Garden and Galley Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
120 Reviews

Write A Review

You have to hurry as Esther has sold the B&B.

5 on July 02, 2014

We had a sister/daughter weekend in Indianola and stayed at this wonderful B&B with full run of the floor we were on. Beautiful setting.


We wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on May 14, 2014

We spent one night and morning at the Garden and Galley Bed and Breakfast and attended a wedding in Indianola. As we arrived, we were greeted by Esther, who had just taken cookies out of the oven and served them to us, with iced tea, on the patio. We stayed in the Retro Suite. It was roomy and definitely retro, the bed was comfortable, and it has the coolest 50s bathroom ever. We enjoyed viewing the plantings in the large back yard. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, served at the time we requested. And conversation with Esther and her daughter in the morning over breakfast was quite enjoyable. We would definitely enjoy a return visit.


An Amazing stay to remember for a life time

4.8 on March 31, 2014

My girlfriend (now fiancee) and I got engaged last weekend at the Garden and Galley! Everything was perfect, from the amazing room we stayed in, to the beautiful scenery that surrounded us, to the filling and scrumptious breakfast we had, we could not have asked for a more special experience! We will truly remember this place for the rest of our lives and it has a special place in our hearts.


Great stay and Excellent dining!

4.2 on March 29, 2014

Garden and Galley is a wonderful B&B! Esther is a sweet hostess who cooks a tasty and filling breakfast. She was very accommodating with getting up earlier than her normal breakfast hours to feed us on one of the mornings. We will definitely stay in the Harvest Room again on future visits to the area.


Great stay

5 on February 05, 2014

It was an awesome place to stay and the service was outstanding. Made us feel like we were on our honeymoon again.


Can't wait to come back!

4.6 on January 28, 2014

I stayed at The Garden & Galley while my daughter visited Simpson College. It was the perfect place for relaxation - good beds, terrific hosts, great food and a welcoming atmosphere. I felt like one of the family. My daughter joined me at The Garden & Galley after her wonderful visit to Simpson - she enjoyed the B & B as much as I did. We'll be back!


The Best

5 on December 03, 2013

Warm, friendly, private, and peaceful. Everything a b and b should be. Great views and delicious food. I would definitely go back.


Great Stay With a Wonderful Host

5 on November 14, 2013

First of all, the Garden Suite was great. The view was beautiful--pictures can't do it justice. Breakfast was outstanding. Our host was interested and interesting without being obtrusive, which is always nice. But here's what stood out about our stay: we booked two nights, and after our first night, we drove about two and a half hours north for the event that had brought us to Iowa. That evening, as we were driving back, our car broke down, and we weren't able to make it back for the second night. Here's what our host did: she stored our belongings as long as we needed them to be stored, discounted our stay, and didn't charge us for the second night. We were grateful for the hospitality, and sorry that we missed out on night number two, but we can definitely recommend this place without reservations! (Though, you know, I would book a reservation...)


Very pleased

4.8 on November 06, 2013

The owners were very sweet, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was good, and the experience was amazing!


First stay at a B & B

4.8 on November 03, 2013

I love this place! We got married here and stayed three days and two nights. Esther is the best. Gracious, friendly and wow what a cook. Our room was great, lots of space, the décor was very cool (throughout the entire house) and what a view. Big plate glass window that looks out to trees, a water garden and all of nature. We had a patio out our back door, and 9 beautiful acres of walking trails and woods. Dan (Esther's husband) officiated the wedding & did a fabulous job. Hands down they are the nicest, most gracious and hospitable people. Our stay was perfect and our wedding was perfect. Esther fixed the food for our reception; as well as cooking for us every morning. I was definitely spoiled; it was almost a shock coming back home, lol. We drove about 6-1/2 hours to get there and I would do it again with no hesitation. Thanks Esther and Dan for everything!


Great Iowa Getaway

4.8 on October 07, 2013

The Garden and Galley is am immaculate and interestingly designed home set on a beautiful acreage. We awoke in the lovely "Harvest Room" to a beautiful view of rolling Iowa hills and several hot air balloons. Esther is a wonderful hostess and superb cook. We enjoyed a filling and delicious breakfast in the spacious gourmet kitchen. I highly recommend the Garden and Galley.


Made my honeymoon memorable!

5 on August 28, 2013

Esther is a very welcoming and hospitable hostess. My wife and I just wanted a simple honeymoon to get away from crowds and traffic and drama (after eloping!) and our stay here provided the perfect setting for that. The breakfasts were excellent both nights we stayed. We paid for a candlelit dinner that also had exceptional food, value, and atmosphere. The table was set excellently and our view of the Iowa countryside while eating made for a great dining experience. It is remote but less than two miles from many excellent restaurants including a great Mexican restaurant and A&W. Highly recommend it to anyone who just wants a simple, affordable getaway.


Our stay with Esther

4.4 on August 21, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the warm hospitality supplied by Esther, the restful surroundings of the Iowa countryside, excellent breakfast, and interesting design of her home. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Bill and Lorraine Bologna, Kansas City


Forever grateful for the experience

5 on August 19, 2013

My fiance and I came to Iowa for our marriage. When I called Esther to see if she had anything available, she told me that her husband performed weddings at the bed and breakfast. My husband and I were married on the stunning grounds of this beautiful home. I could go on for hours about the home and host's virtues, but in short, there are several points I would be remiss if I skipped. We were warmly welcomed, graciously accommodated, made to feel like we were special guests, and treated to a most magical experience! Esther is more than a hostess. For us she was host, witness for our wedding, and even photographer!!! Dan is warm, thoughtful, and officiated our wedding with grace. For same-sex couples headed to Iowa, I heartily recommend you to their care!


Wonderful place!

5 on August 14, 2013

Lovely place. Pleasant woods walk and places to sit and relax and enjoy the birds, the shade and the flowers. Felt very welcome, food and hospitality were first rate.


Neat place

3.6 on August 13, 2013

We truly enjoyed our time there (2 nights). 2 suggestions. There website had indicated wine and snacks on arrival. No wine - only brownies offered. Would suggest they update their website. 2nd - it is on a beautiful 8 1/2 acres. We took advantage of the outdoors and got chigger, spider bites. Wish they had warned us to put on bug spray.


New best friend and favorite place!

5 on August 09, 2013

I can't say enough about the Garden and Galley and about Esther. The home is gorgeous, full of interesting features, and so, so homey. It took about two seconds for me to feel like I'd lived there forever! Esther greeted me at the door and her warmth and friendliness truly made me feel like I have a new best friend! (I have a feeling a lot of people feel like that with her!). The grounds were peaceful and stunningly beautiful. Esther's breakfasts were awesome (including corn on the cob - the first of the season - one morning!). I can't wait to come back here.


Cute B&B with great service

4.6 on August 07, 2013

I was in town for the National Balloon Classic and thought that staying at Garden and Galley would be better than the other offerings in town. The nicest thing was that I am allergic to gluten but a special modified breakfast was made for me so I was able to enjoy breakfast with everyone. I stayed in the Retro suite and the bathroom there is really cool!


Delightful B&B

5 on July 19, 2013

The Garden and Galley has a wonderful hostess in Esther as well as a great small town location close to Des Moines. The house is large and the rooms spacious. Our bed was wonderful! She makes a great breakfast and we especially appreciated her effort as we are vegans i.e. difficult by nature.


Wonderful place to stay in Indianola

4.2 on July 17, 2013

We would definitely return. Esther was very helpful, friendly and a wonderful cook. There was some dust on the shelf over the bed, which can be fixed easily. Comfortable mattress. We enjoyed the community of people at the B&B.


Homey stay in a beautiful setting

4.2 on July 17, 2013

I stayed here to attend the opera, and was very pleased. What a lovely setting and friendly hostess. A very fine room and good food. I intend to return.


peaceful & serene

5 on June 02, 2013

My partner & I held our wedding there. We camme from IN with our 2 young sons. Esther & Dan are wwonderful people. Esther had everything in order. We communicated by email & when we arrived it was like we had known each other for a long time!


Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful!

4.8 on April 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for an overnight the first week of March. Neither of us had ever been to a B&B before and he was very very nervous. After meeting Esther and her husband and exploring the beautiful, unique home we were in love. Breakfast was outstanding and we sat and visited for hours. We are so sad to hear they are selling- but we were so in love we seriously considered making an offer. We will definately be taking another trip soon before it's too late!


Top Notch B & B

4.8 on April 04, 2013

Inviting, peaceful, relaxing and delicious!! Everything a B & B should be and more.


Awesome

5 on February 13, 2013

Would stay there again. Very hospitable. Room was very comfortable.


Truly a hidden gem needing to be revealed in Indianola

5 on February 09, 2013

G & G was really a God-send for me and my finacee when looking for a place to stay the night with our pup. I had heard that there were only two places to stay in Indianola, but then I googled "Bed and Breakfast Indianola," and was delighted to discover a third - likely best - option for overnight stays in Indianola. The rooms were lovely, and the Retro Room's king bed was very comfortable. The privacy given my fiancee and me was perfect. And to have breakfast prepared by Esther, after she asked about allergies or preferences, was much more welcoming than hotel breakfasts. Oh! And the prices were rather comparable. For a few more dollars I knew I was sleeping in a clean place with homely care, getting a hot breakfast prepared for me, and then knowing I was helping support small business in Indianola made the whole experience beyond worth it. BTW - the last days of my honeymoon will be spent at G&G, because it was so delightful for both me and my fiancee.


Would recomment and stay again!

4.8 on December 05, 2012

This was our 1st B & B and I would recommend it highly and stay again.


Met my expectations

3.0 on November 14, 2012

Esther is a gracious hostess & the house is very interesting. Bed was comfortable; all amenities available. Will plan to stay here again.


Wonderful

4.6 on October 29, 2012

The breakfasts were fabulous. Esther was a wonderful hostess.


Fall Weekend

4.4 on October 20, 2012

Closet bathroom too small, upside, we had our own bathroom. Everything else was great including the view from other parts of the house and the grounds. Breakfast was over the top fabulous.


Most peaceful and relaxing stay.

5 on October 05, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 days here in April (2012). I was having foot surgery and was looking for a quiet and peaceful place to recuperate before heading back home. We couldn't have come up with any place better than this if we'd had it made to order. This was one of the most peaceful, relaxing and beautiful places we've ever stayed. Esther was super wonderful. It was perfect. We stayed in the Garden Suite and it is grand. We will definitely come and stay here again, just for the pleasure of the experience we had. Thanks for everything, Esther . Paul & Ann


Outstanding Experience

5 on October 05, 2012

First time in a Bed and Breakfast and I would/will stay again. Great experience and wonderful host. The breakfast was simply outstanding and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was as comfortable as any at a five-star hotel chain. Looking forward to visiting again soon!


Good Night in Indianola B&B

3.2 on August 22, 2012

The lady the runs the B&B is very friendly and willing to try and please you. She has decorated each of the rooms differently and made them feel very homey.


Great B & B

4.6 on August 22, 2012

Spent one night with friends at this B & B. Host was very accomodating and pleasant. A very relaxing stay. Would highly recommend this inn.


Our Beautiful Wedding

5 on August 20, 2012

Goodness where do I start. Ester is the BEST!! My partner and I of 15 yrs stayed with Ester and Dan for 3 nights. We had our wedding there at the B&B. Our family and friends stayed there as well.The rooms were great. Dan married us and did a great job with the ceremony. My wife, our family, friends and I had not one complaint the entire time we were there. Ester made sure we had everything we needed for anything. Last but most definitely not least the food was awesome. Ester even did our wedding dinner. Everything was superb. I could go onand on about our time there. Ester, you and Dan are the greatest. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We love you Ester Julie and Vivian Pack


Can't top this beautiful property.

5 on August 15, 2012

Very warm and inviting. Esther even let us pick wild flowers for our son's wedding. They were beautiful. We stumbled onto a deer on their rolling hills.


Did the trick

4.4 on August 05, 2012

Simply put, this is what a country b&b should be. Calm country setting with a town close by which has the friendliest people we have ever met. If you are looking for a little different experience that the usual b&b, give this one a try. Evonne and Jeff


Perfect Wedding Day!

5 on July 27, 2012

Esther & Dan and this beautiful Bed & Breakfast made our wedding day perfect! Thanks so much for a day we will never forget! Robin & Leigh


Felt like home!

5 on July 16, 2012

We will definitely be staying here again! Great hospitality. Awesome food. Relaxing stay.


Lovely!

5 on July 11, 2012

We loved the trails in the back that went through the woods and fields. The breakfast was great, and we also enjoyed spending time relaxing in the reading room. Thank you so much for making our two year anniversary special.


Great stay!

5 on July 09, 2012

We had a great stay at Garden and Galley. The room we stayed in is eclectic and well cared for. The grounds are good for exploring. The hostess, Esther, is incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast was huge and delicious. She welcomed our dog with open arms, which is very reassuring when traveling with pets!


You can't go wrong!

5 on June 27, 2012

Garden and Galley is a great place because of the person who owns it. Esther is a wonderful, caring person, a delight to talk to, and a great cook. You won't need lunch after eating one of her gourmet breakfasts! The B&B's location on the edge of town also insures quiet, quiet quiet, yet it is still five minutes from everything. You won't be sorry you chose it.


Magical Stay

5 on June 11, 2012

What an amazing woman the owner, Esther, is. She made my fiancé and I feel right at home at her Bed and Breakfast. The room was fantastic and she was a great help when trying to find things to do and eat in of all places, Indianola. So great, that I proposed to my girlfriend in our room. I'll never forget Garden and Galley and I'm sure I'll be back


Charming country inn and fantastic service!

5 on April 28, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Garden and Galley Bed and Breakfast. Innkeeper Esther went above and beyond to make our stay personalized, providing dessert and fresh flowers for our anniversary celebration. The lovely country grounds and surroundings were delightful for taking a stroll before we returned to our room for a glass of wine with appetizers. Charming retro style room with quaint decor made our stay really special. Friendly greetings from "inn dog," Sam, felt especially homey and fun. Altogether a positive experience.


Dog friendly B&B

3.8 on April 26, 2012

Very accommodating hostess. Loves dogs and has a beautiful prairie and paths to let your pet roam. Wonderful breakfast and a bedtime snack as well. Bedroom we chose and bath could use some decluttering but finding such a warm welcome with a dog at a B&B is hard to find.


wonderful stay never be able to experience elsewhere

5 on April 26, 2012

The room was cozy and comfortable. The landscape was beyond paradise. The service of this B&B owner was very heartwarming and excellent. This B&B may not be the only one Inn which provides clean room and good service. You can never be able to ask for more wonderful experience than staying here. If you go to Iowa, you should stay Garden & Galley. -- Japanese tourist A.O.


Short weekend get away

4.4 on February 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the garden and galley. The secluded setting is romantic. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic!


Return Visit

4.6 on November 23, 2011

We have stayed before at Garden and Galley and each time Ester's rooms and breakfast exceed our expectations. We will return again next year.


Great night getaway

4.2 on October 21, 2011

Grounds were a perfect place to walk and enjoy the fall outdoors. Breakfast was incredible. The recommendation for the food in town was spot on. Great place for a quick getaway


Country hospitality and comfort

5 on October 20, 2011

We spent a week in Esther Hoffa's cozy and comfortable country home while visiting family. Our visit was bitter-sweet due to an illness and subsequent death of a family member. During the time we spent at Garden and Galley, we stayed in the lovely Garden Room which overlooks Iowa farmland. Esther was absolutely the most fantastic hostess and warmly enveloped us with her hospitality and genuine care during a difficult time. We spent much time in the hospital with this loved one, and when we came back to Esther's at the end of each day, she met us with loving concern and offers of desert. This was in addition to the fabulous breakfasts which she prepared for us every morning. The breakfast was served in accordance with our schedule for the day, and what treats they were! Esther is a most creative cook and every breakfast was unique and delectable. One will not find breakfasts like this in a typical restaurant. Gourmet is the word that comes to mind. This Bed and Breakfast is very unique in its decor. The rooms are decorated with 1950's vintage furnishings, with retro style bathrooms that have the classic tile, etc. Lots of thought has gone into this place. We will always remember Esther, her generous spirit, and her lovely Bed and Breakfast.


Garden And Galley

3.6 on October 13, 2011

rooms and bathroom were very clean-quiet facility-saw other cars but did not hear anyone. Good food at breakfast-very accommodating.


Wonderful!!

4.8 on October 05, 2011

This was a stay to remember! Ester was the most gracious, friendly, and wonderful innkeeper! Her food was amazing (and I have a gluten free diet!) and she helped us find things to do in the area that were fantastic ideas for me and my boyfriend's first meeting. She made our weekend very enjoyable and we will be going back to visit her! I recommend the Garden & Galley completely for a lovely stay in Indianola!


The place to stay in Indianola . . .

5 on September 29, 2011

Especially considering it was a last minute booking, my expectations were simply exceeded acrossed the board. Since I was alone, they were even kind enough to let me tag along for Friday evening dinner in town and had a great visit just like the three of us already knew each other. For light sleepers, if traffic noise is a problem, H/W 69 doesn't seem to go to sleep all night long so an in room fan to drown out the noise would be all that's needed for a steady ambient to drown out the traffic. If you're not a light sleeper like me then it's non-issue. Already planning on taking the wife back here whenever we happen to head that direction again. And, I swear, I am still full a week later from a simply magnificent 3 course breakfast. Homemade yogurt with "real- whole" blue berries with 3 real-whole" raspberries on top along with an English muffin with Amish homemade jam and fresh juice, wonderful scrambled eggs from a special recipe of which I am pretty sure a little Chardonnay and chive were involved and bacon nicely presented, followed by hot tea [in my case] with a cinnamon-molasses-graham cracker that you of course steam over the hot tea to soften the cracker as the flavors blend together wonderfully. Too much information? Tough. When people go to this much trouble for little ole' me, I want people to know it's appreciated "in detail!"


wonderful B&B

4.8 on September 23, 2011

Arrived late. Esther was very gracious. Showed me to my room and brought me tea. Room was very welcoming and cozy. Woke to beautiful vistas...wish I could have stayed more than 1 night! If in the area again will definately stay again.


B&B change of pace

5 on September 09, 2011

For once a B&B that was not filled with Victorian bric-a-brac and doilies. A delightful example of Prairie architecture, with wonderful grounds to sit or walk around in. The breakfast was great, and the geniality of the hostess matched it.


Great for Business Trips!

5 on August 19, 2011

I recently stayed at the Garden and Gallery for work. It was a very nice stay. Esther is very welcoming and polite. She also cooks amazing breakfast (all homemade) and almost no repeats over a two week stay! The rooms are nice and have their own locks and keys that you can take with you. If you are ever near Indianola, IA, I would greatly recommend staying here.


A Pleasant Experience!

3.8 on August 17, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 3-yr wedding anniversary by staying in the Garden Suite for two nights. The bed was comfy, it was very quiet, and innkeeper Esther was always at arms length if/when we needed her for anything. We cherished the beautiful views of the rolling hills/farmland out of our windows. The living/dining rooms have awesome window views as well. The breakfasts were tasty, and the secluded, comfortable, private experience we were looking for exceeded our expectations. Thank you!


Great place to stay in Indianola!

4.8 on August 16, 2011

This inn is by far the best place to stay in town! The rooms are clean and cozy. Breakfast is incredible - I wish I could eat this well all the time. Esther is so friendly and welcoming. She goes above and beyond to ensure that our stay is comfortable. I will definitely be staying here every year that I am back for business! This place is perfect for the business traveler who wants a quiet place to come home to each night.


Cheers for Garden & Galley Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 27, 2011

I had the time of my life at the Garden & Galley Bed and Breakfast. I stayed in the Harvest Room which was very relaxing and pretty. The surrounding land was also very peaceful. Esther and Dan could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Esther is the world's greatest cook, what a breakfast she makes. The service was excellent all the way around and I cannot wait to get back there for another stay and vist with Esther and Dan.


Esther is amazing!

4.4 on June 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Garden and Galley for our wedding trip. We came in late on the first evening of our stay, and Esther greeted us with a warm smile and dessert. She accommodated our active schedule by having breakfast ready whenever we requested, and she helped us make arrangements with local vendors as we took care of final wedding details. She welcomed friends (who were not staying at the B&B) over following our ceremony and took photos for us. The property is lovely, and Esther's willingness to go above and beyond made our stay better than we had hoped it could be. We look forward to returning to Indianola where Esther serves amazing breakfasts.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you and your friends here to celebrate your special day. Esther


We had a very nice time at the Garden & Galley. It was relaxing and peaceful, which is what we were looking for that weekend. I feel the price of our room was a little too much, as the room does not have a jacuzzi and not much closet space that isn't already filled with the inkeepers things.

3.4 on June 20, 2011

The service was wonderful and friendly. Esther made us an amazing breakfast and also provided wonderful conversation. All in all we really enjoyed out stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Our B&B has many closets for storage. I have left space for guests in each room but do use the rest of the space for storing B&B decorations and supplies. I will take another look at guest space and see how I can improve it. Regarding jacuzzies I do not advertise that I have them and anyone who asks about them when making reservations is told this. We have other special features like 9 beautiful acres with lots of paths for guests to enjoy.


Mother's Day Weekend

4.2 on May 11, 2011

Place was easy to find. Clean. Quiet. Esther was kind and assured we were comfortable and if we needed anything encouraged us to ask.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. Was so good to have you here over Mother's Day.


Awesome Experience

5 on May 01, 2011

I never write reviews or fill out surveys, but.... we attended my sister's wedding and we had enough friends to use the entire house. The drive from Topeka was easy. The 50's style, obviously-architect-designed home was wonderful and for a minute thought we couldn't be at a bed & breakfast. 9+ acres of a feeling I can't describe - but I'll try: peace, tranquility, comfort and not a care in the world. Esther & Dan are the greatest and most gentle, awesome hosts. If you are into "glamorous" or pretentiousness, this isn't for you. On the other hand, if you are into total relaxation, read on. The house is eclectic & very interesting. Our own room was the "retro room" that another reader spoke of and they have obviously addressed any problems. Right off the kitchen, we slept like babies on the comfortable king-sized bed and even though Esther was always preparing meals on the other side of the wall, we didn't hear a thing. I know this is their "business" but other than a small credit card machine :) on a little desk in the kitchen - you would think your mother is taking care of you again. It was fabulous. I promise. --- Jerry, Topeka

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for all your kind words and for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. We so enjoyed having the wedding and all the celebration before and after here at our B&B! Esther


a business stay turned into a perfect stay

5 on April 12, 2011

Incredibly generous B&B owners have made this 2-week business stay in Iowa an unexpectedly wonderful experience. I've been to several B&Bs around the world and have been very pleased by many, but this one is just THE BEST OF ALLl. More than a B&B, it's a place where you feel at home, surrounded by friends. Esther is such a warm and thougtful host that she knows what you need before you even realise it. Her food is excellent and she makes a point of making it different every day - even over a 2-week stay! Dan quietly contributes to making people feel absolutely perfect. I've flown from Tahiti to Iowa as a visiting professor in the US and have met my daughter here, who has flown from Paris. We have made our temporary home here and are very, very happy. Thank you, dear Esther and Dan! Sylvie and Anaïs Maurer

Innkeeper Response
It was so kind of you to take the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Your kind words mean a great deal to us. It was so much fun having you and your daughter with us! Esther


the best bed&breafast ever!

5 on April 11, 2011

Esther and Dan are the kindest innkeepers on earth. Esther serves a stunningly delicious breakfast, a different one every day, it's makes you looking forward to every morning! And they make sure you make the most of the beautiful surrondings, by suggesting us a different activity every day, and provinding us everything we needed. We had a most wonderful time at Garden&Galley. As a French, I can say this B&B is the best way to discover america! Thank you so much!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the kind review. It was so lovely having you stay!


Such a nice relaxing time.

5 on March 31, 2011

Esther was an amazing hostess. We had an absolutely wonderful time, and got in the relaxing that we were so in need off. Breakfast every morning was outstanding. We even had a private dinner in our room, which was also absolutely amazing. Our room, the garden suite, was so spacious and comfortable that we spent a lot of our time during our 3 night stay just relaxing in the room. We will definately be recommending staying here to everyone we know. A huge thanks to Esther for her amazing hospitality. Ashley Leonard, Council Bluffs, IA

Innkeeper Response
Ashley, Thank you for you review. I so appreciate your kind words. It was such fun serving you your candle light dinner and taking care of you. Esther


"A Treasure of an Inn"

5 on March 13, 2011

The Garden and Galley was an exceptional experience in so many ways... Esther's wonderfully delicious food and her very warm, personal way...the vast, peaceful setting and outstanding vintage decor. It is a true treasure.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for feeling that the Garden and Galley B&B is a treasure. We look at this house and the land around it as that and so appreciate when others do too! Esther


Feb. Overnight stay

3.4 on March 08, 2011

Relaxing overnight getaway. Wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We do hope you will come stay another time.


Outstanding!!

5 on February 22, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay. Esther is one of the most wonderful people that one could ever hope to meet. The accommodations were second to none. Bubbie says he liked the stay too and says he wants to go back! This is a definite Do-Over!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Your kind words are appreciated. I so enjoyed having you ad Bubbie here and I do hope you all will come stay again. Esther


Outstanding B &B for oir gay wedding

5 on February 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt their attention was focussed on our needs and on making our wedding memorable. Esther and Dan exceed our expectations and fulfilled our dreams. I have never before walked into someones home and felt so comfortable. We will return and we will tell all of our friends about their lovely bed and breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We were so honored to have you celebrate your special day at our B&B. We hope to see you again. Esther


Outstanding cook!

4.2 on February 16, 2011

Wow, is she a great cook! The house is beautiful, eclectic, great sitting areas, views of surrounding farms are charming, wonderful. Food? Phenomenal. We didn't eat again til supper. You can have special meals and massages, as well, if you contact them in advance. Our room, the Retro with the king sized bed, was on the side by the highway and was quite noisy unfortunately. Perhaps new windows would help seal out the highway traffic noise. The door to the room needs to be better insulated as well. The room is adjacent to the kitchen and the door's 3/4" or more floor clearance (probably because the room had carpeting at one point), allows every single noise from the noisy morning kitchen to resonate. It made us rather self conscious of any noise/conversation we had--knowing they could hear us, as well. Needless to say, we did not sleep well. We will go back, we'll just require a different room. Easy to find, great hostess, AMAZING AND HUGE AMOUNT OF FOOD! The dessert upon arrival was a great touch, too!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your input. We were not aware of the noise factor and now intend to address this problem. We had just removed the carpet and restored a cork floor in that room. We are sealing the door to floor and putting in more area carpets. Thank you also for your kind words. Esther


What a wonderful surprise !

5 on December 28, 2010

Outstanding room, service, food, and beautiful view. Great value.


Warm personal service

5 on November 28, 2010

Our innkeeper provided excellent and wonderful service. All our needs were met, and the place was terrific!


Great service, decor & food

4.0 on November 17, 2010

This B&B is a little dated in it's style, but the 1950's-80's decor is still nice and eclectic. The Innkeeper, Esther, is fabulous and so is her breakfast. I would enjoy staying here again and would love to see the place in it's prime seasons - Spring & Summer!


Exquisite and Elegant Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 14, 2010

First off let me say that I normally don't fill out surveys, but when a business deserves it they deserve it. Let me first start off with the picture that will be etched and painted in my mind for days to come, and that is the breath taking rolling open country hills that the bed and breakfast is perched on. I had never been to Iowa before going this year and think that this quote brings some feeling to the beauty you will experience: “Talking about a scenic route in southeast Iowa is like talking about a good Barry Manilow album. You have to make certain allowances. -- The Lost Continent Bill Bryson We got married September 5th 2010 at the Garden and the Galley Bed and breakfast, and before our wedding, we had stayed there prior to this only twice. Each time we came, it was a blissful escape from the hectic life we experience on a daily basis. The home is decorated in manner that breathes air of timelessness and each room we have stayed in warm and inviting. Esther (the great innkeeper) goes out of her way to make sure that you have everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay. Her smile and hospitality makes our stay one that is care free and very personal. She makes it seem like its easy and no big deal, but I know it’s a lot of work Esther! Ok, now I have saved the best for last and that is the breakfast. From just talking with Esther you know she loves cooking, and that is shown with her five star breakfast that she dishes up. The open kitchen is a marvel in itself, but the aroma of country sausage and soufflé style eggs will cause every sense in your body to fill with joy. Esther takes great pride with every meal she serves. From the caring customer service Esther and her husband provides each guest, to the stunning beauty that the bed and breakfast is located on; the Garden and the Galley is gem that is worthy of repeat business. We will be repeat customers for many years to come. Thank you Esther! Mindy- Minneapolis, MN


Exceptional

4.0 on October 20, 2010

We rode in from the south on highway 69. Beautiful country. Mid October colors. The facility was very clean and comfortable. Esther was the perfect hostess. We were served a local wine, Wisconsin cheese , and crackers upon arival. She was adamant about providing us with the best possible stay. Breakfast was a treat, fresh pastry, champagne grapes, scrambled eggs with chardonnay and chives, all served with a genuine smile. I travel extensively and highly recommend staying here. I will be back.


Incredible Hospitality - Wedding of my Dreams

5 on October 05, 2010

My husband and I recently held our wedding at Garden and Galley Bed and Breakfast, and while they say it's hard to have your dream wedding, the owners of Garden and Galley, Esther and Dan, made our dream wedding come true. We couldn't have been more pleased. From delicious food that our guests are still talking about, to incredible hospitality, gorgeous rooms (and views!), and a location that makes you feel like you've escaped the daily grind - we loved every minute. As with all weddings, there were unexpected needed visits, deliveries, and pick ups, and Esther and Dan were beyond helpful and flexible, helping our family out with an unexpected rehearsal time and more. Now, if I could just figure out a way to eat a breakfast as delicious as Esther's every day ... All the appreciation in the world to you, Esther and Dan. We hope to see you again soon!


Lovely Place for a Reunion

4.8 on September 20, 2010

Thank you, Esther, for making our brief stay such a pleasure! You have a lovely place--and you provide amazing service. I will be back to stay when I come to Indianola to visit my aunt. Blessings, Shirley


"Quaint and Picturesque"

4.8 on August 23, 2010

I have flown all over the country with my husband for decades and stayed in a variety of hotels including the Peabody in Memphis which may still be a five star hotel. I have seen a lot of outstanding beautiful places in my life and unusual places to stay like the Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo in CA. I have also traveled for decades to Martha's Vineyard and many other places. I have never stayed anywhere where I felt more at ease and comfortable. I loved the privacy of the location and the freedom to roam around some woodland area. The indoors was very cozy and gave you a feeling of being part of an interactive experience. Even if any building or structure anywhere could have the beauty of the Taj Mahal but without the outstanding hospitality, personal touch, sharing of knowledge and the interactive communication Esther brings to the whole experience the surroundings would be merely pretty things to look at minus the depth of a meaningful experience. It is not just a place to lay down your head for the night but a truly wonderful people experience! Should not the people experience and the interaction between innkeeper and guests be just as important as the material surroundings? In closing I want to say as a former Easterner from CT a resident of Northern and Southern CA for over twenty years and a Midwesterner for sixteen: the overall feel, look, and graciousness of Esther made the Garden and Galley one of the most outstanding travel experiences of my lifetime. Note: This is a review by Frances F.Vail but my traveling companion was equally impressed and agrees with this review.

Innkeeper Response
I so appreciate your kind words. Know that it was a joy to have you and Alice stay at the garden and Galley B&B, Fran. Esther


The Great "Retro" getaway

4.2 on August 13, 2010

For those of us who absolutely love American Movie Channel's award winning TV show "MADMEN".....this wonderful Frank Lloyd Wright styled B&B with it's amazing retro rooms and hostess will delight you. It's the best of the 1960's all over again. Debra Garner Ankeny IA

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. I am so happy that you stayed at my 1950"s Inn. Esther


Perfect place for a wedding

4.0 on June 14, 2010

We came to Iowa to get married and wanted to have it outdoors and this was the perfect place. Our wedding party had the entire B&B and it was an event to remember. There were enough comfortable rooms for us to have some privacy yet there was plenty of room to hang out together. Esther got us a wedding cake, found our photographer and florist and her husband set everything up and officiated the ceremony. The Garden Suite was an excellent Honeymoon suite and the grounds made great background for our wedding photos. Each morning, Esther prepared a wonderful breakfast with a variety of tastes and local flair. She also arranged dinner on our arrival night and lunch before our wedding. I would recommend having dinner on the arrival night. It was nice to relax after traveling and it gave everyone a chance to unwind. Esther also gave us good sight seeing info and the wifi was a nice touch. All of our guests loved the accomodations and vowed to return. I just hope my new wife doesnt expect me to cook breakfast each morning like that.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Garden and Galley B&B. Your kind words are appreciated. It was a joy having you all in our inn. Esther


Very comfortable

3.2 on May 26, 2010

It was a nice stay. Our host made us very much at home. It was clean and comfortable. A little better upkeep of building and grounds would make it top notch.

Innkeeper Response
I thank you for reviewing the Garden and Galley B&B. Just want to let you know that we are just finishing up 3 weeks of painting the B&b and sprucing things up! Hope you will come again and check out our new look.


Home away from Home

4.6 on May 25, 2010

We just loved the place. We went to Indianola to visit our foster family and we couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable trip. Ester immediately got a feel for what our plans were that week and accomidated our needs. Since we were going to be in and out of the house visiting family, Ester made sure we had everything we needed or wanted each time we stopped in. She didn't even get upset with us when she found her living room completely filled with wrapping paper. Ester baked brownies (absolutely delicious) and cookies. We felt right at home with Ester and her husband Dan. Unfortunately, Dan was very busy with painting, but he still made time to say Hi and make sure we were comfortable. Thanks again for a wonderful trip to Iowa!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind wors. It was a joy having you stay with us and to get to meet your foster cuties. Esther


Lovely stay in the Garden Suite

4.6 on May 24, 2010

My husband planned a surprise getaway and this was so lovely! The room was so comfortable and beautiful. There were many fascinating collectibles to look at. The bathroom was immaculate! How does Esther keep all the tiny ceramic tiles so clean? The food was delicious and we felt truly waited on. The grounds afford pleasant walks or just a moment swinging in the breeze. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend Garden and Galley to anyone!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review my B&B. I appreciate you kind thoughts about your stay. Esther


The best place ever

5 on May 04, 2010

Esther was so nice. She was even a witness to my wedding and she provided a delicious chocolate cake. The candlelit dinner that was provided was extravagant. Steak Diane!! mm mm! The ceremony was also superb. We ended up taking the most beautiful pictures. The country scenery made a perfect back drop to the pictures. I can't wait to go back again. We plan on taking our daughter so that we can go on a picnic. See you soon Esther!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review of the garden and Galley B&B. I appreciate your taking the time to review my inn. It was an honor to be a part of your wedding. Esther


Weekend getaway

4.0 on March 29, 2010

We had a relaxing stay and the food was delicious. I loved the Frank Lloyd Wright style as well as the double headed shower in our bathroom.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Your stay was appreciate. Esther


Fantastic midwestern charm

5 on December 20, 2009

We held our wedding and everything was fantastic. The midwestern charm was perfect for us and our family. Thanks for the wonderful memories!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing our B&B. We were so pleased that you chose the Garden and Galley for you wedding. Thanks Esther


G&G

5 on August 13, 2009

She helped us out in a jam...above and beyond the normal service!


Felt Right At Home

4.6 on July 21, 2009

My husband and I were working, vacationing and visiting my family in Indianola and stayed 7 nights the first week of July, '09, in the Retro room at this wonderful B & B. We immediately felt right at home here. It was the perfect place for one of my out-of-state sister's 50th birthday dinner that was a surprise pulled off with the help of Esther, the Innkeeper. My sister was Really Surprised. The 12 person sit down dinner was scrumptious, all prepared and served by Esther. Our entire stay was wonderful, the hosts were very hospitable and the Retro room and bed were quite comfortable. Over-abundant Breakfast served to us just outside our bedroom on a small private open patio was wonderfully relaxing and quiet. We also enjoyed some breakfasts with other guests in the large eat-in kitchen. No matter how much we told Esther it was too much good food, she insisted on feeding us, so we never went hungry! She even treated us to Iowa sweet corn served as an appetizer before breakfast on our last morning there. That's Iowa hospitality at its best! Over any hotel or motel room we would highly recommend the Garden and Galley B & B with its full sit-down breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere and comforts of home. A special Thank You goes out to Dan & Esther, the owners & Innkeepers. Please come see us in California this winter and we'll feed YOU lots of food (it won't compare to Esther's cooking though). Thanks again, Larry & Cheryl

Innkeeper Response
Larry and Cheryl, I feel like I need to write a guest review about the 2 of you. Never have I had such great and gracious guests. Thank you for your kind words about your stay at the Garden and Galley B&B. Good luck with your Arizona vacation rental...I wish we could come visit! Esther


Madison County Trip

5 on June 18, 2009

My husband, myself and our dog Gracie ventured off to visit the Madison County covered bridges. Esther, being a dog lover herself (she also has a cat) was willing to let our Gracie stay with us at her B&B. We stayed in the Garden Suite and it was roomy, confortable and very clean. We had a patio and backyard just for us. The view out the windows was wonderful and the birds were singing each morning. It felt like you were way out in the country. The service was MARVELOUS. Esther was very attentive to us in a very discreet way. She even made malts for us one evening. We had breakfast each day and the food was delicious and presented in such a nice way. I would recommend the Garden and Galley B&B to everyone. We hope to go back in the Fall.


Outstanding

5 on March 29, 2009

We had an outstanding stay. Esther is a wonderful hostess and our room was perfect! Breakfast was delicious and abundant!


Great Escape

3.6 on February 21, 2009

We were welcomed into a charming Frank Lloyd Wright home by Esther Kauffeld-Hoffa. She showed us our room, the Retro Room, done in 50's style in reds. I was suprised every time I noticed another 50's collectible, even the bathroom. Esther's decorating abilities were definitely shown off in the details added to our room and bath. We had a scrumtious breakfast of freshly baked muffins, jelly, thick, crisp bacon, juice & special blend coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and look forward to visiting again when the yard and trails are green. Esther offered us freshly-baked cookies while we sat in the tv room. Our candlelit Valentines supper included Steak Diane, steamed asparagus, Amish dinner rolls and a sinfully rich dessert with chocolate avalanching from its depths.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. It was a joy getting to prepare a special candle light dinner for your romantic getaway! So happy that you will be back. Esther


Oustanding Stay for Cooperate Guests

4.6 on December 15, 2008

The Garden Galley exceeded my expectations. I have never stayed at a bread and breakfast before and it was like staying at a home away from home. I would highly recommend the Garden and Galley. Esther is a great person and great cook!

Innkeeper Response
I thank you for not only staying at the Garden and Galley B&B but for taking the time to review the Inn. Esther


Business Travel

5 on December 14, 2008

Garden & Galley has been a home away from home for me on frequent business trips to the area. The atmosphere is relaxing and friendly -- which helps me unwind after long days. Plus, the inn has modern conveniences like WIFI and digital cable. I'd highly recommend to business travelers in the Des Moines area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Garden and Galley B&B. I appreciate you taking time out from your busy life to do a review. Esther


Best stay in Indianola!

5 on December 12, 2008

I've stayed at the Garden Galley numerous times on business trips to Indianola and it's been exceptional each time. Esther's breakfast is absolutely a feast -- she will not leave you hungry. The wireless internet is very convenient. The inn has a great homey feeling that cannot be matched by a hotel or motel.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the review of my inn. It is always good to hear from my guests at the Garden and Galley B&B. Esther


So friendly...

4.0 on November 21, 2008

Esther and her family were a complete delight- beautiful grounds; accommodating in every way. Solitude and service!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks you for taking the time and effort to review the Garden and Galley B&B where our guests and their comfort always come first. Esther


This stay changed our view about B&B

4.8 on October 01, 2008

We've had an excellent stay all over from Holland (Europe) and would like to visit B&B's more since this marvelous experience.


Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 19, 2008

Charm and great country setting. Will stay again!

Innkeeper Response
I am delighted to hear that you plan to return to the Garden and Galley Bed and Breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to review my inn. Esther


Enchanting

4.0 on August 18, 2008

Not since our trip to England have we felt such charm and tranquility. We needed a place to stay and found a place to love.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. A place of "rest' is what we tried to create here and I am so happy that you felt that! Esther


What a gem!

5 on August 12, 2008

We stayed in the retro room for our anniversary and had a marvelous experience. Our room brought back many memories from days gone by. The puffy pancakes were a delight and such a treat. We enjoyed visiting with the owner and hearing about her B and B. We certainly recommend it and hope to go back soon.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing the Garden and Galley B&B. I'm so happy that the 50's decor in the Retro Suite brought back good memories! Esther


Personal Touch with Elegant Style

5 on August 09, 2008

My husband and I went to the Garden and Galley for our 15th anniversary. It's nestled amongst flowers, trees and greenery so the house is just barely visible from the road. Esther and Sam greeted us graciously. We smelled ginger cookies baking. After putting our bags in the garden suite we had ice tea, cookies & mixed nuts. The decorating was so beautiful Esther let us take a tour of the house. We went out on our private patio, walked, and sat in the back on a swing. Relaxing and peaceful. We met Esther's husband Dan who is so nice and cute Hildegard the cat. Esther is such a kind and gracious hostess. We soon discovered her cooking skills are also excellent. We ordered the candlelight dinner in our room. We had a 3 course gourmet meal complete with beautiful place settings and flowers. We started with tomato mozzarella basil salad with sparkling juice, steak diane with fresh green beans and baby new potatoes and finished off the meal with a chocolate strawberry pie with real whipped cream. We had everything we needed plus Esther made sure to ask if we needed anything and she was so accomodating. My husband got up earlier than I and enjoyed a walk out back to the pond and talked to Dan and thoroughly enjoyed visiting with him. We enjoyed talking with Esther at breakfast in the kitchen. Again we got to indulge in the results of her fabulous cooking; shirred eggs with pesto, sausage, melon with lemon zest, an english muffin and strawberry breeze juice and delicious coffee. Everything about our stay was wonderful. We recommend the Garden and Galley highly to anybody who wants to experience the best of everything!

Innkeeper Response
It is always an honor to get to have someone celebrate a special occasion at the Garden and Galley. I thank you for your kind words and for celebrating your anniversary with us. It is our guests that make this place so special! Esther


My Kind of Place

5 on August 08, 2008

My widowed sister came to spend a couple of days with me and my wife. She's so finicky we didn't want her to stay with us, so we put her up in the Garden and Galley. She loved it! This prompted me to look around carefully while we were in the building because I was sure she wouldn't like it. I stay overnight on the road as many as 200 nights a year, and wish I could find lodging like this. It's comfortable, homey, and elegant all at the same time. This place should be a destination, not just a place to spend the night. Did I mention the hostess? She's obviously the creative force behind the superb ambiance.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to Review the Garden and Galley B&B. I am so pleased that both you and your sister liked my B&B. I am so pleased when my guests use the inn as a destination! Esther


A beautiful and Relaxing place to visit

5 on August 07, 2008

I stayed at the Garden and Galley Bed and Breakfast recently and was so impressed with the beauty of the property, the accommodations and how welcomed I was. The room was very comfortable and had a wonderful view. I would recommend the inn to anyone visiting Indianola, or the surrounding area.


"Home away from Home"

4.6 on August 07, 2008

This was our first experience staying at a B&B, and we could not have had a better experience!!! The innkeeper was a delight, the food was outstanding and we cannot wait to come back!


An Indianola Bed and Breakfast Gem!

5 on August 07, 2008

If your travels take you to Indianola, Iowa, this is the place to stay! My husband and I stayed two nights at the Garden and Galley B&B -- hating to leave. The food was GREAT! The bed was very comfortable. The property was interesting and filled with wildlife. The view from each window was breathtaking. Everything was clean and well-kept. Lots of wineries nearby. Shopping nearby. We will be returning for future stays anytime we are in the Indianola or Des Moines area. SUGGESTION: If it is available, stay in the Garden Suite on the first floor! Luxury is the word to describe it, and it has it's own private garden patio area. My husband and I sat by the fireplace in the evening and felt like we were a thousand miles away from all our worries and cares... Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing the Garden and Galley B&B. I appreciate your kind words and hope you WILL come back and stay again. It's great when our guests enjoy our views and the wildlife that abounds here. Esther


Weekend Getaway

3.2 on July 31, 2008

Quiet, yet close to activities. Great bike trail. Lots of local info good food.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. It's unfortunate that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We welcome any suggestions our guests may have to improve the quality of our services and their visits. Esther


Indianola Gem

4.2 on July 23, 2008

The Garden & Galley B&B provides comfortable rooms and lounges, great breakfasts, and panoramic views of the Iowa countryside at the edge of Indianola. the cordial hosts encourage you to browse their 9 acre site and offer suggestions to take in local points of interest. The G&G B&B is our home during our annual Des Moines Metro Opera weekends.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words about you stay at tge Garden and Galley B&B. I love it when my 'opera family' is with us! Esther


Garden and grounds extraordinare

5 on July 20, 2008

We strolled the grounds under beautiful oak shade trees and lovely apple orchard. Peaceful and quiet; an artists and nature lovers paradise. Fabulous food and excellent hosts. We had a completely relaxing and restful weekend. Would love to return in the fall to experience the autumn foliage as well.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the garden and Galley B&B. Your lovely words are very much appreciated. It makes us very happy when our guests stroll and enjoy our nine acres - thanks for doing that! Esther


Garden & Galley

5 on July 16, 2008

Great food, comfy rooms, nice location w/ great views, nice hosts! We stay here every year! (5 years so far)


Excellent B&B

4.8 on July 08, 2008

Hospitable, great service, room hostess, food! I love B&B's!

Innkeeper Response
It's always wonderful to have a B&B lover stay at the Garden and Galley B&B! Thank you for your kind words and for your support of the B&B industry. Esther


Garden and Galley

5 on June 20, 2008

First experience at a B&B - everything was excellent - we are hooked! thank you Ester for all of your hospitality and wonderful cooking --Jenn

Innkeeper Response
Jenn, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Your kind words mean a great deal to me. I'm so glad you are hooked...happy B&Bing. Esther


Great food, beautiful scenery

4.8 on June 19, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful view from the Garden Suite, the excellent breakfast, a walk in the meadow (with rainbow!) and the comfortable bed. Will return again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review of the Garden and Galley B&B. It is a joy to have guests take advantage of the walking trails through our woods and pasture! I look forward to your next visit. Esther


Delightful and relaxing

3.6 on June 16, 2008

Had a delightful visit! Sam, the canine innkeeper, was especially good at making us feel at home. The grounds are lovely and everything was very relaxing. Esther was SO gracious as a host!!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Sam is so happy to hear that he helped make you feel welcome here!


uplifting experienece

4.6 on June 11, 2008

what a lovely place to stay. huge windows face south and we saw multiple hot air balloons launch and float into the sky! cardinals sang their lovely song while we ate a fantastic breakfast, enjoyed conversation with out host and just relaxed

Innkeeper Response
Your comments about the Garden and Galley B&B are very much appreciated. So glad that the balloons were flying during your visit!


Best place to stay in town

5 on June 11, 2008

Choice of 4 great rooms at excellent rates. Wonderful breakfasts! Esther is very helpful and goes out of her way to accommodate requests. Best place to stay in town. Beautiful garden, too.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Garden and Galley B&B. It is always a joy to hear from my guests! I appreciate your kind words.


Gardaon & Galley Rest

5 on June 10, 2008

Grandwood Hse - beautiful! Ice cream before bed - excellent. Breakfast flowers, fire in fireplace.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the kind words about the Garden and Galley B&B. Our Grant Wood Views are especially lovely this year after all our rain! I hope you will come visit again.


Vintage Variety

5 on June 10, 2008

What a wonderful weekend getaway. Thr room was so inviting. A true "Blast from the Past" completely decorated in '50's decor! Such fun! The evening snacks and superb breakfast were served in a spacious kitchen with great conversation.

Innkeeper Response
I thank you for taking the time and effort to post a comment about the Garden and Galley B&B. Glad you enjoyed the trip back to the 50's. I forgot to show you my poodle skirt...next time! Esther


Interested in Opera or a Beautiful 'Getaway' ? Check this out.

5 on June 09, 2008

This is a wonderful, B&B. The food was delicious with a fantastic presentation. The grounds are beautiful with lovely flowers, gliders and fields of green.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden and Galley B&B. Your kind words are very appreciated. I hope you will join us again for another stay in beautiful Iowa.


A wonderful place to stay in Indianola.

5 on June 09, 2008

This is a beautiful place to stay and the service is lovely. We were traveling with a 2 year old. The owner went out of his way to make it a pleasant experience.

Innkeeper Response
Taking time out from your busy schedule to write a review of the Garden and Galley B&B is much appreciated. It was a joy having you and your sweet little one in our inn. Thanks for the positive feedback.


Small town B&B with lots to offer

5 on May 30, 2008

For my first time staying at a bed and breakfast I must say Garden and galley bed and breakfast was definitely a fine choice to break the ice. A very scenic stay complete with ponds, trails, fields, a forest, and relics of Iowa's past. Service was excellent with a gracious host able to provide everything: delicious meals, clean well-stocked bathrooms, a collection of books to read, television, and even just a nice conversation. To top off the deal Garden and Galleys’ prices include very spacious rooms at very reasonable prices.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this kind review. It was a great pleasure taking care of you at the Garden and Galley B&B. May this now be the start of many B&B stays in your future travels. Esther


Garden and Galley

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $155
  • Reviews (120) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5159617749
Top