Flagg Farmstead B&B Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

“The perfect "Paradise" getaway!!!”

5 on March 01, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights and they were absolutely PERFECT!!! We have never stayed at a B&B before and were pleasantly impressed! We simply enjoyed the peace and quiet, BEAUTIFUL views & AMAZING breakfast! We loved the pooch such a joy it was to play with Izzy the dog and watch TV while sitting by the fireplace. Mr & Mrs. Polite (Owners) are such wonderful people. I'm a bit of a history nut and loved learning about the house and then the tickets to The Presidential Museum was perfect. The house itself is almost to beautiful to describe you will need to see it for yourselves to appreciate its beauty. It was by far the best place we have EVER stayed at and look forward to our return and a game or two in the addition...hint..hint...lol! Room Tip: The Cornelius Flagg Room was awesome... Loved the bath.. It was super nice to soak in that huge jacuzzi tub! The view was beautiful.. I think we plan on staying in a different room each time.. Look forward to that and that wonderful breakfast!


Weekend stay at Flagg Farmstead

3.4 on August 23, 2011

My friend and I stayed 2 nights at this B&B. The rooms are lovely. We had to change rooms (booked only a week ahead) so stayed one night in the Sarah Flagg room and one night in the Lincoln room. The Sarah Flagg room was the nicer of the two, roomier, but both were very comfortable and pretty. Everything was very, very clean. There is only a tv down in the sitting room, none in the 2 bedrooms we stayed in. I'm sure this is done to keep it quiet, but it would have been nice to know in advance. They served a breakfast each morning at 8:30. The food was good, but it was served on your plate, so if you didn't like something it went to waste. Would have liked to see it served in dishes where you could make your own choices. We had pancakes & bacon one morning, and egg quiche the next, with juice (poured for you/no pitcher left on the table) or coffee (carafes on the table/pour your own.) The innkeepers were polite and accommodating. There were also free tickets to the Lincoln Library & Museum which we used. Wonderful sites to see! There is a small fridge in the kitchen that had sodas and water in it that you could help yourself to. A small fridge in each room would have been nice, there was plenty of room, but it probably would take away from the ambiance of each room. Convenience vs looks, unsure how I feel about that one. Overall I would recommend this B&B to friends and family, and if ever in the Springfield area again would book another stay here.


A delight

5 on August 09, 2011

The house was beautiful, clean, and breakfast was fantastic. (Cornmeal blueberry pancakes were delicious) The owners provided tickets to Lincoln's muesum, along with excellent directions to whereever you wanted to go. We are planning to go back at Xmas and maybe some golf at the Rail next summer.


Fantastic Stay!

5 on April 07, 2011

My recent stay at the Flagg Farmstead was truly relaxing. The Polites serve an awsome breakfast (the guests who like to cook were requesting recipes). French toast with fruit, a perfect omelet, juice choices--all were excellent. Our host drove into town to get me a free ticket to visit the Abraham Lincoln Museum. Doug and Rose Polite could not have been nicer. They made my stay at their absolutely charming home a delight. Check out the light fixtures when you stay there. Sit on the porch and imagine the day when Abe Lincoln would ride past on his horse. What a treasure. I highly recommnend.


A step back to a gentler way of living

5 on March 20, 2011

I stayed with Doug and Rose earlier this month and truly enjoyed my time in their lovely, historic farmhouse. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated with period pieces. The staircase and ground floor gave me the sense that I'd stepped back in time. There's a booklet filled with interesting facts about the history of the home and the area. Breakfast was delicious and served with grace and style. Like all good hosts, Doug and Rose were very relaxed while still making sure our needs were met. Izzie, a rare Rocket Terrier was truly a delight! I'd definately stay again! ~Cathi O.


Nice place to stay

3.0 on October 18, 2010

We enjoyed the three nights we spent in this historic house. Doug and Rose went out of their way to be helpful during our stay. They recommended wonderful places to eat while in the area. They provided us with tickets to the Lincoln Museum. This is a nice place to stay and Doug and Rose very nice inn keepers. I might add that we enjoyed the breakfast they served very much too.


Lincoln would be honored!

5 on April 11, 2010

What a find this B & B is for anyone traveling to the Springfield area. It is literally just down the road from all the historic sites. Guests have the convenience of the city attractions with a quiet escape in the country. My room, The Lincoln, was perfect! The windows are beautiful......it truly is a light-filled retreat. The house and grounds are a delight. Breakfast each morning was special. Rosalie and Doug have the gift....they're natural hosts. Rosalie even made a special trip to the Lincoln Museum so a ticket would be waiting for me after my conference. Next time you're in Spfd., make a point to treat yourself with a stay at Flagg Farmstead!


A Wonderful Experience

5 on January 08, 2010

We were there at Christmas time with snow on the ground and it was snowing when we left. So beautiful with the Christmas tree and a fire in the fireplace. It was a wonderful experience; I didn't want to leave. The house is lovely, the rooms are private and comfortable, the owners make you feel at home and the breakfast is wonderful. We will go back and we live 2,000 miles away! They also include admission to the Lincoln Museum, which should not be missed, and that saves you $20. Staying there is like staying with a close friend in an era gone by.


Charming Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 15, 2009

When it comes to hospitality, friendliness, clean, comfortable, charming accommodations accompanied with a sumptuous breakfast Flagg Farmstead Bed & Breakfast has it all. Our every need was taken care of by Doug and Rose. We had a very enjoyable stay.


Lovely visit

4.6 on October 14, 2009

Spent one evening here and it was a very nice visit. Bed was very comfy and the bathroom was small but very nice. Great whirlpool tub. Breakfast of blueberry pancakes, fruit and fresh granola with coffee and juice was perfect. Hope to have the opportunity to visit again. Dollar value is exceptional!


What an Amazing Stay! A real treat

5 on September 14, 2009

What a treasure! The rooms and grounds are spotless, the breakfast worth the stay in and of itself, and the many ways to have a relaxing time make the Flagg a destination not to miss. Lots of history to this estate, which the hosts have available for reading. The surrounding porch was a great place to enjoy a drink and talk about our travels in such a relaxing way. Gathering in the parlor with the other guests in the evening was a treat for everyone... although we all arrived as strangers. Breakfast was phenominal in a gorgeous dining environment. I have been telling folk to go to the Flagg as a weekend get-away. And the price is a great value. Bathrooms are updated and clean as well. Wonderful stay! Surpassed my--and my husband's-- expectations. Hosts are bright, engaging, accomodating and dedicated.


Flagg Farmstead B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $105 - $155
  • Reviews (11) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Toll free 1-8886113524
Top