Sweet Gum Bottom Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
98 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Sweet Gum Bottom Rocks!

4,6 su luglio 09, 2014

Our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it won't be our last! It's a very remote and relaxing home in the country. We loved the homemade breakfast, pecan french toast. Wish we could have stayed more than a day.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for staying with us! While we do seem remote, we are only 5 minutes from the downtown area. It is nice to be so close and yet seem so far!!! Best of both worlds! Hope to see you again, soon!


27th Annv.

4,8 su luglio 01, 2014

My wife and I have stayed and enjoyed several B&Bs over the past 27 years……..and this is the best one out of them all.

Risposta del proprietario
Wow!!!! We are honored at your review! Thank you so much! It is guests like ya'll that keep us going! Thank you soooo much!' Laura and Ricky


Definitely recommend...

4,2 su giugno 24, 2014

This was our first B&B, and we enjoyed it so much that we intend to visit one every year. PROS: #1- The service was more than I expected. Ricky and Laura made us feel welcome and spent as much time talking to us as we wanted, but they didn't follow us around or hog our time. We very much enjoyed their company, and they went out of their way to make us comfortable. #2- Another pro is the breakfast. My wife and I tried to predict whether it would come from Sysco or be homemade, but we were really surprised the next morning when we were served courses of baked mangoes, baked apple pancakes and bacon, and then frozen yogurt in a little chocolate cup. It was fantastic and the presentation was all there. #3- The flower garden in back is beautiful, and guests are encouraged to spend time in it. There's a fire pit and a hammock and plenty of seating. If you'd rather stay indoors you can see it through the glassed-in back porch. #4- There are LOTS of antique stores, flea markets, and places to eat within 15 minutes. There are several other things I liked, but these four are the highlights. CONS: If I could change one thing about Sweet Gum Bottom I'd give it a bigger common area. Maybe people who B&B don't often want a lot of interaction, but I enjoyed the time with other couples and would have appreciated a room with a few couches. That's pretty much it for the cons, and I'd highly recommend this place to anyone. P.S. I don't know how this review will look once it's posted, so I want to be clear about why I gave "Rooms" and "Value" only three stars. There's nothing wrong with either, but three stars means they met my expectations. It certainly doesn't mean they get a low rating, but we got pretty much what I expected in those categories. I hope this review is helpful and that you'll consider making Sweet Gum Bottom your next B&B!

Risposta del proprietario
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! And that the PROS out-weighed the Cons ! :) and I'm glad that you explained the rating on rooms and value. lol Hope to see you again, soon! Take care!


A Bed and Breakfast You Won't Want to Leave

4,6 su giugno 09, 2014

With a little luck and help from google maps, I found this charming bed and breakfast. It proved a real find—quiet, pristine, full of character, grounds that invite you to wander and roam a bit, and a breakfast that wakes you ready for the day. The proprietor is a delight and as we mentioned more than a few times, we'll be stopping by Sweet Gum Bottom again and again.

Risposta del proprietario
Such kind words! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again...soon!!!


Relaxing in Paradise

5 su aprile 21, 2014

My husband and I needed to get away for a little while to relax and recharge, and Sweetgum Bottom was an answer to our prayers. Sweetgum Bottom B & B is located out in the quite country side of Andalusia Alabama, and is the most wonderful place to stay to let go of all your stress and just relax. Ricky and Laura or the most wonderful host, and we enjoyed chatting with them while on our stay. The hours spent swinging on the porch were so peaceful and the breakfast was the best. The room we stayed in was wonderful and everything was just a prayer answered. We are planning our next trip back and can't wait.

Risposta del proprietario
What you have described is our wish for every guest that stays at Sweet Gum Bottom! We feel we have accomplished our dream if you can relax and let go of everything, even for a few hours...thank you for your kind words!


A slice of Heaven in AL

5 su aprile 03, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet get-away from urban congestion you will find it here! The area is tucked away from the noise and lights of the big city , yet close to good ole fashion down home cooking eateries. The breakfasts that accompany your stay were as beautiful to look at as delicious to eat! Ricky and Laura Oswald have truly put their heart into this property, you wont be disappointed with this choice for your stay! Pam and Bob Benson

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks Mr Bob and Ms. Pam, it was a pleasure to meet you and look forward to your next visit with us! Take care!


Excellent B&B for Relaxing

5 su febbraio 26, 2014

From the porch swing bed on the enclosed porch to the full course breakfast, this B&B makes sure your stay is relaxing & enjoyable. Wonderful hosts & a clean, relaxing place to stay!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again real soon!


Gorgeous B&B

5 su febbraio 23, 2014

Stately home in a quiet, nicely landscaped setting. Beautifully decorated room (Kennedy) with very comfortable bed and high quality linens. Delicious breakfast. Very congenial owner. You will not be disappointed staying here.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for sharing your experience with other readers and we hope that you will return as often as possible!


Second Time around as good as the first.

5 su febbraio 14, 2014

We recently returned to Sweet Gum Bottom for our five year anniversary! This place holds a special place in our hearts since we were married there in 2009. Laura and Ricky are the best hosts and took care of us just like we were family. In fact my wife and can't wait to go back there for our tenth anniversary if not before!!! Great memories are made there each time we stay. We have stayed at other bed and breakfast but none even come close to this special place. Everything was perfect both times!!!!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for the kind words! Ya'll are such a sweet couple and we wish for you many, many more anniversaries and many many more returns to Sweet Gum Bottom...where it all started...... yay!


Wedding in January at Sweet Gum Bottom

5 su gennaio 15, 2014

We arrived early and was created by the owners. Our room was ready and available for us to use. The Wedding ceremony was perfect. The location is convenient to town. The room was nice and quiet. We had a very relaxing stay on our wedding night. Breakfast was served promptly at 9 am and was delicious! Our overall stay was perfect. We will visit with them again!

Risposta del proprietario
We are so glad that you chose Sweet Gum Bottom for your special day! Look forward to seeing you on many future anniversaries!


Honeymoon Perfection

5 su gennaio 06, 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple days on our honeymoon. The room was fantastic and the service was amazing. We have planned to go back once a quarter just to get away. I am already counting down the days.

Risposta del proprietario
Yay! See you soon!


So Relaxing!!!!!

4,8 su dicembre 11, 2013

As soon as we went through the front doors the relaxation started. We heard soft jazz music down the hall, had fresh coffee available 24/7, and everyone around the local town was very polite and cordial to us. Not a lot of resturaunts to choose from but, we didn't wait in long lines either when we went to a restaraunt. If you can't stay away from the beach it is about any hour south of Andalusia. The location of Sweet Bottom was very secluded if you are looking to get away from the city and work grind. Awesome decompression environment, the sitting areas outside and in were great and relaxing.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Merry Christmas!


Wonderful little place!

5 su dicembre 07, 2013

A nice quiet get away place! We really enjoyed our stay.

Risposta del proprietario
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again!


Romantic Getaway

5 su dicembre 04, 2013

We got married at Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast Nov. 30, 2013. Laura and Rick were so kind and gracious to us. Laura took great love and care preparing everything just as we wanted it. The room was outstanding as was the breakfast the next morning. We are already planning on going back for our one year anniversary.

Risposta del proprietario
I am thrilled that you were please with your wedding at Sweet Gum Bottom! Thank you so much for choosing us for your special day!


Great, peaceful getaway!

5 su novembre 06, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, clean, and slow-paced getaway after a past year of stress. The Sweet Gum Bottom was exactly what we were looking for during our two night stay. This B&B is in rural South Alabama where there are very few traffic noises and no sirens- the only noises we heard were wind in the trees and leaves hitting the ground. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable especially the bed where we slept well all night. We enjoyed great weather in early November as we rested in the hammock or sat in the rocking chairs on the front porch during the day. The breakfasts were excellent. And Laura and Ricky (the owners) are great, down-to-earth people who really care about their guests' comfort and enjoyment. Nearby Andalusia reminds me of Mayberry and is well worth a lazy stroll around the courthouse square. Or take a drive in the country to see old farm houses. Also, my wife had nothing but praises for the hour-long massage she received and says this added feature is well-worth the expense. My wife and I plan to make an annual trip to the Sweet Gum Bottom.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your kind words! Can't wait to see you next year! :)


Lovely getaway!

4,6 su ottobre 15, 2013

My husband and I were headed to Andalusia for a wedding and happened to find Sweet Gum Bottom B&B. We spent one evening and were surprised at how quickly we relaxed upon arriving. The Kennedy Anne room was beautiful, comfortable and spacious. Upon arriving Laura and Ricky had great suggestions for dinner out and we returned to have a drink on the covered porch and reviewed the amazing before and after photos of the Inn (obviously a labor of love). We awoke to a delicious breakfast of baked mango, french toast, eggs, bacon, OJ, coffee and tea while visiting with other guests. Afterward we spent the majority of the day lazily sharing a hammock in the garden and spending some much needed time together without distractions. Couldn't have been more pleased. A beautiful inn made even better by kind and genuine innkeepers.

Risposta del proprietario
Glad you a restful time at Sweet Gum Bottom! Hope you can come back soon!


If you are in this part of Alabama, it's definitely the place to stay

4,4 su settembre 07, 2013

We stayed in the KennedyAnne room...Large, well decorated, quiet, very clean, great bed. Great porches around the beautiful grounds. Friendly host who love what they do and it shows.

Risposta del proprietario
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! Please come again!!


Sweet Gum Bottom B&B

5 su settembre 04, 2013

We spent our first Anniversary here (in the Kennedy Anne Suite) this past weekend and had an incredibly relaxing time. Robin was a spectacular hostess and made the most delicious breakfasts each morning. We were sad that we missed meeting Ricky and Laura but everyone needs time away so we hope theirs was AS wonderful as ours was. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay in Andalusia ... THIS is the place for you! God bless you and we WILL BE BACK! ~ Rev TJ and Michelle Conwell

Risposta del proprietario
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry that we did not get to meet you all! BUT...I did hear great things about you from Robin! Next time it is my turn to serve you! Can't wait!


Quick trip

5 su agosto 26, 2013

We traveled to the area for the Babe Ruth World Series games and this was a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of games, rain, heat and hotels full of boys. The grounds are so peaceful, the rooms are very clean and very pretty. Laura was a great host who made delicious breakfasts. We would highly recommend this B & B to all our friends and family!

Risposta del proprietario
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am so proud that your team made it to the final game! Whoohoo! Hope to see you next year to win the whole thing!!! :)


Outstanding place!

5 su agosto 23, 2013

Great out the way place to stay, very warm and welcoming owners! Next time I'm in the area I'll make a point to stay there!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to your next visit to Sweet Gum Bottom! Take care!


Much Needed

5 su agosto 05, 2013

This was the perfect little slice of paradise my husband and I needed to melt our troubles away and to rekindle that spark. We fell in love all over again. The food and hospitality were top notch and Laura and Rick made us feel so comfortable. A big thanks to both of you for your friendship, the conversation and most of all your hospitality. The house is absolutely beautiful and our room was delightful. We will see you guys next month for our anniversary!!

Risposta del proprietario
lol... a funny thing happens at Sweet Gum Bottom...you are given the time and circumstances to re-connect, relax and spend time with each other! It's amazing what a weekend can do for a relationship! Looking forward to seeing you again.


Wonderful

4,8 su luglio 25, 2013

Found this gem when we were looking for a fun place to stay. Was well worth it, very restful. Get the massage!


10th anniversary trip

5 su luglio 10, 2013

Wonderful getaway! We had a great time and the food was fabulous! The inn keepers obviously love people and go out of their way to provide a fantastic experience!


Book now, thank yourself later.

4,4 su luglio 09, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the SGB. As the last time, Laura and Ricky made us feel so welcome and comfortable. We arrived early (unannounced) and our room wasn't ready, so Laura offered us an upgraded room that was ready with no additional charge. My wife and I spent hours on their enclosed back porch. It was great to be able to enjoy a porch swing (or two) in comfort on an Alabama late-June day. The food was beyond amazing. Enough said. I also really enjoyed the K-cup coffee maker that allowed me a great cup of coffee late at night. Visit the SGB. You'll thank yourself. We've stayed in two of the rooms and can't wait to stay in the other two.


Definitely will be back

4,6 su giugno 26, 2013

The next time we will book the slightly higher-priced room. Our room had a private bath, but it was not closed on the top - it was open to the room which was a little weird for me. The other rooms have enclosed bathrooms. The food was FABULOUS. We slept SO WELL - and its so beautiful and interesting - I would have liked to stay a few days.


Amazing!!!

5 su giugno 19, 2013

Sweet Gum Bottom is an amazing place to get away from the stress of daily life. Ricky and Laura are wonderful Christian people and seem to have been called by God to do what they are doing at Sweet Gum Bottom. The breakfast was wonderful and the rooms were very cozy. I can't put into words how relaxing the porch was!!! We will be going back very soon!! Crystal


Great Stay!

5 su giugno 09, 2013

Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast is the place to stay if you are looking for true southern hospitality, great rooms, and amazing food! We hope to come back in the future!!


Best B&B

5 su giugno 02, 2013

Best b&b we have been to! Loved the room and the design. The service was excellent. The breakfast was also very tasty. We have nothing to complain about! Best regards, Couple from Europe


Beautiful and Relaxing

5 su maggio 22, 2013

This was the perfect place to stop and take a load off. I loved every minute of staying there. Plus, the bed was incredibly comfortable.


Best BNB Stay we have ever had!

5 su maggio 20, 2013

I brought my husband to this quaint BNB for his birthday-and we enjoyed such a wonderful stay!! The room was 100x more amazing than the website showed-and we were in awe at how relaxing and perfect everything was! All the tiny details really showed that Laura takes her guests stay & enjoyment seriously-and it has been one of the best BNB's we have stayed at. The food-is more amazing than words! My mouth waters just thinking about it. We throughly enjoyed the grounds-I am a professional photographer, so having a beautiful area to photograph self portraits of my husband and I was so fun! I highly highly recommend it to anyone wanting a perfect Bed & Breakfast stay-5 stars all the way!


Perfect place for rest and relaxation

5 su maggio 14, 2013

Comfortable, clean, great breakfast and lovely surroundings. Laura and Rick were friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. The perfect getaway to rest and relax!


Stay

4,6 su maggio 10, 2013

Very nice accomodations


Worth the Drive

4,8 su maggio 01, 2013

We stayed at the Sweet Gum Bottom B&B this past weekend before going to see the play of To Kill a Mockingbird in Monroeville. It took us about an hour to get here, but I must say that it was totally worth the drive! The property is in great shape! The service was wonderful, and the food was superb. The gardens were awesome and Andelusia was a great little town that was certainly a much better place to stay than the town the play was in. If you like southern cooking and especially catfish, then I highly recommend David's Catfish House. All you can eat catfish and shrimp with some great sweet tea and hush puppies! Laura and Ricky made us feel right at home. We plan to return and we also will highly recommend their home to all of our friends and family!


Perfect in Alabama!

5 su aprile 12, 2013

We had a most relaxing overnight stay in the "jacuzzi" room. The sunporch was sunny and comfortable for a glass of wine and it was easy to imagine the happy brides and grooms who have been married there. Breakfast was sinfully caloric and delicious. Laurie is such fun to chat with...and she certainly knows what she's doing in the B and B business.


Charming sanctuary

4,4 su aprile 09, 2013

Beautifully furnished, cozy and charming hostess. Superior to all the other lodging choices in the area. The rooms were a little cold in March, so be prepared by wearing layers if you come before the heat wave hits.


Country Comfort

5 su aprile 08, 2013

We were surprised to find such a beautiful quite place to spend the night out in the country near Andalusia with beautiful grounds, lots of charm, and cool antique establishments a short drive down the street. Loved the experience.


The Charm of southern Alabama.

4,8 su aprile 01, 2013

What a beautiful, serene experience! We loved it! Laura and Ricky seemed like family. Can't wait to stay again in the future,


Fantastic Retreat!

5 su marzo 19, 2013

Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast was just the place my husband and I needed to recharge our batteries! It was beautiful and my husband really enjoyed the breakfasts! We would go there again in a flash!


Wonderful, relaxing get away

5 su marzo 02, 2013

Mr. Ricky and Mrs. Laura were incredible hosts and their B&B was just the right place for us to relax and get away for a night. The porch swing overlooking the garden truly is the "best seat in the house". We stayed in the Laura Leigh room and the jacuzzi tub was a wonderful way to soak away the stress. We will hopefully be going back!


Beautiful B&B

5 su gennaio 07, 2013

We decided to celebrate our anniversary here. We got married at the chapel here and wanted to revisit the place where it all started. The room was fantastic and so romantic. The yard and scenery was wonderful and delicious does not even begin to describe our breakfast. It's located just outside of a beautiful town. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We can't wait to go back.


WIsh I knew about this place earlier

5 su dicembre 24, 2012

I was conducting some business in Andalusia for multiple months and made several visits; however, I did not find out about Sweet Gum Bottom B&B until my last week. Wish I had found it earlier. The place is great. Beautiful, spacious rooms. Delicious breakfasts. My wife spent a great deal of time on the different places to sit, read, and enjoy the day. I will definitely stay here again and am telling all my co-workers to do the same when they visit Andalusia.


Honeymoon!

5 su dicembre 12, 2012

We stayed as a honeymoon gift from my mother and the stay was magical. It was everything we had hoped for and the breakfast was so good. The owners were so sweet and kind. We would highly recommend staying here.


A little hidden Gem...

5 su novembre 26, 2012

After a great hunting trip in Troy I wanted to spend a calm & beautiful night and day at a B&B. This was the best choice ever. It was all I expected and then more. The service, attentions of the B&B owners, they even rescued us out on our way in as we were a little lost late at night. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. Looking forward t a longer stay next time. Richard & Judy


Thank you for an awesome birthday!

5 su ottobre 22, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it could not have been more perfect! Ricky and Laura really know how to make you feel welcome. The rooms are decorated to perfection and the food is amazing. We will be back! Brian & Angela from Atlanta


The Best Every!!!!!

5 su ottobre 03, 2012

I had a wonderful weekend, giving all the credit to the great time of your service and such a beautiful place. Lois Wooley

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you Ms. Lois, It was a pleasure to meet you and Tonya. It makes me happy to know that you were able to visit the place where you were born! It's good memories! Hope to see you again, soon!


Surprise Get Away!

5 su ottobre 02, 2012

This was my first time staying in a bed & breakfast and it was way more than i expected! Laura was a fantastic hostess. The Inn was extremely comfortable & clean. The jacuzzi was wonderful & the massages very delightful. The breakfast meal was incredible! Do not hesitate to book your trip here, also there are very good restaurants in town. Ofelia's Italian restaurant was on the feed back before so we ate there and found it to be very good. Ask Laura for her french toast! It is the best i have ever eaten!


Wow! What a great place!!!

5 su ottobre 01, 2012

We fully enjoyed our stay at Sweet Gum Bottom Bed& Breackfast! We highly recommend and know you will enjoy yourselves at this beautiful home. Laura and Ricky made us feel so welcome and were wonderful hostess! We plan to come back and send our friends!!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much! We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and had a little time to unwind and slow down! It's always good to take time for yourself as a couple! With no distractions! :~) See you next time!


A romantic getaway

3,6 su agosto 29, 2012

A delightful experience in every way. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfast was so yummy and quite a surprise. Our hosts were wonderful, full of energy and kind. We loved our weekend at Sweet Gum Bottom!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your kind words on the bed and breakfast.com reviews. We appreciate each and every one of them. Great reviews are what keep us going and make us strive to be better in every way! I do hope that the number one given in dining was not a reflection of the breakfast that we prepared for you at the Sweet Gum Bottom. I am in hopes that it is referring to the area. If not, please let me know so that I can rethink my preparations. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us! Laura


A hidden gem!

5 su luglio 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sweet Gum Bottom B&B on July 13. We absolutely loved it! No detail was missed in our bedroom--from a wonderful bed (beautifully decorated and super comfy) to an exfoliating hand scrub available by the bathroom sink. Having stayed at a Ritz-Carlton hotel recently, I can tell you that Sweet Gum Bottom has them beat hands down! Laura and Ricky are fantastic hosts, and Laura's breakfast was amazing. The history of the home and how it was transformed into the B&B was fascinating. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer.


Two Words: STAY HERE!

5 su luglio 10, 2012

My wife and I really enjoy staying at bed & breakfasts. We've been to tons of them over the past ten years. So trust me when I say this: Sweet Gum Bottom is, hands down, the very best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at. Let me put it this way -- staying at Sweet Gum Bottom is almost a curse because once you've experienced it, no other place compares. SGB is truly in a class by itself. Every time we try a new B&B we invariably end up saying, "Well, this is really nice, but it's nothing like Sweet Gum Bottom." Sweet Gum Bottom just hits on all cylinders. The interior decorating, the grounds keeping, the FOOD, the hospitality, the cleanliness, the comfort, the warmth, everything is spot on. Innkeepers Laura and Ricky Oswald just pay incredible attention to detail. Nothing is overlooked, nothing is glossed over. Their pride shows in everything. Laura's southern cooking just defies words. I can't express just how good it is. Her combinations of flavors and her presentation are the work of a master chef. There's something very warm and just "right" about Sweet Gum Bottom. We consider it our home away from home, only I relax better there than at home because I know Laura and Ricky are taking care of things so we don't have to. It's my favorite place to visit. Take my advice -- stay at Sweet Gum Bottom. I would give it six stars if I could. We've recommended SGB to many of our friends and ALL of them have thanked us and told us how great an experience it was. SGB is definitely worth an out-of-state trip. Norm & Leslie Kaiser Freeport, Florida


Lovely Stay and Location

5 su giugno 24, 2012

I stayed at Sweet Gum Bottom for one night during a business trip to the area. My room was lovely and the grounds were even nicer - a very calming place to be and just want I needed. While I did not have breakfast the next morning, I did have a good dinner in Andelusia and, in fact, had so many delicious leftovers that I had these for breakfast (and my entire dinner was well under $ 20.00). I would return and make this my "home-base" while I explored the region.


corporate travelor

5 su giugno 22, 2012

Awesome. Great people and clean and neat rooms. I had a massage with an excellent person. GREAT GREAT GREAT


Unique and Beautiful place!

5 su giugno 10, 2012

This was my first bed and breakfast and definitely worth the money! The innkeepers, Ricky and Laura, are very sweet and wonderful cooks! I had the organic blue corn grits with eggs, sausage, fried mango, orange muffin and orange juice for breakfast. You will eat a wonderful breakfast that you cannot get at home. The rooms were amazing. I stayed in the Lindsey Paige sweet and with the jacuzzi and tv, the room was beautiful. The sun porch was beautiful and definitely my favorite part laying on the swinging porch swing. They also have a fire pit outside, grill, plenty of places to sit with others, a hammock, etc. so there is plenty of places to socialize and have fun at night. May God Bless Laura and Ricky, they went out of their way just to make my stay wonderful and that it was! I even bought and wear a t-shirt from there. I also met some lifelong friends there and all in the one night I stayed.


Had a great stay.

4,8 su giugno 01, 2012

We loved the house and the grounds. The only slight issue we had was the abundance of light coming in the room at night and into the morning. It was difficult to get to sleep and to sleep a little later in the morning. Other than that the room was very comfortable, the bed was awesome and it was very quiet.


We LOVE Sweet Gum Bottom!

4,4 su marzo 14, 2012

Ricky and Laura Oswald are truly the salt of the Earth! We love staying at Sweet Gum Bottom. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the service and food is second to none. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back!


Relaxing atmosphere

4,6 su gennaio 16, 2012

The atmosphere is very relaxing and the inn keepers are very friendly. We have stayed here several times of the past 7 years and will return. The breakfast is always delicious and filling.


A Welcome Surprise

5 su dicembre 12, 2011

This B&B is special in every way. The town of Andalusia is just the right size to find things of interest and things to do. It is an easy town to get around in. The Inn is in the perfect location, not at all far from the town. The inn is a relaxing place to stay, with great food and service. The Hosts go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at ease; you are introduced to other guests in way that makes you feel comfortable in talking and getting to know each other. The Sweet Gum Bottom is a special Inn in every way.


A December Rehearsal Dinner

4,0 su dicembre 11, 2011

The Resheasal Dinner was spectacular on a cool December evening. The atmosphere with seasonal music filled the air as guests arrived with such enlightenment of surprise in their eyes. The presentation of food, drinks, and wonderful smiles from the staff made it an enjoyable evening for all who were still filled with excitement during the wedding. So many nice comments and fond memories to be had by all who attended. Thank you for making this such a fond memory.


Southern Hospitality at its best

4,8 su novembre 07, 2011

We stayed here for the final stop on our road trip of the Deep South, and it was a treat. We were upgraded to a better room at no cost, we arrived slightly late but there was no issue whatsoever. The grounds and the house itself are beautiful and I only wish we'd had longer to stay there. We were cooked a delicious breakfast by Sheila in the morning, it's worth making the trip here just for the pecan toast, one of the tastiest things I've ever experienced! If you're in Alabama, make sure you visit Sweet Gum Bottom, it's perfect.


Simply the Best, better than all the Rest!

4,6 su novembre 06, 2011

My review sounds like a song title but its true. Rick and Laura are great hosts and provide a wonderful atmosphere to help relax after a long trip or stressful work day. The accomodations are spacious and very clean. The back porch is a great place to hand out and relax as well. We enjoyed dinner with clients at their establishment and they gave us the opportunity to feel at home. The steaks they cooked have a special ingredient that alone makes you want to come back. Laura plays the piano beautifully and Rick is terrific on the 6 string guitar, some of us even joined in the fun. A great place off the beaten path and excellent opportunity to enjoy Lower "Sweet Home" Alabama.


wonderful

4,6 su agosto 23, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful experience here.A romantic getaway is highly recommended .


Wonderful weekend getaway!

4,0 su agosto 03, 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at Sweet Gum B & B for our 1 year Anniversary. We live near the beach so thought a quiet B & B would be a nice change to our busy, everyday lives and it WAS the perfect place! Laura made us feel at home and her cooking was out of this world. Everything looked so beautiful and tasted great. What a talented, beautiful person she is. We never did catch up with Ricky, but I'm sure he's just as sweet. Everything was superb about the experience we had. We had a very nice and relaxing Anniversary! Thank you Laura and Ricky for all your hard work!


Frequent Guest back again

5 su luglio 31, 2011

Laura run a great value, always welcoming, always my first choice B&B.


Excellent Service and Dining

5 su luglio 12, 2011

We stayed in the Laura Leigh suite, which was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The breakfast Laura prepared the next morning was the best we've ever had. She and Ricky are great hosts. This was our second stay at Sweet Gum Bottom Bed & Breakfast, and we don't expect it to be our last.


My Stay at SGB B&B

5 su giugno 22, 2011

this was my first time to stay at a B&B and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I felt like I was at home. The rooms are wonderful. The innkeepers were so warm and hospitable, I felt like I had known them my whole life. I enjoyed my stay, and all the antique shops in town. I will definitely be back soon


Sweet Gum Bottom

5 su maggio 25, 2011

Sweet Gum Bottom is a beautiful place. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go again. The owners are wonderful people, the service was exceptional, breakfast was fabulous and the rooms were first class. I highly recommend their dance package.


Grandma's Paradise

5 su maggio 23, 2011

My Mother & I came down for the birth of my twin grandbabies. Sweet Gum Bottom B&B was very clean, Ms Laura was very sweet and a terrific cook, and the location was beautiful. I look forward to staying there again.


Just okay visit

3,0 su maggio 07, 2011

Had the necessary privacy but disappointed in hostess' lack of friendliness and warmth. Beautiful home but a few things that would've been nice in the room were simple things like bedside tables and a clock. Two comfortable chairs in room but no table next to them to set down drinks, books, etc. Curtains were very dusty and a couple towels had a musty smell. Bathroom was nice but sink outside the bathroom was extremely small - hard to wash without water going on the floor. Beautiful landscaping and good breakfast though. Overpriced for not receiving anything more than a nice hotel room except a little more comfort and quiet.


Lindsey Paige Room

4,4 su aprile 16, 2011

This was the most RELAXING stay ever. I have stayed at several BnB and this quaint little place was beautiful..quiet..a back to nature and the most de-stressing experience. Laura was so wonderful and a FANTASTIC chef. The breakfast was to die for!!! We stayed for two days in the Lindsey Paige room which was quite the experience(very unique room). Laura set us up with the birthday package and massages by Mandy from Oasis. We went for dinner to Ophelias which was an experience. The food was wonderful the dessert fantastic and Ophelia and Nelson were a treat. This was a WONDERFUL experience. Only regret, not being able to meet Ricky as he was working and we came during the week. This would be a Fantastic place to get married. We are searching our relatives to get some up here to get married. Laura caters it and if you check her web site blog take a look at the foods and set ups.. There is a chapel here to get married in or a beautiful outdoor wedding. Dont forget to check out the donkeys.. and take the walk across the street.. 1 mile to the bama mail box and 2 to the end of the road.( oh and 2 miles back from bama box.. and 4 from the end of the road) Lovely walk with birds and sunshine and friendly neighbors.. All in All.. this was the best B n B we have stayed at to recharge our bodies n minds.


our stay

4,6 su marzo 17, 2011

We had a great time, nice place to get away and enjoy some quiet time. Rick and Laura are wonderful and breakfast was AMAZING. Very beautiful home. Missy and Spencer Harris from Old hickory, Tn


Lowers your blood pressure

5 su marzo 02, 2011

My husband and decided to go here for our anniversary/valentine's/birthday getaway and we had a wonderful time doing absolutely nothing. There is quiet music playing in the background and a great swing overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was out of this world. You will be blessed by Ricky and Laura as well. They are just great people! We highly recommend!


Out of this WORLD! Outstanding people and the best food ever!

5 su febbraio 23, 2011

Ricky and Laura are absolutly wonderful people, following and walking with Christ! My husband and I absolutly loved the experience and would go again tomorrow if we could. I would highly recomend this to anyone! The best food that I have ever put in my mouth! OUTSTANDING!


Sweet Gum Bottom

4,8 su febbraio 23, 2011

Me and my wife had a great and relaxing time. There was nothing to complain about. Everyting was great and Ricky and Laura are some of the nicest people I have ever met. We will be going back again.


Very Nice

4,2 su febbraio 19, 2011

The breakfast was delicious and very special. Laura is everyone's idea of the wonderful, friendly Southern hostess. This is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay.


Fabulous Experience

5 su febbraio 17, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at SGB B&B for the first time on Feb. 12, 2011 and we were totally blown away by our experience! Our room was gorgeous, the bed was extremely comfortable, everything was exceptionally clean and neat. We discussed how amazing it was that there was not a single speck of dust on anything!! The price was great and the service was over the top! We felt like we were visiting with family! Breakfast was delicious!! We've told everyone how amazing our visit was!


A piece of heaven......in Alabama!

5 su febbraio 01, 2011

This is somewhere around our "10th" stay at the Sweet Gum Bottom Bed & Breakfast. That, in it's self, should explain our feelings toward this country get-away. It's peacefully nestled off the main road, just exactly where one (or two) would want it to be...... This old house has a lot of Southern History to say the least, as it's a step "back" in time! When you're here you feel like your at the house you use to visit when you were a child..........Grandma's & Grandpa's. Rick & Laura Oswald are the utmost in a Christian style setting. Our only regret at this stay.........was leaving them and the "old memories" that this place leaves you with. If you're looking for a "fast pace" stay.......look elsewhere.....this is the "laid back" country life style everyone can enjoy!! Clean,neat,outstanding food........and a family you'll never forget...that's why we have returned so many times. Oh, and don't forget to say "hi" to Lucky (the cat) when he gets out of his blanket on the back porch to great you!! Gary & Paulene Metzger Parrish, Fla. 34219


First Experience

3,0 su novembre 17, 2010

This was my first experience at a B&B. I thought it was a bit over priced. There were spider webs around the tub area and there was trash under the bed. The innkeepers were pleasant and the food was delicious.


Plantation style B&B

4,0 su novembre 04, 2010

House was nice and Laura was very friendly and helpfull. Guess growing up in Louisiana this seemed like a typical plantation house. My wife on the other hand loved it. Only stayed 1 night so really didn't get to enjoy some of the amnities. Had a wonderful breakfast the next morning though. Would also suggest eating at CJ's Grille, best steaks I think I ever had, thanks Laura for the recommendation. I would still recommend a relaxing stay here.


Wonderful Business Trip to Andalusia

5 su ottobre 27, 2010

I came for a 4 day trip - 1 pleasure and 3 business. Great food, comfy bed, wonderful company, and easy access to Andalusia. Looking forward to more business in Andalusia (and more pleasure!).


Fantastic getaway

5 su ottobre 10, 2010

This was our first B&B experience, and it did not disappoint! Everything was perfect-- immaculate rooms, unique & lovely common areas, gourmet food, and friendly hosts. Incredible!


The most beautiful B&B!

5 su ottobre 06, 2010

Stayed for our 1 year anniversary! We were married at this B&B on Oct 2 2009!


Awesome Stay!

5 su settembre 03, 2010

Awesome stany and beautiful place. Great service!


Great Get Away

5 su agosto 02, 2010

My husband took me to Sweet Gum Bottom for our 40th anniversary. It was great! Quiet, beautiful and jst what I needed. I highly recommend it if you need to get away!


Wonderful Experience!

5 su luglio 19, 2010

Wonderful Experience! Clean rooms & breakfast was great! We will definently be back! Very friendly owners and staff and everall great experience!


Perfect 1st. Experience!

5 su luglio 19, 2010

Amazing stay at our first B&B. Wonderful service and amazing food! Relaxing atmosphere and beautiful surroundings!


Splendid

4,6 su luglio 14, 2010

We came down looking for a wedding venue and found a possible site at Sweet Gum Bottom B&B. Clean, beautiful and great people.


Outstanding plus 3 exclamation points on dining!

5 su luglio 11, 2010

Lovely room - beautiful setting - delicious food - easy to find!


Comfort and Relaxation!

5 su luglio 10, 2010

We were looking for a comfortable bed and we certainly found it at Sweet Gum Bottom. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and the atmoshere is so relaxing. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating. We will return and highly recommend you visit!


Passing Thru

5 su luglio 03, 2010

Pleasant, Friendly, excellant stay, relaxed atmosphere, great getaway - well worth the visit!


Perfect weekend

5 su giugno 05, 2010

Thanks for a perfect weekend for our wedding and your warmth and kindness. You have a very beautiful place and you both have wonderful hearts!


A Great Relaxing Weekend!

5 su aprile 27, 2010

Ricky and Laura are so friendly it's always a pleasure to visit with them. The food is fantastic and everything is so relaxing it makes a great mini-vacation. we also enjoyed riding on their pontoon boat.


Stepping into serenity.

4,0 su marzo 22, 2010

We loved our stay at Sweetgum Bottom Bed and Breakfast. The room was great Bethany, Laura and Ricky are all wonderful sweet people who made David and myself very welcomed. The breakfast on both mornings was fantastic and we cannot wait until we can do it again.


Anniversary R&R

3,6 su marzo 16, 2010

We did not travel far this year for our anniversary, but were looking for some peace and quiet. SGB delivered. Andalusia was a quiet little town, but we found plenty to do. We spent our first day shopping for furniture and drinking frozen hot chocolate at The Sugar Rush. Laura and Ricky made sure we felt welcome upon arrival at the B&B. There were candy jars throughout the house and she shut my husband down with the smell of her fresh-baked cookies! We ate dinner at CJ's then headed back to read and hang out on the beautiful glassed in porch. Our bed was large and comfy and breakfast was so good the next morning that we didn't need any lunch! We spent the day at Conecuh National Forest and lounging around the gorgeous grounds of SGB. Dinner was at The Buckboard, which was recommended by Laura and Ricky and exceeded expectations. Another restful night and amazing breakfast made our trip complete! We would recommend Sweet Gum Bottom to anyone!


Our favorite B and B.

5 su marzo 08, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Sweet Gum Bottom several times, and each time gets better! The service is absolutely amazing, the attention that Ricky and Laura give to every detail of the b and b make for an wonderful stay.


Great bed and even better breakfast!

4,8 su febbraio 22, 2010

The room was beautiful. I felt very comfortable there and everywhere on the property. I enjoy my time there and will be back.


Heaven on Earth!!

5 su febbraio 16, 2010

Wonderful place to spend time with that special someone! My wife and I have stayed at some great places but this was absolutely our favorite and the best part was that we didn't have to waste time traveling far which gave us more time to spend with each other. The whole place was beautiful, the food was awesome and the hosts were terrific!!! I felt the presence of the Lord all up in there.This is somewhere that you will want to go back to over and over again. I would actually like to go back in every season just to see the changes in the landscape. If you want to go to a peaceful place with lots of style then book your room now.You won't be sorry that you did!!


LOVE LOVE LOVE!

5 su febbraio 04, 2010

My husband and I stay 2 nights here for our honeymoon. We couldnt have asked for anything better! Rick and Laura were so sweet and they even gave us advice. I would definatly recommend this lovely getaway to anyone. (Laura is an excellent cook! Ask for eggs benedict... YUMMY!!!)


there should be a "sixth" dot in your guideline review, SUPREME!!

5 su gennaio 19, 2010

My wife and I just returned from our yearly stay at Sweet-Gum-Bottom B&B. This was our seventh year of returning, each always the same...relaxing! Seven years ago my wife was looking for a close, and quant, B&B on the Internet. After a few minutes she explained she'd found "the spot".... When I asked her why she told me that they were the only one that offered a "chocolate on your bed pillow! We soon learned that that wasn't all that was exceptional...........it was also the owners. Rick and Laura are not only the nicest people that you would want to meet, they are like family to everyone. If someone is looking at going away to "relax" and let time pass them by, it's here at Sweet-Gum-Bottom. Literally....... "Sweet-Home-Alabama"...


Sweet Gum Bottom Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $135 - $160
  • Recensioni (98) 4,8
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-3342228007

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina