Oliver Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
192 Reviews

Write A Review

Fabulous b & b

4.6 on December 07, 2014

Close to a fabulous restaurant, quiet, welcoming, excellent breakfasts enjoyed coffee, tea, or soda in the pantry - anytime, Alice was very helpful with info on local Museums, and nice touches such as chocolates on the bed, the heated towel rack, and the jetted tube. We can,t wait to go back for our 1st anniversary.


GREAT PLACE FOR SO MANY REASONS

4.6 on October 24, 2014

We love this Inn. Tom and Alice are great hosts. They are very knowledgeable with regard to local events, restaurants, history of the home and the area. Alice is a marvelous cook and person. Tom loves to talk Notre Dame sports. However, perhaps the best thing about staying with Tom and Alice is their sensitivity to their guests' comfort. They are not intrusive and wait for their guests to engage them in conversation and do so without compromising accommodating needs. The home is amazing. Great location for fine dining, a great and very authentic Irish Pub (Alice's recommendation). Good antiquing in the area. LOVE staying here. Just returned from our 4th visit.


Beautiful property and great hosts!

5 on September 16, 2014

We loved Oliver Inn! Alice and Tom made our stay delightful--complete with candlelit breakfasts and music from the player piano, delicious treats, and Cary Grant movies that we watched in our room. The inn is beautiful and close to nearby attractions. Who knew the Studebaker Museum could be so interesting with its collection of historical vehicles from Pres Lincoln's carriage to the period Studebakers and Packards seen in so many classic movies? We stay in many BnBs, and Alice and Tom make this one special. Can't wait to visit again. :-)


Stay in South Bend

4.4 on August 27, 2014

Tom and Alice are wonderful hosts, this was a fine stay.


LOVE THIS B & B

4.8 on August 08, 2014

Great stay in the Knute Rockne room. Owners are very personable and assisted us with any needs we had. Enjoyed a good cigar in the courtyard and a great breakfast. This was a business trip and am bringing my wife up to stay in the near future. Thanks


Our first Stay at Oliver Inn

4.8 on June 29, 2014

This was our first stay at the Oliver Inn, but it won't be our last. Every single aspect of our stay was exceptional. Our hosts, Tom & Alice Erlandson not only took care of our every need, they anticipated it. Alice's cooking and baking is perfection, rooms are attractive, clean and comfortable; in a word, the house feels like home, a very comfortable and warm home. Great restaurants, museums and the downtown district are all within walking distance. When we were looking at descriptions and reviews to choose a B&B to visit, we couldn't understand how this inn could have earned almost all five star reviews. Having stayed there and met Alice & Tom, it's evident to us that there aren't enough stars to do Oliver Inn justice. If you visit (and you should) we recommend the Three Mansions package to round out a truly memorable stay.


Will definitely be returning

5 on May 21, 2014

Service was excellent, stayed in the James Oliver room and it was beautiful and very neat and clean. Had a nice, quiet stay, felt very welcome and comfortable here, will definitely be returning. Breakfasts were both interesting and delicious, not just your average meals. Nice to have the Studebaker museum less than a 5 minute walk away, as well as the Copshaholm mansion,etc. Thank you for a wonderful experience! :)


Our Stay at the Oliver Inn B&B

5 on April 25, 2014

Our stay was wonderful...our only regret was that we could not stay longer. WE will return. The food was fantastic and you can tell it is prepared by loving hands and someone that really enjoys what they do. The innkeepers are just like being at home...great conversation and interest. As you can tell we enjoyed our stay.


Wonderful journey into the past

5 on October 11, 2013

I was so impressed! The appointments were, or appeared to be, authentic. Alice, the Innkeeper was very proud of her "house" and her enthusiasm was delightful. We were only there for one night, but breakfast was delicious and elegant. I've never has breakfast by candelight before. I would make a special trip just to stay there again!


Daughter's Bridal Luncheon

5 on August 30, 2013

My daughter's bridal luncheon was held at The Oliver Inn Bed & Breakfast. We were extremely pleased with the high quality of service and attention that was given towards my daughter's special day. The food was delicious and Alice was very accommodating with all our requests, and was a pleasure to work with in all of the planning process.


Weekend get a way

4.6 on July 18, 2013

Loved the homemade breakfast and the friendly proprietors.


Magical Inn, Worth 5 Stars All Around

3.8 on July 17, 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight getaway for our 3rd anniversary! We actually only traveled 20 minutes across town to The Oliver Inn, but as we pulled into the drive, it couldn't have felt like we were further away. The grounds were gorgeous, flowers in bloom, a beautiful fountain and lots of areas around the yards to sit and relax, including an old swing, a gazebo and lounge chairs. Alice greeted us right away and gave us a quick tour. The downstairs was gorgeous and well preserved. I loved the dining room area and the butlers pantry was stocked with homemade baked goods. We were shown upstairs to the James Oliver room. LOVED the room. Spacious and nice, with a fireplace and a huge jacuzzi bathtub in the adjoining bathroom. There was a couch and tv. Just a lovely room. I have to also add that the bed sheets were DIVINE, never felt such luxurious bedsheets. Even went looking for the tag the next morning we could see about ordering our own. In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast made by Tom and Alice. Stuffed French Toast with maple syrup, Alice even topped them with some serviceberries from their own yard! The bacon was delicious (I think Alice doctored it up), and had wonderful fresh fruit and a large chocolate chip muffin. Enjoyed getting to know everyone around the breakfast table. It was then we found out we were staying in a 5-star B&B that was a member of Select Registry Inn and B&B (the only one in IN)! Not surprising at all! We hung around downstairs before we left, took lots of beautiful pictures outside of the gardens and yard. There is a beautiful porch on the front of the house. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and while it was nice to not have to travel far to get there, I would highly recommend making a long trip to stay at this wonderful Inn! Thank you Tom and Alice for being a part of our 3rd anniversary get away!


Our first stay at Oliver Inn won't be our last.

4.0 on July 08, 2013

We felt that Tom and Alice truly welcomed us to share their home. The food was delicious and the atmosphere of the inn made us feel relaxed and at home. We especially enjoyed the beautiful grounds as we relaxed in the swing and enjoyed the shady breeze. Tom and Alice would have done anything possible to make our stay enjoyable. They visited with us at our level of desire. We used a discount card which made this wonderful inn affordable for us.


First Rate Experience

5 on July 03, 2013

Alice and Tom provided the perfect backdrop for friends to reconnect for a high school reunion. The setting was charming and the hosts were perfect. A very pleasant stay in South Bend and I would return in a heartbeat.


Lots of little touches at this B&B

4.8 on June 19, 2013

Lovely, historical B&B. The innkeepers are very helpful and go out of their way to enhance your stay. Many little touches such as chocolates, homemade goodies in the pantry, bath salts, and various drinks available at all hours. Full, delicious breakfasts amid beautiful decor. You will want to make a return visit once you've stayed at The Oliver Inn.


A true jem!!

5 on June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Oliver Inn while celebrating my mother's 87th birthday. The Inn was just beautiful and very historic and quite comfortable. Our hosts Alice and Tom were very welcoming and helpful. It'd in a great location. The breakfast was delicious. We wished we could have stayed longer than the 2 days. We booked.


Best B&B EVER

5 on April 12, 2013

My lands! This place exceeded all our expectations, so much so that we have now been 3x!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE Tom and Alice, the breakfasts, the beds, the double whirlpool tubs, the ground and the dinner suggestions!


New Year's Eve Delight at Oliver Inn

4.8 on January 06, 2013

We found a last-minute room at the Oliver Inn for New Year's Eve. With very special diet restrictions due to a medical condition, B&Bs can sometimes offer the best - or worst - travel options. Alice was a delight and made our stay so easy and worry-free. The room and the Inn were absolutely beautiful, too. What a wonderful way to start the New Year.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.6 on January 06, 2013

My husband and I did a "Stay-cation" over our holiday break. The Oliver Inn was the perfect place to relax and well worth it!!


Best Place to stay in South Bend!!!

5 on December 18, 2012

On our first trip to South Bend 3 years ago we were lucky enough to stumble upon the Oliver Inn, thanks to a little research by my father who wanted to stay somewhere that was a little more like home, not just some hotel. We were blown away, to say the least, with the experience we had at the Oliver Inn so when my family and I made our second trip to South Bend for the Wake Forest vs. Notre Dame Football game this year there was no question where we were going to stay, The Oliver In of course! Just like the first time, Tom and Alice were wonderful and we felt as if we were at home, which was very important to us as there were about 14 of us in all on the trip. The food was amazing!!!!! Every meal that Alice and Tom provided was gourmet and something that you could only find at the finest restaurants, combined with the feeling that you were eating in your own dining room at home. We learned from our first trip, that there was no restaurant in South Bend that could even compare to the quality of food and outstanding service that the Oliver Inn provided, so on our second trip we chose to have every meal with Tom and Alice and it was awesome! In fact, because it was the week before Thanksgiving, my father asked if we could have a Turkey Dinner. Tom and Alice went above and beyond to provide a wonderful turkey with all of the fixing and my family and I had one of the best Thanksgiving dinners ever at our new "Home Away From Home." I could go on and on about all of the ways in which The Oliver Inn exceeded our expectations but you should definitely just experience it for yourself!


Relaxing Stay

4.0 on December 05, 2012

We had a quick stay at the Oliver on our way to Ohio. Comfortable, quiet and easy to locate. Enjoyed our stay. Tom & Alice were very friendly and had excellent customer service!


A Dream Wedding - November 2012

5 on November 14, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding at the Oliver Inn recently. The entire experience was perfect and flawless in every way. Alice and Tom are consummate hosts who possess an attention to detail and a knack for knowing what is needed for every situation that makes the Oliver Inn an incredible place to hold an event or just get away for a night. We had a short ceremony and then dinner (prepared by Alice) immediately afterward in the dining room. The food was superb, especially the three-tier chocolate wedding cake with chocolate buttercream frosting! They were able to accommodate twenty-eight people effortlessly. Kudos to Tom and Alice! Steven and I cannot wait to see you next year for our anniversary! Thank you so much for everying you did for us and our family!


Knitter's Review

5 on November 12, 2012

There was 4 of Gals who stayed over night on what we call a YARN CRAWL. As we are all Knitters, we wanted a place to relax and enjoy in a setting that was like Home. We got just that a home setting, to knit and visit. Our room was over the top in every way. Alice and her Husband were welcoming, and helpful in at all our questions. We will want to stay again when coming to South Bend on one of our Knitting Crawls...


The Best

5 on October 17, 2012

The Oliver Inn is most definitely the Destination of Distinction, a bragging right most deservedly quoted. Tom and Alice far exceed the warmth and friendship one expects from a B and B. I will never stay anywhere else. Charles


wonderful

5 on October 15, 2012

Alice and Tom are wonderful. We receive great service every time we stay and the rooms are wonderful.


Another great stay at The Oliver Inn

5 on September 28, 2012

This was our third visit to the Oliver Inn. It is a beautiful historic mansion with lovely manicured grounds. For this visit we stayed in the Clem Studebaker room. The room was comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. There was a fireplace and one of the best beds we ever slept in! We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts but never met such wonderful owners. Alice and Tom are exceptional hosts displaying a warm hospitality that made us feel so welcome. They truly did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Alice graciously accommodated my dietary needs and prepared delicious gourmet breakfasts. We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Oliver Inn and highly recommend it.


First B&B. Teens loved it.

4.4 on September 12, 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast....so we have no benchmark....we stayed in the two upper rooms with our family of 4 .... boys in one room, girls in another - and shared a bathroom. That worked out well. Probably the most noteable fact is this....given everything we did on this little 2-day trip, our 13 yr old son and 15 yr old daughter liked The Oliver Inn better than anything else we did. They liked getting drinks and tea from the pantry anytime they desired. They played games on the porch, watched a DVD, ordered in pizza, played chess, etc.... We WILL start looking to book B&B's instead of hotels.


Needed a Sweet Spot

4.8 on August 14, 2012

What a lucky find! We needed a sweet spot on our drive back east and happened to fall on this amazing place! Thanks to Alice for being the ultimate hostess, taking us in, meeting us late and providing us with a stellar breakfast, perfect fuel for the drive ahead. We hope to be back!


Wonderful experience

5 on August 12, 2012

The owners of this B&B know how to make you feel welcome. The property is in a quiet location and close to a number of attractions. Our two day stay here was fantastic and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious !


A perfect rest!!!!

5 on June 26, 2012

After a month of having family come in to our house following my husbands surgery, this was the perfect, relaxing getaway for us. It was so nice having someone else change sheets, towels and cook breakfast for us! All we did was sit back and get pampered! Our hosts could not have been kinder! And the Butlers Pantry was perfect to get a fresh baked cookie and a cup of coffee.


Excellent place to stay

4.8 on June 25, 2012

I loved staying at the Oliver Inn. The place is beautiful and has a lot of fun extras. The food was exceptional. It is also next to Tippacanoe Place, which is a nice place to dine when staying there. I would highly recommend the inn.


Friendly and Comfortable

5 on May 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time at this friendly and comfortable B&B. Delicious meal and snacks. Comfortable rooms with large spacious grounds. And South Bend has a lot of interesting attractions (other than ND). All-in-all a great getaway.


Beautiful, elegant setting

4.8 on May 14, 2012

The Oliver Inn was a beautiful, elegant setting for our group to hold our small reception. Tom & Alice were very accommodating for our needs and the space they provided was both cozy & stunning. We are so pleased that we selected the Oliver Inn for our event over any other local venue!


Wonderful experince

4.8 on May 03, 2012

What a wonderfull B&B. Had a great time celebrating a frind's 50th birthday. The staff was friendly and the food deliscous!


Wonderful intro to South Bend

4.4 on April 25, 2012

Had never been to South Bend before. Knew nothing about it really except that Notre Dame was there. Then we stumbled on the Oliver Inn. We enjoy B&B' s and it was close enough to Chicago for a quick getaway to unwind. Oh my goodness The Oliver Inn was wonderful. It's a charming 1800's house, beautifully maintained and decorated in the heart of everything! So many times B&B's are in out of the way places, which is okay but the Oliver Inn allowed us to pack a ton into 2 short days. It's right next door to the Studebaker Mansion which serves this brilliant brunch and shockingly allows you to wander the premises, exploring this amazing place. It's in a historic disttict which makes for fascinating evening or early morning walks and only a couple of blocks from the museum district. We spent a whole afternoon in the Studebaker mueum. Also not far from the chocolate factory (tours and e samples). About quarter mile from downtown with its great cafes and restaurants (check out the unbelievable food at Trios then stick around for the jazz) and a lovely river walk. And the food at the Inn itself . . . . I'd drive there every morning just to eat Alice's breakfasts!!!! The Oliver Inn has not seen the last of us.


Wonderful stay

5 on April 17, 2012

The service and rooms were wonderful. I would definitely stay again.


Outstanding Experience

5 on March 20, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Oliver Inn. Tom and Alice were awesome. We would always consider their Inn to be like staying at a relative's home. Alice is an awesome cook and we both enjoyed the rich history of the place.


Our first, no kids vacation, in over 30 years!

5 on March 18, 2012

We were given the gift of 2 nights at The Oliver Inn (and some complimentary coupons) from our kids for Christmas this year. They were unable to determine what, after 33 years of marriage, we needed they could afford. They chipped in and we were given the gift of a mini- vacation. We were too early to check in, so went to the South Bend Chocolate Factory (a "must go to" place), and experienced our first exposure to the quintessential "Midwestern ethos and hospitality" there. When we got to the inn, Tom greeted us, gave us the grand tour, and showed us to our VERY spacious room (Clem Studebaker), and all its affiliated accommodations. We used the appetizer/dessert coupon they gave us to head to The Fiddler's Hearth restaurant, leaving our car behind and enjoying the walk. Our room was well maintained with delightful amenities (heated towel bar- oh my!; rain-shower head; complimentary bottled water; upgraded room with fireplace, which, unfortunately we did not use due to the very early heat wave that the Midwest experienced, among them). Breakfast was delicious, and prepared by Alice, who was as gracious as she could be. Eating breakfast on china plates, with linens and silverware, by candlelight. Relaxing! We didn't linger though, as we had things to see in downtown South Bend (Center for History; Studebaker Museum; Copshaholm House), and then dinner at Tippecanoe Place which is right next door. For 2 days we did not drive anywhere, choosing to walk and look at the historic and renovated homes instead. We found Tom to be quite forthcoming with the plans for restoring his grand manor, and shared renovation tales of ups and downs! We would like a return trip sometime, but as it took over 30 years for the first one, who knows how long before this happens we might have a second! Thank you Tom & Alice (hope you are doing better) Cindy & Michael


Great Valentine Get Away.

4.0 on February 22, 2012

I thought the Oliver Inn was a wonderful over night getaway for my husband and me. With the Tippecanoe Restaurant next door, it was a romantic evening/ night, and we will seriously consider coming back next year over Valentines. Rebecca Smith


The best in South Bend

5 on January 12, 2012

I am a tour operator in South Bend, Indiana who offers a group Holiday Dinner every year, which includes The Oliver Inn. This year (2011), the entire dinner was held at The Oliver Inn. Alice and Tom do an outstanding job in all regards to their B&B. Splendid property, excellent food, and superb hosts! You will never go wrong staying at The Oliver! Becky Wiegand/TravelStarz


Oliver Inn, South Bend

5 on December 04, 2011

Nicely appointed rooms and extra space for our daughter. Delicious breakfast and prompt and courteous service at all times. Help with dinner and directions. Couldn't have been nicer.


Kudos to The Oliver Inn

4.6 on October 31, 2011

We will definitely be back to stay at The Oliver. We chose it because of the close proximity to our friends' house, and were thrilled to have found such a treasure. We were pampered at breakfast by delectable meals served to music and by candlelight, on pretty china. Our room was very comfortable and attractive, though my favorite was the library where I curled up with my knitting or a book to wait for my friend. The butler's pantry has refreshments available at all times. The whole house is elegant, but also comfortable, and Tom and Alice knocked themselves out to make us feel welcome. In fact, the last morning my husband had a migraine, and the care and concern he received was wonderful, as though he were part of the family. We will go back, as soon as possible.


A True Piece of Americana! GO IRISH!!!

4.0 on October 25, 2011

Beautifully restored Victorian with a Notre Dame Flare. Rooms were very well appointed. Location to the ND campus was a bonus! The Inn Keepers were friendly and even offered some Football 101!! The breakfast presentation was just lovely and all home-made! What a treat!!! The Oliver Inn is a must to add to your ND experience. GO IRISH!!!!!! Marge and George proud Notre Dame parents


We would visit again!

4.4 on October 18, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Oliver Inn! Tom and Alice are so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are lovely and unique!


Just like Grandma's

4.4 on October 17, 2011

I told my wife that when we were young we would drive by old mansions and point to upper rooms and wonder what the view was like from there. After staying at the Oliver Inn I can say the view, the food, the rest, the hospitality are wonderful!


Best B&B were have ever stayed in

4.6 on October 03, 2011

Our stay was excellent. Loved the fireplace and our breakfast were outstanidng. Owners were very pleasant and quite helpful.


Oliver Inn

4.4 on October 01, 2011

very nice place---very nice owners------hands on mangement---very comfortable and enjoyable stay


Gem of a B&B.

4.6 on September 28, 2011

House full of history, wonderful rooms. Gracious hosts, Alica bakesand cooks a wonderful breakfast. Just a minute away from the Studabaker museum.


Great Experience

4.6 on August 25, 2011

Very pleasant stay at the Oliver Inn. The Keepers and Dinning were excellent, and the atmospere is adorable and relaxing. We will return often, and recommend to all our friends.


Loved the Oliver Inn!

5 on August 23, 2011

We stayed here recently for a friend's wedding, and Alice and Tom went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic. Alice greeted us in the driveway when we arrived, promptly giving us a tour of the inn and kitchen. By the time we arrived at our room our bags were there waiting for us, which was such a nice touch. We loved the butler's pantry where you can help yourself to tea, cookies, and other treats at any time of day or night. It was a fun place to socialize with other guests, too. They accommodated my non-dairy food requirements with DELICIOUS options, and were incredibly helpful in making sure I had access to a freezer and ice in order to store my breastmilk that I was pumping for my baby. I felt high maintenance, but they didn't bat an eye. The bed was comfortable, too! We loved our stay at the Oliver Inn.


we loved the coziness so much!

3.8 on August 22, 2011

we received a stay in the carriage house as a wedding gift from my parents and it was absolutely perfect! the carriage house is more like an aparment than just your average rented room; two bedrooms, two full baths, a complete kitchen, and the sunny screened in porch were more than we had anticipated. the staff were incredibly conscientious and thought of every detail. we loved the privacy that the separate accomodations afforded us. my personal favorite detail were the bathrobes- some of the most comfortable i've ever worn! i told my husband i'd like on for our one year anniversary to remind me of our stay! i would recommend the oliver inn to all of my friends & family in an instant.


We love our stay

5 on August 12, 2011

The room was large and very comfortable. We loved the King size bed and the double whirlpool tob was to die for. Highly recommended!


The Personal Touch

4.4 on August 11, 2011

Tom and Alice have a gift for hospitality. And they work hard cheerfully to make the Oliver Inn beautiful and peaceful. I felt personally cared for during my stay at the Oliver.


Wonderful, historic getaway

5 on August 10, 2011

We wanted a nice, quiet, but interesting place to celebrate our 45th anniversary. The Oliver Inn fit the bill perfectly and exceeded what I had hoped for. Our room was huge and so comfortable with many thoughtful extras included. There were interesting books to read or browse thru, historical family photos, plus 24-hour refreshments in the butler pantry. Yummy homemade cookies. We had a delicious gourmet breakfast with other friendly guests and piano music playing in the background. We would have been happy with just our stay at the inn, but right next door we had our fabulous anniversary dinner at Tippecanoe Place (Studebaker Mansion). Our innkeepers even made the reservations for us! Also of interest was our day spent at the nearby Studebaker Museum and Center for History. All added up to a memorable celebration, one we would love to repeat. Thank you to our hosts at the Oliver Inn for preserving this beautiful home and making our stay so enjoyable.


Birthday Visit

5 on August 08, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Oliver Inn B&B celebtrating my wife's birthday. She was raised in a house on W. Washington about a block from the Inn. Tom and Alice are excellent hosts and our room (Clem) was fantastic. The service and breakfast exceeded our expectations. We certainly plan on staying there whenever we are back to South Bend again.


One of our favorite B&B's

4.0 on August 04, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Oliver Inn. It is a beautiful house with lovely furnishings. Tom and Alice are wonderful hosts. Can't wait to book another stay.


Great hospitality and nice rooms!

3.8 on July 21, 2011

We took advantage of the "procrastinators deal" and booked the last available room "day-of." It was a great deal for one of their largest rooms with a jet-tub. The bed was comfortable, the decor was traditional, and the bathroom was updated. When we arrived, the owners started a fire in the pit and invited us to roast marshmallows. There was a little butlers’ pantry to grab a drink (coffee, tea, juice) and an additional snack (fresh cookies) as we headed outside. The lowest point of the stay was breakfast. It was fine, but nothing to rave about. The morning we were there, the offerings were either greasy (sausage) or sugary (coffee cake, bread pudding called "French toast"). There was plenty of fruit, but it looked like it had been sitting out for several hours. The owners were very attentive to keep my coffee cup full, which I appreciated. Overall, I would go back again.


We love this place and the inn keepers!

5 on July 16, 2011

Tom and Alice are simply the best. We have gone to South Bend for 7 years helping our best friend battle breast cancer and support the cause through Relay for Life. Three years into our trips, we found the Oliver Inn. Each time after our first experience we have stayed with these wonderful folks, Tom and Alice have treated us like their family. Our friend lost her battle in December 2010 and we came back this year for Relay. Tom and Alice welcomed us. This beautiful inn became our safe haven. The rooms are incredible and Alice makes the best breakfast I have ever had! For 4 years we have stayed here each time we come to South Bend and this is where we plan to continue to stay. This is by the far the cleanest, most beautiful and most welcoming bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. I highly recommend the Oliver Inn, you will not be disappointed. Tom and Alice, thank you!


Romantic, Historic, Charming

4.4 on July 15, 2011

My wife and I went here for our 5th anniversary. Completely charming! We love history and romantic places. Oliver Inn impressed us on both counts. We left feeling like we connected in a personal way with America's past and in a new way with each other. From our dining and touring experience of the Tippicanoe Place restaurant next door to our quiet swing time in the giant tree swing to our cozy night in the James Oliver room (the bed in this room is like sleeping on a cloud) we loved it. Anniversaries are splurge times for us so we were not looking at the price. You won't be disapointed. Tom and Alice are sweet, consciencious hosts. Thank you guys for a night to remember.


The best stay!

4.8 on July 14, 2011

We picked The Oliver Inn because it was close to some wineries we visited. The service was so great and we loved the accommodations and privacy. We received a free upgrade to the carriage house due to another guest wanting to extend their time and we couldn't have been happier. We would definately go back again!


Wonderful Get-away

4.4 on July 05, 2011

Our anniversary stay at Oliver Inn was wonderful. The lawn and gardens were so relaxing, just what we needed. Tom and Alice were extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants and activities as well as helpful in making the reservations. The breakfasts that Alice prepared and served were absolutely delicious. Gertrude's Dressing Room was clean and comfortable with a great hot tub.


Loved staying here!

4.8 on June 25, 2011

We stayed in the James Oliver room on our wedding night, and loved every part of it. It was just a short stay for us, but the room was nicely decorated, comfortable, and clean. The owners were friendly and accommodating for us. Breakfast was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again!


Anniversary Weekend

4.2 on June 15, 2011

The Oliver Inn was a great place to just have a quiet weekend away. The room was spacious and quiet.


pricey but charming

4.0 on June 13, 2011

The owners were very extremely nice. The room was clean, confortable, and charming. The breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed talking with the other guests while we ate. We just wish we could have stayed longer! The only drawback is that it was a bit pricey for us.


Relaxation at its best!

4.2 on June 04, 2011

My reservations was on Memorial Day. I was unable to participate in the traditional celebrations because of having stomach surgery the week before. So I thought that this would be perfect for some relaxation. This is a great getaway from Chicago. It's a college town, (Notre Dame, St. Joseph to name a few) and it also houses the College Football Hall of Fame. This is also where John Dillinger robbed at a bank at back in 1934. (I'm a little bit of a history geek) Very Historic town and you can tell by the large beautiful homes in the area. The drive was nice and serene. No traffic, no construction. Lots of trees, horses, goats , cows and bulls though. And plenty of farmland. We stayed in Gertrude's dressing room. It's a room with lots of storage space and an immaculate bathroom. The room was so quaint and comfortable. I love the fact that there was a journal in the room dating from 2008. Everyone who has stayed in the room wrote of their experience. Very, very, very clean. For this to be an old house, there wasn't one speck of dust anyway. Alice and her husband Tom are the Innkeepers. They were so nice and friendly, you felt as if you were part of their family. Even though this is an old and historic home, they had to have a few modern things. There is a BIG jacuzzi tub in the enormous bathroom. TV's with cable in the rooms. And of course FREE WIFI. The next morning breakfast was served at 9. Alice had made a ham and cheese quiche that was delicious. There was also fresh fruit, coffee cake and english muffins. Fresh coffee, tea and juice was also provided. I told my husband that I would love to come back. If you want to relax and enjoy historic homes, this is a lovely place to check out.


A Wonderful, Historical B&B

5 on June 02, 2011

My fiance and I found our way in South Bend and stayed at the Oliver Inn. Tom and Alice were wonderful hosts, made an excellent breakfast and were very helpful in giving us some tips for places to visit. We would definitely be back for a weekend getaway.


Great Inn, Great Location

4.6 on May 30, 2011

This lovely historic home has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated in a period appropriate fashion that still incorporates modern comfort expectations. There were some fun touches such as homemade cookies and cupcakes available all day/night, complimentary beverages, and a wonderful array of magazines and books. Our hosts, Tom & Alice, were very nice and other guests included folks from Switzerland, England, and several other states. The location was great. We loved dinner next door at the Studebaker estate, Tippecanoe. Just down the street was a wonderful Center for History which included a tour of the J.D. Oliver estate (who built the Oliver Inn for his daughter) and the Studebaker museum which was terrific. Anyone who has not seen Notre Dame's campus would enjoy that, too. Much fun and we'd return in a heartbeat. Peter & Patsy


The Place to Stay in South Bend

4.6 on May 23, 2011

It is lovely and the food delicious. A lot of care is taken to make guest welcome and feel at home. Beautiful setting with gardens and seating for outdoors.


Wonderful Experience

5 on May 13, 2011

We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. The Oliver Inn was perfect in every way. Beautiful grounds, clean, comfortable and striking rooms - make sure you check out some of the other rooms, not just the one you stay in - and of course the delicious breakfast. Tom and Alice were great hosts and very nice people to talk with. Take your time and check out all the details in the home and your room. The place is amazing. I have and will recommend it to friends. We will be back!


Amazing service in a beautiful Inn.

4.8 on May 12, 2011

We had a delightful time at Oliver Inn! The spring flowers were blooming, the Innkeepers went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our needs and wants were met. The breakfast and the goodies were delicious, home-baked by the owner who also makes the desserts for the Tippecanoe place next door! It is within walking distance of several good restaurants including the one we went to--Fiddler's Hearth, a spunky, lively Irish pub with live music, great food, and fun atmosphere. I would recommend Oliver Inn to my friends.


Wonderful stay at Oliver Inn

5 on May 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Oliver, it seemed like every little detail has been carefully thought out to make sure you have a relaxed and comfortable stay. From having menus readily available, great common areas that make you want to visit, and a candle light breakfast that exceeds anything we've had in the various BnBs we've stayed at. The hosts were welcoming from the arrival until your departure. I highly recommend it and South Bend has so many fun things to offer. We definitely hope to make the trip again.


This place is amazing!

5 on May 11, 2011

Tom & Alice are very sweet people and made us feel right at home! We enjoyed our stay and now don't ever want to stay in a hotel again! The thing I loved the most about this Bed & Breakfast was the cleanliness! That's #1 in my book and they definitely met my expectations! Thanks for the wonderful experience. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! I am so glad you got to stay with us and experience a bed and breakfast. We hope you get to come back and stay with us again!


pre anniversary getaway

4.4 on May 05, 2011

When we pulled in the driveway, we saw the side of the house where the paint was chipped off, and were concerned that it was rundown. Quite the contrary, Alice explained that they were 5 years into a 10 year plan of painting the outside. The inside was very well kept and updated. Our room was clean and very comfy. We also loved the Tippecanoe restaurant, right nextdoor and got $10 off for staying at Oliver Inn. We've stayed at many B&B's and this one is definitely one of the best.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us on your anniversary trip. We are in the process of restoring the whole outside of our Inn. After 125 years of paint- it is time to take it all off a section at a time and repaint. While this is a slow process the end results are worth it. I hope you will come back and check on our progress!


Wonderful surprise

5 on May 02, 2011

Had never stayed in a B&B before so didn't know what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised! The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. They really made our stay. Our room was very comfortable and had all the amenities we could have wanted/needed and even some we didn't (chocolate!). Breakfast was amazing. Perfect getaway weekend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us for your first bed and breakfast experience! I am glad you had a great visit. I hope you will be back, and also consider bed and breakfasts when you travel in the future!


Excellent!!

4.0 on April 28, 2011

The attention that the owners gave to their guests. They made you feel as if you lived there.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your response! You can come back and visit any time!!


Great Breakfast!!

4.0 on April 19, 2011

Our stay at Oliver Inn was terrific - breakfast was served buffet style which I don't normally care for, but this one was outstanding. Alice and Tom were there and very attentive. We ate dinner at Tippecanoe Place next door and it too was outstanding. What a pleasant stay!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing a review! I am glad you enjoyed your visit! We sometimes serve buffet style so people can choose exactly what they like for breakfast! Yes Tippecanoe has great food!


Weekend Away with Good Friends.

5 on April 15, 2011

Oliver Inn exceeded our expectations, our stay with our friends was lovely, and we had a great time, of relaxation and fun, Tom and ALice were very helpful with guiding us to where would be good places to eat and things to do. the were very delightful, and we hope to stay again, a big thank you to them for choosing Living Social.com to offer such a great deal. Our time was wonderful. Thanks again Tom and ALice for you warm hospitialty.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We enjoyed meeting all of you and visiting with you! I am glad you got to explore the area- there is so much to do here, I hope you can come back and see a few more sights!


Enjoyed our stay very much!

4.4 on April 14, 2011

We stayed three nights with Alice and Tom. The house is amazing! All the rooms are lovely (we were the only guests the first night, so we peeked at the others). We felt so pampered by our hosts. Alice fixes elegant, delicious food and we enjoyed our candlelight breakfasts so much. They have paid attention to the details and there are plenty of comfortable spaces to visit with guests. The weather was very good when we visited, so we got to enjoy the porch and yard. A wonderful relaxing escape!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your encouraging words! We were glad you got to stay for 3 days and relax! We look forward to seeing you again!


Rescued by the Oliver Inn

5 on April 01, 2011

When another B&B mixed up our reservation, the Oliver Inn welcomed us in. Staying there was a delightful surprise--gracious hosts, lovely breakfast, wonderfully comfortable room. We hope to return.

Innkeeper Response
We were so happy to have you happen on to us! It was great to get to know you and we too hope you get to return!


Wonderful Stay

3.6 on March 23, 2011

We would recommend Oliver Inn B & B to anyone. We enjoyed it a lot, and the owners were very helpful with dining recommendations which was much appreciated as I'm vegetarian. Our room was lovely, very clean and was very quiet. Loved the butlers pantry upon coming back for the evening. Tea and cookies, perfect!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you had a relaxing visit. We try to had a great selection of teas on hand all the time. We hope you can visit us again!


Only place to stay while in South Bend!

5 on March 06, 2011

I traveled to South Bend in November to attend a Dosimetry Review course. I am so happy that the Oliver Inn was recommended as a quite, lovely place to stay. I found the Inn to be very warm and beautiful. I rented the third floor (2 bedrooms) because my family came with me.It was very cozy and private. It was awesome to feel like you had stepped back in time, but it had all modern amenities. Alice is wonderful, helpful and accommodating. I Would recomend this Inn to anyone traveling to South Bend. It is also located within walking distance to local resturants and attractions. A fun place to just hang out and learn about the Oliver family. Why stay at a boring hotel when you can stay here?

Innkeeper Response
We were so happy to have your family stay with us while you were in class. I hope your test went well, and that you can visit us again!


Wonderful 1st experience

5 on March 02, 2011

Alice and Tom were wonderful. Alice showed us all around the inn and every room was more beautiful then the next. We were taken to our room and it was very nice, the pictures don't do it justice. We had an opportunity to see the other rooms and they were all just as nice. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous. A great place to visit again and again.

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad you choose us as your first Bed and Breakfast experience. I hope this will be the beginning of many more great bed and breakfast adventures and that you will back!


Valentines weekend at The Oliver

4.8 on February 18, 2011

We recently had an opportunity to stay at The Oliver Inn during the Bengal Bouts at ND. We have stayed at a number of B & B's and found the Oliver Inn to be one of the best. Tom and Alice make you feel very comfortable and the food was outstanding. They are very knowledgeable about the area and definitely take a lot of pride in what they do. There is no doubt that the next time that we travel to South Bend that we will stay there again. The Hamilton's


The Oliver Inn - An Excellent Bed & Breakfast

4.2 on February 09, 2011

When we arrived, we met Tom and Alice at the door. What a great experience. The history of The Oliver Inn was fantastic. The place is georgeous and the accommodations were excellent.


one of the best BBs ever

4.6 on January 22, 2011

Great room, great food, and awesome service. The 30" of snow was a plus! It was also great to be able to walk next door to the Tippecanoe mansion for dinner -- the perfect combination :)


Great stay

5 on January 19, 2011

This was our third time staying at Oliver Inn, and everything was great, as always. Extremely clean room, comfy bed, inviting fireplace, fantastic breakfast and super-friendly owners. Loved it all!


Loved our visit!

5 on January 05, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oliver Inn. The Carriage House was a great choice for us with our two teenagers. The inn is beautiful and breakfast was excellent. We appreciated how they accommodated our dietary restrictions without us even asking them. They are very close to the center of town, Notre Dame campus and restaurants. We highly recommend staying with them!


Our Anniversary Stay

5 on January 04, 2011

Thank you Tom and Alice for being so wonderful to us on our Anniversary trip with you. We stayed 2 years ago and we couldn't wait to return. We felt like we were family with your warm hug and kindness. It is a blessing to find such loving people and it truly shows that you care about people and their happiness. God Bless you and your family~ Love, The Meiste's


Oliver Inn is Wonderful

4.8 on December 23, 2010

We have stayed at the Oliver Inn twice. We have enjoyed our stay both times. Tom and Alice are very gracious hosts. Alice's breakfasts are outstanding! We will definitely be back again in 2011.


Excellent stay

4.6 on December 15, 2010

Very friendly. Rooms are full of interesting antiques. Breakfast was fantastic.


Oliver Inn overnighter

4.2 on November 15, 2010

Room was spacious and clean. Gas fireplace in the room was a wonderful touch. Very nice restaurant/mansion across the street for dinner.


The Oliver Inn B&B made a work trip very enjoyable.

4.6 on October 11, 2010

While n South Bend recently on business, I stayed at the Oliver Inn B&B and was very impressed. The great room and surroundings, food, and wonderful hosts made a regular work trip a very memorable experience.


Our Anniversary

4.6 on October 04, 2010

We had a very enjoyable time at the Oliver Inn. The innkeepers were very hospitable and the breakfast was outstanding. The grounds were nicely landscaped and quiet. I would highly recommend this beautiful and historic bed and breakfast.


Outstanding experience at the Oliver Inn

5 on September 13, 2010

The Oliver Inn is a beautiful place to stay in South Bend. We chose it because we were going to Notre Dame. The breakfast was so delicious and everything baked fresh every morning. Tom and Alice are very helpful with anything that you might need, and this trip was truly memorable with the visit to Notre Dame and the game and made complete by our stay at the Oliver Inn.


Perfect in Every Way

5 on August 24, 2010

Our stay at The Oliver Inn was phenomenal. My husband and I have stayed at B and B's around the country for years, and I have to say this is the tops ever. The house is amazingly furnished, both the public areas and our room. The gardens are amazing, with flowers and fountains, benches, swings and hammocks. We sat on the swing, and saw fireworks one evening from the minor league baseball stadium near by! The Innkeepers are so VERY warm and friendly, and helpful in everyway - like they were your friends. The food was incredibly delicious (5 star), and the breakfast table set with antique dishes, flowers and candles and a never ending cup of coffee. Mr. O'Toole (a maniquin of sorts) plays the piano during breakfast. Dining at the Tippicanoe House next door added to the delight of our stay. Touring the Studebaker Museum and the Oliver House (not the Inn) made a thouroughly delightful stay, and I cant wait to go back. I cant imagine anyone not thoroughly loving their stay here.


The Perfect Getaway

4.6 on August 19, 2010

The Clem Studebaker Room was an excellent place to lose track of time. After one day we thought we had been there for several days. A wonderful way to unwind. And the breakfasts are excellent. Walking distance to the Museum complex and the downtown area. Tom & Alice are great hosts.


peaceful b and b

4.8 on August 11, 2010

the innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful. We felt so welcome in the home. We stopped there on the way to Michigan, and liked it so much that we decided to stay there on our way back instead of stopping at a hotel. The best thing I could say is that I would recommend it to other travelers and would stay there again myself.


The Weekend We Needed was the Weekend We Got.

5 on August 05, 2010

Overdue for some time away, my wife and I visited the Oliver Inn for the first time. The cleanest B & B we have ever visited and we have been to many. The breakfasts were elegant, but simply delicious. A friendly atmosphere, helpful but not imposing innkeepers and a wonderful escape from the humdrum. We'll be visiting again.


A magnificent B&B

5 on July 27, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at a number of B&Bs over the years, and this one just became our new favorite. The rooms were gorgeously appointed and the innkeepers were warm and friendly.


A Restful Stay With Gracious Hosts

4.0 on July 25, 2010

Our visit was very pleasant. The room was comfortable and the breakfast served in the morning was very good. Our hosts were friendly and congenial. We would certainly like to go back sometime.


The Oliver Inn Bed & Breakfast, South Bend, Indiana

5 on July 22, 2010

Tom & Alice Erlandson's Oliver Inn is just a classic, first class bed and breakfast conveniently located in walking distance to downtown South Bend historic sites, museums, short five minute drives to Notre Dame/nearby professional baseball park or great children's zoo, and restaurants(next door to the famous Tippecanoe Restaurant). Great ease/closeness of parking, superb grounds for ease of relaxing/meeting family and friends. Tom and Alice make you feel right ar home. Try it once, and you'll always want to come back! Marlene & Don Rosato (Concord, MA)


Charm, congeniality and comfort combined!

5 on June 29, 2010

My husband and I were en route to a vacation destination in northern Michigan when we decided to stop along the way in South Bend. This is extremely unusual for us, but we simply called from the road and were delighted to hear a welcoming voice from Alice on the other end! What began as a last-minute decision turned into one of the most wonderful bed and breakfast stays we've ever enjoyed. Our room was magnificent as was the entire house. Very lovingly restored, Tom and Alice has painstakingly created an historic inn which is both true to the character of the home and also highly comfortable and spacious for guests. Our bed was very comfortable, the bath was great, and the full, hot breakfast was delicious. Tom and Alice were extremely hospitable and told us a lot about the history of the home, built for the daughter of the Oliver tractor magnate. One unexpected surprise for me was a chair that literally gives you a ride up to the second floor and because my right leg was in a soft cast, the "chairlift" was an added treat. Not only was this a wonderful stay for us en route to Michigan, we plan to return just to spend more time in South Bend looking at other nearby mansions, the Notre Dame campus, and the shopping district. The Oliver Inn is a special bed and breakfast and will provide lasting memories!


Best hosts in the world

4.0 on June 16, 2010

this was the best weekend in the world. the very gracious hosts had a wonderful hot full delicious breakfast to candlelight and grand piano beautiful music. they have a butler's pantry that is always open with coffee, tea, pop, orange juice, water and home made cookies or other treats. and in some cases, better than home. I will be back.


ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS

5 on June 04, 2010

This was one of the most pleasant experiences we have ever had. Alice and Tom were gracious and very friendly. The accommodations were superb. I am very persnickity about where I stay. This was absolutely fabulous!!!! We travel quite a bit and this was very comfortable. Thanks Tom and Alice!! We were even able to bring our dog which made our stay even better.


Graduation weekend

5 on May 29, 2010

Beautiful accomodations, and wonderful host and hostess. They made us feel so welcome, and the food was delicious. We would definately stay there again, and recomend it to our friends .


ND Graduation 2010

5 on May 25, 2010

We stayed with Tom and Alice for ND Jr Parents weekend and loved their B and B and their hospitality so much we immediately booked for ND graduation. We reserved the Studebaker Suite for my parents and the Carriage House for my family. Both were outstanding and the breakfasts were fantastic! We also had Tom and Alice cater a graduation dinner for our son and his three best friends and their families (21 total). What an awesome evening. We started with cocktails in the garden and followed with gourmet Parmesan Crusted Ribeyes or Garlic Lemon Chicken in the Dining room. We choose the chocolate purses for dessert, but Alice also volunteered to make a graduation cake for the sons as well--looked awesome and tasted even better. I was just talking to my son yesterday, and he remarked that the dinner was one of the highlights of graduation weekend--he got to hang out with his best friends for the last four years and we all got to meet them and their families. On a weekend where you couldn't get a reservation anywhere in town (one guest had dinner reservations at 800 and didn't get served until 1030), we ate in relaxed style and fellowship. Thanks Tom and Alice for making our son's graduation even more special. John


Wonderful Experience

4.4 on May 25, 2010

The Oliver Inn is a wonderful place - gorgeous grounds, spectacular, immaculate rooms, and the most cordial, welcoming inn-keepers ever. Fantastic experience.


A Perfect Choice!

5 on May 24, 2010

We chose The Oliver Inn for a family get-together over a 3-day weekend. Alice and Tom are the gracious hosts and owners of this wonderful destination. We had the joy of 3 magnificent unique bedrooms and several large parlors to play games, share pictures, laugh and hug. Our hosts served beverages and snacks throughout. And the breakfasts-- simply delicious and elegant-- served in a large Victorian appointed dining room. This is a 'must do' for B&B lovers. Our family is grateful for Alice and Tom's hospitality! There is much to see just a short drive from the Inn-- truly too many choices for a short weekend. Historical museums, grand old house tours, the College Football Hall of Fame, Silver Beach and the Warren Sand Dunes, Winereries, and Art Galleries. All will keep us wishing to come back soon!


Amazing Relaxing Anniversary Getaway

5 on May 06, 2010

My husband and I only get away from the kids once a year on our Anniversary! The Oliver Inn was fabulous, it was very clean and inviting, a beautiful home! There was even a wedding photography shoot going on outside when we arrived! It made us reminsce of times past! We dined next door for dinner at The Tippecanoe Place, the best steaks we ever had! It was a weekend packed with relaxation, fun, and wonderful hosts Tom and Alice. Alice is an awesome baker the breakfast was devine, the breakfast scewers juicy, the pecan french toast was amazing, and Mr. O'Tool played the piano! What more could you ask for. You must stay at The Oliver Inn you won't be disappointed!


Birthday and Baseball

5 on April 13, 2010

Our only regret - that we couldn't stay longer! Many thanks to Alice and Tom.


Husband's Birthday Stay 3/13/10

4.6 on March 15, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to the Oliver Inn and we stayed in Gertrude's Dressing Room this time. It was another wonderful visit with Tom & Alice. They are wonderful hosts. We really enjoy the piano music and candlelight breakfast. Alice makes a wonderful breakfast - especially her twisted sweet & spicy bacon. We hope to make another visit to South Bend and stay in the Tippecanoe Room next.


This is a very special place

4.2 on March 04, 2010

Tom & Alice are first class people--extremely gracious, kind, thoughtful, and hard working. The house itself is gorgeous and well preserved. This is a magnificent throw back to the 19th century.


Oliver Inn

4.8 on February 15, 2010

Our third time at the Oliver and always a great time. This Select Registry place deserves its ratings as all the lilltle things are there and done well. Hosts very attentive but not overly so, warm atmosphere, good breakfasts,romantic/relaxed. And surprise, South Bend has some good restaurants and the Studebaker/Oliver history is fascinating. Jim and Ann Marie


The Oliver Inn - South Bend, IN

4.8 on February 10, 2010

I was so excited to stay at the Oliver Inn. The Clem Studebaker room looked lovely online, and the Inn exceeded our expectations. We could not have chosen a lovelier B&B, nor a more gracious couple than Alice & Tom. I highly recommend the Oliver Inn to all. We will certainly stay again whenever we are in the South Bend area!


Christmas weekend stay

4.8 on January 01, 2010

Tom & Alice were wonderful hostess & The Oliver Inn will become a favorite place for us to stay when in the area. They were very accomodating when we had to change our reservation to a day later & with bringing along our family dog - a Great Dane!


Oliver Inn

3.4 on December 23, 2009

was nice place to spend a couple nights, room was cold as is a big old Victorian house, nice fireplace in room, decorations are unique, hot tub a little small


A Enjoyable Stay for First Time at a B&B

4.2 on December 10, 2009

The Oliver Inn was our first time to stay at a B&B. We were very satisfied with our stay. Tom and Alice were friendly and helpful to help make our stay a pleasant one. The rooms were beautiful and were decorated in very cozy and colorful.


Oliver Inn Bed & Breakfast

5 on December 04, 2009

Wonderful B & B. The History is awesome and the hosts could not be more gracious. You have to go to the Tippy Canoe Restaurant next door, what an experience.


Fantastic Weekend

5 on November 20, 2009

Tom and Alice are very gracious and friendly hosts and I would recommend the Oliver without exception, We rented the Carriage House for the Navy weekend, and Alice's cookies are exceptional. Can't wait to return!!!! Steve,Toronto, Canada


Highly Recommended!

5 on November 06, 2009

What a treat! We stayed in the Clem Studabaker room Nov 2nd. It was spotless and gorgeous. There is a nice, relaxing atmosphere to the home and I've never had breakfast by candlelight until now! .Alice is super nice...very helpful in our travel plans around the area. We will be back!!


step into the past

5 on November 01, 2009

Our stay at the inn was awesome. We stayed in the James Oliver room. It was all we hoped for and more. Can not wait to go back again.


Magnificent

5 on October 31, 2009

Breathtaking establishment with lovely, non-obtrusive owners. Could here a pin drop, it was so quiet and you felt like you were in your own mansion. Just lovely. E. Will and C. Mancino


Carriage House

4.0 on October 16, 2009

The carriage house was a perfect location for my husband, two children (ages 10 months and 2.5 years) as well as my parents to stay when we were in South Bend for a wedding at Tippacanoe Place. The privacy was wonderful (for us and for the other guests who may not have appreciated the noise our kids generate). There were two issues that we had to be concerned about with kids and then with a visit from our 90 year old great grandmother....the stairs to the carriage house are too steep for older people to climb. But, we were able to meet up in the library in the main house. ANd, one bedroom does not have a door to the bathroom, the bathroom and bedroom are all sort of one room, which, I guess could be romantic, but for a family trip it ended up being a little annoying. But, excellent for a potty training child who likes to go pee-pee with an audience. We never ate at the Inn so I cannot comment on the food but it looked nice. This B&B is much better and more kid friendly than other B&Bs in the area that we have stayed at. Having a full kitchen was very helpful.


Fit for a King and Queen

5 on October 13, 2009

Our children gave us the three mansion gift certificate for Christmas last year. Hope they do it again this Christmas. From the candlelight breakfast to Mr. O'Toole playing the piano to the elegant bedroom, we felt like we were a king and queen.


My estate planning seminar trip

5 on October 06, 2009

Thank you for a very nice stay, Alice and Tom. I wish I could have lingered longer over breakfast. The bed in my room, Tippecanoe, was really comfortable. I didn't even need to have brought my pillow. Next time I'll remember you bake cookies and won't bother to bring my own. Susan


The WOW factor

5 on September 28, 2009

Wonderful time!!! Great food! Great people! Thank you for a great stay!!!!!! Patty & Bob


Our Favorite Place to Stay

4.0 on September 25, 2009

This is our favorite place to stay at Notre Dame. Tom and Alice are exceptional hosts, the Inn is charming, the beds are comfortable, Alice's breakfasts are fabulous, the grounds are beautiful. What a special time it is to spend at the Oliver Inn!


Exceptional

4.8 on September 21, 2009

We stayed 2 days and I couldn't think of one thing I would change about Oliver Inn! The rooms & grounds were beautiful and there was a lot of attention to detail to make you comfortable. The butler's pantry was available to have fresh coffee, tea & snack 24/7--what a great treat when you are traveling! The (gourmet) breakfasts were outstanding.


Wonderful Get Away

5 on September 15, 2009

Tom and Alice are the nicest people you could ever want to meet. Our stay was just outstanding and Alice sure cooks up a wonderful breakfast. We will be back and I hope it is sooner rather than later.


Oliver Inn Bed and Breakfast Review

5 on September 15, 2009

Five nights with six rooms, a combination of singles and doubles. Breakfast every day and one dinner.


ND Orientation Weekend

4.8 on August 30, 2009

My family stayed at the Oliver Inn during my son's Orientation week an ND. It was so nice to be able to come back to a "home" enviroment after very hectic days. Both my husband and daughter really enjoyed and took full advandtage of the "Buttler's Pantry"! We are looking forward to returning to the Inn during Parent's weekend and most of all to Alice's fabulous breakfasts, especially her french toast and cream cheese puff danish! We highly reccommend the Oliver Inn!


WILL CERTAINLY RETURN

4.2 on August 29, 2009

TOM AND ALICE ARE FANTASTIC HOSTS. THE INN IS BEAUTIFUL,FOOD DELICIOUS. THE INN HAS A TRUE CHARM.LOOK FORWARD TO A RETURN VISIT.


Wonderful Stay at the Oliver Inn

5 on August 23, 2009

A beautiful home. Quiet, private. Our family had the 2 bedrooms on the top floor, sharing a bath. Very comfortable accomodations. We had a delicious dinner next door and an amazing breakfast in the morning. Tom and Alice were extremely helpful. We only stopped in South Bend to stay at the Oliver Inn on our way to Chicago...it was well worth it.


Excellent experience

5 on August 20, 2009

The Oliver Inn sits on a lovely piece of property in historic South Bend. We loved getting snacks from the butler's pantry and sitting outside on a beautiful swing, watching fireworks, and enjoying the peaceful garden. Gorgeous rooms. Lovely experience.


best b & b in south Bend

5 on August 07, 2009

Lovely place to stay. Food was wonderful as were the owners. this was our second stay. (the dog loved the stay as well)


Anniversary Celebration

4.8 on August 01, 2009

Tom and Alice are outstanding hosts. They make you feel very welcome and comfortable. We have stayed there twice and would return again.


Extraordinary stay at the Oliver Inn

4.8 on July 30, 2009

My daughter and I booked the Knute Rockne room. Staying for a whole week, we had a lot of baggage...there was plenty of room for everything! My daughter enjoyed the antique vanity for fixing her hair and applying make-up. The robes that were provided with the room were a welcome touch, too. Our schedule varied, and the chamber maids always adjusted their schedules to fit ours - I greatly appreciated that flexibility. The gourmet breakfasts were fabulous!! Alice is a great cook, and she varied the menu each day. The breakfast atmosphere was elegant, but also warm and inviting. My daughter still talks about the poppy seed pound cake and the brown sugar/cracked black pepper bacon that she enjoyed at the inn. My favorite was the "green eggs and ham" quiche. Tom and Alice - the innkeepers - were/are wonderful. They couldn't be more helpful, interested, or supportive. There was no down side to our stay at the Oliver Inn. I encourage travelers to book a room as soon as possible!


A Summer Retreat

4.6 on July 23, 2009

My husband & I enjoyed a summer stay at the Oliver Inn. The gardens were very inviting with many seats to "set a spell". The room was delightfully decorated and very quiet. The dining room inviting & breakfast scrumptious!


Grandeur and splendor - perfect elegance

5 on July 19, 2009

Receiving emails from the BedandBreakfast.com site highlighting this inn we decided to check it out. We have stayed at over 35 B & B's since we got introduced to one here in Michigan, this one, we agree, was best preserved mansion of all. Alice & Tom are true innkeepers and made us feel very welcome; they were delightful to chat with. If you haven't stayed here, you MUST! Thanks for a great stay!


Relaxing Place!

5 on July 09, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at The Oliver Inn over 4th of July weekend. My 3rd-floor room was clean and bright and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Breakfast meals were great both mornings. I very much look forward to staying here again.


Super Place in South Bend

4.8 on June 30, 2009

The rooms were lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. The host and hostess were very friendly and welcoming. There were 4 couples in our group and we had places in the house and in the yard where we could gather and just "hang out." The Oliver Inn is highly recommended.


Oliver Inn...A cut above the rest!!

5 on June 26, 2009

Although we only stayed the one night it was our first visit and Tom and Alice are wonderful hosts! Great rooms, food hospitality and convenience to other sites. Thanks!


Weekend in Amiish conutry

4.2 on June 25, 2009

My husband and I recently took a trip to Amish country in Indiana, staying at the Oliver Inn. Tom and Alice were so cordial and went out of their way to make our stay so wonderful. Food, location, service, rooms...all excellent. Would go again.


A wonderful experience!

5 on June 24, 2009

If anyone is seeking a warm, friendly,and beautiful experience, this is the place. The room was exquisite, the inn itself is beautiful appointed, the gardens are lovely, and the food is excellent. The innkeepers take very good care of their guests.


Classic, classy and relaxed

4.4 on June 04, 2009

This house is a gem, and Tom and Alice go out of their way to make sure all guests' needs are met. The breakfasts are wonderful, and we especially enjoyed the genial piano player! We recommend this Inn highly. CLO from NJ


A warm and inviting getaway!

4.8 on May 19, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Oliver Inn. Tom and Alice made us feel comfortable and were very personable. The rooms are immaculate (and we're picky!), and the snacks and breakfast were superb. We'll be going back!


Oliver Inn B&B

5 on May 15, 2009

Tom & Alice made our stay soooo pleasant and & were so personable - taking care of every detail. Excellent in every way...


Absolutely wonderful!

5 on April 26, 2009

Peaceful, refreshing surroundings, fantastic breakfast, and hosts even have pleasant and calming personalities, taking time themselves to sit on the swing under the tree and stroll through the yard!


Wonderful Visit to South Bend

4.0 on April 18, 2009

What a delightful stay at the Oliver Innin South Bend. One room was nicer than the other. Extremely comfortable and luxurious stay. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were superb and the candlelight setting with piano playing so pleasant. There is so much to do in South Bend and what a wonderful Inn to stay at while there. We highly recommend it.


Relaxing evening

5 on April 10, 2009

We just went to the Inn for a night getaway from home. We stayed in the Knute Rockne room which was fabulously roomy and had a fun little balcony. Alice and Tom made us feel very welcomed and were very helpful. We had the place to ourselves, so it was fun exploring the house and reading and relaxing in the library. The snacks, tea and coffee in the pantry were a treat as well. We felt very refreshed staying here. The breakfast was wonderful - yummy fruit pancakes. It was a refreshing time and we would love to visit again.


great, friendly B&B

4.8 on April 08, 2009

Tom and Alice are great hosts. The rooms are comfortable and private. You don't hear noise from other rooms. It is relaxing and they try their very best to make you feel at home. The homemade cookies and milk are great when you return at the end of a day. It is our first choice of a place to stay in South Bend.


This place has it all!

5 on April 02, 2009

The Oliver Inn, is not only beautiful, historic and comfortable, it serves the most delicious breakfasts in its charming dining room. Guests are treated to hearty breakfasts homemade by owner and chef Alice and coffee , juice and tea refills are made by co-owner Tom. A beautiful stay provided by beautiful hosts whose gifts of hospitality are evident from the moment a reservation is made! Don't forget the open pantry before you settle in for the night, homemade chocolate chip cookies await all guests!


Wonderful getaway, loved the mansions!!

4.6 on March 30, 2009

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at the Oliver Inn. Our room was wonderful, breakfast was delicious and we especially loved touring the Studebaker Mansion (right next door) and the Oliver Mansion/Copsholum (two blocks down from inn). The three mansions in one special was the perfect getaway for our hectic lives. We also visited the College Football Hall of Fame and the Studebaker Car Museum. My husband loves sports and cars but he rated the Oliver Mansion/Copsholum as the best stop of the weekend--it is amazing don't miss it when you go!


Oliver Inn

3.8 on March 27, 2009

Very personable innkeepers. Home is beautiful. Felt like I went back in time. The only thing I did not like was the playing of religious music in the parlor.


Anniversary getaway

4.4 on March 04, 2009

Wonderfull place to spend a 29th anniversary.Friendly innkeepers and great food. Interesting near by activities. Highest recommendation.


oliver inn

4.0 on February 28, 2009

my wife and I appreciated both the company of the guests and the hosts as well as the the visits to the other historic buildings close by the tippeconoo place and the copsholom house.


Oliver Inn is a Jewel

4.4 on February 26, 2009

Magnificent, immaculate home. Hosts are warm, always available, but non-intrusive. Wonderful stay for travelers, or as a destination inn!


Awesome experience

5 on February 23, 2009

Tom and Alice are very friendly, informative and excellent hosts. We will recommend them to all of our friends and will definitely plan another winter get-away next year. PS thanks for the tips on the Museum and S. House. Very much worth the tours.....The best to the Oliver Inn...Matt and Marcia Eppers, Bristol, IN


Enchanting B&B

5 on December 11, 2008

The Oliver in was outstanding for Service and Performance. Along with Dinner at the Tippacanoe next door, it was a perfect weekend.


Cozy & Charming

3.6 on November 27, 2008

The rooms are charming, as well as the Innkeepers. Great trip to South Bend. I would certainly return to Notre Dame and The Oliver Inn. Many thanks to Tom and Alice.


A great place to stay!

5 on November 24, 2008

I stayed at the Oliver Inn while on business and it was the perfect place to come home to after a long day. They offer a section of pet friendly rooms which was key for me and my golden retriever. Alice is an excellent cook and you will be delighted by breakfast. I also enjoyed Tom and Alice's laid-back company in the evenings. Truly a lovely place to stay. Kate from Chicago


The Oliver Inn

4.6 on November 19, 2008

My husband and I live locally, but wanted a special place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. A friend told us about the Oliver Inn. We had a wonderful time!! The rooms are very clean and so charming. The ambience of the entire place is very restful.


Charming Inn

3.6 on November 18, 2008

Tom and Alice are wonderful hosts. Really enjoyed the time we spent talking with them. This was our first B&B experience and it won't be our last. Nice touch having piano CD and nicely decorated room. Don't be misled by my cleanliness and dining "meeting expectations" and not being higher . . . I have very high expectations in these areas.


cozy and old-fashioned

4.8 on November 01, 2008

Very well situated


Teacher's Convention

5 on October 29, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Oliver Inn. From now on, whenever we are in South Bend for our annual teacher's convention, the Oliver Inn will be the first place I check for a lodging. Very comfortable and welcoming Inn.


Innkeeper from St. Paul reviews the Oliver Inn

5 on October 26, 2008

I was mightily impressed. The vision of the dining room when I first entered blew me away. The bedding was a real treat....ironed and the towels were nice and fluffy. The meal was very good. The innkeepers went out of their way to share ideas with me. Katy Gray, Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast


A Diamond Experience

5 on October 23, 2008

Tom and Alice were excellent hosts. My girlfriend and I felt right at home at the Oliver Inn. The Inn and the grounds around the Inn were beautiful. After we left the Inn, we recieved a phone call from Tom that my girlfriend had left her grandmother's diamond ring in the room. That kind of honesty means more to us than they will ever know. Thank you so much for such a great expierence in South Bend.


Best B&B in Northern Indiana

5 on October 19, 2008

This was my 4th time in 3 years overnighting in South Bend with the last 3 times staying at the Oliver Inn. Unfortunately, I didn't know about them the first time, or it would be my 4th stay. It is now my Inn of choice in South Bend.


A wonderful find close by to Notre Dame!

4.8 on October 10, 2008

The Oliver Inn provides a charming and relaxing environment for anyone- especially parents visiting Notre Dame. This has become our home away from home and the only place we stay in South Bend. Alice's gourmet breakfasts are delicious- I highly recommend her cinammon rolls and stuffed french toast!


A Gem in South Bend

5 on September 23, 2008

What a lovely place to stay! Tom & Alice are super hosts and have restored this mansion to its Victorian Splendor! The 24 hour Butler Pantry is a great value, sure beats the vending machines at the hotel.


A charming getaway

5 on September 22, 2008

I found the Oliver Inn to be a beautiful, serene, and charming place hidden away in South Bend. My stay in the Carriage House was restful, romantic, and the perfect getaway. The breakfasts were delicious and I really enjoyed chatting with both Innkeepers Alice and Tom.


We LOVE the Oliver Inn!

4.8 on September 18, 2008

With beautiful, comfy rooms whose charm is exceeded only by that of the hosts, Tom and Alice, The Oliver Inn is one of our favorite B&Bs ever. We highly recommend this inn.


Great place to stay

3.8 on September 07, 2008

We enjoyed the Inn very much. The room was beautifully decorated, the hosts congenial and the breakfasts were delicious.


Beautiful Place to Stay

4.8 on September 03, 2008

This was a gift to my parents for their 40th wedding anniversary. They stayed in Gertrude's Dressing Room and loved it. They said the room was beautifully decorated and had great views of the grounds. They enjoyed breakfast the next morning and were surprise by the owners knowing the had special food requirements. They very much enjoyed their stay and plan to go back again in the future.


Bridal Shower

5 on August 28, 2008

The Oliver Inn hosted a bridal shower for my best friend's daughter. Alice and Tom were the BEST to work with. Food was great and the Oliver Inn was beautiful! The bride said it was one of the most special days in her life. Everything WELL exceeded our expectations!!! What a great, great Inn! Tom and Alice were WONDERFUL!!!


Oliver Inn South Bend, Indiana

5 on August 25, 2008

A great place to stay, whether visiting South Bend, or traveling east/west, south/north. Very easy accessibility to historical locations related to America's Industrial Revolution, Notre Dame University, and the Midwest's late 1800's/early 1900's Victorian era. Tom & Alice Erlandson's Oliver Inn hospitality is just first rate in all aspects. Stop by for the most cost performanced vacation stay, short or long, and see for yourself!


wonderful experience

5 on August 13, 2008

Great accommodations and experience. The hosts are exceptional as was the room we stayed in. We look forward to our next stay!


Lovely

4.0 on August 07, 2008

What a lovely place, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit as I had never stayed at a bed/breakfast before. It felt like home and I especially enjoyed my coffee on the porch in the morning overlooking the beautiful landscaping. Lovely people!


Great Getaway

4.0 on August 05, 2008

We had a wonderful time. The owners were very nice and accomodating. We would go back again!


Stayed for American Youth on Parade Event

5 on July 30, 2008

Tom and Alice are fabulous inn keepers! They are very personable and interested in the guests, and this definitely shows...they are very hospitable. I love elegant Victorian homes, and the Oliver Inn did not disappoint! The rooms - from the parlor to the bedrooms - are wonderful! Alice is an excellent cook, and the gourmet breakfasts are a treat. Tom and Alice invest in the details - even the bed sheets are ironed! Special Oliver Inn chocolates are presented each night. I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the inn and the availability of a swing, hammock, and lawn chairs in the garden. I recommend this bed and breakfast to others without hesitation. I plan to return next year!


A quiet and comfortable bed and breakfast

4.0 on July 27, 2008

Our stay was a memorable one for our first wedding anniversary. The inn was impressive and in such a quiet neighborhood. The Erlandson's were very gracious hosts.


11th Wedding Anniversary

4.4 on July 26, 2008

We enjoyed our stay and a bonus was having the Tippecanoe next door.


One of my favorite places

4.0 on July 19, 2008

Such gracious hospitality, delicious food and beautiful surroundings make for an unforgettable stay.


Oliver Inn, A Fabulous Experience

5 on July 07, 2008

From beginning to the end our stay at Oliver Inn was a truly delightful experience. The Inn Keepers, Tom and Alice couldn't have been nicer. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious; the accommodations, pleasant and comfortable; the special touches, chocolates on the pillows, snacks in the butler pantry, etc. were above and beyond the expected.


Very impressed

3.4 on June 25, 2008

First time at a B&B, very impressed with the facilities. The interior of this inn was extremely clean and well kept. Extraordinary attention to details, no loose ends. Alice (Innkeeper) very attentive, helpful and hospitable.


peacful and charming

5 on June 09, 2008

We so enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to going again.


Wonderful

4.4 on June 06, 2008

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. We were very impressed and hope to visit again.


Brief, but memorable stay

5 on June 05, 2008

Everything was perfect and exactly what we wanted.


Outstanding bed and breakfast

5 on May 29, 2008

We stayed at the Oliver Inn for our wedding night and were very pleased with our room. Tom and Alice are very hospitable and the mansion is absolutely beautiful!


Home Away From Home

4.0 on May 28, 2008

The house was very nice, and so much better than staying in a boring, run of the mill, sterile looking, dirty/worn hotel room. It was warm and cozy, just like home. I had everything I needed, the owners were very attentive and helpful, and the price was the same or better (depending on where you stay) than a hotel. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.


HOME AWAY FROM HOME

5 on October 18, 2007

The Oliver Inn is a beautiful Inn. The big rooms with fireplaces and the claw foot bath tub made my stay unforgettable. Tom and Alice worked around my schedule for breakfast and took every effort to make sure that I had everything I needed. I recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking for lodging in this area.


A Beautiful Getaway for Two

5 on August 18, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed our two night saty at the Oliver Inn. Tom and Alice were wonderful hosts. Our room was gorgeous and provided a welcome escape to celebrate our anniversary. The breakfasts were wonderful. We enjoyed walking the neighborhood and lounging on the hammock under the trees. We also enjoyed the inn's pantry, eating fresh baked cokkies and enjoying fresh coffee.


Oliver Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $339
  • Reviews (192) 4.7
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5742324545
  • Fax 1-5742889788
  • Toll free 1-8886974466

Visit Website »

View details

Top