McNeill Stone Mansion B&B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
45 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Stay!

5 on December 05, 2013

I was in Oskaloosa a few weeks ago for work and found this wonderful restored mansion to stay in! The home was beautiful, warm and inviting! I felt like I had taken a step back in time. The mansion was lovingly restored to it's glory days. Gary and Virginia made me feel so welcome and took time to visit with me every evening. Gary makes an amazing breakfast to start off you day. If you stay, take time to view the pictures from the restoration process. It is amazing to see the work they put into this historic home. Thank you Virginia and Gary for a very memorable and wonderful stay, Joann


Best Experience

5 on September 22, 2013

This was my husband's and I's first time staying at a bed and breakfast and what a lovely experience we had. We were greeted at the door by both George and Victoria and we were given a tour of the beautiful home along with the history. They remodeled this home and did an amazing job with it. We enjoyed a lovely dessert of peanut butter pie and there was a full mini fridge of water and pop. I have to say that Victoria is very friendly and very hospital. We stayed in the red room and it was so clean and the lines smelled so nice. We were highly impressed that you could not here the other guest in our room.The next morning we ate an equisite breakfast served on beautiful china and Victoria even let me take home a delicious turtle cookie for the road. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. I will defitnely stay here again. Billy and Colleen Smith


Great stay...

4.6 on March 17, 2013

I loved my stay. We are B & B People and this is the right balance... enough old to feel the quentness. Enough modern to make it comfy... We VERY MUCH LOVED THE SHARING OF THE HYSTORY!!!!


Mc Neill Bed & Breakfast

5 on March 13, 2013

Gary & Virginia were the most wonderful hosts I can imagine. My wife and I were there for our 35th Anniversary and it could not have been a better experience. We will go back again soon I hope. I felt like I was home! Thanks guys!


Amazing!!! Beautiful Home!

5 on February 16, 2013

Amazing!!! Beautiful Restored Home! Gary and Virginia greeted us and shared about their 7 years of restoration they did to restore the beauty of this Iowa treasure! We shared a get away with some dear friends, who also enjoy the B&B experience! This is by far on the Top of all of our list! Antiques amazing!! Food Gourmet and plenty! Thank You Gary and Virginia for sharing your beautiful home with us!! We will return soon!


Great Experience!!

5 on November 04, 2012

This was our first experience in a B&B and it won't be out last. We couldn't have asked for a better experience or better hosts. They made us feel right at home and so comfortable there. And the food was EXCELLANT!! We just can't say enough great things about this B&B. Do yourself a favor-if you are ever in the area, make sure and stay there as long as you can!! You will not be disappointed.


Weekday Getaway

4.4 on June 22, 2012

I found this Bed and Breakfast online while searching for a location between Ottumwa and Des Moines to stay. I love the charm and decor and hospitality. Gary greeted us when we arrived and gave us a tour and Virginia served the most delicious breakfast! I recommend the McNeill Stone Mansion highly and plan to come back again!


The best in Oskaloosa

5 on June 13, 2012

The best place to stay in Oskaloosa. Owners are fantastic, could not ask for more!


we enjoyed our stay very much and plan on returning. Greg and Ginny have done an excellent job and are terriffic hosts

5 on March 19, 2012

Tfstrelitz


Amazing Home!

4.0 on March 05, 2012

This is the first true mansion I have ever been in! The Walkers truly make it a home. Relaxing night away -- great comfortable bed.


feel at home!!!!

5 on October 14, 2011

we felt at home from the time we stepped in the stone mansion, the rooms unreal, everthing is top notch!!! beautiful comfortable to the max!!!


Very Elegant!

4.0 on September 26, 2011

What a terrific restoration! 7 years in the making but worth it. Gary and Virginia were the consummate hosts. Take a look at Gary's restored Buick's. What an artist. The morning meal was one of the best of the our trip.


A wonderful place to stay!

5 on August 10, 2011

This place was amazing. Everything about it was more than I expected, from the hospitality, to the rooms, to the breakfast. It was just perfect. This was my husbands first stay in a B&B, I told him he is completely spoiled for all others now, since this establishment is head and shoulders above all others I've stayed at!!! Looking forward to visiting again!


Wonderful Place!

5 on July 12, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the McNeil Stone Mansion B&B - it is a beautiful home that is lovingly taken care of. We absolutely loved how it has been redone and enjoyed the comfortable room with air conditioning/TV/Radio/CD player - everything you could want. We would highly recommend it to anyone! Kyle and Laura


Great Weekend!!

4.6 on June 26, 2011

It was a great weekend!! The house is absolutely stunning! Gay and Virginia were very kind and did everything to make our stay more enjoyable.


McNeil B &B Stay

5 on April 06, 2011

We stayed for our 20th anninversary and it was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. The mansion was adorable and our hosts were exceptional. The food was delicious. We especially enjoyed the exquisite peach french toast. We enjoyed the mansion's history. We enjoyed it tremendously and liked the way our hosts made it personable for us, even sending us with a little anniversay cake. The only thing I was a little cautious about was all of the steps, but it worked out fine and they were very sturdy and safe. Thanks for letting us stay!!!


Choose Wisely

4.8 on March 14, 2011

If you don't like someone meeting you at the door to welcome you, don't go. If you aren't into beautiful, elegant surroundings, this is not the place for you. If you don't enjoy the offer of delicious,homemade cookies and an open refrigerator full of soft drinks, we don't recommend this bed and breakfast. If you aren't impressed with a completely restored historic mansion, with the finest antique furnishings in every room, you won't be impressed. If a peaceful, relaxing stay in luxurious surroundings with fresh flowers doesn't bring you joy, don't stay here. If the choice of a luscious evening dessert isn't appealing to you, you won't be satisfied. If you don't like your accommodations immaculate, you will be disappointed. If an amazingly delicious gourmet breakfast, at the time of your choosing, on fine china isn't your thing, you won't like your breakfast. If fascinating conversation with other guests or the proprietors irritates you, you could be irritated. If you don't want an absolutely lovely experience, do not visit the McNeill Stone Mansion. A visitor 2/28/10 and 3/12/11

Innkeeper Response
What more can we say except, we truly have had the most wonderful people stay with us.


We'll be staying again!

5 on March 01, 2011

Of all the Bed and Breakfasts we've stayed in, none have been so lovingly restored while including all the modern conveniences. All the rooms were spacious and comfortable and blissfully quiet. The hospitality and food were generous and delightful. The Walkers even thoughtfully asked about and accommodated food allergies. All in all, it was a wonderful stay, and we look forward to our next visit!


Our Stay at the McNeill Stone Mansion

3.8 on February 15, 2011

Our stay at the Stone Mansion B&B was to celebrate Valentine's Day. We were warmly greated and given a wonderfull tour of this beatifull mansion. The owners made us feel right at home; the true benefit of a B&B was shown with visiting with Gary and Virginia in the sharing of their experiences in the complete renovation of this home. The living room and dining areas were furnished with beatifull furniture and the bedrooms were huge when comparing to a Hotel room. We highly recommend consideration of this location as a place to visit.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on August 10, 2010

We rode our motorcycle from Missouri with another couple and felt very welcomed at this lovely B&B. We parked our bikes under the carriageway in front and were offered use of their garage. The mansion was even more awesome in person than we expected. The graciousness and hospitality of Virginia and Gary made for an "over the top" stay!

Innkeeper Response
Some of the nicest people ride motorcycles!


Daughter and Mom's get-a-way weekend

4.6 on June 29, 2010

Just wanted to thank you for a great get-a-way for our Iowa golf outing. Enjoyed the room, snack goodies, outside patio, and nice breakfast. Hope to stay with you again very soon. Sherry and Laure

Innkeeper Response
With three golf courses in Oskaloosa, there is a course for everyone and after golfing, our back terrace is a great place to relax and listen to the fountain.


One of the best!

5 on June 23, 2010

Virginia and Gary are so warm and welcoming that we truly felt at home in their exceptional residence. We were there for a wedding and even though we were gone for the evening and came back to the B&B quite late we were greeted with a note and a wonderful dessert....that really made us feel special. We hope to be able to visit again soon. Thank you Virginia and Gary from Gary (Doc) and Caroline!

Innkeeper Response
I admit it, I look at the recipes for desserts first before buying new cookbooks and I love to bake. So if you stay with us, you could be having dessert, too.


Delightful B&B

4.2 on May 31, 2010

Located in a quiet area, this delightful B&B makes you feel like you are entering a comfortable English manor home. It is beautifully decorated thoughout (the dining room was designed by Tiffany, NY) with many areas to relax in comfort. Breakfast is served on fine English china and silver place settings. Rooms are large, especially the McNeil Suite. There is an outdoor patio for enjoying an expansive lawn with a fountain. Owners are very welcoming and interesting (Gary has won numerous awards for restoring antique automobiles and will show you some of his work in progress if you ask). Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Gary puts his whole heart into the restoration of the mid-50's cars and that was also true for the restoration of our home.


A Wonderful Experience

5 on May 10, 2010

We found the McNeil Stone Manson on the internet and didn't know what to expect. This house is beautiful and restored with such taste and care it is breathtaking. Our suite was so comfortable and glorious. The hospitality when beyond anything I expected. Dessert set our at night and the breakfast was a very fine dinning experience. Such a get away. Don't miss this one.

Innkeeper Response
We enjoy helping to provide our guests with a wonderful Bed and Breakfast experience!


Unbelievable!

5 on March 10, 2010

Such an awesome mansion that has been meticulously restored! The results are outstanding! The owners definitely enjoy what they're doing and were very gracious with their hospitality. I would highly recommend spending some time at this terrific Bed and Breakfast!

Innkeeper Response
When you enjoy what you do, those around you can tell. We're glad you did.


Very accommadating to a large group

4.6 on March 07, 2010

I spent the night with a group of 10 women on a weekend getaway. B&B very spacious for large group--there was 1 more room that we did not utilize. There a a lot of steps and I don't believe there are any bedrooms on the first leverl, so I would not consider the B&B to he handicaped assessible. I enjoyed the Victorian decor--nicely done and exceptionally clean for an old house. Our hosts were very friendly, eager to share about their home's history and restoration details. They were also intent on serving and pampering us, especially with food. Treats served were high caloric temptations---yummy and beautifully served but would not be ideal if one had medical needs. I have a feeling that as accommadating as Gary and Virginia were, they would make food adjustments if they are told about needs in advance (they will need to respond to that). I loved it and would enjoy going there again - with my husband.

Innkeeper Response
What a wonderful group of ladies this was. We do try to cater to our guests food needs when we know of them. When a guest calls to make their reservation, we ask about any food restrictions, allergies or dislikes, so we can provide them with what they should have. Baking is one of my favorite things to do, so there is usually some sweet treat also.


March Maddness

5 on March 07, 2010

Group of 10 women spent the night as a get away and had a marvelous stay! We were given a very informative tour of the mansion then served a delicious dessert. The next morning we enjoyed a delectable breakfast! We loved every minute of our stay and hope to go back!!


More than we could have expected

5 on March 01, 2010

Gary and Virginia are excellent hosts. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and they made us feel right at home. They have done an excellent job restoring this beautiful home and their attention to detail is amazing. We loved the tour of the home and the information on it's unique history and architecture. Our room was perfect and the evening dessert and morning breakfast was VERY yummy. I would recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone traveling to or near Oskaloosa.

Innkeeper Response
With the amount of work it took us to restore this incredible home from years of neglect, it is so gratifying to have our guests appreciate that. We look back now and wonder how we did it.


Wonderful evening

5 on December 17, 2009

We stayed with for my husbands birthday. We are from Oskaloosa so we just wanted something romantic. What a wonderful place to stay. The Walkers are warm and welcoming. We felt like family not just customers. I would recommend this to anyone. The food was outstanding and are room was amazing. Carrie and Jon

Innkeeper Response
Whether traveling from afar or nearby, we like to make our guest's stay something special.


Anniversary stay

5 on November 15, 2009

Excellent foods. Rooms were incredible. Virginia and Gary were so accomodating. Felt so at home. Definitely hope to go back.

Innkeeper Response
We like to stay where we feel at home and love to help our guests feel that way when they stay with us.


Awesome Mansion

5 on October 27, 2009

Not only was the mansion exquisite, the rooms were large and very comfortable. From top to bottom it was a perfect stay. Enjoyed visiting as much with our hosts as the beautiful mansion.

Innkeeper Response
Our guests are the most interesting people and we love to learn about other parts of the city, state, country, and world through our converstions with them.


Beautiful scenery, lovely accomodations

5 on October 25, 2009

We recently had the joy of touring the lovely McNeill Stone Mansion, staying in the Royal Red Room, and learning the history surrounding the mansion and how the Walkers returned the home to it's grandure of today. The setting is nestled in a gorgeous part of Iowa - where the rolling autumn hills of oranges, reds, yellows and browns provided the perfect backdrop for an elegant walk-back in history. We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and the time spent at the McNeill was immensely enjoyable, relaxing and visually engaging. The inkeepers effectively managed each detail of our stay, the food was elloquently served and tasteful, the mansion clean and well-prepared for guests, and all were enhanced by Jenny and Gary's warm personalities and enjoyable conversation. If you have the opportunity, don't miss this experience. You'll not be disappointed, but will want to return again to enjoy the grandeur and elegance of the era the McNeill represents. The Longs, Ankeny, IA

Innkeeper Response
The trees in our neighborhood really did look like very large flowers with the beautiful colors. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday with us!


Great place!

4.6 on October 17, 2009

My wife and I just stayed for an overnight getaway. The house is gorgeous and the hostess gave a great tour of much of the house. The history is fascinating and she was very happy to share that history. Our room was great. The jacuzzi was so relaxing and the king size bed was incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We would love to go back someday.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the wonderfully rich history of our home.


Gorgeous B&B!

5 on July 20, 2009

My sisters and I enjoyed a lovely weekend at this B&B! The owners were so gracious and welcoming. We had a delicious dessert each evening and a wonderful gourmet breakfast each morning at the time that we chose. We thoroughly enjoyed their home - it is gorgeous!!


Tulip Festival 2009

5 on May 10, 2009

My husband and I decided to take a trip with another couple to visit Pella Iowa for the Tulip Festival. (I am 100% Dutch and was looking forward to some Banket & tulip viewing). Pella had no rooms available and we almost skipped the trip until our friends found the McNeill Stone Mansion. For my husband and I this was our first experience at a B & B, and what an experience it was!!!!! We were greeted by Gary and Virginia and given a FULL tour of the house as they told the story of their purchase and renovation of this wonderful historic home. We stayed on the third floor in a suite, sleeping in a comfy king sized poster bed. In the morning the coffee was brewing and Gary and Virginia continued to tell us stories of their home and life. We laghed at the candor of this couple and enjoyed the chats as the kitchen filled with tantalizing aromas of the breakfast to come. The house was full, 14 of us for the weekend. By day we travel to Pella a short distance away and by night we relaxed with our friends in the comfort of what felt like "our" home. This was truely a weekend to remember and we wish to thank the Walkers for their hospitality!!!!

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad you were able to enjoy the Tulip Festival and the comfort of a B&B. As Innkeepers, we also had a lot of fun this weekend with all of our guests.


Wonderful getaway place

5 on April 23, 2009

We stayed 1 night in the McNeill Suite as an anniversary celebration. We loved the decor, comfort and welcoming atmosphere. We highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Innkeeper Response
We love to help make an anniversary celebration extra special.


6th anniversary!

5 on August 03, 2008

We stayed for our 6th anniversary and everything was wonderful! No details have been overlooked. Virginia even made special accomadations for my breakfast!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on July 28, 2008

Everything about this B & B is exceptional: beautiful rooms, great food, and gracious host and hostess. Very elegant and a great price!


The Stone Mansion

5 on July 21, 2008

This was our first stay at a B&B. It was really nice - the room was beautiful and the breakfast was great. We hope to stay again sometime.


Fabulous stay

4.0 on July 08, 2008

I and 6 travel club friends stayed here over july 4th weekend. It is an amazing residence salvaged and restored with comitment and love by its owners. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Every amenity one could think of was at hand and more and the breakfast was first class. Thankyou Virginia and Gary for some great memories.


25th Wedding Anniversary Gift

5 on April 13, 2008

Our 2 daughters gave us this wonderful gift. It exceeded our expectations. The rooms were fabulous and comfortable. At breakfast we were able to talk with the other guests and learn a little about everyone. Gary and Virginia's historic knowledge of the Mansion was very interesting.


Can't Wait to Return

4.8 on March 13, 2008

My wife and I wanted to do something special for Valentine's day weekend. I work with Virginia one of the owners of the McNeill Stone Mansion B&B so I asked her to get us a room. Man was the wife impressed. This B&B was by far the nicest place we had ever stepped foot into. As another reviewer wrote Virginia and Gary were awesome! The definitely make you feel like you are in your own home and part of the family. And the breakfasts were amazing. My wife and I cannot wait to return!


Best Inn we have stayed at!

4.0 on December 16, 2007

Food was great and though the rooms are pricey by our standards the service made the stay,


Very Special Place

4.6 on October 12, 2007

My husband and I are from Atlanta and found ourselves visiting Iowa for his daughters graduation. It just happened to be our first wedding aniversary also. I got online to find something "special" we could do and found The McNeil Stone Mansion B&B. It was way above my expectations. Virginia and Gary were awsome and made our stay very nice. They treated us like family. I have recomeded it to everyone I know.


Wonderful experience

4.8 on August 14, 2007

The Walker's are wonderful people and the mansion is absoutely beautiful. By far the nicest place we have ever stayed. Can't wait to go back!


McNeill Stone Mansion B&B

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6416734348
  • Mobile 1-6419903520
  • Mobile 1-6419903521

Visit Website »

View details

Top