Ivy House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
72 Reviews

Write A Review

We Knew Right Away

5 on October 26, 2014

When we walked up the front sidewalk to the door, we already knew. There's a kind of ambiance that one senses immediately. We arrived late and exhausted by a grueling trip through blinding rain and wind in AR and MO. How pleasant and beautiful did we find Ivy House and its proprietors Linda and Jim. They made us feel welcome in this lovely old former home of a local physician, built around 1920. The next morning, we were treated to some of the best breakfast cuisine we've ever had. Since we were staying for a number of days, this would be the first of a series of memorable breakfasts that rank among the very finest of all the B&B's we have visited over many years. The rooms were immaculate in every respect. Wife is seriously allergic to dust, and we experienced none of that. Every aspect of the decor, the furnishings, the attention to detail (notably, even "minor" details) was exceptional. The queen bed was very comfortable. The proprietors were very helpful to us in explaining things about the area around the Ivy House as well as Hamilton County, which we are considering for a retirement destination. We could go on for a number of pages about the beautiful accoutrements which delight the eye: crown moulding, antique clocks, hues of green, rugs with rose-colored motifs and shades of berries, rich wood tones of the furniture and floors laid entirely by hand without benefit of power tools, and on and on! Our first-day impression upon walking up to the door proved to be prescient! No doubt we would joyfully return upon a future visit to the area. Tom and Laurie


Pampered and liking it!

5 on March 14, 2014

From the moment you meet the innkeepers you feel so welcome in their home. The beds and bedding are so comfy, not to mention how warm and inviting the rooms are. The breakfasts are outstanding, so why would you even want to go home after being pampered like that! It's one of our favorite places to come and spend a few days relaxing and unwinding.....it's the perfect place.


Consistently Excellent!

5 on October 23, 2013

Kay and I have visited this wonderful B&B every year for the last five years, and we're still excited every time we go! Linda and Jim have provided an excellent stay each time, and we've had numerous, engaging conversations with the other guests we've met there. The house, garden, and grounds are so lovely that we even rented the space for our wedding. We always look forward to breakfast, knowing that Linda will make something delicious. This time it was a souffle and a literal miniature cornucopia of fruit for each of us. --Jay & Kay


Classic Comfort

5 on January 02, 2013

This trip was my fourth time visiting Indiana, and while the first three times were to see the Indy 500, this time was for pure relaxation and rejuvenation. I love the Ivy House so much that I simply do not even look at other places to stay! Why chance it, when you know how perfect Ivy House is? I stayed for two weeks this time; it is just that comfortable, and Linda makes the most decadent breakfasts served on fine china. Your plate will not see eggs and toast......no....she serves fresh ingredient soufflés, stuffed French toast dishes, fresh baked goods (like lemon poppyseed muffins drizzles in lemony goodness)...getting out of bed is such a treat! I will try to post a picture or two. I always love the cozy comfy rooms, and the large common areas are very inviting, including an outdoor terrace. Travellers, save yourself time and energy and look no further for the perfect place to stay.


Our First B & B

5 on August 09, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and Jim and Linda set the bar high for future B&B’s. They were warm and wonderful hosts. The Inn was immaculately clean and comfortable. Spacious rooms and private bath. Delicious breakfast. She assured us right away that we would not be spending the evening with them, but with each other. They have a separate entrance and stayed in separate quarters, so unless we needed anything we did not see them until morning. She has a special eye for detail and adds a warm touch to everything. Jim has done an amazing job with the doors of the home that are refurnished from the most unique places. I love old doors and the history of items so this was a treasure to me. Their personalities compliment each other and we left feeling like we had just visited friends of the family. We will return to enjoy their home and company again.


You've got to try it!!

5 on July 30, 2012

My wife and I had tickets to the Brickyard 400 NASCAR race and were looking for a comfortable place to stay for the weekend. We chose The Ivy House Bed & Breakfast based on the reviews of Trip Advisor, and are so very happy we did! The Inn was so very well taken care of that you could tell it was a place that was loved. And boy did we love it too! Everything was so immaculate! The rooms were very large and comfortable, and the huge bed we slept in made it very hard to get up in the morning. The food was excellent, and the property was beautiful! At the end of the day, it was very restful to sit and relax on the side porch with a cup of fresh brewed coffee. The house was beautifully decorated with antiques, teddy bears, tea pots, and so much more. I highly recommend The Ivy House Bed & Breakfast to anybody who may be staying in or near Indianapolis. We will definitely be staying there on our next visit!!


Tradition

5 on July 16, 2012

My husband surprised me with a return visit to Ivy House on our first anniversary. We had stayed here once while dating, and had the most wonderfully relaxing time of connection. That's really when we decided that we would marry. So coming back to this completely pleasant and peaceful place was perfect for reflection. Linda made everything perfect for us, and was very considerate of my dietary needs as well. We had everything we needed and felt quite at home. I'm hoping to make a long-standing tradition of this visit. A+ to everything. Thank you, Noltes.


Back Home Again in Indiana

5 on July 03, 2012

It has been one month since our visit to The Ivy House and we are still talking about what a terrific place. On our way to a nephew's graduation we decided to celebrate our 47th anniversary here. We were greeted at the front door by our innkeeper Linda. It was as if we were family coming home for a visit. The Inn is immaculate in every aspect, the food fabulous, the gardens beautiful, the snacks readily available Oh did I mention the food fabulous, the souffle one day, the french toast another, the fruit very fresh and the table decorated as if we were someone famous or royal. We slept better than if we were in our own bed. The furnishings are outstanding--antiques everywhere..The side porch was so peaceful after a day of sightseeing. Wanting to celebrate our anniversary dinner somewhere special, Linda knew exactly where to go. She is so knowledgeable of the surrounding area explaining all of the local venues. We will definitely stay at the Ivy House on our next visit to Indiana.


Home away from home

5 on June 17, 2012

It was seriously as if we were right at home, only a great breakfast was made and served to us. The scenery inside and out was peaceful and very relaxing. The beds were very comfortable, and every was exceptionally clean. The breakfast was fresh and there was a great variety. Also included was soda, water, or cookies at any time. It has a great small town charm and feel but is literally only 5-10 min from a great mall, restaurants, and a movie theatre. Can't imagine a better bed and breakfast experience!


Ivy House B&B getaway

5 on June 16, 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway to the Ivy House, a place I've wanted to try for years. It was like a step back in time. We slept so great on the amazing mattress! The table setting and breakfast made us feel like royalty. We even had own own souffle" that was absolutely delicious. The Ivy House was just a wonderful experience!


This is indeed one of the best in the state

4.2 on June 05, 2012

We stayed in the English Ivy Room and were just blown away by the size of it and the ensuite bathroom. The bed was a bit high off the floor and a challenge to get into but once in it, it was very peaceful sleeping. There is no control over the heat or air conditioning but the fan above the bed helped circulate the air. The innkeepers were very quick to respond to a a request for an extra towel and the place was very clean again whenever we stepped out. There were even little chocolates on our pillows each night. The breakfast was wonderful though extras might have been welcomed some mornings. Breakfast always started with a fruit platter and then a meat and egg or pastry dish all made fresh that morning. The Innkeeper was very attentive to our allergy concerns. Throughout the day, had we wished, there were cookies, teas, sodas, and water available to us. Parking was off road though the location of the B&B was a touch tricky to find. It is located in a lovely neighborhood where I could imagine several more B&Bs or fine families living. We had a code to use so we could come and go as we pleased and the run of not only our room and the dining room but also a porch and living room. We only met the lady of the Inn not the rest of her family but it was clear that she loves doing this and had great care for all of her guests. We've all ready recommended it to others.


This is a wonderful B&B!

4.8 on May 18, 2012

I have stayed in many B&B's across the Midwest and although I have never had a bad experience, some are certainly 'a cut above the rest'! This B&B is definitely one of the best! Food great, very clean, and a wonderful attention to the small details, which can separate the good B&B's from the ones that really stand out. I hope I can visit again as there is a nice little area by the reservoir, and close to the B&B, where you can eat and relax!


A perfect getaway

4.8 on April 15, 2012

The accommodations were amazing. Every detail is attended to and so charming yet a very comfortable atmosphere. The proprietor, Linda, is gracious and attentive without disturbing your privacy. The food is gourmet quality. We will definitely be back!


An Amazing Stay and pleasant company

5 on February 29, 2012

Mydaughter and I arrived late after a concert at nearby Connors Prairie. Lindagreeted us at the door with a warm smile and offered us tea and wonderfuloatmeal cookies. Our room was clean and beautifully decorated. After awonderful night's sleep we enjoyed a delicious breakfast by candlelight. Lindaloves what she does and it shows in the details of the house and the care ofthe guests. I plan to come back with my husband and enjoy both the hospitalityof the Ivy House and another concert!


Beautiful home, delicious food, and wonderful hosts!

4.8 on November 04, 2011

On October 31, 2011, my wife and I lodged at the Ivy House. We chose this B & B mainly due to the very positive reviews that previous guests had written about their stays. Well, this place lived up to those reviews. It is a very charming home with a rich history that is spotlessly maintained. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. Our hosts Linda and Jim were very friendly and accommodating. Linda prepared our breakfast, which was fresh and delicious, that included a beautiful presentation of a variety of fruits, a great ham and egg soufflé, and a poppy seed muffin. Beautiful home, delicious food, and wonderful hosts all added up to great experience.


A+ 5 stars

5 on November 01, 2011

We have stayed at many many B+B's since 1988 and we very much enjoyed our stay.There was NOT one amenity that you over looked. The room was pretty,comfortable and clean. Enjoyed breakfast and chatting with you. Thankyou for sharing your home with us.


My favorite B&B

5 on October 17, 2011

I have been staying at Bed & Breakfast Inns since the 1980s and Ivy House is my favorite by far! Linda is so warm and friendly, she makes you feel like you have known her a long time. The house is so beautiful and clean! Linda pays attention to every detail, and does it perfectly. Breakfast was wonderful, lit candles, beautiful linens, china and crystal all made for a great experience.


BIRTHDAY SURPRISE!

5 on September 28, 2011

50 years ago my husband's grandparents owned the home that is now the Ivy House in Fortville, IN. I surprised him with a night there for his 60th birthday. What a surprise and enjoyment it was for him to spend time at this beautiful place again. The owner's were so gracious and out did themselves by spending time with us reminiscing about the history of the home. We stayed in the English Ivy room with the gorgeous bath room! Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for whatever the occasion!


The Best Bed and Breakfast we have found

4.0 on September 22, 2011

We have stayed at the Ivy House twice in the last two months as it is close to our new graddaughters. We love the feel of the house, you feel like your in your own home. It has a welcome living room and outside porch and the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We always sleep well at the Ivy House. Linda is warm and friendly and she puts up a great breakfast. Our favorite room is the English Ivy Room as it has a great big clean tub to soak in and a sitting area. I love the scents coming from the kitchen in the morning as she whips fresh baked goodies daily. We will definately be back to visit at the Ivy House.


"Hosts will be friends forever"

5 on August 21, 2011

My wife & I just returned from a 30+ day trip back to Indiana to celebrate our 50th High School Reunion and visit with friends and family. Our ten day stay at the IVY House was a highlight. Jim & Linda Nolte went far and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Ivy House if you are looking for a place to stay while in east central Indiana. I would start my day with coffee on the porch where I was able to write a daily newsletter to my family and friends letting them follow along with my travels. Then breakfast was always gourmet and sumptuous. Linda went out of her way to make our breakfasts since my wife has special dietary needs with her diabetes and needs to stay on her diet. Linda even got sugar free treats to put on our bed when it was turned down in the evenings. What a delight to stay at a B & B that is in a class by itself. We can’t wait to visit Linda & Jim again. Van & Joann, Redmond, WA.


This bed and breakfast is FABULOUS!!

5 on August 19, 2011

This is the best bed and breakfast that we have stayed at on every level! The innkeepers, Linda and Jim, are so delightful, helpful and they keep the b&b immaculate and comfortable for their guests. The beds are the most comfortable, the rooms are wonderfully appointed with anything you would need. There were delicious cookies, drinks and a welcoming atmosphere when we arrived in the evening. The common areas are so cozy and beautifully decorated. The bathroom as so clean and the amenities were all top notch. The breakfast was superb - gourmet tasting and enough to fill you up. You will not regret staying at this lovely bed and breakfast - they do not disappoint!


WONDERFUL PLACE

5 on August 12, 2011

We are returning after spending our honeymoon here. Wonderful food by Linda, quiet place, peaceful and relaxing. I will be back every year to celebrate I loved it so much the first time! Macy and Cory


a beautiful birthday surprise!

5 on August 07, 2011

What a wonderful, quiet, romantic place to celebrate turning 50! Jim and Linda were a joy to visit with and were perfect hosts. Thanks for providing us with such special treatment and amenities to make our stay so beautiful. We would highly recommend Ivy House to anyone visiting the Indianapolis area. Its only a short drive away from upscale shopping and dining but offers a scenic drive in the country and the quietness of a small town.


Peaceful! Delightful!

5 on August 06, 2011

Everything about my visit to the IVY House was perfectly delightful! I enjoyed every moment. What a peaceful, inviting, and beautiful place. The Town of Fortville is so pretty and the people are so friendly. I had a wonderful retreat. ~Sarah


Blessed to stay at "The Ivy House"

4.6 on August 02, 2011

Linda and Jim are kind and considerate. They made us feel right at home from the moment we entered the door. The rooms are really nice with excellent beds, beautiful bathrooms, and many wonderful antiques, vintage doors, and cool nick nacks. There were complementary fresh cookies, tea, water and soda. The breakfast was to die for. Fresh juices, friuit with homemade cheesecake pudding. This was followed by double stuffed french toast with a strawberry topping. Awesome!!!! The home is welcoming and cozy. Linda was a joy to visit with and had many wonderful stories. She was exceptionally helpful with directions and great recommentations.


The Best B&B Ever

5 on July 03, 2011

Jim and Linda go above and beyond to meet every need and guarantee a fantastic experience. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is always a gourmet treat. We have visited several times and are never disappointed. This is a must see!


My second stay, and certainly not my last!

5 on June 22, 2011

The Indianapolis 500 race was my draw to the Fortville area last year, and lucky for me I found the Ivy House, Linda and Jim! This year, the Ivy House was as much of the draw as was the Indy 500! I do believe I will stay a third time, sometime soon, and there won't be a race in sight. You must stay here if you have very high expectations of where you stay, and yet you will still be surprised by the hospitality, cleanliness, and comfort of the Ivy House. Last year I stayed for 11 nights, and this year it was "only" 9 nights. The lengthiness is due to the opportunity to truly relax, have a different sumptuous fresh breakfast each morning...I HIGHLY recommend the berry topped stuffed French toast...and a sink-into-comfort bed. Imitation is the highest form of flattery, and as such, I have purchased a duvet, the same pillows and the same towels that Linda and Jim have in each of their rooms! Do not hesitate for a moment in choosing to stay at the Ivy House.


Highly recommend!

5 on June 13, 2011

The Ivy House B & B exceeded our bed and breakfast expectations! It was a very WELL maintained and immaculate accommodation and attention to detail was seen throughout the home. A guest feels as though his/her every need or desire has been anticipated. The amenities and breakfast were wonderful. We will certainly recommend this B & B to others.


“A pleasurable stay with Inn keepers who treat you like family”

5 on May 02, 2011

Attending the Womens Final Four Tournament we decided to stay at a B&B instead of a hotel in the middle of the city. In looking for a place on the internet we came upon The Ivy House, and we found a GEM. We had a wonderful stay at this outstanding B&B. The host and hostess, Jim and Linda, were exceptional, welcoming us into their home with such warmth and delight. Everything was beyond our expectations. The house is beautifully decorated with such attention to detail. Cleanliness is outstanding, over the top. We were treated like royalty from the moment we walked in to the moment we departed. Beds were comfortable with the most wonderful sheets and the mints waiting on a turned down bed in the evening was a lovely touch. Breakfast was delicious, served in a beautiful dining room on an elegant table. We were greeted with homemade baked goods as we arrived and special treats waiting on the buffet server when we returned late in the evening. Nothing was overlooked. We without a doubt would highly reccomend this B&B to all. Our stay was truly amazing and we hope to return one day. One leaves with the feeling that you have made new friends.


Special Night

4.8 on March 27, 2011

Linda is an excellent hostess and we would highly recomend the B&B to anyone. The breakfast was outstanding and room excellent.


A wonderful Adventure

4.2 on March 03, 2011

A beautiful place, such great attention to detail! The breakfast was wonderful comfort food, and the rooms were tops! The beds are so comfortable and the baked goods served for an evening snack were always fresh and delicious. This was my first B&B experience and it was great! God bless, Tina S.


Girls' Weekend

5 on February 23, 2011

Two of my girlfriends and I booked the entire Ivy House for a weekend. We had a wonderful time! Linda made us feel as if the Ivy House was our home that weekend. We loved our rooms, Linda's food and coffee and the time to just sit and talk.


Excellent B&B

4.0 on February 16, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Innkeepers were very hospitable and pleasant. The house was immaculate. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be staying there again.


simply a wonderful B&B

4.6 on January 23, 2011

we've stayed at many B&B's, and Ivy House is one of the best.


Warm and Welcoming!

4.6 on December 08, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Ivy House after attending a very cold and rainy Purdue vs. Michigan game and were feeling warm and welcome from the instant we walked in the door of the inn. Linda showed us right up to our room to dry out and settle in before she talked to us about the inn. We have been to many B&Bs and would put the service and kindness of this inn keeper right at the TOP of our favorites. She even had dessert waiting for us when we arrived. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We watched one of the inn's DVDs and drifted off to sleep. OK now the best part! BREAKFAST was so yummy! The fruit with dip and juice were the best we can remember and the egg dish was perfectly prepared. We heard stories from one of the other guests about the French toast so we decided to stay another night! We were NOT disappointed!! Linda is a wonderful cook! We enjoyed hearing the history of the house that added to the charm of this beautifully restored historic home. It was originally built by a doctor whose diploma hangs in the formal yet comfortable living room at the front of the inn.


Wonderful experience

5 on November 16, 2010

Jim & Linda welcomed us back like family and helped make our "night away" truly memorable. We will definitely stay here again!


Great Stay!

4.8 on October 19, 2010

We would stay again, it was great!


Does it get better?

5 on October 14, 2010

Best Indiana option around...!


Sweet Dreams

4.4 on October 13, 2010

This was a lovely retreat ! The facilities were lovely and comfortable, the breakfasts were yummy, and the hosts were attentive, accommodating, and charming without being intrusive. Our only problem with the whole experience was that we had to go back home when it was over :)


Outstanding B&B

5 on October 13, 2010

Jim and Linda run an excellent Bed and Breakfast. It's a great place for a private wedding, and we've enjoyed spending our anniversaries there.


The Ivy House is all that a Bed & Breakfast should be!

5 on September 06, 2010

My husband planned a little getaway for our 35th anniversary. He chose the Ivy House and we couldn't have been more pleased! Jim and Linda were the perfect hosts and their hospitality made us feel welcome the moment we walked in the door! We had the most comfortable bed with luxurious linens and a cute little claw-foot tub and plush towels in our bathroom. Breakfast was served at 9:00 AM - not too early - and was delicious! The table was beautifully furnished and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests before we all headed out for the day. The only thing I missed was time to enjoy the porch swing, so I guess we'll have to go back!! Thanks Jim and Linda for making our getaway truly enjoyable!


Just like home!!!!

5 on August 23, 2010

This is the best Bed and Breakfast I ever stayed in! Perfect attention to homely detail and comfort! VERY clean and 5 star cooking to just add to the experience! WOW!!!!


An Exeptional Bed and Breakfast!

5 on June 06, 2010

The reason for my stay was to attend the Indy 500, and I chose a Bed and Breakfast outside of the city to avoid the hustle and bustle, and to see what there was to see on the outskirts of Indianapolis. The Ivy House was a surprise and a delight at every turn! From the moment I spoke to Linda Nolte on the phone to confirm my reservation (I am not a huge internet user) I found her to be incredibly warm and welcoming; I knew I had found a gem. I was travelling by car from the Toronto, Ontario area, and planned to stay for 9 nights, arriving early to experience Indy track activities, and again, to be a tourist in the area. I have stayed at dozens of B&Bs in the past, and the Ivy House is now at the top of my list. If you are looking for an exeptionally clean, comfortable, cozy home to stay in, and enjoy freshly made absolutely delicious breakfasts (a different one each of my 9 mornings!) and appreciate warm and welcoming hosts, then you must stay at the Ivy House. Jim and Linda were so accommodating, providing me with directions to all my destinations, making a wide variety of dinner suggestions, and even escorting me to some local points of interest! Come to relax, escape, and roam the countryside. You will be very pleased you did!


Honeymoon revisit

4.0 on May 04, 2010

We spent our honeymoon at the Ivy House 7 years ago and recently revisited on our anniversary. The room was so spectatcular and inviting. We love the period decorating, takes you back in time. You can't help, but to relax. Tha owners are very accommodating and gracious! Can't say enough about the food. We will return...maybe a renewal wedding.


Perfect little getaway

5 on April 26, 2010

This was an outstanding visit for our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and It will definatly NOT be our last visit to Ivy House. Beautiful, friendly, delicious, homey, and clean. My husband and I were extremely satisfied and it made our anniversary extra special.


Wonderful experience!

5 on April 10, 2010

We are so pleased we decided to stay at the Ivy House during our visit to Indianapolis. The inn is beautiful. We felt comfortable and at home right away. Breakfast was delicious-- we stayed several nights and there was a new, delicious meal every morning! We also enjoyed the yummy treats every evening. A beautiful location, an easy 40-minute drive into Indianapolis. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to the area!


Great get-away!

5 on April 09, 2010

The Ivy House is a great B & B! Our room was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the innkeepers were so helpful and friendly! A definite bargain! I would higly recommend this spot tucked away in Fortville!


A Valentine's Day gift for two!

5 on February 15, 2010

We had an amazing night of romance and relaxation without any interruptions or distractions- just what the "doctor" ordered! The Ivy House was clean, warm, relaxing, romantic and close to home! It was truly the best of both worlds! After we returned from dinner the innkeepers had baked fresh cookies for us, the bed was turned down and chocolates were waiting for us upstairs to share! WOW...nice extra touch! The Ivy was beautifully decorated, a touch of history everywhere and the innkeepers were great hosts! Breakfast the next morning was delicious-all of our favorites were served!!! We'll definitely be back and will share this "jem in Fortville" with our friends and family! Thanks so much for making Valetine's Day a special night to remember! T & M Anderson, IN


A Blest Rest

5 on February 07, 2010

The Ivy House is a cozy gem nestled in small town charm. Decorated to perfection and more than white glove clean this getaway destination is a true resting place. Jim and Linda are warm hosts that immediately seem like old friends, yet they are very respectful of your time to relax and enjoy your stay. This was our second stay and we hope to return for many more delightfull visits.


A real Jem

5 on January 31, 2010

I found this B&B on the internet on a random search of the Indy area. We are so glad we tried it. We have stayed at many B&B's and this is THE Best! It was so clean. The atmosphere is so relaxing! Jim and Linda are the perfect Innkeepers. They have an eye for detail and it makes the entire stay wonderful! They are at the top of their game.


Romantic and relaxing

5 on October 12, 2009

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthday by secretly booking a night at the Ivy House B&B. We live in Indianapolis and it took only 40 minutes or so to get there. We were greeted by name at the door by Jim who gave us the grand tour. The home was beautiful and the room was immaculate. Everything from the antique sleigh bed to the warm delicious breakfast served to us by Linda was outstanding. It was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing days we have had together in a long time. Staying here was so much more personal than booking a hotel room! I would love to stay here again.


Perfection

4.6 on August 23, 2009

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed at many lovely B+B's. The Ivy House is one of the very best and an unexpected gem tucked away in a charming neighborhood. The home is immaculate, the beds and 300 thread count cotton sheets a slice of heaven, and the food incredible. The innkeeper, Linda, was our favorite part of the stay. After only 2 nights, the Ivy House felt like home and Linda a new friend! If you are reading reviews for an upcoming stay, stop now, pick up the phone or jot off an email, and pray Linda and Jim have availability. Lynn and Michael McCullough Concord Township, Ohio


Our recent visit

5 on August 20, 2009

My husband and I made a visit to Fortville last week. We had such an unexpected surprise when we stayed at the Ivy House. We make it a habit to plan our trips around unique bed and breakfast, so we have stayed at many. By far, the Ivy House was the most beautiful, comfortable and restful. The innkeepers have attended to every detail a traveler could require, and then more! We cannot wait to return! Thank you Jim and Linda. Many Thanks, Gene and Tammy


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on July 25, 2009

We recently had a girls getaway and chose the Ivy House. Our stay was wonderful and quite relaxing! The rooms are very welcoming and nicely decorated. The service and food were great! We would definately recommend this B&B to all our friends and look forward to another visit soon!


Valentine Surprise

5 on June 25, 2009

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day at the Ivy House. Beautiful room, all the amenities, welcoming innkeepers and excellent food. Who could have every imagined such a place in small town Indiana? It truly is a gem close to home.


My Time to be PAMPERED !!

5 on June 09, 2009

This was my 4th stay at the Ivy House...our most recent visit was to be part of the INDY Air Show held at the Mount Comfort Airport. It took us only 15 minutes of travel time from the Inn to the Airport. Aside from the beautiful accommodations, the favorite part of our stay is visiting with the owners, Jim & Linda. They are genuine and generous! Their commitment and enthusiasm for what they do, as Inn owners, has inspired us to gift friends and family a stay at the Ivy House, ...so that they can experience this level of pampering for themselves. Our family flies CaZoo-ee!!, a hot air balloon, and our wake-up time was 4:30 AM - early!..yet Jim tiptoed up to our room with a beautifully appointed tray of hot coffee & juice; even "to-go" cups were offered as we left, to keep us awake, as we headed to the air field. Our boys got their caffine via the mini-fridge of assort. pops & water. At the end of each day we soaked in the antique tubs, and floated to sleep on the most heavenly beds. Sunday morning after our flight we returned to the Inn to relax. We decided to sit on the side-porch, using the porch swing, and just felt the breeze and listened to the birds. Next time we hope to take a walk through the gardens or maybe even a longer walk into the picturesque downtown area. Each time we go, there is something new or some little improvement that Jim and Linda think of...though it's hard to improve on perfection...I'm always surprised!


A most enjoyable time

5 on May 07, 2009

We have stayed in other B&B's and have always enjoyed our time in them - but the Ivy House was WAAAY beyond any expectations we had. Not only was the house charming, interesting and immaculate, but the atmosphere and the hosts were beyond description! We only stayed 2 nights, but we will be back to not only enjoy the area, but also to spend time in such a lovely place and with 2 wonderful people - the Noltes. And we are from Louisiana! The time we spent at Ivy House was so very relaxing and peaceful. We enjoyed the Victorian atmosphere and the modern conveniences, too. My husband loved the old fashioned plumbing! I loved the up to date amemities. We had a wonderful time and one that we will be repeating some time in the future! Thanks, Jim and Linda!


Pampered and Relaxed

4.0 on April 07, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ivy House for our anniversary. It was beautiful with it's antique doors and period decor! The rooms were immaculate and every need was met! The Innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating but gave us our space as well. Every detail was thought of right down to the beautiful linens and quilts and the plush robes and towels. The breakfast was delicious, stuffed french toast and fruit, yum! We enjoyed going out for dinner close by and then relaxing on the front porch swing. If you want a quiet romantic getaway this is the place! We will definately be a return customer.


Wow.. and I am hard to please.

5 on April 06, 2009

I have been meaning to do this for a bit now. What a lovely place to stay! Everything about it was charming but upscale. It is just the perfect place for a business traveler to get away and still feel at home. There is no doubt that this is where I will stay when I travel to Fishers.


A week's worth of peace in one overnight

5 on April 06, 2009

I had a fairly spur-of-the-moment plan to whisk my boyfriend away from our real world traffic for a bit. Shopped on my iPhone for a few minutes in the middle of the night and found the Ivy House with all the details spelled out, photos and great reviews. The next day I sent an inquiry to the innkeeper and received a very prompt and pleasant reply. Booked. It seemed perfect. We pulled up in the driveway and just leaned into each other and took a breath of "yessssss" before getting out. Tucked away in a residential area of character-filled homes and neighborhood charm, Spring just starting to take hold of the surroundings, welcome found in every detail. The innkeeper, with whom I had communicated via email a few times prior to arrival, was just as sweet as I knew she would be. The room could not have been more perfect in size and style and privacy. Best bed EVER, perfectly maintained everything, and she had gone to some effort to provide specific flowers I had requested, that were just perfectly presented and made just the right emotional impact. We walked downstairs in the morning holding hands in our jammies to be greeted with a luxuriously healthy meal with a lovely place setting that we could smell baking throughout the house as we stirred awake. Everything was taken care of and we were able to begin a beautiful day with both peace and energy. I wouldn't have changed a thing. All around, an excellent experience that we will absolutely revisit. The Ivy House itself is the perfect example of the bed and breakfast concept--someone opening their home to you and making your presence feel like a treat. Wonderful.


Weekend Getaway

4.6 on March 12, 2009

We are from Cincinnati and were looking to get away for a restful, yet fun-filled weekend in Indy. We had a GREAT time at the Ivy House, really enjoyed the meals, rested very well on their excellet beds, and enjoyed coversation with the innkeepers. There is a computer to use, and plenty of information about local activites and restaurants. We would be glad to come back, and recommed the Ivy House to any of our friends.


Great Respite

4.6 on March 11, 2009

Our 2 night stay at Ivy House was just perfect. The innkeepers were there to greet us and made us feel like company, not customers. Our breakfasts were wonderful and the room was beautiful--our bed was heavenly! We would stay at Ivy House again-- very convenient to Indy. Highly recommend!


Both the bed and the breakfasts were outstanding

4.8 on January 06, 2009

We stayed two nights while visiting relatives over Christmas - it was a rejuvenating hideaway from the holiday rigmarole! Great breakfasts - three courses, including fruit, eggs/meat, and wonderful baked items. Different items each morning - the hosts are pleasant and allow you to be by yourself when you want, but offer pleasant conversation and enthusiastic service when it is desired! The cost is a bit high for us because we have a very moderate income (we have many kids and some would call us poor!) Otherwise, I would give the "value" 5 stars as well. Luckily, our relatives offer our stay at this B & B to us as a gift . . .


Girls Weekend Getaway

5 on November 15, 2008

Five of us high school classmates get together annually and frequently stay at a Bed & Breakfast. The Ivy House far exceeded any previous Bed & Breakfast experience I have had. The Jim and Linda made us feel at home. The pristine inn was decorated very tastefully and met all our needs. The desserts were outstanding. I would highly recommend the Ivy House Bed and Breakfast to anyone.


New Experience, Great First Impression

4.8 on October 12, 2008

Having never been to a Bed and Breakfast, we didn't know what to expect. Linda was very helpful, and the grounds were quite beautiful, and so our first stay at any Bed and Breakfast was also where we chose to host our wedding. If you love ivy and cozy houses that always smell of freshly baked goods, the Ivy House is definitely for you! Breakfast was comfortably casual, and Linda's souffle was incredible. The architecture and decorations are well thought out, and we found everything we could have wanted elegantly tucked away within easy reach. It's obvious that the Noltes have much experience in providing hospitality.


Wonderful 2 days

5 on September 16, 2008

Hospitality was ourstanding. We liked info about the area such as where to eat and places to see. It was so nice to be served a delicious breakfast in a homey atmosphere.


Lovely place to stay

5 on August 21, 2008

This was our first real experience at a B & B and we were a bit nervous that we would have to make polite chit chat. As it turns out, Jim & Linda made us feel so welcome & comfortable that chit chat came naturally, like meeting up with friends. The Ivy House is a dream place for antique lovers. The claw foot bath antique tub is a must for bubble bath lovers. Linda has top brands of bubble bath, soaps & lotions for making your skin soft & smelling good. The bed was so comfortable that if I hadn’t set the alarm we would have not woke up. We were so cozy and comfortable in our room that I wished we could stay longer. Both Jim & Linda are lovely people and excellent cooks. Breakfast is delicious. They serve a fresh fruit plate with pudding on the side and fresh mint on top. This is just the start of a most delicious breakfast. It’s right out of a gourmet kitchen. Antique & History lovers will love this place. Linda had baked a cake and we enjoyed our evening out of their porch swing eating cake & sipping tea. Ahhhh…..can’t wait to go back. T. Smith, Green Oaks, IL


Scrapbooking Weekend

5 on January 16, 2008

My girlfriends and myself have had 3 scrapbooking weekends at the Ivy House. We absolutely love going there for many reasons. Jim and Linda are so nice and really take care of you. It is a wonderful feeling to get scrapbook pages done and pampered all at the same time. Some of us have gone to other B & B's to scrapbook and we keep coming back to the Ivy House because of there kindness and hospitality. The rooms are very nice and the food is excellent. It is definitely a pleasant experience and one you will want to continue year after year.


A Must See

5 on August 27, 2007

A dream bed and breakfast! It was the perfect blend of perfected details, wonderful innkeepers, and elegant four star style accommodations. Immaculately kept and not a charm overlooked, we enjoyed our time there very much (oh, and the food!!!). My husband, who is not generally a bed and breakfast type, and I will undoubtedly return soon!


Going Home Another Way

5 on August 27, 2007

From the beautiful setting, to the exquisite rooms, we stayed at the Ivy House B&B last weekend and felt very pampered! From the soap to the wonderful robes to the food, again, we were very impressed. It was like going home again after being away for a long period of time and being greeted by these innkeepers like you were family. The innkeepers were the best, they were easy to talk to and very friendly. It was like talking to your best friends. The breakfast was yummy, and if you had a snack attack, there was plenty of goodies to eat. Thanks for a wonderful stay at a time when we needed to take some time away from the fast paced world and slow down a bit to catch our breath. I would highly recommend this B&B!


The best b&b we've visited!

5 on August 24, 2007

The Ivy House was a gorgeous property, with fantastic innkeepers and delicious food! Our room was beautiful, private, and extremely clean. The Nolte's are fantastic chefs as well - breakfast both mornings was out of this world. Each night our bed was turned down while we were out, and a plate of fresh baked goodies was put in our room for us. I would love to visit again, and hope we get the opportunity to do so! I would highly recommend this b&b.


Beautiful & Restful

4.0 on June 21, 2007

Our girlfriends getaway was wonderful. Just a lovely B&B. This is the nicest place we've ever stayed and we will definitely be back. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening and just relaxing. The food was delicious, too!


Ivy House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $155
  • Reviews (72) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3174854800

Visit Website »

View details

Top