Desert Trails Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,4
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
72 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A home away from home

5 su febbraio 08, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from spending 6 days and nights at Desert Trails Bed & Breakfast. We are more than pleased with our experience. The hospitality was warm, genuine and caring with a great deal of thought going into making guests comfortable. The food was abundant and gourmet. The quiet setting with beautiful views made the experience complete. I would return to Desert Trails Bed & Breakfast without hesitation anytime I may be in that area. Every detail has been considered with the comfort of the guest in mind. The host's are wonderful.


Retreat in the desert

5 su novembre 19, 2012

Desert Trails was a beautiful retreat. It was hard to believe we were on the edge of a major metropolitan area. In the morning, we could sit outside our room and watch the cactus wrens, Gambol's quail, pyrrhuloxia, mourning doves, Inca doves, and assorted sparrows, flickers and finches in the mesquite tree and visiting the feeder next to the house. The desert nights were clear, and looking toward the east and northeast away from the city lights, it seemed like we were in the wilderness. John is a wonderful cook, and could accommodate early risers with a continental breakfast of cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, juice & coffee. It is a quick drive to the Rincon section of Saguaro National Park. There are detailed map books of Tucson for you to take on your day of exploring the Tucson area. They had discount tickets for some attractions. The only disadvantage is the distance away from dining opportunities, but if you plan for the extra drive, it's fine. We've stayed at several dozen B&B's from New England to Florida to San Diego to Victoria, BC and this is among the very best. Highly recommended.


Delightful find

4,2 su novembre 09, 2012

Proximity to the Saguaro National Park, a peaceful setting


Arizona ambiance

4,6 su settembre 15, 2012

The owners, John and Steffi, were charming and ever so helpful as to local sightseeing, etc. On top of that, John makes a mean Gingerbread Pancake !! The place itself has wonderful outdoor plantings and indoor furnishings ! All in all, we are most happy to recommend it !!


very nice host

3,4 su settembre 12, 2012

john is a very nice and helpful host. inn convient to many attractions. gardens at the inn very beautiful.


An oasis in the desert!

4,6 su agosto 31, 2012

After busy day after hectic day in Tucson, we slipped away to the peace and quiet of the desert. Sitting by the pool in the quiet, watching the stars...ahhhh!


Great place to stay but one thing is off.

4,6 su giugno 29, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Tucson, and it was a great place to stay in an unfamiliar city. The food in the morning was excellent, too. The only thing I found weird was that the owners (a husband and wife pair) were arguing the moment my party and I arrived. It put us in a bit of an uncomfortable position because it felt like we were watching something we weren't supposed to see. Shouldn't arguments be kept from guests? This wasn't necessarily something huge or important, but it was odd and made us uncomfortable, like we were intruding.


Wonderful time at Desert Trails

5 su giugno 23, 2012

We recently stayed at Desert Trails B & B and we thought it was one of the very best B & Bs we had ever stayed in. It is located in a beautiful setting on the edge of the Saguaro National Park, and it is about 20 minutes from downtown Tucson, and is conveniently located to many of the attractions near the Tucson/Sonora Desert. John is an excellent host, provides a delicious breakfast each morning. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend Desert Trails to anyone visiting the Tucson, AZ area.


Great stay!

5 su giugno 21, 2012

Outstanding location, beautiful house and excellent service. John made a delicious breakfast and was so accommodating to our dietary needs. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're planning on visiting Tuscon.


Desert Trails Review

3,8 su maggio 09, 2012

My wife and I had a great time. We live in Tucson and wanted a quick get away that was not too far away. The room was spacious and the french toast breakfast was great. The only things that were below our expectations were the towels were very rough and not soft. Also, the pool looked a little dirty.


Desert Trails stay on March 14, 2012

4,6 su marzo 20, 2012

First class all around! John and Steffi run a beautiful inn in all ways: room, food, tourist guidance, etc. When we return to Tuscon we won't even research any other inns.


Felt like home

3,8 su dicembre 22, 2011

Good location (on outskirts of town) close to hiking and nighttime stars. Excellent host and great cook.


Very nice.

4,2 su dicembre 16, 2011

This was our first time staying at a B&B... so we didn't quite know what to do. But... the owners of Desert Trails were very sweet, had a beautiful home and were so welcoming. The food was delicious! Can't wait for more of the baked, poached apples!


What a B&B is supposed to be.

4,8 su dicembre 04, 2011

Clean and neat bedroom, bathroom and shower. Crisp and clean linen, windows that open, access to the pool, quiet - only the odd coyote howl (just like at home) and the neigh of a horse. Large private rooms and spacious common rooms - all very clean and neat. Easy to find and, although isolated - easy access to downtown. Excellent food prepared by John. Bird feeders attracting the hummingbirds. John is very knowledgeable about Tucson and the surrounding environs and like us, has worked in the high country. You can't go wrong by staying here; this is our second stay and when next we're in Tucson, we'll stay here again.


Great location, beautiful place on the edge of Tucson

4,0 su novembre 22, 2011

We rented the guest house for 4 nights, which was nicely appointed. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the king-size bed was very comfy. The location, just across the road from Saguaro Park East, was peaceful and allowed for quick access to outdoor activities. Our 2 breakfasts at the inn were very good.


A great place to stay

4,8 su novembre 19, 2011

If you are in the Tucson area, I highly recommend staying at Desert Trails. We had a large time staying there. John and Steffi were great hosts. The next time we're in the area, we will return to Desert Trails. John M Bonelli


Excellent B&B!

5 su novembre 16, 2011

In a time of unpredictable getaway options, Desert Trails delivers on its promise. A great place! John and Steffi were generous in accommodating our late reservation, and then provided excellent service and a wonderful B&B for our brief stay. We will surely return to take further advantage of their excellent setting near desert hiking trails in the national park just a short drive from the University and its eclectic mix of offerings. This place is one of Tucson's finest!


Wish we could have stayed longer

5 su novembre 15, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Mica room. It was an excellent room - and we loved the fireplace - especially after arriving on a cold night. John & Steffi were very friendly and accomodating. They were very knowledgable with things to do in the area, restaurants, etc. Great conversation - and excellent breakfast served by John. He is a great cook! This site is the perfect location if you want to horseback ride (neighbor's are Houston's) or go hiking - which minutes away. We had a great stay. Our only negative is that the time went by too quickly. We hope to be back!


great location, setting & service

5 su novembre 11, 2011

We stayed in the Mica Room in October 2011. The room is beautiful - large & with luxury touches like the sunken tub & kiva fireplace. The setting of the B & B is beautiful - birds, trees & close to the Saguaro park. John's breakfasts were great. John & Steffi were very helpful about selecting restaurants in the area. And John was particularly helpful about what to do & identifying good hikes. They offer special touches like bottled drinks in the refrigerator & snacks available all day. Great place!


Desert Perfect

5 su novembre 09, 2011

Just returned from four nights at Desert Trails. I had a large quiet room with a fireplace and direct access to the back terrace area and pool. Large clean bathroom as well. The proprietors, John and Steffi couldn't have been more helpful or informative. Provided me with great tips on what to see and where to eat. Each morning I had an amazing home cooked and varied breakfast. The Inn is in a beautiful location. Absolutely no complaints. It was perfect.


Great location with a pool

3,4 su ottobre 29, 2011

Great location, nice back yard/pool area with lots of birds. Breakfast left much to be desired, but was compensated for by lots of fruit, trail/power bars, snacks, and drinks always available at no extra charge. Owners very knowledgeable about the area and helpful.


Exceptional

4,4 su ottobre 26, 2011

What we wanted: tranquility, scenery, breakfast, comfort. What we got: all of the above plus gourmet food, brilliant hosts, a mini nature preserve, just the right amount of privacy balanced with interaction from John and Steffi (such as things to do in Tucson that met our interests, dining recommendations, directions), ease of getting to & from the airport.


Brief stay next to desert national park

4,4 su settembre 22, 2011

Had a wonderful brief stay at Desert Trails. The setting was vantastic and easy access to trails in Saguaro National Park. Got great advise for hiking and horseback riding. Another plus, very quit and lots of nature in your backdoor. Away from the hustle and bustle which was eactly what I was looking for. The breakfasts were full and got me ready for a day full of activity. Just wished I could have stayed longer than a short weekend


Really Great Place!

5 su settembre 04, 2011

Very friendly and helpful innkeepers. They have good tips for hiking or sightseeing. Really a nice and quiet place close to the Saguaro National Park. Perfect for bird watching. There are a lot of animals around, bunnies, Jack Rabbit, lizards and even a rattlesnake in the Park. Johns breakfast is really delicious, baked apple, blueberry pancake, homemade sauce and so on. We enjoyd this three days in Desert Trails. If possible we come back soon. Thank you!


Had wonderful stay!

5 su agosto 22, 2011

Hosts were highly accomodating! They were careful to explain with emails everything we needed to know prior to the trip. They were highly hospitable. The room was great, they knew the area well. We were interested in birding the Tucson area and they have two resident western screech owls on their prooperty as well as hummingbirds at the feeder! We were made very comfortable. The breakfasts were great! We highly recommend this bed and breakfast!


Wonderful & quiet stay

4,4 su agosto 09, 2011

The house -very nice+we felt at home- is in a quiet and beautiful area, is very close to Saguaro national park. We had a different and absolutely delicious breakfast each morning (4). Our hosts were absolutely charming and always available to give us all the information we needed, even make some search. We definitively recommend this B&B and would go back again anytime!


Desert Heaven

4,2 su giugno 27, 2011

Our second visit to Desert Trails did not disappoint. John and Steffi made us immediately welcome and at home and supplied us with lots of ideas what we could do in the area, in-fact John is a mine of information of all sorts of subjects especially local wildlife. The garden (slightly tamed desert) was teeming with hummingbirds, woodpeckers and other flashes of coloured birds that I didn't recognize. We searched for more exotic critters after dark but didn't spot any only bats and owls. The East Saguaro national park entrance is 5 minutes away by car but we took a splendid sunset photo of the cactus the lives by the drive way into the B & B. The breakfasts were a feast and we want to return to our favorite B&B.... we will return!


We visited Desert Trails for my husband's birthday. WOW! it really exceeded our expections! We were in the Mica room and the views from the windows were worth the trip! We enjoyed watching the birds, bunnies and lizards. The birthday breakfast was fantastic. It was the pouched apple...yummy!

5 su giugno 17, 2011

We stayed in the Mica Room. The view out the windows was our favorite part. We watched birds, bunnies and lizards. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was HUGE with a shower and tub that you walk down into! Very cool! The birthday breakfast was the very yummy poached apple with fresh berries on top. The kitchen area was open and inviting with lots of drinks and snacks. This is a wonderful viewing area for birdwatching and our host, John, knew all their name. We are hoping to come back soon... maybe for my birthday!


Great Place to Stay

4,0 su giugno 13, 2011

This B&B is wonderful - friendly owners, imaginative breakfasts, and a location that is close to the city, but in the country. It is quiet and peaceful.


desert B&B

5 su giugno 02, 2011

We were very comfortable in this B&B. Watching the birds while eating a delicious breakfast and talking to interesting guests made this a go-back-to place. We were especially delighted with the family of Western Screech Owls who sat in the tree outside our bedroom.


Cool pueblo style B&B very close to East Saguaro NP

4,2 su maggio 30, 2011

Great setting and building. Hosts were very helpful. Bed was not very comfortable but overall a good stay.


May 6-7, 2011

5 su maggio 27, 2011

What a beautiful place - the area is wonderful - so close yet not too close to other amenities. Hiking horseback riding right nearby - enormous cacti - beautiful grounds - hosts were very informative and marvelous - awesome breakfasts !! Would definitely go back again and for much longer -


a heaven in the desert

5 su maggio 06, 2011

very personal, very charming, with lots of individual tips for hiking and sightseeing -- definetly a nice experience


An Outstanding B&B Experience

4,0 su maggio 05, 2011

My husband and I stay at B&Bs all over the country at least a couple of times a year, and we can honestly say that this place is a gem. Located on the eastern edge of Tucson near the entrance to the Rincon Mountains and Saguaro National Park, Desert Trails is a desert refuge. The home is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. My husband and I loved the Mica Room: the fireplace to keep us warm on a chilly evening, the sitting area, the door that opened onto the pool patio, and the large bathroom. The breakfast was generous, creative, and delicious; it was made all the more interesting by the bay window looking out on an array of bird feeders that attract a wide variety of beautiful birds. Best of all, John the innkeeper was friendly, fun to talk to, and provided a wealth of information on local restaurants, things to do, and scenic routes to take. It was a lovely stay, and we certainly plan to stay there again when we are next in Tucson.


Excellent base for exploring Tucson & surrounds

4,2 su maggio 03, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Desert Trails. It's perfectly positioned for exploring the desert, with the Saguaro NP just 5 minutes away, and the right side of town to head north for Sabino Canyon or Mount Lemmon, or south to Tombstone and the Mexican border areas. John was without doubt one of the most informative hosts we've ever met, full of advice and ideas, maps & information - and great breakfasts. Highly recommended!


April 20 - 23, 2011

3,4 su maggio 02, 2011

Enjoyed the peaceful location, and welcoming hospitality from John & Steph. Rooms are good size and the breakfast are great! I would stay there again!


April 2011 stay

4,2 su aprile 22, 2011

We loved Desert Trails and John and Steffi were great hosts. Wonderful breakfasts in a beautiful dining room with a large bay window. Bird lovers will enjoy the hummingbirds, goldfinches, woodpeckers and other birds including a resident screech owl in the front entrance. If you want to be near Saguaro National Park for excellent hiking or horse rides, this is a great place to stay. Reasonable ride into the city for dinner. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom in the Spud Rock room. Pool area is really nice, a great place to sit and relax at the end of the day. We would have loved a longer visit!


Living the Dream

4,2 su aprile 16, 2011

I knew the Mica room was nice when I booked it, but was still blown away upon our arrival. The bedroom / sitting area / Kiva fireplace / bathroom were all huge and extremely tasteful in a Southwest flavor. The breakfasts were homemade masterpieces, and the advice on what to do and where to go for dinner were right on target for what we were looking for. Will definitely include Desert Trails in our future Tucson plans.


Desert trails bed and breakfast

4,2 su aprile 04, 2011

We stayed two nights at this B&B but wish we had stayed longer. It was everything we needed and more. We felt very at ease in this home. We were very close to great trails for hicking. The owners are very knowledgeable and were giving us full of information. After a full day of activities we were happy to just pick up some food and have it on their lovely patio. Also a very nice touch that you don't find often in B&B there was a little fridge that could be used by the guests which was filled with drinks that we could help ourselves with.In the dining area a counter with tea, coffee, fruits and snacks that was at our disposition and very appreciated. I definitely would recommend this place to friends and should I go back to Tucson would stay there again. Blue butterfly from Montreal Canada


A Wonderful Stay ! ! !

4,4 su aprile 02, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a non-hotel experience for a three night stay in Tucson. We ran across reviews on Desert Trails B&B and decided it looked like what we wanted. IT WAS AND MORE ! ! ! Our room was really nice and the B&B is very comfortable and you can have privacy if you want, or interaction with innkeepers or guests. We opted for the interaction and really enjoyed getting to know John and Steffi, and their daughter. We used the B&B as a base for site seeing, which worked out really well. John was very helpful with advice on where to go and how to get there. We also wanted to hike and horseback ride. We hiked in the National Park down the rode, and arranged for a two hour horseback ride in the same park. The horseback riding ranch backs up to the DT B&B, so we just walked over. We would not change a thing about our stay. The B&B is welcoming, warm and relaxing. Wish we could have stayed longer. We want to go back.


Relaxation and Hospitality In Tuscon

4,6 su aprile 01, 2011

Desert Trails B+B was exactly what we were anticipating for our Tucson getaway. The breakfasts were delicious and I appreciated that we could choose a time to eat. John had lots of ideas for sightseeing and had a great sense of humor. We went sightseeing, horseback riding,visited the caves and then return to the B+B with bread and cheese,salad and a bottle of wine to enjoy the Arizona sunset. Enjoyed the fact that Desert Trails is located out of town next to the Saguaro National Park. Mari McClune


Comfortable and Cozy

4,0 su marzo 31, 2011

This B & B is a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery of southern Arizona. The beds were so comfortable and the breakfasts were incredible! Tea, soft drinks, and snacks are always available. I would definitely recommend Desert Trails.


a wonderful get away!!!!

5 su marzo 30, 2011

My nine year old daughter and I came to Tuscon for a special mother/daughter getaway and had a wonderful time at the Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast. Every morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast while watching lots of birds visit the feeders right through the dining room windows. There were hummingbirds, woodpeckers, goldfinches,... One day we went horseback riding with the neighboring Houston's horseback outfit through the Saguaro National Park. Another day we drove two miles down the street and went on a hike in the national park. We ate take-out dinners on a picnic table every night while watching a woodpecker feed its baby/babies that were in a saguaro cactus! And because the b & b is on the edge of the town, it was so quiet and peaceful! (and great stargazing at dark) John and Steffi were extremely kind and helpful and willing to answer any of my questions. Staying at the Desert Trails B & B made a good trip wonderful. My daughter really wants to go back!


Love this place

4,8 su marzo 26, 2011

Outstanding breakfasts, outstanding hosts. My go-to place in Tucson. Never disappoints.


Happy Trails

4,2 su marzo 15, 2011

Steffi and John run a lovely, low-key B&B well-suited to hikers, birders, or just refugees from ice and snow. Love the location on the eastern-most end of Tucson but the real reason for returning year after year is the innkeepers themselves.


We will be back!

4,2 su marzo 08, 2011

The Hosts, John & Steffi, welcomed us into their home with great service. John's knowledge of the landscape and a variety of subjects was an extra benefit. John's love of cooking showed in his breakfasts and he even catered to our unique diets. The fact that this 3 acre B&B is only a mile from one of Saguaro National Park's trailheads made Desert Trails even more special.


Fun in the Desert.

4,6 su marzo 07, 2011

If you want intelligent conversation at breakfast with good humour and excellent food you've got it. The Innkeepers John and Steffi provide a full breakfast which varies every day. Coupled with that they are knowledgable about the local area and wildlife. John will sit down with his guests once they have finished eating and spend time discussing a variety of subjects. We were made to feel welcome throughout our visit and would have no problem in recommending this fine establishment to anyone. Michael & Stephanie Gent.


Not only a gracious room, but lovely common spaces as well

4,2 su marzo 05, 2011

Our fireplace room was spacious and came with a sitting area which was relaxing restful. The building lifted our spirits as we entered, and the many common spaces indoors and outside in the back garden meant we could easily just sit and relax and read or birdwatch at times when we didn't want to sleep or sightsee. Several bird feeders in the garden gave the opportunity to easily observe many native birds. Lovely. Breakfasts were great with interesting, friendly but not intrusive, hosts providing really good coffee and fruit with a different main dish each day.


Nice, comfortable bed and breakfast

4,2 su febbraio 27, 2011

John was very welcoming and provided good information about the area as well as a delicious breakfast! The house was comfortable and in a good location right next to East Saguaro National Park.


Home Away From Home

5 su febbraio 26, 2011

John and Steffi have made Desert Trails my home away from home in Tucson. This is my fourth visit and I am looking forward to my next. John's breakfasts are superb and the conversations with the guests, who come from all over the US, Canada, and Europe, are memorable. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. John provides excellent travel advice. I highly recommend Desert Trails to anyone who is seeking a relaxed, low-key, and quiet place to stay in Tucson. Kathy Salkaln, Bangor, Maine


Nice place

3,4 su gennaio 21, 2011

This was a nice B&B near hiking. It was a bit far out of town, but it was easy to get around by car, and there were restaurants and stores about 15 mins away. The owners were really nice and had a lot of information and maps to help get their guests oriented. I would definitely stay here again.


Beautiful Property and So Close to Horeseback Riding!

5 su gennaio 21, 2011

We stayed at the Desert Trails for 2 nights and had a simply wonderful time. The Mica room was really nice and we loved the fireplace which was always stocked and ready to light after our adverntures during the day. We took advantage of the neighboring Horseback Riding business right next door (Houston's) and had a beautiful sunset desert ride. John and Steffi were fantastic...breakfasts were really yummy! John was also so very helpful in providing local information and helping us with directions and recommendations! Great place to stay when you are in Tuscon!


Clark Tucson Adventure

5 su gennaio 02, 2011

A perfect location and wonderful hosts for those who want to experience the wonders of Saguaro National Park and the Rincon Mountains.


Beautiful place. Great hosts.

4,8 su gennaio 01, 2011

This is a great place and a great value. Peaceful country setting adjacent to Tucson. Can't be beat. We'll be back!


Very unique and relaxing experience

4,2 su dicembre 24, 2010

I can only say the best about Desert Trails B & B! The rooms are furnished in a very individual, unique way, which makes one instantly feel comfortable and "at home". The keepers of the B&B are very personable, knowlegable on a huge variety of subjects, and extremely helpful and generous in lending visitors local maps, books, infomation materials etc. The breakfasts were over the top good! MY BEST B&B experience ever!!


Superb B&B

5 su dicembre 08, 2010

Stayed many times and never disappointed. Great location, excellent breakfast, rooms and facilities!


Outstanding establishment in a unique setting

5 su novembre 14, 2010

Desert Trails B&B provides beautiful views of the Rincon and Catalina Mountains of Tucson. The accommodations were excellent (I loved the fluffy duvet), and the breakfast was delicious! The quiet ambience was very welcome, and I enjoyed the clear night sky filled with bright stars.


Desert Gem

4,4 su ottobre 31, 2010

Desert Trails is a warm, and fabulous getaway with the desert right in its backyard. The rooms are lovely, the hosts very welcoming and accomodating, and the meals were outstanding. I can't wait to visit again


My stay at Desert Trails B&B

3,2 su ottobre 27, 2010

This is a nice, Desert home right where I wanted to be. In between Mt. Lemmon and the road to take down to Tombstone. I chose the room with access to the outdoors (spud rock) to be able to smoke outside my room, but every time I opened the arcadia door, it was very loud, (tracks need oil or something) and I know it woke up the hosts at night when I went out. Then, they also must have smelled my smoke since their area was right above the main floor, and their window was open right above me, because as I was finishing and getting ready to going back in, I heard their bedroom window slam shut. Also, every step they took at night or early in the morning woke me up. Very loud, like wood creeking type of sound. So I did enjoy the breakfasts, and the hosts were very nice, but I felt like an intruder with my arcadia door being so loud, and my cigarette smoke annoying them even though I was outside. Also, I was looking forward to watching my movie that I brought, because I was told there was a dvd player, but it kept pausing and skipping all the way through the movie. It was very frustrating, and I finally gave up. Nice house, nice people, but some things needed some attention. Because I felt bad, like I was a bother to them, I'm not sure I would return. Judy Lee, Mesa, AZ


Just like home

4,0 su settembre 23, 2010

We loved the cute little owl and the horse ride. The house was quiet and comfortable.


Jewel amongst the Saguaros

4,8 su agosto 25, 2010

From check-in Saturday night and the amazing poached stuffed apple the next morning to the cheese and mushroom omlet and departure Tuesday morning, we had a wonderful stay. Excellent accomodations and delightful conversation in a beautiful setting. John and Stefi are the consumate host and hostess. We look forward to our next stay.


Desert stay

5 su marzo 27, 2010

This was a great place to stay to sample desert life. Far enough from town to feel rural but close enough to great dinning places. John & Steffi had a book of close restaurants that made choosing were to eat simple. Hiking was close as was the birds. A very restful place.


Great Place for "Winter Escape"

5 su marzo 23, 2010

We stayed just a few days at Desert Trails in late February of 2009. We liked the location, charisma (rooms, common areas, HOSTS!), John's great breakfasts, etc. so much we stayed there for all of our 2010 winter escape trip to Tucson. The B&B is set back off of an already quiet road. It is very close to great hiking in Saguaro National Park East, but birds galore are right there at Desert Trails. Out of a few dozen B&B's we've enjoyed over the years, this is #1 for us.


Great honeymoon retreat in the desert!

4,0 su febbraio 20, 2010

We had a wonderful stay for our honeymoon in this beautiful desert setting! The house is cozy, John and Steffi were very friendly and accommodating (even posting a note for us on the door in case they stepped out when we arrived), and breakfast was delicious (including baked stuffed apples with yogurt and berries; and eggs with chorizo). It's a bit of a trek into Tucson, but it was exactly what we wanted in order to spend some time in the desert. We would definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Tucson!


Wonderful B&B

4,8 su gennaio 21, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Desert Trails. The location is excellent, close to great hiking locations. The rooms were very comfortable. The highlight every day was the surprise new breakfast item that would be added to the already extensive menu: delicious pancakes, amazing apple cobblers (?), etc. And the hosts were wonderful and so helpful in proposals for hiking locations, with maps, and handy brochures. Thank you!


Cozy B&B, Hospitable Hosts

5 su dicembre 19, 2009

We had a great experience at the Desert Trails B&B, and in Tucson in general. The B&B’s location was perfect for us; it was a couple minutes drive from many restaurants and equally easy to get to many of Tucson’s natural attractions (It was about an hour drive to the Sonora desert Museum, but much of it after the busy part of Speedway was stunningly beautiful.) John and Steffi were great hosts. We didn’t have much of a plan when we got to Tucson, but they were more than happy to offer suggestions, directions, or other tips. The breakfasts were excellent and, importantly, we never left the table hungry. John and Steffi also left out plenty of snacks for guests. This was really helpful because on several days, we needed an afternoon supplement. I believe that we stayed in the smallest room (Happy Valley), but it was still plenty spacious for us, clean and comfortable. We spent 4 nights at the B&B and, if we go back to Tucson, wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.


Casual Comfort

5 su dicembre 15, 2009

Our room was fantastic! The breakfasts unusual and delicious! The setting was beautiful, private and comfortable. John and Steffi were terrific hosts and guided us in selecting wonderful outings. 3 nights there and we pined for it after we left.


Happy Trails

4,0 su marzo 10, 2009

For a number of years our family has gathered from both coasts for a reunion at this B&B on the edge of the Saguaro Nat'l. Park. The rooms are comfortable--not fussy--and the breakfasts great. Innkeepers John and Steffi are good company if you want it and respectful if you don't. John is knowledgeable about hiking trails and the numerous birds at the feeders. The inn lies on the quiet eastern edge of Tucson with only the coyotes and javalinas to disturb the night.


Don't forget to OPEN THE FLUE!

4,6 su febbraio 17, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in John and Steffi's 'Mica Room' for the last two weeks of December and had a great time there. The room is big, the bathroom is the size of my living room at home and their location is great; isolated enough to be relaxing, but a quick drive into town and only a mile or two from the Saguaro National Forest's many miles of walking trails. John makes some excellent breakfasts (yes, I would like to have it) and is very knowledgeable about the area and is quick with a recommendation if you ask. This was my first stay at a B&B and I have a feeling that I'll be disappointed wherever I stay next because it's going to be tough to top Desert Trails. Their guard dog, Mozart, is awesome...usually spending his time fending off the javalinas and coyotes, but loves to get a scratch behind the ear when John and Steffi aren't looking. And if you stay in the Mica room...OPEN THE FLUE in the fireplace before using it! The only thing that works better than the great fireplace in the Mica Room is the fire alarm, which will obviously wake you up in an emergency. Sorry about that, John ;)


Loved it!

4,6 su febbraio 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Desert Trails for two weeks in December 2008, in the Mica Room. The room was exactly as advertised, spacious and comfortable with a working fireplace and large bathroom. John and Steffi are personable and knowledgeable hosts; they provided great tips on places we wanted to go. The locations is perfect if you want to be out of the city, yet close to it. I highly recommend the huevos rancheros for breakfast and the daily supply of snacks and beverages was very welcome. We had a great time!


First Timer

4,2 su ottobre 22, 2008

This was my first B&B experience and I am grateful I decided to stay here. John and Steffi exemplify customer service and his cuisine is fantastic! They are both educated and are delighted to engage in discussion. Felt as though I was accomodated, but given privacy as well as the locale was perfect for soul searching. Was able to disconnect from stress and reconnect with myself. Plan on taking my fiance there for xmas.


Desert ambience, solitude, and lovely accommodations

4,4 su febbraio 24, 2008

Located within 5 minutes of a national desert park, a stone's throw from the mountains, and a short drive to downtown Tucson, Desert Trails B&B is the perfect place to disconnect from the sights and sounds of urban America. At Desert Trails B&B, you can breathe cool fresh air during the day and walk in a moonlit landscape after dark. The host, John, is genial and helpful but not intrusive. A former anthropologist at the University of Arizona, he knows lots about the Southwest in general, Tucson in particular, and good places to visit. The breakfasts at Desert Trails B&B are outstanding, the decor beautiful, and the beds super-comfortable. If you like dogs, Mozart (a well behaved little dachshund) will be happy to greet you and play with you in the courtyard. To watch my 2+ minute video of the area where Desert Trails is located go to YouTube.com and enter in the search box: Tucson Desert Trails B&B.


Desert Trails Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $110 - $175
  • Recensioni (72) 4,5
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5208857295
  • Gratuito 1-8777583284

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina