Wampler House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
77 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect place

5 on August 04, 2014

First time staying at a B&B, excellent. Clean, like staying at home. Very quiet and we will be back. Thank you Diana Dave & Sharla Austin, MN


Wampler House

5 on February 24, 2014

Excellent value and beautiful facility.


Summer in Southern Indiana

5 on December 18, 2013

It was like staying with a favorite aunt & uncle- everything was perfect & comfortable (& delicious!) and I wanted to stay forever...


Simply Wonderful!

5 on September 27, 2013

Where do I start? We stayed here while visiting friends July 12-14, 2013. The first night we were the only ones there! The room was decorated in keeping with the Victorian theme of the house, with old family photos on the dresser. There were cookies in the room when we arrived, and the bathroom was huge! The shower and tub were separate, the jacuzzi tub being big enough for 2 people and with amenities such as bath salts and a candle. I soaked in the tub 2 of the 3 nights we were there. The only thing I could fault was I wish the shower stall was bigger. There was a sitting area upstairs, so if one person wanted to sleep and the other read, you could do so without disturbing one another. Breakfast was fabulous! Fresh fruit and a homemade bread or muffin for the first course, then a complete meal with eggs or french toast, bacon or sausage, hash browns. I was posting photos of my breakfast on Facebook and raving about it! There was also a snack bar with cold drinks, fruit, and packaged snacks available any time, as well a dessert in the evenings. The proprietor and staff were so gracious! I would recommend Wampler House to anyone staying in the Bloomington area.


Happy here

4.8 on August 28, 2013

Great place to stay - nice and friendly people and a nice beautiful house.


Like being an honored guest at your favorite Aunt's home

5 on August 28, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we made our reservation at Wampler's B&B. We are now a member of one of the best kept secrets on where to stay in the USA!


Amazing experience

5 on August 22, 2013

We are delighted with our visit. It has been such a luxury for us. Immaculately clean, excellent food. Our best B&B experience yet!


Tidy rooms, tasty breakfasts, thoughtful host and assistant

5 on August 19, 2013

Located on the south of Bloomington, this 1857 B&B home in the Clear Creek neighbourhood won our accolades with clean, comfortable and modern conveniences, especially the 2 person jacuzzi; good food and attentive owner.


Pampered girls weekend

5 on July 25, 2013

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, catered to vegan tastes (per request) - snacks, quiet areas. Wonderful weekend!


Cleanest inn ever

5 on July 25, 2013

Cleanest inn ever. Great movies with some must see classics. Breakfast was charming and delicious. Owner was extremely accommodating.


Honeymoon night!

4.8 on June 09, 2013

The Wampler House was such a blessing to my husband and I. The service was amazing, and the room was just splendid. We plan to make that a special spot to visit every year from now on!!


Bloomington #4

5 on June 01, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Wampler Inn. Diana is a superb hostess, wonderful food and accommodations, too. Will return again next year!


One of Bloomington's Best Kept Secrets!

5 on May 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic anniversary weekend getaway and hope to make it an annual tradition. We were both amazed by every aspect of our stay. We could not have chosen a better getaway!


Quaint Setting

5 on February 24, 2013

Friendly staff and very clean.


A Dream House in the Country

5 on November 09, 2012

Living in Chicago, this house sits on acreage that is spacious and manicured. There are light and lovely views in most directions. The rooms and facilities were immaculate, the meal scrumptious, the home beautifully furnished.


Great B&B in Bloomingtobn

5 on November 08, 2012

We've stayed at the Wampler House on numerous occasions and have found it inviting and comfortable each time. First and foremost, it is immaculately clean. There was a very comfortable bed and a Jacuzzi tub in the spacious bathroom in our room. Dianna, the proprietor, is always friendly and helpful. Her attention to details (Longaberger basket accents and plush towels) is evident from the décor to the food. Last, but certainly not least, the breakfasts were delicious and well prepared. Any time we find ourselves in the Bloomington area we look forward to our stay at the Wampler House. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.


Wonderful!

5 on October 22, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend. Absolutely amazing! After staying here, no hotel will ever match! It was extremely clean. The innkeeper and staff were extremely friendly and aimed to please. The house was so beautiful and pleasant to be in. The jacuzzi tub and fireplace were amazing! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone!


Very relaxing

5 on October 06, 2012

We were visiting 2 grand-daughters that attend IU. The stay at the house was an added bonus. Very clean, tastefully decorated. Delicious breakfast. Loved the balcony.


Clean, Friendly & Relaxing

4.2 on September 18, 2012

I don't normally stay at Bed and Breakfasts, so I didn't quite know what to expect but the Wampler House was a pleasant surprise. Diana, the innkeeper, was very friendly and warm. The room was cozy and very clean, and had great features like WiFi and a whirlpool tub complete with bath salts & bubble bath. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, and water, coffee, and snacks were available throughout the day. I never felt rushed like had to get out of the room so it could be cleaned. Overall it was a very pleasant experience, and I would definitely return.


Great stay and awesome breakfast

5 on September 17, 2012

Charming old house renovated and welcoming to all. Clean and comfortable beds and an awesome breakfast with a little bit of everything served.


Wonderful Wampler House

5 on September 11, 2012

Our families stayed in this beautiful old house for a family wedding. Though old, this house has all the amazing updates and upgrades you would expect in any new hotel, and the coziness and comfort of "home." The hostess/owner (Diana) has the gift of hospitality and all the food was outstanding!


Great value!

5 on September 02, 2012

Don't let the fact that this B&B is 15 minutes from campus deter you from making a reservation! This is one of the best values in Bloomington, and we wish we had found it years ago. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate, and the service is outstanding. Breakfast is absolutely delicious. Location is in a quiet part of town near walking trails. We loved our stay!


Warm and beautiful

5 on August 22, 2012

My husband and I went up to Bloomington to drop off our son at IU. The place is warm and beautiful. I felt like I was staying with old friends. Everything was very clean. I loved those fruit parfaits and the blueberry french toast was to die for!!! This is my place to stay when we go visit our son. May God Bless Wampler House and all who enter in. Thanks. Claire / Freshman Hoosier Mom in Miami, Fl.


Love at first sight...

5 on July 09, 2012

We chose Wampler House for a weekend girls' getaway. We felt at home as soon as we walked in the door--Diana, the proprietor, is warm, gracious, and very welcoming. The rooms are lovely, clean, and very comfortable, and the front porch is to die for!!! Breakfast was wonderful and Diana was very willing to share recipes (been to some B&Bs that won't). Will definitely stay at Wampler House again!!!


Wampler House is one of our favotite B and B's

5 on July 01, 2012

We love Wampler House. We stay whenever we are in the area and made a special trip to return. It is a beautiful place with excellent rooms and quiet location. Diana makes us feel so welcome and prepares a wonderful breakfast. We look forward to returning again.


Stay on 5-14-2012

4.8 on May 28, 2012

Absolutely spotlessly clean and in better than brand new condition. Beautiful period furnishings. We chose the lowest priced room, so naturally the smallest, but still comfortable. Would go for a larger one next time. Very friendly innkeeper and fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend the Wampler House to everyone.


Gorgeous Atmosphere

5 on August 04, 2011

Beautifully decorated rooms to stay and the parlor and library were nostalgic and romantic. Lots of delicious food and excellent service!


Absolutely wonderful

5 on July 26, 2011

Great place to get away from all the bustle of everyday life. 5 star treatment without a doubt!


Overnight Stay

5 on June 19, 2011

My husband and I only stayed on a quick overnight, but it was a great first bed and breakfast experience. The rooms were very clean, it was quiet, and the breakfast was great!


Outstanding small inn, with fabulous personal attentiveness

4.2 on June 11, 2011

Stayed one night, the place was immaculate. Though in the middle of nowhere (to this city woman), it was/is a perfect place to stay near family in Bloomington (when they don't have any room, or if they did.)


Wonderful

5 on June 08, 2011

We stayed at the Wampler House for two nights and it was really awesome. It's obvious that the owners take a lot of pride in their establishment with a well balanced mix of hominess and professionalism. Their breakfasts were fresh made (vs. just a spread of bagels, muffins, etc) and delicious and they were very accommodating to preferences. I particularly appreciated the fact that there was an area stocked with snacks, cold drinks, a variety of teas and hot beverages, and an instant hot water faucet as well as a filtered water faucet. Rather than being left to fend for ourselves during a midnight snack attack, Greg and Diana provided a very thoughtful self-serve counter. The common rooms were also very comfortable, especially for the ‘working’ vacation that we were on. The study provided a quiet place to read and the room across from it had a piano which the owners graciously allowed my friend to play. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.


A Great Place to Stay

5 on June 02, 2011

Attention to every detail, immaculate, comfortable, and enjoyable.


Great Find in Bloomington

5 on March 06, 2011

I recently planned a trip to Bloomington, IN, to attend a quilt show. I found the Wampler House on the quilt show website. After looking at their site, I called and booked a room. What a find! The owners are very friendly and accomodating. The room was large with a very comfortable bed and a bathroom with both shower and jacuzzi. There was free WiFi and, when I left my laptop on the floor in the room, I came back later to find that someone had placed a small table in the room next to a chair so I could place the laptop on it and use it more easily. The food was fantastic! I stayed 3 nights and had 3 excellents breakfasts. I would highly recommend the Wampler House to anyone looking for a place to stay in Bloomington.


Relaxing weekend getaway!

5 on February 07, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Wampler House for a weekend getaway and could not have chosen a better location. Fantastic service, wonderful breakfast, and very clean rooms made our weekend both relaxing and enjoyable. We spent a lovely evening after spending our day on the town putting together a puzzle and sipping hot tea. It was even better when we followed it up by resting in our room with the fireplace on. Great location to downtown Bloomington. Can't say enough good things about this place!


Anniversary weekend

5 on November 14, 2010

My husband surprised me with a weekend away for our anniversary. I was shocked to find he reserved a room at Wampler House B&B in Bloomington. I went to IU for 6 years and had never heard of it. I was so impressed with the room. We had an electric fireplace in our room and a jacuzzi tub. My husband LOVED the jacuzzi tub taking a bath each day we were there. The fireplace not only warmed the room but gave a soft ambiance to it. I was also impressed the the hot/cold bar. I enjoy drinking hot chocolate in cold weather and even though it was not too cold, I still enjoyed having hot chocolate with marshmallows each evening we were there. There was also homemade (or they tasted homemade) cookies and popcorn out, along with soda and bottled water. The breakfast was delish! We filled out papers upon arrival with any food allergies or dislikes and a time for breakfast to be served. My husband is not too fond of tomatoes and breakfast was made without tomatoes just for my husband one morning. We had fresh fruit each morning along with two courses for breakfast. I was pampered on all weekend! I highly recommend Wampler House B & B to anyone staying in the Bloomington area!


Stayed in town for a wedding

4.0 on November 06, 2010

In town for two days. The Wampler House was a good value and conveniently located. Near a nice hiking trail, too! Thanks for the cookies!


Above and Beyond

5 on October 28, 2010

My husband drove a couple of hours to stay after our wedding in 2008. We were already going to have to check in late as we had an evening wedding, but it snowed on the way down further delaying us. We kept in touch with the innkeepers who were more than willing to work with us. We finally arrived to find them waiting up for us and absolutely welcoming. I was suprised that they didn't seem at all frustrated with our out of the ordinary check in. Many thanks to them, and we are planning a return trip for our anniversary. I have recommend them to everyone I've talked to.


Outstanding

5 on September 15, 2010

I would stay here again and would tell others about this place.


GREAT STAY!

5 on September 13, 2010

Outstanding lodging! Diana Robinson our innkeeper was very charming and welcoming. Our suite was clean and comfy, breakfast delish. Fresh cookies, cake on hand. We didn't want to leave!


Refreshing

4.4 on September 08, 2010

This is our second visit to the Wampler House in one year and both times we were warmly greeted by our hosts. They immediately made us feel right at home and part of the family. Refreshments were readily available in the dining area and as an added touch, homemade cookies and mints were waiting in our room. The rooms are nicely decorated and immaculately clean. Breakfast is hot, delicious and colorfully presented! We highly recommend these warm accommodations when you're visiting in the Bloomington, Ind. area.


A Wonderful Stay!

4.6 on August 18, 2010

Wampler House is one of the best B & B's I've ever stayed in. The rooms are comfortable, roomy, and clean. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were gourmet delights, served at your convenience. And the front porch, with rockers and an old-fashioned swing, was a great place for that extra cup of coffee.


5/2010 Graduation Trip

5 on August 14, 2010

My wife and I were visiting family in Bloomington, IN for our nephews high school graduation and needed to find accommodations. I did an internet search for both hotels and B&B's to compare options and discovered the Wampler House B&B. I was pleasantly surprised to find a large number of reviews on this website and all the reviews were rating the property very good to excellent. I found two other B&B's in Bloomington but they were quite a bit more expensive so I chose Wampler House to use as my comparison property with the local hotels. I was surprised by both the high prices of the hotels and the poor reviews that they had received while in contrast Wampler House had rave reviews and actually coat less than the hotels. We called and made reservations with Brittany who was most helpful in answering my questions about the property and about logistics. I was most concerned about our arriving at 11pm. Brittany assured me that Diana the owner would meet us to check us into our room. I new this was somewhat unusal as my wife and I try to frequent B&B's whenever possible and most seem to end check in around 10pm, so I was quite happy with Diana's accommodation of our special need. We found Diana and Greg to be gracious hosts and Wampler House exceeded our every expectation. The house and grounds are impeccably clean and well maintained. The food prepared by Diana is gourmet, healthy, and in ample quantity. The furnishings throughout the house and in our room are both beautiful and comfortable. I paticularly enjoyed the soft instrumental music that was played in all the common rooms and I also enjoyed the cool dry air produced by the central air system. I am a hot weather wimp and the ambient air temperature reached 91 degrees during our stay. There is much more I could say to try and express how satisfied my wife and I were with our stay but really you just need to experience Wampler House and the hospitality of the Robinson's for yourself. The Enrights, Columbus, OH


We Shall Return!

5 on July 22, 2010

One of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in - we stayed 3 nights and want to return with another couple later this year.


My Stay with Wampler House

5 on July 20, 2010

My visit with the Wampler House was outstanding! I took my 15 year old granddaughter - it was her 1st time at a B&B. She loved it and said so more than once. Thanks!


Excellent Anniversary

5 on July 09, 2010

I booked a 3 day 2 night stay at the Wampler House in Bloomington for our 15th anniversary. Let's just say it exceeded my expectations 100 fold. Very clean, the service was top notch, the breakfast was excellent every time. Would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to have a nice get-a-way.


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast!

5 on June 28, 2010

I searched the Internet for a place to stay in Bloomington in June 2010. The Wampler House was not only very competitive pricewise, but also promised excellent amenities. The Wampler House delivers on that promise! Diana and her employee welcomed us with a very warm greeting. They were extremely polite and helpful when we asked a variety of questions. My husband and I toured the entire establishment (every room since we were the only ones staying that Monday night) and ALL of the rooms were spotless and charming. The fine touches (lovely decorations throughout the entire establishment, fresh baked cookies in the evening, relaxing music, snacks, drinks, movie library, candles in the room) also contributed to our pampered stay. The in-room spa tub was fabulous and easily fit both my husband and me. The breakfast served in the morning was outstanding. The Wampler House is very quiet and far away from any busy roads. Truthfully, my husband and I were so well pampered and relaxed that we almost changed our entire trip so we could stay another night just to enjoy the experience! In the future when we return to Bloomington, we will be staying at the Wampler House!


Home away from home

5 on May 10, 2010

Decorated with family photos and antiques in a manner that suggests a visit to a favorite relative, this well-appointed and impeccably maintained B&B provides the comforts and conveniences of a well-appointed home. The fine breakfast, snacks, amenities, and slice of Hoosier history, combined with the privacy and high level of services makes this a b&b that sets the standard for the rest.


Wonderful get-away.

4.6 on February 11, 2010

This was a wonderful place for a get-away. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. All the little "extras" were a great touch. We will be back.


Amazing!

5 on December 08, 2009

What a delightful stay! Everything in the room was clean and fresh and the owners helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again! What a cut above the norm!


Perfect getaway

5 on November 04, 2009

We had a fabulous time at the Wampler House! Our king size bed and jacuzzi tub was a fabulous touch! The breakfast, service & cleanliness were all top notch.


The greatest B&B

5 on October 07, 2009

Gorgeous antiques, exceptional decor. Wonderful full breakfast. Afternoon snack, Great hosts. Please treat yourself -- Book a room here! We will be staying at more B&Bs on our travels from now on!


Magnificent evening!

5 on September 06, 2009

We were delighted with our evening at the Wampler Inn --- it is a fabulous escape!!


Outstanding Value

5 on August 18, 2009

I can't believe how lucky we were to find the Wampler House B & B! All of the staff go out of their way to make our stays a memorable experience. Not only are the rooms spotless, the meals are outstanding. The innkeepers go out of their way to make sure their guests have all of the comforts of home, including beverages and snacks.


Wonderful B&B, Great Attention to Detail

5 on August 13, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Wampler House; they really made our 2nd anniversary special. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the breakfast was amazing and filling! It was a very quiet and peaceful weekend.


Hoosier Hospitality

4.2 on August 03, 2009

I am virtually speechless! This has to be one of the nicest B&Bs around. The staff is definitely the friendliest.


Wonderful experience

5 on May 26, 2009

Everything was great. Great hospitality. Excellent breakfast. Very clean. Highly recommend to anyone coming to this area.


Down Home Weekend

4.2 on April 14, 2009

Weekend family visit was made exceptionally nice due to wonderful stay at Wampler. Service and facility were super! Will stay again in May!


a rare find!

5 on March 27, 2009

Outstanding service, 1st rate rooms, beautifully decorated. Owners made us feel welcomed and right at home from the start. Great rate.


thanks!

5 on February 20, 2009

everything was great!


awesome

5 on February 12, 2009

Excellent B&B. Friendly staff, extra clean, we will go back, great food


Awesome Wampler House

5 on January 28, 2009

I have stayed at Rite Carlton's. They cannot compare with the warmth, friendliness, uniqueness, and CLEANLINESS of the Wampler House- Awesome!!!!!!


Wonderful experience!

5 on January 23, 2009

The food and rooms were great, and the location is nice. The owners even went the extra mile to accomodate a business need we had in the middle of the night! My husband now has a different opinion of B&Bs, which is great!


spa/jacuzzi B&B

4.0 on January 14, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised at the look of this B&B for the area it was in. Loved the massage!! Jacuzzi was big enough for 2, plus walking trail nearby. The hosts were friendly, and the food was wonderful and presented with style. Saw deer in backyard.


one of the best

5 on November 03, 2008

This is a B&B in an old, up-dated, beautifully decorated home. The hostess was so welcoming, and the breakfast was great, taking into account by likes and dislikes.


Cozy and not overdone

5 on August 08, 2008

Friendly and helpful innkeeprs, great breakfast and snacks. Not overdone with too much fru - fru like so many other B&B's. Highly recommended!!!


Great stay!

4.8 on July 31, 2008

This was my first stay at a B&B. I really enjoyed it. The breakfasts were very filling and tasty. I plan to stay there again on future trips to Bloomington.


A Great Getaway

4.4 on July 28, 2008

It is like an oasis in a desert, if you are seeking a place for your getaway.


A very pleasant surprise

4.8 on July 25, 2008

Delightful location, very good accomodations, excellent breakfast. Outside appears modest butoinside was super and that Hoosier hospitality.


Exceptional Place to Stay

4.8 on January 03, 2008

The Wampler House is truly a great place to stay. We recently visited the Wampler House for a second time and the experience was just as wonderful as the first. We love it so much we purchased a night's stay for my in-laws and a gift card for my parents. Warm and cozy atmosphere, friendly staff, and wonderful food. The Wampler House is a hidden gem!


Relaxing Getaway.

4.8 on November 20, 2007

Wampler House has everything I need to meet my relaxation needs in a comfortable homey atmosphere. Excellence is clearly a priority for their exceedingly pleasant and accomodating staff.


Wonderful!!

5 on October 24, 2007

Our stay was so relaxing! It was better then being at home. We booked for next year before we checked out. Highly recommend!


Outstanding!

5 on October 22, 2007

My stay here was outstanding


Undiscovered Gem

4.2 on October 19, 2007

We travel extensively and stay in B&Bs wherever possible. This is a lovely place that does not seem to be well known and is reasonably priced for expensive Bloomington. Rooms need a chair and a little more unpacking space, but everything else is excellent!


Wampler Inn.

4.8 on September 19, 2007

Very positive experience. The inn was immaculately clean. Bathrooms were updated with great lighting. Innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The food was creative and very tasty!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to respond. We appreicate the feed back and always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible.


Wampler Inn.

4.4 on September 19, 2007

Charming, cozy, friendly and impeccably neat and clean.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your comments and strive to always give our guests a positive experience. We love getting first time Bed & Breakfast guests, hopefully this is the first of many visits to a B & B.


Wampler House.

4.6 on September 19, 2007

Very nice bed and breakfast! Clean, friendly owners, quiet, and wireless in rooms!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing us. We always appreciate the feed-back and strive to make every person's visit a positive one.


Relaxing and quiet stay at a beautiful B&B

5 on August 29, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at the Wampler House B&B in Bloomington, In. We were at Indiana University to move in our daughter, and needless to say, it was a hectic few days. A good night sleep was needed and we slept like babies. It was also 98 degrees outside, but the Wampler House was cool and comfortable. This was not our first stay there, and surely won't be our last. Friendly inn keeper and great accomodations keep us coming back. The breakfast is good, too.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we enjoy our guests and the many walks of life from which they come. We strive for excellence in everything we do so that folks like you will keep wanting to stay with us.


Wampler House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $180
  • Reviews (77) 4.9
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8128242446
  • Toll free 1-8774070969

Visit Website »

View details

Top