Butler House On Grand Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing

5 on October 08, 2012

Amazing stay second time around. Cant wait to stay again!


Americana is Alive and Well

5 on September 06, 2012

I live in Europe, so this lovely B&B filled with authentic furniture and treasured books really fits the bill when wanting to have a true American experience.


The first time I have been impressed in a year.

5 on January 13, 2011

If you are thinking about staying at this B&B then do it. My husband and I chose to marry in Des Moines and staying at this inn made the trip amazing. From the amazing breakfasts, to turning down the beds at night, to scraping the ice off my car before we left, the service was just amazing; and that’s just the service – the accommodations were outstanding as well. We will come back for all the important anniversaries. Thank you guys so much, Chris and Tj


Annual visit- Favorite B & B

5 on December 30, 2010

My wife and I continue to look forward to our annual visit to see Clark and Lauren. Their family and house are some of the most lovely we've encountered. We have returned every year to celebrate our anniversary and continue to encourage friends and family to stop in. All of the rooms (we've tried 4) are unique, charming, and impeccably clean and orderly. Clark and Lauren continue to impress us with their hospitality. Best B & B we've stayed at! It's one of the absolute best things in Des Moines- which probably makes it one of the best parts of Iowa! Definitely worth visiting and revisiting!


The grand-est stay ever

5 on July 06, 2010

The Butler House on Grand is hands-down the cleanest, friendliest, and most comfortable B&B we have ever stayed at. Each room is meticulously designed & renovated to offer a clean & quiet retreat in the beautiful old house. The beds are luxurious in each room (we have frequented the B&B and stayed in several of the rooms). The innkeepers are wonderful and make one feel at home immediately, while being respectful of privacy. A phenominal breakfast is just icing on the cake. A must-stay when in Des Moines.


Couldn't ask for more - great location!!

4.0 on September 01, 2009

We stayed here one night in summer 2009. Beautiful area of town - take some time to explore the neighborhood if you can. Many historic houses, many just plain ol' beautiful vintage houses, large gorgeous park across the street, nice art gallery with great cafe also across the street. As for the Butler House, I want a house like this! It's very large yet extremely cozy. I sneaked a peek at several of the other rooms the next morning, and they were all nice - but I have to say, the room we stayed in, the Secret Garden, was like something out of a dream. Of all the many rooms I've stayed in over the years, I think this was the most beautiful, cheerfully decorated one. It exuded good vibes. It is impossible to be depressed in this cream-and-coral room - it forces you to be happy! It was heartbreaking to have to leave, but I took the design & color ideas with me. You can tell Lauren pours a lot of attention to detail into this place - she is a true professional. From the truffles at turndown to the Butler House logo notepads to the hallway stocked fridge/'butler's area' to the in-room phones with a 1-touch call button to summon her if you need anything, all has been thought of & provided. She also gave us a good late-night restaurant recommendation. We had never been to Des Moines (or for that matter, Iowa) before, and we left with a great impression. If you have time, visit downtown - it's beautiful. The highlights were the state capitol, which looks like something out of a European baroque fantasy, and the Sherman house/art gallery (free).


worth a repeat visit!

4.2 on February 18, 2009

This B&B is clean and charming with nice, well-appointed rooms. Pillows aren't the best, so bring your own! But definitely worth a repeat visit!!


I wish I lived here!

5 on August 25, 2008

This is a beautiful, yet comfortable, home that hosts Lauren and Clark share with their guests. We have stayed here several times when passing through central Iowa and have had a wonderful experience each time. We have stayed in three different rooms-- all were beautifully decorated, yet still comfortable. My husband has a terrible time sleeping in beds away from home, but even he loves it at Butler House! The breakfasts are to die for, and they will keep feeding you until you can't eat another bite! I only wish I got to Des Moines more often.


Secret Garden Room

3.8 on August 14, 2008

We spent a restful night, but the bed was very soft, and had a tendency to move when we did. The shower stall was quite small, and the showerhead reached my chin (I'm only 5'10", not exactly a giant by Iowa standards.) But, this is to be expected in a 100+ year old house. The rest of our stay was delightful. Service was good, the inn was clean, and the location was delightfully quiet.


Butler House on Grand is Truly Grand!

5 on May 12, 2008

An impressive collection of creative artistry and designer decor is reflected throughout this handsome Tudor property located in a choice area of Des Moines. Attention-to-detail abounds and is only rivaled by the ememplary hospitality shown by Lauren and Clark,the amicable innkeepers. Breakfast is excellent, and a guest refrigerator is stocked with complimentary sodas. Off-street parking provides added convenience. I enthusiastically recommend staying at Butler House on Grand when traveling through or staying in the Des Moines area. If I should ever be in the area again, that is definitely where I would stay.


One of my all-time favorites

5 on January 18, 2007

Gracious innkeepers, excellent location, tasty breakfasts, and handsome decor, different in every room, since this was once a designer showcase. Clark and Lauren recommended an exceptional chef-owned restaurant for dinner. Great choice for business or romance. Excellent value, too.


Butler House On Grand

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $205
  • Reviews (11) 4.7
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5152554096

Visit Website »

View details

Top