Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

A great addiction

5 on June 25, 2014

From our first visit several years ago, we've been back at least five times. You won't find a better place to stay in Galena, or Illinois for that matter, that is as wonderful and romantic as the Inn at Irish Hollow! The cottages are beautifully decorated, making you not want to leave, but you must, in order to enjoy the lovely grounds and incredible food that awaits you in the main house. We were there in January, and happily only left our cottage to stroll thru the snow for breakfast, then back to our cottage for a relaxing day in front of the fire. Back again in March (staying at a different cottage, equally as enchanting), and we've booked our next stay for October. No doubt, we're addicted!! The food is some of the best we've ever experienced, and always something surprising. The innkeeper, Matthew, really knows how to take care of his guests, and you want for nothing. This is most definitely worth the price!!


Decadent and yet cozy establishment

4.8 on August 10, 2013

We enjoyed the luxuries of the private cottage and the extremely unique and delightful breakfasts that were brought to our door. The seven course meal was fantastic and my bf said he's never eaten such good food as he did this weekend. The staff were beyond friendly and welcoming. This weekend was not enough-will definitely be going back!


A Most Relaxing & Fulfilling B&B

5 on May 21, 2013

You have to give Irish Hollow a try. You will then be looking to book your next visit. It is that good. The Inn Rooms are wonderful. This year we stayed in a cottage. I now will be booking their cottages from here on as it is a more full experience. The cottages smell wonderful and are decorated in a way that will make you want to take photos of each room as I did. The firplace and the screened in porch to retreat to had us spending more time at the Inn than we originally planned - with no regrets at all. Matthew is an amazing host and makes sure you are well taken care of. The entire staff is of the finest in Hospitality services. Nothing unprofessional here and they love what they do. My wife & I now have an annual tradition here at Irish Hollow. Anthony & Ann


Anniversary Getaway

5 on May 05, 2013

For our 26th anniversay this year we decided to go to Galena. I found The Inn at Irish Hollow on the internet and we made our reservations. What a fabulous time we had. From the time we arrived Matthew was the best host. All of the staff want to do all they can to make your visit exceptional. The cottage we had was beautiful and cozy and the food was fabulous. We were so spoiled we hated to have to leave. We will go back for sure.


Perfect Anniversary Getaway Weekend

5 on August 25, 2012

My hubby and I were looking to do something fun and different for our 18th anniversary on August 19th. We decided to go with a B&B , and since we both love Galena, I found Irish Hollow thanks to Google and boy am I glad I did. We were amazed beyond words when we got there, it was so much off the beaten path and the setting looks like something out of a picture postcard, the weather was perfect, the inn was perfect, our room was cozy and done beautifully, the champagne, the flowers, the chocolates, the breakfast every morning, the 7 course dinner, it was just the most superlative of experiences. We stayed at The Shopkeeper's Suite in the Inn, it was so "old timey" and beautiful. I'm actually torn if we will take this same room if available for our next visit or a cottage. We got some hiking done and even had Molly, the inn's cat come along during our hikes, it was so cute how she kept step with us all the way. The couple's massage was one of the most relaxing massages I have had and I am no stranger to massages. Matthew & Tony were so helpful in answering all our questions , and there was absolutely no issue with adapting the food to my hubby's dietary habits ( he is a vegetarian ). This has to be one of the nicest anniversaries we have had so much so that we will be going back in November and probably many many times after that.


Another world...paradise

5 on June 26, 2012

The Inn at Irish Hollow has to be the best experience we have ever had at a B & B. The service was outstanding. Matthew was very attentive and welcoming. Our room far exceeded our expectations with a beautiful fireplace, whirlpool tub, sitting area, and extremely comfortable bed; the owners provided for every need-- and then some. The food was completely amazing. We enjoyed the beautiful, peaceful atmosphere and look forward to our next visit!


Best B&B!

5 on June 18, 2012

We truly felt as though we had landed in Paradise when we stayed at the Inn at Irish Hollow. We have stayed at many B&Bs through the years, but the Inn was the best of all...hands down. Our dinner and breakfasts were truly memorable. We enjoyed playing the Steinway grand, sipping wine on the porch, and walking the trails. Matthew is a gem! We offered to adopt him, but he insisted his place was at the Hollow...sigh.


Wonderful Birthday Get-a-way

4.2 on April 03, 2012

My husband and I drove 7 hours to stay at this oasis in the middle of farmland! This inn was recommeded to me by my sister. She said we would enjoy it and she was right! Matthew and his staff are absolutely fabulous! The food was amazing, the attention to deail in everyaspect was obvious. The massages that we got were rated number one by my husband. We will be back to try a cottage and will be recommending Irish Hollow to our friends and family. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful weekend!


Always a great stay

4.4 on March 17, 2012

We have stayed at Irish Hollow in one of the cottages many times over the last 6 years. It is always a lovely experience. The cottages are all charming and great for a couple. There is no television! What really brings us back is the grounds. The hillside acres behind the cottages are fun to explore. The old railroad right of way is great for a less strenuous walk. Our dog would love these grounds as well but no dogs are allowed. After eating the breakfast or the dinner walking is not possible. There is always too much to eat. If possible put something aside and save it for later. Our only comment about breakfast is that we have had many of them but there seems to be only 2-3 versions. For us this is an expensive place to stay but we miss it if we haven't been here for awhile.


Just what we needed

5 on January 23, 2012

Loved it all -- the cottage, the grounds, the food, the massages. Stayed 4 nights ... wish it was longer. The staff are gracious and welcoming.


romantic, calm, luxuriously rustic

5 on October 11, 2011

Absolute divine place to stay. The qourmet breakfasts are out of this world as is the 7 course meal. The innkeepers care very much about their patrons. A must for anyone who likes to be spoiled.


Perfect escape

4.6 on September 23, 2011

It was a wonderful trip, and we will be back. The cottage was comfortable and the food was the best I've ever had. We did not want to leave.


The only bed and breakfast you will ever need

5 on July 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Inn at Irish Hollow 7 times and have stayed in all of the cottages. It is the only bed and breakfast that we go to. I am pretty sure that any others would be a step down. Everything is perfect and the food is amazing. All of the cottages are very nice and my wife and I enjoy getting away from the kids in our own private cottage. The rural setting is tranquil and we have hiked on the grounds every time we have been there. It is a wonderful overall experience.


A luxurious getaway in a pastoral setting

4.6 on July 18, 2011

We chose the Olde Orchard cottage and it truly did exceed our expectations. The furnishings were unique and the overall decor just exquisite. The attention to detail was evident immediately upon entering the cottage -- from the lighting, to the music, to the champagne and chocolates. Our two country breakfasts and 7-course candlelit dinner were a gourmet delight. Matthew made our stay very comfortable with the warm and inviting amenities and outstanding service. We can't wait to return and experience another visit in the winter.


So Very Comfortable in Every Way

4.4 on June 23, 2011

We stayed one night midweek and could not have been more pleased. As I told one of the owners when we left, it felt like everything was prioritized for comfort and then the other elements--"elegant," "delicious," and "rustic" spring to mind, got layered on. Entirely professional while completely warm and human--that's a tricky balance and it's one these folks pull off. I doubt that it really is easy, but they make it look easy.


Beautiful setting and impeccable attention to detail

5 on June 06, 2011

I can't believe this inn is just 3 hours from Chicago. In some ways, it feels like you stepped into another time - a time where details and unhurried quality and charm mattered. You have great access to Galena and hiking and biking, but yet the inn feels very remote and quiet and peaceful. I can't recommend it enough.


1st Class Romance

4.8 on May 26, 2011

This is an incredible and unforgetable escape from the usual. The scenery, rooms, hospitality and food is top-notch! We've stayed at many high quality B&Bs across the country, but this one is by far the best. Be sure to have dinner at the inn, as the 7 course meal with wine is an experience not to be missed! After that dinner, you'll be sure you'll never eat again, that is until you sit down for breakfast and see what delights Matthew has prepared for breakfast. The decor of the inn is elegant & charming, yet not overly fussy. The grounds are beautiful & the scenic vistas are not easily forgotten. Can't wait to return in October for our anniversary! Springtime at the inn is beautiful, and autumn is sure to be outstanding as well.


The Best.

5 on May 09, 2011

My friend and I just return from our two day stay. The Inn is beautiful, clean, and full of antinques. The innkeeper, Matthew, could not do enugh to make our stay wonderful. He was generous with his time, information, and consideration. It is clearly the best Inn I have stayed in in the last many years. Cannot wait to go back.


Enchanting

5 on November 13, 2010

My husband and I visited Galena for the first time this October. It was love at first site!! I have traveled many places around the world,working for a commercial airline, and never have seen anything like this before. The food, the innkeepers, the cottage, the kindness was beyond anything I ever could have imagined! We will be back to this GEM! Thank You


Wow

5 on October 27, 2010

My husband and I were originally supposed to go to galena 2 weeks earlier then we actually went and originally we were booked at the Goldmoor Inn, well I can't believe I'm saying this but thank God I got pneumonia or we'd never have stayed at the wonderful Inn at Irish Hollow. We stayed in their newest cottage and it was bliss. The food - unbelievable , the goodies (chilled champagne and delectable chocolates) where so thoughtful and delicious. The cottage was beautiful and luxurious. Matthew, one of the Innkeepers, could not have been more thoughtful; on our last morning at the Inn, we decided to sleep in and forego the outstanding 3 course breakfast (I know, stupid idea). Just as we were about to leave our cottage for the drive back to Chicago, Matthew came running up the path with a picnic basket filled with the breakfast we'd missed, pumpkin cranberry muffins, bananas foster oatmeal and the best breakfast quesadillas I've ever tasted in my life! There was also a thermos filled with rich, piping hot coffee, cream, fresh sqeezed orange juice and bottled water. YUM! We are hooked and plan to go back in May 2011. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish.


Heart & Soul

5 on October 18, 2010

Most impressive about the irish Hollow is the total investment of heart and soul into this B&B. Loving care is showered upon guests - not in a pandering sort of way - but in a way that suggests they are interested in your relaxation and comfort as a primary goal. And...don't wear tight clothing...the food is fantastic.


Amazing B&B

5 on August 30, 2010

The Inn at Irish Hollow is amazing. The private cottages are beautiful and have every luxury/amenity you could ask for. The food is absolutely incredible. Words alone can not describe the food. This is an Inn you should definitely experience. We have gone to the Inn twice and both times it exceeded our expectations. The Innkeepers are friendly, professional and very helpful with suggestions.


Peaceful and beautiful

4.4 on August 30, 2010

I have stayed at the Inn on two occasions in two different cottages and I have to say the place is amazing. I am typically not a fan of "review" pages b/c I think a lot of reviews are written by the business owners themselves or by people who are just looking to slam the business. However, I have to say that the execellent reviews written here are the real deal. A place that goes to lengths they do (particularly Matt -- the InnKeeper) deserves to be recognized for what few places can acheive -- near perfection.


Fabulous, unforgettable visit

4.4 on April 10, 2010

The Inn at Irish Hollow is a hidden gem outside of Galena. It is not inexpensive, for sure, but the inn rooms are lovely and the cottages are extraordinary, romantic and well appointed. A perfect place for our wedding anniversary, or any kind of romantic getaway - with, as promised, no tv's and no phones, but (to our delight) a CD player playing romantic melodies even as we arrived in our cottage, and a bundle of firewood ready for the fireplace. The innkeepers are warm and gregarious and seem to be dedicated to every detail for every guest, every day. From the 3-4 course breakfast and 7 course dinners - which are TRULY gourmet (marveling anything in Chicago) - to the surprise treats in the room, to the chocolates and homemade jams and butters available in the store, you certainly will not go hungry. They also sell lovely, natural products on site and decorate lavishly for each season (we were there at Easter time). We also enjoyed the acres of trails that are a part of the property on Sunday after breakfast; a lovely end to our stay. The only VERY small suggestions I would have are (1) include more "if you forgot" products in the cottages (toothpaste, Qtips, cotton balls, etc.) and (2) create a cookbook! We can't wait to visit again!


Our honeymoon

5 on March 24, 2010

My husband and I visited Irish Hollow on our honeymoon during September of 2008. We had such an amazing time that we have referred many of our friends and even our parents to go for a visit. You will not be disappointed in anything. Each little detail - and believe me there is so much attention paid to detail - from the cabins and the little treats left for you when you've gone out, to the bathrooms with exquisite bath salts and soaps. The country breakfasts are incredible with fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit with daily baked goods and a delicious main course. The candlelight dinner is amazing as well. We had 7 courses and our own bottle of wine that accompanied the meal perfectly. We are currently trying to plan our next trip, we miss it so much! Again, plan a trip for you and your loved one. You will NOT be disappointed!


Perfect Escape!

5 on March 23, 2010

My husband and I just celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Irish Hollow, and it was above and beyond anything I could have dreamed of! I can not wait to go back for another relaxing weekend someday. The food was great, the cottage decor was seriously opulent, and I could not help but feel like royalty all weekend long.


Delectable Country Retreat

5 on March 19, 2010

What an extraordinary place to stay! A true retreat cocooned just outside of Galena. My husband and I have stayed in the Inn and returned this year to experience one of the Cottages. We were so impressed and pleased; we are already planning our next visit. The owners of the Inn at Irish Hollow really outdo themselves on a daily basis. We have stayed at other B & B’s before, but this by far outshines them all. We were blown away not only by how beautiful the Inn and our cottage was, but also by the little surprises and attention to detail that really make The Inn at Irish Hollow a memorable place to stay and experience. Staying in a cottage (highly recommended) we were enveloped in this gorgeously cozy atmosphere content to enjoy the feeling of comfort that wrapped around us during our stay. The Innkeepers are absolutely delightful, the décor stunning, and the food…the food! Scrumptious!! They have anticipated any type of retreat, vacation or experience a guest desires. Whether one chooses a romantic get-away or one filled with activity, Irish Hollow has it all.


Heavenly Retreat

5 on March 18, 2010

From the minute you walk in the door, you are treated with heartfelt care and rustic luxury. The food alone is a reason to go to the Inn for a weekend. The three course breakfasts are the best I have had anywhere in the world and you can tell that everything is made from scratch using the best possible ingredients. The bacon twirls alone have me coming back! And, then the rooms are so comfortable and well appointed that you don't want to leave them except for an expert massage from Tim or Bill! And, the grounds turn a walk into a romantic novel. The whole experience is like a dream!~


A taste of paradise...

5 on March 17, 2010

How could I put into words what can only be perceived by means of our senses? It was a chilly, snowy winter day. On arrival, I was welcomed by the warmth of a unique fireplace and a tempting tray of home-made chocolates. What my eyes could see was simply awe-inspiring: refined taste in decoration matched with the most luxurious fabrics and the boldest designs which can only be delivered by the expert hand of such a special person as Bill is. Intelligently-thought out rooms, which are carefully-planned for the delight of the fortunate guests who stay at the inn, are the contribution of another artist, Tony. The mouth-watering meals the place offers are a joy both to the taste-buds and the eyes, thanks to the skill and personal touch of Matthew. On the whole, staying at the Inn at Irish Hollow is one of those experiences you will always treasure in your heart as one of the most unforgettable treats you could ever give yourself or get from someone who truly cares about you and is genereous enough to share a piece of heaven with you.


We will return again and again!

5 on March 17, 2010

The Inn at Irish Hollow is our favorite destination point to visit any time of year. We thoroughly enjoy each of the elegant accommodations and love to change around to experience each one. The atmosphere is welcoming and we have options to spend our time in a variety of ways. We return consistently because the value we receive far surpasses our investment and we can count on great service and fantastic elements which go beyond our expectations. The meals are exquisite and the attention to detail is impressive. The location is a gem in our lovely countryside and the staff treasures it and passes along their passions in a friendly, professional way. I know we will continue to stay at the Inn at Irish Hollow for many years to come.


A Wonderful Escape

5 on March 16, 2010

Our stay exceeded our expectations. The food was outstanding, the room wonderful and the service fabulous. Being just a few short hours away from the hustle of Chicago, it was a restful and relaxing experience for us and we will be returning.


A once in a lifetime bed and breakfast experience

5 on March 16, 2010

Spending time at Irish Hollow is an experience that you can't help but want to share with others. From the idyllic setting to the beautiful interior design of each room to the delectable food to the incredible service and hospitality, Irish Hollow is the best of the best! It's a retreat worth investing in. Bill and Tony are exceptional hosts and imbue every aspect of their Inn and Cottages with their sophisticated taste and understanding of what makes a truly lasting experience. Don't miss the incredible dinners in the old county store--candlelight, dinners to die for, and a romantic ambience--or relaxing in the sitting room in front of the fire while listening to music. Be careful or the aroma of fresh baked cookies might have you knocking on the kitchen door. And breakfast, oh my! Could those fresh-baked muffins be yummier? Or the brown sugar bacon baked to perfection? Don't wait another minute. Book your cottage now! Truly the most wonderful getaway I've been to!


I visited the Inn at Irish Hollow from Buenos Aires Argentina.

4.6 on March 16, 2010

I was enthralled with the beauty and the peace and serenity of the countryside. The accommodations are superb and the attention to detail is immaculate! Having WiFi in my gorgeous cottage allowed me to connect to my BA life, while immersing in the tranquility of Irish Hollow. I plan to visit each year, as my little spot in the world to unwind. The meals were outstanding and the service, world class!


An amazing experience

5 on March 05, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Gardner's Cottage and it was truly the nicest, most comfortable, and beautiful accomodations we have ever stayed in. The innkeepers and there staff see to every possible need for a romantic and relaxing stay from the details in the decor, to the cord of wood, firestarters & matches to the candy, champagne and music and finally the amazing, scrumptious breakfast served in our cottage. We couldn't have wanted for another thing other than more time. I would highly recommend this to anyone with an upcoming celebration or just in need of time away. This place was perfect.


Ultimate Retreat in the Woods

5 on March 04, 2010

Our two-day stay in the Olde Orchard Cottage at the Inn at Irish Hollow was an unexpected Christmas gift from our children. They presented us with a gift certificate, and we decided to use it while visiting friends in the Dubuque area. We were not planning on spending much of our time here, but we were so taken with the comfort and the care put into our stay by the fabulous innkeepers, that we now would like to go back and spend a more relaxing vacation at a later date and partake of the full range of amenities that the inn offers. We especially enjoyed the wonderful 3-course breakfasts, the double whirlpool tub, and all of the little touches that made our stay so perfect, such as the thoughtful arrangement of magazines and books to read, the music in the multi-track CD player in the bedroom, and the platter of organic homemade chocolates found upon opening the refrigerator. We arrived back at the cottage on the second night of our stay, surprised to find that the rooms had been tidied up, the lights were left on for our arrival, and a delightful tray of homemade cookies were left sitting on the bed pillow. The beauty of the surrounding woods, the occasional sighting of deer crossing the road, the snow on the branches, the little lights and wreaths on the cottages (remnants from the winter holidays), all warmed our spirits and made us feel so relaxed and serene. It was truly a special couple of days, and we can't wait to return.


New Years 2010 Weekend

5 on January 04, 2010

My wife and I decided to get away for New Years Weekend -2010 and chose The Inn at The Irish Hollow on a recommendation from a friend. We both agreed that this was probably the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at! The room was beautiful. The sitting area was charming. The decorating was gorgeous. The food was absolutely outstanding (I mean 5 stars plus!) The service was great and the actual location of the Inn is just picturesque. We absolutely intend to go back.


Comfy and Cozy

5 on December 31, 2009

Both our visits at the Inn at Irish Hollow exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Stonewood Cottage this winter and the French Maid's Cottage (smallest) over the summer. The cottages are very cozy, perfect for a long weekend just the two of you. We loved that the Cottages had a fireplace and were fully decorated for Christmas. The Cottages have games, puzzles, books, magazines, music, and are working out the wireless internet kinks. No in cottage phone and no TV encourage you to stay in and really appreciate your time alone relaxing OR go out and explore their beautiful grounds. The beds are super comfortable with very nice linens. I am sure we spent an hour each day in the huge Jacuzzi tub. There is a separate shower also. (Just a heads up- the property uses well water.) The food was also outstanding and many of the herbs and produce are grown onsite or locally (organic). You can enjoy the three course breakfast in the adorable dining area at the main inn or snug in your robe in the comfort of your own cottage. (There is plenty of room in the cottage to be comfortable eating in.) If we stayed a full week we surely would have put on 10lbs! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I would go on but then this may get so long no one would read it! Bottom-line: we plan to come over annually from Chicago.


Almost impossible to describe in words excellent

5 on December 30, 2009

I have visited Irish Hollow twice now having stayed once in the Stonewood Cottage and once in the Gardner's Cottage. This place really does leave you virtually without words (spoken or written). The words that most easily come to mind to describe the experience here are; magical, unique, mind-blowing, and wonderful. The inn is set in a very idyllic locale. If you are a fan of hiking, biking, or just taking long walks in the woods, then this is the place for you. I've only visited here in the Winter, and this place is built for the Fall and Winter holiday season. Gorgeous Xmas decorations. The cottages are beautifully appointed and modernized while still offering all of the quaint appeal that you'd expect from a structure that has been there for much much longer. I'm not a good enough food writer to begin to describe how wonderful the food here is. The breakfasts are simply incredible. Fresh, complete, warm even when served to your cottage which is an option. While I understand the appeal of the 150 acres that you can explore around this property, my wife and I spent our entire weekend in the cabin (with the exception of grabbing more firewood and going to the main cottage to have the wonderful 7 course meal described in earlier posts). Visit here if you truly want rest, relaxation and to truly get away from it all.


Sentimental Journey

5 on October 09, 2009

I can't even adequately describe our experience, it was so very calming and beautiful. The staff is very accomodating and pleasant and the food was excellent.It was truly a magical experience.l


Rejuvenated & Relaxed!

5 on December 07, 2008

I've been fortunate enough to experience many great restaurants, but the food at the Inn was out of this world. Dinner was a 2 hour experience, with each course better than the previous. The breakfast was just as good as dinner!!! Accomodations were quaint and comfortable. Despite the cold weather, we took advantage of the hiking paths in the morning!


I'm still thinking about the food!

5 on November 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Station House Cottage which was by far the most romantic place we have been! The room was absolutely gorgeous!! The food was so good, I still think about it! I definately recommend this place if you like to eat!!


Quiet Retreat

5 on August 20, 2008

My wife and I needed to get away. This adults only getaway destination was beyond belief. The staff makes you feel like family, the food is unbelievable and the quiet countryside and quaint cottage was the perfect setting for getting unplugged from the world and reconnected to each other.


Just like heaven

5 on July 16, 2008

This was our first B&B stay and I don't know if we'll ever top it! Our first impression of the Inn was the "General Store", which was very rustic and country. We weren't sure if we had made the right choice. However, the innkeeper greeted us with the fantastic news that since our price had been misquoted, they were upgrading us to their newest and finest cottage! We had originally planned to stay in the Wells Fargo room upstairs. So off we went to the cottage and we both nearly fell over when we entered the most beautifully appointed suite of rooms we have ever seen (except maybe in a magazine!) The cottage decor was exquisite with layer upon layer of tasteful details and amenities. All the lights were glowing, soft classical music was playing and we thought we were in heaven. We both loved the curtained four-poster bed and all the gorgeous satin and brocade linens. It was beyond comfort! I loved the fireplace, all ready to go with a cord of wood, firestarters and matches. The bathroom was beyond luxurious with waterfall style faucets, a shower "room" with 7 or 8 showerheads, and the jacuzzi tub facing see-through fireplace. The innkeepers have literally thought of everything to make your stay as romantic and luxurious as possible. There were even handmade chocolates in the minifridge. That night we enjoyed the candlelight dinner, which was prepared and served by the innkeeper. We were quite impressed with the sophistication of his skills and the beautiful presentation of each plate in the 7 courses. It was like eating in the most expensive restaurant you can imagine, except it was prepared just for us! The next morning, the gourmet breakfast was just as amazing and the innkeeper was right - we could hardly tear ourselves away from the cottage to check out. If all of the cottages compare to ours, you can't go wrong here!


Irish Hollow Inn

4.6 on June 24, 2008

The French Maid's cottage was a serene and beautiful retreat. The staff was outstanding and the meals were out of this world.


country retreat

4.4 on April 29, 2008

Remote country inn whose peaceful setting would be beautiful at any time of year. Delicious and bountiful food with a wonderful innkeeper (Matthew).


Couldn't ask for more!

5 on January 30, 2008

Staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was spectacular and creative. Atmosphere was cozy and romantic.


Diamond In The Rough

5 on November 04, 2007

If you are looking for something like the Hyatt, you are looking at the wrong place! This place has MUCH MUCH MUCH better food and service. The staff went out of their way to make sure my girlfriend's birthday was the most memorable and romantic one she has had. Another GREAT feature this bed & breakfast has to offer is it is off the beaten path, so in the evening the only sounds you hear is the blowing of the wind and rustling of the trees. The best feature left me full and awestruck. The food was not only delicious but also presented beautifully! We plan to return annually. This is by far one of the best places we have ever stayed at :)


Inn at Irish Hollow.

5 on September 28, 2007

This bed and breakfast is outstanding.


Simply perfect!!

5 on August 14, 2007

My mother and I stayed in the "Maid's Cottage" last October. Although an early frost elimated the fall colors, it was a perfect get away. The hospitality was amazing, the food was incredible, the location was peaceful, the accommadations were comfortable. It exceeded our expectations. It is certainly geared towards romance, but mom and I enjoyed it in our own way. Make your reservation early so you can book one of the cottages - you'll be glad you did!


Most romantic place to stay

5 on August 06, 2007

We have stayed many places and this is by far the most romantic, peaceful, relaxing place one could ask for. The service was outstanding, the food was incredible and we can't wait to go back. We booked our next stay the week after we came home.


Amazing!

5 on July 11, 2007

This was by far one of the nicest experiences my boyfriend and I have had together. We will be returning there as soon as we plan our second get away to Galena! This place is not only very romantic but it also captures a peaceful and relaxing quality of the country that anyone can thoroughly enjoy. It was very comfortable, rejuvinating and an overall spiritually uplifting experience. And the innkeepers were simply the best. They we not only very hospitable, but also very kind, enthusiastic and entertaining. You might even get lucky enough to hear Tony's wonderful singing voice. Amazing! If you are looking to get away from just about anything, I would highly recommend this wonderful inn at the bottom of Irish Hollow.


Memorail Day

4.6 on June 05, 2007

This was our first visit to Galena and to the Inn at Irish Hollow and I hope not the last. It was peacefull and just totally relaxing. Just what we needed away from the every day hussel and bussel of the city. We loved our stay and the breakfast was just out of this world. I have sent information to my boss who is looking for the same relaxation.


St. Patrick's Day at Irish Hollow

5 on April 17, 2007

This was our first visit to the Inn at Irish Hollow, but it won't be the last. St. Patrick's Day doesn't offer the best weather, so we did not see the garden in bloom or fall foliage, but the menu had an Irish influence this weekend (Guinness Apple Leek soup, for example) that made it special. We loved our room at the Inn, but next time, we will stay in one of the cottages.


Country Gourmet !!

5 on February 19, 2007

We spent the weekend for the first time at the Inn and were wow'ed at all levels. Come hungry because the truly gourmet food will amaze and delight !! The 3 course breakfasts and the 7 course candlelit dinner were so fantastic -- I couldn't believe I was in the small town of Galena and not a 5 star restaurant. We stayed in the Inn and the large, cozy rooms were romantic and we had a wonderful, relaxing time. The innkeeper's hospitality made us feel warm and comfortable and welcome to come back ! Next time, we will definitely pay the extra to try the remote cabin. This is the best kept secret in the midwest !!


Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages

Details

  • Nightly Rate $225 - $425
  • Reviews (54) 4.9
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8157776000
  • Fax 1-8157776100

Visit Website »

View details

Top