The Lodge On Gorham's Bluff Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
241 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

We will become regulars!!!

4,8 su luglio 09, 2014

This lodge is a hidden gem! The lodge is beautiful, rooms are well appointed and spacious. The view is unbelievable. Photos online do not do it justice!!!! The dinner meal was comparable to any 5 star I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. However, bring your own wine as the lodge is in a dry county. I have nothing but good things to say about our visit. We are already planning a return trip!


Beautifully relaxing

5 su luglio 05, 2014

The lodge was peacefully quiet, the room was very clean with a great view of the Tennessee river and the food was excellent. Great place to spend a quiet and relaxing weekend.


Everything as Advertised

4,8 su luglio 04, 2014

This was our first time at Gorham's Bluff, but will not be our last. A peaceful, serene setting that encourages you to slow down and decompress. The room (Parton) was wonderful, with a large porch overlooking the river. The dining was first rate, as was the service. We will plan to include a couple of days on our future trips to take advantage of this great lodge.


Gorham's Bluff Greek Revival Cottage

3,2 su luglio 02, 2014

Nice overnight stay but pricey and a little outdated.


Gorham's Bluff

5 su luglio 01, 2014

Gorham's Bluff is the most beautiful and peaceful place we've ever stayed. The people are so friendly and accomdating!! They all go out of their way to make your stay an exceptional experience!!! The food is second to NONE!! This is definitely a place to go if you want to unwind and relax. It is definitely the most romantic place - the views are unbelievable!!! Steve and Nancy


Breath Taking Views Above Tennesee River

3,6 su giugno 24, 2014

The views were outstanding and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The dinner was gourmet and delicious. Breakfast was excellent as well. The exterior could have used a little paint as well as the interior vents in the room. Overall it was a very pleasant experience.


Really enjoyed our stay

4,2 su giugno 15, 2014

A wonderful place to place to kick back and relax. The view from the balcony of our room was beautiful. The meals were amazing. Will definitely return. Really enjoyed our stay.


Wonderful Anniversary

4,6 su giugno 08, 2014

We enjoyed out 10th anniversary in this wonderful little spot hidden in the foothills of the Appalachians. The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities of home. The food was Five Star excellent and was as good as any of the best restaurants in Birmingham. The variety was outstanding with all fresh fuits and vegetables from local sources. Chef Rene Boyzo needs special recognition for his excellent cooking and the variey of nice tasty meals. The wait staff was efficient and courteous and made the meals a dining experience to remember. The vistas from the mountain top will be remembered for years to come. Thanks to all who made our stay one to remember. Thank you so much.


Great Getaway

4,2 su giugno 04, 2014

Upon check-in, I was surprised to not receive any information regarding amenities (Wifi, pool hours, trails, map of the area, etc...). Otherwise, it is a beautiful quiet setting with nice accommodations.


Gorham's Bluff first timer

3,2 su maggio 29, 2014

Quaint and quiet, but needing TLC. Very nice people. The cottage needed upkeep - the main level A/C did not work (thankfully it was not the middle of the summer) and the outside could use pressure washing. The place is ideal if you want seclusion because it is miles from grocery, gas, convenience, or other stores. Lots of activities within 45 minutes but none within 30. A GREAT place to get away and read, sleep and enjoy fine dining in an intimate atmosphere.


Breathtaking Views, Great Service!

4,8 su maggio 29, 2014

This is the ultimate romantic get-a-way for a couple that isn't interested in typical audience-entertainment tourist attractions. The view of the Tennessee valley is truly breathtaking. The historical lodge and quaint cottages are a wonderful place to stay. The evening 4-course meal by Chef Rene is wonderful if you don't mind paying a premium to be pampered from start to finish with outstanding, personalized hosting and great servers. If you want a room with a view, stay ing the lodge. If you need TV and internet, check out the cottages. Ours had an amazing library of DVDs and books. This is a great place.


Great Getaway!

4,8 su maggio 24, 2014

A relaxing weekend with breath taking view! We will definitely be returning!


Awesome Experience

5 su maggio 05, 2014

The stay was amazing and the food was out of this world. I felt one with God and his Glory


Great Stay!

5 su aprile 27, 2014

What a great place! Charming, secluded and a fantastic view. And OMG the food...fantastic and TONS of it! While not technically a B&B (since breakfast is not included), do yourself a favor and buy the meal plan. The chef is great and the portions are much more than adequate...I'm talking doggie bags from every meal! The Inn needs a little maintenance...showing signs of wear from storms and southern humidity but nothing that really detracts from a peaceful stay! We WILL stay there again (and take friends)!


Excellent food; beautiful view

4,0 su aprile 23, 2014

Stayed one night in the Lodge in the Satterfield suite, which is on the 2nd floor and has a large balcony with a beautiful view of TN valley and mountains. The room is nice but a little dated. They are gradually remodeling each of the rooms. I understand that they have completed the remodeling of one room--the Woods suite. The Lodge is beginning to need a paint job. The 4 course dinner we had Saturday evening was excellent--fresh delicious salad, small plate(wonderful crab cake that night) choice of 2 entrees (that night choice of filet mignon or seared sea scallops--both delicious), as were each of the choices of dessert offerings. .They do not serve alcoholic bev but have wine coolers and glasses and welcome you to bring your own with no corkage fee. Breakfast the next morning was also wonderful--the best grits I have had in my life Attended a nice Easter sunrise service in amphitheatre.Nice walking trails. As we were departing we noticed a large brick bldg with a lot of bicycles on the back porch--now guessing that those were available for guests. This would have been nice to know upfront as we would have taken advantage of the opportunity. Definitely worth a visit for food, view and serenity.


Blue Springs Cottage at Gorham's Bluff

4,4 su aprile 22, 2014

This is a magical place that will remove you from the fast pace of life - quiet, tranquil and breathakingly beautiful. Stay in a cottage if you prefer seculsion, the option of dining in your room and a laundry option. We did the full American meal plan, which was Breakfast, box lunch and dinner. Next time we will opt for just the dinner as we feel we need to pace ourselves! Everything was absolutely delicious in the dining room. The Executive Chef is top notch!


Quiet awesome getaway

5 su aprile 16, 2014

This was an awesome quiet getaway. The chef prepared awesome and delicious meals that were personalized for each evening!!!!!


Great Getaway

4,6 su aprile 13, 2014

This is a lovely, peaceful, getaway with an abundance of natural beauty surrounding it. The food and service were also outstanding.


Awesome weekend retreat!

5 su aprile 11, 2014

We absolutely loved our weekend at Gorham's Bluff. From the cute, peaceful, comfortable cottage, to the quaint Lodge, to the fine dining-quality meals, to the fabulous views, to the accommodating customer service. We will most definitely return! We stayed in the Kent's Cottage. It had just as incredible of a view as the Lodge did. We would have stayed in a Lodge room, but they didn't have TV's in the rooms. Yes, even on a vacation we like the option. We didn't turn it on much.


Honeymoon

4,8 su aprile 02, 2014

Our stay was perfect. We are glad we chose Gorham's Bluff for our special occasion!


Incredible Views, Great Food

4,2 su marzo 26, 2014

We had a great stay - walked / hiked, rode bikes (provided by the B&B), incredible food. There were fishing supplies there as well we just ran out of time. Take your own wine if you want it, none sold on the premises.


gorhams bluff

5 su febbraio 26, 2014

The food was delicious. The cottage was perfect. The solitude was wonderful.


A rare find

5 su febbraio 23, 2014

An enchanting place to stay in Northern Alabama...tucked away in the mountains. Beautifully decorated, warm and cozy place to refresh and relax. Food absolutely delicious. Great Chef and service. Warm welcome and genuine hospitality.


Great time at Gorham's Bluff

5 su febbraio 20, 2014

Best food I have ever eaten. The chef is fantastic! Views are unbelievable. Great place to go to relax and get away. Highly recommend.


interesting community

3,0 su febbraio 19, 2014

We stayed in a cottage and although it was clean, there was a problem with ants. We were constantly spraying bug spray every time we went in the kitchen, or either bathroom and the laundry room. But when we told the manager about it, she was very accomodating and someone went back and sprayed with some stronger so I feel like they did all they could at the time. The dining service was extremely slow, took almost 2 1/2 hours for dinner but the food was some of the best we've ever had.


This place was outstanding. The food was the best ever!!!

5 su febbraio 06, 2014

We just stayed one night, however we had dinner and breakfast, both were awesome.


Three perfect days..

5 su gennaio 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff. We loved the fireplace in the room and comfortable bed. The view from our private balcony was breathtaking. We had breakfast delivered to our room in the mornings, and enjoyed two perfect candlelight dinners in the dining room by the fireplace. The food was excellent! The chef kindly accommodated my vegetarian diet. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, this is your place! My husband and I can't wait to stay again. Stephanie and Brian Wiggins, MS


Best Weekend Ever! :)

5 su gennaio 10, 2014

Everything was perfect! The room, the view, the service, the food. We had a lovely, relaxing stay.


Excellent food and service

4,2 su gennaio 06, 2014

Wonderful views, excellent food and service. Time to do some minor exterior maintenance - pianting, etc.


Great weekend get away

4,8 su gennaio 05, 2014

The inn is very tasteful with a great view. The food was fabulous. I would definitely go again!


Fantastic getaway

4,2 su gennaio 02, 2014

I took my wife to Gorham's Bluff for our anniversary, and we were very happy with the experience. The room was fantastic, the view was incredible, and the food was top notch. There were some minor maintenance issues with the room; for example, there was some rot on one of the windowsills, but it was easily overlooked. Overall it was fantastic, and we will absolutely stay again.


Just shy of excellent

4,4 su dicembre 31, 2013

The Lodge is outstanding. The view was awesome. However, there are some little things that I think they need to do. First, the interior is nice but is a bit dated. The watercolors look so 1990. They just need some minor decorating tweeks and updated pictures. There are pictures there that my wife and I bought when we got married for our first apt 30 years ago.....a decorator coud do a world of good, and you wouldnt have to spend a lot. It would have been nice to have fresh coffee when we arrived. It was cold out side. Also, the coffee on the 2nd floor in the morning was nice, however the regular was basically empty and the decaf basically full. So an addtional canister of reg would have been good. A map of the area on check in would have been nice explaining the history of the community. I think they have a good story to tell. The lodge is in good shape but the exterior needs some touch up painting. Its definitey overdue. My wife and I enjoyed it and will definitely be back and will tell other people. But it seams that overall they are just slightly off their game if they want to be excellent.


Peace and Tranquility

4,0 su dicembre 25, 2013

Very quiet, peaceful, tranquil. The perfect place to slow down the pace!


Home away from home.

5 su dicembre 23, 2013

Wonderful experience. Gorham's Bluff is my special place. 6 visits in 6 years. The staff, the food, the lodge, the mtns. Exceptional


A little piece of Heaven

5 su dicembre 11, 2013

I had always heard good things about Gorham's Bluff and my fiance and I finally got to visit. We were overwhelmed....by the view, the lovely cottage, the atmosphere, and the service. The restaurant was top-notch!!! Our server, Jessica, was precious and the chef, Rene, was truly world-class!!! It rained the entire time we were there and was still the most impressive place we have ever stayed. We will be back as many times a year as we can carve out of our schedules. We highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.


Bluff Overnighter

3,2 su dicembre 08, 2013

Very quiet location, great short hikes along bluff and into the woods.


Gorham's Bluff anniversary trip

5 su novembre 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed in The Owen room on Friday night and the amenities were better there than anywhere we have ever stayed. The food was prepared to perfection, the room was immaculant, and the setting was very quiet and intimate. We will be staying there again ASAP.


Unbelievable Getaway with a View!

5 su novembre 25, 2013

My wife and I wanted a quaint getaway and we found it and more at Gorham's Bluff. Everything from the cottage, with the most comfortable bed, to the dining atmosphere and incredible food, to the stunning views. I recommend this to any couple needing to getaway from the stresses of life.


The Kelley's

4,4 su novembre 21, 2013

The only thing we did not like was no TV in the room. We did come downstairs and watch it, but we would have preferred a TV in the room for am viewing and the news at night. The food was fabulous. Service was great, but slow, but who is in a hurry there? We loved the stay except for the TV. The management did set up a table for us in the TV room for dinner so we could watch the game.


anniversary weekend

5 su novembre 20, 2013

We returned to Gorham's Bluff and stayed at Kent's Cottage. To our surprise it had been updated with new landscaping, exterior paint and outdoor furniture. The cottage is very comfortable and we really enjoy the view. All of our meals were delicious and we especially enjoyed our box lunch full of homemade goodies! We look forward to our next visit.


Peaceful visit

4,2 su novembre 13, 2013

We had a relaxing and quiet time in our room. The food was wonderful. We had the best time sitting with three other couples watching the Alabama vs LSU game. This was a quiet and enjoyable weekend.


Fall getaway

4,4 su novembre 12, 2013

Our second trip to Gorham's Bluff was as wonderful as the first. Very nice facility, fantastic staff, and food fit for a king and queen. Chef Rene is without a doubt great.


Incredible Honeymoon Spot!

5 su novembre 11, 2013

Incredible lodging and dining experience! Great waitstaff! Perfect for time away to relax.


Wonderful weekend

5 su novembre 06, 2013

Setting is gorgeous and food is outstanding. Highly recommended!


Loved it!

5 su novembre 04, 2013

We stayed in the Satterfield for our honeymoon night. It was wonderful. It was very clean and looked just as it did in the picture. The view was amazing from our room. You could see for miles! Breakfast was also well worth the price. Their pancakes with pecan butter were some of the best I've had. My husband's gravy and biscuit was also delicious. We walked around the community and it was beautiful. We will definitely be back and we have also told others about our stay.


Weekend Getaway

4,8 su ottobre 30, 2013

Gorham's Bluff is awesome! My husband and I went there for a "getaway" weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The location is absolutely beautiful! We stayed in "Stephen's Cottage" which was just perfect for us and just a short walk (less than 5 min.) to the lodge where we ate the most incredible meals! A little more expensive than we normally pay for a getaway… but we loved it and will definitely return!!


Awesome weekend

4,6 su ottobre 07, 2013

My husband and I went here for our 13th Wedding Anniversary. We both loved our stay. Outstanding view with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The food was unreal!! Loved everything about our weekend...from riding bikes to watching college football with the other guests to lounging on the deck. The staff is very attentive and very nice. Absolutely nothing negative to say!! Will definitely go back!


Beauty on the Bluff!

5 su settembre 21, 2013

We have been telling everybody about our stay at Gorhams Bluff. It was WONDERFUL. Autumn would be an amazing time to visit, because of the Fall color and the scenery overlooking the Tennessee river. The food was the Best we have ever experienced. The staff were all warm and gracious. Just can't say enough about this beautiful place in Sweet Home Alabama. You will just have to go and experience it yourself. You will be glad you did -- I promise.


Everywhere you looked, beautiful!

4,2 su settembre 09, 2013

We spent our wedding night at The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff. The beauty of the place struck us immediately. It is gorgeous! We were greeted by the innkeeper who knew we were coming and that we had just left our reception. We stayed in one of the top rooms (no balcony, but whirlpool tub and see-through fireplace). It was wonderful. So relaxing and cozy. The food was phenomenal. So very good! The dinner menu had been customized to read Congratulations to us; however, the innkeeper on duty at that time didn't know what we were celebrating, so that was a bit of a disappointment. Our only regret of the evening was the service we received. It was not up to par for what we were paying. Luckily, the innkeeper overheard our disappointment and frustration and addressed it with the kitchen; however, the service didn't improve as we were made very aware that our server was not happy that she'd been reprimanded (or whatever action taken by the innkeeper). Breakfast the next morning completely made up for the dinner service the night before. The food was wonderful; the service exceptional! We chose a later check-out which allowed us time to play some cornhole, wander the property, take pictures, relax in our room and then enjoy another wonderful meal, a gourmet box lunch with fried chicken, orzo salad, potato salad, yogurt, chocolate chip cookie, and more! This will be a regulare "get away" for us. We loved it!


Fantastic family weekend

5 su settembre 05, 2013

We had a family weekend to celebrate a wedding at The Bluff, it was an amazing time with every detail taken care of by the attentive and caring staff.


Great weekend getaway.

4,2 su settembre 04, 2013

As always, a great trip to Gorhams Bluff. Unfortunately, it looks like a little general maintenance would be in order.


Terrific Get A Way and would return!- but needs some TLC

4,6 su settembre 01, 2013

We had an Amazing experience and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a few days to get away. The food was absolutely the best part of the experience. Also, the owner went out of her way to assist us with any need, desire or want.


Soo.....relaxing!

4,6 su agosto 30, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 nights in the Bluffview cottage here and it was wonderful! We came up for his 45th high school reunion which was held in the Meeting House on the property - it turned out great too. We're so glad to have spent time here, quiet, relaxing and such beautiful views! We only had one meal (breakfast) at the lodge and it couldn't have been better, but we'll be back in the fall and have dinner next time!


Breathtaking Views

4,0 su agosto 15, 2013

Food was superb!!!!


Awesome Room and service!

4,6 su agosto 13, 2013

The Owens was the nicest room at any B&B that my wife and I have ever stayed in. The people were great and the service was excellent. The dinner package is pricey but the portions are large!


Unique B&B

5 su agosto 01, 2013

Very Restful experience


Tranquil and delicious

4,0 su luglio 26, 2013

Our stay at Gorham's Bluff for our 2nd anniversary was the perfect antidote to a frustratingly hectic weekend in midtown Atlanta. We enjoyed peace and quiet and thoughtful, unintrusive service in a spectacular setting. The dinner was utterly fantastic and breakfast equally well-prepared. Gorham's Bluff is a wonderful getaway for those who can enjoy the quiet and is well-stocked with scenic overlooks, big fireplaces, and old books.


Excellent place for a romantic getaway

5 su luglio 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our relaxing time. The room, Lodge, and the meals were excellent. We'll be back!


Fantastic experience

4,6 su luglio 17, 2013

The cottage was very nice and the food was amazing. We cannot wait to go back


Hidden Treasure

4,2 su luglio 17, 2013

This is a beautiful area and the hospitality was just amazing.


Diamond in the Rought

4,6 su luglio 10, 2013

Limited activities. Great pool if you have good weather, Loved the Satterfield Room. Building and grounds need a little work.


Very relaxing getaway! Beautiful views!

4,4 su giugno 26, 2013

We had a very relaxing time. Our cottage was very attractive and the bed was very comfortable. The meals were excellent and everyone was very pleasant. We enjoyed the view, the quiet, and the birds.


Wonderful family vacation on the Bluff!

5 su giugno 26, 2013

As always, our visit to Gorham's Bluff was a great family "getaway". The pool and playground were the highlights for the children. Our house was wonderful-spacious and relaxing, and the lake for fishing was the highlight for the boys. The staff was excellent and so accommodating. Loved out visit!


Weedend Away from it all

4,6 su giugno 10, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend away... replacing electronics with spectacular views and the chaos of everyday life with serenity. Although the dining selections were very limited, the food was fabulous.


Perfection

5 su giugno 02, 2013

We celebrated our 24th anniversary at Gorham's Bluff. Previously we had stayed in the houses on the property but chose this time to stay in the lodge. WOW! So glad we did. The view was amazing, the food by Chef Rene was the best we'd ever eaten. The staff was very helpful and friendly and our room was pristine. A very relaxing 3 days. The Garriotts


Our Favorite Place

3,4 su maggio 28, 2013

We try to make it to Gorham's Bluff at least once a year. It is our favorite couple's retreat destination. The only complaint we have about this visit is that both of the pocket doors to the bathroom were broken and we could not close either one. Even after 15+ years of marriage there are some things that are just not meant to be shared! Otherwise, everything was as wonderful as always. We love this place, and it is hard to complain, even about something as trivial as the pocket doors.


A place to get away from the wireless world

4,2 su maggio 22, 2013

Enjoyed the cottage that we rented just a short walk down the road from the main lodge. Lots of space in the cottage, and furnished very nicely. Dining experience is great, and makes one easily forget time. Of course, the views are spectacular.


Great Place for Weekend Getaway!

5 su maggio 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a cottage at Gorham's Bluff for a nice relaxing weekend. The food was fantastic. (We both enjoyed the filet mignon the best!) We took advantage of breakfast delivery in the mornings, which is a nice added feature. The location is beautiful, and the staff is more than accommodating. We will definitely go back again in the future.


Gorham's Bluff

4,4 su maggio 22, 2013

We had a mix up in the reservations. We had told the hoter that we wanted the full American plan but realized when we stoped by for a box lunch we were being billed al a carte and no lunch was available for us....not a big problem but thought I would mention it. We had a great stay and will recommend Gorham's Bluff to our friends. Thank you!


Great view and fantastic food.

4,6 su maggio 20, 2013

Great view (from your private balcony) of the TN river from a high bluff. Wonderful meals.


Beutiful Place to Stay--bed too soft, however

4,2 su maggio 15, 2013

Gorgeous views and anyone would love the fabulous balconies that overlook the bluff. The bed is way too soft and we both awoke with sore backs. The room could use a little routine maintenance--neither of the pocket doors work. It would nice to have them BOTH in working order. As an "extra" .... It would also be nice to have a soft rug of some kind in front of the large vanity which is away from the shower and toilet. Overall, we've been there before and will go again! Crisp cotton sheets, feather pillows, very clean. Might ask for a room with a firmer bed!


Absolutely lovely.

5 su maggio 11, 2013

Our stay was perfect. A definite visit if you are looking for great food and quiet time.


Great view and fine dining

4,8 su maggio 07, 2013

The 3rd time we've stayed here. This was the best yet for for fine dining from chef Rene and never better hospitality from the staff .


Winter Weekend Getaway

5 su maggio 05, 2013

My husband and I came back to Gorham's Bluff in December 2012 after we first visited for our honeymoon in the summer of 2006. Both times our experience was wonderful. Besides our rooms, the grounds and the lodge being absolutely beautiful the service was top notch! Everyone is so very sweet and welcoming. They really make you feel at home. The food for all three meals of the day is always extremely delicious! We will come back for a third visit for sure!


Lake View

4,2 su maggio 01, 2013

Food and service excellent!


Tranquil getaway

4,0 su aprile 24, 2013

Very nice place w/ outstanding views & relaxing atmosphere. A little on the pricey side, but worth it. I felt stress & tension just melt away as soon as we entered the area. Got some great photos as well. You can stay at the lodge or a personal cottage. The cottage we stayed in could have been a bit cleaner as far as cobwebs go, but otherwise very clean & very comfortable. We only stayed 1 night & I felt as if I could definitely stay several days if given the opportunity. Tons of great books & dvd's available in the cottage for a longer stay. Hopefully we can afford to come back again one day.


Peace & Quiet

4,6 su aprile 19, 2013

Great place to unwind and relax....read, nap, walk, bike ride, eat delicious food...very accommodating staff...and the views are amazing! Remote...no shopping here, just R & R.


Great romantic weekend getaway

5 su aprile 17, 2013

Gorham's Bluff is remote, located on the far eastern edge of Sand Mountain, overlooking the Tennessee River. But it is not rustic. It is an aberration appearing like an apparition--a community of luxurious homes, anchored by the Inn, where we stayed--as if out nowhere in the midst of the farms and ranches of rural Northeast Alabama. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Ours was centered on a remote-controlled gas fireplace, the bathroom and jacuzzi tub on one side of the open hearth, with the sleeping quarters on the other. There was a small reading/sitting room off to the side of the sleeping quarters, overlooking the sweeping views of the Tennessee River valley below. The views are fabulous. God gave Alabama more beauty than she can say grace over, and Gorham's Bluff is one of her tastiest morsels. The meals were outstanding. Dinner was served in a white tablecloth dining area on the main floor of the Inn. A pianist gently tinkled the ivories during the three courses. The lobster bisque appetizer was fabulous; the filet mignon and broiled salmon main courses as well. Breakfast was served in the same dining area the next morning. There was fruit juice, coffee and biscuits or muffins to start. The Gorham's Bluff Blend of orange and cranberry juice was delicious, along with the dark muffins, which came hot from the oven, surprisingly moist and light. The main courses were standard fare with a flourish. The sausage biscuits and gravy tasted like Grandma's. To top off the culinary delights, a box lunch was provided later in the day (Sunday, check-out day), stuffed with roast beef sandwiches on onion rolls, pasta salad, chips, yogurt and nectarines. Put aside the diet for your visit. The whole point of a romantic getaway is to slow down, and let time go by lightly with the one you love. For that, I can't think of any better place to go in Alabama than Gorham's Bluff. I highly recommend it.


A beautiful escape!

4,6 su aprile 10, 2013

That's exactly what this was - a nice escape from a busy life. If you're looking for a similar experience - one that is not hindered by cell phones and internet, and in our case, TV, then this is the place for you. We stayed at the Greek Revival cottage, which was perfect for my wife and I. While it would have been nice to watch the NCAA tournament on TV (the DISH Network did not work), it was actually a silver lining to be without it. And it certainly made my wife happy. The room was clean and had everything we needed to make our stay great. The service at the Lodge was top-notch, and the food was amazing. Be sure to plan to eat dinner at the Lodge - it's worth it. Well worth our time to stay here!


Rejuvenation Reigns at this Alabama treasure!

5 su marzo 23, 2013

I arrived at Gorham's Bluff exhausted and stressed out from life, and I left two days later rejuvenated and relaxed! The view from my private porch was breath-taking! The meals prepared by Chef Rene were incredible! This will not be my last trip to beautiful Gorham's Bluff!


Valentine Getaway

5 su marzo 23, 2013

We had a wonderful romantic Valentine getaway. Beautiful views of the bluff from our room! Quiet and relaxing. Loved the personalized menus!!


Great Place to Visit!

4,6 su marzo 07, 2013

We arrived on Friday to celebrate our 27th Wedding Anniversary. The meal Friday night was scrumptious and the homeowners were very friendly. They talked and mingled with the guests and made everyone feel quite welcome. We awoke on Saturday to snow on the ground. The beautiful views along with the snow, made it a winter wonderland! A very special place to celebrate our anniversary.


Secret paradise getaway

5 su marzo 05, 2013

This place is amazing! Cottages were cozy and the food was wonderful! A must see/stay if you get the chance!


Great night for two

4,6 su marzo 03, 2013

It was a great day and night at Gorham's Bluff. It has a great view looking high over the river, the rooms are warm and spacious along with the decor was great. The service was great and the meal yhat night was as good as ant 5 star I have been too. Will go back some time soon.


Romantic getaway

4,8 su marzo 01, 2013

Our first stay at Gorhams bluff, and we LOVED it!! The surroundings are breathtaking, the food was outstanding chef Rene's sirloin was out of this world and the cottage we stayed in was gorgeous, nice to get away.We will be back and hope to make it a yearly tradition.


Great Retreat

4,8 su febbraio 25, 2013

The lodge has the feel that there is always more to it than what you can know. The view over the Tennessee River is majestic and the walking trails are an added bonus. The food and service were very good, better than I expected. The fact that it is high quality lodge in a remote place adds to its specialness. I will return.


Ted's 50th Birthday Celebration!

4,8 su febbraio 17, 2013

This was our 5th time to stay at Gorham's Bluff. We really love coming to The Lodge! The rooms, view, food and service were outstanding. Thanks for making my husband's 50th birthday special. Sincerely, Cynthia Green Arab, Alabama


Anniversary stay at Gorham's Bluff

5 su febbraio 17, 2013

We spent our 35th wedding anniversary at Gorham's Bluff as we have the past seven or more years.The hospitality and dining are always outstanding.


Winter getaway

5 su gennaio 26, 2013

This was our second trip to the Lodge and we enjoyed this very much. Dinner was excellent, our chef Rene's attention to detail was wonderful. Our room was exceptional, we really enjoyed the jacuzzi for two in our room and the see through fireplace. The community of Gorham's Bluff is growing on us. If you want a quiet getaway with all the extra's this is your place. The fireplace's in the Lodge are a great place to curl up and read a book on a cold winter's day.


very relaxing

4,8 su gennaio 15, 2013

Nice getaway.


fairley review

5 su gennaio 12, 2013

great food, great service, very relaxing


Winter trip to the Bluff

3,2 su gennaio 04, 2013

The idea behind this town is great. The food was fantastic. I was a little disappointed in the attention to some of the little details and one customer service person. We had a cottage that needed some dusting and it smelled like wood smoke really bad but it did have a fireplace so... Also, the remotes didn't have batteries, some lamps had no bulbs. So like I said it was just the little things. Everyone was super friendly and very helpful with the exception of the young lady that was hostess at dinner was a little dismissive and not as friendly but other than that if was fabulous!!


The lodge at Gorham's Bluff

4,0 su dicembre 10, 2012

Very relaxing, friendly service, great view. We enjoyed it very much.


Thanksgiving at Gorham's

3,2 su dicembre 08, 2012

The cottage was great and the service as usual was very good. The Thanksgiving lunch/brunch was excellent. However, the other two dinners we had were below par. The menu was unimaginative and the preparation was disappointing and much below what would be expected from a pricey restaurant. Breakfast was very good.


Met expectations

3,0 su novembre 28, 2012

cottage and surroundings were very nice - shower water temperature was difficult to control - multiple remotes for Dish/DVD/TV were difficult to operate, some buttons worked and some did not - otherwise nice place to visit


Excellent getaway! Quiet and refreshing!

4,8 su novembre 28, 2012

Excellent getaway! Quiet and refreshing! The food is fantastic!


quiet and relaxing

3,4 su novembre 28, 2012

Only two complaints. The gas fireplace in the Woods room is for show only. Second, most bed and breakfast include the cost of breakfast in the room cost, this does not.


Unplugged and re-energized

4,8 su novembre 12, 2012

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff was a wonderful find for a weekend getaway! Within an easy drive of Birmingham, it made an overnight "vacation" possible. Beautiful in the fall!


Beautiful views, wonderful rooms, exceptional food, great service.

5 su novembre 07, 2012

Everything about our stay was first class. It was some of the best food we've ever eaten. Can't say enough good things about The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff!


Happy Honeymooner

5 su novembre 01, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing time at Gorham's Bluff for our honeymoon. We stayed in a beautiful cabin and ate more than I thought possible. The chef, Rene, is extremely gifted in cooking and makes every meal memorable. We had him cater our wedding and plan on using him for all of our future events. My husband and I have already started planning our next trip to Gorham's Bluff. I would recommend this place to everyone and have already talked to numerous people about visiting. If you are looking for a quite place that is romantic and serving the best food you could ask for Gorham's is the place for you.


Unique B & B Experience

4,2 su ottobre 31, 2012

Unlike most B & B's we have visited, this one provides more than just breakfast. The three meals served are sumptous and there aren't enough adjectives to describe just how delicious the meals are and how they are presented. The scenic setting of the Lodge is also a plus.


A Great experience!

4,4 su ottobre 29, 2012

We stayed in Kent Cottage, enjoying a beautiful view of the Tennessee river from any room at the back of the house, especially from the upper bedroom and deck. The food was great. My favorite items: Creamy buttery grits. Crab filled avocado with tater salad on top? (Yep!!) Tender fillet of beef with tangy demi glaze (that'd be Gravy). BSTOC (bacon, spinach, tomato, onion, and cheese) sandwich. Dessert!!! Chocolate lava cake with ice cream was the best. We had an excellent adventure climbing down into The Gorge at nearby Pisgah Civitan Park; fine waterfalls and old forest.


Great place for a peaceful getaway!

4,0 su ottobre 29, 2012

Surroundings were beautiful, staff was very generous with their hospitality. It was a great couple of days and we were well taken care of. Highly recommend!


excellent bed and breakfast

5 su ottobre 16, 2012

We spent just one night at Gorham's Bluff and it was a great place to stay.Everything was in order, the room was great,very homey and well appointed.The service was excellent.The food and ambiance were amazing.This is a great place to get away to and just relax and be pampered.


Amazing stay

4,2 su ottobre 13, 2012

My husband I stayed in a cottage for one night a couple of weeks ago and had a fantastic time. We rarely get away and this was a perfect, peaceful, relaxing setting for a much needed boost! The staff is excellent, the cottage was adorable and welcoming and the food is as good as, if not better than, any 4 star restaurant. The chef, Rene' (sp?), even came out to speak with us. We just booked another 2 night stay if that tells you anything.... Enjoy!!


birthday celebration

4,2 su ottobre 01, 2012

Great weekend stay. Fantastic food. Friendly staff. Stayed at one of the cottages on the bluff. Quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed TV in cottage so we could watch college football game(s). Will return in future.


A hidden gem

5 su settembre 27, 2012

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff is truly a hidden gem among the mountains. The view is spectacular from any room. The southern hospitality of the host make your stay most enjoyable. The food at the Lodge is superb. I look forward to returning in the future.


Wonderful getaway!

4,6 su settembre 15, 2012

We celebrated our 45th anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place. Our host was very hospitable, our room was beautiful and service was excellent. Great relaxing place to escape to!


weekend getaway

5 su settembre 13, 2012

Excelent service and the food was over the top. Very quiet and tranquil area for relaxation and rejuvination.


Great place to relax!

4,8 su settembre 11, 2012

The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff is a great place to getaway and relax. The view from the bluff is gorgeous. You can sit out back, enjoy the view and hear no traffic - completely quiet.


Awesome Place

5 su settembre 11, 2012

The food is out of this world, the service is second to none and the rooms are beautiful. A must experience.


world class views and outstanding food!

5 su settembre 11, 2012

Great value with views that are breathtaking. The food was simply perfect.


anniversary trip

4,8 su settembre 07, 2012

Service was outstanding, the room was great, the food was excellent. All around a very enjoyable stay.


Peaceful & relaxing

4,0 su agosto 16, 2012

We made last minute plans for a weekend getaway and were thrilled with the result. Booked a charming cottage just a short walk from the lodge and the bluff where we enjoyed watching the sunset over the Tennessee River. The lodge is beginning to show some wear and tear, but dinner was outstanding and the innkeeper very attentive to our needs. We'll definitely be back.


Amazing views, great food

3,8 su agosto 15, 2012

Our weekend away at Gorhams Bluff was ultimately relaxing. With no agenda in mind except enjoying our anniversary weekend, the outdoors and great food; we had a great time. We will certainly be back.


Best Kept Secret

5 su agosto 13, 2012

The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff was a wonderful stay. It was so peaceful, and was a time of reflection and relaxation for us. We loved the view from our private balcony, and the room was so cozy. They brought breakfast to our room, and we felt like VIPs! We will definitely return to Gorham's Bluff, and in the meantime, we are speading the word about this "Best Kept Secret."


DTH

3,0 su agosto 01, 2012

Food was great. Porch was dirty. Service was great. Room was good but bathroom tile was dirty.


21st Anniversary stay

4,8 su luglio 23, 2012

Had a great experience at Gorhams Bluff for our 21st Anniversary. I had seen it in Southern Living Magazine. So we decided to visit and it was beautiful there. The view was incredible. The food was great and it was just what we needed, a little rest and relaxation. Can't wait to go back in the fall!


Nice place but secluded

3,4 su luglio 15, 2012

This is very secluded place. A great place for peace and quiet. I enjoy a little more. Voice of things to do. Fortunately it is a short drive to historic Mentone,al or beautiful Lake Guntersville. I would consider going again but I would only go using one o there specials . It was rather pricy


Will definitely visit The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff again!!

5 su luglio 14, 2012

This was my second visit to The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff. The Executive Chef, Keith Izydore is fabulous! We ate dinner and breakfast at the lodge and the food was divine. We stayed in the King Room. The furnishings were great. The new soft towels in the bathroom were really nice. The view from the lodge is gorgeous! My husband and I will definitely return.


Wonderfully relaxing, Best food/dining experience ever!!!!!

4,8 su luglio 11, 2012

The rooms, service and the grounds were exceptional. We will definitely return in the fall.


Serene and peaceful

4,6 su luglio 08, 2012

A wonderful quiet retreat to regenerate and reflect. I highly recommend this special place, the views are absolutely amazing! The food divine, the neighborhood quaint and inviting, the pool a wonderful reprieve.


The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff - Wonderful place

5 su luglio 06, 2012

Absolutely beautiful place. Very elegant. Room details and decor of entire establishment were exceptional. The view from balcony and bluff just breathtaking! The staff just was so very hospitable, and eager to make us feel welcome and at home. The food was excellent and so well presented! It is a very peaceful place. I would love to return and spend some more time there. We do plan to go back during the fall.


Peaceful elegance

4,6 su luglio 03, 2012

The views of the Tennessee River are extraordinary! The service was great and the food was wonderful. A great place to relax and recharge.


Anniversary weekend

5 su luglio 02, 2012

Our stay at Gorham's Bluff was AMAZING!! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. It was exactly what my husband and I needed to reconnect. The atmosphere is so relaxing and so serene. We stayed in the Owens suite which was fabulous. We loved the pool size bathtub. We will have to go back in the fall though to take advantage of the fireplace setting. The weather was beautiful while we were there (June). Very clear, not too hot yet. The food was exactly what you'd expect from such an amazing chef. The food that we ate for 2 days could've fed us for a week! They won't let you go hungry! I also loved the little "snack" area in the kitchen for after hours. This was the first of many visits to Gorham's Bluff. A well hidden, off the beaten path, away from the hustle & bustle of the city type place. Outstanding!


Peaceful and luxurious

4,6 su giugno 24, 2012

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff is in a remote area of Alabama and sits on a bluff overlooking the Tennessee River. Follow the directions on their website to get there. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Our only complaint was the low wattage bulbs in the lamps. The meals were wonderful and the staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. We hope to return soon.


Wonderful 28th anniversary!

4,8 su giugno 20, 2012

Wonderful stay! Bring your appetite! The variety and quality of the meals was outstanding. The staff was attentive but invisible. Can't wait to go back.


Excellent place Peaceful Place

5 su giugno 20, 2012

This place is wonderful. Go there and forget about your troubles and cares. Recommend it to anyone looking for a place to get away.


Wonderful!

4,6 su maggio 31, 2012

Great for a romantic getaway. The scenery is breathtaking. Highly recommend. We rented one of the cottages and it was wonderful.


So lovely....

4,8 su maggio 31, 2012

We had a delightful stay at Gorham's Bluff. The lodge is beautifully decorated, and our room was well appointed and so comfortable. The best part was the large covered balcony with views of the Tennessee River from the bluff. Dinner and breakfast were very delicious, and the service was impeccable. Gorham's Bluff would be a perfect venue for a wedding. If you are looking for a quite B&B to recharge your batteries, this is the place. If you are looking for a place with a lot of action, this might be a little out of the way for you. Also, bring your wallet, as it is a bit on the pricey side, but worth it if you are looking for a quality place in which to stay.


Shirley Hardy, Harpist

5 su maggio 23, 2012

AWESOME evening at tbe Lodge after a busy day and and week. So glad I decided to stay and relax after playing harp for the wedding and reception was the special break my husband and I needed! Just PERFECT!


Pleasant and Relaxling

5 su aprile 30, 2012

The dining experience was delightful. Chef Izydore is a very talented chef with a great menu to choose from.


Renew and Relax at Gorham's Bluff

5 su aprile 17, 2012

My husband and I have been to Gorham's Bluff many times, and I can't wait until the next time we can get back there. Ever since our first awe-inspiring glimpse of the view of the Tennessee River valley off the bluff, we have been in love with this magical place where time seems to stand still as your worries fade away. We have stayed in the lodge and rented cottages. Both alternatives are charming. We have come to prefer the cottages where we can spread out and sit outside on our own private porch and relax, read, soak up the sun, or just watch the world go by at a lazy pace. Meals at Gorham's Bluff are an event. It is not an overstatement to say that the food is easily the best food I have ever had. Breakfast and dinner are served in a small dining room by attentive staff in a comfortable atmosphere. The boxed lunches are fabulous. At Gorham's Bluff you set your own pace. If you want to be active, hiking, biking, and swimming are just outside your door. If you want to sit and relax, you have a fabulous view in every direction. Finally, we love the staff at Gorham's Bluff. They are attentive and cordial and very attuned to their guests' needs and preferences. On one of our visits they overheard me mention that I preferred a certain table in the dining room. Now every time we go, that table is reserved for us! They always do their best to make each visit unforgettable. The combination of unmatched natural beauty, well-appointed accommodations, and friendly staff make Gorham's Bluff our go to destination for long weekends. It's the best kept secret in Alabama!


AMAZING!!!!

5 su aprile 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I love it so much we want to get married there! Incredible view, the most delicious cuisine you can imagine, kind, hospitable staff and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! We will definitely be returning.


Great getaway

4,8 su aprile 13, 2012

We enjoyed a night and day. They had a mid-week special for $94 if you also take the American Plan meal package (4 course dinner, breakfast and box lunch). We really like the rooms, for a bed and breakfast it was not decorated in foo-foo Victorian. They have antiques but clean and simple. The building was built as a bed and breakfast so it is not cobbled together, squeezing a bath out of a closet, etc. The building is on a huge cliff with a nice view of the Tennessee river far below. Most rooms have a big outdoor balcony to sit and drink your coffee. The really outstanding part of the visit is the food. You must come famished. For dinner, I had rainbow trout. I seldom order trout because most chefs do a lousy job of de-boning them. This trout had nary a bone and was wonderfully seasoned. My wife had a huge piece of pork that she said was wonderful. Breakfast and the box lunch were also fantastic and more than we could finish. We took half the box lunch home to eat tomorrow. There are also cabins available but we didn't look at them. They would be nice for families. They discourage children in the lodge.


Escape from reality

5 su aprile 02, 2012

Incredible people, view, service, food. This is my second visit and will not be my last


Anniversary at Gorham's Bluff

4,8 su marzo 13, 2012

We have now spent two anniversaries at Gorham's Bluff. We don't get away often but when we do we like it to be quiet, private, relaxing and intimate. That's why we love the cottages at Gorham's Bluff. We have stayed in two of their cottages and have a third in mind for our next stay. The property is beautiful and I would imagine an ideal place to have a remote wedding overlooking the bluff of the Tennessee River.


Cole Stay

4,8 su marzo 04, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The Lodge is beautiful, the staff was great, and the chef was fantastic! The hiking trails were so much fun and the bicycle riding was quite an experience for us on the bicycle built for two. We plan to return as soon as possible. I would h ighly recommend staying at Gorham's Bluff!!!


We love Gorham's Bluff

4,0 su febbraio 22, 2012

Rooms Exceeded My Expectations Service Exceeded My Expectations Value Met My Expectations Cleanliness Met My Expectations Dining Exceeded My Expectations


Ghormans Bluff is the Best!!

4,8 su febbraio 17, 2012

This is the best place in the South East to visit. You must see Ghormans Bluff.


Billl and Sydna

5 su febbraio 05, 2012

Keith was a wonderful CEO and Chef! He even prepared a different entrée for my wife because the others would not agree with her. He was most attentive to her needs and fulfilled them. Also he is a wonderful dinner companion.


Great Night

5 su febbraio 02, 2012

This was one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed. The steak Chef Keith cooked was much better than Ruth Chris or NOLA. The ambiance makes you want to take it easy, and enjoy the amazing view. I can’t wait to get back there, only this time we will be staying for more than one night!


Great Quite Get-Away

3,2 su gennaio 28, 2012

Away from the crowd - nice place for walks - alone time for our anniversary. Over-priced, but everything was well done, especially since we were the only guests during our two-day stay.


New Years weekend stay

4,2 su gennaio 17, 2012

Quiet, scenic, wonderful food. We will make another trip to Gorham's Bluff.


Wonderful way to start the New Year!

4,0 su gennaio 09, 2012

We spent the New Years weekend enjoying the beautiful setting and service at Gorhams Bluff. Our cottage was perfect for our family of four and enjoyed great times walking the bluff, bike riding and meeting some of the wonderful residents. The highlight was the amazing food. Chef Keith was outstanding!! Our lobster and prime rib dinner on NY eve was perfection and the breakfast and picnic lunches we so yummy. Great memories were made for all of us. We will be back!


Gorham's Bluff Weeken

4,4 su gennaio 09, 2012

Not exactly in the center of things, but once there, the beauty, service, food and quiet make it worth the trip.


Gorham's Bluff 2011

5 su gennaio 02, 2012

Excellent as always! Best value in the South! Can't wait to go back!


Anniversary weekend

5 su dicembre 27, 2011

We had heard about Gorham's Buff from friends that insisted we go. Everything was above expectations. Everyone made our anniversary weekend very special. We found everything outstanding and look forward to going back again soon.


Exceptional place for a getaway

4,8 su dicembre 05, 2011

To disconnect and unwind for a couple of days, we visited Gorham's Bluff and found this lovely lodge truly exceeded our expectations. So convenient to Atlanta, Nashville, and Birmingham, Gorham's Bluff is ideally situated in northeast Alabama on a bluff overlooking the Tennessee River. Myriad books and games were provided, but guests might choose to spend their leisure walking along the birding trails or amid the beautiful residential village streets. Perhaps sitting on your ample private balcony sipping tea while listening to the quiet is more your speed or relaxing in front of your room's fireplace or in one of the inviting and comfortable common living spaces. The service from our host/chef Keith was personal and warmly cordial, and the dining was outstanding. Keith's extensive experience in upscale hospitality venues was evident and appreciated. What a beautiful, low-key, high-end yet affordable place to visit! We highly recommend Gorham's Bluff.


Great Weekend

3,8 su novembre 30, 2011

A quiet and peaceful weekend was just what we needed. The food was wonderful and the people were friendly and kind. We had a breathtaking view and our cottage was adorable. This is a must if you need a quiet getaway.


Wonderful Thanksgiving

4,4 su novembre 28, 2011

We had a great stay at Gorhams's Bluff. My family rented 4 cottages and had a GREAT Thanksgiving meal and the "leftovers" buffet that evening. We all loved the food, service, open space, play ground, bikeing and all the rest.


anniversary getaway

4,8 su novembre 23, 2011

We stayed in a cottage this time and enjoyed the quiet solitude away from the daily hustle and bustle! The cottage was very large, clean and well equipped. It had TV which we enjoyed as we wanted to watch college football! This is our second overnight stay at Gorham's Bluff and will be going back again.


Gorham's Bluff Was Absolutely Awesome!

5 su novembre 09, 2011

Getaway for our 20th wedding anniversary couldn't have been any better. The down-time was just what we needed with beautiful scenery, cozy room at the Lodge and 5 star meals. I would recommend Gorham's Bluff to any couple who are looking for some quiet, together time.


Exactly what we wanted

4,4 su ottobre 25, 2011

Peace and quiet with a beautiful view, and outstanding dining. The meals were unbelievable. Best coffer ever. It was the perfect get-a-way from my wife and I. We are already thinking about making plans for next year.


Amazing stay at Gorhams Bluff!

4,8 su ottobre 25, 2011

We celebrated our 5th anniversary at Gorhams Bluff and loved everything about it! We walked the trails, rode bikes, and just enjoyed the outdoors. We hope to be back and will certainly recommend to our friends.


The view

4,2 su ottobre 24, 2011

Very remote but worth the efford. The view was incredible, perfect place for a getaway to relax and unwind. Dining was exceptional, chef was friendly and his menu was excellent. I will return again.


Beautiful but below expectations

2,0 su ottobre 18, 2011

One of the most beautiful views you'll encounter. The room was nice but spider webs were all around the ceiling. Food was good but not anywhere close to the $98 charged. The biggest complaint I have is the 25% TAX!!! Yes, that's right! 25%!!! Unbelievable!! Tax alone added over $70 to our bill.


Wonderful weekend getaway

3,8 su ottobre 15, 2011

My husband and I visited the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff for our 13th anniversary. It is a beautiful home set in a majestic setting. The community is quaint and lovely. We arrived early enough to check in and take pictures before the sun set then had a wonderful dinner. A relaxing evening, a morning run, and a yummy breakfast completed our visit. The staff were very kind and it's great to have a "pantry" to visit for drinks and snacks included in the room price. Our room (The Roden Suite) was lovely (didn't care for the down pillows, however) with an amazing view. A huge bathtub with candles and bath salts was a nice touch. Loved the gas fireplace that was open to both the bedroom and the bathroom. Great service in the restaurant as well as wonderful food. There are no tvs in the rooms (one in the living room downstairs) which was actually very nice. Overall, a much needed unwind from the daily grind. Loved it!


Recent Stay

2,6 su ottobre 14, 2011

This was listed as a Bed and Breakfast;however, breakfast is a separate charge. Location looking over the River is a plus.


Restful and Relaxing

4,4 su ottobre 14, 2011

First time visit - after many high recommendations from friends! Wonderful way to rest, relax, and retreat! Super service, Scenic views, good food and a real treat for two busy parents who needed a break! Not a place most teens could appreciate. Strictly for couples or a group of friends/family. We would go back again.


Wonderful Getaway!

4,6 su ottobre 12, 2011

A wonderful getaway for the weekend. The food was outstanding!


Gorham's Bluff

4,6 su ottobre 05, 2011

The view at Gorham's Bluff is breathtaking. The staff was so hospitable. It felt like being at home. The meals were the best I have ever had. The candlelight supper was so romantic. Great place for a honeymoon or anniversary!!!!


Definitely Coming Back

5 su settembre 26, 2011

What a great staff, beautiful scenery, and excellent experience!!!!


Great Service

4,2 su settembre 12, 2011

My trip to Gorhams's Bluff was very relaxing and the most beautiful view that I have exeperinced in Alabama.


Great retreat

4,4 su settembre 11, 2011

We loved the lodge and hope to return. Rooms were very comfortable.


First rate

4,2 su settembre 09, 2011

As this was my 5th visit, I had expectations and was not disappointed. Always a pleasure!


Service Above and Beyond

4,4 su settembre 02, 2011

Our stay at Gorham's Bluff was extremely relaxing, which is exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were comfortable and the food was outstanding. However, both were overshadowed by the quality of the service. Everyone was cordial and welcoming; they sincerely seemed happy that we were there. Meeting Keith Izydore, the chef, was a highlight. He set up our anniversary dinner on the gazebo overlooking the bluff at sunset and personally served us. It was the perfect spot, at the perfect time, with outstanding food, being provided by a supremely kind and generous person. Needless to say, we are VERY happy that we visited Gorham's Bluff and will be back.


A Great Get Away

4,8 su settembre 02, 2011

Our party of 4 arrived to find that we were the only guests at the Lodge. The staff was so nice and friendly; our rooms (Satterfield and Owens) were wonderful and comfy. The views are amazing from the rooms and from the back of the Lodge. We cannot say enough about the chef, Keith. As a caterer myself, the attention to detail and the taste and presentation of the meals was absolutely divine! I could go on and on, but you need to experience it for yourself. We can't wait to go back!


Gorham's Bluff

5 su agosto 24, 2011

We had a wonderful time! The lodging, staff and food were great!


Great Getaway

4,4 su agosto 15, 2011

The meals were awesome, the view was incredible. This was our first visit and we loved every minute of it. A hidden jewel just a little over an hour from Chattanooga, TN.


July 2011 anniversary week-end

3,6 su agosto 07, 2011

This is our second visit to Gorham's Bluff. The service is outstanding, but the quality of the Lodge in three years was disappointing. From landscaping to upholstery was evident either in the lack of management or funds.


Gorham's Bluff for Sisters' Weekend

5 su luglio 27, 2011

Absolutely beautiful!! My sisters and I visited Gorham's Bluff for our first Sister's Weekend. It was perfect for us, since we were all born nearby in Tennessee. It gave us an excellent opportunity to reconnect with each other and with our roots. The facility is excellent in every way. The setting is quiet and peaceful and the views from the bluffs are simply breathtaking.


Very pleasant stay.

4,6 su luglio 17, 2011

This is a must stay place for anyone wanting to find a special place to relax and get away from it all. Make sure you have very good directions or a good GPS as The Lodge is located in a very secluded area on a bluff overlooking the TN river. The staff gave the very best of service. Would not hesitate to go back again. CHL Nebraska


Best kept secret in Alabama

4,6 su luglio 14, 2011

Possibly the most beautiful view I have ever seen. Exceptional service and great food. I enjoyed my stay and left well rested and rejuvenated. Everyone should stay here at least once.


Wonderful experience

4,6 su luglio 07, 2011

This is an ideal experience for those wishing to "get away from it all." The staff was very helpful, the food was wonderful and it was just a great time for my wife and myself. Highly recommended.


Great Place

4,0 su giugno 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and will go back again but in the house we stayed in (the Appalachian) the DVD and SAT TV as well as the ice maker didn't work. No one offered to credit our bill for services offered but not provided. The Food and Food Service was great as were the views from the lodge.


Superb Experience

5 su giugno 25, 2011

My wife and I decided on quiet stress free way to celebrate our 33rd Anniversary. We found Gorham's Bluff on line and decided to try it. It was indeed a hidden gem and a sublime experience. The accommodations were first rate and exceeded our expectations. The food, was out of the this world. We were able to spend a quiet relaxing weekend and just enjoy the serenity and beauty of the area and our surroundings. We also met the Executive Chef and he was as pleasant and delightful, as was his wonderful culinary creations. We will definitely be telling our friends and neighbors about this wonderful find. The Keller's


Great visit

4,4 su giugno 14, 2011

We stayed Thursday through Saturday, June 9-11, 2011. Had a great time and fantastic service. Keith is an incredible chef! My wife wanted to take him home...


A return visit

4,0 su giugno 09, 2011

We have been to Gorham's Bluff several times. This was the first time to rent a cottage rather than staying in the lodge. The Evans Cottage is a beautiful house for two. There are not many options in the immediate area for meals so in the past we have taken numerous meals at the lodge. The kitchen in the cottage allows a little more flexability for meals. We had a couple of meals at the lodge but did more on our on in the cottage.


Relaxing Experience

4,6 su maggio 17, 2011

Our stay at the Gorham's Bluff exceeded our expectations. Would go back anytime.


Outstanding value; a perfect respite

5 su maggio 08, 2011

Awakened at sunrise on Easter morning overlooking Tennessee River. God is here. He is risen.


Do it again

4,0 su aprile 28, 2011

Wish we could have stayed longer. The atmosphere is relaxing and the area breathtaking. I will certainly be back....for a longer stay.


Easter at Gorhams Bluff

4,4 su aprile 27, 2011

Our family rented a cottage and had a great experience at Gorhan's Bluff. The service was great and the staff was very friendly. We even found an Easter basket on our porch on Easter morning!


Gorham's Bluff

4,0 su aprile 17, 2011

we spent 2 nights and it was a great experience. the food was excellent and the staff could not have been nicer.The view of the Tennessee River is worth the trip.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su aprile 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time and highly recommend the Lodge on Gorham’s Bluff.


decent short stay

3,0 su aprile 05, 2011

The place is nice. It's very far away from anything else and offers little to do: which can be good or bad, just depends on what you are looking for.


Serenity Personified

4,0 su aprile 05, 2011

Upon checking in, we found that we (my wife and i) were the only guests for that night. Not to worry. The hostess gave us a complete rundown on where we could walk around the area that afternoon; the woman arranging flowers in the dining and reception area was an owner (or something like that - the inn and surrounding small community are all part of a planned village-of-the-arts envisioned years ago). And we had our own personal chef for the night, Keith, also an integral member of the community and inn. So despite a warm late March shower, we walked to look over the edge of the 100-foot bluff, then hiked the woodsy trail for awhile until the rain turned us back. We returned through the handful of energy-efficient houses in the little village. We then sat with Keith to help plan our meals, based on what was on the menu, and after an hour or so of quiet relaxation looking over the gorgeous Tennessee Valley from our room balcony, we made our way down to the dining room. While it wasn't quite a 4-star meal, the food was delicious and the ambience wonderful as we conversed about the valley, the area, the inn, ourselves, and much else with Keith as he waited on us hand and foot. The room was deliciously comfortable, with a nice shower (we didn't use the hot tub) and most notably, silky Egyptian cotton sheets. Though there was a TV in the lobby which we could have watched with impunity (being the only guests), we never did, though we did sit in the lobby a bit. By this time, the serenity of the place had rather washed over us. Before we left the next morning, we were able to get in a longer hike, along the bluff trail in either direction from the inn. Breakfast was whenever we wanted it - and featured the best grits ever. We then lounged around our room and the lobby for awhile. Checkout was as relaxed as the rest of the stay; we finally got going around noon or so. This place is a great getwaway.


Perfect Getaway

4,4 su aprile 05, 2011

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff is the perfect place to step away from ones busy daily life. Relaxing, fabulous food with a kind and welcoming staff. It is a time to be silent to hear,see and smell the beauty of God's world around us. I will definitely return for another visit.


Gorham's Bluff (The Parton Suite)

4,4 su aprile 04, 2011

Very relaxing, beautiful weekend. Food was fine, but might have been a notch below what I have come to expect from them.


You'll like!

4,2 su marzo 23, 2011

Shortly after we arrived some friends from church also arrived. This was not planned. They were there to celebrated their 50th and invited us to join them for dinner. The Lodge was very accomodating and arranged for us to change our seating time to jour our friends. The chef came around after each mean and chatted with us. The views are grand! The walking trails are great! Go, relax, read and cathc up with each other.


One Night is Never Enough

5 su marzo 21, 2011

We have celebrated our anniversary at Gorham's Bluff for the past few years and it gets better each time. We have stayed in many of the rooms and they are all wonderful with breathtaking views. The lodge is amazing with a comfortable feel. The innkeeper always has a smile and works hard to make your stay incredible. The chef is top notch! The gourmet meals will satisfy even the pickiest eater. Come hungry! I cannot say enough about Gorham's Bluff!!


Very good stay

4,0 su marzo 12, 2011

We needed to get away from everything, and we knew Gorham's Bluff would be just that. Our room was exactly as the online pictures showed, the bed was comfortable with crisp sheets and many pillows, and our bathroom was very clean with an excellent shower. We spent quite a good bit of time on the porch reading and drinking wine. There were no tvs or internet, which was perfectly fine with us. The views, even in winter, were striking, and the food was quite good--simple, clean flavors with fresh produce. Breakfast was our favorite meal. Walking along the bluff and exploring the few hidden trails were a pleasure. The personnel were themselves gracious, friendly hosts. The only drawback dealt with personal taste: the fireplace was electric with a low flame. We are roaring-fire folks. Overall, our stay was very good.


A romantic getaway

4,8 su marzo 09, 2011

This place is quiet, friendly, and very comfortable. Perfect for a romantic weekend. The dozen roses were waiting for us, we ate in the lodge, had a couples massage, and listened to the rain on the tin roof of our cute single bedroom cottage. Comfortable bed, great fireplace, screened porch, and a welcoming staff. All you could want for a weekend away with someone you love.


Perfect Weekend

4,2 su marzo 06, 2011

Our recent visit was perfect. We stayed in a cottage which was delightful. We had a wonderful, peaceful, rejuvenating weekend and the food was outstanding.


Outstanding Views and Great Food

4,0 su marzo 06, 2011

Gorham's Bluff provided a relaxing weekend with awesome views and great food.


Relaxing Weekend

4,6 su marzo 02, 2011

I have stayed in Gorham's Bluff lodge before and loved it. This time I stayed in the Greek Revival Cottage and absolutely loved it. Gorham's Bluff is a very tranquil, slow paced and BEAUTIFUL place to get-a-way! I think everyone should experience it! I will go again!!


our stay

4,6 su marzo 02, 2011

Truly enjoyed our stay. The food and Chef Keith ...absolutely fabulous. We did miss TV in the room. Grounds and view priceless.


Fabulous

5 su febbraio 26, 2011

Personal attention, fabulous meals, restful. Lovely and comfortable room.


Gorhams Bluff Valentine's Weekend

4,0 su febbraio 16, 2011

The staff, the accomodations and the view were all PHENOMENAL!


A wonderful getaway!!

4,2 su febbraio 16, 2011

Although the price is a bit steep and the food a little overpriced, the atmosphere is perfect for the couple that wants to get away from it all--literally. Nestled on the edge of the bluff, this quaint neighborhood is the epitome of a hidden getaway. The cottages are spacious and the beds are comfortable. There is a two-story treehouse that can be found a mere 15 min hike away. Also there is a small waterfall easily accessible complete with a picnic table to enjoy the views. This is a "do.not.miss."


Gorham's Bluff

4,0 su febbraio 16, 2011

Wonderfully secluded. Picturesque. Separate lodge sleeps 4. Limited menu.


Early Valentine's Day getaway

5 su febbraio 14, 2011

This was our 12th visit to Gorham's Bluff and we have yet to be disappointed. We always stay in the Woods Suite because it has two queen beds and, since it's an end room, it has more windows than the interior suites. The staff is genuinely interested in seeing that quests are well pleased with their stay. The new chef, Keith Izydore, went out of his wat to be sure we were well and amply fed. Plan a nap after breakfast, because you will overeat. This is a great little getaway.


Worry Free Weekend

5 su febbraio 02, 2011

My husband and I needed time away from our hectic schedule and take time for ourselves. Gorham's Bluff is the place! The meals were excellent! The staff and service just wonderful. Breakfast was brought to our room and we enjoyed the meal on the balcony! This was our 2nd visit and it wont be our last. Just AWESOME!


Beautiful!

5 su gennaio 31, 2011

We had an absolutely beautiful, restful, and romantic weekend away from everything. There are three large stone fireplaces on the bottom floor and one in every bedroom. The architecture is gorgeous! And what a perfect spot! Just absolutely loved the view. There is something about this place that makes you want to whisper, so you don't disturb the beauty! The first night we stepped into our room, picked up the remote to start the fire flickering, lit sparkling crystal candle holders on the other side of the see-through fire place where we filled the whirlpool tub for two with steaming water, turned on the jets and. . . ! After a deep sleep on the comfy bed of billowing down pillows and comforter, we awoke to soft music and the smell of homemade biscuits. When we finally made it downstairs, we filled our tummies with coffee, biscuits, whipped cream fruit parfait, crisp waffles, eggs, apple bacon, etc. So good! The grounds beckoned and we hiked to the nearby waterfall, down some wooden, stone steps to a beautiful spot with a picnic table. Then we walked past the cutest post office you've ever seen and I picked out a pink bicycle and he rode a blue one. The bikes are there for the guests! We watched the sun set from the "widow's peek" -- amazing view. We could smell the smoke from the outdoor fire places below where a few other guests had gathered. Dinner was delicious! I have never had meat so tender. After dinner we stepped outside to see hundreds of stars. THANK YOU GORHAM's BLUFF!


Everything but the food...

4,0 su gennaio 11, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lodge and really enjoyed our room and the atmosphere. We had a wonderful time. The food unfortunately was advertised as gormet but was in reality disappointing, especially considering the costs. Our desserts were burnt and our breakfast was so salty we could not eat it.We did not receive any discount after speaking with the Innkeeper about the disapointing food. We feel like that is poor service and do not plan to return.


Wonderful retreat!

4,4 su gennaio 03, 2011

We have visited several times over the past decade, and Gorham's Bluff remains our favorite spot for a romantic retreat. Highly recommended!


4 Stars!

4,0 su gennaio 01, 2011

Excellent get-away for our Anniversary! The room was very romantic...my wife just loved it! It's such a relaxing and nice environment. We'll definately come again!


Romantic Getaway

5 su dicembre 27, 2010

Such a perfect romantic getaway for 2 people. My daughter and her husband were celebrating her graduation from college and this was the perfect gift for them. They throughly enjoyed their stay and really needed to get away from the rush of the city. They said their night at Gorham's Bluff was peaceful and personal, the food was absolutely delicious and the service top notch. The view from the bluff is magnificent and made them feel on top of the world. This is a very elegant bed and breakfast and a perfect gift for making dreams come true.


Gorham's Bluff Lodge

4,2 su dicembre 15, 2010

Our overnight stay was super; the ambiance was better than expected; the room was large and comfortable (Satterfield Room); room's gas fireplace was more for ambiance than real heat; food was delicious and portions were generous. The building does need some maintenance outside and in the room: sliding doors to the bathroom were not hung correctly; locks on large outside window doors did not function securely... the wind blew the doors open twice. Yet, all in all we enjoyed a super overnight stay, even in the very unseasonably cold weathers... we will go back in the spring or fall.


Can't wait to come back.

4,6 su dicembre 08, 2010

We stayed here on our wedding night. The lodge is stunning and the room was incredible. They welcomed us and made us feel at home. The breakfast was wonderful. The whole stay was perfect and we could not have picked a better place. I'm only sorry we didn't get to stay longer and I am already trying to plan a trip to come back.


my surprise stay at Gorham's Bluff

5 su novembre 30, 2010

My husband surprised me with a much needed relaxing get-a-way night with just him--no cell phone-no computer-just mother nature at her best and him. He could not have picked a more beautiful place. The autumn leaves were turning colors, only the sounds of nature could be heard. The meals were unbelievably delicious; better than any we have had at any other B&B! A place I would recommend to everyone if you want comfort and mother nature's beauty + wonderful meals! And, for me, time with just my husband!


Great Stay!

4,8 su novembre 29, 2010

We got away for a day and were thrilled with our time at Gorham's Bluff. Although the weather was rainy, the coziness of the lodge made for a wonderful day. Additionally, the food was stellar and the staff was quite friendly. We would not hesitate to visit Gorham's Bluff again!


50th. wedding anniversay celebration

5 su novembre 24, 2010

My stay at Gorham's Bluff was a very serene, enjoyable time in our life.


New favorite place to stay!

4,0 su novembre 19, 2010

I first read about Gorham's Bluff in Southern Living magazine. Being from Alabama I had never heard of it and had to visit just based on the pictures. Our first trip we stayed in the Greek Revival and had the most wonderful time. The food is amazing and the staff is so welcoming. We even got engaged there, which meant we had to come back for our wedding. I can't say enough about Dawn and Keith! They were wonderful to work with while planning our wedding. I couldn't have asked for more. We had such a great time with our friends and family staying on the property with us! We've made an additional trip staying in the lodge and there is nothing better than waking up to the smell of freshly made breakfast! We look forward to getting back to the Bluff soon!


Great Place to Get Away

3,6 su novembre 14, 2010

My wife and I have stayed here several times. We always enjoy the get away and love the peacefulness at Gorham's Bluff. Also, the food is alway great and too much to eat.


A Great Stay

4,4 su novembre 08, 2010

We loved the cottage and the food. The service was excellent. We will definitely come again.


It's the Little Things....

3,4 su novembre 07, 2010

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff is a unique and quaint village isolated in the Alabama countryside not far from Scottsboro, AL. Located high above the Tennessee River, it's a beautiful and tranquil get-a-way for the rat-race weary among us. On a grand scale, everything works, and my wife and I were very happy with our one night visit. Will we return? It's doubtful. While our cottage was lovely and well appointed, as a frequent traveler I'm a bit hard to impress. We didn't have internet access in our cottage, and while that could be viewed as a positive, in my world I find it difficult to function even for a day without it. We did have Dish Network, but very basic channels. For the price, I expected more. Our meals (dinner and breakfast) were very good, but the servers were not very skilled nor adept to work in a high-end restaurant. Customer service overall was a bit spotty. Overall, I would recommend a visit to the curious among us, but compared to Barnsley Gardens, for example, an isolated Georgia resort located a couple of hours east of Gorham's Bluff, the lack in the little things here mean we will probably just stop a couple of hours earlier.


November at the Lodge

4,6 su novembre 07, 2010

The grounds and views were fantastic. The service was friendly, personal, and very good. The meals were really special. We will be going back. The perfect place for a quiet respite from a hectic world.


GREAT PLACE TO STAY

3,6 su novembre 01, 2010

The view is amaizing, food is wonderful, and the rooms are clean. We had a wonderful time at Gorham's Bluff. It is slightly overpriced.


Review of Gorham's Bluff

5 su ottobre 31, 2010

We decided on a Friday evening to take a drive into the mountains on Saturday. My partner remembered a friend of hers telling her what a wonderful place Gorham's Bluff was but, surely there would be no openings at this last minute. We checked the website and, miraculously there was one room left in the lodge! The last room for the next 4 weekends! We got up Saturday and took a leisurely drive to Gorham's Bluff and enjoyed all this wonderful place had to offer. It was so beautiful, serene and tranquil. The view from our room was absolutely stunning. The service, staff and lodge itself were all beyond words. Since our return, we have highly recommended Gorham's Bluff to several friends, as well as our grown children. We look forward to returning to Gorham's Bluff many, many times.


A Getaway

4,4 su ottobre 27, 2010

My wife and I chose Gorham's Bluff because we desired a retreat from the everyday life. Gorham's Bluff is like a painting from the days of old with the housing set up like a modest neighborhood once seen in the early to mid 20th century. There is plenty of area to walk, hike and explore with wonderful views gallore. The accomodations were much more than expected.


Great Getaway

4,8 su ottobre 12, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Gorham's Bluff immensely. The Lodge is very well kept. The rooms and private deck were bigger than I had expected. We ate dinner and breakfast, and the food was outstanding. Very secluded spot with great view overlooking the river valley below. Enjoyed sitting outside on the bench overlooking the bluff and star gazing. Highly recommend the Lodge for a great couples weekend.


Breathtaking. . . .

5 su ottobre 09, 2010

Beautiful in every way. . . the lodge is warm and inviting, the rooms are very cozy and beautifully appointed. The staff is friendly and personal and were anticipating our arrival! The view is absolutely breathtaking. If you want a get away destination to rejuvenate and be completely reminded of what a beautiful country we live in, this is where you should stay!!


A perfect escape

5 su ottobre 06, 2010

The lodge is in an idyllic site. The view from our room and balcony was breathtaking. Everything was perfect for a getaway. I am hoping to return often.


Beautiful Setting

3,8 su ottobre 05, 2010

The view was spectacular, and the food was delicious. From the time we arrived until we left, the staff was most friendly and attentive.


What an incredible get away

5 su settembre 19, 2010

I would recommend Gorham's Bluff to anyone who enjoys great food, wonderful service, accomodations, hiking, bike riding, touring small towns close by, hiking near by. I started out staying a couple of days and ended staying a full week and am already to go back. 2 1/2 hours from Birmingham. If you want peaceful, relaxing, great views, time to read, sleep, rest it's awesome. I will return and I will let everyone I know about such a special place full of special folks running the Inn. The food was gourmet all the way. Needless to say I loved it and all of the people I met. See you all soon.


quiet get away

5 su settembre 01, 2010

very peaceful, wonderful and unobtrusive service, excellent dining


The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

5 su agosto 20, 2010

Gorham's Bluff is a beautiful place to stay. My husband and I visit Gorham's Bluff every year. Not only can you enjoy the beautiful grounds and view but the food is fabulous! If you are looking for a romantic getaway with gourmet food, this is the place to go!!!!


One night at Gorham's Bluff - Expensive and Disappointing

2,6 su agosto 15, 2010

The bottom line: We felt a little ripped off after our visit. The food was good, the location was beautiful, but the service was mediocre. The lodging is somewhat run down and not cleaned well. We made the best of our visit, but will not return. I’m a little reluctant to write this unfavorable review about one of the few employers in the area, but the facts are the facts. Room: We stayed one night in the King's Suite - it's a beautiful room, with 2 large doors opening out to a private balcony overlooking the bluff... Gorgeous! But the room was not cleaned well: Cobwebs in the light fixtures, the headboard of the bed, the floor. The walls were scuffed. The chair cushions were stained (yuck) and the furniture had seen better days. The bathroom, although basically clean, had dirty grout on the floors, countertops and around the tub. The whirlpool bath tub was small and badly needed to see some bleach. Finally, the bathroom's 2 pocket doors (separating the commode from the vanity area and the bathroom from the bedroom) were broken and could not be closed. Lodge: Was a bit run down and needed maintenance everywhere. This was true of the entire property, giving the impression that this enterprise has fallen on hard times. Food: Was the high point of our visit. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. The chef even visited us personally at breakfast to explain that our meal would be delayed while he made fresh biscuits. The wait was worth it! Service: Inadequate but friendly. Our young dinner server didn’t offer us more bread & didn’t keep our glasses full. I noticed service was better at an adjacent table with a different server. In the morning, the serving station outside our door ran out of coffee & cream. Price: Too expensive for what you get. Although an 18% service charge is clearly stated on their web site, it wasn’t clear to us that it applied to the lodging too. Our lodging service charge was $33 for one night. Why not simply include the charge in the rate?


Slightly Disappointed this time...

3,4 su agosto 05, 2010

We've been here before--both to stay and to just eat a brunch. This was an anniversary weekend (25th anniv), which we advised them off at the time of the reservation when they asked, and again when we got there. Nothing was mentioned or done for us for that, but it sounded like it would be. They say you can make requests ahead of time for a meal, but I asked numerous times for them to PLEASE offer a beef dish of some kind for Friday night and I kept getting told the the menu doesn't come out until the day of... Then they said they serve beef on Sat, not Friday. I had to pay for an expensive dinner of lamb (did not like it at all) because the other choice was fish. The knew I didn't eat it, but made no amends to assist me. It was sleet/snow day, so no way to go elsewhere either. Also, the hot chocolate that was brought up to our room on arrival was the "water type" and VERY watered down. I could not drink it. The room is superb, but service different than previous visits. Also, their Mother's Day Brunch was almost entirely SEAFOOD! So I canceled that visit. They need to expand their horizons. Not everyone likes/loves seafood.


Looking Forward to Returning

5 su ottobre 22, 2009

We stayed for 1 day and 2 nights. We were late arriving on the first night but were graciously extended a 4 course delicious meal. The personal touch of our names on the menu was endearing. Although it was dreary, cold and rainy, lounging in front of the fireplace in our own 3 BD "cabin" was lovely. I will recommend to anyone and will return if ever the opportunity arises.


Peaceful Experience

5 su settembre 03, 2009

From one innkeeper to another, and from one who has experienced in excess of 100 b&bs/inns in the past three years, thank you for a wonderful and relaxing experience at Gorham's Bluff. Your vision and your provisions are just incredible. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful bluff with the world. katherine Brown, Bloomsbury Inn, Camden SC


Great place to rest, relax and enjoy.

5 su luglio 26, 2009

Our recent stay exceeded expectations. Room was unusually large and tastefully decorated, with two large lounge chairs and ottoman; fireplace; very comfortable beds. Great view of Tennessee River and Coon Gulf from room and balcony. Food was truly exceptional for breakfast and dinner; have never had better steak, sea bass or lamb anywhere. Desserts wonderful too. Service was always friendly and helpful. Room and facilities clean throughout.


Room for Improvement

3,0 su gennaio 25, 2009

My parents, my brother and his family, and my husband and I decided to spend a few days after Christmas at Gorham's Bluff for some family time. The location is absolutely beautiful and very peaceful. Because they don't allow young children in the lodge we could not rent rooms there or have dinner there (my nephew is 18 months). We rented a house which was comfortable and suited our needs well, but didn't appear to have been swept recently -- we found dead bugs around the base boards and on the stairs. The setting is rural so there is nowhere for dinner near Gorham's Bluff. With the lodge dining room closed to my nephew, we cooked in our house both nights. At checkout there is an 18% service charge automatically added to the room/house bill. When we asked what this was for we were told that it covers service in the dining room, house cleaning and landscape upkeep. We requested that this charge be removed since we didn't use the dining room at all, housecleaning didn't come at all during our stay (and didn't appear to have swept prior to our arrival). Management didn't respond to our request in any way, but charged our cards the full price, plus 18% service. My husband and I are frequent travellers and I have never paid a service charge for general upkeep of grounds or basic cleaning when staying in a hotel or resort. I expect these costs to be covered in the price of my room. I would suggest that if Gorham's Bluff is unable to cover the costs of doing business they should raise their rates and cut out this hidden fee. It is frustrating to be charged for services not used. This left a very bad taste in our mouths and we all have vowed not to return -- which is too bad because the setting is lovely.


Southern Glory in Gorham

5 su settembre 29, 2008

If you desire to explore the glory of Natuure,revere in romance of the old South, regenerate your belief in the beauty of Alabama,feast on wonderful food from years gone by and relive a part of Southern tradition --you will fill your cup at Gorham Bluff. Ed and Jan Barney


Gem in the wilderness

4,0 su settembre 25, 2008

Everyone was so friendly and willing to help. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are comfortable and cozy. The food is wonderful!


Gorham's Bluff

4,4 su luglio 07, 2008

The views from the balcony of our room were lovely..comfotrable rocking chairs therer to sit relax & soak up the beauty of the Tennesses River as well as mountains. Room had comfortable king sized bed Scenic trails to walk. Meals (supper & breakfast) were superb. Some of the best meals we've had in a while.


Relaxing getaway

4,8 su aprile 08, 2008

We have stayed here twice now and it just keeps getting better and better.


7th Year in a Row!

5 su febbraio 14, 2008

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at Gorham's Bluff and have been back every year for our anniversary-about to spend our 6th Anniversary there. We always love it. The folks that run the inn are always superb hosts & hostesses. Would love to retire there and build a home in the little town around the inn. This is a wonderful, quiet place to spend quality time with your significant other or best friend! Suggest you don't miss it!!


OUTSTANDING

5 su febbraio 07, 2008

That one word describes everything about this wonderful haven! What truly separates this place from others, besides the amazing view, is the wonderful Chef and the meals served here. Get here quick while it is still a secret!


Always Enjoyable- Any Season

4,6 su gennaio 21, 2008

We have always enjoyed our stay there. They do a great job, and it is a lovely atmosphere.


The Lodge On Gorham's Bluff

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $155 - $225
  • Recensioni (241) 4,5
  • Camere 27
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 256-451-8439
Inizio pagina