River Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Very Relaxing Stay. Will Return.

4.4 on November 11, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the B&B October 4th thru the 7th of 2013. The Innkeepers- Sue and Bruce were wonderful! This was or first time in this area of Southern Illinois. WOW, it is beautiful. We stayed in the Eagles Nest room. This room is on the 2nd floor. It is situated in the front of the house. You do have a partial view of the Ohio River. Room and private bathroom were spacious enough for two. Bed was very comfortable. Overall condition was fairly good for the age of the home. Areas were clean and tidy. Breakfast was phenomenal. Grounds are spectacular. View outside is very scenic and the Ohio River is just across the street. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to use either of these included amenities. Beach towels are provided. Pool was closed for the season. E’town Restaurant is just across the street floating on the river. Yes, it is a floating restaurant. You have to try the fresh caught river catfish and hush puppies. We actually have another long weekend booked in the middle of November, 2013. We are staying in the Scarlet Room and will let you know how we like this room and stay. The Scarlet Room has a whirlpool tub and private balcony. Happy traveling!


Hidden Gem

5 on May 28, 2013

My gf and I went to this B&B for Memorial Day weekend. From as soon as we arrived, Bruce and Sue made us feel at home. They were welcoming, informative, and helped guide our weekend. While they were willing to talk with us for hours, they were also very respectful of our privacy. The inn provided a delicious breakfast as well. It was a hot, healthy, with plenty of fresh fruit available. Additionally, there was coffee and juice available as well.


Southern Hospitality

5 on April 04, 2013

My 16 year old daughter and I had a very pleasant stay at the Rose River B & B. The hosts were very accommodating. Not only did they upgrade our room at no extra charge (since they had the space), they were even willing to allow me to park my van in their garage while we went hiking! They also made breakfast to cater to my daughter's tastes, and provided a healthy (read: not deep fried!) breakfast. The only negative was that the hide-a-bed mattress sagged and would not be comfortable for someone who needs a firmer mattress. But over-all it was a great place to stay in a quiet and pretty area of Illinois, right on the Ohio river.


river rose

5 on July 28, 2012

very neat place to stay owners were fantastic and very helpful i would stay here again


Weekend Get-Away

4.2 on March 02, 2012

Bruce and Sue were excellant host and the breakfasts were great! The accomadations were excellant and very comfortable.


Our First Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on October 18, 2011

In the past when planning getaways with my wife we were somewhat reluctant to stay at B&Bs. When planning our trip to the Shawnee National Forrest in southern Illinois we came across the River Rose B&B and the wonderful reviews from travelers on their stay there. I must say we were not disappointed one bit. Sue, Bruce and Rosy went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and provided tips on where to eat and what to see in the area. Each breakfast Sue prepared was unique and delicious; we have never had pancakes the way Sue prepared them, at must eat. When in the area, I highly recommend making a trip to Pattis Settlement in Grand Rivers, KY for the best pork chop dinner you will ever have. Thank-You so much Sue, Bruce and Rosy, you will see us again. John and Tamiko


River Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast Review

4.2 on September 15, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend at the River Rose. Sue and Bruce were great accomidating hosts. Sue puts on a fantastic Breakfast. We were there 3 mornings, and the breakfast was great and different each morning. The River Rose is an old mansion that is full of antiques. The ohio river is accross the street from the River Rose. Our favorite thing is to sit on the deck, under the magnolia tree, and watch the barges go by. This place is like something way back in time. This was our second time there. There is a hot tub, and swimming pool that are mighty fine. Bruce and Sue do a lot of little things to make the guests comfortable. Bruce locked up our bicycles in the garage so no one would bother them at night. We recommend this place for a great weekend. Hank and Jan


A Must Visit Location in Southern illinois

5 on April 12, 2011

Awesome stay this past weekend. What a fantastic place and Sue and Bruce are the best!!! We wanted to stay a lot longer. Sue prepared the most wonderful breakfast for us both days, she is a wonderful cook and even shared her baked puff pancake recipe. When I contacted the Inn to make our reservations, I mentioned that our trip was to celebrate my birthday, when we arrived there was a bottle of chilled wine waiting in our room. The rooms are so wonderfully decorated and very comfortable and clean. Sue also put birthday candles on my breakfast, what a great surprise!!! The Inn is so wonderful, like being at home. There is so much to do nearby. I really enjoyed sitting out on the deck under the beautiful magnolia tree looking out over the river, and visiting on the front porch with the owners. I highly recommend checking it out, you will love it!!!!!! We absolutely fell in love.


Great Time

3.6 on September 19, 2009

Found the Inn and Our innkeepers to be wonderful also the people of Elizabeth town were great. They all made you feel that you their best friends that they hadn't seen for a long time.


Too long ago

5 on August 23, 2009

Recently we returned to a bed and breakfast (River Rose Inn) that we had enjoyed tremendously on a previous visit. It was startling to remember that it was 2 years ago. In our minds, we visited frequently, talking about the experience with friends and family. On this most recent adventure we experienced the cozy comfort and tranquiliity from the past. The hospitality and breakfast remained outstanding, with Sue the innkeper 'spoiling' the guys with traditional fare breakfasts while the rest of us choose to be surprised. While there was the familiarity of the inn, the experience was different due to our goal of relaxation rather than sight-seeing this time. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, lounging on the porch or under the magnolia tree and chatting with other visitors and hearing about their experiences. Our decision as we were traveling home were that we needed to return far more frequently to allow us to escape the daily life and enjoy each other as well as friends and nature.


step back in time get away

4.2 on June 23, 2009

wonderful view and the setting was all i expected and more. if you like the river this will be hard to beat. the food was beyond expectation, the host was friendly. and went out of her way to make the visit special (made sure we had champagne for our 43 wedding anniversay celebration). great grounds to walk around, sit and watch the river activity, swim or sit in hot tub. small town, but good food available for lunch and supper in the area. expect an old house, but is a good step back in time. i highly recommend to take the river road tour and spend the night here. Karen C.


Quiet Retreat

5 on May 24, 2009

A Must stay for B&B lovers,Sue was a fantastic Host. Room was very homey,food superb. A very relaxing stay for our 13th anniversary. Bev and Tom of Ill. 5-21-09


Our 1st anniversary

4.6 on January 25, 2009

My wife and I spent our 1st anniversary there in late January and was to cold to spend much time outdoors but we loved our warm cozy room, (Captains Quarters) with the real fireplace and warm jacuzzi with plenty of very hot water on a 15 degrees night. My favorite was the Elvis parlor on the 2nd floor, its a wonderful place to relax and I loved the huge staircase window. Bruce was our host and he is a very down to earth guy and very friendly. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place to get away from it all then this is the place. Its on our list to go back again, it was a "WOW" experience.


Small town charm

4.6 on December 14, 2008

The location is idyllic-- literally steps away from the Ohio River. The innkeepers' pride shows in how well-kept the property is both inside and out. Bruce and Sue were perfect hosts and served a delicious breakfast. I've never seen such a large magnolia tree and was told it is the oldest in Illinois. Higher quality bed linens would let me give this a perfect score.

Innkeeper Response
I know the bed linens needs to be upgraded since I've taken over the B&B...I had some major repairs to deal with first and now I'm able to start in each room to make my guest stay better. Thank you for the review.


Fine Southern Hospitality

5 on October 13, 2008

Bruce & Sue Hemphill far exceeded our expectations! They were exceptionally gracious hosts. The breakfasts were outstanding and the room was lovely. The bed was more comfortable than at home. Beautiful location. Will return soon.


River Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on September 09, 2008

Oustanding and exceeded my expectations.


River Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on August 12, 2008

Great place to stay.Great views of the Ohio River and excellent food.


Relaxing and Romantic

5 on August 04, 2008

This is our second time we've spent our annivesary at the Inn, it's very romantic on the river and sue makes you feel so much at home. It's quiet and enjoyable. We will ba back again!


"We had a great time"

5 on August 04, 2008

We had a great time. The grounds and house are beautiful and they accomodated our 8year old. The outdoor pool and hot tub were a nice touch.


Exceeded Expectations

4.4 on August 01, 2008

The River exceeded our expectations. This turn of the century home was even more attractive than it's photos on the website. The view of the river was beautiful. Very peaceful. The gourmet breakfasts were so artistically presented, I took photos of them! Owners Sue and Bruce are perfect B&B owners!


Outstanding

5 on July 31, 2008

We had a really great stay in the Magnolia Cottage.


Relax!

3.2 on July 29, 2008

We stayed here brfore these current owners and it was stuffy and structured. New owners very friendly and relaxing! Room? disappointed! Extensive water damage on wall should have been disclosed or discounted rate!!

Innkeeper Response
Sorry for your disappointed stay in the Rose Room...yes we did have water damage but we did at the time tell every guest staying in that room the problem we had and was fixing...sorry if we forgot to mention it to you at the time you reserved the room.


River Rose Inn

5 on July 18, 2008

My stay was wonderful. Bruce and Sue (Innkeeper) were great. I met up w 15 girlfriends and it was like going back home to family.


Going Home to the River Rose

4.8 on July 18, 2008

Staying at the River Rose Inn was like going to a family reunion. Sue & Bruce Hemphill's hospitality is unmatched, and the atmosphere is warm, welcoming and relaxing. The food - there are no words to describe how good it is. And Sue won't let you leave without a picture and a big hug!


River Rose Inn

4.8 on July 17, 2008

It was a very relaxing weekend; wonderful view of the Ohio River. The Rose Inn is in a very scenic area.


Excellent "customer service"

4.4 on July 16, 2008

What a beautiful home set right on the river. We certainly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the hospitality we received from Sue & Bruce. We plan to return later this year.


Ohio River Getaway

5 on July 16, 2008

Fantastic short vacation. The Bed & Breakfast was wonderful, a beautiful place with very gracious hosts.


River Rose Inn

3.4 on July 07, 2008

Very welcoming innkeeper. Fabulous cook! Offered help and great information. Perfect in a B&B host!


A haven

5 on June 24, 2008

We had a great stay. Very peaceful. Fabulous view. Loved sitting and relaxing on the porch and looking at the Ohio river. A real getaway. Delicious breakfast.


Fist Timers?? Check this out

4.0 on June 23, 2008

Husbands first time at B&B and it was great!!Inkeepers are very welcoming and accomidating. Grounds are spread out enough that there is plenty of room for privacy yet cozy enough for interaction with other guests!


Wonderful Breakfast!

4.4 on June 19, 2008

River Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast, the best breakfast ever!


outstanding on the river

4.4 on June 18, 2008

we are riding across the U.S. on bikes and found the River Rose to be a welcome respite. great hostess, room,breakfast-enjoyable sitting out watching the river traffic.


our favorite

5 on June 11, 2008

great hosts, best breakfast, lovely surroundings


great

3.6 on June 11, 2008

this was a great place


Hospitality

5 on June 10, 2008

Sue and her husband went out of their way to make our stay the best of our 4 day bike trip. Everything was clean and neat. She even let us park our motorcycles in her garage.


Like family

5 on June 10, 2008

Sue made our whole group feel like we were a member of her family. The rooms were warm and cozy, neat and clean, and food was great.


Exceptional stay

5 on June 07, 2008

The River Rose had everything my husband and I wanted in a B&B and a lot more. I only wish we'd had more time to enjoy the many tucked away corners for relaxation and recreation. A lovely spot...and Sue's fluffy apple pancakes were incredible!


Ideal Weekend.

5 on June 06, 2008

We were greeted at the door and to my surprise the Innkeeper called us by our name. She showed us through the house and grounds. Everthing was beautiful, relaxing and peaceful. Everyone was friendly. We will be back.


excellent innkeeper

5 on June 05, 2008

we were with a large group and had made reservations at both b&b in town. the other had double booked and had no room for use. Sue made sure we all had a clean comfortable place to sleep. she went out of her way for us.


great

4.2 on June 05, 2008

this was a great place to stay at


Fantastic View, Great B&B

5 on September 16, 2007

You won't find a B&B with a better view than this. It overlooks the Ohio River and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy. We were on our honeymoon, so we chose the cottage, which was as cute as can be. Sue was helpful and friendly, and a great cook! I would highly recommend staying here, and we hope to come back very soon.


River Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $140
  • Reviews (41) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6182878811
  • Fax 1-6182878853

Visit Website »

View details

Top