Black Bear Inn-Ketchikan's Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
34 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Awesome!

4,0 su gennaio 26, 2012

Stayed at the Black Bear Inn in 2008.Was born in Ketchikan and always wanted to return. 52 years later I did. Best time I've ever had by myself. The Inn was excellent!Everything was perfect! Will be returning this summer with my daughter.After listening to me rave about the place and my stay there she bought a gift certificate at the inn for us. Am looking forward to my return and talking with Jim and Nicole again.


Best kept secret

5 su luglio 04, 2011

What fabulous hosts, what an amazing stay. Not only is Ketchikan an amazing oasis but this inn is truly a haven in the wilderness. There are so many things to do in Ketchikan and this is the most wonderful place to stay. The Church's provide exceptional service. The rooms exceptional with every single detail down to the water decanters in the rooms. I will definately visit again but next time for a week. Thank-you so much for making our Alaskan holiday PERFECT.


A Black Bear Stay

4,6 su ottobre 14, 2010

We visited the Black Bear a second time in lAugust 2010. We came back because the rooms were really comfortable and very well appointed. The location is lovely and the sunsets and sunrises while sitting in the outdoor covered hot tub are really beautiful. Even more than that, Nicole and Jim are extremely hospitable. There kitchen is open to guest us (even though they don't do meals) and Nicole even washed our laundry for us and put it back by our room! We often sat around with our friends and our hosts and discussed all sorts of topics - a very relaxed atmosphere. If you visit Ketichikan, stay at the Black Bear! Lowell & Leslie


Outstanding

5 su luglio 06, 2010

Dear Reader, Unitil you've stayed at the Black Bear Inn in Ketchikan, AK you've not experienced SERVICE, value, cleaniliness and dining anywhere, and when I say anywhere, I mean anywhere in the world. My husband and I just stayed here for 4 nights - we've travelled and stayed all over the world, but Black Bear Inn in Ketchikan exceeds anywhere we've ever stayed - it also exceeded any expectations we had prior to arriving. Their web site pictures and write ups does not do the Inn or the owners justice. Thank you Nicole and Jim for everything - we'll be back. The Marshalls.


Great Place

4,0 su giugno 16, 2010

We booked a room at the last minute and didn't know what to expect. The Inn was fabulous. Great room, view, hospitality - wished we could have stayed longer.


A Must Stay in Ketchikan

4,8 su maggio 27, 2010

My wife and I had a 4-night stay at the Black Bear Inn in May 2010. It was perfect! Jim and Nicole's service was outstanding from picking us up at the ferry terminal through scheduling excursions. The make-your-own breakfast exceeded our expectations. It allowed us to be on our own schedule. The inn, situated on the Tongass Narrows, offers great views of marine traffic - tugs, fishing boats, ferries, and cruise ships slipping in and out of Ketchikan. The accommodations are spotless clean, but most of all, Jim and Nicole made our stay very comfortable.


A visit to Ketchikan

4,6 su marzo 31, 2010

We recently had 2 nights at the Black Bear Inn. It was an excellent stay, with very hospitable hosts and accommodation of a very high standard. The room was comfortable, cozy and very clean. The water views were lovely. It is situated away from the town but it was fun catching the local bus. Jim was also happy to drop us off on a couple of occasions as he was driving into town. I would recommend a stay with Nicole and Jim.


The Best Loding in the Country

5 su dicembre 15, 2009

The Black Bear Inn was the nicest lodging with the most excellent service, value, and rooms that my wife and I stayed at during our 30 day trip. I recommend this B&B with the highes regard and know that all who choose it will be 100% satisfied.


August Stay

4,6 su agosto 19, 2009

This was our first B&B stay ever, and any future B&B stay will be hard press to match the outstanding experience we had while guests of Nicole and Jim. We would strongly recommend the Black Bear Inn to anyone visiting Ketchikan.


a great place to stay in Ketchikan

4,8 su giugno 18, 2009

We recently spent a week at the inn and it was a great pleasure. The inn keepers were warm, gracious people, but respected our privacy. We found it to be warm and inviting, lovely room with a private deck to look over the water and grounds. We hope to visit again,


A terrific place to stay!

5 su giugno 04, 2009

We were here for Memorial Day weekend. We stayed in the cottage. the place was very well appointed, we were very well attended to. It is out of the bustle of downtown. Night on the water, very peaceful and very nice. Inn was a keeper!


Great stay

5 su maggio 19, 2009

Gracious hosts, beautiful rooms, hospitality and comfort. Recommend to all!


Great Alaskan Inn!!

4,0 su maggio 17, 2009

This little gem of a place is like going to an Alaskan art gallery, your Mom's home and a beach resort! Nicole and Jim are the best hosts I have ever experienced. While going out fishing Nicole even offered to do my laundry!! The room opened up to a path that went down to the beach, a hot tub right next to where an eagle's nest was near, and a beautiful deck that was lit at night. Cooking grills were next to the hot tub to grill your seafood you could catch. You could even see cruise ships and ferries drive right by your bedroom window. The most special thing about this place though were Jim and Nicole. You just don't get a better place to stay!


Great escape

4,4 su ottobre 31, 2008

We chose the private cabin for a two night anniversary getaway and were extremely happy! The cabin is cosy, the little "kitchen" was great and the two person shower was a nice treat. Having Sirrus radio in our cabin and at the hot tub really added to our relaxed experience. We used the hot tub everyday, even during bad weather as the tub area is covered and partially enclosed. And if we needed an extra muffin or slice of banana bread we just popped over to the main house (which is also beautifully decorated!). I only wish we could have stayed longer! Nicole & Jim are wonderful hosts.


Wonderfuly Peaceful Place

5 su ottobre 10, 2008

The Black Bear Inn is a wonderful peaceful place. Highly recommended.


This is the Place to Stay in Ketchikan

5 su ottobre 03, 2008

Excellent accommodations, the jacuzzi was perfect. There is an eagle that frequents the property. The owners were very knowledgeable and helpful with tour selections.


Best place to stay in Alaska

4,6 su ottobre 02, 2008

The hospitality is wonderful. Owners are very knowledgeable and very helpful. We will consider them friends in the future.


Welcome to Alaska

5 su settembre 30, 2008

Great place to stay - So warm and friendly w/ great hosts - I'd come back in a heartbeat!!


Couldn't ask for more

4,8 su settembre 29, 2008

We stayed in the Eagles Nest. It was tastefully decorated, comfy and very clean. She even had food & drinks supplied for us. Loved the hot tub overlooking the water (outdoors). Hospitality was superb. This Inn far surpassed our expectations.


September

5 su settembre 27, 2008

A group of 6 stayed here mid September 2008 for 3 nights and it was awesome! Nicole and James make you feel right at home. Nicole helped us to arrange all of our excursions which all were great. The rooms were excellent, they all seem to have there own entrance, were clean. The best thing about this B&B is the hottub/outdoor kitchen area. Would absolutely stay here again if I am in Ketchikan.


A great place with wonderful hosts!

5 su settembre 09, 2008

Outstanding!


Home away from home

4,8 su agosto 08, 2008

We had a wonderful vacation with a comfortable, homey place to come back to, after sightseeing. Nicole and Jim are great hosts with many suggestions to aid us.


Beautiful Black Bear Inn

5 su agosto 04, 2008

Beautifully decorated: spectacular location; outside covered area is a great place to cook your "catch" and dine.


Home Away From Home

4,6 su luglio 29, 2008

The Inn is a very welcoming place. The rooms are tastefully and lovingly decorated and all needs are anticipated - the Inn overlooks the water and is a very peaceful setting. the kitchen is open - help yourself for breakfast - the usual continental withsome tasty treats. Nicole and Jim are wonderful hosts.


"Want to keep this Place to Myself'

4,6 su luglio 23, 2008

No better place for either a retreat or a fun time with a group of friends, girls, guys, or both! Intimate & cozy! The Eagle's Nest & The Bunkhouse are both perfect for a romantic getaway or honeymoon!


We felt quite unwelcome

2,2 su luglio 19, 2008

We recently stayed for four nights at the Black Bear Inn. We reserved the room of our choice more than 8 months in advance, and paid more than $300 down. The week before we were to arrive, I e-mailed to confirm and was informed that we had been "upgraded" to a non-equivalent room (without our knowledge or permission). We had carefully chosen our room based on number of beds, type of bed, and the presence of a soaking tub. The "upgrade" we were assigned did not satisfy these requirements. We were REFUSED the room we chose for the full four nights. We were forced to repack our things on the third night so that the innkeeper could move us to a different room for the last night of our stay. This room had no soaking tub and only one bed (unless you include a "daybed" in the porch area.) We felt truly cheated since we had reserved the room we wanted so far in advance. We were offered no refund. We believe this was breach of contract. The website and brochure clearly offered a laundry facility for the use of the guests, and yet when I quietly entered the front door to use the laundry which is just off the foyer, the innkeeper met me to say, (exact words) "I can't have you in here now!" My husband and I have agreed that never in all our years of travelling and staying in both hotels and B&B's have we been made to feel so unwelcome!!! This is a lovely inn in a lovely setting. But for us, the pleasant memories are overshadowed by the way we were treated. I have saved the e-mails documenting what room I reserved, the price I was charged, and the refusal to let us have it for our entire stay. If you are considering staying at the Black Bear Inn Ketchikan, be prepared to be refused the particular room you have carefully chosen by the innkeeper, Nicole Church.

Risposta del proprietario
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Black Bear Inn. During your stay we had a very unusual situation with a group of 8 guests who had reserved all the rooms in the main house and were arriving on an international flight. Their flight was unexpectedly moved up by one day. Rather than leave these guests stranded in an unfamiliar country with no place to stay, I attempted to accommodate everyone. When we became aware of this issue, several days before your arrival, we contacted you to offer you the choice of a refund for your final night or an upgrade from the bedroom in the Inn to the full apartment or the private cabin (for either your entire stay or just the final night). When you decided to accept the upgrade to the cabin for the final night, we thought you were satisfied with the resolution. Regarding the laundry, we are happy to wash guests’ clothing for them for free. Unfortunately, we only have one washing machine, so guests can not wash their own clothes when we are doing laundry. Sometimes as innkeepers we experience unforeseen situations like this. We always try very hard to find solutions that satisfy all of our guests. We have learned from this experience and hope that your future travels to Alaska bring you pleasure.


Excellent, beautiful, accommodating

4,8 su luglio 03, 2008

The Black Bear Inn is a wonderful B&B with helpful, friendly hosts, a beautiful setting, and charming, comfortable rooms. Relax and enjoy


Friendly Hospitality in Beautiful Surroundings

4,8 su luglio 02, 2008

We have been to Alaska several times, but this was our first visit to Ketchikan. We wanted to go kayaking, fishing & sightseeing. Nicole connected us with all the right people to see and do what we wanted. The inn is comfortable, beautiful and in a great location on the water, away from the noise of downtown. We had a wonderful stay, and look forward to returning.


Return Visit

5 su giugno 30, 2008

This was a return trip for a "guys" fishing trip this year and as in the past the accomodations, the hosts (Jim and Nicole) are great and go out of there way to accomodate your requests. If you are considering a stay in a B & B, this Inn should be at the top of your list. Vernon B June 2008


Favorite in Alaska!

4,8 su giugno 19, 2008

My husband and I just got back from a 2 week vacation in Alaska. We spent 2 nights at the Black Bear Inn. Not only was it the best place to stay in Ketchikan, but was the nicest, cleanest place we stayed in all of Alaska! Nicole and Jim were so helpful, suggesting on places to visit, eat,etc... We just felt so comfortable staying there! J&J


work hard play hard

5 su giugno 16, 2008

i come here every other month for work and staying here make a work trip feel more like i'm "home". the rooms are all perfectly clean with beds so comfortable it's almost hard to get out of when the alarm goes off.


The comforts of home PLUS!

5 su giugno 10, 2008

The owners, Nicole and Jim, go overboard to make you feel comfortable and relaxed.. Setting on the water is beautiful. Great outdoor hot tub came in very handy after a strenuous day of fishing. Nicole is extremely helpful with recommending fishing guides, local shops, gourmet chef to cook up our catch at the Inn, good restaurants, etc. Nothing but the finest! We were 5 guys on a weeklong fishing vacation, but I would love to return with my wife.


Spa like B&B

4,8 su maggio 15, 2008

I travel to Ketchikan on business every other month. I have beem staying here since they opened. I love this B&B because the owners Jim and Nicole are unobtrusive, respectful of the need to unwind, kind and relaxed. They also have and excellent hot tub.


The Perfect Alaskan Retreat

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2007

The Black Bear Inn is like a home from home. Nicole and Jim are wonderfully welcoming and a great source of information on local attractions. We couldn't recommend their hospitality enough. Amazing location with unforgatable views from the hot tub while sipping on a glass of wine!!!


Black Bear Inn-Ketchikan's

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $100 - $230
  • Recensioni (34) 4,7
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9072254343
  • Cellulare 1-9076177567

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina