The Hancock House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
152 Reviews

Write A Review

Escape to Serenity

5 on December 20, 2013

The proprietors are gracious, friendly and kind. The rooms are bright and clean. The breakfasts are delicious and second helpings are always offered. The quiet music and Victorian decor are elegant and restful & serene.


Wonderful Place

5 on November 02, 2013

We stayed one night and really enjoyed our visit. Bed was very comfortable, room was lovely with a nice sitting area surrounded by windows. Food was delicious and hosts were charming. Good conversation around the breakfast table. We'd stay again.


2013 Sisters Getaway

4.6 on October 19, 2013

my 6 sisters and I stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers are very friendly!


Out of a long winter and ready for Spring!

5 on September 03, 2013

What charming Innkeepers!! Wonderful food! The view was fantastic and very restful. Just what we need before the busy spring farm season.


A lovely experience

3.4 on August 26, 2013

Very pleasant owners, highly service oriented. A lovely place.


Wonderful Stay!

4.8 on August 22, 2013

What a great place to stay! My sister and I stayed for 8 days and my brothers got another room and stayed for 5 days. We were all very comfortable. Unfortunately Susan was out of commission for our stay, but Chuck was a very gracious host and a wonderful cook. By the end of our stay we realized that we were so comfortable that we were coming down to breakfast in our PJ's. Would definitely stay again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting a review, as our reviews are very important to our business. We appreciate the kind words you had to say about The Hancock House and hope to see you another time. Regards, Susan


Great place for weekend getaway

4.4 on August 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend visiting Dubuque and Galena and enjoyed our stay at the Hancock House. Great hospitality and the breakfasts were awesome. I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting a review for us. Our reviews are very important to our business. Thank you for staying at The Hancock House and we hope to see you another time. Regards, Susan


Very comfortable B&B

4.8 on July 09, 2013

My sister and I stayed at The Hancock House while visiting relatives in early June. Everything about our stay was wonderful, from the very gracious hosts - Susan & Chuck Huntley, to the delicious breakfasts, cleanliness of our rooms and reasonable rates. We also found the B&B centrally located with an incredible view. The only negative was 21st century girls trying to master 19th century-like mirrors, claw-footed tub/shower & sink (simply a space issue). But manage we did! We'd definitely stay there again and were so comfortable by the end of our stay that we nearly came down to breakfast in our pajamas our final day!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review of your stay and the kind words you had to say about The Hancock House. We hope we will see you another time. Regards, Susan Huntley


Great Innkeepers

5 on July 05, 2013

Chuck and Susan are the nicest people, I could stay and talk to them all day long. Breakfast was fantastic! Our room was large and very comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate you taking time to respond to reviewing your stay at the Hancock House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and perhaps will return again. Regards, Susan


Definitely would return!

4.6 on June 25, 2013

We stayed for one night and had a wonderful experience. The inn was lovely and the innkeepers as well. Chuck and Susan provide all the little touches you need to have a snack or beverage and to make your room comfortable. Breakfast was yummy and the conversation delightful. The innkeepers joined the breakfast guests after they were finished eating and that was a nice touch to make everyone feel welcome.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hancock House and your kind words you had to say. We hope we will see you again sometime. Regards, Susan


The best B&B experience we've ever had.

5 on June 23, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a nice B&B in the Dubuque area. The Hancock House came up on top in every search we did online. It DID NOT disappoint. The house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in Mrs. Hancock room, which is one of the larger rooms. It's very spacious with a beautifully tiled bathroom with a clawfoot cast iron bathtub in addition to a whirlpool bathtub. We also had an opportunity to explore several other rooms as well. They are all beautiful. As others have noted, the breakfasts are fantastic. It's a full hot breakfast (no continental breakfast here!). It's served with several juices and some of the best coffee we've ever had. We couldn't get enough! The owners, Chuck and Susan, are fantastic hosts. Chuck has a wealth of knowledge about the home and the Dubuque area and has some fantastic stories to tell. And finally, the view from the house (and many of the rooms) is fantastic. You can see the entire city and the river. Overall, we had a great time and will certainly be staying there on our next trip to Dubuque.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review on this website and all of the nice comments you gave us. The reviews are very important to our business and we appreciate you taking your time to respond. Hope to see you again, Susan


Staying with an old friend

5 on June 14, 2013

This was not our first visit to The Hancock House. We keep coming back because the house itself and especially the proprietors(Chuck and Susan) are like coming back to visit an old friend.


Incredible view, comfy beds, and delectable breakfasts!

5 on June 10, 2013

My husband and I decided to visit Dubuque to enjoy the picturesque vistas, and old river town ambiance. We stayed with Chuck and Susan at the Hancock house, and loved everything about it. It is the apotheosis of a B&B. We will absolutely be back, probably in the fall to enjoy the beauty and hospitality we enjoyed in May. We will also be sending friends that way, as it is an incredible value too! Cheers!

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your review of your stay at The Hancock House. The reviews are very important to our business and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again sometime. Regards, Susan Huntley


Helen and Garry Birkhofer's 40th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

5 on May 21, 2013

This was our first stay at this location and it was a great weekend, very relaxing, Susan and Chuck were fantastics hosts - made us feel at home. The breakfasts we enjoyed were fantastic. We will be staying there again and have already recommended it to our friends and relatives.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review of The Hancock House. We also appreciate you recommending it to your friends and relatives. Regards, Susan


Tried & True Getaway

5 on April 04, 2013

We stay here whenever possible because each visit is as pleasant as the previous one.


feeling like family

5 on March 17, 2013

to say it all we have been guests at the Hancock House on and off for the past 20 years. The service and loving enviroment is a place you always want to come back to when Chuck and Susan meet you at the door. The history and the house itself are the most beautiful and period home I have been able to experience.We will continue to go and visit our friends hopefully for the next 20 years. Thanks Chuck and susan.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words about The Hancock House and Chuck and I. We appreciate your support of the Hancock House. Regards, Susan


Hospitality, thy name is Huntley

4.8 on October 29, 2012

No matter the season, the view will be breathtaking! The rooms are large and roomy yet with a cozy feel. Meals were pleasant to the eye AND palate, and the table-talk was as private or jovial as YOU wanted to make it. All in all? Repeatable!


Home Away From Home

5 on October 27, 2012

What a great place to stay. Thank you Chuck and Susan. We've tried a few B & B's in Dubuque and luckily saved the best for last. From now on when we go to visit our daughter it's the Hancock House or bust! Atmosphere, beauty, view, people and breakfast were all great.


Wonderful bed and breakfast on Dubuque bluffs

5 on September 05, 2012

Beautiful, clean, and comfortable rooms with excellent service and friendly hospitality. Would definitely return and highly recommend!


Hancock House

4.6 on August 14, 2012

Lovely house with lots of amenities. Very engaging innkeepers. We would recommend this to anyone without reservation.


Gem!

5 on August 04, 2012

Not... this is what a B&B should be! Good, positive energy. Clean, hospitable, warm. Innkeepers Susan and Chuck seemed like old friends. Guests were friendly; breakfast delicious! Plan to return... and bring friends!


Up, Up on a Hill

5 on July 30, 2012

The sights, smells of perfection abound at this lovely place where Chuck & Susan go way, way out of their way to your stay memorable.


Great Stay

5 on July 30, 2012

Great people, great stay, great home!


We were amazed!!!

5 on July 07, 2012

This was my husband's first experience in a bed and breakfast and he was delighted with every aspect of our stay. Chuck and Susan made sure we were comfortable, made fantastic breakfasts, and stocked the panty with essentials. The decor was beautiful and authentic, yet the showers and other facilities worked extremely well. We loved the feather bed, so comfortable and the wifi was easy to use. Our view of Dubuque was perfect and the evenings on the porch swing were relaxing. We look forward to our next stay and highly recommend the Hancock House!


Sooo comfortable and welcoming!

5 on July 02, 2012

We chose this home to have a reunion with my husband's sister. The atmosphere was so relaxed that we had a wonderful visit, all the while enjoying the spacious rooms and the big porch overlooking the city and river. Chuck and Susan readily shared about the history of the home when my curiosity urged me to ask questions. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the vsits!


Another great visit

5 on June 04, 2012

We have stayed at the Hancock House many, many times over the past several years. Each visit exceeds the last. Chuck and Susan are the best hosts ever and we consider them good friends. Breakfast is always wonderful, conversation great. We have stayed at other B&B's in the area and always come back to the Hancock House. It truly is like coming home.


Great place to stay

5 on May 29, 2012

Very nice at home place to stay. The view from the wrap around porch is beautiful.Susan and Chuck are very friendly and nice to talk to. The breakfast was outstanding!!


A place for all personalities

5 on May 07, 2012

Whether you're an extrovert or an introvert, you'll find your match with these innkeepers. The wrap-around porch has 2 big swings and a number of white wicker chairs from which a breathtaking view of Dubuque can be seen, as this house is perched on the brow of a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River. The breakfast is varied and delectable. Downtown, the main public library and National Mississippi River Museum all walkable.


Great Weekend Getaway!

4.2 on March 13, 2012

I chose this location after searching all over the internet. The reviews were fantastic so I decided to go ahead and book and i'm glad I did! We were celebrating a late Valentines Day gift and early Anniversary gift, turns out we'd also be celebrating an engagement on the last night! It was our first time staying at a B&B, and it was a great introduction! The rooms were each so unique and clean, the breakfasts were fantastic, and their porch over looking the area was well put to use! Thank you for a fantastic stay! We are already talking about going back!


Very Relaxing Place to Get Away!

4.4 on March 06, 2012

A great value and a great atmosphere! The rooms were clean, unique, and yet comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Chuck and Susan really make you feel at home and I had a pleasant time engaging them in conversation over morning coffee. I will definitely being staying with them again!


A fun 3 day weekend

4.0 on February 27, 2012

We thought the house was cool, the breakfast good, and the hosts friendly.


Excellent!

5 on January 03, 2012

We stayed overnight to ring in the New Year - 2012. Chuck and Susan were excellent hosts. The Library Room was beautiful and fun. We met some of the guest at breakfast the next morning and the meal was outstanding. The Inn is located high in the bluffs and the view is breathtaking. We were able to walk and visit sites in the area. The Inn was spotless. David and I will be back evey year and maybe try another room. Thank-you for a beautiful stay.


Weekend Getaway

4.6 on November 13, 2011

This was the 2nd time we stayed and it again was a wonderful weekend. We were warmly welcomed and felt at home. We had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were very nice and the food was excellent.


The best B & B

5 on October 28, 2011

My husband and i go to this B & B 2 or 3 times a year. And we always look forward going back everytime. Chuck and Susan always make you feel at home. :)


Beautiful!

4.8 on August 29, 2011

We have stayed at the Hancock House several times. Every visit is a wonderful, restful experience. The house is beautiful. Each bedroom is lovely and unique and offers a private bathroom. We have always chosen one that also has a hot tub! The views of the city are awesome. Susan and Chuck are an added bonus!! We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we are in the area.


A room with a view

5 on August 10, 2011

Overlooking picturesque Dubuque, IA, the Hancock House provided us with a beautiful room, delicious food and many new friends. We hope to return soon!


Our happy anniversary at the Hancock

5 on August 06, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful stay at the H.H. We enjoyed meeting Chuck & Susan & get a town of the whole house & learned some interesting features of the beautiful B&B. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was delicious -- there was lots to do in the area.


The highlight of my trip

5 on August 06, 2011

This was my first experience at a B&B, and Hancock House exceeded my expectations. Chuck and Susan were warm and welcoming. The house is beautiful and well maintained, and my room was simply perfect. Spectacular views of the city and the Mississippi can be enjoyed from the porch & almost every window. And the food? Forget your diet. The food is amazing!


Spectacular view

4.4 on July 24, 2011

Innkeepers treat you like family. Treats galore -- cookies, beer, wine and coffee, tea & cookies. Inn with an interesting history and spectacular view!


A wonderful way to spend your 59th wedding anniversary!

5 on July 24, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hancock House. It's like a trip back in time. The home is a beautiful Victorian. The hosts are delightful and the hospitality and food is wonderful.


Excellent B&B

5 on July 19, 2011

A beautiful house with the most accommodating hosts. The breakfast was delicious. We completely enjoyed our stay there.


Rendez-vous in Dubuque

5 on June 29, 2011

3 college friends and their wives met after 30 odd years to stay at the Hancock House in Dubuque. The gracious, genteel and fun innkeepers helped make it a truly memorable and relaxed experience. We had researched all the B&B's in the area online and were pleased upon arrival at the romantic house with its plethora of original antiques, stained glass windows, carpets, fireplaces, gardens, set high on the bluffs with panoramic views of the winding Mississippi from our rooms, balconies and porches. We were delighted that the beautiful rooms met our specific "wish lists", so each got their heart's desire insofar as views, whirlpools, showers and other exceptional amenities. Some B&Bs have a "dark and heavy" feel. The Hancock House has lots of spacious windows with natural light and panoramic views, even in the bedrooms; very tasteful and romantic. After our dinner out, we came "home" to sherry by a romantic private fireplace, where we all "caught up", philosophized and laughed into the night. We have all been to B&Bs, but the other couples kept thanking us for choosing the Hancock House. We awoke with the soft pink and green filtered light of our bedroom's stained glass colors on our faces beckoning us to relax in the whirlpool with a bit of coffee before breakfast. As we descended the stairs, we could hear the conversation and laughter of the cheery group in the elegant breakfast room. The meal was so pleasant that we all wanted to linger. If you are trying to choose a B&B, you'll definitely want to stay with nice folks like our new friends, innkeepers Chuck and Susan, and treat yourself to the Hancock House experience! (The others may be "just bed and breakfast".)


Great house with view

3.8 on June 22, 2011

Susan and Chuck are a very welcoming couple. The house is carefully restored and maintained, very clean and not cluttered, as so many Victorians are. Good value for the price. Breakfast was unremarkable.


Time traveler

5 on June 13, 2011

This was our second stay at the Hancock House and it was as good as our first visit. This house is decorated with wonderful antiques and has the ambiance of the Victorian era. It's like being a time traveler but with modern conveniences of course. The hosts are very gracious, friendly and are attentive to making your stay an excellent one. There's one bedroom downstairs for those who cannot manage stairs. We prefer having a room with a view upstairs overlooking the city and in the distance, the Mississippi. Drinks are available all day and cookies in the afternoon. Breakfasts are great and served in the attractive dining room.


Consistently Impressive

4.8 on March 28, 2011

We have stayed at the Hancock House numerous times over the past couple years. Prior to finding the Hancock House, we stayed in a few other B&B's in the area. No one compared to the hospitality provided by Chuck and Susan and the upkeep/cleanliness of the house is commendable. The prices of the rooms are generally less expensive than hotels in the same vicinity. We've been excited to share the experience with others and look forward to visiting again.


Wonderful!

5 on March 14, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend in the Doll Room. Chuck and Susan were wonderful hosts. We will return soon!


Totally Relaxing Get Away

5 on January 15, 2011

Felt like coming home. Chuck and Sue so welcoming and gracious. Lit fireplace both nights was wonderful. Beautiful decor throughout the house. Loved the bay windows in Mr. Hancock's room to look over the city night lights. Beautiful! Could not have been better relaxation and comfort! Great get away!!!


A Home Away From Home..

5 on October 11, 2010

The Hancock House, Chuck, and Susan hold a very special place in our heart for opening their beautiful home to us for our wedding. We have had the pleasure of staying at the house many times. Every time we have stayed we feel like we are home. We have recommend The Hancock House to many friends and family.


"R&R"

5 on September 08, 2010

Relax and Restore. Relax you body in the whirlpool tub and restore you mind in the peaceful serene view and location.


Best B&B in Dubuque

5 on August 01, 2010

This was our second stay at the Hancock House. We enjoyed it so much the first time we made reservations months in advance when we had a wedding invitation in the area. Chuck and Susan are very gracious hosts. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast delicious and hearty. Be sure to allow time to enjoy the house, the porch and the wonderful view.


Home Away From Home

4.8 on July 20, 2010

This was our 4th visit to the inn. We have tried different rooms each time and have enjoyed all of them. The view of the Mississippi and the city are fantastic. We intend to continue to use this as our 'home away from home' when we visit old friends and family.


Relaxing, wonderful visit

4.6 on July 17, 2010

We were a little hesitant to stay at a B&B, wondering if we would have privacy and be pressured to be social with the other guests. Not at all. We had a lovely time, some interesting conversations (when we wanted to, Chuck and Susan are fun to talk with, as were the other guests) but even breakfast was relaxed (and beyond delicious). They gave us a bottle of champagne as an anniversary gift and we spent a beautiful evening on the wide front porch sipping that, watching the stars come out, and talking. It was lovely, memorable. We'll come again!


Hancock House on July 4th weekend

4.8 on July 07, 2010

The front porch of the Hancock House is one of the best places to watch the annual fireworks in Dubuque on July 3rd. Hosts are very friendly and attentive. This was our second year and we met several repeat couples. Had a great time!!


Wonderful Hilltop Getaway

4.8 on June 29, 2010

First and foremost, the proprietors are welcoming. My wife and I have stayed twice. It's got a tremendous view, whirlpool tubs, excellent breakfast, and is situated in a great location (for relaxing, shopping, adventuring, etc). Recommended.


Felt like home

4.8 on June 24, 2010

I've had very limited experience with a Bed and Breakfast facility and if they are all like this I would never look for the traditional motel/hotel when traveling. Our room was spotless, the linens and towels were fresh and soft and the breakfasts were wonderful. Susan and Chuck really make you feel like family!!


Beautiful House, Beautiful View of a Beautiful City, Beautiful People.

5 on June 17, 2010

Friendly, relaxing, interesting, good food, neat house, neat town on a beautiful river, neat room, cool view, plenty to do, great service, great price, eager to please, caring people--- If you don't have a wonderful time it wont be Susan & Chuck's fault.


Room with a 3 state view

5 on June 15, 2010

We have been staying at Hancock House for years and intend to continue doing so. It has a stunning location on the bluff overlooking Dubuque and with views across the Mississippi River to Iowa and Wisconsin. The Queen Anne style mansion is fitted with period furniture (but still comfortable) and the house has been lovingly restored and maintained. Chuck and Susan (the innkeepers) maintain a perfect balance between friendliness and formality. They respect privacy and stay out of the way except when one needs something or wants to chat. Breakfasts, served in a magnificent space, are tasty. If one needs breakfast at an unusual hour, they make arrangements to have food available and ready to eat. Dubuque is a great walking city and one can walk from the house past many historic buildings, to the Fenelon Place elevator, the riverfront, and if one must, to the casino.


Everything you want it to be

5 on June 04, 2010

We have returned many times to visit our friends Chuck & Susan at The Hancock House. The house and furnishings are wonderful, the food is always the best but most of all Chuck & Susan are such caring and wonderful people. You are truly welcomed into their home!


Enchanted Evening

4.8 on June 04, 2010

Our stay was truly enchanting, from the beautiful Queen Anne, to the magnificent view of Dubuque, the most gracious of hosts, to the elegant and delicious breakfast. Enchanted stay to which we plan to return.


Romance and reconnect

5 on June 01, 2010

I grew up in Dubuque and knew this magnificent house long before it was a bed and breakfast. Take it from a native this is the only place to stay in Dubuque for the best and authentic Dubuque experience.


Home away from home

5 on May 23, 2010

The Hancock House has become a yearly tradition since our honeymoon 13 years ago! The house is a treasure that is well valued and maintained by the personable hosts. Find them on Facebook!


Romantic weekend and birthday celebration

4.8 on May 16, 2010

My wife and I spent her birthday weekend in the Florence Room of the Hancock house, which had a gorgeous view of Dubuque and the Mississippi River. We had a wonderful time walking around the historic bluff neighborhood, talking with our wonderful hosts, and visiting the city of Dubuque IA. Our experience at the Hancock House was a great value for such pristine memories. Thank you.


My wives 40th

4.0 on March 30, 2010

We had the house to our selves, along with 8 couples for my wives 40th birthday. We had visted several times before and always enjoyed the house and Chuck and Susan. Only one problem, we haved been back since, sorry Chuck and Susan. Hope to make it back soon. Jim and Susan Ft. Dodge.


One of the best!

5 on March 29, 2010

We stayed at the Hancock House last Thursday through Sunday and absolutely loved the house and the owner/innkeepers. The breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality was so welcoming. We have stayed here before and although the weather outside was cold, inside was so relaxing and enjoyable. Make sure you don't miss staying at this B&B. Dan & Mary Lou


Time to Slow Down

4.0 on March 22, 2010

This was our first B&B experience. We had just stayed in a modern hotel the night before and were unsure what to expect. On our arrival, Chuck gave us a tour of the home and all of the unoccupied rooms, each unique in their own way. We were shown the dining room, where breakfast would be served and the maids’ pantry, with all its goodies. Much like staying at a friend’s house, the pantry may not have everything you desire, but what they have, they are more than happy to share with you. Our room was sparse with furniture, but adequate, meant to recreate the original period. Obviously a home built in 1891 is going to have some creaky steps and squeaky doors, but it all adds to its charm. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the next morning with Susan, Chuck and the other guest. It was a delightful time getting to know one another over a cup of coffee, which was the highlight of our stay. While our hotel stay, the night before, may have been quicker, easier and more convenient. It was The Hancock House that forced us to slow down and to realize what we miss in the hurriedness of everyday life. After 119 years the Inn may be getting a little tired, but its spirit, as well as those of its caretakers Chuck & Susan, is alive and well and something to appreciate. We will definitely return someday and highly recommend The Hancock House.


The elegance of yesteryear

5 on March 08, 2010

Two days and two nights along with friends in this glorious old home was definitely the way to shake off the blahs of winter.The food was amazing and the hosts could not have been more cordial. The fixtures were vintage,unique, beautiful and yet we had wifi connection. The home was immaculately clean and the type of place that made history come alive. The Handcock House is a beautiful page from yesteryear.


Fabulous!

5 on March 08, 2010

First experience at a B&B and it was awesome! Hoping to make it an annual event.


Fabulous!

5 on March 08, 2010

Staying at the Hancock House is a wonderful "get a way". The house itself is so elegant and the history of it and the story behind it is interesting and eagerly shared by Chuck. The bedrooms are inviting and the uniqueness of each one adds to the special feeling of the house. Sitting on the spacious porch, you can see all of Dubuque laid out before you as you swing on the porch swing. Breakfast can only be classified as fabulous, in not only the taste, but the presentation. Susan knows how to help you start your day. The small refreshment area off the dining room is always stocked with soft drinks, wine, beer, coffee, many types of teas and homemade cookies. Susan and Chuck are the ultimate in friendly, accommodating hosts and make you feel at home each time you stay there. We love going there every year, as we have for the last five years, to meet friends and have a great weekend. A must stay if you are in the Dubuque area.


A special place

5 on March 07, 2010

Susan and Chuck make your visit a special time. We have been there several times and always look forward to the next. Be sure to ask for recipes!


Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else!

5 on March 03, 2010

We enjoy the beautiful, tranquil atmosphere of this stately home. The view, decor and hospitality can't be beat!


A Night at the Hancock House

3.0 on February 24, 2010

This was our second stay at the Hancock House and enjoyed it as much as the first. The "Doll Room" has a large jacuzzi tub with a wonderful view of the Tri-States area. The cream-cheese orange marmalade croissant for breakfast was incredible! Susan and Chuck are wonderful hosts!


We Love The Hancock House!!!

5 on February 17, 2010

We have stayed here many times over the last 15 years. Susan and Chuck are the most warm and welcoming innkeepers. We can't say enough about their hospitality. We hold all other B&B's up to their standard and rarely have found any that compare. We live within a couple of hours and don't go anywhere else when we need a getaway. A stay at the Hancock House is a real treat. Beautiful, amazing house and rooms. Susan and Chuck are always happy to talk about the history of the house and Dubuque area. Wonderful breakfasts and a great complimentary beverage pantry for guests. We love it!


a comforting place to say

3.4 on February 17, 2010

We have been going to the hancock house for years, 15 to be exact. We find comfort in that fact alone! The last time we visited we thought that the house needed some updates, namely more comfortable furniture for sitting in the rooms and in the rest of the house. It does not lend itself to cozy conversations with others. But we always like the privacy, the good food and reasonable rates.


This is a must see B&B!

5 on January 25, 2010

Even a cold rain could not dampen our experience of staying at the Hancock House. Coming from Milwaukee, we didn't arrive until after 9 p.m. on a Friday night and Chuck was there with a warm smile to greet us. We stayed in the Library on the main floor adjacent to the dining room and maid's pantry. The room was immaculate and included a wonderfully romantic fireplace and whirlpool tub big enough for two! Breakfast was unique and delicious with a honey-puff pancake, crisp bacon, and fresh fruit complete with the best cup of coffee and fruit juice. Having stayed up late the previous night my wife opted to stay in bed and Susan prepared her a breakfast tray for the room that rivaled any room service tray I've ever seen. The house was wonderful to explore and look at all the period antiques and furnishings. The Hancock house is close to Main St which is host to restaurants, bars, and shops. A few minutes away are two Casinos if that's your thing. There is also nice antique shopping in the area. We would definitely make the 3 hour drive to stay again and you should not hesitate to do the same!


Going Back to my Hometown for My Booksigning

5 on January 14, 2010

Recently, during the month of October 2009, I went back to my hometown, Dubuque, to stay at the Hancock House for the 2nd time. I had written my novel, "Tiny Seedlings...their journey" and was doing a book signing at the library and wanted specifically to stay at The Hancock House. Why? Because I already knew from past experience it would provide the perfect atmosphere for a writer. Any time my family and I come back to Dubuque, we will stay at the Hancock House.


Unbelievable

5 on December 21, 2009

I have never been in such a huge B & B. Stepping onto the wrap-around porch takes you back to 1900! The Hancock House is truly a surreal experience with each room you walk into. Six fireplaces and a huge dining room. Three floors to explore and everywhere another breathtaking room and every room unique with it's own charm! Susan and Chuck may you feel a part of their family immediately and you hate to leave!


Great Time

5 on December 18, 2009

Had a great time, especially the help and treatment from the innkeepers. This was our 2nd stay and will return to this inn.


Pampered Luxury

5 on December 08, 2009

Nothing compares to the Hancock House. We have stayed in many hotels and B&B's. Nothing compares to the hosts and hospitality and downright spoiling we always receive at the Hancock. Lace and luxury for all.


Delightful Stay at Hancock House

4.8 on November 25, 2009

My mother and I had a wonderful stay at Hancock House! The hosts - Suzanne & Chuck couldn't have been more pleasant! So impressed with how Chuck took over in light of his wife having just had surgery. So many experiences he had to share. Their home is beautiful & so nice that they would open this up to others!


Our First B&B Trip

3.0 on November 23, 2009

Let me say that we have not previous experience with B&B, so my views may be off. Overall it was an OK stay and a very nice house (although keep a bit cold for my wife and daughter). I read numerous reviews and did a lot of research in selecting a spot for a small gathering with a family friend we had not seen in years. I really had only one real issue, and that was based on my final selection criteria of this house. With many homes offering rooms, I picked this one because it offered (and this is from website as well as their brochures) "...also available are complimentary wines and imported beer for your enjoyment". So after dinner out on the town we came back and settled into the parlor to relax, visit and have a few beers. In excitement, my friend and I went to the parlor to select a brew. I was AMAZED to find six bottles of Budweiser Select as the entire collection! Not really sure where they IMPORT it from, Missouri perhaps? When I told Chuck that I was surprised to find only Budweiser, he kindly gave me directions to where I could go to purchase a wide assortment of beers. Will we return to Dubuque (a central point between my family and our friend) you bet. Will we stay here again...I kinda doubt it.


A wonderful place with great value

5 on November 21, 2009

This was our first bed and breakfast stay. We stayed in The Library room. It was really nice place decorated with antique furnishings. The breakfast was very delicious. And it was a great place to overview the city of Dubuque. Susan & Chuck are very kind people, they make our stay more like living at home. We will definitely return there again.


Didn't want to leave!

5 on November 09, 2009

Chuck and Susan, Thank you for making our 25th Anniversary so special. We can't wait to visit you again and look forward to staying again for our 26th.


The Hancock House

4.2 on November 06, 2009

Beautiful view and great location. Our host was very friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were comfortable and the food and dining experience was wonderful. There were also many beverages and snacks on hand.


Above & beyond

4.8 on November 03, 2009

A beautiful view, a gorgeous home & room, & gourmet food. Chuck provided first class hospitality


Anniversary

4.6 on November 03, 2009

Excellent! (Maybe a little more heat in the library room would be good.)


The Hancock House

5 on October 28, 2009

We love going to this B&B. It is so beautiful, warm and comfortable. The owners are very hospitable and cheerful. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay.


Heaven in a House

5 on October 12, 2009

My husband and I come here every year Columbus day weekend and have never been disappointed. It is like coming home to family. We love this place so much. The house is so wonderful and the food is amazing. Chuck and Susan are the warmest people you could ever meet and truly separate this b and b from any other we have been too. It is a must see accomodation!


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on September 30, 2009

This B&B is just delightful! Chuck and Susan go the extra mile to make sure your stay is truly exceptional.


Heaven at the Hancock

5 on September 30, 2009

A restful, welcoming and peaceful stay was a piece of heaven for us at the Hancock House this past weekend. Susan and Chuch have maastered the art of hospitality giving all who stay with them a welcomed respite.


1st time stay - Loved it

4.0 on September 26, 2009

My daughter and I spent a night at the Hancock House as a last weekend of summer before she headed back to college. This was our first stay at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is beautiful, and Chuck and Sue were so gracious to all of there guests. Our room was very large and we had beautiful views of the city and the Mississippi River. Breakfast was delious, and we also enjoyed wine in the evening. Our only disappointment was that the weather was stormy and we did not get a chance to sit on the porch and enjoy the view and the conversation. We hope to be able to return during the holiday season this year.


Great Place To Stay

4.2 on September 24, 2009

The Inn is advertised as the Inn with a view and that it is. Chuck and Susan Huntley are wonderful innkeepers. Highly recommend the Hancock House B&B.


House on the Hill

5 on September 23, 2009

We just spent 3 days at a wonderful B&B overlooking the city of Dubuque, the Mississippi River and the cliffs of Wisconsin and Illinois. The spectacular view was matched inside by the warmth of the innkeepers and the charm of each room. It was a 4-star experience.


16th Anniversary getaway - Wayne and Nancy

5 on September 20, 2009

Beautiful, elegant, Chuck and Susan were great hosts!!! Couldn't get over the outstanding views from our room. Food was scrumcious. Romance options were endless in Dubuque. Thanks for a great get a way!!


What a view!

5 on September 02, 2009

Fantastic view of the city, lovely comfortable rooms, manu with whirlpools, attentive & friendly staff, food was great -- catered to special needs. Our group especially enjoyed the large porch for relaxing.


The Hancock House

5 on September 02, 2009

Wonderful hosts, greatlocation with a view of river 7 downtown. a nice touch with complimentary refreshments. Very nice breakfasts.


Home away from house

5 on September 02, 2009

Susan, Chuck, the hosts, make every stay as comfortable, hospitable as possible! History comes alive in this charming home's neighborhood -- it's like visiting friends from/in another time.


A Characterful Inn

4.6 on August 31, 2009

The Hancock House is outstanding. Most comfortable, of course, glorious breakfast and interesting views from the lovely old verandah with swing seats, but most of all great hosts in Susan and Chuck who make everyone so welcome.


Home away from home

4.8 on August 25, 2009

A place of superb hospitality! a great view! Quiet home, interesting breakfast guests!


Superb

5 on August 19, 2009

Susan & Chuck are wonderful hosts. The view from third floor is awesome. The food is unique and delicous. The building and rooms are beautiful and well kept. We have been here before and will continue to return. 8-1-09


Friendly, Beautiful, & Delicious

5 on August 18, 2009

Hostess, Susan Huntley, didn't just welcome us to her beautiful Queen Anne style Victorian mansion, she befriended us. The building and grounds were well-appointed. The food was generous and delicious. The setting, high on the bluff overlooking the city and river, was stirring


Continued Visitors

5 on August 16, 2009

We continue to make The Hancock House part of our visits to Dubuque. Susan and Chuck make our stays very pleasent and the Hancock House excels in hospitality, rooms, view, and attention to detail.


What a view!

5 on August 14, 2009

The view from the front porch and our room was excellent. Everything we needed to enjoy our stay was provided.


41st Anniversary Getaway

5 on August 13, 2009

Hospitality was top notch! Unique architecture, delicious food, beautiful view, and accommodations and decor were first class.


The Hancock House

4.0 on August 04, 2009

Awesome B&B - what a treat. Great owners who love their B&B as well as their guests.


Excellent Experience

5 on August 04, 2009

We loved everything about our stay at Hancock House. The room was lovely with a whirlpool bath looking out over the city. Hosts Chuck and Susan were warm, welcoming, and helpful.


Best ever!

5 on July 31, 2009

Every part of our stay at the Hancock House was excellent -- hospitality, room, view, feather bed and all the attention to detail. First rate!


Charming, Relaxing & Great Owners

4.0 on July 27, 2009

We so enjoyed our stay at The Hancock House. Susan and Chuck are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. We stayed in the first floor Library room. It was very comfortable with a 2-person whirlpool tub, television, a VERY comfortable bed and private bathroom and shower in the room. We have stayed in other B&B's in Dubuque and this one has become our favorite. The snack area in the old pantry was a nice surprise!! It was stocked with great freshly baked cookies, as well as beer, wine, and soda available to guests. We will be staying at The Hancock houses again and we HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who loves good conversation and old-fashioned hospitality! A++


First of Many Visits

5 on July 21, 2009

We stayed at the Hancock House for our honeymoon on the recommendation of one of our groomsmen. We knew we wanted to visit Dubuque, but didn't know where to stay. Neither one of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast before and weren't sure what to expect. Chuck and Susan were absolutely delightful. We stayed at breakfast for two hours the first morning we were there, just visiting with the Huntley's and enjoying their fantastic breakfast. The entire experience truly blessed us as a newly married couple. We plan to visit Chuck and Susan again on our 1st anniversary and maybe even sooner. We stayed at 3 other hotels during our honeymoon and were terribly disappointed with them. We kept telling each other that we missed our new friends Chuck and Susan! I would recommend Hancock house to anyone who would like to get away and have "no worries" Chuck and Susan are most pleasant and will take extremely good care of you. We cannot wait to visit again.


A realxing getaway

4.8 on July 16, 2009

A peaceful and relaxing visit. We enjoyed visiting with the owners who made us feel right at home.


exceeded our expectations

5 on July 14, 2009

Our family of 16, gathered to the Hancock House for our family reunion. Chuck and Susan were so very friendly and helpful, that we felt like they were part of our family. What a beautiful B&B and wonderful hosts. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.


The place to be to celebrate the Independence Day

5 on July 14, 2009

We have stayed here at least 8 times and always have a great time. Chuck and Susan make you feel right at home and have no shortage of stories to tell. We consider them friends. While we have stayed at B&B's in several states this is still our favorite.


Hancock House

5 on June 14, 2009

We have enjoyed the Hancock House in Dubuque, Iowa for 12 years. Outstanding is putting it mildly! Awesome house and wonderful hosts.


Wonderful Getaway

4.0 on June 14, 2009

We just got home after a wonderful one night stay at the Hancock House in Dubuque. First, Susan and Chuck are two of the warmest and most helpful people you will ever meet. They make the Hancock House a very inviting place to stay and they serve a very tasty and pleasant breakfast every morning. The Hancock House itself is beautiful and well cared for, with impressive cliff-side views of Dubuque and the Mississippi River, and a lovely front porch from which to take in the views. We are repeat guests and have had experience with rooms such as "The Library" and "The Doll Room", both of which were very comfortable with whirlpool tubs, televisions, comfortable beds, and private bathroom and shower areas in the room. There is a snack area with great freshly baked cookies, as well as beer, wine, and soda available to guests. If you want a great weekend getaway to relax in a beautiful, quiet, and friendly bed and breakfast, then you can't do any better than the Hancock House. And in our totally biased opinion, check out the Doll Room, as it has a great whirlpool located in the turret on the third floor, over-looking the entire city. Wonderful.


Beautiful

4.0 on June 09, 2009

Susan and Chuck were wonderful. The rooms were spacious and elegant. The breakfast and other guests were great.


Surprise anniversary get away

5 on March 01, 2009

We had a wonderful time at ehr hancock House. Susan and Chuck are wonderful hosts. The library room was great even had a working fireplace. Everything looks and is just like the pictures. Breakfast was lovely especially the crossant french toast! We will go again!


Best B&B in Iowa.

4.4 on February 27, 2009

Susan and Chuck are such good hosts and are so friendly. The food is always great and well prepared. They make you feel like part of the family.


Why I return so often

4.2 on February 23, 2009

Susan and Chuck Huntley are very accommodating, friendly, helpful and efficient in their management of the B&B. Moreover, they know what's happening in the beautiful and historic Dubuque area, and can direct guests with idle hours to fill or with special interests toward rewarding times during their stay.


Hancock House

4.8 on February 23, 2009

We had a delightful time- Susan and Chuck are fantastic!


Hancock House

5 on February 20, 2009

Elegant, warm, hospitality of owners is amazing!!! Charming location.


nice stay

5 on February 20, 2009

nice stay


wonderful

5 on February 20, 2009

wonderful


beautiful location, beautiful people

5 on February 20, 2009

Wonderful accommodations and 'best' food ever!


Victorian Elegance

5 on February 18, 2009

Charming, with wonderful hosts, food, and relaxing atmosphere. I felt at home immediately. The area has many attractions and great restaurants!


Great getaway

4.8 on February 18, 2009

Fantastic setting...gracious hosts...great food. Spacious, comfortable room...historic old Victorian house.


relax!

5 on January 28, 2009

It is a beautiful place. The service and food were outstanding! Very relaxing!


weekend getaway; 35th anniversary celebration!

3.8 on January 28, 2009

Lovely place, wonderful people who own the B&B. Had a great weekend!


Hancock House is excellent

5 on January 12, 2009

We loved every aspect of our stay. Our innkeepers, room, and food were all fabulous!


What a find!

4.0 on November 10, 2008

We visited the Handcock House on our honeymoon in October 2008 and had a wonderful experience. While the B&B was top drawer in accomodations and food, what really made the stay perfect were the two owners, Chuck and Sue. They are totally focused on their guests, which left us feeling on our departure that we had just gained two new family members. My new wife and I plan to return to spend future wedding anniversaries at the Handcock House (as long as both Chuck and Sue stay as owner/managers). We spent a day trip during our stay visiting the nearby (10 miles away) beautiful little rivertown of Galena IL, returning that evening back to our new Dubuqe "home" with Chuck and Sue. I can't say enough about the personal warmth and attention that each of them gave us. There is no doubt in my mind that their uniquely suited "people service" personalities are the primary reason that their B&B does so well, considering the competion they have in both Galena and Debuque.


very nice

3.8 on November 05, 2008

very private, great view from our room. hospitable company


Excellent Stay

5 on November 03, 2008

My wife and I stayed for two nights recently and had a most enjoyable time. Our hosts made us feel at home right away and were around just enough to be helpful and fun without being pushy. Our room (and the whole house) was a fantastic visual feast. Perched on the edge of Dubuque's bluffs you really can see a long way from most of the rooms. It is a short walk to downtown (o.k. shorter going down the bluff than coming back on a full stomach up the bluff). I would recommend this facility to friends and family without hesitation.


Enjoyed our visit

4.6 on October 10, 2008

We had a lovely time making Hancock House our home away from home. The home was very beautiful with all of its historical, Victorian decor. The porch was so relaxing. The innkeeper and owners were passionate to make our stay great. Especially enjoyed the tea books and the special blooming tea made for me by Susan. Food was wonderful.


A wonderful getaway!

5 on July 25, 2008

We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Hancock House. The owners were very warm & inviting & extremely helpful in giving directions around town. Our room was very clean & comfortable & had a spectacular view. The breakfasts were amazing! It was the perfect place to get away & relax.


Highly recommended

4.8 on July 17, 2008

Amazing view from the front porch. Excellent hosts, very helpful. Lovely home.


The Hancock House

5 on July 16, 2008

Excellent! Exceptional Hospitality & food! Beautiful Victorian home located by Bluff overlooking downtown & Mississippi River (from some of the rooms & front porch). A bargain in all aspects!


A Warm, Friendly Place to Stay

4.6 on July 15, 2008

This place was an ideal setting for a friends reunion. From the enticing views from the porch swing to the yummy foods at breakfast, this choice was perfect for us.


The Perfect Rendezvous

4.8 on July 14, 2008

This was a perfect location for 4 lifelong friends to rendezvous for the first time in 40 years. We had multiple choices of inviting places to visit while enjoying access to the complementary beverage and snack room. Our surroundings were outstanding, but the price was very reasonable.


Charm Galore

4.8 on July 09, 2008

I felt pampered the entire weekend. The Victorian furnishings are wonderful and the hosts exceptional.


Girl's Weekend - Sister's Meet Sisters

5 on July 08, 2008

The Hancock House was the perfect location to meet my sister from Central Iowa. I brought my adult daughters from different parts of WI, knowing there were wonderful restaurants and good shopping in both Dubuque and Galena (just a short distance away). We also spent a lot of time relaxing & talking in the beautiful parlor and dining room. Chuck & Susan were so friendly & available but not at all intrusive.


July Get Away

5 on July 08, 2008

Our stay was so much fun. This was our third stay and we always enjoy Susan and Chuck's wonderful hospitality and the delicious breakfasts.


Great B&B

5 on June 27, 2008

This was my first time staying at a B&B, and I couldn't have asked for more. My room was clean, the breakfasts were fantastic, and the owners were very kind. I would definitely recommend The Hancock House to others, and will hopefully return soon.


Beautiful B&B

5 on June 13, 2008

The inn was absolutely the most beautiful B&B that we have stayed in to date. Chuck & Susan were AWESOME! They made our stay most memorable and one place we plan on going back to in the near future! I would highly recommend the Hancock House to all ages.


excellent

4.2 on June 11, 2008

excellent accommodations, food,hospitality, and affordable rates


The Hancock House

4.6 on June 11, 2008

Convivial, accommodating hosts warm the atmosphere inside this gorgeous, old mansion that sits on a bluff above town. Wide views of Mississippi River Valley.


Wonderful!!!

5 on June 10, 2008

The Hancock House is the best B&B around Iowa. The house is wonderful and Chuck & Susan are teh best. We love everything about that place. We will be back!


I love it here!

5 on June 09, 2008

This is one of my favorite places. The rooms are beautiful and cozy. The views are amazing! I love to sit in the parlor and enjoy a cup of tea.


May in the "train room"

4.0 on June 09, 2008

this is a spacious room, one of many in a beautifully furnished Victorian mansion.impeccable detail, not cluttery and even the room is cheerful, if not elegant. not a standard breakfast, it was a unique treat


Great place for rlaxing

4.2 on June 09, 2008

Innkeepers are friendly. Breakfasts are super.


Anniversary Celebration

4.4 on June 09, 2008

We celebrated our 45th anniversary using a gift certificate from our daughter and her husband. The view was awesome and we thoroughly enjoyed the whirlpool. The owners were extremely hospitable and Susan's breakfast was delicious.


a fun getaway

4.0 on June 06, 2008

we love this cozy house! we stayed there once before and thats why we went back. sue and steve are such wonderful hosts.


Our Anniversary

4.4 on May 26, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 4 year wedding anniversary at the Hancock Inn. The view overlooking the valley was extrordinary. Susan and Chuck were very helpful in finding local cuisine and good conversationalist. The parking was a bit disshoveled due to part of the cliff had washed out the roadway leading to the inn. Overall an excellent experience.


Magnificent

5 on May 26, 2008

Words cannot describe my experience at The Hancock House. A lovely Victorian home with private rooms - each with own bathroom, TV, and all the amenities I like when "away from home". Susan & Chuck are the perfect innkeepers. What a treat in the midst of our busy worlds. Carol


It is always just what I need!

5 on April 22, 2008

My husband and I, with and without our older children have stayed multiple times in many of the various rooms. My favorite is the Train Room. I love the huge bathroom. Mrs. Hancock's Room would be my second favorite. What a wonderful experience. If I am by myself, I love Anna's. It is so cozy and interesting with the little arched windows and the bathroom skylight. The small tub under the skylight makes it for a unique bathing experience. The food is always delicious and Susan and Chuck (the owners) are the best. You can not beat the views, the wrap-around porch, the parlors, the dining room and the "cookies" in the beverage center. Make sure you experience this bed & breakfast. Go often and stay in different rooms (9 in all). Enjoy!!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Wonderful review. We hope you will come back often. Maybe stay 4 or 5 days. Ha, Ha


The Hancock House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $80 - $175
  • Reviews (152) 4.7
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5635578989
  • Fax 1-5635830813

Visit Website »

View details

Top