Songbird Prairie B&B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
184 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful

5 on August 25, 2014

Barb and Ef, I can't thank you enough for your kind hospitality and graciousness in my stay on 8/20. Your home is so beautiful and the surroundings are unparelled anywhere.


"Paradise"

5 on August 15, 2014

Songbird Prairie B&B,is such a wonderful place! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Songbird Prairie and was blown away on how beautiful EVERYTHING was. Our host Barbra and Efrain went over and beyond making us feel welcomed and at home in this tranquil and calming paradise. The breakfast was delicious and something you would receive at a 5 star restaurant. Thank you Barbra and Efrain for making our anniversary one to remember! We will be BACK! Your truly, The Jacksons


Our Favoite B & B!

5 on July 29, 2014

We just came back from another wonderfully relaxing week-end at our favorite B & B! We visit with Barb and Efrain at least two times/year, if not more, because each time we come back it's like coming back to a warm and inviting home. Their hospitality, beautiful rooms and delicious breakfasts are just a few of the many reasons we love to return each time. The name, Songbird, is a very fitting description of their lovely B & B. While you eat breakfast in their beautiful four season room, you will see a wide variety of songbirds. They have bird feeders and microphones positioned near the windows, so you not only get to see the beautiful birds, but hear them as well! We can't wait to come back in the fall, in hopes that the "spa" room will be complete! Jami & Jim


Great stay...can't wait to go back

4.0 on July 08, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Songbird for our anniversary and had a wonderful stay. We found the B&B due to a Groupon and couldn't be happier with how it turned out. The entire place was comfortable and relaxing and the breakfasts were excellent. My husband isn't huge into the idea of B&Bs but the atmosphere was so relaxing that by the first morning he was asking when we could come again! We have already recommended my in-laws check this out and can't wait to go back ourselves.


Great weekday getaway

4.0 on June 29, 2014

We had a great midweek getaway. The breakfasts were detailed and exquisite.


A delight for the senses!

5 on June 25, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of meeting a friend half way between Wisconsin and Michigan and stayed at the Songbird Prairie. It was a wonderful experience for me and I plan to return with my mother and other friends in the future as I am eager to be able to share my experience. The home is a beautiful extension of Barbara and Efrain's attention to detail. It is well appointed without making you feel uncomfortable.The property is carefully tended. I felt very much at ease and welcomed. We stayed in the Bluebird Suite. It was beyond my expectations as to comfort quality and comfort. I plan to bring my Mom to stay in the Purplefinch Suite. Each room is unique and so well done. The highlight of my stay was being lavished on through Barbara's culinary gifting and creativity expressed in the presentation of her breakfasts! Each morning was full of delights for my senses. Plates were arranged and garnished with fresh herbs from the garden. I was wowed by the extra special touches and thought put into each of them while enjoying the variety and activity of the many birds that visited the feeders stationed just outside the windows. I would not hesitate for a moment to recommend this B&B! I went away refreshed and renewed in body and with an uplifted spirit!


Great 2 Day Getaway

5 on June 23, 2014

Barbara is a wonderful host and keeps everything immaculate. The Cardinal room was fantastic! Breakfast was very tasty and it's fun to watch and listen to the birds feeding right outside the windows of the dining area. Valparaiso is a great town with many choices of restaurants. My wife was really impressed with the local yarn shop, Sheep's Clothing. The Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is fun for hiking and is less than 1/2 hour's drive from Songbird Prairie.


Most Relaxing Experience

5 on June 19, 2014

Songbird was a great experience. We had the best host, Barbara, that made sure we were happy, and relaxed. The outdoors were quiet, and my wife and I finished up on some books while listening to all the birds. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to get away from the city life, and enjoy tranquility. - Ricky


Most Relaxing and Cleanest B&B!

5 on May 12, 2014

We have stayed at Songbird Prairie twice and have been extremely happy and refreshed. Barb and Efrain are wonderful hosts. Everywhere you look, from your room to the common areas, there are beautiful personal touches. It is like staying in someone's beautiful home. The bed linens are luxurious. Songbird is very, very clean and I really appreciate that when I stay anywhere. Barb's gourmet breakfast is really something to look forward to, not only for how good the food is, but also for the lovely way it is served. It is amazing how many birds you see when you sit in the breakfast room and Barb can name them for you by sight or sound. Spending a couple of days at Songbird Pairie is a very relaxing experience and you leave refreshed and pampered!


Amazing!

4.8 on April 06, 2014

Song bird Prairie B&B is very cozy, comfortable, beautiful and very clean. Great place for a wonderful getaway. Breakfast was outstanding and a master piece


A wonderful getaway!

4.8 on April 04, 2014

My wife and I were looking to getaway from the Chicago area, and the Songbird Prairie B&B was perfect! From just north of Chicago we made it down in about an hour and a half and were welcomed to the beautiful home and our amazing room. The hospitality, the room, and the breakfast were all perfect. We enjoyed the songbirds surrounding the sun-filled breakfast room each morning. And Valparaiso providing for nice excursions and offered some terrific restaurants. Highly recommended!


Pleasantry at it's finest!

5 on March 23, 2014

It all starts as soon as you are greeted at the door,where we were welcomed by the owners who run the home.The ambiance of the living room that leads to the dining area is just so eloquent.The view from the dining room offers an overlook of wooded areas with many species of birds that will come up to give you a photo opp while they feed. We stayed in the Bluebird room which was absolutely beautiful,warm and cozy,with the Kingsized bed,fireplace,heated tile floors in the bathroom and double whirlpool bath for two.It was so quiet,peaceful and all so private!The following morning we came down to breakfast where Barb was cooking an amazing breakfast for us that included Belgium waffles with fresh strawberries,blueberries and other fruit along with gourmet coffee and fresh orange juice,(among other food items),all served on a beautiful table setting with delightful service from Barb herself and her husband Efrain.What wonderful people they are!Anyways,this Bed and Breakfast far exceeded any expectations and we cannot wait to go back there.Five Star for sure.


Superb Songbird!!

4.8 on March 04, 2014

We enjoyed our stay immensely! Barbara is very nice and cares about each resident. It is a great comfy feel without feeling crowded by other residents. We still felt the romance and seclusion in our room and at breakfast! The facilities were GREAT ...everything was clean and lovely. I am not a bird person. but it was so peaceful and fun to watch the birds while enjoying breakfast. Her food is unique and yummy. We really enjoyed the soaked pear. It would've been nice to have light sodas in the guest fridge (e.g. Sprite/Ginger Ale). Other than that it was a great escape and we will be back.


Cozy!

5 on February 11, 2014

We were really impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. The photos on the web do not do the rooms justice. They are very cozy (and romantic!). We stayed in the PurpleFinch Suite. It has the BEST Jacuzzi tub. It was so nice sipping tea and relaxing in the tub. The property is very well kept. The owners clearly take a lot of pride in their B&B. Breakfast was great - and chef/restaurant quality. Since we stayed during the winter months, we didn't tour the property. The bare trees did however afford us the opportunity for some great bird watching during breakfast! We will definitely be back.


Great place!

5 on January 29, 2014

We have stayed at other bed & breakfasts, and this is by far the best! The rooms were elegant, the food was excellent, and the hosts, Barb & Efrain, were so hospitable. They made us feel like we were old friends coming to visit them in their house. The setting is beautiful and peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Their attention to detail is over the top! I highly recommend Songbird Prairie!


Peaceful getaway

5 on December 30, 2013

We stayed in the beautifully decorated Bluebird room. Spacious and relaxing. The most gracious hosts Barbara and Efrain are wonderful people and inn keepers. The breakfast is so delicious. Quiet surrounding and beautiful woods with deer and birds. Next visit in summer when everything is in bloom. Loved it - Jim & Deb


Lovely and peaceful

4.8 on November 27, 2013

Songbird Prairie is an amazing getaway from the crazy busy world. The woods and peaceful atmosphere allow you to drift into another world of it's own. If you need rest and relaxation, this B&B is a must!


First B&B

4.0 on September 25, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and we were not disappointed! Beautiful house, lovely rooms, and delicious food! Barbara and Efrain were very hospitable, welcoming hosts. We felt very comfortable staying here and would love to visit again. -Kelli & Billy


Songbird Prairie B&B wonderful get-a-way

5 on September 03, 2013

I totally enjoyed every moment of my stay at the bed and breakfast from the moment I drove up. The pictures posted really does not show how beautiful and breath taking the bed and breakfast is. I liked being greeted at the door. It was comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious and displayed so artistically that I took pictures of it too. I will definitely be back and it was a fantastic surprise for my boyfriend for his birthday. Just the get-a-way we needed.


Exceptional.

4.2 on August 27, 2013

We have now had the pleasure of staying at the Songbird Prairie B&B twice. Each time was lovely. The attention to detail that the proprietors pay to everything is evident throughout your stay. Highly recommend.


Beautiful and Relaxing

4.6 on August 12, 2013

Personalized treatment even before we arrived. Barbara greeted us at the door and was an exceptionally gracious hostess. The room was very clean and decorated with beautiful decor. Everything at our fingertips that we needed during our stay. Breakfasts were divine, and we enjoyed watching and listening to to the birds outside the breakfast room windows. A great place to stay!


None better!

5 on July 06, 2013

We have been back multiple times... always a joy to be part of this amazing Inn. It is our comparison factor anytime we visit other Inns they must match the standards set by Barbara at this peace-filled Prairie hide-away.


A Peaceful Retreat

5 on July 01, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and were looking for quiet time to relax, enjoy each other and have fun in the Valparaiso area. We found all of that during our two night stay at The Songbird Prairie Bed and Breakfast. Barbara and her family were welcoming and made us feel like we were entering a home, not a hotel. Attention to every detail was made, including remembering that whether we were tea drinkers or coffee drinkers and most importantly that I am a diabetic! Barbara put agave, rather than syrup, on my plate one morning, because she was in tuned with the fact that I was a diabetic. How thoughtful! We ordered a cheese plate and were amazed with the fine cheeses and fruit that were on the plate. It gave us an opportunity to relax in our room with a bottle of wine and some conversation. We met other couples there that were having the same wonderful experience and had some wonderful fellowship and conversation. Finally, based on Barbara's suggestions, my husband and I had some wonderful adventures and exquisite food in downtown Valpo. Our anniversary celebration was just what we ordered....relaxing! I would high recommend The Songbird Prairie Bed and Breakfast. - Priscilla Dwyer Matt and Priscilla Dwyer, guests


A Perfect Getaway

4.6 on June 23, 2013

I discovered Songbird Prairie on tripadvisor, read the stellar reviews, and immediately made a reservation. Although I could only stay one night, I was just enchanted by the experience. The Inn is located off the beaten path, and it was like stepping into a different world. Gorgeous environment: natural gardens, sun-lit prairie and wooded areas--all gloriously quiet with the exception of the chit chat of the many varieties of birds residing in this natural setting. The Inn was welcoming, as was Barbara, the owner and an incredible Chef. The minute I walked in I told her I was never leaving! My room was beautifully appointed, as was the entire Inn. It was elegant yet comfortable, with none of the over the top frou frou found in many B&B's. And the giant whirlpool was just what I needed to soak away any and all stress. The breakfast Barbara prepared could have come from the pages of Saveur magazine. Her meticulous presentations artfully included edible flowers, herbs and greenery, all from her extensive garden. The food was incredible, with each course more amazing than the last. Last but not least: the magic of the songbirds. In the glassed-in breakfast room, there were bird feeders of all shapes and sizes, so the guests can sit and watch as beautiful birds visit for a bit, have a snack and say hello into the built in microphones. Yellow finches, cardinals, red-winged blackbirds and hummingbirds all made appearances. It was perfect. Peggy M. Evanston, Illinois


Songbird Prairie B&B is outstanding in every way

5 on June 14, 2013

My husband and I have been married for 42 years and (sorry to say), after all of those years have gone by, we have gotten "comfortable" with each other. Our 3 days at this amazing B&B were all it I hoped it would be. We relaxed and watched the dozens of songbirds and reconnected. Barbara has that magic touch to know how a REAL B&B is run.


Great "Getaway" B&B

4.8 on June 13, 2013

Beautiful B&B with gracious hosts. Rooms are very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were creative as well as delicious. Valpo is a great little town. Interesting shops, nice restaurants and a great craft brewery. Also, don't miss the Taltree Arboretum. Jim & Linda St. Charles, IL


Birthday Celebration

5 on June 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Songbird Prairie B&B and it was as good, if not better than our first visit about a year ago. We came to celebrate my birthday and fathers day a week early. We were greeted by Barbara, the owner, upon our arrival and reminded of all the amenities that come with the facility. It was a very relaxing stay and the other guest that were present were extremely nice to interact with. Breakfast was a delight. Very tasty, well presented, and having the various variety of birds coming and going the entire time during the meal was entertaining in itself. We will be returning for future visits.


anniversary getaway

4.8 on June 06, 2013

We enjoy getting away once in a while and this place is not very far from home which was convenient for us...we enjoyed a walk along the trail and the beautiful room also.


First Bed and Breakfast getaway was AWESOME,,,

5 on May 29, 2013

Marie and Anthony our stay at Songbird Prairie Bed and Breakfast was phenomenal we enjoyed all the amenities that was offered. Barbara and Effrain have the gift of hospitality. We stayed in the Robin room it was peaceful and serene. Our experience will be memorable for years. The food was amazing!!! Various spices and ingredients danced a love song on our tongues.... The birds were beautiful to view in the sunroom..


Everything was outstanding...as always!

5 on May 21, 2013

This is the best B&B in the Midwest. My husband and I have stayed three times over the past few years and we are never disappointed. Barbara and Efrain are wonderful hosts, the rooms are beautiful and the breakfast is superb! The breakfast room provides some breathtaking views and birdwatching. All and all, a fantastic escape from the day to day grind. We can't wait for visit #4!


Great getaway

4.8 on April 08, 2013

My husband and I were absolutely charmed by Songbird Prairie B&B! We live in Chicago and were happy to find such a lovely, affordable getaway barely an hour from the city. The room was lovely, filled with thoughtful touches that set the place apart. Plus the breakfasts were delicious! Homemade biscuits and scones, Yum! Full, creative and artfully served breakfasts took place in a peaceful sun room where we listened to and watched the myriad birds. We stayed the weekend and had plenty to do and see: Valparaiso has a quality downtown with excellent shops and restaurants; the Indian Dunes National Lakeshore was also an easy and fun day trip. We headed back to Chicago relaxed and looking forward to our next visit. Thank you, Barbara & Efrain!


Hidden Treasure in Indiana

4.6 on March 29, 2013

What a beautiful 2 days we had in Valparaiso, Indiana. This is a gorgeous Victorian Bed and Breakfast on beautiful acres of wooded forest with birds galore. The wonderful breakfasts made by Barbara were enjoyed in the sunroom facing the woods with so many varieties of birds feeding just a few feet away while we dined on poached pears, baked french toast, fruit served mounded in wine goblets and one of the best omelets I have ever had. The rooms were decorated perfectly in every detail and included fireplaces, wonderful bathrooms with large jacuzzis (some with heated floors),comfortable beds and all so very romantic. Barbara and Efrain have seen to anything and everything you could want and have made their home yours. Valparaiso, itself is fun to wander around and the restaurants are fabulous. You will not want to miss Don Quijoti's, and its genuine Spanish cuisine. The owner/chef will visit your table more than once and the seafood paella for 2 along with the made to order Sangria are not to be missed. This is a place we will definitely return to and enjoy again. You have to see it to believe it. Joe and Lynn March 25th to March 27th.


Beautiful rooms, fantastic hospitality

4.8 on March 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Barbara & Efrain are very welcoming. Their B&B is exquisite. The breakfasts were one of the highlights of the entire trip! Both mornings I was very excited to see what Barbara was serving. Not only was the food delicious, but the presentation went "the extra mile"! Our room was comfortable and the radiant heat floors in the bathroom were a great touch. We hope to return.


Beautiful Place!

5 on March 18, 2013

My husband and I had such a relaxing wonderful time at the Songbird Prairie! We plan to go back this summer! We have stayed at a few B&B's....but not one was as clean and well organized as this one!! The breakfasts were so delicious!! Barbara's presentation was awesome, her attention to detail really impressed us both. The little things make all the difference!! Thanks Barbara for a lovely memory!!


A perfect retreat

5 on March 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two evenings at the Songbird Prairie B&B. For us this was a great opportunity to have a mini-vacation without the kids and enjoy a quiet weekend with each other. The Riveras have created a beautiful, yet relaxing, B&B taking full advantage of the natural beauty outside. We could have watched the birds for hours as they came to the feeders hanging outside of the dining room windows. Songbird Prairie B&B is also conveniently located to the city center in Valparaiso, with many great restaurants and shops.


Wonderful B and B

5 on March 10, 2013

What a wonderful weekend. Our room was beautiful and the home had a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. I did not know that breakfast could be such a wonderful dining experience. Being able to bird watch while having breakfast was great. This was my first experience with a B & B and I highly recommend it. Jean M


What a wonderful retreat!

5 on March 05, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend at Songbird Prairie. Everything was beautiful! The grounds are gorgeous, the home is breathtakingly beatutiful! Our room was very neat and clean. Every detail was in place, from the pile of magazines in the corner, to face wipes and heated floors in the bathroom! The food was amazing! Sitting in the breakfast nook, enjoying the scenery, hearing the birds and eating the wonderful food, was more than amazing! Our only regret was that the weekend was over too fast! Every where we went in Valpo, people were friendly and hoospitable. We can't wait to get back and enjoy the other seasons at Songbird!


Songbird - Weekend Getaway

5 on February 25, 2013

Purchased Songbird B&B from Living Social. Owner greeted us at the door when we arrived on Thursday evening. We walking in it was obvious that this place was spotlessly clean and professionally decorated..Beautiful. Barbara, the owner, gave us a tour of the home and expectations of us with "quiet times", front door locking both in and out, and fireplace operations. The sun room where breakfast is served, was again beautiful, and had bird feeders hanging outside with speakers so we could enjoy the woodpeckers and chirping. The birds were very numerous and entertaining while eating breakfast! We loved it. Thursday night it snowed, and on Wednesday morning, there was a path shoveled to our Jeep going to both doors. (this was before the snow plowing was done in the parking lot)...this was true customer service. Breakfast was gourmet and never rushed. Coffee ready on the table before the 9:00am serving. I believe there are 4 rooms, and all were occupied by Friday. Even filled, it was very quiet, and enjoyed breakfast with everybody. Received Dinner Coupons for local "top shelf" restaurants in Valpo. We went to Bon Femme and Bistro 157. Both fantastic. We are already planning our next visit...discount coupons or not! Highly Recommended. My wife and me are in our late 50's, and travel quite a lot.


An incredibly beautiful and relaxing B & B

4.8 on February 08, 2013

Songbird Prairie B&B us truly one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. From the friendly welcome by Barbara when we arrived - to seeing the incredible Robin Suite - to the fantastic gourmet breakfasts prepared by Barbara - everything was better than we imagined. The whirlpool bath for two was terrific. The seeing and listening to the birds while eating breakfast added to dining experience. I would recommend this B&B to everyone. Thanks Barbara to one of the most relaxing experiences we have ever had. Neal and Leslie Weill


Wonderfully relaxing!

5 on January 29, 2013

We needed a brief escape to revitalize for the coming week. Although the stay was short, it was wonderful. While my wife enjoyed what she later described as one of the best massages she has ever had, I read in the sunroom, then picked out a movie on DVD (which we watched in our room after dinner). Chef Peter prepared a delicious dinner for us which rivaled any restaurant meal in recent memory. We followed that with a relaxing soak in the swirling warm water of the whirlpool tub. Breakfast the next morning was the ultimate finale to a "picture perfect" get-away, another wonderful meal presented by our gracious hosts. We would recommend it to anyone! (...and will.) Keith and Terri Gingerich (Valparaiso)


Blissful Escape

5 on January 28, 2013

Staying at Songbird Bed and Breakfast is like a dream come true. There were so many details that I could hardly keep my focus. My husband and I were long overdue on a romantic getaway. He picked the best one by far. I would highly recommend this B & B. The room was delicately decorated. The bathroom and Jacuzzi was impeccably clean. Breakfast was one course after another, I don't think I've ever eaten that much in one whole day. You will not regret staying at Songbird Prairie. Booking our next getaway soon!


Best bed & breakfast in Northwest Indiana

5 on December 11, 2012

The inn was not only beautiful but luxurious! The staff is very personable & kind. The amenities were plentiful & the 3 course breakfast was AMAZING!!! Can't wait to go again for a romantic & relaxing getaway!!! Jeremy & Missy


Want to be pampered?

4.6 on November 28, 2012

We found Songbird B&B the perfect place to be pamperd while enjoying nature and beautiful surroundings. Barbara has a keen eye for detail which helps make your stay comfortable. She serves delicioius breakfasts with fine china, fresh flowers, tasty recipes and personal attention. We are looking forward to visiting again.


Hospitality at It's Best

4.8 on November 21, 2012

We stayed at Songbird Prairie for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. Barbara and Efrain are amazing hosts and truly make every effort to make you feel special. The gourmet breakfast is phenomenal. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and spotless. I would highly recommend this to anyone needing a weekend getaway.


Highly recommend Songbird Prairie

5 on October 23, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in the Purple Finch room. Our entire stay was so relaxing and enjoyable. Every detail from the way the rooms were decorated to the way the breakfasts were served was carefully planned. The food was amazing - three course meals for each breakfast. We also enjoyed watching and hearing the birds from the sun room at breakfast. We would highly recommend it to anyone who needs a little getaway. Ben & Charissa


A Memorable Experience!

5 on October 10, 2012

We held a small bridal brunch at Songbird Prairie this past weekend. The food was magnificant--every detail was lovely, special, and delicious. And the presentation! Wow! The pressed flowers in the plates, the fresh prairie roses garnishing the entrees, the gorgeous hibiscus in the champagne flutes...all just amazing and perfect. Barbara Rivera has created a peaceful, romantic, elegant, inviting environment for any special occasion. The superb service and gentle hospitality exceeded my expectations. What a wonderful NW Indiana "secret" we have discovered. I highly recommend that you visit Songbird Prairie for a memorable and unique experience. I plan to go back soon.


Outstanding!

4.8 on October 09, 2012

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! Everything was beautiful and clean. We were so relaxed an it was just we needed as our get away! The 3 course breakfast was exquisite and delicious! We are already planning our next visit!


Exceptional B&B

4.8 on October 05, 2012

Exceeding our expectations does not even begin to describe our experience during our stay. My wife and I had a chance to get away for a Saturday night. While searching for B&Bs, I ran across this lovely Bed and Breakfast. After reading all the outstanding reviews and viewing the pictures with my wife (who instantly loved it), we decided to give it a try. The pictures do not really do the rooms justice. We stayed in the Robin suite and it was exquisite. All the way down to the clouds painted on the ceiling, the details and comfort of the room completely exceeded our expectations. This was not even the best part of the room. The two person whirlpool bathtub was phenomenal. Adding to our room experience was the fabulous gourmet breakfast provided by Barbara. Hopefully I do not let the cat out of the bag, but the best part of breakfast was my dessert. You will have to book your own stay to find out what I mean, though. Barbara and her husband Efrain were very hospitable and were the perfect cherry on top of our absolutely wonderful stay. I will definitely be coming back the next time we think about going away for a weekend. Thank you Barbara and Efrain for a great experience. Sincerely, Kevin and Michelle Egan


I felt like Snow White having breakfast.

4.8 on August 29, 2012

The single most outstanding feature of Songbird Prairie B&B is having breakfast with our little woodland friends. The song birds were right outside the window while we enjoyed the best breakfast we've ever had. Not just a few birds but at least a dozen different types of birds. Really amazing! We were actually lucky enough to enjoy 2 breakfast extravaganzas! For Songbird Prairie, it's all about the details. Fruit salad as a work of art. Water with mint and berries. Gourmet jams and jellies. Both main entrees were superb! Dessert that was decadent but fit right in with breakfast. Excellent coffee with fresh cream. Herbs and flowers from the garden incorporated into both meals for flavor and presentation. The two items that must be singled out: the scones (OH MY GOSH! I don't even really like scones and I seriously considered swiping my husband's) and the Bananas Barbara (almost better than you know what!) To say that the home is gorgeous is to minimize the amount of effort these folks have put forth to create an unforgettable environment. Our room was comfortable and convenient. Wonderful little surprises: bird song playing softly in the background, bird's nest topped chocolate under a tiny glass dome, fabulous bed and bath linens. All of the rooms and common areas are richly decorated. The furnishings are sumptuous but welcoming. We were the first to arrive and had the opportunity to see all the rooms. One was more beautifully decorated than the next. The home sits on beautiful grounds with Barbara's lovely gardens and a delightful wood with paths down to one of the prettiest meadows we've ever seen. The attention to detail in the home and grounds is truly impressive. This B&B is obviously a labor of love for Efrain and Barbara. Finally, I love their gift shop. Truly unique items, very reasonably priced.


Superb anniversary weekend

5 on August 29, 2012

We booked at room last minute for our 15th wedding anniversary. Barbara and Efrain were nothing but accomodating. The grounds and home were beautiful. We had a very relaxing stay. The ambience at breadfast was just what we needed. And her breakfast was simply wonderful! It was too pretty to eat and needed to be on the cover of a magazine!


We Love Songbird Prairie B & B

5 on August 19, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Songbird Prairie B & B. The owners are very friendly and make you feel so welcome. The rooms are all very clean and so much space in the Suites. The Blue Bird suite and the Robin Suite are private and so nice with a lovely large bathroom with whirlpool. The breakfast is fantastic, too! Such a lovely place run by two lovely people.


Luxurious Retreat

5 on August 14, 2012

A gift certificate brought us to Songbird Prairie B&B. What a lovely, memorable gift! The setting itself was the just the beginning of a beautiful experience. The attention to detail made us feel like royalty. The breakfast was exquisite in both presentation and flavor. Dining surrounded by trees and birds and hearing them sing was a delightful way to begin a day. Thank you Barbara & Efrain, for creating such an opportunity. - Jim & Pat


Charming & Peaceful

5 on August 12, 2012

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary at Songbird Prairie. What a beautiful place! It was a very relaxing, peaceful experience. Efrain & Barbara are very gracious and kind people. The breakfast was amazing. Barbara is very artistic in her presentation. We truly enjoyed our stay at Songbird Prairie and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a charming place to relax and unwind, Knolan & Kim


Elegance and deliciousness.

5 on August 05, 2012

What a wonderful experience we had! It was better than the pictures on the website. The rooms were perfect and the bedding was shear elegance. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and displayed wonderfully. We will definitely do this again.


First time charm

4.0 on August 02, 2012

Barbara and Efrain are just wonderful hosts and we would enjoy staying with them again. Beautiful charming, cozy, tranquil setting off the beaten path makes for a relaxing time with plenty of things to do around the area if you want to wonder out.


A perfect weekend!

5 on July 06, 2012

Barbara and Efrain sure planned out every detail! My husband and I stayed in the Robin room, and it was very elegant. The breakfasts were incredible. Everything well exceeded our expectations. We definitely hope to go back soon for another relaxing and refreshing weekend. -Amanda and Garrett


Beautiful B&B with even more beautiful surroundings

4.6 on June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Songbird Prairie B&B for our anniversary. It was lovely, the room was so comfortable and clean. And breakfast the next morning was delicious, and the presentation was exquisite. Thank you so much Barbara and Efrain for helping make our anniversary so special.


Absolutely loved it

5 on June 06, 2012

We absolutely loved it! Barbara and Efrain seemed to have thought of everything we needed for our little getaway -- and more! The pictures are great but don't even do it justice. The soothing songbird theme is carried even into the delicious breakfast. From the jacuzzi after a long walk in such peaceful surroundings, to the joy of meeting and visiting with such dear hosts, this place won our hearts. Bob and Margie, June 2012


Beyond Expectations!!!!!!!

5 on June 01, 2012

Our room was beautiful! The building was romantic and very clean! The breakfast was wonderful and the setting was so relaxing! I would recommend this place anytime! Can't wait to go back!


5 Star Delicious Escape

5 on June 01, 2012

If you are looking for a place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, then make this your next getaway. You will feel a 1000 miles away everything when you are a tucked into your private suite. We loved the Purplefinch room. The attention to detail is amazing. But the most unexpected surprise was the breakfast... Barbara's french toast souffle, poached pears and gorgeous presentation would leave even Martha Stewart speechless.


What a Breakfast!

4.8 on May 31, 2012

My wife and I decided to make another return visit to Songbird Prairie and continued to be impressed. We stayed in the Bluebird Room and enjoy the two-person air jet tub. This time we also decided to enjoy an in-room massage and it was the most relaxing either of us have had in quite some time. Dinner at the Bistro was superb (as well as the complimentary desert for guests of the Songbird Prairie - what a special touch). After a couple of warm chocolate chip cookies Barbara bakes and a few Jelly Belly's, we retired for the evening. Waking from a wonderful night's sleep we padded down to a heavenly breakfast. Barbara is such an accomplished chef that her breakfasts are worth the trip. If you have never been to the Songbird Praire you simply have to give it a try. If you like luxury and a phenomenal breakfast that will tickle your tastebuds, you won't be disappointed. - DW West Lafayette, IN


Lovely

5 on May 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Songbird Prairie on May 19, 2012 . We were greeted at the door by Barbara, who had a huge smile on her face. Our room was so pretty ( the Robin Suite) and Barbara showed us a few of the other rooms that were unoccupied. All absolutely beautiful. The restaurant that was suggested was wonderful as well. Steaks done to perfection ( Bon Femme). And then came breakfast...I wanted to kidnap Barbara and keep her at my house! Stuffed French toast done to perfection. WOW! and WOW!


A terrific Bed and Breakfast

5 on May 01, 2012

What a great way to start Spring at your beautiful Bed and Breakfast. You have created such a lovely atmosphere for your guests. Breakfasts were fabulous. Such a beautiful presentation, and the view of the back yard was so pleasant. We have passed on your web page to our friends. If we are ever in your area we will be sure to stop again.


Beautiful Setting

4.6 on April 27, 2012

Loved all the attention to detail - a birder's delight. Breakfasts were amazing and beautifully presented. We found lots to do even though we were there in off season.


Romance 11 out of 10

3.4 on February 27, 2012

My wife and I will choose this bed and breakfast above anywhere else we stay in the future. We had massages in our room by the fireplace. We had a cheese and cracker tray ordered to hold us off until our dinner reservations. The room was immaculate and beautiful decor surrounded us. The attention to detail tops any hotel you will ever stay at. When we came back from dinner there were rose petals around the Jacuzzi. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the romantic setting Songbird Prairie represents.


Beautiful retreat!

4.4 on January 30, 2012

My husband stayed here for his birthday weekend. Even though it was only ten minutes from our house, we felt like we were at a retreat. The room was very nice. We especially loved the heated floors! We had in room massages that were very relaxing! Another one of my favorites things was the scrumptious breakfast! It was so delicious and felt like a chef from culinary school cooked our food! We would definitely return even just for breakfast! This is a wonderful retreat that we'd recommend to others wanting a true bed and breakfast experience. Thank you! Nicole and Joe W.


January 2012 stay

5 on January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time while celebrating our 9th anniversary. Our hostess, Barbara, clearly has a gift for hospitality as we felt welcomed, cared for, and pampered. We were surprised and grateful for the opportunity to upgrade when we arrived, and enjoyed the Robin Suite immensely (the heated bathroom floor is a real treat in the winter). We delighted in the beautiful decorations and luxurious ammenities. Every detail including the music playing when we entered our room and at breakfast helped make our stay romantic and relaxing. Breakfast was a gourmet treat. The Songbird Prairie B&B is worth every penny.


Another Great Stay

5 on December 08, 2011

We arrived late and were greeted politely as usual. Food was great and the room decor was outstanding. We even forgot an item and it was mailed back to us immediately. Will continue coming back, hopefully quarterly. Joe and Jen Downers Grove, IL


Our Favorite Place to stay!

5 on November 23, 2011

Staying here you can expect: nights in total relaxation after long whirlpool soaks, romance by the fireplace in your room, every need being met by Barb and Efrain, and sorry to say it but you may gain a few pounds from her incredible 3 course Breakfasts. Overall it is a perfect place to go with someone you love!


Wedding Night

4.8 on November 11, 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night her last weekend and stayed in the Robin Suite. It was absolutely beautiful, and we could not have picked a better location for our first night together. Barbara was very accomodating and served us a delicious, gourmet breakfast the next morning. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!


Best Honeymoon

5 on November 01, 2011

Well Barbara and Efrain let us upgrade our room for free to the best suite in the house. The room was cozy. I loved the heated floors in the bathroom. The massages we had were amazing. The food was excellent. I have stayed at a few bed and breakfasts before and this one exceeded every other one I have stayed at.


A Delightful Weekend

4.4 on September 22, 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary, along with friends, at the Songbird Praire B&B. The private, natural setting of this B&B is ideal for allowing stress to drain from you. The Robin suite was perfect, and the breakfast presentation was so beautiful I hesitated to spoil it by eating, but that would have been a mistake because it was delicious. What really sets this oasis apart is the love that Barbara and Efrain add. Guests are not treated as customers, rather they are friends who are welcomed into the Rivera home. The Rivera's love to host and it shows in every aspect of their home.


Wonderful stay at our first B&B!

4.2 on September 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Songbird Prairie for our anniversary. Neither one of us had been to a B&B before and were not sure what to expect. We could not have been more pleased! The rooms, decor, food and hospitality were wonderful. We had our privacy inside this beautiful home and while relaxing outside on the grounds. At the same time, it was made very clear that if we needed anything at all, Barbara was only a quick call away. So much care and detail has obviously went into Songbird Prairie, and we will definitely be planning a return visit!


Such a fantastic place I hate to share!

5 on September 18, 2011

Visited many B&B in US, England, Spain. This was one spectacular. The rooms are better than pictured, we have stayed in Bluebird, friends in the Tuscan & Cardinal. All very lovely. Inn keepers obviously have a love for this work. So many little details attended to. Fresh flowers in the room by the tub. Barbara scones moist, light as air. We love the fact it close to us 5 hr drive, dunes attraction 20 mins. But more importantly the Inn would be wonderful without any attraction on it's own. Better than a lavish hotel, more personal, intimate. This was my 2nd visit. So lovely I had to bring my sisters back to enjoy. One sister is extraordinary floral designer amazing eye for design floral and interior. She fell in love with it. My other sister value conscience and detailed eye for luxury. She loved it. Reluctantly say you must go! Reluctantly only because it will make availability for me much harder, but must not be selfish.


First Annual Girls Getaway Weekend

4.8 on September 09, 2011

This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and our first annual girls getaway weekend retreat. We have all come to the same conclusion that Songbird Prairie B&B is exceptional. We plan on making this our retreat next year. We all felt very pampered and were just amazed at the attention to detail in every aspect of our stay. Would highly recommend this B&B.


A wonderful retreat!

5 on September 05, 2011

We booked at a stay at Songbird to get away for a weekend before school started for Tammy and a time away for myself after working 2 weeks straight and everything exceeded our expectations. Everything was first class and we had an absolute great time.


For a special event, spend a weekend at Songbird Prairie B&B

4.8 on August 29, 2011

We enjoyed every aspect of our night at Songbird Prairie B&B: exquiste decorating, lovely country setting, a gourmet breakfast presented so beautifully, and a plethora of birds dining right along with us at the feeders placed at all the windows around the breakfast porch.


a wonderful night at the Songbird Prairie B and B

4.6 on August 19, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this beautiful B and B. The place was warm and inviting, and the Cardinal Room where we stayed was amazing. We loved the little details like the sound of the birds being microphoned on the outside with the speakers inside, a really wonderful effect. The breakfast was way beyond anything we expected, not only was it beautiful but it tasted great as well. I would highly recommend this b and b to anyone looking for a wonderful weekend getaway. Renee Hargrove


Wedding nite

5 on August 12, 2011

This place was wonderful !!!! Best B&B we have ever stayed the night at!!!


The Best!

4.0 on July 18, 2011

It's hard to describe perfection. We could tell from the website that this was a nice bed and breakfast. But the website didn't even do it justice. Think truffles at the bedside, a breakfast so delicious and beautiful that we took pictures of each serving, grounds that allowed us to relax, even lie in a hammock, the sounds of birds chirping while we enjoyed the beautiful dining room. Because we like to experience different places, we never go the same place twice. This will be the one exception to that rule! Don & Joey, Manteno, IL


Best B&B!

5 on July 10, 2011

By far, this is the BEST B&B we have every stayed at! We have stayed at several B&B over the years, and no one ever comes close to the Songbird Prairie! We love this place so much, that we often return to relax and reconnect. The setting is so peaceful that you are able to unplug and relax. The location is perfect, because you are 10 minutes from a major city and 25 minutes from Lake Michigan. The rooms are outstanding! Every little detail is provided for your comfort. My husband loves the chocolate truffle on the night stand! Barbara and Efrain are the kindest people we have met. Each time we visit, they remember us as well as important details of our lives. They really want each person to feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast is 5 star quality!! No need to eat lunch if you are staying here, Barbara will take care of you! Enjoy this amazing gem of Indiana...


Incredible

5 on June 13, 2011

We were thrilled with our stay at the Songbird Prairie B&B. I can see why Midwest LIving magazine voted it one of the top B&Bs in the midwest. The accommodations were outstanding, hospitality of the hosts superb, and the breakfast just amazing. A morning walk around the grounds was an added bonus, and watching the birds feeding at our window as we ate our breakfast. A fantastic experience.


What a great relaxing weekend!!!

4.0 on June 12, 2011

This was a wonderful way to celebrate our 12 yr. anniversary!! It was very calm and relaxing! We loved hearing all the birds in the morning and watching the chipmunks! The breakfast was amazing!! Thank you Barbara and Efrain for a wonderful weekend! We hope to come back soon! The only thing that could use some improvement is the snacks. We didn't enjoy any of them.


Wonderful Experience!

4.8 on June 11, 2011

My husband and I loved Songbird Prairie! The guest rooms are just immaculate and so tastefully decorated. The breakfast is to die for and such a pleasant room to dine in while watching the different varieties of birds come to feed. Barbara and Efrain are very gracious hosts! We only live an hour away, so we will definitely be back in the future. You will not be disappointed, I guarantee. Kathy and Jim B. from Munster, IN


Maybe the best breakfast I've ever had

4.8 on May 30, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Songbird. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the service is great. The best part though, was the breakfast. Just outstanding. I won't forget the baked pear! It was so fun to watch the birds and squirrels right outside the windows. We'd love to come back! - Brian & Donna


This B&B excels at service and comfort

4.8 on May 30, 2011

The birds were wonderful to see and the breakfast was extremely delicious. We love Barbara's kindness and the beautiful rooms!


We'll Be Back!

4.8 on May 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Bluebird Room for our anniversary. Everything was wonderful and we had the most relaxing and romantic time. The rooms are gorgeous, the food was exceptional, the owners were lovely. I was enchanted with the birds (and hummingbirds!) during our stay. Very classy B&B in a beautiful setting. Highly recommend it! Ron and Lisa


The definition of Serenity!

4.8 on May 15, 2011

What a unique find! Barbara is "Martha Stewart on steroids". Her attention to every detail is remarkable. What's not to like? The food, fresh cut flowers, in room hot tubs, bath salts, shampoos, soaps and sound proof rooms all make for a truly peaceful, romantic getaway. Oh, and the birds...dining takes place in a glass enclosed room surrounded by feeders with external microphones. The numerous species of colorful birds and forest inhabitants coupled with the sounds of nature is truly mesmerizing. Efrain and Barbara, thanks for sharing your home! John and Gail


THE PERFECT BIRTHDAY GIFT!

4.8 on May 02, 2011

It was my sister's birthday and I wanted to do something special for her. She is not a person who likes to spend the night away so this was the perfect fit for her. Barbara and Efrain could not have been more gracious!!! Barbara even remembered her birthday!! We were absolutely delighted with the breakfast and how the presentation was so beautiful not to mention that the food was excellent!!! The four season room that we dined in was overwhelming! The wooded scenery and songbirds fantastic!! Then we were given a room with fireplace and wonderful bath to change into for our massage. The robes were plush and Sharon the therapist was great!! While we waited our turns for our massage, we were graciously invited to relax in the awesome fourseason room. (other patrons were gone by then) It was like being in tree house!!! We loved it!! I will certainly return as a guest and I have told everyone I know how great it is to have this treasure in our own backyard. Do not hesitate to visit this bed and breakfast!! You will be just as delighted as we were!! Sincerely, Mary Ann A


Our Best get-away

5 on April 29, 2011

From our warm personal greeting to our kind send-off, Barbara was excellent. The room was beyond belief and every amenity was meticulously attended to each day. The 3-course breakfast with varieties each day was topped-off by songbirds each morning. The restaurant recommendations for dinner were wonderful. Thank you for a superb weekend.


Top romantic B&B getaway!

4.6 on April 10, 2011

The rooms were luxurious and beautifully decorated. Perfectly clean! The surroundings are relaxing. The breakfast is gourmet! I highly recommend Songbird Prairie, and we will be back again!


Would go again!

4.6 on March 26, 2011

The cleanliness, attention to detail and ambiance is outstanding at Songbird. The breakfast was phenomenal and we left stuffed each morning after a leisurely 3 course meal. My husband and I were in the Warbler room on the first floor and did have some difficulty with noise from the whirlpool tubs of other guests while we were trying to get to sleep, so bring your earplugs if noise affects you (I had forgotten mine at home). We would love to go back again and try staying in one of the other beautiful rooms.


a relaxing get away!!!

5 on March 08, 2011

I am so pleased that we stayed two nights! Our room was so relaxing and cozy. The whole home felt like "home" as soon as we walked in. It didn't have that stuffy hotel feel. I don't have enough room to write about the breakfast, but I can say, AMAZING!!!! Barbara is an extraordinary cook. you can tell that there is no detail over looked. we were looking for a place close to home and a place that we could call "our special place", and I honestly say, We've found it!!! I know we'll be coming at least once a year!! Barbara and Efrain have truly been blessed with an amazing gift of hospitality! Thank you for a wonderful weekend! God Bless you and your business! Chris & Ashley


Romantic Retreat

5 on March 05, 2011

From the moment we entered Songbird Prairie B&B we immediately knew we had made the correct choice for our romantic weekend. Our hosts were very personable and attentive to our needs. The bluebird suite was elegantly decorated and inviting. The three course breakfast was delicious and enjoyable in the sun room where nature could be experienced up close next to the windows. We plan to revisit in the summer because Songbird Prairie B&B is definitely a keeper.


Amazing Weekend getaway!!!

5 on February 23, 2011

I have stayed at other bed and breakfasts, and I can honestly say that this is the most amazing place I have ever stayed at. Barbara and Efrain are amazing hosts and their place is simply breath taking!! Everything from the room, to the hospitality, to the breakfast was great. I have never felt so relaxed when I returned home, which sadly I wish I never had to leave the Songbird Prairie! Thank you so much again for a wonderful weekend!! Kary and Spring


Always a Pleasure

5 on February 23, 2011

Songbird is truly a wonderful and upscale experience every time - the fourth time for us. You would do yourself a favor to come up with an excuse and get away from it all. Far enough to make it feel like an escape, yet close enough to shopping, theatre, and attractions if you feel like it. The hosts are exceptional and wonderful people. And if you like the tranquility of watching birds you will not be disappointed with how many varieties show up "for breakfast". Songbird Prairie is first class all the way.


Dreams Come True

4.6 on February 19, 2011

This BB has the" Wow " factor that anyone looking for the perfect getaway would want. From making the resevations to breakfast these owners make every step easy and personalized. The rooms were warm and cozy,the spa-like bath will make all your dreams come true !! We have recommended this dream to all our friends! The only thing that could have made our stay beter would have been to stay longer. Thank- you for providing a place so close with the feel of being away!


Luxurious Delight!

4.8 on January 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday evening (after our wedding in January) for the first night of our honeymoon. We arrived late in the evening to a beautifully candle-lit home and opened the front door to a warm, glowing fireplace and lots of gorgeous decorations. It was breath-taking! We loved our stay in the Robin Room... it was so luxurious! The fireplace was also going strong in that room and it was so warm and inviting with a beautiful Christmas tree lit up (which I really wanted!) The bathroom, with the heated ceramic floor tiles and the cute little eco-friendly soap rocks and gigantic whirlpool tub made it so cozy. Barbara made us a delicious 3-course breakfast (she is a wonderful chef) and pampered us with great service! We enjoyed the handsome cardinals and songbirds that came up to our windows during breakfast. They were all over the place! Barbara even had a speaker to the outside so you can hear them against a lovely background of soft music. All in all, it was a very luxurious stay and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We are looking forward to returning soon! Thank you so much! Jennifer and John


RELAXING

5 on January 15, 2011

Well First off It was New Years weekend. I am caring a Child now and My husband wanted to take me somewhere to relax. Boy did I. The Breakfast was wonderful. I ate everything. Also the bath tub was just great. My husband was working so much and we both needed some time with just us and relax... Barbara is such a great cook. Efrain so friendly to my husband and my self. I have already told my family about this wonderful place. I plan to tell many more. I will return. Thank you so much


ALWAYS WONDERFUL

5 on December 28, 2010

We stay here each anniversary, and this past stay in November was outstanding as usual! The atmosphere throughout is so relaxing and beautiful... the breakfasts are amazing and Barbara and Efrain are the perfect inn keepers! If you are considering a B&B, this must be top of your list! Brant & Michelle


A wish for more time!

4.8 on November 30, 2010

Barbara and Efrain were such a gracious Host and Hostess, even though we were not the perfect guest. We did not have time to throughly enjoy the Inn due to an outside obligation. This was a Get-A-Way for my Husband and My Self taking a break from being the care giver for my ailing Sister. Then of all things I over slept missing Breakfast time, but Barbara insisted on feeding us anyway. I was so embarased being an less than respectful guest, but they showed such kindness. The food was outstanding. If time allows I plan to visit again, but next time I just want to relax and enjoy the beauty of the woodeded area out back and the wide verity of birds. That brough such calm to my over extended life. Thank You Both for Your Kindness. Sincerlely, Roy and Diana Dawes Advance Indiana


Always a Perfect Stay

5 on November 29, 2010

I have stayed at Songbird Prairie time and time again. I travel frequently on business and although I'm away from my home, I feel at home at Songbird Prairie. The room is always perfectly clean and handsomely decorated. Barbara and Efrain are caring and genuine people who work tirelessly to be sure their guests' expectation are exceeded with flawless precision. This B&B is truly a heavenly gem.


Romantic and Relaxing

5 on October 17, 2010

Our stay at the Songbird Prairie was absolutely perfect! We were celebrating our 23rd Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The Inn was beautiful, our room amazing and the breakfast delicious!


what a treat!

4.2 on October 13, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Songbird Praire B&B for a weekend as were attending family weekend at Valpo. It was wonderful. The breakfast was amazing. The attention to detail in every aspect was impressive. We stayed in the Cardinal Suite. Beautiful view of the fall colors and the birds. Highly recommend for a romantic weekend or just a stay to rejuvenate the soul.


Bed and Breakfast stay

5 on October 11, 2010

Even though we live in the area it was a great get away. We would recommend it to our friends. I can not get over how Barb presented breakfast. It was delicious and eye appealing. The grounds were very well kept and added to the experience. Pauline and Gene


Standard of Excellence

5 on September 25, 2010

Return visits for past ten years. Nothing matches the hospitality, gourmet breakfasts, and the peaceful solace of the atmosphere in our many stays at B&Bs around the country.


"Sensational!

5 on September 16, 2010

What else could I say about our visit but SENSATIONAL! Everything you read about this cozy bed and breakfast is exactly what you'll get!! Fall in love with nature...Indeed! Beautiful sceneary, tranquil settings, fabulous food, & loving hosts! It definantly an experience my husband and I will never forget and... one we WILL be looking foward to! Thank you so very much Barbara & Efrain for such great hospitality in your home! God Bless you both!


My New Favorite Inn

5 on July 24, 2010

In my experiences staying at bed and breakfast, I have never found one with as much attention to detail as Songbird Prairie. I stay at bed and breakfasts rather than hotels because if I am going to invest in a place to stay, I would happily pay a little more to make a memory that will last. There were so many things about this inn that I loved. You can tell that the innkeepers put their heart and soul into the whole experience. They took time to talk to me about the birds I observed while eating breakfast. I was amazed that they went to the effort to actually amplify the birds natural sounds for us to hear from the inside! The location of this inn had a spectacular location. You felt like you were in a luxurious setting yet nestled in wilderness and the beauty of nature. The northwest Indiana region had so much to offer, whether I wanted to visit the dunes, Chicago or many of the quaint midwestern downtowns. I enjoyed every moment of the experience. . .from the outstanding breakfast, to the whirpool to just sitting in the beautiful decor of the room in a comfy bed reading a book. The smells of the bath salts, the out of this world chocolates at the bedside . . .when can I return to this place I love?! Thanks for a wonderful stay, Barb and Efrain!


Extended business

3.4 on July 22, 2010

The room was beautiful,and had great amenities.However,being technologically impaired we could not figure out how to work the DVD, even though there was a printed explanation.The breakfast was excellent. I loved the use of flowers and herbs. The only thing we were disappointed in was the care of the grounds,as we are outdoors people. The back of the place could have been better kept.

Innkeeper Response
An Arboretum is 2 miles from the Inn with manicured gardens and native prairies. Songbird Prairie has tended gardens in the front and the rear backs up to the woods. The natural setting allows birds from the edge of the forest and forest birds to visit the feeders while you enjoy breakfast. We have seen over 88 different birds here in our prairie and woods. Also, we enjoy raccoon, chipmunk, rabbits, opossum, fox, deer and others with this native setting. Songbird Prairie is a Certified Natural Habitat. Trying to manicure the woods would discourage these animals from nesting and visiting.


Romantic getaway

4.6 on July 22, 2010

Absolutely gorgeous! The perfect romantic getaway that we both needed. A great place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Thanks so much! John and Julie


Relaxed Hidden Gem!

5 on July 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed here the day after our wedding to get away from it all. There is simply not enough I can say about the experience. The keepers are amazing people, amazing hosts, and amazing cooks. I already plan on using this B&B again and will recommend it without reservation.


Our experience

3.4 on July 12, 2010

Overall a nice place. Our only complaint was, we had bought a package that the B&B offered that did not meet our expectations, when we spoke with our hostess about our concerns we were met with resistance and was never offered for it to be rectified. It was not until we decided to leave that our concerns were addressed. Also we noticed when we first checked in, that there was a journal in our room for the guest to write about their experiences; after our issues in the room were addressed we noticed that the journal was no longer there. Thought that was a little unnecessary. Our weekend would have been perfect if our issues were addressed with a little bit more consideration.

Innkeeper Response
We enjoy having guests in our home. This is our business and our home; therefore we wouldn’t say or do anything that would jeopardize our guest’s satisfaction for any reasonable requests. In the check in room service process, we instruct our guests how to operate the whirlpools the DirecTV, VCR, DVD as well as the procedures for the Fireplaces in the winter months. Unfortunately, there must have been a misunderstanding throughout the check in process that our guests assumed that we would know when they would be returning from dinner; and that on a 95 degree in July day that they would want their fireplace turned on. Even so, had they called us to request this, we would have accommodated them. Our voice mail picked up the phone call and we did not receive the call that said they were deciding to leave. I was upstairs getting another room ready, as I did theirs by turning the bed down, icing their beverage and placing their box of candy, when I spoke with him. We satisfied their request by lighting the fireplace, dimming the lights, starting their whirlpool and lighting their candle. Their breakfast was the usual 3 courses served to them and their dessert was on an anniversary plate. They were also sent an anniversary card for their 13th wedding anniversary. Once again, it is unfortunate that they misunderstood the Bed and Breakfast package offer.


Get Away in NW Indiana

4.6 on July 11, 2010

My wife, Barbara, and I wanted a get away close to home but away from the life's realities....By word of mouth, we found Songbird and our 2 night stay exceeded our expectations. The cooking, the birds, the company and all our whims catered to.....it's called a "home run" on my score card.


A well-kept secret!

5 on July 06, 2010

My husband and I have been frequent guests of this immaculately clean, quaint, and very welcoming B&B. My husband recently surprised me with a last-minute get away to my favorite place over the July 4th holiday! We have some to depend and count on the relaxed, comfortable atmosphere that is always provided by the gracious hosts. They are always available, but never intrusive. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and offer top-notch furnishings, whirlpool tubs and luxurious linens. On top of all that, the 3 course breakfast is scheduled at a decent time--no getting up at the crack of dawn--and is the best food I have ever been served at a B&B. From the table ware to the beautiful wooded surroundings, breakfast is indeed an experience, not just a meal! We can't wait to go again!


Songbird Prairie B&B Exceeded All Our Expectations

5 on July 02, 2010

This was the BEST B&B we have stayed in to date. We stayed in the Warbler Suite, which was beautifully decorated. The 3-course gourmet breakfasts were outstanding, and we really enjoyed the breakfast room where we could watch the multitude of birds eating at the feeders just outside the windows. This B&B backs up to woods, so you can imagine the birds we saw. The bird songs were piped into the breakfast room via a microphone, so the meal was relaxing. Just a 30 minute drive to the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, and perhaps 10 minutes to downtown Valpo. We'll visit again! David and Michele


Three course breakfast a feast for the eyes and stomach!

5 on June 30, 2010

A two hour breakfast! Not only was the food delicious but it was visually exquisite. From the flowers adorning each plate to the mixture of herbs atop our omelets we were entranced. Add to that the delightful company of the other couples as well as chef Barbara and you can see why we spent two hours over breakfast. Jan and Dave


our wedding stay

5 on June 09, 2010

What an amazing place to stay on the first night of our honeymoon!!!! Will never forget this time and can't wait for another stay! Barbara is amazing as well as all of God's beauty surrounding Songbird Prairie! Will submit a photo soon. Thanks again for making our stay so wonderful!!!! Lori and Dirk


excellent service

5 on May 29, 2010

The innkeepers, Barbara and Efrain were so cordial and professional. The rooms were so cleanly and beautifully decorated. The path my husband and I walked down had us falling in love with each other all over again! The jaquzzi was so relaxing and calming. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is looking for a perfect getaway! Oh, and the three course breakfast was like a little piece of heaven on a plate!


It was OK

2.8 on May 26, 2010

We stayed at Songbird one night. We had the Warbler room. It was one of the first warm humid days and our room was freezing, I turned the ceiling fan off that was running on high speed and put magazines over the floor vents to block the cold air. I wanted to open a window but there were no screens. The bed was comfortable but, the pillows were foam "blocks". Great breakfast but, was served at 9:00 and check out was at 10:30, not much time really. On our way out I felt like we got the "bums rush" our hostess's hand was on the front door knob the whole time we talked and then she opened the door mid conversation. I guess she had more important things to do than talk to her paying guests. Nice place, lots of birds, though, the fake bird sounds in the dining room were a bit much. Never felt welcome or relaxed, will not return or recommend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this information. We are always looking for ways to improve our inn for future guests. We are sorry this guest was uncomfortable. The thermostat was raised as they asked. Yes, it was very humid and we did not have a chance to place the screens in the room. The fan was on high to cool the room and due to the high ceilings it was too cool for this guest. When we went in to turn down, the registers were all covered with magazines and the room was muggy. We know that some people do not like air conditioning. We offer 4 different pillows in each guest room from feather to foam for different preferences. Our 3 course breakfast takes about an hour to relax and enjoy. We always walk our guests to the door and open it because their hands are full of luggage. Check out time is stated on the web site, their confirmation and at check in at 10:30. These guests were leaving well after 11:00. For all of the “birders” as you know, May is the best time to come and hear all of the bird’s mating calls through the microphones we have placed in the dining area. Barbara and Efrain Rivera


A great night away

5 on April 07, 2010

Once again we were so impressed with the attention to detail, the decorating, the snacks and the fabulous breakfast. We are looking forward to staying over again - possibly trying out a new room! Thanks again!


A relaxing and pampered stay

5 on April 07, 2010

The B&B is is in a beautiful wooded setting and Barbara always is so gracious and welcoming. The lavish bedrooms have comfortable beds and a delicious decorated truffle waiting for you. Each breakfast is homemade and served on an enclosed porch filled with birds singing from outside and a perfect view of their feeders right outside the window. This is our favorite B&B.


Peaceful and Luxurious

5 on March 31, 2010

I was searching for a quick but nice place to stay while in town on business. Barbara was more than just accommodating! She went above and beyond to be sure I was up and out the door on time for my meeting, while still able to have my coffee and breakfast. The room was immaculate. Waking up to the birds chirping and the beautiful sunshine topped it all off. Will certainly share with my co-workers.


songbird stay

4.6 on February 25, 2010

We had a great stay. Food was delish and room delightful. Phil and Karen


A very nice experience

4.0 on February 01, 2010

Clean, welcoming and relaxing. An enjoyable experience from start to finish and would definitely stay there again.


Wish I were there right now!

5 on January 09, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Songbird Prairie for the first time this fall. When looking for a B&B I choose carefully. We were NOT disappointed!!!! As I sit at the computer writing this review, the temperatures are frigid outside, and listening to Songbird Prairie's soothing music from their website, I wish we were there right now! We stayed in the Cardinal Room. It has a great view of the backyard woods. The rooms are abosolutely beautiful and thoughtfully planned. We enjoyed sitting in the living room looking at the magazines and books. The sunroom where breakfast is served has a beautiful view and you can hear the birds sing through an intercom system. There are snacks and various beverages available in the kitchen at all times. Barbara has planned your stay to the detail like chocolates in the room, great soaps, etc. She helps choose dinner visits at nearby restaurants. We were very pleased with both dinners we ate nearby. We also enjoyed the trip to the Indianna Dunes. But best of all.....the food at breakfast was absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!! The presentation was beautiful and the food was was out of this world!!!!!! We also enjoyed visiting with Efrain Sunday morning. I can't wait to go again. You won't be disappointed!!!!!!


Wonderful gift

5 on December 09, 2009

The ambience was spectacular, the room was beautiful, the setting serene and the breakfast delicious.


Always Wonderful

5 on November 14, 2009

We love it at Songbird Prairie! We try and visit each year for our anniversary and each year it is amazing! We've been to several B&Bs and Songbird is our favorite by far. Barbara and Efrain are wonderful, the rooms are beautiful, views are amazing, food is delicious... can't say enough!


Perfectly Luxurious and Romantic B&B

5 on October 29, 2009

There are not enough words to describe how much my husband Austin and I loved Songbird Prairie. We went for our honeymoon in the beautiful autumn season and the grounds were absolutely breathtaking with fall colors. Every detail at Songbird has been lovingly attended to and the rooms are spectacular - from gorgeous furniture and decor to luxurious linens and robes. The breakfasts are SO delicious and quite hearty, and are perfectly served in a sunroom surrounded by woods and bird feeders that attract a constant stream of cardinals, finches, blue jays, robins and more. We also got massages from a licensed LMT, Leslie, which was a wonderfully relaxing way to start the trip. All the arrangements for that were handled through the B&B. The owners are extremely personable and friendly and have put a tremendous amount of work into the B&B. I'm recommending Songbird Prairie to everyone I know, and my husband and I will definitely be back!


Breakfast With The Birds

4.8 on October 22, 2009

Best breakfast I ever had at a B&B. I loved having the birds close enough to touch. Can't wait to see the hummingbirds in the spring.


Escape from Reality

5 on October 22, 2009

Its a GREAT place to escape reality and just relax and unwind. We walked out the door and saw 3 deer playing in the field. Its very relaxing to sit and hear the birds chirp. The Breakfast is something to be seen. Words won't do it justice. If you looking for a wonderful get away to relax, you won't go wrong staying here. Bill Hartman


Exceptional Experience

5 on October 15, 2009

I've stayed at Songbird Prarie numerous times when I'm in their area on business. It's perfect to return to the B&B after a long work day to a very quiet and tranquil location. The attention to detail in every room is phenomenal. The rooms are very comfortable. I appreciate being able to work via wireless internet in the evenings while enjoying the fireplace in every room. Barbara's breakfasts?? Wow!


We'll be back every year

5 on October 07, 2009

This was our second stay at songbirg prarie and it was even better than the first stay. i always thought that b&b's were for my parents (i'm 25), but my wife and i LOVE it here. we love the breakfast, the walking paths, the nature, the birds (yes, there are so many birds outside and barbara knows so much about them), and how close it is to our house in northwest indiana. in fact, during our second stay, we loved our room SO much that we stayed in all day on saturday and watched movies. the bed was the most comfortable bed my wife and i had ever slept in and we can't wait to go back and sleep in another room! so far, we've stayed in the warbler and the cardinal rooms and they are amazing. they're a far cry from the cold 'colonial' rooms with doilies everywhere that you see at other bed and breakfasts. can't wait to come back for our anniversary next year.


Luxurious

5 on September 29, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay at Songbird Prairie. This B & B is upscale and luxurious and we would highly recommend it. A walk through the "woods" was quite refreshing after a wonderful 3- course breakfast. We would love to see all of the seasons here.


Honeymoon at Songbird

5 on September 11, 2009

What a beautiful place! Everything was wonderful. Barbara thought of every detail in the rooms and with the amazing breakfast. Would recommend without hesitation.


Anniversary Stay

5 on September 04, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Songbird Prairie. This was our second time there, and we would highly recommend it to anyone. The home is just lovely, and the food is absolutely incredible.


Anniversary Get-Away

5 on August 05, 2009

We went to Songbird Prairie for our 7th wedding anniversary. My husband found Songbird online by accident, and after looking at the pictures and seeing what they had to offer, we thought we would give it a try. We are so glad that we did!!! The place is beautiful. The room was amazing, and so relaxing. Sunday morning breakfast was great. The owners truly go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. We couldn't ask for a better way to celebrate our anniversary. We have already started telling people about the place and we look forward to getting back there this fall for a weekend get-away again!!!! Adam and Heather Lyle


Wonderful weekend

4.6 on July 29, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend at the Songbird Prairie. Barbara and Efrain have a beautiful home and go above and beyond to make sure you experience the songbirds and make you feel at home. We have stayed in numerous B&Bs across the country and this was by far one of the best breakfast dining experiences we have had. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is going to be in the Valparaiso area. Sheryl ---Germantown, TN


Songbird Prairie

4.6 on June 28, 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Songbird Prairie Bed and Breakfast and it was the best thing we ever could have done. Songbird is so relaxing and the people are welcoming and kind. We had the most amazing honeymoon and owe a lot of that to the Songbird. Thank you! Rachel & Chad


Songbird Prairie outstanding

5 on June 27, 2009

We have been to quite a lot of B&Bs and this one is simply outstanding in our minds. I cannot recommend it highly enough, especially to birders. Not only are you surrounded by wonderful sites to go birding, but when you return to your inn you have the delight of being in setting of singing birds and when you partake of the scrumptious breakfasts you are once again surrounded by birds and birdsong. It is simpy an experience that you won't want to miss.


Very relaxing!

3.6 on June 16, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Song Bird. The property was beautiful and peaceful. I loved the updated clean rooms. I didn't feel like I was staying at grandma's house like many other bed and breakfast feel. Breakfast was wonderful and very filling. We plan to return.


Great!

4.0 on June 11, 2009

Everyuthing was excellent. The atmosphere of the room when we checked in was perfectly set with a soothing aroma and romantic music. The scenery was also very amazing!


A B&B unlike most others . . .

4.4 on June 09, 2009

My wife & I first experienced this lovely B&B on our wedding night, the Bluebird room offering a very romantic stay. Then to awake to a delightful breakfast served by Barbara made our first night together that much more memorable. We have now returned for 2 more visits, and each one has taken us to a 'world' of our own, a time away from everyday life. One of the most beautiful & relaxing places either of us have ever spent an evening.


Beautiful retreat

5 on May 30, 2009

Songbird Prairie was a perfect relaxing retreat. Every detail perfect. I was extrememly impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. It is obvious that the Innkeepers spend a good deal of time making sure everything is just right. The food is WONDERFUL and worth the trip all on it's own!!!!


Wonderful B&B

5 on May 20, 2009

We stayed in the Warbler Suite and it was lovely. The room was beautiful with a large private bath. Everything was cozy, we felt welcome, but had plenty of privacy at the same time. Breakfast the next morning was amazing! A great place to stay!


Romantic and relaxing

4.6 on May 20, 2009

Great place to stay. Wonderful location. Barbara and Efrain are terrific hosts. Would not hesitate to go back again.


We're hooked...Songbird is AMAZING!!!

5 on April 24, 2009

Everyone needs to stay at this B&B. No kidding...my husband and I are hooked! We cannot even think of going anywhere else. It is only 25 min. from our house, but all we talk about is when we're going back. It is a place of serenity and warm hospitality. Barbara and Efrain are the BEST! They make you feel like royalty. We have stayed in the Blue Bird, the Robin and the Warbler. They are ALL fabulous. Not one single disappointment. The pictures on the website don't even tell a quarter of the grandness of these rooms. Prepare to be amazed! The grandness of the Songbird could never be captured in a picture....you have to see for yourself!!!! Book a room now and you'll never go anyplace else! We can't!!!


Can it get any better!

5 on April 16, 2009

If this is your first time or your 100th experience at a B&B you must put Songbird Prairie on your must visit list. Every part of te experience is outstanding. The rooms are all beautiful, the hosts are most gracious, the breakfast an exquisite delight. And if you have any interest in nature, the "show" out the windows is fascinating.


Songbird Prairie Review

4.0 on October 02, 2008

The room was great and the hot tub was very relaxing. The birds outside the dining room were beautiful. Breakfast was generous and delicious. We had a lovely time here.


Songbird Prairie

3.8 on September 30, 2008

Nice rooms, quiet area, very private, very hospitable proprietors.


I with the whole world knew about this B&B

5 on September 21, 2008

Hello, My name is Mikki Sinn, my husband and I are young newly weds from Terre Haute, IN and Hamlet,IN we are Lieutenants in the United States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol. We were searching for the best Bed and Breakfast to enjoy our honeymoon and something that would not break our piggy bank. We came across the internet site for Songbird Prairie and we couldn't help but be captured by its beauty. We stayed two nights but were in love with Songbird Prairie the moment we walked into it. It was like a fairy tale. The service was beyond amazing, the food was so good that it was a taste of heaven, the rooms...I can't begin to describe how we felt about it, it is something you have to experience for yourself, you just never want to leave. I have never seen such an imaculate room. My husband and I will without a doubt be back for an anniversay or just simply to stay - it was that great of an experience and we hope others will discover this piece of heaven. It is more than worth your money!!! ~Mikki and David Sinn Hamlet, IN


Luxurious Retreat from Reality

5 on September 18, 2008

This was at least our 4th visit here! We have stayed in every room. Our next stay will be in the newest suite, soon to be available. Consistency is the best word to describe the atmosphere of this establishment. You can depend on being treated like loyalty every time you stay. Barbara goes above and beyond what is expected for a "B&B" meal! It truly is a "dining experience" not just a meal. The rooms are lavishly furnished, impeccably clean. Songbird Prairie is by far the best B&B we have ever visited!


Enjoyed our stay.

5 on September 15, 2008

Lovely B&B--immaculate. Great food and nice proprieter.


do yourself a favor and stay here!

5 on September 15, 2008

we recommend staying at songbird prairie. our only regret was we only booked one night! we enjoyed ourselves so much that we wished that the room wouldve been available for another night. the view from the dining area is beautiful. thank you barbara for your warm hospitality!


beautiful

4.8 on September 15, 2008

A friend of mine told me about songbird, and said it was the best B&B she had stayed at. Although I was a little skeptical at first, just because of the location, I eventually decided to give it a try. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night and we loved it! The room was perfect, our hosts were fantastic, and the property was beautiful. Even the dinner we had downtown was great. I wish we had stayed for two nights instead of one.


Best Ever

4.8 on September 15, 2008

Of the many B&B's we have stayed in America and also abroad our stay at Songbird Prairie is the most memorable. Both Barbara and Efrain went out of their way to make us feel welcome and very much at home. The quality of the food and its preparation was a special treat and the elegant presentation made it even better. Breakfast at Songbird Prairie is an experience. Our room was well appointed (Bluebird Room) and comfortable; the modern bathroom with all its amenities a luxury.


Uniquely Romantic and Restful

5 on July 16, 2008

We recently enjoyed this amazing B&B to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. We were immediately delighted by the warmth of the innkeepers and the beauty of the inn and its surroundings. Cheescake, cookies and beverages available for our enjoyment, chocolate delights under glass by our bedside each night, clean robes, slippers and lush towels were just a few of the details that set the Songbird apart from most others we have visited over the years. The cleanliness and beauty of the rooms were just superb. And the peacefulness was divine - literally. Whether quietly admiring the wildlife at the breakfast tables each morning, walking on the grounds or napping in a hammock, this solitude was just what our souls needed. Thank you so very much for exceeding our expectations! We are already looking forward to our next visit. JKS


Hard to Imagine

5 on July 09, 2008

The birds around the breakfast room are such a treat. The rooms are gorgeous, spotlessly cleaned, and very quiet. A three course breakfast to top it all off. We made another reservation for next month!


Very Enjoyable and Relaxing!

4.0 on July 08, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing evening at the Songbird. We stay at bed and breakfasts fairly often and I believe this was the best place we have stayed. I would highly recomend the Songbird B&B to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful time!


Anniversary Getaway

5 on July 07, 2008

What a romantic getaway! From the moment Barbara greets you at the door you are in awe! The rooms are beautiful, the double whirlpools are awesome. The food is fabulous! Thanks again Barbara and Efrain.


Beautiful Bed + Breakfast

5 on June 30, 2008

Our one night stay at Songbird Prarie B&B was memorable. Effrain did a fabulous job of greeting us and giving us the Grand Tour (although he called himself a novice at this since it is usually Barbara who does this). We sat outside under the porch in a thunderstorm, read our magazines and watched the birds. We enjoyed our night in the Cardinal Suite which was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, more than adequately supplied and included such comforts as robes and slippers and a lucious chocolate in a glass container on each side of the bed. Our three course breakfast the next morning was delicious. We enjoyed fresh fruit cut in the shape of birds, an omelette made to order, freshly baked biscuits, bacon and, although we were too full to sample it, Barbara's banana dessert looked sinfully delicious. This B&B is in the country and is nestled in a wooded area where you can enjoy the wildlife as you eat breakfast. They have microphones to better hear the birds and resources to help you identify them - this was the draw to the B&B for us and we did not leave disappointed.


what a wonderful escape!

4.4 on June 27, 2008

Our room was incredible, the decor was top notch. The entire house was just beautiful - we felt welcome and relaxed, and while we were staying in a home we still had our privacy. The breakfast was outstanding and the hospitality was evident from the moment we arrived. Hope to return soon.


first b&b

5 on June 16, 2008

we chose this b&b to celebrate our 1st anniversary. everything was perfect! our room was beautiful and very luxurious. our host's cooking was incredible and the view from the breakfast room was amazing. we are looking forward to coming back


ecellent attention to detail!!!

4.0 on June 04, 2008

the setting is beautiful. i always feel i want a fireplace near the bed along with a spa. this pleasantly fulfilled all


Peaceful Escape

5 on June 02, 2008

My husband and I spent our first night as husband and wife in the bluebird suite. We had such a wonderful relaxing time that we were not even that excited anymore to leave the next day on our honeymoon. The grounds are exceptional, the rooms so romantic and could not be cleanier. The breakfast was divine and the birdwatching so peaceful. Barbara and Efrain were so sweet and friendly we can not wait to go back.


Wedded Bliss

5 on May 28, 2008

We arrived after our wedding to Songbird Prarie and even after the exhausting day we just endured , we were captivated by the charm and warmth and character of the place. We entered in to the soft glow of candles and ambient light and QUIET! It was the perfect escape from a long day of sore feet uncomfortable clothes and crazy friends and family. I couldn't have hoped for a more romantic setting for my new wife and I. We missed breakfast but everything smelled delicious and the coffee was great. You have to see it for yourself, Barbara was just the sweetest thing. So polite and helpful. We will be making a tradition of attending Songbird Prarie for our anniversary. -


Very Romantic!!!!

5 on May 27, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights in the Bluebird Suite. Our room was so romantic. Barbara and Efrain have done a wonderful job of creating the perfect romantic getaway. Their property along with our room was simply magnificant. The breakfasts were delicious. It was so wonderful being able to enjoy all of the birds and wildlife while we stayed at this enchanting place. Thanks so much for creating such a magical place for others to stay. We hope to return again in the future.


Wonderful experience!

5 on May 27, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 21st anniversary at the Songbird Prairie B&B in Valparaiso, Indiana. This place is amazing. Beautiful rooms, beautiful landscaping and the owners were wonderful. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful not to mention the presentation. Very peaceful atmosphere. Will definitely stay here again.


Peaceful retreat

4.8 on May 22, 2008

We were married at nearby Aberdeen Manor in Valpo. Our family gifted us a night at Songbird Prairie after our reception so we wouldn't have to stay at a regular hotel. Everything was wonderful! My husband picked up our key prior to the regular check-in time since we would be arriving after hours. The Bluebird Suite was so beautiful when we arrived; it exceeded the photos on the website. Candy, chocolate-covered strawberries, and sparkling cider were waiting for us to snack on in our suite. We especially appreciated the lighted whirlpool tub to relax in after a very long day. The breakfast we had the next morning was fantastic! We enjoyed sitting in the sunny breakfast room and its expansive views of the property and woods. It was so relaxing and quiet, which was much appreciated after all of the wedding hubub over the prior two days. We were too full to eat our warm apple pie at the end of the meal so Barbara packed it up "to go." It is obvious that Efrain and Barbara pay attention to detail and care about providing their guests an exceptional experience. We would stay there again without question.


Modern Ammenitites-Midwest Charm

4.8 on May 20, 2008

This was are 3rd visit to the Songbird. I appreciate the modern ammenities Barb and Efrain have provided in such a comfortable Midwest setting. The Inn is just one minute from US-30 but you feel like you are in the middle of the country away from the world. We sat and drank coffee outside while we watched the wildlife awake and start feeding at all the feeders. We came inside to the smell of breakfast being served in the sunroom, which was delicious. The Songbird is truly a luxurious Inn and I highly suggest this place for a weekend getaway.


Highly recommended

5 on May 20, 2008

This was an exceptional bed and breakfast. There was a large selection of cold and hot drinks (really lovely teas) and sweet and salty snacks on offer all the time. The room was great- very well appointed- very thoughtfully put together. The food was really well done as well. Barbara was so warm and helpful with everything from dinner reservations to the migration of the local birds. It is an ideal combination of 5 star amenities and a really beautiful setting. It was so nice to get out of the city and walk in the woods- we saw deer and at least 13 different species of birds! It was incredibly relaxing.


ESCAPE

5 on May 20, 2008

MY HUSBAND AND I WANTED TO GET AWAY FOR HIS 62ND BIRTHDAY - AWAY FROM YARD WORK, TELEPHONES AND ALL THE RESPONSIBLITIES LIFE THROWS OUR WAY. WE DEFINANTY FOUND IT AT THE SONGBIRD PRAIRIE B&B. EVERYTHING ABOUT THE INN WAS WONDERFUL AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT. THE INNKEEPERS FELT LIKE FRIENDS WHEN WE LEFT AND WE ARE GOING BACK AS SOON AS TIME ALLOWS - THANK YOUR BARBARA AND EFRAIN! WHAT A GREAT ESCAPE, BUT CLOSE TO HOME.


A comfortable weekend

5 on April 21, 2008

This was our second visit with Barbara and Efrain. As like the first, everything was just ideal. The room, the breakfast, and the whole atmosphere was absolutely ideal. We will definitely be back!


Fantastic Time at Songbird!

5 on April 07, 2008

The Wabler is a fantastic room! The attention to detail was amazing. . .chocolates on the pillows, fresh flowers throughout, activites provided during stay, spa accessories! Just a great experience. Breakfast was spectacular! You won't leave hungry!


The best gift ever

5 on March 24, 2008

My husband surprised with me an overnight getaway. From the moment we pulled into the drive I was in awe! We were greeted at the door on a first name basis and a friendly smile. The rooms were absoultely beautiful. The next morning we were severd a wonderful breakfast that was fit for a King! If you are looking for an outstanding B&B I highly recomend you try this one!!!!!!!


Amazing every time!

5 on March 04, 2008

My husband and I have stayed overnight twice now and Barb and Efrain are amazing! Everything is thought of down to every detail. You will walk away wishing you could stay longer. It's relaxing, rejuvenating, breathtaking, fulfilling! The breakfast is beyond words. Barb has an awesome touch. Trust me, you can't go wrong staying here. We plan on staying in every single room....and then still coming back!


Weekend for R & R

5 on February 25, 2008

Barbara & Efrain, My weekend was just wonderful, from the kind welcome to the time when I left!! The room was gorgeous – everything I could wish for (the tub was a special relaxing luxury). Breakfast was scrumptious with such a beautiful setting. Evening treats filled that late sweet-tooth craving. Thank you so much – I absolutely will return. In fact I mentioned to my kids we need to plan a family weekend.


A wonderful experience

5 on February 25, 2008

Our trip to Songbird was a truely memorable experience. Barbara and Efrain extended gracious hospitality and offered impeccable amentities. The meals were outstanding, only complementing the entire weekend. Thanks again for such a great time!


Romantic Experience

5 on February 05, 2008

My new bride and I were thrilled to spend a night of our honeymoon here! It is an incredibly romantic atmosphere coupled with a feeling of home. You will get more than what you pay for here! The three course breakfast was amazing!!!! You won't believe how good breakfast can be. We can't wait to come back!


Winter Wonderland

4.8 on December 20, 2007

It was an all around perfect stay at the Songbird Prairie B&B. Our room was most comfortable, breakfast was superb and the unexpected snow added to this picture perfect setting with the beautiful array of birds, especially the cardinals, fluttering back and forth from their unique covered feeders. We most definitely will come back.


Beautiful setting

4.8 on October 30, 2007

Singly the Best meal I’ve ever enjoyed at a B&B. Thoroughly and completely wonderful!


Relaxation for a “song!”

4.8 on September 14, 2007

If presentation is everything, Songbird Prairie rates 5 stars. Every room is beautiful, our hosts most pleasant, and each course of our breakfast was a work of art. We ate with the hummingbirds and also received an education on birds and their habitat. Barbara and Efrain Rivera do themselves proud!


Wonderfully relaxing

5 on August 26, 2007

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Songbird Prairie. What a fantastic way to celebrate. This bed and breakfast is the best of the three we have experiences. The breakfast is by far the most outstanding of all; listening to the birds sing and watching them play was an added touch of nature that elevated out experience. The trails are short by sweet. Oh, the candy was delicious too.


Classy and Relaxing

5 on June 05, 2007

My husband and I spent our 15th wedding anniversary at the Songbird Prairie. Barbara's three course breaksfasts were lovely to look at and amazing to eat. We didn't need lunch either of the two days we stayed at the B&B. She had sample menus from a few restaurants without a twenty minute drive and we were able to decide where to eat with little risk of being disappointed. We only met Efrain briefly but he was very friendly and told us some history of the house. He also helped us find a suitable pharmacy where we could get a prescription refilled that my husband forgot. The Riveras went out of their way to help us deal with that unfortunate situation and refocus on enjoying our anniversary. On top of all of this it was the beginning of the cicada season but we hardly noticed because the dinning room had backup CD music of the lovely birds to greet us instead of the chirping bugs. Now I really dislike these bugs because we had a massive season of them a few years back. Barbara's concern to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible was further evidence in the use of music when mother nature wasn't quite cooperating. Our room was lovely and well equipped with towels and various bathroom supplies. The huge truffles by the bedside were a delightful surprise. The room even came with slippers and robes. The only way I would improve the stay would be the addition of some sort of closet to the rooms; we brought some nice clothes and it would have been good to be able to hang them up. We do not often stay at a B&B more than once but if we are ever up in the Valparaiso way again we would stay here. I've recommended it to several of my friends.


Amazing!

5 on January 06, 2007

Of all the inns my husband and I have stayed in, this was the best! We stayed on New Years Eve and there was a horrible storm. The power went out for few hours and we ate breakfast by candle light and by the fireplace. It was great the way they took care of us. The breakfast was fabulous and a 4 course meal.Even with the power out for that short time it was still the best!


Songbird Prairie B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $219 - $269
  • Reviews (184) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2197594274
  • Fax 1-6463047635
  • Mobile 1-2197432096
  • Toll free 1-877songbrd
  • Toll free 1-8777664273

Visit Website »

View details

Top