Country Victorian B&B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
165 Reviews

Write A Review

Absolutely wonderful!

5 on September 28, 2014

As usual Lori and Arnie have gone above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The hospitality and friendship we are shown is the best you will find staying anywhere. Can't wait for our next visit.


Pleasant experience

4.8 on August 26, 2014

Highly recommend. Nice place, nice people, good service. An interesting area, Lori was helpful in recommending and arranging local attractions.


FANTASTIC!

4.6 on June 12, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing stay with Lori & Arnie! Couldn't have asked for anything to be better-it was perfect! Thanks for a beautiful time in Amish Country, Mel & Debbie Beck

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed your visit in Amish Country and that you enjoyed the inn! We were very happy to have met you and look forward to seeing you again! Glad you got a little respite from your regular responsibilities and were able to relax! Thank you for staying with us!


A great step into a past where people were actively a part of the local community

5 on June 02, 2014

Lori and Arnie are the best hosts we have met thus far in our visits to B &Bs. Right in the heart of the Amish Community, this beautiful home became our home with a warm front porch overlooking the traffic that was filled with all modes of transportation, including the Amish horse and buggies filled with smiling, warm, personalities. If you plan to make a trip to this part of Indiana, we would encourage you to stay at the Country Victorian B and B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and wonderful to meet you and visit with you over breakfast. We enjoy what we do and appreciate your taking the time to post your review.


Great!!!

5 on May 05, 2014

We had a great stay. The food was amazing, clean, comfortable and relaxing. Located in a great area with Amish, RV factories, parks, paved trail all nearby. Arnie and Lori were great hosts. Would recommend it anytime.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you return! We enjoy our guests and want to make sure they feel at home and welcome!


Lockwood 1st stay

4.8 on April 10, 2014

Our first bed and breakfast experience was great and they set a high standard!


Awesome!

5 on October 29, 2013

The Cleanliness is second to none, also the breakfast was outstanding! Would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!


Best B&B experience!

5 on September 03, 2013

Wonderful experience! Food and service incredible! What a beautiful home and very gracious hosts! Will definitely return again.


excellent b & b

4.8 on August 31, 2013

the hospitality was excellent, the food was delicious, the home was quiet even though traffic passed by, including horses and buggies, the cost was very affordable and we would go there again when in the area


TLC Historical Home Restoration

5 on August 16, 2013

A beautiful restored 1890s home with each room given an unique name. Makes one take an interesting trip to the past! Well worth a trip to visit, the food is outstanding too!


Terrific

5 on August 12, 2013

The home was charming and welcoming. The innkeepers were friendly, down-to-earth and accommodating and the breakfasts were out of this world both in presentation and taste. What more could one ask for.


Lovely; had a wonderful stay!

5 on July 21, 2013

We stayed here over 4th of July. It was a lovely getaway. Lori and Arnie are terrific. The right blend of get-to-know-you and unobtrusive. The Village Inn up the street is the place to go for real Amish home cooking; real ice cream across the street tops it off. This is a great location to drive all over Northern Amish country from, and yet you are not staying in crowds doing the same. Breakfast was fabulous, too.


Always a treat

5 on July 14, 2013

After staying at Country Victorian 12 times since 2005, we have truly run out of superlatives to describe our experiences. The house, the ambiance, the accommodations, Lori's fantastic breakfasts, the hospitality are all beyond description. The fact that we started out as mere guests of Lori and Arnie eight years ago and have evolved into good friends speaks volumes about how these innkeepers conduct business. There are other places to stay in Northern Indiana's world renowned Amish country, but we always return to Country Victorian. That speaks volumes, too.


Country Victorian Review

5 on July 03, 2013

Excellent breakfast. The breakfast banana split was awesome! They also recommended a great restaurant in Goshen that exceeded our expectations.


Comfort and Charm

5 on April 09, 2013

Outstanding host and hostess. They cater to your every need and make your stay in this newly remodeled Victorian style home a pleasure. Excellent setting in this quaint little town in Omish country. Recommend you pull off the toll road and enjoy the stay.


Wonderful!

5 on December 17, 2012

We very much enjoyed our time in the Amish country and our stay at the Country Victorian was the very best part:) Our suite was very charming and very clean ( a very big plus in my book). Our hosts were very hospitable and the breakfast were Delicious! Thank you much Arnie and Lori:)


Thank You

4.8 on November 16, 2012

Thank You Lori and Arnie, Your hospitality, and support of our veterans is really appreciated! Our time spent with other veterans was enjoyed very much. The beds were very comfortably and the breakfast was great! Thank You Gail and Mary


Great location in Amish country Indiana

5 on November 13, 2012

Very clean, very quaint B&B in Middlebury, Indiana. Our favorite place to get away, and we plan to visit many times again in the future!


Strangers into Friends

5 on October 08, 2012

From the moment we entered the inn we knew our stay would be delightful. Lori and Arnie not only run an amazing inn, but are great cooks and conversationalists! They know the area well and offered suggestions of things to see & do. We left as friends!


Best of the Best!!!

5 on September 24, 2012

This was our fourth stay with Lori and Arnie and continue to be impressed with the hospitality we receive on each visit. We alway feel like we are returning home. This beautiful home and fantastic breakfasts are not to be missed!


Love this Inn

5 on July 18, 2012

If you want a great place to stay this is it. Great host and great guests. The fact that we were all returning guests should say a lot. Save my room I will be back again .


Great Place with Inn Keepers to Match

4.6 on June 22, 2012

We've stayed here many times. Clean comfortable rooms. Bathrooms are small, but work for us. The Inn Keepers are wonderful people. There can be a little traffic noise. But it never bothered us.


Excellent experiance

5 on June 10, 2012

First time in a B&B and had a wonderful experience the owner works very hard to make sure your time stayed is a very good time,


Great Place to Visit Friends

5 on May 25, 2012

Meeting long time friends now living in Illinois and we are living in Ohio, Country Victorian B & B seemed an ideal place. It turned out to be more than wonderful! We were all pleased with the setting, the comfort and the scrumptious breakfasts served. (We did not eat lunch either day!) Lori and Arnie are outstanding hosts who look after your every need while not being obtrusive. We made use of the living room and the porch for time to catch up and reminisce without anyone having to do any work! It was GREAT!


Lovely B and B

5 on May 16, 2012

We loved our weekend with Lori and Arnie. They are terrific hosts and make you feel at home. The location was great, parking was convenient, and rooms were lovely. Lori is knowledgeable about the areas sites, shopping, and restaurants. The breakfasts were delicious. I would highly recommend this B and B.


Mother Daughter Trip

5 on March 05, 2012

My mother and I had a wonderful time while in Middlebury and the Country Victorian B&B was the best one we've ever stayed in. If we revisit the area, we would definately return!


Wonderful Stay

5 on March 02, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the inn. The room was beautiful. The food was delicious. The Innkeepers were very cordial.


Charming B&B

4.4 on February 07, 2012

great location for touring Amish shops in Indiana. Inn keepers gave great directions and info. for local spots to visit. Breakfast was wonderful, table settings beautiful. Lori & Arnie are great hosts.


The best b&b

4.0 on January 10, 2012

This is amazing, from the hospitable host, delicious foods, adorable rooms and much more. I could I would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend this place.


Beautiful B&B

5 on November 03, 2011

This was the most relaxing and beautiful place I have ever been! Amazing!


A delightful stay in Middlebury IN

4.0 on October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Country Victorian B&B, July 2011. Lori and Arnie treated us as family. Our breakfast was tasty and was served with elegance. Our room was very comfortable and decorated beatifully. We stayed three nights at the Country Victorian B&B. Lori is a wonderful hostess, every detail was thought of from spa robes in the guest rooms to lots of chocolate! The house is well maintained inside and out and there was plenty of history about the home available. We had a delightful stay at the Country Victorian B&B in Middlebury Indiana!


GREAT B&B

5 on September 26, 2011

This B & B was very clean, hospitable, had great food and was very charming. I would use it again.


Great B&B

4.8 on September 23, 2011

Very clean and wonderful, amazing breakfast! The house sits on Main Street and was busier than I realized it would be for a small town but it is on a main street that is part of a two-lane highway. There were ear plugs for those who may not want to hear any noise. Lori and Arnie were great hosts and made us feel at home. We stayed in the Sage Room which was one of the smallest rooms (the other was the Peppermint Room) but it was fine for my husband and I. I did happen to see the other rooms while there, and they were very nice and immaculent too. The special extras that were provided were nice too. If we were to travel in that area again, we would stay again and would recommend to our family and friends should they be going to the area.


Great Getaway

4.6 on September 12, 2011

This was a lovely B&B. Unsurpassed attention to detail and very gourmet breakfasts. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit!


Anniversary Weekend

4.8 on August 30, 2011

This was an incredible experience. The hospitality of the innkeepers was outstanding! The house is kept extremely clean and the breakfast meals were unreal! I would highly recommend this B&B!!


Great room, great food

4.6 on August 25, 2011

We had a great weekend. The room was spacious and clean. Lori and Arnie are very friendly, it was like staying at a friends house. I have a food allergy and Lori was able to fix fantastic food for my (much better that the cruise ship I have been on).


Lovely establishment

5 on August 25, 2011

My daughter and I, on a lengthy road trip, planned ahead to stop at this facility in the heart of Indiana Amish Country. We were not disappointed. Arnie and Lori are great hosts.


Beautiful home and great hosts

5 on August 11, 2011

Lots of attention to details and little extras that showed the hosts care for their guests. The hosts took the time to chat after breakfast which is always special. We will be back.


Country luxury

4.6 on August 07, 2011

The attractive and tranquil exterior of the house only hints at the treasures and warmth of the interior. The cuisine, service and company of the hosts are exceptional. The sight and sound of the Amish horses & buggies passing by is a priceless part of the atmosphere. Should we ever revisit the area, we will stay again.


Amish Country revisted

4.2 on August 05, 2011

We stayed at the Country Victorian B&B for a high school reunion and had a most wonderful stay. Lori, Arnie and Kathy were most greatful hosts and assured that all of our needs were met. The breakfasts were outstanding, the coffee was hot and ready and the atmosphere could not be beat. Thank you so much for a memorable four night stay.


Pleasant oasis

5 on August 03, 2011

Our stay was a wonderful time for rest and relaxation. The host had our every need thought of and hospitality was the best. Breakfast, could not have been better. Can't wait to come back.


Gracious Hosts, Great B & B for Our Two-Night Getaway

4.4 on July 23, 2011

The Country Victorian is a wonderful base camp for exploring the surprising Amish area around Middlebury, Indiana. Great house, breakfasts, and room, and fantastic, knowledgeable hosts. We chose the picnic lunch package, and lunch was excellent and packed in an incredible picnic backpack. Other guests were equally enthusiastic about the Amish family dinner. Thanks Arnie and Lori!


Book It-You won't be sorry

4.6 on July 17, 2011

My wife and I had a great time here. Lori and Arnie are so accommodating. Lori is a great listener and is so open and easy to talk to. She is so organized she has thought of everything for your comfort, One guest even noted there were ear plugs for noise if needed. I predict this B&B will not need to worry about the recession what with the great service and all there is to do here. Book it, and this B&B will become a memorable part of your stay to Amish Indiana. The only complaint we had was that we had to leave!


Relax and enjoy!

4.2 on July 14, 2011

The rooms were very nicely decorated, and it was so enjoyable sitting on the front porch and relaxing in the evening. The breakfast was delicious, especially the poached pear and the fresh herbs that were used to garnish and flavor the food she prepared. Lori and Arnie were very nice, and they gave us a brief history lesson about the house and town. I would be more than happy to stay here again when I'm in the area.


Great Bed & Breakfast!

5 on July 11, 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay. Great breakfasts, clean rooms, friendly atmosphere. Loved reading on porch and watching Amish Buggies go past on Main Street.


Great B&B and innkeepers

4.4 on June 07, 2011

Lori and Arnie were great innkeepers. Fantastic breakfast. Many extras and attention to detail.


A visit you will never forget and will want to repeat.

5 on May 18, 2011

When you stay in MIddlebury, you will understand the draw of being in the Midwest in America. There is shopping, culture and relaxation. The historical Menno Hof Museum is a place worth including in your visit. Your stay with Lori and Arnie will be relaxing and rejuvenating. As your hosts, they can help you plan your stay. Their hospitality is fantastic. You could not ask for a better place to stay. We have introduced our family and friends to the hospitality of the Country Victorian. You will, too.


Birthday weekend get-away

4.2 on March 19, 2011

My husband booked this B&B as a get-away for my birthday. Just as we were driving past (it was too early to check in) I couldn't help but notice how charming it was (not realizing that was where we would be staying). After spending the day exploring the Amish country side on a chilly rainy winter day it was a delight to walk into such a warm and cozy atmospher. The details in the decor brought you back to a simpler time. We stayed in the Victorian Suite with a four season fire place, sitting area and comfy quilted queen size bed. Every detail was well thought out from the robes and slippers, to a tea cup filled with assorted chocolates and fresh baked cookies and hot or cold beverages. The location is perfect for exploring the antique shops, and Amish country side. Lori and Arnie are the perfect hosts. Chatting with Lori at breakfast was like visiting a lifelong friend. And the breakfast was so delicious...I'd return for the food alone. I look forward to returning in warmer weather to enjoy sitting on the porch and watching the carriages pass by. Thank you Lori and Arnie for a great wknd.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you stayed with us and that we helped make your birthday a special time! We look forward to havng you visit us again soon! Thank you for your kind words of praise for the Country Victorian B & B.


Very comfortable bed and breakfast!

3.6 on February 23, 2011

Very nice stay. Warm, friendly atmosphere. They also helped with additional plans in the area which was quite nice.


A TRUE Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on January 24, 2011

We cannot say enough about our stay at Country Victorian B & B. Our room was lovely and very comfortable, the home itself is very beautiful, and our hosts were delightful, insightful and genuinely warm and welcoming. Darling husband and I were made to feel special and we left with very much looking forward to returning and sending others to enjoy our wonderful experience. Lori and Arnie are examples of what true B & B hosts should be, and they do a tremendous job...and don't miss this food, it's breakfast at it's best!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Country Victorian B & B. We so appreciate the kind words and look forward to your return visits in the future.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on December 24, 2010

Country Victorian offered an expectational experience. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we would highly recommend it to our family and friends. The innkeepers provided extra details that made this stay memorable. The breakfast was delicious.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate hearing the things we do well and knowing that we have helped you enjoy your stay with us and in our area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Beautiful home, yummy food, and great attention to detail.

4.4 on December 15, 2010

This was the perfect place to stay for a snowy December weekend. Lori and Arnie have a beautiful home and obviously delight in sharing it with others. We loved the little touches: the cozy living area; the cookies, hot cocoa, and tea that were always available; the stash of chocolates in our room; and the library of DVDs available for the guests. The breakfasts were varied and very fresh-tasting. Our favorite was the "breakfast banana split" that served as our appetizer for the second day. I have only two things I would change...the TV and the bathroom were both teeny (Cinnamon Spice room). We wound up just using our laptop for movies, and the shower was humorously small (especially for a pregnant lady). Otherwise, it was a perfect trip.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your lovely comments of our bed and breakfast. We appreciate hearing the things we do well as well as the items that need looking into. New 19" flat screen televisions are in the works for 2011 for the Cinnamon Spice and the Peppermint rooms. I do so wish we could expand the bathrooms in the Cinnamon Spice and the Amish rooms but as they were originally closets in this 117 year old Victorian house we are still trying to figure out how we can enlarge them with out taking too much room from the guest rooms themselves. Best wishes on the new arrival in your family and we look forward to a return visit.


Review

5 on October 21, 2010

I could not simply not ask for anything more. Everything was just always great. I will always give a good word for the Country Victorian Bed & Breakfast.


A wonderful little inn in the heart of Amish country

4.8 on September 28, 2010

Arnie and Lorie are the hosts for this impressive little inn in the heart of Amish country. The room was spacious and extremely well appointed. The bathroom was very neat and filled with every conceivable toiletry item that someone might have forgotten. I've never seen this before. The gourmet breakfast was very well done and more tasteful than most with a breakfast "desert" that was exquisite culinary overkill for people like myself who are on the heavy side. The only negatives are very minor, and include considerable highway noise, mitigated by the air conditioning, and the steep and narrow stairs leading to the rooms. All in all, this inn will be at the top of our list for a return visit.


A Great Place to Stay

4.6 on September 28, 2010

We received a warm welcome and felt right at home. The room was very nicely furnished and comfortable. Lori and Arnie were extremely hospitable and wonderful to visit with. Breakfasts were certainly the high point. Very nice cuisine and delicious.


We'll Be Back

4.8 on September 24, 2010

My wife loves Shipshewana and we decided to stay overnight in the area, shopping and sightseeing. I went online to see if I could find a hotel deal and happened on some reviews of Country Victorian B&B. It sounded good and they had an opening. I didn't tell my wife where we were staying; I thought it might turn out to be a really nice place but didn't want to get her hopes up if I was wrong. I was not wrong. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from quiet, clean room, beautifully decorated, to the living room where we sat and read, to the fantastic breakfast, artfully prepared. The hosts were friendly and we enjoyed the beautiful home. We will definitely be visiting the area again (we're a couple hours away, in Michigan), and if we stay overnight, I anticipate doing so in the same B&B. We both highly recommend the Country Victorian B&B. Steve and Sherry Trott


1 wonderful Night in Amish Land

4.8 on September 21, 2010

Great B+B with marvelous. very friendly and generous hosts, very nice breakfast.


Not To Be Missed B&B

4.6 on September 19, 2010

The rooms are comfy, cozy and quiet for a wonderful night's stay. Lori prepared a spectacular breakfast that was as visually appealling as the flavor. Their attention to detail in every aspect made my stay perfect. Thanks Lori and Arni for a great experience.


Very comfortable and accomodating!

4.8 on September 16, 2010

We were here for the 2010 Midwest Tandem Rally. Lori and Arnie were most accomodating, making sure that all of our needs were met. Breakfast was amazing! The inn is elegant and at the same time very comfortable - a rare combination. No detail is overlooked. Its location provides easy access to all the area has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to stay here again. Craig and Susanne, Michigan


Not just breakfast, but a real dining experience

5 on September 10, 2010

Breakfast is 2-course meal and all of it fantastic, including presentation. (If you are a light eater you may want to warn homeowners ahead of time). DELICIOUS! A number of different bath configurations...ask in advance. On a busy street, so not the best place to stay if you're someone who sleeps with window open...or ask for room in back. CLEAN! Great central location. A MUST STAY B&B!


A Little Touch of Heaven

5 on August 31, 2010

We recently stayed at the Country Victorian and WOW. What a breath of fresh air this place was. The Country Victorian is all that you imagine a bed and breakfast to be and then some. Lori and Arni take great pains in making the home completely spotless, along with nunerous ammenities, and awesome food. Of all the bed and breakfasts that we have visited, this is by far the best ever!


Better than a hotel!

4.6 on August 28, 2010

I visited with my mom, my 10-yr old daughter and my 8-yr old niece. Neither of the girls had ever stayed in a B&B before. Within minutes after arriving I heard my niece say "This is way better than a hotel!" That wasn't the last time we heard that comment. Arnie and Lori and their daughter Amanda were all very helpful and gracious. They made the girls feel right at home as well. The food was amazing and plentiful! The only regret is that we couldn't stay a few more nights.


1st rate establishment

5 on August 19, 2010

This was our first stay in a B&B, but it was more amazing than I could ever imagine. Everything was wonderful and at the request of some out of town friends, Lori went above and beyond to make our visit special.


Beautiful Home, Wonderful Owners

4.8 on August 12, 2010

My husband and i spent 1 night at the Country Victorian B&B in Middlebury Indiana while visiting Shipshewana IN. The location is great, only 7 miles from Shipshewana, the house is spotless and beautiful. The owners Lori and Arnie are very pleasant and make you feel at home in their home. We stayed in the Cinnamon room, which was pretty small, but adequate and for the money, you couldn't ask for more. Nice sheets, fluffy towels and if you forget any toiletries at home, don't worry, they have them all. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.


Country Victoriam Inn

4.8 on August 10, 2010

Excellent in all respects!


Great Getaway

4.0 on August 10, 2010

We had a great anniversary trip at the Country Victorian. Lori and Arnie are great hosts/hostesses. They attend to detail very well. It is quiet, relaxing and close to a lot of great things to do. The food is fantastic and above what we expected. Thanks for a great time and great company.


Great location

3.4 on August 06, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at Country Victorian B&B. We stayed in the Amish Room with twin beds and found the room setup odd with the sink in the bedroom instead of in the bathroom. Other rooms were better. Nevertheless, the location on Main Street in Middlebury was perfect and the breakfasts were incredible. Our hosts arranged dinner with an Amish family which as delightful. I would definitely stay here again but would request another room.

Innkeeper Response
The sink is in the room as opposed to being in the bathroom for the simple reason that the bathroom was at one time a closet. It is actually very European to have the sink in the room and can be quite handy so that one guest can apply makeup, or shave, brush their teeth, or dry their hair while the other guest showers. Our Cinnamon Spice room is the same way and while the bathrooms aren't large the majority of our guests prefer a private bath in the room as opposed to having to leave their room or share with someone else. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.


Great place

5 on August 04, 2010

Breakfast was super, the English Room was beautiful and comfortable, the amenities were great, and the company congenial. Highly recommended.


THE place to stay!

5 on July 27, 2010

We have stayed in over 50 bed and breakfast inns and have NEVER had a breakfast as amazing as this one!


What a Bed and Breakfast Place Should Be

5 on July 23, 2010

Our 7/20/10 stay was outstanding in all respects -- comfort, food, cleanliness, friendliness, attention to details, amenities, and overall value ! Lori is a super hostess and very knowledgeable about the area. We definitely will return and recommend it highly.


Ready to go back!

4.6 on July 18, 2010

Quite evenings in a wonderful atmosphere, with great hosts. Don't miss this place.


Recent stay

5 on July 05, 2010

We had a very good experience at the Country Victorian and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent as well.


Our "Amish" getaway

4.2 on July 01, 2010

We felt right at home in this lovely bed and breakfast. Our hosts were charming, the breakfasts were scrumptious, and our room was spotless and cozy. It was a relaxing change from our big city pace, and we look forward to visiting again.


Very pleased with Country Victorian B&B

4.4 on June 30, 2010

I looked for B&B's on the web and after browsing through many very mediocre-looking sites with ordinary houses and poor decor, was quite drawn to Country Victorian. We were absolutely thrilled with the English Room we stayed in for a very reasonable rate. The breakfast was excellent, very good service and beautifully and creatively arranged. We have been to many B&B's now all over the US, and this would definitely be in our top three. Everything is absolutely pristine and clean. We will highly recommend the Country Victorian to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Amish country of Northern Indiana. Hope to make it back there and stay longer next time!


A beautiful victorian home with lovely hosts made an enjoyable stay!

4.6 on June 21, 2010

Our family really enjoyed our stay here. The homemade cookies and beverages were available anytime. They even had a nice DVD collection to chose from when the weather turned rainy. We sat on the porch and watched the amish buggies clip clop past. The Innkeepers were warm and friendly, we enjoyed our conversations with them. Lori makes a wonderful breakfast fit for a king. Our rooms were beautiful and our every need was provided for us. The Innkeepers go beyond what others do for their guests. Our family highly recommend the Country Victorian B&B.


Great Breakfast!

4.4 on June 18, 2010

Laurie loves her job and treats her guests well. We've enjoyed our four stays in Middlebury. We'll be back.


Country Victorian is a great get-a-way

5 on June 15, 2010

Comfortable and cosy. Great breakfast. Wonderful host and hostess.


A Must Stay...

5 on June 15, 2010

What a great find for a weekend get away.....Lori and Arnie were great innkeepers and the stay was to short. Breakfast was excellent. The best kept secret is the Peppermint Room...unattached bathroom but the 2 steps to it is worth the extra effort!!


Amazing Experience

4.8 on June 01, 2010

My mom and I took a road trip through the Midwest and Amish country and were so glad to get to spend two nights in this adorable home away from home! The food was delicious and Arnie and Lori were the most hospitable hosts that we've seen in a long time at our bed and breakfast stays. Should we ever happen to upper Indiana again, or know of anyone going, we will definitely stay here (we were in the adorable and comfy Cinnamon Spice room)! We loved it!!


Wonderful in every way

5 on May 24, 2010

Pleasant, clean, nice host, Amish area nice, went over and above in every way, breakfast was way more than I've had anywhere else. Good and was fit for my special diet. Thanks, N. & G.


Sister's week-end retreat

5 on May 17, 2010

Dear Lori and Arnie, Thank you so much for your hospitality. We felt right at home. We liked the freedom to come down stairs instead of staying in our room while we were there. Your meals were wonderful and the presentation great. We enjoyed talking with you and finding out about your family. All of us would recommend your bed and breakfast to our friends. All in all you and Arnie made our stay a fantastic one. I am sure we will be back...maybe even next year when my sisters come up to see me. This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast~~IT WAS FANTASTIC. Thank you again for a wonderful time. Marcia, Phyllis, Deloris and Kathy


B & B Info

4.0 on May 05, 2010

Our stay at this property was very good. There were many nice touches to the property and the room. We would recommend it to anyone coming to this area


Really enjoyed our visit with them

5 on April 21, 2010

They really paid attention to the details that made a B and B special


Middlebury respite

4.2 on April 05, 2010

If you need lodging in north-central Indiana, this B&B is an excellent choice. Special touches like soft bathrobes, beverages and chocolates make the traveler feel right at home. However, the breakfast is probably better than you get at home - don't miss it!


Country Victorian B&B

5 on April 04, 2010

Everything was fabulous. Charming rooms -- with so many little details in decorating. We appreciated all the extras that were included in our stay from the snacks and beverages available in the dining room as well as the candy dish and toiletries in our own rooms. A wonderful stay!


Our Visit to Country Victorian

4.6 on March 30, 2010

Lori and Arnie are fantastic hosts. This B&B is impeccably clean, food preparation and presentation was terrific and yummy, and the atmosphere is so friendly. This was our second visit and we plan on returning soon. The location is great too...in the heart of Amish country.


A Little Peace of Heaven

4.6 on March 29, 2010

We enjoyed a quiet 39th anniversary get a way at the Country Victorian B & B. Arnie & Lori provided a cozy, quiet atmosphere in their lovely Victorian home. They thought of absolutely everything to pamper us. The surroundings were empectably clean and comfortable. The hospitality superb!! We felt quite at home.


Perfect getaway!!

5 on March 25, 2010

We got a chance to get away for two days and decided to try the Country Victorian. We had heard great things about this bed and breakfast and everyone was so right. We had a lovely stay and everything was perfect. Lori and Arnie were such good hosts and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was the best, we didn't even want lunch. All the way home we talked about what a great time we had and when we could go back. We highly recommend the County Victorian.


Country Comfort

3.8 on March 15, 2010

Cozy room, warm hospitality, and a great breakfast! Would definitely stay again


Outstanding!

5 on March 05, 2010

Absolutely loved this place. We showed up without a reservation but the hosts were extremely accommodating. No detail was overlooked. Thank you for all the ammenities, the delicious breakfast, and super comfy bed (English Room).


A perfect Valentine's Day retreat!

4.6 on February 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for Valentines 2010, and we had a wonderful time. The area is beautiful and the Country Victorian fits right in. Arnie and Lori are fantastic hosts who were glad to make our stay wonderful. Our room, the Cinnamon Room, was beautiful and well-kept. My wife has a wheat sensitivity, and Lori made a breakfast that took that into account, even when there were 2 other couples also staying.


Outstanding B & B with gourmet food!

5 on February 16, 2010

We have enjoyed this B & B twice, and each time had a lovely room, gourmet breakfast, and homemade cookies and other goodies. For booking in Feb., guests also received a box of hand dipped chocolates which were delicious. No extra charge for any of these amenities! Lori and Arnie are gracious and hospitable, and we will definitely be back soon.


40th wedding anniversary weekend

5 on December 01, 2009

We really felt at home except for the hustle and bustle and phones ringing. Your home is awesome and the food was very good. Lori and Arnie really put their heart and soul into making our stay very rememberable. The wine and glasses were the extra touch. Thank You.


anniversary

5 on November 27, 2009

The service was excellent, it was like we were visiting friends ,very warm and comfortable. We will definitly be coming back for another stay and will recomend it to our friends and family!! rachel & jose


visit with unexpected pluses

4.6 on November 17, 2009

Our trip included dinner with an Amish family and a trip to an Amish farm. These are extras to strongly consider for any who wish for a better understanding of Amish culture. Country Victorian was the complete Victorian lady, no cheap substitute furnishings allowed. It was gorgeous, the food and company was great, and the hosts were careful of our comfort. A lovely get-away.


They thought of everything...

4.0 on October 19, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with our accomodations, very clean , cozy, warm & friendly. The food was good and Arnie & Lori are super! We look forward to returning next year. Thank You.


Very Satisfied

5 on October 16, 2009

We had a wonderful three days at the Country Victorian. Lori and Arnie's breakfasts are to die for. Every morning is a new adventure and definitely not the tired old "continental breakfast" you get at the chain motels. Friendly and very interesting hosts, a stay here is a vacation in itself.


Excellent B&B!

5 on October 14, 2009

We have now stayed with Lori & Arnie twice and we will return! The rooms are incredibly clean and comfortable. Lori's cooking is amazing. When you arrive, you are greeted as an old friend, not a customer. Lori & Arnie are both very knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast is served family style around the dining room table. You won't have a need for lunch!! Very well worth the money.


Our Stay

5 on October 13, 2009

We had a fabulous stay here, Lori and Arnie are lovely people who do absoloutley everything they can to make their guests comfortable. Lovely touches such as sweets by the bed, fresh baked cookes, and a well stocked fridge with drinks in the dining room to help yourself to. I wish we could have stayed longer.


Elegant and comfortable

4.8 on October 10, 2009

Attention to detail provided a warm invitation. The comfortable bed and elegantly served breakfasts made the stay most enjoyable. Both Lori and Arnie were dedicated to superb service.


Nice place to relax

4.8 on October 06, 2009

Great breakfast,very comfortable room,Lori and Arnie go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay. Thanks, Bill


Wonderful in Every Way!

5 on October 06, 2009

Because I own a B&B (The Blue Belle Inn B&B in St. Ansgar, Iowa), I have high expectations when I stay at other inns. So believe me when I say, I was totally impressed with the Country Victorian B&B. The beds were very plush and comfortable, breakfast was a delicious, gourmet feast. Lori has incorporated all kinds of delightful little touches throughout the B&B and thoughtfully included everything one might need when staying - and then some! We enjoyed chatting with Arnie and Lori and will certainly recommend this wonderful B&B to our friends and family. The house is beautifully renovated and town of Middlebury is delightful. I highly recommend this B&B!


a great weekend

5 on October 04, 2009

lori and arnie do a great job!intend to return next year!highly recomended


Excellent Place to Stay

4.0 on October 01, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful visit at Country Victotian. What a comfortable place to stay. The food was wonderful as were our hosts Arnie and Lori.


Awesome B & B.

5 on September 25, 2009

Our Stay here was awesome. The home is beautifuly decorated and the atmosphere is great. I would highly recommend staying here to all of my family. We would come here again but stay another day. Lori, Arnie are wonderful innkeepers.The food was very good. Thank you again Arnie for the assistance to my sister's vehicle. Mrs. Gwenlyn S. Williams, New Boston, Michigan.


Our First Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on September 21, 2009

We could not have made a better choice for our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast! This one will be hard to top. Lori and Arnie have a wonderful home they have chosen to share with all of us and Lori is a top notch chef. Our breakfast was a culinary delite! We will certainly be staying with them again in the future and can't wait to see what is in store for us on our next and hopefully longer visit.


Best B & B we have stayed at!

5 on September 18, 2009

Country Victorian B & B is by far the best place we have ever stayed. Lori was so nice and considerate. We got the Romance package for our anniversasr and it was AWESOME!!! I reccommend this place to anyone wanting to relax in Amish Country!


Middlebury Wonderful Experience

5 on September 14, 2009

I was treated to the stay at this lovely bed and breakfast by my daughter. It truly is a lovely victorian home. My room and separate bathroom made me feel like a little girl again. The rooms were spotless and wonderfully decorated. The breakfast the next day was delicious and wonderfully presented, and the atmosphere of the dining room and the host made all of us (other guests) feel at home and sharing in our conversations. I cannot speak more highly of this experience and I definitely want to return!


Great place to stay!

4.6 on September 12, 2009

My wife and I spent two days at the Country Victorian B&B. Lori & Arnie were outstanding hosts! The inn is very clean and comfortable. The food was fabulous. My wife was not feeling well the first night and they did everything they could to help. Highly recommended.


A wonderful home away from home

5 on September 10, 2009

Lori & Arnie are great innkeepers. The rooms are great (we've stayed in 4 of them). They pay attention to every detail. Breakfast is wonderful! They know everyone by name, even if you haven't been there long. Great conversation over breakfast. Very relaxing place to spend some time.


a Fabulous Experience. A must Stay.

5 on August 28, 2009

No detail is overlooked. Lori & Arnie have created the ultimate B&B experience.


Middelbury B&B

5 on August 25, 2009

Loved the liitle details and the decor throughout the house. Food was absolutely a delight and the host family warm, friendly and very helpful.


Perfection!!

5 on August 20, 2009

Country Victorian was an outstanding experience! Every detail has been thought of in this lovely setting. We so enjoyed sitting on the front porch watching and listening to the Amish buggies go by. We would definitely return. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Treat yourself to a delightful stay.


fabulous stay

5 on August 19, 2009

We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning again.


Lovely Place to Stay

5 on August 17, 2009

All the comforts of home and then some - great attention to special details. Beautiful place!


Awesome B & B

5 on August 16, 2009

Accomadations were Awesome! Breakfast that our host (Lori) served, was just "Out of this World", good! We felt like we were in our own house and being catered too. Everything was beautiful. Ed & Sandy Brushaber, Temperance, MI.


An enjoyable stay

5 on August 15, 2009

We had a warm welcome, and the hosts obviously work hard to make a stay enjoyable.


Heist weekend

5 on August 15, 2009

Everything was perfect! Loved the teas available. We received a pot of tea each morning. We also stayed in a different room each night. Next visit we will choose the English Room.


Great Memories!

5 on August 11, 2009

The House is stunning & so welcoming! Laurie & Arnie were Great! We would highly recommend a stay here for anyone who wants to be pampered & treated to a wonderful breakfast. Thank you so much to Amanda who returned my phone charger too.


super sleepover

5 on August 10, 2009

we could not imagine a better night away.the facilities were top notch,service excellent and value the best we have ever experienced. thank you lori & arni for a wonderful vist we will be back.lance &jan mitchell


A great bed and breakfast experience

5 on August 09, 2009

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and it was great.Very clean and everything you need is there.Breakfast was very good.We would diffently go there again.Going to this bed and breakfast was a great experience,and others should try it.


Charming Victorian Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 08, 2009

Our stay at the Country Victorian B&B was a true delight. Beautifully decorated, comfy bed.... wonderful linens....luxurious towels. Delicious breakfast. Hosts went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.


One of the best!

4.6 on August 02, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at the Country Victorian, and it was even better than the first time. It is a very quaint, homey place to stay. The food is beyond excellent, and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully done and comfortable. We love sitting on the front porch watching and hearing the buggies go by. I would highly recommend the Country Victorian to anyone planning on a stay in Amish country.


Lori is such a gracious/charming hostess

5 on August 01, 2009

Lori has a special gift of welcoming guests and making them feel like part of the Country Victorian family. Good food, good fun, good fellowship. That sums up our second stay. We will be back.


wonderful weekend away

4.8 on July 28, 2009

Besides a beautiful B&B and very accommodating hosts, we did the Amish farm tour which was interesting. We also dined with an Amish family in their home which was the highlight of our weekend.


Charming!

3.8 on July 28, 2009

I was surprised to receive a full breakfast....mmmm good.


Exemplary Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 25, 2009

We would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. We returned to Country Victorian after our wonderful visit four years ago. The facilities were even better- luxurious bed linens and towels and many little extras that are not available in other B. & Bs. Breakfasts were five star- very delicious. Anyone would enjoy this friendly, homey environment!


Indiana's best

5 on July 19, 2009

Since we retired, my wife and I have traveled around the country staying in B&Bs. Without a doubt, the Country Victorian is the best B&B in Indiana and one of the best in the USA. Lori and Arnie are supurb hosts and always make us feel like family. The breakfasts are outstanding, too. We've stayed there six times and are already planning our seventh visit.


Taking a Walk in Time

5 on July 14, 2009

Our time spent at Country Victorian was like a walk in time. The clean and spacious rooms are all beautifully decorated with antique furniture. The whole living and dinning area included. The house is like seeing it when it was first built, with all the orginal wood throughout,including a built in hutch. The food was also great! You are given so much you don't go away hungry. Lori is a wonderful cook and gracious innkeeper. Her and Arnie made our two night stay comfortable and enjoyable.


Just Like Home

5 on July 07, 2009

We stayed at Country Victorian with our friends from Holland for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our Dutch friends were especially impressed with the comfort, atmosphere and breakfast. We all felt like we were right at home. Arnie and Lori are the perfect hosts.


Mark and Tressie

5 on July 06, 2009

We loved the house and the decor. The friendliness of the staff and the guests was excellent. The breakfast was delicious, and the conversation was refreshing. We would love to stay again the next time we're in Amish Country.


Felt like home

4.6 on July 05, 2009

My family and I enjoyed staying at this bed and breakfast very much, we've been there twice and plan to go back many more times. Wonderful place to stay.


BEAUTIFUL SETTING

5 on July 03, 2009

BEAUTIFUL HOME - ROOMS ARE SO QUIET. ENJOYED SITTING ON FRONT PORCH AND WATCHING HORSES AND BUGGIES GO BY!!!


Great place to visit

5 on July 02, 2009

The crew loved staying with you. They just raved about the service and food. Thank you for your hospitality.


Wonderful B&B

5 on June 28, 2009

This B&B was outstanding in every way -- very comfortable, lots of amenities, and a truly fantastic breakfast. We would highly recommend it for a stay in the Amish country.


Girls' Night Out

5 on June 19, 2009

My daughters and I had a wonderful evening and breakfast at the Country Victorian B & B. Clean, comfy and just perfect set up for our girls' night out. Super yummy breakfast and beautifully appropriated. We felt very special.


Comfortable

4.6 on June 15, 2009

Lori & Arnie provide wonderful service and the home is just beautiful. The bathroom, though private, is a little tight. The homemade chocolate chip cookies and gourmet breakfast are more than worth that minor inconvenience. Highly recommend this B & B to anyone who will be in the area.


Outstanding

5 on June 14, 2009

This is an outstanding place to stay. We enjoyed it very much and would recommend it to anyone.


STRONGLY RECOMMENDED

4.6 on June 08, 2009

We had a great stay with Arnie and Lori. Wonderful hospitality; great food; comfortable room; warm, "homey" environment and very convenient to many of the local attractions. Located in a quiet little town, right across the street from a very good ice cream parlor, to boot! If we engage another B&B in the area, it will most probably be the Country Victorian. Don & Lynn Cripe, Highland, Ca


Country Victorian B & B

5 on May 25, 2009

This was an outstanding place to stay.


wonderful getaway

4.4 on April 13, 2009

We have stayed at other B and Bs before but this was by far the nicest. The rooms were beautiful, the food was great and the hosts were very friendly. There were so many unexpected extras. We will definitely return and we have already recommended it to friends and family.


Everything was excellent

4.2 on March 31, 2009

Our stay was prompted by the celebration of our eleventh anniversary. Everything was absolutely excellent.


A very pleasant surprise

5 on March 22, 2009

I have been in hotels and motels but this has been the absolute best,the house inside and out is very charming and the bedroom I stayed in was absolutely adorable and very comfortable,if I have a chance to go again this will be the only place I will stay,also the breakfast was out of this world delicious,the owner came to visit with us at breakfast which made you feel very welcome and at home,thank you for making it such a pleasant experience.


We will definitely return!

5 on March 22, 2009

Our 2-night stay at Country Victorian B&B was fantastic. Our room was beautiful and clean and you could hear and see the Amish buggies go by right outside your window. The breakfasts were fabulous and reason alone to go back again and again. We highly recommend this wonderful B & B. Odessa & Delaney Crane


Great Place!

5 on March 03, 2009

Wonderful in every regard!


A great place to stay

4.6 on March 02, 2009

A great place for a get away. With a warm and friendly environment. The food was outstanding. I highly recommend this for your next trip to Amish country.


Kindness appreciated

5 on February 27, 2009

Staying at the Country Victorian is very pleasant. I greatly value the thoughtfulness of Lori and Arnie.


Must Go

4.8 on February 17, 2009

The food was outstanding! The house had tons of original charm and the owners were very personable. Its a must go if you want a nice getaway from the everyday, at a great price!


A Victorian Valentine

5 on February 17, 2009

This is a terrific stay within a beautiful home that is loved and cared for by the innkeepers! We made a new friend in Lori and appreciate how she and Arnie are caring for the home and for their guests! Highly recommend this small community in Amish country as a place to visit and especially if you stay at the Country Victorian!


One of The Best

5 on January 20, 2009

We enjoyed the egg cheese quiche dish for breakfast. Our room was cozy and had relaxation written all over it with gorgeous decor and a nice little bathroom off to the side including ammenities should you forget something from home...it is there for you! The towels are so plush...A dvd player in room for entertainment...perfect wk end with perfect hosts! Thanks Arnie and Lori...fondly Mark and Joni


birthday for my wife

4.2 on January 20, 2009

Everything was taken care of with no worries and it was a restful stay.


Excellent get-away

4.8 on December 16, 2008

One day stay. Very nice people. Decor fabulous. They thought of everything.


What a special place!

4.6 on December 03, 2008

If we could have seen a better view of the bathrooms online it would have been helpful. My husband is a big guy and the shower stalls in our room was quite small even for me. This would in no way deter us from returning, just booking a room with a larger facility!


Excellent place

5 on November 17, 2008

The best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at.


Felt right at home!

4.0 on November 17, 2008

Arnie and Lori made us feel right at home, like old friends right from the start. The breakfasts were outstanding! Thanks so much for all the extra attention to details!


BREAKFAST B&b

4.0 on November 16, 2008

Lots of amenities and good value.........comfy and very much felt at home!


Great stay

5 on November 05, 2008

Great stay! Very clean and food was wonderful. Would stay again in a heartbeat!


atmosphere is everything

4.6 on October 28, 2008

My wife and I returned to this bed and breakfast for our ten year anniversary and loved it. We just took a weekend to get away from all the rush and hustle of everyday life. We could really relax here and had a good time eating at all the amish restaurants and window shopping:) The home is very well run and has had a lot of renovations and warm touches made since our one year anniversary, yet the price was still the same! Great value!


Great visit!!

4.2 on October 27, 2008

The room was very clean. This visit was so relaxing for my husband and I. We really enjoyed just sitting out on the porch with tea and coffee, and sitting in the parlor. Lori and Arnie are so nice. The conversation was great. I was really amazed by the special "little things" available without extra charges like most hotels, etc. Like the combs, deorderant, toothpaste, cookies, sodas, teas, cocoa, etc. They thought of everything, even down to ear plugs incase you don't like the sonds of the horses going up and down the street. We thought, even though it smelled of horse doo at times, that the fresh air was great!!! The area was very nice! We will visit the Country Victorian B & B again!!


Country escape

4.2 on October 24, 2008

private, sparkling clean room and bath. comfortable bed for sleeping, delicious breakfast!


Country Victorian

4.8 on October 24, 2008

My wife and I throughly enjoyed our stay at the Contry Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We have stayed at Bed and Breakfasts for the past 10 years all over the country and the Contry Victorian is one of the top 5 in our experience. The rooms are nicly decorated, CLEAN and well maintained. Arnie and Lori are great hosts and we enjoyed our stay.


It was Home from Home

4.8 on October 23, 2008

We had a wonderful welcome from Lori & Arnie who treated us like family members. The breakfasts were outstanding and we would recommend this B&B to everyone


Delightful Getaway

4.2 on September 15, 2008

It was a true delight to stay at this beautiful victorian home and be hosted by such friendly people. The room was lovely, the service was exceptional, and visiting with other guests was an added treat. I would recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone.


Wonderful & Welcoming

4.4 on September 08, 2008

Lori & Arnie were wonderful innkeepers. They went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. The room was beautiful and breakfast was delicious. They even included some necessities in a basket in case you forgot something - truly worth the time and money to stay and the town has some worthwhile attractions.


Excellent Stay

4.4 on June 04, 2008

Country Victorian really caters to your individual needs, as well as offer all the extra niceties that make your stay a special one. One has to enjoy the fact that it is over 100 years old and in such beautiful condition now.


Country Victorian B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $139
  • Reviews (165) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5748252568
  • Mobile 1-5746123997

Visit Website »

View details

Top