willing to do just about anything for you. We stayed in Ivy's Room and it was extremely comfortable. We had our own private area on the balcony to enjoy our wine at night. The bed was wonderful. The house is just a short walk from Commercial Drive (better known as just "the drive"), a wonderland of ethnic restaurants. It's away from downtown, but you'll never feel the need to venture downtown to more expensive dining choices there. (We especially recommend the Tunisian French food at the Carthage Cafe and the Italian fare at Marcello's Pizzeria, a misnomer because it's way more than just pizza). And then there's breakfast at the B&T. Now we've had superb breakfasts at B&B's all around the world, but Lynn's presentations go a step beyond in flavor and presentation - they are magical. Just totally forget about having lunch as you won't be ready to eat again until dinner. Parking is on the street, but that was no problem at all. Stay here! You won't regret it.


Great Stay in East Van

4,6 su ottobre 05, 2011

A Great stay but with the Pound weak against the Canadian Dollar this was at the high end of our holiday budget. Michael and Lynn were excellent hosts who took time to make sure you had all you needed. The breakfast set you up for the whole day. At the end of our stay Michael, even very kindly, drove us with our luggage to collect our hire car so we could begin our tour of BC. Thoroughly recommend this venue, East Vancouver is nice area to base yourself for visiting the city with good/easy public transport routes into the city centre.


A home a way from home

5 su ottobre 03, 2011

Lynn and Michael did wonders with their home. Their great hospitality makes you fill as if its your own home. The food Lynn makes every morning is great for its taste and for its appearance.The location is good with restaurants and bus round the corner.It is an outstanding place.


Best B&B I have ever stayed at

5 su settembre 28, 2011

We stayed at the Bee & Thistle just last weekend (Sept. 22-25th) in the Lion's Den. The views from the room were great of Vancouver, the size was perfect, and the experience relaxing. The entire B&B is very tastefully decorated, the hosts wonderful, and the breakfasts were the best I have had at a B&B (and at most restaurants). We have stayed at many B&Bs over many continents and countries, and I would have to say that the Bee & Thistle was one of the bests. Thank you Michael and Lynn! We will be coming back again soon.


The best B&B we've ever visited!

5 su settembre 21, 2011

My husband and I travel a lot. We don't always stay in B&Bs, but we wish we could have a Bee & Thistle everywhere we roam. The location is convenient to public transportation and to a street filled with many restaurants and shops. The rooms in the Bee & Thistle are beautiful, the linens are luxurious, the breakfasts exquisite, the cookies in our room each night (and in the cookie jar all the time) were fresh-baked each day, and the innkeepers made us feel like family. They helped us do our laundry in their machines, made reservations for us, let us use their phone free of charge, and provided bus tickets. We stayed for 4 nights. When we left, we couldn't wait to return - so we did, 10 days later. It felt like coming home - only better. When we finally left, my husband commented that he really wished we lived closer so we could spend more time with Lynn and Michael.


Delightful, simple as that.

5 su settembre 13, 2011

This was out first trip to Canada and our first B&B experience on this trip. We've previously stayed in B&B's when we've travelled to the UK and the Bee & Thistle ranks with the best we've stayed at. Its not easy getting the balance right but Lynn and Michael have it down pat! The room was very comfortable with brilliant views of the Vancouver surrounds. The location in East Vancouver was great with plenty of local colour and places to eat. Lynns attention to detail at breakfast was exceptional. Michael ran the front of the house for her while she cooked. The combination of interesting people at breakfast, good food and Michaels chat was a great way to start the day. We didnt really have too much planned and relied on Michaels suggestions for what to see on a first time visit to Vancouver. It was a great day and his itienerary suggestiosn were spot on. When we go back we will certainly stay at the B&T!


Peaceful, luxurious haven

4,2 su agosto 21, 2011

I chose this B&B as a treat for my husband and I at the end of an action packed trip to Canada with our boys. It didn't disappoint with exceptionally beautiful rooms and the most kind, generous and attentive hosts in Lynn and Michael. The breakfasts are works of art and delicious but a simpler/lighter option for kids and calorie conscious adults might be worth considering! That said Lynn did go out of her way to accomodate our differing likes and dislikes. If we return to Vancouver the Bee and Thistle would definitely be our first choice.


Great B & B in a colourful neighbourhood

4,2 su agosto 15, 2011

Lynn and Michael were great hosts. Their B & B is located close to Commercial Drive which contains numerous restaurants and other delightful stores. A yoga studio is mere blocks away.


SPECIAL HOSTS!

4,2 su agosto 10, 2011

What makes this B&B so wonderful is the dedication of Lynn and Michael. They are very special people. It is impossible not to feel at home. Food is delicious, the house is extremely clean, not to mention small details, such as delicious house made cookies in your room every night... complimentary beverages and snacks in the frigobar also in your room....you can also use their laundry when it is not at work.This was an important item for us since we were already travelling for 6 weeks!


Great place with great hosts

4,8 su agosto 10, 2011

We stayed here for four nights for our 1-year wedding anniversary. Lynn and Michael are fantastic, friendly people, the breakfasts were delicious and beautiful, and the location is great. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room had a lot of amenities, including a stocked (free) fridge and a laptop for our use. My only (mild) complaint is that the bathroom in the Molly room is a little tight for my 6'1", 200lb self. But we had a great time and would definitely stay here again if we make it back to Vancouver.


Great B&B

5 su agosto 09, 2011

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Convenient to public transportation. GREAT breakfasts.


Best in Vancouver

5 su agosto 07, 2011

The Bee & Thistle was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in! The inn was immaculate, and the breakfast was 5-stars and abundant. Lynn and Michael were the consumate hosts and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The B&B was only a few minutes from town by bus, and the bus stop was only 2 minutes from the B&B. This is the only B&B to consider in Vancouver, but with only 4 rooms, you'd better book early!


A place we would strongly recommend to our best friends

5 su agosto 05, 2011

We loved staying at Bee and Thistle We spent 5 nights in July 2011 and we stayed in "Ivy's room". We arrived with pretty high expectations, given the reviews we had read about it. Yet, our experience went far above them. We found our room beautiful, functional, warm, and very generous: coffee machine, hot chocolate and several teas available, as well as a fridge with beverages, biscuits, raincoats and umbrellas. Also, a balcony with flowers and a view to the trees and gardens nearby and mountains in the horizon. We felt our needs were met there much better than at any 5 star hotel we have every stayed. Its location is superb, at a lovely residential area, with very easy access to downtown and nice restaurants, cafes and stores nearby. Breakfast was totally amazing, hard to describe with words: the most delicious dishes (yes several of them) The couple who runs this place were both incredibly friendly, dedicated and generous It was our first visit to Vancouver and we would not hesitate to stay here in our future ones.


A must visit when in Vancouver!

4,8 su agosto 05, 2011

You will send your friends once you experience this B & B. Very friendly, amazing breakfasts, very helpful staff/owners.


A great place to feel pampered!

4,8 su luglio 28, 2011

Lynn and Michael are great hosts, very personable and responsive; whenever we needed help, they were always available. Rooms were very nice with lots of extra touches. Breakfasts were fabulous feasts--for the eyes, the palate and the stomach! Thanks for a delightful stay.


Great place to stay in Vancouver

4,2 su luglio 28, 2011

Beautiful, delicious breakfasts, comfortable room, helpful hosts, and easy access to public transport: these things made our stay in Vancouver a wonderful treat.


Enjoy being pampered in the Ivy Room

4,8 su luglio 22, 2011

Stayed in the Ivy Room for three nights after an Alaskan Cruise. Room was spotless with lots of little items that showed attention to detail, ex. umbrellas/rain ponchos in closet, net book with free internet access, alarm clock with iPod charger, freshly-baked cookies each day, snacks and sodas in fridge, fresh milk for tea and coffee, a book with menus for local restaurants plus reviews by the inn owners and prior guests reviews, free phone service (to land line) to 40+ countries, extra cookies in the jar in the dining room. Lynn and Michael were very gracious hosts and nothing was a bother to them. They helped us plan itineraries etc., made suggestions for dinner locally, etc. Breakfasts were both beautifully presented and delicious. We were asked at the time of reservation about food preferences, etc. The inn is about a 20 minute bus ride out of downtown Vancouver. The bus stops at the bottom on Parker Street or it's about a 10 min walk to the Sky Train (Michael has tickets). Public transport is wonderful or it's about a $14 cab fare from Canada Place where the cruise ships dock, $35 to airport. What we liked most of all was being in a neighborhood with interesting restaurants and the ability to chat with the other guests at breakfast. Much more fun than staying in an anonymous downtown hotel. Highly recommended.


Such caring hosts.

5 su luglio 14, 2011

When you have such caring, thoughtful hosts and a room beautifully prepared for you, you feel so welcome and at home, even though we actually live on the other side of the world! I certainly recommend the Bee and Thistle and an extra highlight is the wonderful breakfasts so beautifully presented.


Fantastic stay!

4,8 su luglio 13, 2011

Thank you Lynn and Michael, we had a fantastic stay in your guest house. We couldn't imagine a better first impression of Canada!!! Your breakfast is fabulous!


Best B&B we have ever stayed in

5 su luglio 12, 2011

We spent three nights at the Bee and Thistle in June, 2011. We were charmed the moment we saw the outside of the 1908 lovingly restored three-story house, and Michael and Lynn's welcome only solidified this feeling. We were led into the cozy living room where deep chairs invited us to relax after our travels. While the housekeeper completed cleaning our room (the Ivy), Michael showed us around the B&B, including the room on the third floor. He explained how he and Lynn lovingly restored the old house, taking up the hardwood floor and relaying it upstairs, choosing paint and tile to highlight the wide mouldings and the new fixtures in the bathrooms. The big fireplaces were lovely although it was too warm to light ours. The balcony off the second level is a wonderful gathering place for guests in the afternoon where you can view the mountains to the north. Our room had every amenity imaginable: a laptop computer for our personal use (wifi included), plush bedding on the deep and comfortable bed, towels I wanted to take home with me, and even a hairdryer with a duffuser (for curly tops like me). And then, when we awoke from a remarkably deep slumber, there was a three-course breakfast awaiting us each morning. Lynn is a gourmet chef and makes everything from scrathc. Just a few of the things we had: carrot muffin with cream cheese frosting, orange frappe, scones, apple pancakes, and jam (also homemade). What a feast. Forget about eating lunch while you are staying there. Lynn and Michael make tickets to local venues and transportation available as well. My husband and I have stayed at numerous B&Bs but never had an experience quite like the one at the Bee and Thistle.


Amazing and fabulous gourmet breakfasts!!! And the cookies in your room--YUM!

5 su luglio 09, 2011

Well, the breakfasts were without a doubt, the best we have ever had at any B & B we have stayed over the past 30 years of stayed at great ben and breakfasts in the US and Canada. We loved the Bee & Thistle; public transportation was convenient, the innkeepers are warm and friendly and very helpful for interesting trips and events for you to visit in and around Vancouver. we want to return to a great city and a fabulous B & B!


Every Detail Considered

5 su luglio 01, 2011

For our first trip to Vancouver, we used the internet to find a suitable bed and breakfast. We heard some wonderful comments about the Bee and Thistle Bed Guest House and decided to give it a try. It exceeded all of our expectations. Lynn and Michael have given great thought and attention preparing a haven for travelers. Every detail is considered and put in place. The rooms are attractive, exceptionally clean, and provided with everything possible to make the stay warm and welcomed. There are exceptionally comfortable beds, a personal computer, flat screen television, robes, umbrellas, rain ponchos, refrigerator with free drinks and snacks, coffee/tea maker, gas fireplace, balcony with comfortable seating, toiletries, heated tiles in the bathroom, plenty of hot water, etc. For breakfast Lynn provides creative delights, with outstanding details and presentation. Homemade morning frappes, fresh baked scones and muffins, fruit dishes are just the beginning. Full gourmet breakfasts follow. The added detains include fresh flowers and herbs, pressed butter, lovely dishes and tableware, etc. On top of that is a good location to connect by public transportation with any part of the city, and a good walk to many key areas. Finally, homemade cookies with an endless cookie jar. If you want to be pleased and pampered, this is the B and B for you.


A fabuloous treat in Vancouver!

5 su giugno 30, 2011

The location is a little out of town but actually we preferred this as its in the cool Commercial Drive area with lots of great places to eat. Our hosts were wonderfully welcoming, the extra touches like daily cookies and notes were so thoughtful. Dont eat too much at dinner - Lynn's breakfasts are something else and will set you up for most of the day - dont worry you can always take away a few bits in a daily doggy-bag!


Great find in Vancouver

4,6 su giugno 29, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights here and it was very relaxed and pleasant. Lynn and Michael are great hosts and the food was out of this world. The cookies on the bed each morning were an extra bonus. It is very convenient to neighborhood restaurants and a bus trip downtown was easy to do.


A Great Stay!

4,8 su giugno 25, 2011

We stayed at the Bee & Thistle in June 2011. It was everything we expected, and often more. The breakfasts are really imaginatively created, and Lynn and Michael are really friendly and helpful. Good location, too with very good bus and skytrain links. Highly recommended!


a lovely stay in Vancouver with incredible breakfasts in a bohemian neighbourhood

5 su giugno 23, 2011

We always stay in B&B but this one overruled our expectations. Very nice rooms in a bohemien neighbourhood , very quiet and a 15 minute bus ride brings you to Vanouver or by skytrain. Lynn and Michael, the owners are very kind and helpfull and their breakfasts were incredible delicious and a very lovely presentation. Like in Europe in a Michelin star restaurant!


Awesome

5 su giugno 21, 2011

The Bee and Thistle is easily one of the best B&B's we have stayed at, Michael and Lynn the perfect hosts and pretty much could not have done any more to make our stay a fantastic one! The signature breakfasts, produced by Lynn are just fantastic, so much so we took a number of photos to show our kids!!


Bee and Thistle is Superb!

5 su giugno 17, 2011

The Bee and Thistle guest house is a wonderful getaway that is difficult to be matched. In fact, my wife and I are a bit afraid we'll never stay at a place as memorable and nice as The Bee and Thistle. The house, rooms, breakfast, snacks and owners are amazing! Lynn and Michael, the owners, sincerely care about their guests - which was one of the premier highlights my wife and I took away from this guest house.


great BandB close to public transportation

4,4 su giugno 15, 2011

Great, super clean BandB in quiet area near downtown Vancouver. Close to bus stop and Skytrain station is a 15 min walk. We stayed in the Lion's Loft and had so much space to spread out. Full and nicely equipt kitchen. The use of the in-room netbook and wi-fi was a real plus.


All the previous reviews are correct

4,8 su giugno 12, 2011

We stayed for three nights in the Ivy room when we visited Vancouver. We have read the reviews about this place and in particular the breadfast cooked by Lynn, but we were still surprised when the breadfast was served to us. Lynn's breadfast is the best and most sophisticaed that we have ever had in any place. We checked out in early morning to take the train to Seattle. Michael was kind enough to offer us a free ride to the train station. While we decline his offer but still feel greatly grateful for his readiness to help. Because we leave too early to enjoy the breakfast, Lynn packed us a huge (and almost equally delicious) breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay with them.


Bee & Thistle

4,6 su giugno 07, 2011

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast. The breakfast each morning was innovative and delicious. Mike & Lynn are wonderful hosts and cater to any special needs. We definitely would recommend this B&B to any family or friends.


Outstanding visit. Will stay again!

5 su maggio 31, 2011

I found this place while searching online for a cute place to stay during part of our honeymoon in Vancouver. I read some great reviews, looked through the website and photos, and decided it would be wonderful. We arrived in Vancouver a little early, but our room was ready and Lynn gave us a warm welcome. Our room was even more comfortable than pictures depicted. We stayed in Ivy's room and had a king size bed, a flat screen tv, and even a little netbook with wifi in case we wanted to get online. Lynn and Michael knew we were celebrating our honeymoon as well as my birthday, and had a nice handwritten note for us with a bottle of local wine. There were also freshly baked cookies waiting for us along with a very comprehensive folder of places to eat and visit in the area. The guest house is in a very convenient location. We were able to walk to many bars and restaurants on the drive. Such great places nearby! The breakfasts here are to die for. They are absolutely amazing, delicious, beautiful, and the list of adjectives goes on and on! If I lived in Vancouver, I think I would choose to stay here at least once a month to indulge in their gourmet breakfasts. I really can't say enough great things about this place. I will recommend it to everyone looking for a nice and affordable lodging option in Vancouver. I can't wait to go back and visit again!


Thanks!

4,4 su maggio 30, 2011

Michael and Lynn were friendly and exceedingly helpful. The location is maybe a little off the tourist track, but is well-situated. The Bee & Thistle is near Commercial Drive, long stretch of restaurants and shops that cater to locals. We ate very good take-out pizza at a little shop here, watched hockey in the pubs (and had a fine dinner), and enjoyed local life. The bed is maybe the most comfortable I've slept in outside of home. Excellent.


More Than I Ever Expected!

5 su maggio 07, 2011

I booked with this B&B mainly because of its proximity to my daughter's apartment. I was travelling from Ontario. Little did I know that I'd be treated like an old friend from the moment I walked through the doors. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was like stepping into a spa. Not one detail had been overlooked, from the comfortable bed and linens, to the amenities in the bathroom, beautiful towels, coffee and tea selections, cookies left in our room each afternoon, and even a fridge with lots of snack possibilities! The innkeepers even invited our daughter to join us for breakfast one morning! Both she and I were thrilled and honoured by this gesture. I was lucky enough to stay at this B&B for 6 nights. The breakfasts were indescribable! Never have I enjoyed the morning meal so much nor had so much anticipation about its presentation! My camera wasn't the only one who came down to breakfast. We will be visiting our daughter again and won't hesitate to stay with Lynn and Michael again. They are a warm and friendly couple providing an amazing place to stay.


An Outstanding B&B!

5 su marzo 22, 2011

The best B&B that we've stayed at. Great rooms, comfortable beds, very clean and in a fun location with lots of small, local restaurants and coffee houses. Stayed 4 nights and had 4 amazing breakfasts with interesting and fun hosts. Will definitely go back.


Go to Vancouver for a chance to stay at this B&B

4,8 su marzo 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Bee & Thistle. The room was elegant, clean and comfortable with a great mattress. The innkeepers, Lynn and Michael, are warm and friendly people and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are generous and tasty and each afternoon brings a new and tasty cookie. What a treat!


Bee and Thistle

5 su gennaio 13, 2011

Beautiful room, delicious food, gracious hosts. We had a lovely stay. Highly recommended.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you will be back very soon.


Bee & Thistle stay, Nov 2010

4,6 su dicembre 04, 2010

In Vancouver for a wedding, we had the option of a slightly cheaper group rate room at a top downtown hotel. Choosing Bee & Thistle put us further out from the city center. We rented a car at the airport, so this didn't stop us. Are we glad we chose the Bee & Thistle. It is in a lovely and fun neighborhood, with Trout Lake a short run away and Commercial Drive right around the corner. The house is very nicely redone - everything feels fresh and new, and looks great. And yet the rooms and the living room are very cozy. But the best thing is the hosts. You are in very good hands. We stayed for 4 nights, wish we could have stayed longer, will stay their again when we are back in Vancouver, and have recommended the B&T to friends.

Risposta del proprietario
We just discovered that we have reviews on bedandbreakfast.com, so we do apologize for not responding sooner. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will be back very soon!


Awesome Innkeepers!

5 su ottobre 03, 2010

Lynn and Michael went out of their way to ensure that our trip to Vancouver was a success. They went above and beyond what we expected, and even sent us off with breakfast "to go" when one of our party was unable to make it to breakfast. Bee & Thistle comes highly, highly recommended!

Risposta del proprietario
We apologize for not responding sooner, but only recently discovered that we have reviews on bedandbreakfast.com. Thank you so much for your kind review! We are looking forward to your return visit, which we hope will be very soon!


Bee & Thistle Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte CAD 140 - CAD 225
  • Recensioni (131) 4,8
  • Camere 4

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6046690715
  • Gratuito 1-8776697055

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina