Tuggles Folly Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
106 Reviews

Write A Review

Just like home:)

4.4 on February 24, 2014

Tuggles Folly is a b&b that makes you feel right at home and the ones that made it feel that way is the b&b itself; but mainly, Dean and Debbie the host and I thank you two for that. You two are amazing and you both went above and beyond to cater our needs. From cooking my hubby's favorite pecan waffles by request to Debbie tailoring my dress for I could barely walk-in.... we had a company banquet to attend and the theme was Grammy awards and Debbie helped make it possible for me to wear and walk in this dress at the last minute and enjoy my night without the fear of falling. Thank you again Dean and Debbie ...You both should know that I will be a returning customer but mostly a returning new friend..I'm thankful to meet you two and I look forward to stay with you both again! Yours Truly, Robert & Elizabeth Ray


VA Stay

5 on November 24, 2013

My Marine Vet husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before, let alone enjoyed any of the special free deals for Vets on Veterans day. We were surprised to see B&B's participating and noted TugglesFolly, 100 miles away, appeared to have a room, but an email later they were booked. :( Well lo and behold I received an email (of urgency) stating a cancellation and we were in...YEAH!! Debbie and Dean's personable welcome put us immediately at ease upon our arrival. Their home is beautifully elegant and extremely clean and so comfortable. I enjoyed kicking off my shoes and curling up on their very comfortable couch, covered up with a cozy handmade throw and watching DWTS :) Their friendly cat (neighbor) & dog was a plus. Breakfast rocked and we chose the omelets (with everything) Yumm!! There were chocolate and salty goodies and pop at our disposal. We slept in a very comfortable bed. Just conversing with Dean and Debbie was so special. We enjoyed all the time spent with these very special people and learned from them too! The views were as stated and we even saw the first snow of the season. This review only touches on part of what we experienced and it is cemented in our memories forever! I just hope they know how special they are and how special a time the gave us. Thank you Debbie and Dean for all your kindness and hospitality!


Perfect

5 on November 03, 2013

Celebrating my wife's, Tiina, birthday and comming up with something different can be a challenge. This year was to be an unplanned fall follage drive which turned into a gambling boat adventure and an over night. She was playing on the boat and I went about exploring the local attractions and tasked with providing over night lodging. I wached all the parents escorting their children Trick or Treating as well as marveling at local arcitecture in the middle of dricing in a 50 mile circle looking for a vacancy. Nothing would fit the bill of intimacy and quality that this occasion required. A local told me of a wonderful bed and breakfast located on a bluff that was only seven miles away. I called and Dean said, "Come on by and check us out." The veiw was breath taking and the grounds we neatly groomed and beautiful. Dean welcomed me and introduced Debbie. We talked a bit and I agreed that this was the place and I left to get my bride. The rest of our time there was spent in great conversation with the four of us sharing things we were passionate about. We slept well. We ate well. We were loved and welcomed as family. We will go back this winter. It was perfect! Dennis Belcher Lanesville, IN


Best breakfast you'll find anywhere!

4.8 on October 19, 2013

We've stayed at quite a few B&Bs over the years, and have had some pretty terrific meals. But this was the finest breakfast ever -- personalized, precisely what we asked for, and delicious in every way. Debbie's homemade biscuits reign supreme. Dean's ham-and-jalapaeno omelets were outstanding. Add to that the friendly hosts, a big sweetie pie of a dog to greet you, and this is a wonderful spot to park yourselves while you explore the area.


Relaxing stay

5 on October 05, 2013

Beautiful views, Dean and Debbie are great hosts, delicious food very relaxing stay! Jim and Carol


A 5 Star B&B

5 on September 30, 2013

Having stayed in several B&B's this is by far the nicest one yet. The owners were on vacation, however, Deborah the lady taking their place was the greatest. My friend and I were on a "girls getaway" and it exceeded all of our expectations. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Sue


Staying with new friends...Lots of them.

5 on August 01, 2013

Dean And Debbie are our newest friends in Indiana. We had the reservations made by dear friends of ours because there was no room at their home, and we were told "if you cant stay with us ,at least your staying in someone's home". The Tuggles beautiful home is on a hilltop with nice breezes and great views. After visiting our friends all day it was very nice to go "home" and have a glass of wine on the porch. The breakfasts were like staying with relatives during the holidays when they bring out their best, and if you have never had fried peaches and homemade biscuits ,you need new relatives! We had the Convenience of staying close to our destination and still feeling like its home. The third member of staff is Freya, she is a large part of guest relations and is always welcoming and ready to please, and loves a good belly rub. The Tuggles look at running a B&B as having friends stay over and showing how much they like them with a great breakfast.


Outstanding visit at Tuggles Folly!

5 on August 01, 2013

In early July we happened upon this great B&B in Rising Sun, IN. It was short notice, as we were on the road and looking for a nice place in the country to spend an evening on our travels. Dean and Debbie were most gracious hosts, and we immensely enjoyed conversing with them. The food and appointments were awesome. We hope to get back there again some day, and sure hope the dog is still available to take us for a walk!


Nice little find near Rising Sun, IN with beautiful view of Kentucky

3.6 on July 28, 2013

We found Tuggles' Folly B & B by looking for a 'pet-friendly' B & B. We discovered this one, a fairly short drive from Louisville just up I-71. Dean and Debbie were great hosts, especially since we made our reservation the same day we arrived for this overnight getaway including our dog. The rooms were smaller than what we expected but cozy and clean. Dean and Debbie made us feel we were in our own home, were gracious and made us feel very welcome.


Pure Serenity

5 on July 28, 2013

Friends of ours booked us at Tuggles Folly for their daughter's wedding. What a serendipitous discovery! The Proprietors Debbie and Dean know how to make their guests feel welcome, by opening up their home and treating you as family. The room was not only beautiful, but the epitome of comfort, peace and serenity. Their home is beautifully appointed, and Mike especially appreciated the candy dishes throughout. The breakfasts were elegant, hearty and crafted with the expertise of a Michelin Star chef. After a number of days of helping our friends prepare for the wedding, spending our evenings out on the back patio with a glass of wine, the breeze to cool us down and the gentle sounds of the beautiful chimes was relaxing and calming. By the time we left, we felt we had gained two more friends, well actually three, because their B&B dog Freya stole our hearts as well. We will definitely return to Tuggles Folly!


Very Welcoming

4.8 on July 27, 2013

Tuggles Folly is an excellent place to rest after a hard day of play. The rooms are spotless and the breakfasts are delicious.


First Timer

5 on July 25, 2013

Was like they served you in your home but was there house.. Really fun to talk to and was just a great first time. Really enjoyed the meals and meet some other folks stay there from New York State. Will stay again thanks


Nascar Weekend

5 on July 01, 2013

We stayed at Tuggles Folly for the Nascar race and it was an exceptional stay. It was just about thirty minutes from the track. Dean and Debbie made us all feel like we were part of their family. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was FANTASTIC. REALLY DELICIOUS!!! The countryside were breath taking with the wildlife roaming (deer in their fields). I was up before anyone else and walked the property and then sat on their back porch just relaxing. What was even better than just sitting on the back porch was when Debbie had came downstairs and started cooking breakfast. There I was sitting on the backporch and the aroma of her country cooking making its way to where i was sitting on the porch brought back memories of my mama cooking. Bacon frying, homemade biscuits in the oven, and the smell of her egg cassarole. I recomend this place to anyone who wants a quiet relaxing place to stay and at a reasonable price.


A home away from home

5 on June 24, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay. The hosts were very welcoming and we enjoyed the good conversation, food, and the beautiful scenery. The home is a beautiful and welcoming place. I would recommend this to friends or anyone looking for a place to stay. Mark and Debbie


Fun and Relaxing

5 on June 22, 2013

Dean and Debbie are very friendly and welcoming hosts. We really enjoyed our evening playing pinball in the game room and snacking. In the AM enjoy a great family style breakfast and conversation with the hosts.


Great place to stay

4.4 on June 12, 2013

Dean and Debbie are nice folks and very friendly. The breakfasts were great.


Always a Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 11, 2013

I recently stayed at Tuggles' Folly with my mom for a girls weekend. This was my second stay at Tuggles' Folly, and I will definitely return again and again. Dean and Debbie are so welcoming and hospitable. From the moment we arrive to the moment we leave all of our needs are met and then some! The delicious food we received each morning was better than any breakfast we could have gotten elsewhere. We enjoyed visiting with the Tuggles during breakfast. We also enjoyed their game room, and taught two of the other guests how to play euchre. We never imagined we would stay up until 1AM playing cards with the other guests, but we did! Dean and Debbie also suggested some great places to visit in the area. We did some shopping, enjoyed a local winery, and had an overall fun and relaxing time.


Perfect Getaway!

5 on June 11, 2013

This is the second time my 24 year old daughter and I have stayed at Tuggles Folly and we will be back for many more stays! It is the perfect location for our mother/daughter bonding time! We shopped, visited local wineries and breweries, and enjoyed an early evening walk that proved to be as rejuvenating as it was therapeutic in the beautiful, scenic rolling hills of Southern Indiana. The Tuggle home has a warm and cozy charm and we always feel spoiled and pampered from the moment we arrive. The hot breakfast, which is presented on a perfectly set table, is absolutely scrumptious and a culinary delight to which you will find yourself acquiring a growing anticipation for each morning that you are there!


No Stress At Tuggle's Folly!

5 on June 08, 2013

I had a business meeting in Aurora for 4 days and was looking for a place to stay. When searching for lodging, I was not excited as choices were very limited and I wanted to be very comfortable as a seasoned traveler who travels 75% of the time. Luckily for me, I found Tuggles and quickly booked four nites. What a great decision! The property was beautiful with lots of acreage and a swimming pool. I spent alot of time on the back porch. Dean and Debbie were very personable and made me feel totally at home. We had some great converstions at breakfast. Debbie was so kind by ironing my white shirts....I don't even get that at home! The breakfast was to "die for"..pancakes, bacon, eggs, carmelized apples/pears, homemade buscuits/gravy...I happily gained a few pounds but I was NOT going to deny myself the great food. I travel consistenly and have stayed in most hotels but Tuggle's in definitely "WORLD CLASS"....Needless to say, I will be staying there on my next visit to Aurora Indiana......Michael B


Beautiful view with great hospitality!

4.6 on March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. This was our first time at a bed-n-breakfast and it was more than we expected. Debbie and Dean are great hosts, and were very welcoming. They made us a delicious breakfast in the morning, and it was great that they treated us as guests. This is very pleasant place to stay. They get a thumbs up from us!

Innkeeper Response
Tracy & Andy -- Thank you for the very good review. We loved having you with us and hope that you will return soon.


Excellent, extremely welcoming and friendly. highly recommend.

5 on February 18, 2013

We arrived later than expected, both Dean and Debbie were waiting for us after I had called and they gave directions again if necessary. Snacks and drinks were available, as was entertainment or just the comfort of a well stocked library and many things to view and learn from. The breakfasts were excellent with a nice variety after asking our preference, table set beautifully- different each morning. The scenery was spectacular and overall we had a fabulous low key, non stressful weekend. Terrific conversation, nothing negative to mention. Thank you Dean and Debbie!

Innkeeper Response
You and your family were fabulous guests to have. You are a testament to what every parent should be: loving and guiding. Your children were marvelous and are welcome as return guests at any time. Please call again when you want a family getaway.


Wonderful place to stay.

5 on December 03, 2012

We normally do not stay at B& B's. This was a very delighful stay. View of the river is great. Host made us feel right at home. We would definitly stay here again. House is full of beautiful antiques. Priced right too! Fran and Dale from Wesley Chapel Florida


Breakfast Breakfast & Breakfast

5 on November 13, 2012

Dean & Deb Finally getting around to write a review on the Stay & Breakfast or it should be Break-feast. Wow Paula Dean would be jealous of the fixins at your breakfast table. From the thick sliced bacon to the fabulous briskets and gravy and how could we forget the fried apples OMGoodness. Extra clean rooms & linens and the Dean Tuggle story time. He's been alot of places and many experiences that are funny and interesting. Keep up the great service. Andy & Dan Jones

Innkeeper Response
As if you don't have stories of your own! Andy & Dan, please come back to treat us to your company.


Tuggles Folly is a Safe Bet

4.8 on November 09, 2012

Lovely rooms and first lass service. Delicious breakfast and scenic views. Game room was fun. A four-star stay!


Best Kept Secret

5 on October 15, 2012

Tuggles' Follies has a great location for attending events in Aurora or Rising Sun, IN. It is also only 30 minutes from Cincinnati, OH. The view is awesome, facilities are emaculate, and the food is to die for. If your in the area put it on your calendar!!!


Awesome!

4.6 on October 08, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this bed and breakfast. this past weekend. The leaves were just starting to turn and the the view was absolutely awesome! We were made to feel welcome and comfortable by Debbie & Dean and they are fantastic cooks making the breakfast "most" delicious! The fried peaches are yum-yummy! Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a bed & breakfast in this area. Bob & Nancy

Innkeeper Response
And we loved having you also. I felt as if you had been here the first time with Jack & Nedra. Come back again soon so we can all visit in the Game Room again.


Outstanding Family

4.6 on October 03, 2012

Dean & Debbie made us feel like a part of their home and family. Hospitality & food were awesome. Would highly recommend Tuggles Folly.


Reunion weekend

5 on September 29, 2012

Spent a long weekend and loved the casual country atmosphere with pool and game room. It was quiet and the views were very pastoral. glad all the guests were family. Made it special.


Lovely Place

5 on September 23, 2012

Tuggles Folly was a nice, quiet, and very clean place. Good breakfast.


Down Home Hospitalty

5 on September 23, 2012

Wow! Laid back folks with a superb set up for the weary traveler. All the amenities of home with lots of extras. A little off the beaten path but that's what gives it the flavor you're looking for. Thank you, Dean & Debbie Tuggle.


Quiet,great views, awesome food

4.6 on September 10, 2012

Her biscuits and gravy are awesome and they make a mean omelete. They have nice pool with lounges and patio tables and chairs. Lots of books to select from.


New Adventure

4.8 on September 09, 2012

We try to stay in a B&B if at all possible when traveling. I just go to the destination and see what is available. I did not know there was a B&B in this area. We usually stay with relatives but this time that was not an option. We were very pleased with our stay at Tuggles' Folly. It is exceptionally nice and very well run. The best part is the hearty breakfast they serve and they actually sit down and enjoy it with their guests. It was a fresh home made spread that included any and everything you would want. The Tuggles are very gracious and thoughtful. It is a first class operation. The view and peace and quiet are the best. Thank you Dean and Debbie for a wonderful experience, the only thing that would have made it better would have been a little more time. Rick and Linda Benfield, Gastonia, NC.


Our Stay

5 on September 06, 2012

Dean & Debbie are very clean and have a beautiful home. Wonderful people. We can't wait to go back to see them.


Great Service

5 on August 27, 2012

Clean, friendly, they exceeded our expectations and we will be going back. Beautiful home and environment!


Absolute Love!

5 on August 26, 2012

Loved the hospitality, coziness, and cleanliness! Couldn't have picked a better place to stay!


B&B and a Boat!

4.8 on August 26, 2012

Great Experience…. We experienced Tuggles Folly in a little different way… we boated to it!! My wife and two kids decided to go on a boat excursion and TF was a pleasant surprise. Dean and Debbie assisted in choosing the proper marina to keep the boat and then provided their own taxi service to and from the boat. Our kids have never experienced a B&B, and this was the perfect one to initiate them to the overall experience. We enjoyed the pool, view, game room, and overall hospitality. I highly recommend the sausage gravy as the breakfast choice. We truly enjoyed our conversations and the hospitality. Thanks for everything (especially the extra trip back to the boat when my son forgot his sunglasses!!).


Great Country B and B

4.8 on August 24, 2012

Great time at this country B and B. Daughter and I enjoyed the in-ground pool, antique shops nearby and warm friendly atmosphere. We made extensive use of the game room. Very accommodating hostess/host. Loved the breakfast and flexibility on time. Thank you!


4 traveler's from Delhi, Ohio

5 on July 30, 2012

wonderfull time, beautiful scenery, neat dog, great food, and Dean and Debbie were fantastic.


First B&B stay ever!!

4.8 on June 11, 2012

I feel bad! I keep meaning to e-mail you. You were the perfect hosts and BOTH great breakfast cooks. We so enjoyed our stay with you and were sorry to miss out on a second night. As you know Frank had a bad tooth experience! and on our return had a root canal done, now all is OK1 Except for a bad back. from lifting his heavy equipment, e.g. speakers etc. We will not be coming this month as we had planned so will hopefully make it later on. Again our thanks for making us welcome and comfortable. Did you like Frank's CD? Best Regards Catherine


excellent host and hostess

4.8 on May 16, 2012

first time and very impressed. will stay at more bed and breakfast location in future.


Roarin' to Aurora

4.4 on March 14, 2012

We attended a car club luncheon in Aurora. Found Tuggle's using Google Earth. Was very easy to contact them and setup a reservation. Debbie called me when there was a slight problem and cleared it up right away. The directions they sent use were fine. We actually had a guest host Deb, who did an excellent job explaining what we needed to know and took care of all our needs. Breakfast was excellent. We talked to Deb about the area and she gave us excellent restaurant advice and information about upcoming events.


Beautiful scenery, gracious hosts!

4.6 on February 16, 2012

We planned a short getaway without the kids and Tuggles B&B fit the bill. They are so close to so many activities and we returned to their home to play cards and shoot some pool. We had a fabulous evening and an even better breakfast. Loved, loved the fried peaches! I highly recommend Tuggles Folly.


Would recommend. Very pleasant stay.

5 on December 18, 2011

Beautiful part of Indiana.Very friendly hosts. Everything was clean and orderly. Absolutely awesome breakfast! Couldnt ask for more. Thanks Dean and Debbie!


Perfect Getaway

4.6 on December 01, 2011

I found Tuggle's Folly online and decided to book a stay there based upon the numerous good reviews that I read. The reviews couldn't have been more accurate. This is a wonderful BnB, hosted by a warm and gracious couple. The venue itself is about an hour outside of Cincinnati. Despite being close to a few good restaurants and a movie theater (15-20 minutes), the BnB feels completely isolated from the world with a wonderful view of the river. The home itself is very clean and has plenty of fascinating decorum. The rooms are simple, yet perfect. By far, the best part of the experience was the couple hosting. The Tuggle's are wonderful people to sit and talk with, which my girlfriend and I did for quite a bit during our stay. They make you feel like you are visiting family. In addition, the food was absolutely delicious. While they are more than willing to accommodate any diet, they make an absolutely incredible breakfast, which included biscuits and gravy, eggs, fried peaches and bacon during my visit. As someone who loves home-style cooking, this was perfect for me. I would absolutely recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone is looking for a cozy getaway and enjoys interact with friendly people. My girlfriend and I are already looking forward to a return visit, hopefully in the very near future.


Home away from home!

5 on October 28, 2011

We were in Aurora helping our daughter and her family move into their new home. Our daughter knows we prefer a B&B over a cramped hotel room, so she was kind enough to make us reservations at Tuggles Folly. What a great experience! Just like visiting with famly. Dean & Debbie made us feel at home the minute we arrived. Our room was great and the breakfasts were "awesom". Tuggles Folly is by far the best B&B we've ever stayed at. We'll definetly be back. Thanks Dean & Debbie for being great hosts.


Weekend Getaway

5 on October 24, 2011

We arrived on Friday night and were greeted warmly by the Host who made us feel as if we were family. Breakfast on Sat morning was unbelievable and to say it was delicious is an understatement. We were in the area for a family wedding and upon our departure on Sat the Host verified with us if we needed directions or if they could assist us with anything. We returned very late on Sat night, though the porch light was on to warmly greet us. Sunday brought us to another wonderful meal complete with the best biscuits a person could ask for, which were under sausage gravy which would make your stomach sing with joy. Again the Host's made us feel as if we were visiting family. This is a B&B which we will visit again and recommend to our friends. This review does not remark on the gorgeous scenery, comfortable beds, or great game room which allowed us to relax while not being cramped into a single hotel room. We do not frequent B&B's often though this B&B will have return visitors...for sure!


Nice weekend away! Made you feel welcome!

4.2 on October 24, 2011

Debbie and Dean were both very friendly and great hosts. We had plans around the area all weekend so we did not get to spend much time at their home. It would be a place I could have relaxed if we had mre time to lounge!The time we did spend was prefect! Great company, great food, great view!


Home away from home

5 on September 26, 2011

I stayed 5 nights at Tuggles Folly while attending the NMLRA Championship Shoot in Friendship. The days on the range and at bow making class were exhausting but by morning, after a great nights sleep and the worlds tastiest breakfast, I was ready to go again. Everything about Tuggles is first rate, especially the Tuggles themselves. They are recommended as one of the three closest accommodations by the NMLRA and having stayed all around the area, I can recommend them as the best. Debbie even packed a bag of left over bkfst biscuits for my 11 hour trip home. Thank you Debbie and Dean and we will see you soon.


Our Rising Star Stay

5 on September 15, 2011

The Inn Keepers, Dean & Debbie Tuggle, were friendly & accommodating. We had a good night sleep! The view from high on the hill was beautiful. Our breakfast was delicious and filling. We enjoyed our stay and conversations about cars etc. Thank you to our hosts!


Perfection

5 on August 08, 2011

My mother and I were on a shopping trip to the IKEA in Cincinnati and stumbled upon Tuggles' Folly in a list of nearby attractions. Attracted by the whimsy of the name, I called and reserved us a room for the night. It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. After dinner out at Captain Mike's River Watch (excellent scallops) we split a bottle of wine and sat out on the porch on wicker rocking chairs watching the Ohio River fade into the dusk. Coffee, juice, and a great country breakfast awaited us the next morning. The Tuggles' dog, Freya, is a big girl but gentle, well-behaved, and will pose obligingly for belly rubs for as long as you're willing to accommodate her. Dean and Debbie Tuggle make you feel like a member of the family and treat you accordingly. Can't wait to go back. :)


A wonderful stay on short notice.

5 on July 23, 2011

We arrived in Rising Sun late on a HOT Sunday afternoon. We called Tuggles and they had just had family leave and were heading to their boat. They said "come on over". The place was immaculate, they gave us a tour, reccommended a good place to eat on the water and gave us the keys to the place. They told us to enjoy the pool and lock up when we went to eat. They then went to the store and their Boat. Wonderful breakfast and good conversation both evening and morning. We will try to return. I have already recommended them to friends.


Tuggles Friendly Folly

3.8 on July 18, 2011

We spent a very nice stay at this bed and breakfast. It met our expectations for our visit to the area for a family reunion. We could certainly recommend this place to others for the very comfortable graciously accommodating folks who REALLY know how to WOW you with their cooking!


Refreshing!

4.8 on June 22, 2011

My husband and I were on our way home to Virginia from Ohio and stopped in at Tuggles Folly for a couple of nights. What a treat! We have visited many B&B's over the years and it always comes down to how welcome you feel by the owners/managers. Dean and Debbie Tuggle were just delightful. They completely opened up their home to us. Their home was spotless and neat. Debbie hangs the guest sheets on the clothes lines so they are crisp and fresh. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling. And yes, the fried peaches were wonderful too! There were games, snacks, a great pool table. We did not lack for something to do. We also spotted several deer in the back yard and some wild turkeys. We really felt welcome and would definitely visit them again. Doug & Susan Moening


This one has the WOW factor

5 on June 18, 2011

B&B’s need to be clean, comfortable, relaxed, quiet and have comfortable beds. The house and grounds were immaculate. Any where and everywhere you looked was clean and organized and inviting. The beds were warm, clean and comfortable. Within 15 minutes of our arrival, we were not treated as guests; but, as lifelong friends. If you want one of the best stays in a B&B you have ever experienced, book a room at Tuggles’ Folly and then dare all of the other B&B’s you’ve ever visited to live-up to the Tuggles’ standard. Excellent weekend stay with Dean and Deb.


Great place/hosts/food

3.8 on June 15, 2011

From Tennessee; stayed 3 nights while attending Friendship, IN gun show and flea mkt. Couldnt ask for a better place to stay. Dean and Debbie were great hosts, food was wonderful. House was totally open to us with game room, snacks, living room, direct tv, etc. Breakfasts were served at out desired time and we chose the breakfast menus. The fried peaches were new to us and fabulous. View was great, could see all the way to the Ohio River.


Best B&B

4.0 on June 01, 2011

This is definitely the most enjoyable B&B where I’ve had the privilege of staying. It’s situated high on a hill overlooking the Ohio River and surrounding areas, and is so peaceful. While similar accommodations in the area have discontinued serving breakfast, we were joined by the hosts and enjoyed their conversation while we ate a simply awesome meal! Very affordable and a great experience. May 30, 2011


Feeling the need for some fun and relaxation

4.0 on June 01, 2011

My family and I headed for Rising Sun, Indiana for some riverboat casino action over Memorial Day. I had been lucky enough to acquire a couple rooms at Tuggles’ Folly Bed and Breakfast, and we were happily surprised at what awaited us. Dean and Debbie have a way of making you feel very much at home . The Inn has a lot of amenities that we didn’t have time to fully appreciate, but it is immaculate, comfortable and cozy, and the made to order breakfast was elegant and delicious. When it came time to leave, we were happy ,relaxed, full, and all agreed that we’d do it again in a heartbeat! May 30, 2011


Yearning for a quiet, enjoyable get-a-way?

4.0 on June 01, 2011

Then Tuggles’ Folly is The Place. It boasts terrific hosts, spectacular views, many amenities and a breakfast that can only be described in superlatives. Highly recommend!


An unexpected haven

5 on May 24, 2011

Debbie and Dean were wonderful hosts--very patient and accommodating. The view was spectacular, and the breakfasts were the best meals we had while staying in Indiana.


The relaxing weekend get away!

4.8 on March 07, 2011

I wanted to treat my boyfriend to a relaxing and fun weekend getaway. I wanted something different and more romantic. Debbie and Dean Tuggles were our inn keepers and they were more then friendly and accomodating. From the moment we walked in it felt very homey and was very well maintained. The hospitality was more than I expected, they made us feel so comfortable and welcome. We first received a tour of the home and then we were told that we had access to every room in the entire place, which was unexpected for us. The house was so unique in everyway and every room was different. Each room had lots of antique decor and this was just what we wanted because we love antiques. We got to play pool in the game room and enjoy cuddling with the handmade afghan blankets by the warm fire. Our room was awesome it was the Oak room and everything in the room was antique. The bed was so comfortable with the hand made quilts on the bed that really kept us warm. We ended up visiting the library area which had a large selection of books. One thing we also like so much was all the chocolates and candy the had at our access. They also had our favorite beverages and snacks. The next morning the breakfast we had was absolutely delicious and the best we have ever had. From the homemade biscuits and gravy, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit and fried peaches. This was the first time we have ever had fried peaches and they were delicious and I will be making them all the time for us now! When we first arrived they let us pick our breakfast and they had a very wide selection. The fried peaches were an unexpected treat! It was quite nice to have this homestyle breakfast and when we had woke up it was to the smell of fresh coffee and breakfast cooking. Thanks to the great hospitatlity from Debbie and Dean Tuggles and the wonderful accomodations I accomplished what I wanted for my boyfriend. We will definitely be back within the year for another relaxing and fun time!


WOW!!!! WHAT AN AWSOME B&B

5 on January 06, 2011

We stayed on New Years Eve and this was our first experience at a B&B. If they are all this great I would never stay in another hotel. Dean and Debbie made you feel so welcome at home and like family. The food was fantastic! (Better than the Casinos) and Deans special eggnogg was great! We will definitely recommend this to all our friends and family and hope to stay again soon. Thanks for starting our New Year out so special!!!! Newark Ohio


Great B&B!

4.6 on January 04, 2011

My wife and I were lucky to of gotten a reservation at the last minute on New Years Eve. We had never stayed at a B&B before and I must say that it exceeded our expectations. Tuggles Folly is a wonderful place, very clean, nicely appointed and our hosts were awesome. They made us feel right at home and seemed to really enjoy having us there. Thanks Tuggles!


one of the best!!!!

5 on October 21, 2010

I stayed at Tuggle's Folly this summer and it was truly one of the most lovely places I have ever stayed. I am a traveling musician, and go all over the US. Tuggle's Folly was as close to home as one could expect! Such a refreshing change from hotel rooms. Dean and Debbie are the perfect hosts! Sweet people who genuinely love hosting travelers. The food was incredible! Again, a Godsend for a traveling musician! My room was nice and comfortable. The view from my bedroom window each morning was a fabulous scene to wake up to. I was able to enjoy the pool too! We also had an impromtu house concert with their friends..it was a joy to share my music with them! I would stay there again. I highly recommend Tuggle's Folly!


Tranquility Base

5 on October 04, 2010

Whether or not you have a need to visit Southern Indiana, just an hour from Cincinatti, you MUST visit Tuggles Folly. Your gracious hosts are Debbie & Dean Tuggle, who go out of their way to make you feel at ease. The decor and collectibles were similar to our taste. This IS a true Bed & Breakfast! ..................I mean Feast!! We usually travel to different places to enjoy the learning adventure, but, in this case, we will re-visit tuggles Folly Soon!!


Unexpected Treasure

4.4 on September 17, 2010

We had planned a five day vacation to Ohio River area. We found Tuggle's on the internet and it was an unexpected treasure!!


Relaxing stay

5 on August 19, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed swimming in the pool while listening to the birds and taking in the views. Freya was a nice surprise and I enjoyed petting "neighbor" their black cat also. Very nice people and very relaxed atmosphere. Would recommend it highly. Thanks again.


Best Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 18, 2010

What a great place -- beautiful and comfortable. Dean and Debbie are absolutely wonderful hosts. Would recommend Tuggles' Folly to everyone.


Rescued from the Heat!

5 on July 20, 2010

I called Dean Tuggle when we were walking the American Discovery Trail. He not only had a beautiful room, but he came to town and picked us up so we could cool down in the pool!


Hilltop Magic

5 on July 14, 2010

We drove up a winding road, wondering what we would find with our first Bed & Breakfast experience ... and discovered Debbie's smile to greet us at the door and Dean's warm welcome. We discovered a home filled with intriguing antiques, the comfort of line-dried sheets at bedtime, fresh coffee and a glorious view from the porch as we watched the sunrise over the rolling hills along the Ohio River ... and breakfasts made even more delicious and memorable with the conversations shared with our hosts! We savor the memories of our nights and mornings at Tuggles' Folly and hope to one day return ... and will highly recommend it to our friends!


Summer Sun

5 on July 13, 2010

Had a wonderfully relaxing weekend enjoying the pool and Tuggle hosts. Delicious breakfast!


Highly Recommended

5 on May 26, 2010

This was my first stay at a bed and break. We were treated like family from our arrival. The standard has been set very high for other B&B's. Food was awesome. House very clean and comfortable.


Memories

5 on May 25, 2010

What a great weekend. Dean "Bob" and Debbie were the best hosts. It was a fantastic time. Great conversation, rooms and an out of this world breakfast. Thanks.


great spring get away

5 on April 11, 2010

We spent one night in the middle of the week with great weather and enjoyed the budding of spring. The fresh line dried sheets were a real treat.


first time

4.4 on February 14, 2010

Absolutely wonderful. It was our first time at a b&b, and honestly I didn't think I would like it much. Boy was I wrong. We didn't get to rising sun until almost 11 pm, and the tuggles had no problem accomodating us. The home is decorated with beautiful antiques, and spotless. The cleanest place I have EVER stayed. The food is delicious, and the game room is a nice touch, I just wish I would have had more time to enjoy it. There WILL be a next time, and I can't wait to find out more about more about Deans passion for restoring and showing old cars..


GREAT!!!1

4.0 on January 12, 2010

The Tuggles were perfect hosts, in recommending dinning, shopping, and event planning, directions ect. Home was clean, cozy, inviting. Will put up family up there this new year.


From a frequent visitor

5 on December 27, 2009

I have stayed at Tuggles Folly several times and everytime return home relaxed and refreshed. Just a update the one dog on site "Thor" has passed away and he will truely be missed by all who had the opertunity to stay and play with him. This last weekend I stayed two nights and one of the three cats came up missing. The vuew of the river and the large hills overlooking the river is great in the winter, we had a fresh blankit of snow and its like you can see twice as far.


a great saturday night and sunday morning

5 on November 09, 2009

Me and my wife had a much needed break this last weekend 11/07/09 at tugglesfolley. The owners are very nice and took care of any special requests we asked of them. We where given a tour, a room key and an excellent dinner reservation. We came home to a nice bottle of champagne and cheese and crackers, we requested this, it wasn't included, but was choosen and presented very nicely. The owners share the residence with the guests and make it feel really homey. They gave us our space to have a quiete evening and made us feel like we where visiting best freinds. And the best note, was sunday breakfast, bacon, eggs, homemade biscuits and some of the best sausage gravy I have had. All this with a great cup of coffee for me and a cup of juice for the wife. We will be returning, and if you need a break from cincinnati and want a quick close trip this is it. We had the feel of going a long distance and hadn't traveled and hour. Thanks Dean and Debbie we really enjoyed it Mike and Elaina


Permanant Resident

5 on November 04, 2009

I stayed with the Tuggles for an extended business assignment. Debbie and Dean treated me like a son. They are excellant host. Their home is very clean and guest friendly. I enjoyed the river view each morning and the endless stars at night. I enjoyed the near-by resturants and casinos. I hope to return and enjoy their company again.


Wonderful Getaway!

5 on November 04, 2009

We are normally “upscale” hotel people, but we will definitely be back to stay at Tuggles Folly B&B with Dean and Debbie. Their beautiful home is as picturesque as it is hospitable and welcoming. Breakfast was better than what you pay $50.00+ at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago or the Venetian in Las Vegas!!! How does homemade pecan waffles sound?? Fresh omelets made to order?? Hearty biscuits and gravy, fresh cut-up fruit daily, ham steaks and bacon and toast ………Oh My!! We could have breakfast early or late depending on if we wanted to sleep in or get an early start to explore the MANY, MANY things to do and places to visit in the area. We stayed at Tuggles Folly for (3) nights and we wished we had planned to stay longer!! If you are looking for a getaway that includes first class accommodations with an exceptional breakfast, is located in a serene and relaxing area, yet only minutes away from the big city flair and activities (Cincinnati is literally right across the river) – Tuggles Folly is the place to stay. - - Rick and Tamy


Our Tuggles Folly weekend.

5 on October 18, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B so if they are all like Tuggles Folly, we'll give up motels! Our Host & Hostess were absolutely delightful - they made us feel like their home was ours. Definitely warrants a return trip!


Tuggles Folly Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 23, 2009

Excellent accommodation, congenial hosts, and very tasty food.


Best B&B In Town

5 on September 22, 2009

We have stayed at Tuggles Folly two times and will be back! Wonderful, serene spot and getting to see Dean and Debbie was the icing on the cake.


Hoosier Hospitality

5 on September 18, 2009

Dean and Debbie are the finest hosts I have ever met in B&B's. Food at breakfast is second to none! Their home is beautiful and very comfortable. They are the finest example of Hoosier Hospitality.


Great place to stay

5 on August 24, 2009

Very hospitable innkeepers. Makes you feel at home right away. Very clean, neat, and comfortable. I will return for sure.


A Relaxing Getaway

5 on August 05, 2009

We had a great time at Tuggle's Folly. Dean and Debbie were gracious hosts, and we really enjoyed having the chance to chat with/get to know them. Breakfast was extremely tasty, and there was tons of food! They also supplied beverages, salty snacks, and chocolate throughout the rest of the day. We spent time playing pool in the rec. room and swimming in the large in-ground pool in the backyard. Debbie and Dean were also very helpful by supplying directions and making suggestions of restaurants/stores. The home was very clean and the views are fantastic. The Tuggles treated us like family, and we left feeling like we had been friends for years! We look forward to going back soon!!!!


Hidden Treasure

4.0 on August 05, 2009

Debbie and Dean were a delight. They "pamper" their guests with great attention to details. I felt very much at home and left refreshed. The breakfasts were wonderful. I will go again and recommend this B&B highly.


Family Birthday

4.8 on August 03, 2009

Great destination. Skeptical of bed and breakfast idea, but was a sweet surprise. The hospitality was outstanding and the breakfast could not be beat. The only thing was the room was a bit small. But that is the coziness it brings to light do it still exceeded our expectations. Dean and Debbie could not have been better hosts. The sunrise over the Ohio River was spectacular from our view. Recommend to anyone.


Amazing Get-Away

5 on July 23, 2009

The home is warm and inviting, the location is beautiful and peaceful, and the hosts are congenial; a joy to get to know. We started our day with morning coffee on the front porch, watching the sun rise over the river below. Then a hearty, home cooked breakfast left us with that good, old-fashioned, life-is-a-little-slower, feeling. The wildlife is abundant, and would track or flit across the property while reading a book out side. You can bring your own book, or pick one from the Tuggles’ library. A dip in the pool in the afternoon rounded out our lazy days nicely. Flat screen televisions are available, but we chose not to turn them on and instead finished our evenings in the game room. We are so glad we made the trip. Thank you Dean and Debbie for a wonderful time, we will be back.


A Beautiful Experience

5 on June 24, 2009

Our room was beautiful as was the rest of the house. Breakfasts were wonderful. The hosts were gracious and friendly. This was a great a experience.


Gracious Hosts

4.8 on June 23, 2009

We spent 3 lovely nights and were treated just like family. Breakfasts were amazing and served in style. Enjoyed getting to know Dean and Debbie, as well as the other guests. Our room was small, but very clean and the daily service was outstanding. Quaint little towns near by to visit and found a great restaurant in Aurora called 3rd and Main. We would definately go back again.


Fun, pleasant, home!!

4.8 on June 19, 2009

Felt completely 'at home' here, even more so than a hotel. VERY gracious hosts...incredible breakfast, too! We'll be back!


Tuggles Folly

4.6 on February 23, 2009

Very friendly hosts. View was outstanding. Quaint, fun town to explore.


awesome

5 on January 22, 2009

Fun, friendly, relaxing, comfortable, affordable. Great people, will definitely be back!


a night away

5 on January 14, 2009

We enjoyed our evening away. The Tuggle's are wonderful hosts. A lot to offer in such a small town.


Country views and hearty breakfast

5 on January 12, 2009

Beautiful country B&B with incredible rolling hills and river views. Plenty of room to spread out, play games, work on crafts, hike, and have fun without leaving the property. Come relax, enjoy and find yourself a in a little folly at the Tuggles Folly.


We felt like family

5 on January 06, 2009

During our stay at Tuggles' Folly we were treated just like family. My business associate and I were delighted with everything this B&B had to offer. The view of the Ohio River from each of our rooms was a nice treat. Breakfast was wonderful! Especially the biscuits and gravy! Thank you so much for a memorable stay in your lovely home. Sharon Alexander Winery Adventures


Beautiful outlook

5 on November 05, 2008

Relaxing accommodations with a beautiful scenic view of the Ohio River. Friendly people who make you feel at home and also serve a wonderful breakfast.


Wonderful B&B!!

4.0 on September 28, 2008

We just returned from a girls trip that included an overnight stay at Tuggles Folly. What a treat! We arrived to wild turkeys on the hill, a beautiful view of the valley, and a warm welcome and tour of the house by Dean. Later in the evening a deer came right through the yard while we rocked in the chairs on the front porch. The breakfast was fabulous, especially the apples! And the company of the other guests was delightful. We would return for another stay without question.


Tuggles Folly Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on August 20, 2008

The breakfast was excellent. It was a feast.


Wonderful First Time B&B Experience

4.4 on June 23, 2008

My husband and I had never been to a B&B we were shocked at how wonderful it was. With a library, game room, pool and satelite dish at our disposal we couldn't have asked for a better stay. A great country setting, but close to towns with shops, dining, and gambling, we had absolutely everythign we could have wanted at our disposal. Not to mention the snacks, sodas and chocolates we enjoyed during our evening and the cook to order breakfast that was out of this world! This may have been our first experience, but it certainly won't be our last!


Peaceful with an amazing view

4.6 on June 12, 2008

The Tuggles were extremely hospitable. The biscuits and gravy were delectable. The property is very peaceful and the view of the Ohio River Valley from the front porch is amazing. If you are tall, watch your head on the stairs. Overall, a really comfortable place to stay.


Tuggle's Folly B&B

5 on June 12, 2008

Debbie and Dean were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to insure that my family had a wonderful stay and that a family memorial service went well. I will definitely stay with them again when I am in the Rising Sun area. My children commented that it was so much better than staying in a hotel; we were all able to be together, sharing the wonderful breakfasts and quiet evenings overlooking the Ohio River.


Spring in the Ohio Valley

5 on May 22, 2008

As a first timer at a B&B we are thrilled to have stayed here! The Tuggles were incredibly welcoming and the room was comfortable with great accomodations. Breakfast exceeded any restaurant or our expectations. We will return soon!


The food was great!

5 on May 22, 2008

Lovely B&B - great hosts - great food!


A great experience

5 on May 21, 2008

Lovely home filled with antiques and a variety of collections. Warm hospitality, quilt covered beds.


A warm stay away from home

5 on May 21, 2008

Hosts Debbie and Dean welcomed us into their home- just like family. We were treated to a breathtaking view of the hills and Ohio River-immaculate rooms and a most delicious "made-to-order" breakfast.


Tuggles Folly Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8124389399

Visit Website »

View details

Top