Mason House Inn of Bentonsport Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
10 Reviews

Write A Review

Weekend getaway 7/28/12

4.6 on July 28, 2012

We completely agree with the previous reviews- the Mason House Inn of Bentonsport is a perfect place to escape to, to leave the daily grind of home, and escape to the mid-1800's. We have stayed in several B&B's, but this one is special. An oasis in rural SW Iowa! The Hansons' are excellent hosts and the breakfast is wonderful. It is fascinating to learn of all the spiritual inhabitants there too. We had a quiet,peaceful experience and will definitely be returning to stay in the Caboose sometime soon. Our highest recommendation for a family, couple, or group!


Fantastic two days

4.8 on October 20, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a couple of days by ourselves at the Mason House Inn and we were very impressed with the accomodations and the service. Joy and Chuck were great hosts and the temper-pedic bed we slept on was so nice that I woke up early and ready for the day without being sore or tired. Their knowledge of the history of the Inn and the town kept us captivated for a long time and we really enjoyed hearing the stories about the underground railroad and tunnels behind the house. This is a great place to stop in and stay a while and we will definitely be back. Thanks Chuck and Joy for great food and a great retreat.


Relaxing girls night

3.0 on October 17, 2011

My small group stayed at the Mason house.. It was very nice feeling as if I had went back in time. Breakfast was really good and the conversation with the Innkeeper Chuck was wonderful and imformative, His wife Joy seemed to be a little withdrawn at first and since none of us had never been to a B&B before we really did not know what to expect... she is a wonderful cook and by morning she was talking and very cheerful..a smile goes a very long way! I would certainly go back the expierence was very pleasant and veiw of the Des moines river was absolutly beautiful Fall was a wonderful time to choose to go.. I would love to see the Rose garden in the late spring! I'm looking forward to a Murder mystery weekend at the Mason Inn! This B&B would be the most wonderful stay for a couple looking to get away from the kids for a weekend or honeymooners....a nice walk by the river and across the bridge would be so romantic!

Innkeeper Response
I'm sorry I was not my usual 'joyful' self that day. I was having a three-day migrane headache episode. Anybody who has had one of those knows that all you want to do is sleep and pack your head in ice! Generally though, I am on the shy side. Chuck is the talker, I'm more of a listener. But if you need something done....I'm the one to come to. :)


Best Bed Ever

5 on September 02, 2011

We've just returned from spending two nights at the Mason House Inn. We enjoyed this experience so much that we are already talking about when we can go back. The challenge will be having to decide between staying in the unique caboose or returning to the great Temper-pedic bed in the Bentonsport Room. It lived up to the advertising claims for comfort. In addition, I could raise the head and foot to make a great "nest" for my night time reading. This was our first visit to a Bed and Breakfast and we lucked out. Our hosts contributed greatly to the good experience.


Excellent Hospitality and Restful

4.6 on June 15, 2011

Chuck and Joy were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was delightful, and the scenery to die for. Speaking of that, the 'unseen' lodgers were more than cordial, also, and will leave you alone, if you request it. A more than 'safe' place, if you wish to flirt with the paranormal. Will be back!


Loved the place!

5 on November 07, 2010

My husband and I received a BedandBreakfast.com gift card for our anniversary. After reviewing the B&Bs on the web site, we chose the Mason House Inn, mostly because it was fairly local and also because it is historic and we like that kind of thing. The room we had was very cozy and clean. Because we chose the first floor room, we did get some noise from the other guests coming and going out the front door. Next time we will choose a room on the second floor where there is not as much traffic. It would be a good room for someone who can't do stairs. The breakfast was great and the conversation with the other guests was fun. The owners were very pleasant and informative about the history of the place. We will definately be back.


Fabulous Service

4.4 on March 04, 2009

I stayed here on Feburary 27th in Room 5. Chuck the proprietor was an exemplary host detailing the history of the Inn. The room was very comfortable and accented with period historic pieces which allowed me to step back in time. The country breakfast was simply scrumptious. I am planning a return visit this summer.


The Caboose is Great

4.0 on February 12, 2008

We stayed at the Caboose the summer of 06 - it was a real unique experience. I would reccomend that everyone try it just once. The area itself was all closed up so there was little to see or do, I expected more activity for mid July - I hope to return in the future to check out the ghosts in the main house.


Just like family

5 on December 29, 2007

My family absolutely enjoys our stays at the Mason House. Every time the hustle of work and life gets to us, it is alway nice to come to the Mason House for a nice quiet get-away. It is really nice to get away from the noise of tv, cell phones, and the city. We have tried almost every room, but our favorite is the Caboose. What a treat!! Our kids love the Mason House, too! Chuck and Joy treat us like family!! The place is clean, the hospitality excellent, and the food is wonderful and filling. Don't miss this Southern Iowa treasure Sincerely, "Chaos in the Cedar Valley"


Best Stay I Ever Had!

5 on January 20, 2007

The Mason House Inn in Bentonsport, Iowa is the best B&B I have ever experienced! The atmosphere is awesome and very quiet. I enjoyed the hospitality of Chuck & Joy Hanson, who were very informative of the local history and served us a delicious breakfast in the morning! I was especially interested in the house ghost legends! I will definitely be attending the Ghost Hunter University class in August! The scenery around town was also a treat and I love the sound of the lazy Des Moines River across the street! Oh, and the Caboose Suite is a superb addition to the Inn! Thank You to the Hanson's for the best weekend my wife and I have had in a long time! Sincerely, "Busy in Texas"


Mason House Inn of Bentonsport

Details

  • Nightly Rate $84 - $105
  • Reviews (10) 4.5
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3195923133
  • Toll free 1-8005923133

Visit Website »

View details

Top