Leavenworth Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Quick Getaway

5 on August 05, 2013

Found the entire experience to be first-rate; the rome (Edelweiss) was very comfortable, the breakfast's excellent, the grounds well maintained, and the library comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.


No communication amongst employees

2.0 on June 26, 2013

We made our reservation in January for our stay in June with a gift card. (have been disappointed in the past by being filled up at different places). On our way down on Friday night,(we are 5 hrs away) we received a call saying the inn no longer accepts gift cards. My question is why call now when we are coming the next day ? "New office mgr, etc" Offered us a "discount" for another room. That's fine, I let her pick the room. No discount offered for the room we had originally chosen. I'm sure they double booked our original room and did not want to tell us that as well. Since we had made our weekend plans, we went. Inn was nice, clean & cozy. Do Not recommend the Holly Room which she chose for us. Old house (which makes it quaint) but paper thin walls. it is right by the front door, heard every conversation that evening. Plus could hear the guest above us snoring. When we checked in I told the girl about my egg allergy when she told us the menu for the next day. (she did not ask about food allergies) She said Joy would fix something different for me. Fine, don't really need special treatment, however the next morning when breakfast was served and egg casserole was put on my plate and I told her none for me, she had no clue even after the girl told us she would make note and let her know. Felt bad for her, since the casserole did look very good. Just no communications amongst employees! Upon returning home and comparing our room rate against what is posted on the internet, the "discount" we received was no more than what we got with our AARP card. Very disappointing. We had dinner at the Overlook restaurant which is in walking distance from the Inn, and that was very, very good. We try to go to a different B&B the month of my birthday every year. Probably would not return to this Inn. Not worthy of a 5 hr drive for us.


Girls weekend getaway

3.8 on September 29, 2012

Nice, quaint town with a fabulous view of the Ohio River. Very close to other towns and activities, yet very secluded and relaxed.


Wonderful Valentine's Day weekend

4.4 on July 10, 2012

We ordered the Winter Getaway Package for Valentine's Day weekend and it was a great value. The only things that I wish were different are that I wish they had more King bed options and that I wish we could have stayed a month!


They are the best by far..

4.0 on December 29, 2011

I just want to say that Leavenworth inn is such a great place. I came there with my family back in June and I stayed in the Mint Julep and it was a beautiful weekend that we got to stay. The room was excellent and the service was awesome. It is so peaceful and relaxing. Now it is the getaway after my daughter gets out of school. We will definatly be back...


Getaway and Can't wait until a return stay

5 on December 27, 2011

I've visited the inn several times. All the inn keepers know me by name. I always look forward to the polite and warm reception I receive. Each inn keepers personality adds something special to my visits. The rooms are just beautifully decorated. I can't wait until my birthday stay next month.


My favorite Inn in Indiana ;-)

4.8 on October 27, 2011

I have stayed here with my family over six times and every time we come to Leavenworth we leave relaxed. The Inn is clean, beautiful, and (best of all!) they make the best white chocolate cookies on the planet! The DVD collection exceeds a public library's and they have a tennis court, walking paths, and a resturant that looks over the Ohio River across the street. This place is perfect for a Ladies weekend, Romantic weekend, or a retreat.


Wonderful, quiet get-away!

4.6 on October 10, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for a long weekend at the inn. We enjoyed everything about it! Beautiful setting and so comforting and relaxing. The beds are wonderful and the added touch of fresh baked cookies brought to your cottage in the afternoon is nice. Will certainly come again.


Great place for a night away!

4.8 on August 31, 2011

My wife and I spent a night at the Leavenworth Inn -- it was one of the most relaxing evenings we've had in quite a long time! Before all else -- if you go -- you definitely need to have dinner across the road at the Overlook Restaurant upon check-in. The Overlook is excellent food -- an incredibly diverse and loaded menu -- and some of the best fried chicken I have ever eaten! We were treated to some yummy cookies in the lobby at the Inn. Our innkeeper was very polite and helpful, and we instantly felt at home the minute we walked into our room. I anticipated that the inn would have more of a bed and breakfast feel, so, therefore, no TV. But, I was pleasantly surprised to see a very nice flat panel hi-def set in our guest room. The inn has a wide variety of activities, including a huge DVD and extensive book library; and plenty of outdoor amenities. More than anything, my wife and I enjoyed walking the grounds of the inn and finally relaxing in two rocking chairs in the gazebo and just enjoying relaxing conversation as we watched the sun set. We liked our stay so much that we purchased a gift certificate for my parents to enjoy the same experience we had.


Room was Excellent, Service and Dinning were not

3.4 on May 29, 2011

We just returning from a stay at the Leavenworth Inn. Our room was beautiful and very clean! However, we were disappointed in the service of the Inn. Upon arrival, we were provided a room key and were pointed in the direction of the cottage. The cottage had about 5 entrances and we were a little confused as to where we should enter. We are not too impressed. Additionally, we were directed to "The Outlook", a local restaurant, for breakfast (the Inn doesn't serve breakfast on weekends.) We also ate there for dinner the night before. Food for dinner was a little overpriced and the service was very poor.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your stay with us at The Leavenworth Inn. We appreciate your comments and are always looking for better ways to serve our guests. I apologize for the confusion in getting to the Cottage as well as which door to enter. We now provide maps for our guests showing the layout of the cottages on the property. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider returning in the future.


peaceful, wonderful, with thoughtful touches

4.8 on March 21, 2011

My husband recently whisked me and our daughter away for a night at Leavenworth Inn, and when we left, I wished we were able to stay the whole weekend. We stayed in the Willow room on the second floor in the Gardener's Cottage. It was peaceful and very clean with a very spacious and relaxing bathroom. The downstairs had a common kitchen area for the three rooms in the cottage, and fresh coffee and juice was provided in the morning as well as fresh-baked cookies later. There was an entire wall of current, interesting books and dvds for our enjoyment. The main house had a cozy sitting room. We will be back very soon for a longer weekend to enjoy the tennis courts and hiking and biking trail.


Make it a party

5 on January 15, 2011

This is our 3 year in a row where we bring 5 couples and spend the weekend. Great food great fellowship and PLENTY of space!! We plan for next years trip already booked..


First time but won't be our last!

5 on December 29, 2010

We just arrived home today from our visit to Leavenworth and we thoroughly enjoyed it. SO glad we discovered this great secret of Indiana! We were so impressed with the variety of rooms to choose from-four houses in all. We stayed in the beautiful Morning Glory room with a great view of the river. The rooms were immaculate and felt like they were prepared with our pleasure in mind. We appreciated the great DVD library, the delicious food, yummy cookies, warm hospitality, and overall friendliness of the staff. We really felt so welcome. Great variety of teas, drinks, and condiments at our meal and great personal service. If you would like a clean, comfortable, quiet place to recharge your batteries, this is the perfect spot! All the rooms are so inviting and the grounds are awesome. We enjoyed a nice walk on the walking path and can't wait to go back in the warmer weather to try the tennis courts and bikes. There is an AWESOME "General Store" within walking distance called "Stephenson's General Store" and you again are treated like family. Great old fashioned ice cream sundaes/floats, homemade candy and desserts, sandwiches, pizzas, and hot lunches every day. Unique gift items too! THe Overlook Restaraunt was a great dinner choice too. Shopping in Corydon was so fun with all its unique shops and eateries. We have already checked our calendars and plan on going back in a few months and taking some couples with us and have our own "Marriage Retreat" of friendship and fun as we retreat at this wonderful blessing of an Inn! We highly recommend it!


Wonderful time!

5 on October 04, 2010

We stayed overnight in the Magnolia room. From the moment we stepped in the door we were greeted by friendly staff and a wonderful feeling of being home. When we opened the door to our room, we were delightfully greeted by a pristine room that was not only beautiful and clean, it SMELLED clean. Not the perfumey smell of a plug-in, but genuine deep down clean. The bed is humongous as our teenager would say and comfortable. The grounds are well kept and just a wonderful place to kick back and watch the river traffic. Breakfast in the dining room affordable a wonderful chance to meet strangers and connect briefly over a scrumptious meal cooked in the kitchen. We dined at the Overlook before we left and as always, it was wonderful. We plan to recommend the Inn to any friends that are looking for a fabulous get a way. Bill & Bonnie, Indianapolis


Great unexpected treat!

4.2 on May 11, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here several times. It is very well decorated and tastefully done. They have a great DVD library to enjoy while you are a guest. The breakfast at the Overlook restaurant is great too.


Valentines weekend 2010

4.6 on February 16, 2010

I chose the Leavenworth Inn for a surprise Valentines trip for my wife and I based on the positive reviews I read on this website. We found the experience outstanding and exceeded the reviews. The room was very clean and the bed linens smelled freshly washed. There was an enormous amount of DVD movies available upon request and the service was excellent. What made the experience special for us was the friendly staff, especially the night inn keeper who greeted us with warm homemade cookies and tea. An altogether pleasant memory.


Wonderful!!!

4.8 on January 05, 2010

We stayed at the Cottage in the 'Sweet William' room for two nights between Christmas and New Year's. The Cottage was beautiful as was our room. Very private and relaxing. We want to come back in the spring so we can enjoy the porch! Wonderful, wonderful place to stay! The Moore's


Will definitely go back! Beautiful relaxing get-a-way.

3.6 on December 29, 2009

Let me start out by saying that the Leavenworth Inn is a beautiful place with many beautiful rooms to choose from in their 2 large Inns and then a separate cottage and carriage house. Our only problem was that the person that received us just pointed in the direction of which building we were staying in and sent us off. The roads are winding and with there being several buildings we weren't sure which we were to go to. Then once getting to the correct Inn we couldn't easily unlock the door. We called the office and were given directions to how the key worked and which of the many doors to go it would unlock. It was 30 minutes of frustration but once in that was all erased with the tranquility of the Inn and our stay.


One of our favorite places!!!

5 on September 29, 2009

We have stayed several times at the Leavenworth Inn and always look forward to returning. We love the serenity of the area, the multitude of activities that the inn has to offer, and the ABUNDANCE of movies and games to select from. The Leavenworth Inn has been a terrific blessing to our marriage.


Outstanding

4.6 on August 15, 2009

I am in the travel industry, and folks this is as good as it gets for the money. Discovered it approx. 3 yrs ago and can't go there enough. The inn and all the staff are simply great. Not crazy about the dining across the street, but in town is a place I believe called Magdelainas...Superb! Do not hesitate to stay here and sign up for specials, they have wonderful winter rate specials.


Great Place

4.6 on August 03, 2009

Really a great place to stay. My wife and I and my mother stayed one night here. Checking the place out for a family reunion. I definetly would recommend the Inn for a place you want to stay. I now am putting together a letter and info for my relatives to have a weekend getaway here for us. You will enjoy.


Don't Miss Such A Golden Opportunity

5 on July 28, 2009

My wife and I have enjoyed traveling to the Inn for the past several years. We try to make it in the spring and again in the fall of the year. Each time we find the experience to be very relaxing and refreshing. We do "charge" out batteries and we so look forward to the drive and the visit. The folks at the Leavenworth Inn and at the food establishment accross the road at the Horse Shoe Bend are just beyond words as to how they care about you and your stay. We enjoy the time spent visiting southern Indiana and the many communities within a short driving distance. This fall we plan to stay even longer and take in more of the attractions all over southern Indiana. You don't want to miss this opportunity - go there and stay as soon as you can.


Wonderful Place to Get Away!!!

5 on June 20, 2009

We stayed at the inn and it was a wonderful, romantic getaway!!! It was great that in the morning, we got up and took a cup of coffee out to walk through the town, and managed to see the most AMAZING sunrise from the grounds overlooking the river! Everyone was very helpful and gracious. Can't wait to go back this year!!!


great stay

4.6 on April 16, 2009

Beautiful view, beautiful accommodations, tasty cookies, great food at the Overlook.


Perfect Wedding and Reception

5 on March 17, 2009

My husband and I had our wedding at the Inn in June of 08, and it was the most wonderful experience. The Inn coordinator was extremely helpful,as was everyone involved. The scenery was exquisite and the rooms are beautiful. My bridal party and I stayed in the Carriage House (we had the Girls Night Out package) and it was so relaxing and very neat to be able to walk out onto the large patio and watch the horses in the stable. My husband and I spent our wedding night in the Gardenia Suite in the Gardener's cottage which was very cozy and romantic. I highly recommend the Leavenworth Inn, as well as the Overlook Restaurant.


Pristine Winter Wonderland

4.6 on January 18, 2009

An Inn couldn't be more appealing! With four buildings (the main house and three cottages) to choose from, we've stayed in two different rooms, both exceptional. The Gardener's Cottage Gardenia Suite with its private living room and clawfoot tub in the bathroom is remarkable. The homemade cookies were delightful! The English Rose Room in the main house was simply elegant. Both beds were so comfortable and the sheets magnificent. Will definitely stay again!


Best in Indiana

5 on January 14, 2009

Great view, great location, excellent service. Best B&B we have stayed in out of 4 states.


family gift

4.2 on January 12, 2009

I took my whole family for Christmas. We had a weekend of family and fun. It was the best Christmas my kids said, that they have had for years. That is saying something, because their ages are: 13,15,18, and 25. Thanks!! :)


wonderful place

5 on December 09, 2008

very friendly, very clean!


Great Southern Indiana - Ohio River Getaway

4.8 on November 27, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a Thanksgiving Getaway for two. This was the perfect place for us. Quiet and right on the Ohio River. A State Park and national Forest a few miles away for a nice long walk. Great resturaunt inculeded in the Winter Weekend Getaway. We will be back soon with friends and family for more visits


Group of 28 from Internation Police Assoc.

5 on November 17, 2008

I could not tell you how great the accommodations and people were for our group. Could not have been better and they have 28 people making recommendations.


Second visit

3.0 on October 31, 2008

Leavenworth Inn is a beautiful setting with luxury touches, excellent in all ways. The only reason it did not exceed my expectations was on my second visit I knew what to expect. I usually choose lower price accommodations when not traveling with a tour, therefore the value rating was the OK.


Leavenworth Inn

5 on September 09, 2008

Very pretty, comfortable inn.


Leavenworth Inn

5 on September 06, 2008

The bedandbreakfast was great.Beautiful grounds and gardens. So quiet, too.


Hilly Riverview on the Ohio

5 on January 22, 2008

Want to get away from the hustle & bustle? Away from the big city? Dine on a high bluff overlooking the barge & boat traffic on the Ohio River with the So. IN. Hoosier Hills behind you on both sides. Small town of only 400 with Stephenson's General Store & Museum. Exercise room, movie room, biking & hiking, tennis court, romantic fireplaces. A must see & stay.


Absolute Perfection!

5 on November 06, 2007

A must-stay along the beautiful horseshoe bend of the Ohio River. Outstanding hospitality at very reasonable rates. I’m booking a winter getaway!


Lovely Grounds & Landscaping

4.4 on November 06, 2007

The house was cozy and warm-feeling! Home-made cookies, a special treat! Lovely thick towels, soft bedding and pillows—comfortable stay! Breakfast was nice—Another business owned by them, The Dock Restaurant, had slow service and the food was not good… pricey for what was ordered.


Very Charming

4.6 on September 23, 2007

Very nice place, very charming,and clean. The Inn Keepers were very friendly and our stay was very comfortable, relaxing and quiet. Plan on returning as soon as possible.


Enchanting Leavenworth Inn

5 on July 27, 2007

Rising out the the mists above the Ohio River, the Leavenworth Inn offers sheer beauty, luxurious comforts and a simple way to slip back into time while enjoying air conditioning,e-mail, a wide choice of books, videotapes, bicycling, shuffleboard, birds and breathtaking views of the Ohio River. Only 139 miles from Cincinnati, this beautiful historic inn offers a quick escape from big city life in a convenient location.


awsome

5 on June 03, 2007

WE had a great time. The place was spot less and we didn't even have to leave the Inn they had over 300 dvds. And tons of books. The over look was a great place to dine to. They have such a good location. I plan on going back soon.


Leavenworth Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8127392120
  • Fax 1-8127392012
  • Toll free 1-8887392120

Visit Website »

View details

Top