Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

Charm and Comfort in Jacksonville IL

5 on September 19, 2012

My 2 friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blessings On State. The sign posted near the door reading "Enter as strangers, leave as friends" certainly applies 100%. Their home is located in the quiet historic district of Jacksonville on a beautiful tree-lined street. We were charmed by the notes of the player grand piano when we entered. Gwenn sat us down in the parlour and went over the basics of the home, while her helpful and friendly young daughter carried our bags up to our rooms. Both rooms available have super comfortable beds (2 of us slept entirely through the night!) and cozy reading areas, with a buffet in the hall stocked with coffee, tea, soda, water, chips and mints. Elegant chandeliers hang in each room. Plenty of options for reading, watching TV or videos are available. Luxurious baths. On to the food! Our first breakfast included a remarkable poached pear, cranberry muffin, mushroom/bacon/cheese frittata, hash browns and asparagus, along with fresh orange juice and coffee. All served by their adorable daughter. The next morning's delight was a belgian waffle decked out with berries, whipped cream, and vanilla ice cream, with real maple syriup and a side of sausage links. We felt so pampered and well taken care of. Their home, along with its comfortable wrap around porch and beautiful gardens, is extremely lovely but not fussy and untouchable. We cannot wait to stay again the next time we visit Jacksonville.


Beautiful Setting!

4.8 on June 28, 2012

The house was beautiful, surrounded by flowers and large trees. I loved sitting on the porch watching robins in the birdbath. Breakfast was lovely. I felt like both an honored guest and part of the family. Gwen was awesome!! She really went the extra mile to be accommodating and hospitable. I highly recommend staying here!!!


Blessings on State

4.0 on February 13, 2012

Great, homey B & B in Jacksonville, IL. Flexible, friendly hosts made us feel welcome and pampered. Special touches included homemade cookies waiting when we arrived, fun tour from Valerie, and amazing fresh breakfast. Treat yourself and stay here for a unique, small-town retreat.


Mother/Daughter Time

4.0 on February 13, 2012

Provided an atmosphere of much-needed beauty, comfort and warmth.


A Perfect Stay

5 on September 22, 2011

We felt like family the minute we walked in the door. Gwenn was extremely friendly and hospitable. She made dinner reservations for us each night and when we entered the restaurants, we were called by name. The food at the B&B was superb - served on china at a window table overlooking a garden. Rooms were very large and comfortable. We've stayed at a lot of B&B's, but this one has got to be the best! We truly hated to leave.


Welcoming, relaxing getaway

4.6 on September 21, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Blessings twice, and will never look anywhere else when we visit Jacksonville. Every detail of the home is lovely, the innkeeper and her family are so genuinely welcoming, and the breakfast is the best anywhere. Blessings is right in the middle of the beautiful historic district. Gwenn has done an amazing job of outfitting the inn, there are little snacks and drinks, comfy chairs, stuff to read. It is a very relaxing place to hang out in between whatever activities took you to Jacksonville.


A Perfect Place to Stay

5 on September 12, 2011

I've stayed here many times and it keeps getting better! My Tranquility Suite is roomy and beautiful. I love the walk-in shower. Love to sit on the porch and read - it's so restful. The new fountains provide a relaxing background. The food is great and the service is wonderful. I'd highly recommend Blessings to anyone who wants a quiet getaway.


Beautiful and comfortable

4.0 on June 13, 2011

We stayed at this Bed & breakfast in early June, 2011 and though the home and the innkeepers were delightful. We prefer to stay in B & B's rather than Hotels and this one was exceptional. Gwenn, Glen and also little Varlerie were freindly and actually went out of their way to make you comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding and the home was very clean and well kept. We stayed in the larger suite and the king bed was comfortable and I can not begin to even tell you how absolutely beautiful and roomy the bathroom is. I highly recommend this B & B. Nancy & Mike from Pa.


Just what we were looking for!

5 on April 08, 2011

Blessings On State exceeded our expectations. This was the perfect stay for our weekend away. The cozy suite and beautiful bathroom (with a large shower and cozy tub), the 24 hour beverage station, fresh baked cookies before bed, the delicious breakfast served at our convenience (I'm still trying to duplicate a recipe) and our hospitable Innkeeper Gwenn, made our first stay at a B&B a time to remember. We hope to be back for another stay in the future. If you plan to be in the area or our just looking for a B&B to stay for a little getaway, Blessings On State is the place!


A blessed time at The Blessings on State

4.8 on January 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Blessings on State! It's a beautiful home on a very quaint street. The quiet area provided a relaxing atmosphere. Gwenn is a WONDERFUL cook--breakfast was SO-O-O good!!! She provided evening snacks and great company. She was very helpful and made reservations for us at a restaurant. She made sure every detail was taken care of. I would highly recommend this place!


A special anniversary

5 on January 06, 2011

Gwenn was the perfect hostess. She gave us a tour of her home and helped us settle into our room. She also helped us locate a local restaurant and find our way around town. The room was finely appointed and the breakfast was delicious.


Had a wonderful time

5 on January 02, 2011

Gwenn, Is a wonderful person and the house is very nicely decorate The house is very big and roomy Fireplace in the master room The house is near Illinois College and School of The Deaf


Fantastic

5 on December 31, 2010

We had a great time, it was a beautiful place and Gwenn was attentive and friendly.


Blessed

4.8 on August 11, 2010

The hospitality and generosity extended to us made a painful grief experience more bearable. Our hostess (Gwenn) is truly called to this vocation.


Great Value in a Vintage Mansion

5 on May 08, 2010

Exceptional service, beautiful decor, and friendly innkeeper. The bed is a dream and breakfasts are a pleasure to behold!


Exceptional B&B

5 on April 18, 2010

Blessings on State is an exceptional B&B. We stayed there recently and found everything to be wonderful. Gwenn and Glenn attend to every detail and made our stay very enjoyable. We entered to music playing on the player grand piano, a beautiful house, and very charming hosts. The room was beautiful, my bath in the claw-foot tub was so relaxing. We were given warm cookies and milk in the evening and an amazing breakfast the next morning. We think we got more than our money's worth. Thanks, Gwenn and Glenn, for making our stay so great. We will definitely be back!


Relaxing and peaceful

4.8 on March 28, 2010

The house is beautiful. Breakfast both mornings were delicious and filling. The rooms were large and comfortable. Great bathtub and shower. Gwen is delightful. We look forward to returning. Jacksonville is a cute little town with lots of historic old homes. Nice neighborhood to walk around.


Short but sweet stay

4.8 on March 15, 2010

Glen and Gwenn were truly wonderful hosts, during my stay I felt like I was at home, computer access was made very simple and the location was fabulous-not far from restaurants and main street chaos, but far enough to maintain it's neighborhood charm. Breakfast was exceptional, and the "fresh from the oven" evening sweets were to die for! I would no doubt stay here again upon my next visit to Jacksonville!


Bed & Breadfast Guest

4.8 on March 11, 2010

I was a guest of a local association, staying at Blessings on State for two nights. My first time at a B&B. What a special treat! I never knew breakfast could have three courses! A place to savor each minute of your stay!


Blissed out at Blessings on State!

4.8 on March 02, 2010

I booked my stay at Blessings on State for a visit to Jacksonville to see my grandma. My mom and I arrived on 12/15/09 just as the finishing touches were going up on at least 7 Christmas trees both inside and out. This is a wonderful environment where you can come as you are while being treated like an honored guest who's also part of the family. The Victorian home's decor perfectly suited the well maintained historical details while providing every modern comfort, including the bed, bedding, and toiletries. Sweet treats and a beverage station delighted us when we first arrived. Our breakfasts were over the top. If I had written this sooner I would have better recall on the menu, but our meals were a mix of gourmet, fine baking, and whimsy, all served on fine china. The person behind all of the magic is the Innkeeper of course. Gwenn was a joy to meet and be entertained by. She definitely has high standards for her inn but the underlying theme there is the comfort and complete satisfaction of her guests. Gwenn also has a great sense of humor and a spouse who lends himself to the mission of the inn. I highly recommend a stay here and know that I will return there again.


Jacksonville, IL

5 on February 15, 2010

We were not sure what to expect and we were really surprised. It was a very pleasant experience and more comfortable than I ever thought. Thank you to Gwenn and Glenn and their gang!


Blessings on State.

5 on January 30, 2010

Very beautiful and peaceful. The innkeepers were kind, generous and gracious. Delicious food.


just like home

5 on October 26, 2009

My brother and I were back in Jacksonville for Illinois College's Homecoming weekend. This was a perfect place to stay. We stayed in the Serenity Suite. I wanted someplace that would be quiet, comfortable, and somewhere that I could get a good night's sleep. It was the next best place to being in my own bed. The owners were great! We had a nice chat with Gwenn over breakfast on Sunday morning. Delicious pumpkin muffins and eggs. FYI - this is a beautiful older house, the bathroom in the suite is a bit small, but everything you need is there. Would definitely stay here again.


Beautiful B and B

5 on October 18, 2009

First, was the warm welcome of Innkeeper, Gwen. Then the beauty of the down stairs and sweeping stairway impressed me. Once upstairs I was surprised to see the suite of rooms: sitting room, bedroom and bath. Snacks and drinks are in the hallway to be sampled as one wishes. Beauty and comfort throughout this spotlessly clean home. Unfortunately, I had a breakfast committment and was unable to stay for Gwen's breakfast. Next time I will not miss out on this very special aspect of the Blessings on State!


Incredible hospitality

5 on October 11, 2009

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast, and the experience exceeded all of our expectations. The owners certainly know what they are doing. The service, amenities, food, and overall attention to detail were first rate. I do not hesitate in the least to highly recommend Blessings on State to any and all who wish for a fabulous experience.


Amazing blessings

4.4 on October 05, 2009

This is a perfectly charming home in a vintage mansion with modern amenities. The accommodations are lovely without being uptight. The innkeepers make sure you are pampered without hovering. You will have a relaxing time in a beautiful setting.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on September 30, 2009

My stay at the Bed and Breakfast was fabulous. It was during the pre-holiday season and everything was wonderful!! The hospitality and food were both fantastic! A very special place to stay. I know I will be staying there again!!


Truly blessed!

5 on September 29, 2009

Very accommodating and friendly. Gwenn showed real concern and caring for us, and did what she could to make us feel welcome and at home. Gwenn went 'above and beyond' to prepare foods I could eat with my food allergies and make me feel special. I left feeling relaxed and renewed. I only wish I had more time to spend there. I will definitely be back!


Home Comfort with Friendly Service

4.8 on September 29, 2009

The room was excellent; the bed and private sitting room were very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the fellowship with the host and hostess - and the warm cookies and milk made us feel very welcome.


Awesome place--Awesome people

5 on September 28, 2009

this was the best B&B I have ever been to. The owner Gwenn, is just wonderful!!!!! I felt very spoiled. The house was beautiful and relaxing. A great weekend get-away!!!!


A blessing at Blessings

5 on September 27, 2009

I had a wonderful stay at Blessings on State and look forward to the chance to go again. The Hostess was very kind and polite. The facility was fasinating with the architecture of this 100 plus year old home. I would recomend it to everyone.


Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2172451013

Visit Website »

View details

Top