Recent Reviews in Ironton, Missouri

pleasant and relaxing at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

3.4 reviewed on August 10, 2016

Love the pool and gazebo. Recommend massage and horseback riding. Breakfast was tasty and loved the peace and quiet. Can borrow books and movies for your stay. Close to town and parks.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely visit! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.4 reviewed on August 08, 2016

This is a lovely old home which has been converted to a b & b. The setting is gorgeous, the hostess is lovely and the food is delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Old Caledonian B&B at Old Caledonian Bed & Breakfast (Caledonia, Missouri)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

Jon and Penny are such hospitable innkeepers! The guest rooms are huge and filled with modern amenities while staying true to their historical roots. The beds and pillows are the most comfortable I have ever experienced! The area is rich in history and The Old Caledonian B&B is the crown jewel of the town. Afternoon tea was perfect in every way and the breakfasts are out of this world. Just what you would expect from a former executive chef. There are many lovely outdoor areas to wander through on the property. We will definitely be going back to visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Plain and Fancy at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful time and plan to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2016

Felt right at home

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B with wonderful food at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on June 29, 2016

What a lovely place. The food is very good and Ruth is a great hostess. The cookies that are put into the room are delicious. We did not use the pool, but it looked ver my clean and inviting. There is also a hot tub available, but it was too hot outside for us to consider using, but it has nice privacy and views and at night would be great for stargazing. The only critique I would have is for the cleaning staff to make sure the jets are clean in the jetted tubs. I did not use the jetted tub because the jets looked like it had that pink scum or mold in them. It could probably be cleaned with a toothbrush. Also the showerhead in the shower had several blocked spray holes and that could use a cleaning. Other than that, everything was nice and clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Don't plan on "Romance" or "Relaxation" at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

3.0 reviewed on June 29, 2016

Unresponsive to emails before our stay. We found the accommodations satisfactory however, the amenities are overstated. After check in we inquired about the group of cabins on the property. That's when we discovered that Plain and Fancy is also Arcadia Cabins. The "private pool" is actually a shared pool. Not just with the other guests of Plain and Fancy, but with the possible 24 other guests on the property. 2 days of sharing the property with screaming kids and loud 20 somethings carting coolers everywhere they went, left us feeling anything but "Romanced", "Relaxed", or "Renewed". We ended up leaving early on our 2nd morning without even bothering ourselves with breakfast. Email Ruth to let her know that we were disappointed in our stay. Again, unresponsive.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Historic Inn at Old Caledonian Bed & Breakfast (Caledonia, Missouri)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2016

We were the first guests at this "new" B&B. The Inn is a beautiful house built in 1849. Innkeepers Penny and Jon are amazing hosts, ensuring our ultimate comfort. Our room was beautifully appointed and spotless, with a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts by Chef Jon was the best that we have ever had at a B&B. His signature dish, Scotch eggs, was fantastic. The grounds are gorgeous, we spent a lot of time in the gazebo, taking in the beautiful grounds with many birds, flowers, and a koi pond. The area is steeped in Civil War history and great wineries. We'll be back here for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


My Relax time!!!!! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on June 05, 2016

I felt very at home and at peace. The owner was more than accommodating. I will defiantly return. I was born in the town where this B&B is located so it was very nice to return after many many years. Discovered things I never knew before.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.4 reviewed on May 31, 2016

Lovely accommodations, beautiful grounds, great access to nearby hiking etc, Will return for years to come.

View more reviews for this inn


fantastic getaway at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.6 reviewed on May 06, 2016

This was a great place to stay for our anniversary - beautiful scenery (the back of the property has a river to watch), privacy and all of the amenities we were looking for. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on April 28, 2016

We stayed in the largest suite with a separate entrance for two nights. The room was huge, beautiful and well maintained. Ruth, made us an amazing breakfast both days that we stayed, plus we had some awesome cookies in our room each night when we arrived! We had a great stay, and we would highly recommend checking out the surrounding state parks and attractions!

View more reviews for this inn


Great romantic get away! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on February 25, 2016

Great get away for my wife's birthday. Loved the setting with the creek flowing out back. The amenities in the room were great. Ruth was a fantastic hostes and the meals were outstanding. We highly recommend Plain and Fancy Bed and Breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary get away at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2016

Absolutely loved everything! We didn't want to leave. Very private room, cozy fireplace, and bubbling creek behind the house.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice get away at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

3.4 reviewed on January 15, 2016

Nice place to hang out. Had one of the rooms with a fire place and after a day of hiking in the near by parks it was a welcome respite. There is also a hot tub on the deck that looked very nice but too cold for me. Food was good and rooms were clean as expected.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Quaint and Peaceful B&B! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2016

Staying at the B&B was the perfect quiet getaway for my husband and me. The rooms are very clean, and very cute! The breakfast in the morning was truly wonderful, a taste of home "country" cooking, and the presentation was worth an instagram pic! Ruth, the Inkeeper goes above an beyond to make sure your stay is wonderful, and makes you feel like family while your there. Also, make sure to go on the trail ride! See you next year!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice getaway at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

3.4 reviewed on January 04, 2016

Enjoyed the time. Nice hot tub on the deck but the weather did not cooperate. Relaxing and found more to do in the area then anticipated.

View more reviews for this inn


We Will Return at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.6 reviewed on October 07, 2015

We stayed in the Scarlett room for our anniversary. Everything was awesome, especially the food. Psychological studies show that excitement is the most romantic thing you can do, so combining horseback riding with a great B&B stretches off the charts. Men: this is an easy weekend getaway you can plan and execute to earn months of appreciation from your wife or girlfriend. About 2 hours from St. Louis in a beautiful, historic region, just do it.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Birthday Getaway at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on May 30, 2015

Stayed one night in Scarlett's hideaway as a way to get out of the city to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. The whole experience was wonderful. From check-in to check- out including dinner, we couldn't have asked for more. We used the location as a starting point for a great day of hiking in the Arcadia Valley, highly recommend the area.

View more reviews for this inn


great! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on May 27, 2015

Room was excellent. Service excellent. Breakfast was good, but if served in common area, which can be a bit awkward

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on April 15, 2015

This was amazing food and seevice

View more reviews for this inn


AMAZING!!! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay. It was cozy, cute, clean, quiet, and the food was fabulous. We will definitely be going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, romantic place to stay for our anniversary. Plain and Fancy was the perfect place. We stayed in Scarlett's Hideaway. We lit the fireplace and enjoyed the jacuzzi tub for awhile with wine and chocolate then settled in to watch a DVD supplied by the B&B. Had the option of the hot tub just a few feet away but opted for the tub in the room. After a great night's sleep we enjoyed fresh coffee and a wonderful breakfast. It was perfect!! The hosts are extremely nice. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Ironton, MO area.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding all round! at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2014

This place was amazing, we stayed in the Scarlet room and it was perfect. There was a Jacuzzi tub in the main room plus a fully functional fire place. We had a double massage shower and our own private outdoor hot tub. Brenda and tom were lovely and chatted with us over breakfast (which was delicious) Iv'e never had home cooked muffins so good, the only downfall was i couldn't finish it all!!! I cant recommend this place enough!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend retreat at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.0 reviewed on November 30, 2014

Hospitible hosts and so much to do on the premises, didn't have a chance to get to it all. Look forward to coming back in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2014

We stayed in the Scarlett's Hideaway room, a new addition built in 2006. It is very thoughtfully done and perfect for couples, with a love seat by the wood burning fireplace, a jacuzzi in the room, large dual-headed shower and king-size bed. The outdoor hottub and firepit are right outside. Walk to and from room has a nice view over a creek too. Saw a lot of wildlife, including deer and eagles. Staff are very attentive. We didn't ride horses, but we were introduced to each horse in the field when we showed up there. Surrounding hiking is nice: elephant rock, taum sauk and johnson shutins all had good hiking trails. Fall colors are still good in November. Breakfast is delicious. Extensive collection DVDs available for borrowing. We watched a couple of movies in our room. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Autumn Weekend at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.2 reviewed on October 29, 2014

Beautiful, clean,and relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding customer service at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

We recently had a reservation to stay at the Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast. We were almost there when we had to turn back home because of a family emergency. When I called to let the proprietor know we would not be staying with them, I was treated with compassion and respect. She told me that if she could rent the room (it was the beautiful Amish Room), she would issue me a refund. She also expressed her sympathy for our situation. We did receive a refund. I can only express my appreciation for this lady's grace and outstanding customer service. We hope to be in the area in the future, and we would not hesitate to book reservations again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great but . . . at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

4.2 reviewed on September 16, 2014

The accommodations were great. We loved the peace and quiet. It was just what we needed. However, the innkeeper was not very friendly and outgoing. If she was having a bad day, I will give her the benefit of the doubt. However, she was not engaging and was somewhat unfriendly. At one point, I even asked her if something was wrong. She did not engage me in conversation at all and during breakfast, stood in the corner and almost sulked. I hate to write a bad review but this is the only thing preventing me from recommending this to friends. The housecleaner was friendlier than she was. Again, if it was a difficult time for her, fine. But if this is her personality all the time, I believe she is in the wrong business.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, Quiet, and Clean at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast (Ironton, Missouri)

3.2 reviewed on August 27, 2014

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend an hour or so from St Louis & found it at the 'Plain & Fancy'. Brenda & Tom are a friendly, inviting couple that served 2 wonderful gourmet breakfasts & interesting stories about their historical property. One of our priorities was a pool & they have a nice one. It was small, but very relaxing. We also enjoyed Thee Abbey, and Baylee's BBQ Restaurants. Both were great, especially the homemade ice cream at Thee Abbey. We'll go back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}