The Richards House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
44 Reviews

Write A Review

A Lovely Visit

5 on December 29, 2013

We stayed the night of the 27th. What a lovely place! The history of the house is fascinating, the furnishings are beautiful, and the light in the house is amazing because of all the stained glass.


History, Hospitality, Handcraftsmanship

4.6 on September 06, 2013

I have stayed in over 30 B&B's in my travels throughout the states & over the last 12 years. this is THE BEST Place BY FAR to eat, rest, play, read, chat & meet people if you like. I am going back again & can't wait to tell Dave & Michelle my experiences & perspectives. Word of mouth & richness in experiences are the only way to pay it forward. I look forward to seeing their growth & stick-to-it-tiveness they have!


Great experience

5 on January 15, 2013

We stayed there on December 26 and 27. The inn-keeps were very accommodating . The breakfast was very unique and delicious. The homeowners are very hard workers, passion and took pride then everything they did. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to all of my friends and family. I can't wait to go back!!!!


Great Old Museum

5 on August 14, 2012

While the outside could scare you off, don't be fooled. This B&B is a real treasure. Many gorgeous antiques, fabulous breakfast & interesting hosts!


Historic Glory

5 on July 27, 2012

The finest historic interiors I've ever experienced. National Register in all it's glory. Wonderful lamps and stained glass. Superb breakfast -- Iowa home cooking at its best!


Loved our stay

4.8 on January 24, 2012

We stayed at the Richards House the year before and really enjoyed our stay so we decided to come back again this year. We love the old house and the Richards. They are very welcoming. We plan on coming back again!


Christmas Getaway

5 on December 27, 2011

This year I didn't have plans for Christmas, so I decided to go to Iowa to do some scouting for the Ron Paul campaign ahead of the Caucus. When I saw Richard's House on line, I knew it was the place I wanted to stay, plus the Library Suite was available. I almost couldn't breathe when I walked into the house because of all the stained glass. I love historic homes and stained glass. Usually I only get to see such things in museums and did not ever dream I could "live" in such a place for a few days. I stayed for three days over Christmas holiday and loved every minute. The hosts, Dave and Michelle, are most gracious and great conversationalists. My suite featured two fireplaces in two giant rooms with Victorian furnishings and stained glass windows. A great way to start your day is to take a bath in an clawfoot bath tub in front of the fireplace. New fire logs were delivered to my suite each day. There was also sitting cove with two chairs and plenty of light for reading in the suite. Michelle's breakfast every morning was stellar and offered no less than five choices including `the best eggs I've ever tasted, belgian waffles, crepes, cakes, pumpkin roll, hickory smoked bacon, poached fruits, assorted syrups, quiche, orange cake, and coffee. Breakfast is served by the fire at a long dining room table on real china with crystal glassware. Having never stayed in a B&B before, I can attest for all breakfasts, but Michelle's food is some of the best I've had anywhere in America. I understand that the rates vary throughout the year, but my three night stay including hotel tax was under $300. It was an exceptional value, especially considering the home is furnished like the Biltmore Estate. If you like history, old homes, and stained glass, you will think you've died and gone to heaven if you book the Richard's Inn. I am plannning to return with friends and might go there again next Christmas.


Beautiful and spacious accomodotions

5 on October 26, 2011

We had a relaxing stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. I couldn’t have been more pleased. Beautifully decorated in antiques and stain glass. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. Michelle gets a blue ribbon for her cakes. Tried her lemon, blueberry and cinnamon coffee cakes and so delicious. We stayed in the Library Suite and has "turn of LAST century charm". And you can't beat the prices. I would recommend The Richards House highly. Diane & Bill, Nevada


A real find

5 on October 20, 2011

The outside is undergoing very costly renovations, but the roof is done, and the interior is beautiful, fully restored with amazing stained glass, carved wood and more. Extensive video library, comfy beds, and a hearty and tasty breakfast awaited us. We will always stay here when we stay in Dubuque


Fantastic home with fantastic service

5 on August 07, 2011

This is a beautiful home! breakfast should be called break-feast! The service was wonderful, a fire in our fireplace at night and dessert on the side board. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.


Why haven't we done bed and breakfasts before?

5 on May 01, 2011

My wife and I were given a B&B gift certificate, and were newbies to B&B’s. We stayed at The Richards House during a brief get away vacation to Dubuque 4/27 – 4/30/11. What an outstanding stay, from the clean and elegantly furnished period rooms, to the incredible several course breakfasts, to Michelle S' wonderful hospitality and complete commitment to our comfort. We doubt that all B&B’s provide this much, but this experience was wonderful, and will prompt us to look into B&B’s as a first preference in future travels. DM from Sussex, WI


A warm welcome! A wonderful stay!

5 on February 05, 2011

What a wonderful stay my husband and I had in the Library Suite at The Richards’ House! This 1883 Victorian home has among the best original interior architectural details that we have seen. We loved the embossed wall coverings and the many examples of beautiful stained glass, as well as all of the other details in the home. The wood burning fireplaces were a definite plus. They are in the process of finishing the exterior, and it was very informative to get a look at some of the work in progress, which is something one does not always get to do. The owners, David and Michelle, shared a lot of their knowledge about the house, as well as other historic homes in the area.They were warm and welcoming and provided suggestions of things to do and see in the area, even going so far as to print out a map for us to find our way. The breakfasts were fabulous, all made fresh and delicious, and the variety and amount of food was outstanding. There are treats available, and a refrigerator with drinks, if you wish. It was very cold outside the days we were in Dubuque, but David and Michelle’s welcome was warm indeed. We will definitely be back to visit again, at various times of the year, as we had a very enjoyable visit.


Amazing food, Amazing hosts, Amazing Experience

5 on January 19, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Dubuque for our first bed and breakfast experience to celebrate our first honeymoon. We found the Richard's House by comparing prices, locations and photos of all the bed and breakfasts in the neighborhood and were very pleased with our decision to stay here. Both Michelle and Dave were extremely friendly, knowledgable and overall great hosts! We stayed two nights and had amazing home cooked breakfasts both mornings. They have climate controlled rooms along with working fireplaces which made our stay even more comfortable, and nothing can beat a bath in front of the fire! The rooms are all beautifully decorated with period antiques from the Victorian Era. Even though the outside of the house is still under construction, the interior atmosphere and overall ambiance of this one of a kind gem is worth experiencing!


Richards House Bed and Breakfast Dubuque IOWA

4.4 on January 17, 2011

This is a wonderful B&B to stay at when in Dubuque. The rooms are large and well appointed. Everytime I looked around, even if I had been in the room multiple times before, there was something "new" I had not previously seen. The stained glass windows are very nice. The food is excellent! Michelle was a fantastic hostess with lots of neat stories about the house and the family. The only "not so good" item to mention is the exterior. But Michelle and David warn people of that on their web site. I would definitely stay at the Richard's House again.


Girls road trip treat!

5 on January 05, 2011

I was on a road trip with some friends heading north to Wisconsin in Feb 2009. We were planning a stop in Dubuque and had originally looked for the typical lodging (i.e., chain hotel). Then one in our group stumbled upon this gem! We had a great time, and the four of us stayed for what it would have cost at the Holiday Inn. While the house was undergoing some renovations at the time, our rooms were clean and cozy. I can't say enough -- we were welcomed in the evening with wine and cookies, treated to an amazing breakfast (blueberry coffee cake, stewed pears, blueberry pancakes, coffee, and scrambled eggs), and in such a unique atmosphere! The host and hostess were delightful. Thank you so much for a wonderful memory!


Welcoming Weekend

4.4 on January 03, 2011

I travel extensively and stay at B&Bs when possible... so lots of experience. Michelle and Dave run one of the most welcoming B&Bs in which I have stayed... they are even pet friendly, which is a very big deal for us! If you need something, Michelle is easy to find almost any time (also uncommon) and she will do anything possible to help. The entire house is filled with the aroma or baked goods which can be found throughout. It felt like home. Among my most pleasant stays in a Victorian B&B.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on December 02, 2010

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend in the Library Suite at The Richards House. Our concerns over the outside renovations were immediately put to rest with our first step inside. The house is amazing with incredibly tall ceilings, great woodwork and stained glass windows. The Library Suite is extremely large and inviting with two wood burning fireplaces. We also had two great breakfasts that more than exceeded our expectations. The Richards House is a great B&B (especially for the price!). We look forward to visiting in the future and are excited to see the outside renovation progress.


Lovely large Victorian Mansion

4.6 on October 31, 2010

The interior of this home is way over the top in elegance. Outside is needing work. Bed was not very comfortable but all other amenities were top notch. We stay at lots of B&B's and this one was the most for the money. If the exterior was fully restored the nightly rate could be tripled.


Too Good to be True

5 on April 29, 2010

Where do I start? The house is gorgeous and hospitality warm and inviting! The atmosphere was relaxing, homelike, and intriguing. There are so many artistic intricacies to admire. Then, there are a complimentary sodas, wine, and bottled water in a mini fridge located in the hallway just outside of the rooms. There is also a plate of cookies :) The rooms are so neat! Very cozy and clean. There is also a balcony with access from the second story... with a beautiful view. Finally, I've saved the best for last--the breakfast! Or should I say breakfast-h'ordurves, breakfast-snacks, breakfast-entre' and breakfast-desert! Everything is homemade and ooooooh, so yummy! Plus there is fresh juice, coffee and your choice of assorted Yogi teas (my favorite!) Oh, and I forgot to mention 2 other important things. 1) The Richard's House is located only blocks off of the major highways cutting through Dubuque (far enough away that it is quiet and peaceful, but close enough that it is easy to find and not 'out of the way') and 2) It is extremely reasonable. Honestly, you will not find a better deal. It was $85 for 2 rooms (for 4 women); one room had a full size bed and the other a queen size bed. Granted this was on a Thursday (so a little cheaper than on the weekends). Plus, since it was in the off season and they were renovating (or doing something in) one of the other rooms, they upgraded us at no charge. I definitely plan on staying there again. ...only wish I would have found them sooner!


Richards House

3.6 on March 28, 2010

When we pulled up to the outside, we were expecting a house that needs a paint job, but instead we found a house under construction. Once we walked inside however, it felt like we stepped back 120+ years. It was very nice inside. You should be aware that there are cats inside the house. With my husband's allergy to cats we were a little concerned. Nowhere on their website did it say anything about the house having cats. We chose this b & b because others in the area said that they did have cats. We were a little upset about that, but my husband took some allergy medicine and we left for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was awesome. Way too much food for two people to eat. We wish we could have though. It was really good. Would probably not stay there again (only because of the cats), but if you don't have a cat allergy I would definitely recommend it!


great service, best breakfast, awesome architecture

5 on February 27, 2010

Stayed at the Richards house in Feb of 2010. Great value. Two rooms at Richards house same price as one room at a holiday inn. When I'm in Dubuque again, I won't stay anywhere else. Michelle's hospitality was great. The food was even better...the blueberry theme was just the way to start off a girls weekend. Thanks Michelle. I now have a reason to go to Dubuque again.


A Delightful B&B

5 on December 17, 2009

What a delightful Inn. Michelle is a wonderful hostess and attentive to your needs. The house is an obvious act of love and is still in renovation but that adds to the ambiance. It was a very cold evening but the room was warm and very clean. I had a wonderful nights sleep and I usually don’t the first night. The bathroom was well supplied with towels and amenities. The claw bath tub was wonderful and there was plenty of hot water to take a batch. Breakfast was superior and there was plenty to eat. I will definitely use this Inn again when I am in the Dubuque area. Outstanding job … Thanks


Enjoyed our stay!

5 on October 30, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you Michelle and Dave for an exceptional experience. The house is beautiful and the breakfasts, etc. delicious. And, of course, had fun playing with the cats! The Campbells, Algonquin


lovely

4.2 on August 06, 2009

An enchantment of history, antiques, awesome leaded glass windows, woodwork, and a terrific breakfast!


Wonderful trip back in time

5 on August 05, 2009

Absolutely unique home and a treasure. We felt like we had traveled back in time staying in this B&B. It is absolutely amazing what the Innkeepers have done restoring this property with period pieces. They were incredibly friendly and made us feel at home. Family friendly. Movies and games available for kids, free snacks, sodas, and wine and the breakfast was incredible. We will definately stay again. Highly recommend.


Dubuque rocks!

4.4 on July 16, 2009

Fabulous breakfasts. Knowledgeable hostess


Class of '62'

5 on November 17, 2008

What a great trip to the 19th century. Book now before it's too late! Wow, what a deal!


Never Judge a Book by it's Cover

4.6 on October 16, 2008

Upon pulling up to this B&B my husband said "I'm not staying here it looks like it is falling apart." I told him let's go inside, I read a lot of reviews and this is a good place. Well, was he suprised. This B&B was very impressive. Michelle was charming and made us feel at home. She was informative and she is also a wonderful cook. The treats she had and the breakfast she served was just outstanding.


affordable and very comfortable

4.6 on August 28, 2008

I went to Dubuque to relax and renew. Michelle was very accomodating and even gave me breakfast on my schedule. I enjoyed the movies, the popcorn, the wine, soda and coffee cakes. After a long day exploring in 3 states, it was nice to come back to and it was very easily located.


Hidden Gem

5 on June 18, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Richards House to celebrate our 30th and 50th birthdays. We had a wonderful time! The breakfast was AMAZING! As were the chocolate chip cookies! Michelle was so friendly and full of great information. We shared the Library suite. I can not say enough wonderful things about our stay. We are already planning to return with our husbands this fall!


great stay

5 on June 18, 2008

1st time stay. great food, beautiful house, and wonderful hosts. will stay again. excellent rooms. a pleasure


Excellent

5 on June 18, 2008

always a treat to stay every year for the last 10 years. great service and beautiful rooms


One of my favorites

5 on June 12, 2008

I've been staying at Richards House 2-3 times per year for the past 3 years, each time is a pleasure. The rooms are very comfortable, Michelle and her husband are very welcoming and helpful with every request. Lots of fun books and a huge movie library to borrow from. Breakfast is to die for - first time visitors tend to fill up on the first course and don't realize that there are three more! Late night snacks and drinks are also a treat, and not something you often find. Room rates are very reasonable - a great value. I've brought friends along and they all felt the same and have it on their list of places to go back to.


Weekend Oasis

5 on June 06, 2008

The Richards House is like taking a step back in time. The quiet luxury of a by gone time - our hosts, David and Michelle, welcome you and care for your needs - and the food...Best Breakfast Ever!


Best B&B

5 on June 06, 2008

There are few things in this life you can depend on but a wonderful stay at the Richards House is one of them.


unbelievable history

5 on June 06, 2008

you feel like you are back into the 19th century


food is fabulous!

5 on June 06, 2008

michelle is a wonderful chef! whis was a gourmet breakfast!


The Richards House

4.6 on June 06, 2008

Beautiful antigques; comfortable bed; excellent breakfast; gracious hosts.


Richards House Experience

4.0 on May 30, 2008

We have stayed at the Richard's house annually for over 12 years. The lovely rooms and atmosphere of the house is wonderful and very relaxing. The food is excellent! We will continue to stay there. I recommend it!


great value

5 on May 22, 2008

My wife and I were initially drawn to this place because of the price; the beauty of the interior was a close second. To put it simply, this place exceeded all of our expectations! The cooking was fantastic, most especially the cakes. The inn keeper was very kind to both of us; we on our part thoroughly enjoyed speaking with her. We highly recommend The Richards House


Frist stay at a B&B

4.6 on May 14, 2008

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast type accommodation so I have nothing to compare it with. We found the atmosphere homey with each room detailed to the period of 1880's with furniture. We love older homes and therefore were allowed to see and discuss renovations done already and yet to be completed. There was attention in each room to have what the guests might find necessary or it could be provided for us. Since we were early risers it was nice to come into the dining room and be able to get a cup of tea/coffee before the actual breakfast was served. We found the breakfast part the most delightful. Each day we were treated to a different casserole and pastry as well as fresh fruit. We enjoyed the large front room which allowed guests and owners to visit throughout the day. I loved Michelle's way of asking us each night what time we wanted breakfast. She was a wealth of information about the area and was able to offer different suggestions for places to go see or eat. Then at night we loved the treats and beverages available for a late night snack. We have booked our next excursion to this area in the fall. Our experience at The Richard's House has opened our minds up to trying other Bed and Breakfasts in furture travel.


A Relaxing Get Away

4.6 on March 08, 2008

The details and history of this turn of the century home really do have you looking at the wood detail, pocket doors, and stained glass throughout the home. This truly is a labor of love for the Stuarts. The hospitality and food were excellent! In addition to the hearty breakfasts, the treats left out for near the rooms seem to call you back for "s'more." A February stay, being within walking distance of downtown Dubuque contributed to the relaxing atmosphere of the home. A great weekend get away...look forward to staying again!


Nice Place

5 on December 11, 2007

Good coffee cake. Pretty house.


an amazing place

5 on September 25, 2007

We could have paid twice the amount we did and still considered it a steal. Beautiful rooms, fantastic food - both at breakfast and the treats left out all the time. Great hospitatlity. Would return over and over again. Loved it!


The Richards House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $40 - $115
  • Reviews (44) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5635571492
  • Toll free 1-8885571492

Visit Website »

View details

Top