Harvey House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
90 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautifully decorated

4.8 on September 02, 2013

In fact, their decorator deserves an award! Staying in such beautiful surroundings makes it easy to relax and enjoy your time away from home. Beth has every creature-comfort you might require, including a vibrating exercise machine that you would likely have to use at your own risk! (By the way, it looks fun. I had never seen anything like it.)


A gem near Chicago!

4.4 on October 04, 2012

If you are visiting Chicago or Oak Park, forget the big hotels and stay at the Harvey House. A wonderful gem tucked away in beautiful Oak Park with great rooms and fabulous service and breakfasts to die for. Nearby scenic neighborhoods and FLW houses and great local restaurants to choose from. The Metra is close enough to get to town and hardly noticeable for sound. Stayed there for several days for the Ryder Cup and enjoyed our visit immensely. We'll be back.


The Wright Stuff, As In Architecture

5 on July 28, 2012

Spouse and I were visiting Frank Lloyd Wright sites and Harvey House was just the right place. On top of location, the facility was great - clean, up-to-date and the owner and daughter provided a great - the best - breakfast and conversation. A terrific place to visit and stay.


Harvey House 6/14/12 to 6/17/12

5 on June 20, 2012

Outstanding facility run by owner. Couldn't ask for better.


Really nice place

4.2 on March 12, 2012

Stayed one night in Golden Chest Suite. Unfortunately didn't get to spend much time actually at the B&B but it was great! Very clean and the service was attentive.


Honeymoon Spectacular

4.8 on January 16, 2012

We had such a great time while we were in Oak Park! This B&B has a great romantic and peaceful environment! The owner was friendly, outgoing and informative! We loved our stay and are hoping that we can go again in the future!


Great place!

4.6 on December 12, 2011

Cozy, beautiful, clean--James Stewart room (and the entire B&B) is highly recommended. 10 minute walk to downtown Oak Park. My wife and I had a great, relaxing afternoon/evening/morning there.


Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on December 01, 2011

My husband and I, recently stayed at the Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, in the Chalet Suite. Everything was great! This was our 2nd visit, and we plan on visiting often.


Our stay in the Jimmy Stewart room

4.6 on November 30, 2011

The room was amazing. Loved the large attached bathroom & the little extra's left for guest use. The food was amazing & owner & employee were very friendly & fun to talk with. What a great & relaxing stay.


Fantastic Night Away from Home

5 on November 17, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at Harvey House, and it was even better than I remembered. The rooms are beautiful, the service is better than you could ask for, and the food is delicious. My partner and I were staying there after getting married and were planning on having an early breakfast to get back in the city so as to see a friend before they had to leave town. But since we got in so late, Beth invited us to have our friend come meet us and offered breakfast for the 3 of us - at no extra charge! It was such a delight to be able to sleep in and relax with a cappucino (or two), and have a leisurely breakfast with our friend, instead of having to scidaddle out of there so quickly. It really made our stay just that much better. I highly recommend Harvey House to anyone who is looking for a night where someone else is fully taking care of you.


Fun in Chi-Town

5 on November 16, 2011

We picked the Harvey House because it is a member of Select Registry and because of location. We wanted to have the B&B experience instead of a bustling downtown hotel. Additionally, we wanted to have the mobility of using our private auto when we wanted to. Did not care to use the "El" for late night returns. The location was awesome. Wish I had a few more days to explore the village. I think the success of accomodations can be partially judged it what does NOT occur. Our experience was fine with no complaints about little things (or big things). As for the second "B", the breakfasts were wonderful and bountiful! We had a great time at The Harvey House.


Best bed we ever slept in!

5 on November 08, 2011

Great B&B, incredibly tasteful, amazing food, fantastic atmosphere


Exceptional Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 30, 2011

Have stayed at many Select Registry B & B's. This one was was truly outstanding!


Harvey House

5 on October 28, 2011

Great breakfast and hospitality. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We plan to go back in the near future.


Amazing Experience

5 on October 26, 2011

This was one of the best experiences I've had at a B&B. No other B&B will be able to compare to the Harvey House. We will DEFINITELY be back. The rooms are incredible, parking is easy and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We couldn't have asked for me.


A gem!

4.6 on October 21, 2011

Great recommendations for dinner! And the property is lovely.


Harvey House Review

4.8 on October 05, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Harvey House for 3 nights. It was a fabulous b&b, we have stayed at many and this was by far the best! The staff was friendly, helpful, and accomodating. The food was delicious and the whole house was very clean. We would stay again and recommend it highly.


Highly recommend you stay here!

5 on October 03, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Deeeelicious breakfast of chocoate chip French toast and amazing homemade granola, and egg bake, and fresh fruit, AND Lemon bars and wine in the evening. Beth is an amazing chef and loves to chat. Was kind enough to leave us a to-go bag of granola when we were leaving for airport earlier than breakfast. Homey and comfortable. More lively than Bishop's Hall (the other nearby B&B we stayed at)–more rooms/guests. Room (Oak Park room)– Huge and comfy. Great shower!


Couldn't have been better!

5 on September 21, 2011

I don't often stay in B&Bs, tending to worry about the chintz factor and being smothered with attention. Harvey House has changed my thinking -- everything was great. We felt pampered but not smothered. Friendly, knowledgeable staff; fabulous food; beautiful, comfortable, and quiet rooms. A great place to stay; we'll be back.


Relaxing!

4.6 on September 20, 2011

Had the privilege of staying here for my birthday! Great experience...absolutely relaxing experience!


Travelers from Traverse City, MI

5 on September 08, 2011

Loved the stay! Well come back again! very clean, friendly and you feel like your at home!


Chicago Architectural Tour

4.6 on September 07, 2011

The Harvey House was a perfect respite during our trip to Chicago. It's location in Oak Park was perfect since we were in town for our teenage daughter to do a school project and public transportation into the city is readily available. The staff was friendly and helpful and the property is lovely.


Awesome 1st Experience

5 on September 06, 2011

This was our first stay at Harvey House and everything about it was fantastic. Very private while still giving a feeling of calm and comfort. The staff was very attentive without being bothersome, and very kind. The food far exceeded our expectations. It was like home away from home, except for everything was nicer!


Wow!

5 on August 31, 2011

Harvey House Bed and Breakfast was fabulous! I can't recommend it highly enough. Great hospitality, great food, great room and great location.


July, 2011 Vacation

4.8 on August 29, 2011

Although in a historic home, Harvey House has been completely renovated and updated with all the modern conveniences, and in a quiet environment. Within easy walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, and transportation. Great breakfasts, and homemade baked goods always available. Beth & her crew were delightful, cheerful, accommodating, and very helpful in planning our excursions, or satisfying other needs. I highly recommend the Jimmy Stewart Suite. Hope to stay here again when visiting Oak Park and Chicago.


Perfect visit to Oak Park!

4.2 on August 09, 2011

Really lovely B & B, great room and amenities - real attention to detail and exceptionally clean which I really appreciate. Delicious breakfasts and very relaxing common space to unwind. Beth and staff are great hosts.


Harvey House

3.6 on August 08, 2011

Warm welcome from innkeeper. Beautifully furnished house. Excellent breakfast. Feel at home.


A special visit to the Harvey House

5 on August 04, 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night, but we were fortunate to stay in the "Jimmy Stewart" room. I cannot say how wonderful this place is. Everyone we dealt with were fantastic. The B&B is absolutely beautiful and in a great location. We took a walk after we arrived and the architecture in the neighborhood is definitely something you will enjoy. Now on to the food.....you will not be disappointed. The food is delicious. We have stayed in several B&B's and this, by far, has been our favorite. Thank you to all of the staff at the Harvey House. We did not want to leave!


Decent and Clean

2.8 on August 02, 2011

Decent place in a nice neighborhood. Owner likes to talk... a lot... about single subjects relating to themselves. Pleasant and kind though, just hard to build a rapport. Rooms have in-window A/C. Breakfast was tasty enough, but was below average for pretty much all B&Bs we've stayed at previous.


40th birthday weekend

5 on August 01, 2011

Our first time in a B&B. It was perfect!


Harvey House Bed and Breakfast July 2011

4.4 on July 25, 2011

This is an excellent bed and breakfast. The rooms are nice and exceptionally clean. The breakfast is wonderful especially for those who like to start the day with a good breakfast of more than cereal and coffee. The staff and owner are always courteous and helpful. The location is perfect if you would like to take the L downtown or visit the attractions in Oak Park.


Outstanding

5 on July 20, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay while visiting friends or touring Chicago. It is a short walk from the Ridgeland L stop and is in a very safe area. The service is unbeatable. The breakfast will be like none you've ever had before. My fiance and I have already decided that anytime we go to Chicago we have to stay at the Harvey House.


Excellent Stay!

4.0 on July 05, 2011

We were warmly greeted by Beth, the owner. The house is immaculate and beautiful, and we felt completely at home. Our room was no exception to this rule: clean, looks just like the website, and comfortable. Nice robes, toiletries, and furnishings. The breakfast was superb-an oven-pancake for hubby, and a special gluten-free gourmet spinach and egg dish for me. We definitely will be back!


Ideal stay before the big day!

5 on June 25, 2011

I stayed overnight in the Jimmy Stewart and Golden Chest rooms with my bridesmaids the night before my wedding in Oak Park. The rooms were so comfortable, every detail so thoughtful, and Beth could not have been more hospitable. The rooms were spacious and bright for dressing and primping. Beautiful spaces for pre-wedding photos of your attire and accessories for the special day. In the morning, Beth provided coffee, fantastic pastries, fruit salad, and prepared wonderful eggs with fontina and spinach and bacon. Even this very excited bride ate it all down! Everything was perfect and I stayed the next night with my new husband as well. Highly recommend a visit!


Gourmet breakfast and beautiful home!

5 on June 23, 2011

The time that has been put into this B&B is unbelievable! A true masterpiece in the B&B world! Top notch! The breakfast is hot, fresh, made to order. The owner, Beth, takes such pride in the home that she has designed for her guests. From the bunny knickknacks to the most luxurious sheets made, this is the perfect place to get away!


We had a fantastic first anniversary

5 on June 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much that we hope to make this our anniversary tradition. And the staff was awesome. Thank you so much for a wonderful time!


Review for The Harvey House

3.6 on June 23, 2011

My husband and I were thrilled to stay the Harvey House, and,in addition to the beautiful room and tasty food, really appreciated the ability to stay in the Common's room and read, etc after we checked our of our room. We also greatly enjoyed the conversations we were able to have with Beth and LynnAnn. It was a lovely stay, and we hope to come back!


What a find

5 on June 21, 2011

This is a first class place to stay. 2 blocks away from the Green Line into Chicago (takes about 25 minutes to the Loop) Rooms are immaculate, Beth Harvey is not only a great innkeeper but a fantastic cook and the breakfasts were amazing. A real home from home


Amazing Place to Stay in Chicago Area

5 on June 20, 2011

The bikes were fantastic, the area was amazing. I would recommend a stay here to anyone who traveling to Chicago.


wonderfully relaxing honeymoon!

5 on June 17, 2011

My new husband and I stayed at the Harvey House for a few nights during our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The breakfasts each morning were divine and a great way to prepare for a fun day of exploring oak park! The weather couldn't have been more perfect for our stay, and we loved coming home to a quiet and peaceful home at the end of each day. The whole house is decorated beautifully with plenty of space to relax, both in personal rooms and in common areas. If you're looking for a chicago adventure but want to avoid the noise and business of downtown, you'll want to take this detour out to oak park!


Wonderfully adorable

4.8 on June 17, 2011

Thanks for helping me make my 30th Bday so special - and the breakfast was AMAZING! Absolutely wonderful stay and we will definitely be back :)


Harvey House

3.6 on June 16, 2011

Beautifully renovated home with all the luxuries of a select registry bed and breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Many nice restaurants and shops nearby as well as historic sites.


Home from home

4.6 on June 12, 2011

We could not have been made more welcome by the Innkeeper to her home and every whim was catered for. An exceptional experience.


Special place to stay!

5 on June 12, 2011

This was a first time visit and we would defiantely go back. The house is beautiful and Beth and staff are wonderful. A gem!!


Great Local Getaway!!!!

4.4 on June 01, 2011

This was a gift to for me for Mother's Day. A two-night local getaway. I am from Chicago and I felt like I was away on vacation. Beth's home is so beautiful and cozy, I didn't want to leave. Actually, I only left to grab a bite and get a mani-pedi. Otherwise, I enjoyed relaxing, reading, bathing, chatting with the owner, and of course enjoying the delicious baked goods prepared by Beth. The best part was breakfast. Delicious, big, gourmet, whatever your heart desires. Loved it! I stayed in the "Chalet" suite. Comfortable bed and down leather sofa. The only downside was the train, but Beth can't move that. It gave it a an urban appeal. A must visit for locals and out-of-towners.


Very relaxing!

4.8 on May 29, 2011

The Jimmy Stewart suite was awesome & the breakfasts were delicious - which they went out of their way to prepare gluten free especially for us.


11th yr anniversary

5 on May 15, 2011

Our stay started with a great inviting welcome by Beth. She was very helpful with what we wanted to know about Oak Park. The weekend was perfect for walking around the quaint town of Oak Park, which we did much of, and enjoyed it very much. For dinner Beth recommended Maya del sol, which is within walking distance, but she suggested the free limo ride, which was great. The Sangria was awesome! My salmon was also very good! Highly recommended! My husband and I will most likely make this a annual occasion. We both loved our room, the Chalet, which was remodeled with a nice romantic touch. Thank you Beth for a memorable stay.


Elegant and homey

4.6 on May 08, 2011

A beautiful home, with lovely furnishings, and a fantastic breakfast.


Makes Oak Park just "WRIGHT"

4.8 on May 07, 2011

The Harvey House is a real jewel. The location is perfect for walking to the sites in Oak Park and hopping the EL into Chicago. We got to Wrigley field in less than 40 minutes door to door. And two musts for a top Bed & breakfast are comfortable beds (best sheets possible) and a heart tasty breakfast (super). But it was the extras touches like Cocoa at night and wine by the computer. The Harvey House would only be better if Jimmy Stewart actually handed out easter bunny chocolates.


Home away from home...

5 on May 06, 2011

It was my finacee's birthday and I wanted to take her away from the city. This was our first B&B experience and it was PERFECT. The house was beautifully renovated, the inn keeper was extremely responsive, honest and friendly, and her staff efficient and caring. Although we only stayed for a night, it really felt as if we had rested well and enjoyed our time in Oak Park. I recommend this b&b to anyone who is visiting Chicago or just needs to get away from it all for a while. FYI... The breakfast was PHENOMENAL! I have already recommended it to all my friends and now I am recommending it to you!


great room, meals, host

4.6 on May 04, 2011

I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs and this was one of the best. The owner is a great cook; beautiful home in nice setting; friendly staff. It felt like home, only better!


perfect stay

5 on April 23, 2011

Just returned from a perfect stay. Hosts were constantly seeking to meet our needs and they more than did so. It was Passover and we chose not to partake of their tempting popovers and pancakes- We were thrilled when we were offered a made from scratch pepper and sweet potato omelet Beth and her partner host were intent on being the perfect host. The food was wonderful and the room (the Jimmy stewart) was a wonderland with the most comfortable 4 poster bed; a jetted tub and towel warmer and the cushiest robe. In the AM we sat by the fire, listened to beautiful music and accessed the internet to our hearts content. We will so be back!


A Haven in Oak Park

4.6 on April 20, 2011

We discovered you don't have to go a long way to find a peaceful retreat... From the warm and friendly service to the impeccably designed rooms, it was a wonderful experience. It is centrally located near the train, shops and restaurants...but there's no need to go out for breakfast as Beth and her staff create a classic B&B delicious and filling breakfast.


Harvey House is a winner!

5 on April 02, 2011

Warm and cozy place to stay. The rooms are beautiful, the beds super comfy and the common areas are lovely. A quick walk to wonderful restaurants, with good recommendations from the staff. Great breakfast, but leave a little extra time.


Harvey House stay

4.8 on April 02, 2011

Excellent clean room and a great breakfast. Also great location for anyone interested in Frank Lloyd Wright!


The perfect overnight getaway.....

5 on March 30, 2011

It was a wonderful overnight stay at the Harvey House. The marble restroom was especially pleasant and the 2 person jacuzzi tub was also inviting. Beth was extremely kind and warm as were the other members of Harvey House. A return is definately in order. Carrie Ann, Plainfield IL


A night to relax and recharge

4.6 on March 29, 2011

I wanted to take my boyfriend, who works very hard 6 days a week, on a little trip to relax and recharge our batteries. My parents stayed at a bed and breakfast for their honeymoon and I figured it would be a nice treat. I found Harvey House through this website and it was amazing. Everything I could have hoped for. Even in the dust of a little construction the house and rooms were gorgeous and Beth was a wonderful hostess. The crowning glory of our stay though was the amazing breakfast that Beth and her daughter made for us. I will absolutely go visit them again.


Great anniversary stay at Harvey House

4.6 on March 14, 2011

It was cold outside, but spa tub and fireplace warmed up our room. Beth was very friendly and outgoing with lots of recommendations on places to visit and dine. Breakfasts were ample and delicious. Highly recommended.


Wonderful stay at Harvey House B&B

5 on March 06, 2011

Beth is great at fixing breakfast any way you want it, even for finicky people like me. The house and room was luxurious in every way. Staying at a Hilton or Hyatt is a letdown in comparison. Thanks a million!


a slice of heaven

5 on March 03, 2011

we are in our 50's celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary. the perfect place to unwind and relax. you feel so at home. everything you need is provided. we stayed in the garden suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi. we loved it! and the gourmet breakfast, absolutely delicious. i have such a picky eater my husband, and he loved it. thank you to the owner for sharing with us her world. we will be back.


Harvey House getaway

5 on March 02, 2011

Great time away for anniversary weekend. Jimmy Stewart room was large and amenities met high expectations. Gourmet breakfast with flexibility to suit to taste, which was helpful. Lots of good walking in downtown Oak Park area and Frank Lloyd Wright sites. Not cheap, but you won't be disappointed with the experience.


Beautiful

4.4 on February 24, 2011

Beautiful great room. Very beautiful, no cheesy decorating here.


A wonderful weekend!

4.8 on February 15, 2011

Everything about The Harvey House was exceptional! The food in the morning was outstanding, the area (Oak Park) was wonderful, the room was comfortable and cozy (Golden Chest) and the service was amazing. The owner of The Harvey House is absolutely amazing and makes you feel right at home as soon as you walk in the door. I will absolutely be back to enjoy another stay here!


Harvey House-heavenly comfort and relaxation

5 on February 02, 2011

Beth, our innkeeper, does a marvelous job of welcoming her guests to her lovely bed and breakfast. She always has an afternoon treat baking, or wine with cheese and crackers to relax in front of the lovely main room fireplace.A relaxing retreat on a cold winter's day! Each room is beautifully decorated, with a fireplace of its own and a luxury bath. Harvey House is conveniently located for our visits to family and friends. We look forward to our next opportunity to spend time with Beth in her lovely home.


Hopefully I'll become a regular

4.8 on January 29, 2011

I stayed here for a couple nights on a recent business trip. My desire was to avoid the "hotel weary" feeling from staying in the same place night after night. The Harvey House was just the right medicine. Warm and inviting, it felt as though I was in a home enjoying my own kitchen and bedroom. Very refreshing feeling waking up in a neighborhood as opposed to a stale hotel again. I'm looking forward to the next visit.


Beautiful, contemporary rooms... perfect weekend getaway

4.2 on January 26, 2011

The Golden Chest room was wonderfully peaceful. Flat screen tv, dvd player, gas fireplace, and serene bathroom. We could not have asked for more. Even the other guests, and of course the owner, added to our stay. Everyone was kind and respectful. We would absolutely stay again!


Harvey House a great location

3.4 on January 18, 2011

Refreshments were abundant and available in the lounge area around the clock. A computer with web access and printer was also available at no charge. A special surprise was the flexible Breakfast time.


amazing getaway

4.0 on January 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted a weekend trip to Chicago, but with a bit of a cozier stay than a hotel. Harvey House was the perfect choice! We decided on 2 nights in order to thoroughly enjoy the experience. Beth was an amazing hostess, provided an incredible breakfast, and was very helpful in suggesting restaurants in the area and things to do! The stay was comfortable and the room and house was homey. I can definitely see us returning for a visit in the future.


Great rooms, great food and service

4.2 on December 23, 2010

The owner and her staff are always very helpful and welcoming. Always enjoy the great rooms and the awesome food.


The hidden jewel

5 on November 25, 2010

This was the perfection that ended our week. As our first foray into the bed and breakfast arena, we could not have been more pleased. Everything was exactly as advertised, and better. We recommended the Harvey House to everyone we know, and are planning a return visit soon.


Wonderful experience

5 on November 17, 2010

My wife and I had never stayed at a B&B before. But since it was so close to where we needed to be, we stayed for two nights at the Harvey House. We were impressed with the lay-out of the common rooms, including the wi-fi so that I could do my morning internet surf while my wife got two extra hours of sleep. The food was outstanding! Anyone who does not eat the pop-over pancakes is missing a big treat. We especially liked the ability to bring over our guests, who we were visiting, for breakfast. Next time we are in the area we will stay at the Harvey House. Jay and Chris


What a gem!

5 on October 31, 2010

It is a delight to stay with someone as professional and enthusiastic as Beth. She and her assistant Lynn Ann make delicious, inventive breakfasts. The Harvey House is beautifully restored, very close to the 'Chicago L', and within walking distance of some excellent Oak Park restaurants. It is a great choice for business or pleasure trips to the near-west Chicago suburbs.


Great getaway

4.0 on October 10, 2010

We stayed in the Jimmy Stewart Suite. Wonderful accommodations. Easy walking distance to restaurants and in a nice neighborhood. Breakfast was very good. Lots of nice extras (wine, cookies, coffee cake).


Last minute find

5 on September 19, 2010

I had to plan a last minute to trip to Chicago for work. And all hotels in a 40 mile radius were booked. I lucked out when I found an opening at the Harvey House. It was a last minute cancellation. I am already making arrangements to go back with my husband for a weekend getaway! The hospitality is unmatched in all of my travels. And the I haven't stopped talking about the food since I got home. Thank you Beth and staff for an amazing visit.


Fell In LOVE

5 on July 18, 2010

I stayed in the Harvey House June of 2009 with my new boyfriend. From making the reservation to saying good-bye our experience was truley adoring. The Harvey House convinced us that there is no reason to stay in hotels any longer. We both Fell In LOVE with Oak Park while riding on European bikes supplied by the inn, we both Fell In LOVE with the relaxing atmosphere the inn suggested in every room, and the breakfast...truely Fell In LOVE with the Harvey House Eggs. The experience and weekend offered by the Harvey House was the begining of us Falling In LOVE.


City Refuge

4.4 on July 13, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and had a blast!! The establishment is very clean and had and amazing breakfast. Plus there was plenty to see around Oak Park and the inn keeper had bikes available to use. We spent the night going to one of the many tasty restaurants and finished by having a few cocktails at one of the local bars. Overall excellent experience!


Best EVER!

5 on February 09, 2010

I have never been to a B & B. I am so glad I chose this one as my first; there is definetly a standard that has to be met from now on! Even better than any hotel I have stayed at. Beth was amazing and so was everything else. It is so nice! The room was amazing, the food was amazing, everything was amazing! I love how large the room was and the private bath was above and beyond what we expected. This is definetly a B & B we will return to soon!


The Best Kept Secret in Chicago

5 on January 31, 2010

We stayed in the luxurious Jimmy Stewart Suite. There is no detail missed, from the moment you arrive. A welcome package was waiting for us with the key to our suite. The suite was marvelously equipped with a cozy fireplace and chaise lounge, and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was also an awesome large flat screen television. We also enjoyed the luxurious bath with the Jacuzzi and walk in shower. The awesome staff fixed us a glorious breakfast the next morning. Also, the kitchen had a help yourself policy, and homemade cookies and breads were left for your taking. Also, coffee, tea, water, wine, was always available. We cannot wait to come back!


A Jewel in Oak Park

5 on December 30, 2008

My daughter and I spent 4 days in Chicago last October. When planning the trip, we knew we wanted to stay at a B & B rather than a hotel. There was one closer to Chicago that she wanted, but it was booked...what a lucky break because then we found the Harvey House! We rented a car to drive in from the airport, but did not plan to use it in the city and the Harvey House was perfect because free off-street parking was available. Due to my bag not making it to the airport with me, we arrived later than planned and Beth was great at directing us to a restaurant that had late hours on Sunday (and we also got to try Chicago pizza!). Oak Park is a terrific distination itself; it is easy to get around and has attractions such as Ernest Hemingway's birthplace and the Frank Lloyd Wright Museum. The Harvey House is just a few blocks from the El station so it was simple to get into the city. We took taxis back at night, an easy alternative. The house itself is an Victorian jewel, beautifully landscaped and decorated. We stayed in the Chalet Room. It was marvelous and had everything we needed, including ingredients for coffee and tea to go with the candy Beth has readily available all over the house. What a treat it was to get in from the city late and find a plate of fresh-baked brownies in the kitchen! And I can't even begin to describe the breakfasts! We have stayed at several B & B's and this is one of the best. If I get to return to Chicago (and I hope I do, it is a fantastic city!) I will definitely stay at the Harvey House...I wouldn't even consider anywhere else.


Our place to stay when in the Chicago area

5 on October 01, 2008

My husband and I travel several times a year to the Chicago area for business. Harvey House is our first choice for our "home away from home" while visiting the area. We love Oak Park, and staying at Harvey House far exceeds the experience we have had at the large downtown hotels in Chicago. Beth and her staff attend to our every need. The suites are beautifully designed and appointed, and so very comfortable. We truly enjoy Beth's breakfasts, delicious warm cookies and breads throughout the day - scrumptious! We will make Harvey House our place to stay when in the Chicago area for future business trips. Thanks and love to all there from Mississippi!


Birthday Celebration

5 on July 16, 2008

My husband and I spend my 46th brithday celebrating at Harvey's House, it was an un forgettable experience, the service was great, the food delicious, the hospiltality tremendous. I look forward to my next visit.


A most enjoyable stay

5 on July 15, 2008

My daughter and I loved staying at the Harvey House B&B. Besides the great service and lovely room, it was only 2 blocks from the train to downtown Chicago. It is also situated in a beautiful neighborhood, not far from the Frank Lloyd Wright houses. We definitely plan on staying there again.


The most cozy place.

5 on March 29, 2008

My husband & I were looking for a place to spend our anniversary together. Someplace different than your usual hotel. I searched on the internet & found the Harvey House. We have stayed at a B&B before but none like this one. Everything was exceptionally great. It was so peaceful & quiet. Beth & her cook made us feel like we were at home. Not to mention the food. That was excellent too! Everything in our suite was spotless! We will be going back soon & would recommend this place to all our friends & family!


Great B&B

5 on December 12, 2007

What a great find! The house is beautiful and well appointed. I stayed in the Chalet Suite - the suite was lovely, the bed was unbelievably comfortable with extremely soft sheets. I got a great night's sleep in this terrific B&B. It was easy to get to in the evening via a cab from the city and easy to get a cab pick up in the morning (after making a simple phone call). Highly recommend this place!


You'll look hard to beat this!

4.6 on November 14, 2007

The Harvey House is fantastic in all facets of the business. The innkeepers are gracious,attentive hosts and terrific cooks. The breakfasts are made to order and very accommmodating of the late sleeper. Located right near the "El" it's easy to get to Chicago but close to many fine restaurants in the OP area. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom a dream. Amenities were excellent and plentiful and if you didn't see it you needed only to ask and it was provided. The bed was super comnfortable, linens very fine thread, towels plump and soft, everything one might expect in a luxury inn. Would go back in a minute. This is among the top 10 on our list of over 100 B&Bs where we have stayed. Beth (the owner) knows how to do things right!


Details Are Everything

5 on November 13, 2007

My new husband and I visited in June '07. Harvey House was by far the best! After a day of walking around Oak Park, it was a welcome relief to dip into the jacuzzi tub, and then to relax on the super comfy bed. Our bathroom was awesome with a separate shower, jacuzzi tub - it just made it extra nice. Amenities like thick, plush robes, eye makeup removal pads. I'm telling you, these things mean a lot. I didn't even get to the breakfast! Beth and her staff can cook and bake some really delicious gourmet breakfasts! The coffee and tea were exceptional. We felt totally at ease and welcome during our stay and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.


Spring break 2007

5 on October 25, 2007

My eighteen year old daughter and I stayed at the Harvey House for a spring break shopping trip. I still dream about returning. The room was everything I could ask for and the breakfast was unbelievable. We am planning a Christmas trip and my first choice is the Harvey House. The location is great for the train and we spent a day in Oak Park exploring shops and the works of Frank Loyd Wright. My daughter was disappointed that her spring break cruise was canceled but by the end of the trip she had forgotten the cruise and this was due in part to the staff and owners of Harvey House. The conversation was so friendly I forgot that I had just met the owners.I truly felt I was with family. It is our favorite in Chicago. Thanks for turning disappointment into joy.


Home away from Home

5 on October 24, 2007

I have stayed at the Harvey House twice now, and both times were equally as wonderful. The accommodations are beautiful as well as extremely comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to meet your wants and needs. The inn is about a block away from a train station, so getting into Chicago is a breeze. (If a taxi is more towards your liking, it is about $25 to the city, including tip). You are within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Every morning a gourmet breakfast is prepared for guests, and I have to say, I dream of their waffles--soooo delicious! I highly recommend the Harvey House--I will definitely be staying there again, and again!


A True Pleasure

5 on August 24, 2007

Pictures could never capture how beautiful each room is...nor how delicious the spread at breakfast was. Delightful conversations, enjoyable decor, and overall it exceeded all expectations. Located in one of Chicago's finest suburbs, Oak Park, it has everything you need, without being too far from downtown...plus some of the best achitectural structures, including the Harvey House...in the area. It is a true gem for those interested in a pleasent stay.


Best B&B I Have Stayed At!!!!!

5 on August 15, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Harvery House, in the "Jimmy" room and we couldn't have been happier with our room, service, breakfast and overall feel of this place. A wonderful experience for sure. I will definately be staying with Beth again at the Harvey House. I highly recommend this place to anybody looking to stay in the greater Chicago area. Beth does her best to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. I look forward to my next visit!!!


Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $310
  • Reviews (90) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7088486810
  • Mobile 1-7089557254

Visit Website »

View details

Top