The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
20 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Southern Comfort... Really!

4,6 su marzo 11, 2014

I made my way to Mobile for an industry conference, and due to the timing of the event (Right on the heels of Mardi Gras) and my tardiness in booking a room, my options were few and far between. When I finally stumbled on Wendy and the Kate Shepard House B&B, I was equal parts relieved and enthusiastic: She had 2 rooms (for me and my travel companions) and it looked like it was well received, the photos were cute, it had been in some magazines, breakfast was included. But upon my arrival, I changed my mind. Wendy is the most gracious hostess, and the detail, comfort and history of the home is incredible! She thinks of every detail (notes at the door for late check in, cookies and port in the butlers pantry for evening nightcaps, lovely smelling soaps in my room, Mardi Gras decorations and treats in each room) I stayed in the Barber's Room, and it was fabulous. The bed was exceedingly comfortable, the bathroom housed an incredible slipper tub (admittedly, no shower, though taking a bath each night before bed was awfully luxurious!) Waking up each morning to the smell of Wendy cooking breakfast was better than any alarm clock, and coming back to a tidied room with the radio softly playing each evening was truly a thoughtful touch. Speaking of breakfast, it was fabulous. Wendy was kind enough to cook us breakfast early each morning, which really made our stay that much better. She accommodated allergies with ease and her menu was absolutely delicious. Drop biscuits, souffles, praline french toast, fresh orange juice and hot coffee. This place has guest satisfaction dialed. I wasn't particularly excited for my first trip to Mobile, but I can't wait for my second!


Wonderful experience

5 su dicembre 19, 2013

Wendy was a pleasure to deal with and a great hostess. Delicious food together with historical information about the home and the treasure of letters and documents found when they purchased the home. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. You will not be disappointed.


Romantic Getaway

4,8 su giugno 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed the night in the Mobile Room. I would definitely suggest this room for a couple because it is so big and nice. We planned to spend the evening out seeing the sights of Mobile, but instead we spent most of the night sitting on the portch talking. The stay was very romantic, and the house is filled with evidence of its rich history. Breakfast was amazing, and you better bring your appetite! The orange juice was one of my favorite parts!


Weekend getaway

4,0 su marzo 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for an overnight get-away. It was easy to get to, on a fairly quiet street and check in was very fast. They allowed us early check-in and late checkout by request because the room was not booked after us. Wendy and Bill are both very friendly and accomadating. We stayed in the downstairs room, Mobile Bay Room, and were pleased with its size, and loved the clawfoot tub in the bathroom. The whole house in beautifully decorated yet homey and comfortable. There is a large dog there, but he was very friendly and we didn't see dog hair anywhere (a fear I had when we booked). Bill served us a delicous breakfast and sat at the table and visited with the other two guests and us for a while. The complimentary port and sherry, as well as the sweets was a very nice touch. I highly recommend this B&B.


A day to relax

5 su gennaio 02, 2011

My husband a native of Mobile decided that during our wonderful holiday vacation with famiy and friends we needed some downtime just us before we both started work again on MOnday. He found this WONDERFUL B and B online and totally surprised me. I can't say enough about Wendy and Bill and Koa. We watched movies, got to watch TV, had a wonderful atmosphere, walked around the neighborhood, had great cherry and brownies. Wendy gave us the historical background of the neighborhood and the area. My husband is from MObile, but as an adult is when you really start to appreciate the history and the beauty of your hometown. The room was wonderful the entire visit just made a perfect end to our holiday vacation and celebration of 2011. IF, no WHEN you are in MOBILE this is a MUST VISIT. Hands down and no questions asked! We will definitely be back for another getaway from "home"! Jason and Benita Lewis


Don't Bother Looking Anywhere Else!

5 su febbraio 21, 2010

where to start?...everything about this place deserves a superlative! a fabulous house in a great location, Southern hospitality off the positive scale, comfort and good taste in every nook & cranny....and Praline French Toast for breakfast! thank you Wendy! thank you, Bill!


Best B&B experience I've had

5 su febbraio 02, 2010

During an extended work assignment in Mobile, I was fortunate enough to stay with Wendy and Bill at the Kate Shepard House. It was an excellent experience, and they provided a very comfortable, relaxing, and energizing home away from home. Food, beds, and common areas (such as the porch and yard) are top quality. The surrounding neighborhood is very pleasant for walking and jogging, and convenient to neighborhood restaurants and downtown Mobile. Can't recommend highly enough!-Brian B., NJ


One of a Kind B&B

5 su giugno 15, 2009

The photos on the web do NOT do this place justice. My words can't begin to describe the Grace, Charm and Class of this one of a kind home. It is filled with the feeling of a time long forgotten when things were simple and life was at a slower pace. The Interior was breathtaking and Wendy and Bill have poured they hearts and souls into this place. The Bedroom was one of the most romantic rooms we have found in our World travels. This Tub put the Ritz Carlton of Shanghai to shame. We have stayed in some of the Worlds most Beautiful Hotels and i will TREASURE the memories we had at the Kate Shepard house. The Breakfeast was a gourmet work of art. If you want a one of kind stay go, skip the Modern five star Hotels in Mobil and get ready for a stay of a life time.


An excellent B & B, highly recommended!!

5 su maggio 28, 2009

My new wife and I stayed 5 nights in the Kate Shepard House on our honeymoon. It was wonderful!! The rooms were immaculate and decorated very nicely. The food was delicious!! Wendy was a fantastic host and we cannot recommend the Kate Shepard House enough.


"A Place of Beauty, Charm and Grace" does exist!

5 su maggio 08, 2009

A Place of Beauty, Charm and Grace Some, search the world for such places. We overlook what's just around the corner, because we think we have to look, far and wide. That those places, are only in the history books, in another time, or that they have vanished and Gone with the Wind... This makes me think of Margaret Mitchell's words from her 1936 novel, which have been romanticized in book/film and may be offensive to some..... There was a land of Cavaliers and Cotton Fields called the Old South. Here in this pretty world, Gallantry took its last bow. Look for it only in books, for it is no more than a dream remembered, a Civilization gone with the wind... The Victorian home, set amid great live oaks & magnolia trees, was a beauty to behold! The graceful curves and architecture could only evoke such an idealized romantic view. A style often called romantic, feminine, fanciful. I was totally in awe as walked across the graceful curved porches and stepped through the front door. "A Place of Beauty, Charm and Grace" does exist and it is right here at my own back door.....


30 Anniversary

4,0 su febbraio 18, 2009

House is exceptionally appointed. House was very clean. Breakfast was exceptionally prepared and presented, not to mention delicious! Host was very gracious and knowledgeable. Perfect stay!


Great Getaway

4,6 su gennaio 29, 2009

We celebrated our anniversary with a Mobile getaway and with the stay at the B & B as our treat. And what a treat it was. The other guests were celebrating birthdays. We enjoyed each others company on the front porch with port and warm brownies served by Wendy, the innkeeper. The Barber room was comfortable with two wing chairs in front of the bay window. The slipper tub was big and long to soak in. We were fortunate that the signature Praline Pecan French toast was served that morning. If you don't get them the first morning, stay until they are served! I have been to many B & B's and this one is all that is says on the website. Wendy and Bill are the kind of innkeepers that make B & B's so special.


Kate SHepard House

5 su dicembre 11, 2008

great stay


awesome!

5 su novembre 03, 2008

exceeded expectations! highly recommended!


Amazing Victorian Vacation

5 su giugno 11, 2008

The breakfasts alone are reason enough to stay! The rooms are cozy and large. Mobile (downtown) is quaint and beautiful! A+ in my book!


A wonderful weekend

5 su febbraio 06, 2008

The Kate Shepard House is amazing and Bill and Wendy make you feel at home from the minute you walk through the front door! Wendy has done an amazing job preserving the history and elegance of the house. I could have stayed much longer...especially after tasting the delicious breakfast she cooked!


A Magical Place

5 su ottobre 01, 2007

This bed and breakfast house is a wonderful find. You will never want to come back many times. Wendy is a wealth of information and her warmth makes you feel a part of her family. I highly recommend the Kate Shepard House.


Beautiful way to see Mobile

4,6 su giugno 20, 2007

The Kate Shepard house is a beautifully kept historic home that somehow avoids creaking and other unwanted signs of its age. Superbly managed, nice rooms and great home cooked breakfast in the morning. Wendy was helpful and exceedingly open and friendly. You feel like she really enjoys what she does and is actually eager to have the guests in her house.


Family Reunion

5 su giugno 04, 2007

My husband and I traveled to Mobile to meet my biological family for the first time. I was excited,nervous,scared and sick to my stomach. After arriving at the Kate Shepherd House, Mobile Bay Room, I began to calm down a bit and get ready for the long-awaited "meeting". I took a short nap on the comfy bed, complete with luxury linens and fluffy pillows, soaked in the claw-foot tub while soft music played in the backround. As we were preparing to leave, Wendy came out to "wish me well" and we were on our way. To make a long story short....I fell in love with the aunt and cousins I met and we had a wonderful weekend. I also fell in "love" with Wendy and the Kate Shepherd House. It was certainly a weekend full of new relatives, new friends, new recipes( yummy apple caramel baked pancakes) and new beginnings. Karen Holdaway Nashville, TN


A magical find

5 su maggio 29, 2007

We were looking for a little B&B in Mobile for our 1 night stay in the area. We came across The Kate Shepard House and decided to stay here, since it looked so lovely on the internet. Upon our arrival, we soon realized we wanted to stay a lot longer. Wendy, Bill and Koa Bear (their gorgeous Chow) are warm and friendly, and extremely knowledegable about Mobile and the house itself. The rooms are absolutely magical, the grounds are beautifully kept (there are two 100-year-old Magnolia Trees), the library contains hundreds of original letters, photographs and books dating back to the 1800s. We were in heaven. We absolutely recommend staying at The Kate Shepard House, it quickly became our "secret hideaway place" for many years to come!


The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $165 - $185
  • Recensioni (20) 4,8
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2514797048

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina