Okoboji Country Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing!

5 on August 04, 2014

Not one complaint about our stay and can't wait to go back next summer! Ann is so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The B&B has the perfect location to everything in the Okoboji area. The breakfast was delicious. Everything was simply amazing!


Wonderful stay !

5 on July 20, 2014

Everything was wonderful ! This is my go to spot when visiting the lakes area.


Perfect 4th

4.0 on July 14, 2014

Wonderful property, very quiet and perfect for a few days of rest and relaxation. Breakfast was balanced, colorful and full of flavor!


A Wonderful Stay

5 on June 25, 2014

Everything was perfect. I will stay there again and intend to recommend it to my friends.


Fantastic

5 on June 19, 2014

Felt like we were the first guests. Everything was so clean and fresh!


Okoboji Country Inn

4.8 on November 27, 2013

This was a great get away! Annabelle suite was very charming. Nice size whirlpool tub and a three season room were included with this suite. There is access to a tv in the main family room as well as WiFi. A kitchen area had a refridgerator and a coffee pot that you could use. We were greeted with fresh cookies on the table and wine, cheese, and crackers in the refridgerator. We brought our own music and deprogrammed from our work lives with reading materials. There are plenty of choices throughout the Inn. Breakfast was made for us in the morning in the Tea Room (juice, coffee, breakfast quiche, fresh fruit, and a scone). A fabulous three story shop called The Wash House was on the property also. It had the most interesting things to buy. If you feel the need to leave the property, West Lake Okoboji was very close to go and see. There are cute little shops are within walking ( 1-8 miles) distance and tons of varieties of restaurants. But to relax and enjoy the time to ourselves was our goal this trip.


Lake atmosphere in the country B & B experience

4.4 on July 31, 2013

i needed a handicapped room which was not available in first night so they moved me downstairs on second night. Upstairs room was cute but a little small but adequate. The stairs were my main obstacle..i loved the downstairs room and it was much bigger room. Food was to die for. They were most accomodating on everything else.


Great Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 25, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Donna and Sue are amazing. Food was fantastic and so was the breakfast conversation. Will make reservations again in the future.


Very pampering, comfortable, relaxing B&B

4.6 on July 11, 2013

Our room was immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, with every little comfort anticipated and accommodated, even cushy robes! The food was fabulous! Coffee was so good, I still miss it (and haven't had its equal since). Innkeeper was a wonderful source of history, local lore, recommendations and tips for places to see and bike/hiking trails locations. Gift shop was a wonderful place to browse and shop, as well as a treasure trove of decorating/cooking ideas. Perfection would have been achieved if the bathroom had been more private; however, we were happy to have our very own.


Dan and Carol Davis

4.8 on July 10, 2013

We had a great time. Ann and Donna made our stay just perfect. You both are very friendly, personable and great cooks. The history of the bed and breakfast was fascinating. Keep up the good work and I am sure we will be back. Thanks again, Carol and Dan Davis, Grimes, Iowa.


Second Honeymoon

4.2 on June 12, 2013

Rainy day


25 years of BBs

4.6 on November 14, 2012

After 25 years of going to Bed and Breakfast this was by far one of my favorites. The breakfast was the best.And the cookies available where yummy. Would recommend.


The most wonderful bed and breakfast!

5 on September 11, 2012

Then rooms are clean and beautiful. My husband and I felt very comfortable staying there. The food provided for breakfast was the best my husband I have ever had, along with the cookies made for snacks! My husband and I plan to come back again. Everyone was nice and made the experience wonderful!


Quite getaway

4.2 on August 29, 2012

I am a repeat guest and have thoroughly enjoyed each of my stays. Ann and Donna are great. They make you feel right at home. Breakfast is a delight. The Okoboji Country Inn is within a 10-15 minute walking distance to Arnolds Park and West Lake Okoboji. It is also located close to the bicycle trail system. Things to do in the Lakes area are endless.


Very friendly, clean and confortable rooms. Decorated very up to date.

5 on August 19, 2012

This was the nicest stay we had in Okoboji this summer.


Excellent

5 on August 12, 2012

Our first trip to a B&B and it will not be our last. The location was amazing. We could not see the lake from the building but all the attractions you want are just right up the street within minutes. The meal was AMAZING. We had the best Quiche Lorraine and strawberry soup was excellent. I would love to have those two recepies. They would be a staple for Christmas brunch. Thank you Ann - we truly enjoyed ourselves.


Peaceful and Quiet, yet close to everything!

4.6 on August 06, 2012

First time to Okoboji, stayed at the Okoboji Country Inn. Easy to find and I really loved how close I was to everything (I walked or biked) but it was quiet and peaceful! The rooms are more beautiful than the pictures show and the breakfast was spectactular, really yummy and fun! I was full but it was so good that I ate everything! I hope to make this an annual event to stay at the Okoboji Country Inn. Owners Donna and Ann really make this Inn special, thank you! I came away feeling like I was leaving long time friends.


Fantastic place

5 on July 30, 2012

This is my second stay with The Inn. Great location with access to all Okoboji activities. Very friendly, fantastic service and rooms. Everything you'd expect Iowa to be. Thank you!


Okoboji Country Inn

5 on July 23, 2012

This is a great little place to stay. The owners are wonderful, the place is very clean and the landscape is great. They have a little gift shop across the street and it great too. Very nice relaxing time spent here.


B&B Stay

4.4 on July 02, 2012

Very wonderful people running this B&B. Took care of all our needs for weekend. Great shop for gifts. Bright sunny setting for breakfast. Enjoyed it all.


First Bed and Breakfast experience

4.8 on June 18, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, given to us from our Daughters as a anniversary gift. This was a very pleasant experience. The room and properity was immacuately clean, the welcome and house tour was enjoyed. The bed was comfortable and the rest of the facilities in top notch workingorder. The breakfast was delicious and tastey. This is an experience we would certainly do again. Thak- You for a good time.


Perfect getaway!

4.0 on October 19, 2011

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the entire establishment & enjoyed the food immensely. Ann & Donna are fabulous hostesses & make a person feel right at home. I will be visiting them again.


Excellent service and hospitality at the Okoboji Country Inn

4.6 on September 08, 2011

We had a wonderful stay and will be back again. Ann made us feel at home and like family.


Okoboji

4.6 on September 08, 2011

The innkeeper made our stay--so friendly and told us of places of interest in the area--she was very knowledgeable! Our breakfasts were outstanding, and our rooms were very quiet and relaxing.


Fun in Okoboji

5 on September 06, 2011

My stay at the Okoboji Country Inn was excellent. The food was wonderful and I had a very restful nice stay. I was in a room with a shared bath and it was not inconvenient in any way. I will certainly stay there again on my next trip to Okoboji.


Very Relaxing, Great Location

4.8 on August 26, 2011

It was our first bed and breakfast experience. We were lucky because there was only one other person staying there and the owners are not in house. So we had run of the house. Ann was just wonderful to us and really enjoyed her delicious gourment breakfast every morning.


A home in the country near Lake Okoboji.

5 on August 18, 2011

The location is convenient to Arnold's Park, the lake, and Milford. It is easy to get to from Sioux Falls airport. The Inn's architecture is the kind that reminds you of when you grew up in Iowa. I loved the wood floors, the decorations, the breakfast, and Ann's friendliness. And it was reasonable! Sandra


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 20, 2011

My fiance and I were treated very well and the breakfast in the mornings was AMAZING! We will be back! :)


Great B&B

5 on July 13, 2011

My mom and I had a great stay at the Country Inn. Wine, cheese, and cookies were waiting for us and we enjoyed hanging out in "parlor." Our room was tasteful and beautiful. The breakfast was tasty with excellent food. Ann was friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Country Inn.


Loved every minute there...

4.0 on June 26, 2011

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying at the Okoboji Country Inn 3 nights 2 weeks ago. It was our favorite stay ever away from home. It was clean, quiet, beautifully decorated and the breakfast was absolutely perfect. We spend hrs. at The Washhouse Gift Shop and it was like no other shop we had ever seen. 3 floors of absolutely anything you may need for yourself or for presents. We went to every shop in okoboji and none of the others were even close to the variety and beauty of the Washhouse. Ann is there to help you with whatever you may need and it was a wonderful 3 days. We actually hated to leave and plan to go back. The fresh baked cookies, chocolate, and wine for our evenings was an unexpected treat which was much enjoyed.


okoboji inn was wonderful

4.6 on April 12, 2011

The okoboji inn is the most wonderful bed and breakfast I have ever been to. My wife and I had the most romantic time ever and the service was excellent. I recommend staying here to all couples


Winter games highlight!!

5 on January 30, 2011

I attended the Okoboji games this weekend and had a wonderful stay at the Okoboji Country Inn. After a fun day outside, it was so nice to go back to the Inn and relax. Ann and Donna took care of everything we needed. The rooms were tastefully decorated. I loved the beds and the quiet rooms. Breakfast was delicious too. Just a great place to stay.


Review of Okoboji Country Inn

5 on November 08, 2010

My stay at the Okoboji Country Inn was wonderful in every way! Each room is beautifully decorated and unique. The breakfast was delicious and I loved the heart-shaped scones. I spent quite a bit of time browsing in the gift shop and made a few purchases for Christmas gifts. However, I could have easily spent more! Ann and Donna are very gracious hosts and I appreciated their hospitality. Everything was perfect and I will definitely return in the future! ~Connie Taylor Champlin, MN


Best place to stay in the area

5 on April 07, 2010

We stayed at this B&B when we attended a conference in the area. I wish we could have spent more time here. Ann is a delightful hostess and has done a great job with upgrading and decor of the rooms. We stayed in the Okoboji room which was light and airy and had the "lake" theme. Ann showed us the other rooms and they, too, were very tastefully decorated. We have stayed at many B&Bs and found this one to be a refreshing change from the Victorian/antique ambience of others. We definitely will choose this B&B when we are again in the area.


The Perfect Spot To Relax!~

5 on April 09, 2009

My stay at the Okoboji Country Inn was far to short. The CA King bed was like floating on air, the decor made me want to go home and start decorating, the food was delicious and presented at a beautifully set table. Lots of extras and attention to detail. Donna and Ann were the perfect hosts. I WILL be back!


Wonderful Weekend

5 on November 12, 2008

The minute we pulled in to the Country Inn, our bags were whisked off and put into our rooms before I even could step foot inside the front door! The Inn has such a warm, cozy feeling and was the perfect setting for a cool autumn weekend. We occupied most of the rooms in the Inn for a family reunion. Plenty of room to spread out in the living room to read and watch television or into the dining area to sit at the table and play cards or munch on the cheese and crackers or the hot chocolate that welcomed us. All the rooms are decorated in their own unique style. I stayed in Makayla’s room and not only did I like the décor but my what a soft, comfortable bed and so quiet…couldn’t even hear my sister snoring in the next room!! In the morning I hopped into a nice warm shower and dried off with the fluffiest and softest bath towel that I have ever used in my 53 years! For breakfast we were served a delicious asparagus quiche that melted in your mouth. My only complaint would have to be that we couldn’t stay longer!!!


get away weekend

5 on November 11, 2008

I had the opportunity to spend a get away weekend at the Okoboji Country inn. The weather was not very pleasant when I arrived, but once you entered the Inn, the warm inviting cozy environment made you feel so relaxed that nothing else mattered. I was offered wine and cheese and crackers. after that I was allowed to relax in the room and also to go and shop at the Wash house. When I returned in the afternoon, home made cookies were on the table for ones taking. The beds are so comfortable and snuggle, that one does not want to get up in the morning. Breakfast at the wash house is fabulous and of very generous porportions. You leave this wonderful bed and breakfast with the intent to come back real soon as it is a fabulous place to relax and and enjoy.


Absolutely Charming Place

5 on November 11, 2008

My husband surprised me with a vacation to Okoboji this year and arranged for accomodations at the Okoboji Country Inn. Neither of us had ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, and we weren't really sure what to expect. We were greeted with a treat of cheese and wine when we arrived, and the owners sat down for a friendly chat. They took us on a tour of the Inn. I liked the decor throughout the house so much, I took a picture of each room--sometimes several. There were games, magazines, and books (and a T.V.) in the shared living area downstairs; everything was set up to make guests as comfortable as possible. We dined at Annabelle's Tea Room just across from the Inn and tremendously enjoyed the breakfast and then homemade icecream in the afternoon. The Tea Room also includes a home decor shop--and is absolutely packed with beautiful items for the home. We found that the difference between staying in a hotel versus a bed and breakfast is that at a bed and breakfast you feel absolutely pampered. We have since highly recommended the Okoboji Country Inn to our friends and family.


Best B&B in the Midwest!!!!

5 on November 08, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at the Okoboji Inn for my 50th birthday this year. I can not say enough about the superb accomodations,delectable food and the delightful company. We were welcomed with fruit,cheese and wine.We enjoyed sitting on the porch and relaxing. The rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained.It was romantic and a perfect setting for a getaway. The food is OUT OF THIS WORLD!! It is delicious. Eating in the quaint country dining room is wonderful. We were treated like royalty. We were even invited for an afternoon snack. Donna and Ann are willing to do anything for you to make your stay enjoyable. They helped us get show and dinner reservations and were tour guides to Arnold's Park amusement park. There are a couple friendly pets that made me feel right at home. I even was allowed to walk the puppy. We came as guests and left feeling like family. This is a fantabulous place!


Anniversary

5 on November 07, 2008

We were celebrating our anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place. Everything about the Inn was wonderful and the innkeepers were so personable and accomodating. We've stayed in several bed and breakfasts across the country and this one rates right up there with the very best. We would recommend it to everyone.


Okoboji Country Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $230
  • Reviews (40) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7123322358

Visit Website »

View details

Top