Vrooman Mansion Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Judy's stay

5 on July 14, 2014

This is a lovely old house, the staff is just wonderful. They did everything they could to make my visit enjoyable. I would go back again.


Vrooman Mansion

5 on July 07, 2014

The building itself is a beautiful example of the intersection of opulence and that rustic plains farmhouse feel. The staff was wonderful and served a delicious breakfast of grilled peaches, french toast with an orange brulee, and an orange quiche with sausage and apricot coffee (regular as well). We sat on the window in the Carl Vrooman suite for quite a while at night with the large windows open just talking and taking in the country air and completely lost ourselves. It was overall an excellent stay, I would recommend it, and I plan to revisit again every time we visit friends and family in town!


great stay!

5 on June 16, 2014

Great staff!! They went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic! Our room was beautiful and the food was great!! Plenty of good restaurants nearby.


all round outstanding

5 on June 16, 2014

This place should be in everyones bucket list. The building is wonderfuly presented and the staff provided history abd information on thr house and its past owners. The people have put a lot of thought and time into the fine detail and they make you feel like royality. Great food, great staff, great stay. Thank you. Vic and Sue, Sydney, Australia.


Great place to stay

4.6 on May 26, 2014

Amazing place to stay. My girlfriend and I are avid B n B stayers and I would recommend this place to anyone!


Wonderful escape!

4.8 on May 24, 2014

Wonderful, romantic getaway. The staff was attentive yet have us our privacy. Breakfast was sumptuous! Highly recommend! ¿¿


Best place in Bloomington

5 on April 21, 2014

I have had to travel to Bloomington several times over the last few years and am so glad to have discovered " the mansion." The rooms are beautifully decorated, the service outstanding ( Kate and Brian) and the breakfasts are beyond words.


Great Place

4.8 on April 17, 2014

The service was outstanding. The candlelit breakfast with the player piano provided a lovely atmosphere. The food was amazing. The room was very large and very clean. The home is lovely. The surfaces are hard, so sounds do carry. We enjoyed our stay.


Great Stay at Vrooman Mansion

5 on March 26, 2014

Stayed at the Vrooman Mansion for a "Girls Weekend". We had such a great time! Accomodations and service were great and the breakfast was outstanding! We all agreed that we wanted to come back and bring our spouses the next time!


Fabulous place!

5 on January 19, 2014

Two visits here and both were wonderful. The staff are very accommodating and friendly.


Wonderful experience and at a reasonable rate

5 on January 05, 2014

Wonderful experience and at a reasonable rate


Anniversary adventure

5 on January 05, 2014

The mansion was beautifully decorated for the holidays. We had a wonderful tour of the house as we checked in and an amazing breakfast( enough food for 2 meals) The staff could not have been more friencdly or helpful. We will definitely recomend.


December road trip to the Carolinas

5 on December 19, 2013

We had a delightful stay in the Vrooman Mansion on the first night of our three-day trip. We arrived on a snowy evening in December. Every room was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Even our room had a Christmas tree and decorated fireplace mantel. There was the sound of piano music drifting up from the main floor. The cookies, snacks, and chilled water were a welcome touch. Our breakfast the next morning was all homemade items and very delicious. We were served in the beautiful dining room with an elegant table setting. What an incredible historic home. We would recommend this to anyone who would like a memorable experience. We would love to return some day.


Perfect as always

5 on December 14, 2013

This was not our first stay , and it certainly will not be our last. The carriage house experience was outstanding. Definitely is a great option during the winter months. During the nice weather we will probably be doing the usual, staying in the big house and utilizing the side porch amenities...lol Thanks again Pam and Dana for being great friends and wonderful hosts. And it was a pleasure meeting your new business associates, they seem to fit right into the scheme of things.


Bloomington's Best Kept Secret

5 on July 23, 2012

I had never been to a b&b before, and always had an image of my grandma's house. BOY was I wrong. Here at Vrooman Mansion your every need is catered to. B&B's are more of a pampered luxurious stay, that can be as personalized as you would like them to be. And you also get to "live" in this amazing mansion where each room is different, and the refreshments are free. No fighting with pop/ice machines! To top it off, the most beautiful and delicious breakfasts I have ever seen/had!


best first time experiance

5 on June 27, 2012

Nomally we stay at a motel on our trips from the gulf coast to central Wisconsin but this time we recieved a gift card for a bed and breakfast. The stay was so much more relaxing and enjoyable. It was like we made a friend in the middle of a long journy and we can't wait to see them again.


YUM!

4.4 on April 08, 2011

Fantastic breakfast, funny innkeeper! Lots of history in the house to peruse. My husband and I came down just for one night to get away from the city. (We live in Chicago). I'm not a big cook, so we want to come back for the delish breakfasts alone!!!


Beauty in Bloomington

4.8 on March 08, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Vrooman Mansion for our wedding anniversary. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The mansion is beautiful--especially when it's decorated for Christmas--and we felt like royalty! The breakfast was delicious and lovingly prepared, even though we were the only couple booked that night. The mansion has an interesting history behind it. The original owners were patriots and philanthropists whose memory deserves to be kept alive. Be sure to stay at this fabulous bed-and-breakfast the next time you are in Bloomington, Illinois!


Just blocks away from my old college apartment

4.2 on January 12, 2011

Just blocks away from my old college apartment was a gem of the prairie. The Vrooman Mansion delivered everything the pictures promised -- Victorian elegance, hostoric prominence, a breakfast beyond compare, and a great place to relax for the evening. The Vrooman is not that far from my home, but its elegance is worlds away.


Great B&B

4.0 on January 01, 2011

We stayed for 2 days & had a great weekend get away!..Our room was the Rose Room..we arrived w/ the wine and cheese tray awaiting for us!.The hostess were very accommodating & went out of their way for us..We were able to roam around & experience the mansion for ourselves!Would def. go back w. the rest of the family!!


Vrooman Mansion was an amazing experience

5 on November 21, 2010

For a quick and relatively unplanned getaway after a long week at work, my boyfriend and I took off for Bloomington-Normal for some badly needed R and R. The Vrooman Mansion was recommended by a friend. The staff was amazingly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and pulled out all the stops in making our stay as comfortable, romantic, and relaxing as they could have. From greeting us by name to arranging for massages in our room to a magnificent breakfast in bed to permitting late check-out, the Vrooman staff was top notch. The mansion itself was breathtaking -- filled with history, luxury, and stories. There is no doubt we will be back again and feel lucky this diamond is located just an hour away. We highly recommend this to any others finding themselves anywhere in downstate Illinois or needing a getaway. What a gem!


best breakfast we've ever had

4.8 on September 19, 2010

We selected this inn as a convenient location for our evening drive to Springfield IL. Despite a late arrival we still got the house tour... a museum-quality historic home. Sleeping rooms are not just charming and immaculate, but blessedly quiet with luxurious sheets. We've stayed in many B&Bs across the country and have never had such a gourmet breakfast. J. Greer Glen Ellyn IL


Would highly recommend Vrooman Mansion!

5 on July 04, 2010

Absolutly wonderful time. I can't think of anything negative to say about our stay. The staff was so welcoming and accomidating. Oh, and the breakfast was 5 stars. We will definitely be staying here again. :)


Has potential

3.0 on June 26, 2010

This amazing historic mansion needs a lot of TLC. It is a bit shabby and somewhat dreary. Our room had no lock between it and a common lounge on our floor--just a sign saying "don't enter". A simple hook would have sufficed. The main room door also could not be locked from the outside. I am not particularly alarmist, but the ability to lock one's door seems basic and I noticed the owners requested we always lock the house upon entering and leaving! The breakfast was lovely, though.


We were treated like family!..... Okay, better!

5 on May 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed here which was walking distance from the Brooks & Dunn concert. The mansion is awesome! www.vroomanmansion.com It is a beautiful place to stay and we will be going back on our next trip back to Bloomington. The rooms are very spacious clean and comfortable. The breakfast was 5 star, the staff could not have treated us better. This bed & breakfast is a definite destination spot, you will not be dissapointed.


A gem in the Heartland!

5 on March 31, 2010

We had such a lovely time at the Vrooman Mansion! It is a gracious, beautiful home, steeped in history but up-to-date in amenities. We were welcomed warmly and encouraged to explore the rooms, which are spacious and beautifully decorated with lots of antiques, some original to the Scott-Wrooman family. We can't wait to return!


Vrooman Mansion

4.6 on March 08, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Vrooman Mansion. Great hospitality, wonderful food - interesting history!


great getaway weekend

4.2 on February 28, 2010

Wanted a historic home that was quiet, easy to get to, and luxurious and Vrooman Mansion met all requirements.. Our hosts made our stay warm and welcoming and the food was great. Highly recommend. We also toured the adjacent home they are renovating and the work to date looks outstanding. Looking forward to seeing the finished product.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on January 18, 2010

My husband and I had a great experience staying at the Vrooman Mansion. It was our first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast, and because of our wonderful experience we plan to try more Bed and Breakfasts in the future. The mansion was beautiful and located in a peaceful setting, yet still close to many restaurants and attractions. Our hosts, Pam and Dana, were friendly and full of knowledge about the mansion's history and the Bloomington area. They even left a plate of brownies on our bedside table while we were out for the evening! The rooms were charming and comfortable. The breakfast we enjoyed in the morning was delicious and the service was outstanding! We felt so spoiled after our time at the mansion. Our favorite part was the feeling of being home...not like we were staying at a cold, unfeeling hotel, but rather like staying with family. We look forward to when we can come back to the Vrooman Mansion for another stay!


Vrooman Mansion

4.0 on December 15, 2009

Fabulous mansion, beautifully restored, great service. Attention to every detail met. Breakfast was wonderful.


Superb Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 18, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Vrooman Mansion! Beautiful breathtaking B&B. Breakfast was delicious! Pam, the owner, was very accommodating.


Best B&B We've Visited

4.8 on October 25, 2009

This was by far the best B&B experience we have ever had. The history of the mansion was explained by Pam when we arrived. The rooms are exquisitely restored. The area very charming and the gourmet breakfast unreal. An excellent value! Can't wait to visit again.


No room for improvement!

5 on October 20, 2009

Even though we are rare visitors to B&B we may have to change our future plans. Gourmet breakfast, exquisite linens, comfy beds, all the amenities and a staff beyond accommodating.


Always amazing!

5 on July 26, 2009

We go to this place every year and love it. I adora that the bedrooms match the design of the house and are not just plain walls and cheap decor. They went all out in keeping everything authentic. The food is absolutely amazing and the innkeepers go out of their way to make sure that every little thing is taken care of. I highly recommend this place.


even better than the pictures!

4.8 on February 12, 2009

This restored robber baron's mansion has beautiful public spaces (complete with electronic player piano), comfortable and well-supplied rooms, and excellent cooking!


magnificent!

5 on February 12, 2009

Very impressive place, sumptuous rooms, an American Palace. Best breakfast I've ever had!


Dream Wedding

5 on October 06, 2008

We got married at the Mansion in 2006. It was perfect for a small wedding of 100 or under. They catered our wedding food. Breakfast the next day for overnight guests was included. We stayed one night & our out-of-state guests stayed in a suite. Breakfast was included for those who stayed over, plus additional breakfast guests were welcome for per person cost. It was beautiful and exactly what we were looking for. Lovely historic neighborhood. Famous mansion in the community. Innkeeper and owners were very accommodating, friendly & professional in all aspects of our wedding needs.


Stay here !!!

4.4 on September 15, 2007

This beautiful, restored Victorian mansion is blissfully devoid of teddybears, overwhelming scented candles, and potpouri. It offers a very attentive staff, excellent breakfasts, and spacious, light filled rooms decorated in the period, thankfully with restraint in the accessory department. An excellent departure from the 'big box' on the freeway exit, it has all the ammenities a business person needs including WiFi. Take your laptop out onto one of the deep, spacious, covered porches. Lift your eyes from the screen to enjoy the landscape plantings, vintage trees and quiet neighborhood. Owners, Pam ans Dana, strive to serve AND preserve.


Vrooman Mansion

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $275
  • Reviews (38) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3098288816
  • Fax 1-3098282596
  • Toll free 1-8773466488

Visit Website »

View details

Top