Farmers Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
98 Reviews

Write A Review

Exceeded Expectations

4.0 on July 14, 2016

This B and B has it all---location, quality, friendliness, amazing food, Inkeepers (Don and Susan) who truly want your stay to be memorable and are accommodating in every conceivable way, and just a very warm vibe that makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. Everything is super clean and neat. Every room is unique in a very thoughtful, fun, and inviting way. The breakfast is wonderful, the wine hour is fun and just what one needs after shopping or exploring Galena. There are many restaurants in Galena, and Don and Susan are very helpful in helping you choose one that fits your particular wants and needs. Couldn't do better than the Farmers Guest House. Don't miss this one!


Birthday weekend with sister

5 on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. Don and Susan were excellent and tended to our every need. This trip made me want to take another bed & breakfast sometime with my husband.


Wonderful room and Service

3.6 on July 08, 2016

My husband and I stayed on a Thursday night and checked out on Friday. The room was clean and decorated based on the time period the building was constructed. The service was great and the staff would do their best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful and the fresh cookies available in the kitchen was an unexpected treat. We would stay at Farmers Guest House again the next time we head to Galena.


Another Great Experience

5 on July 01, 2016

This was the second time we stayed at Farmers Guest House, and both have been excellent! The service, the food, the amenities, the atmosphere – everything is just wonderful. We will be heading back, and will be taking part in with the cooking classes offered by one of the owners.


June 2016 Visit

5 on June 20, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better time! The accommodations are fabulous, the living room is so inviting and homey with the many quilts and afgans! The dining room is awesome! Spent our evenings playing games! Also working on a puzzle in the LR. And then there is the breakfast. They are so delicious, they are to die for! Susan, Don & George are there to help make your stay fabulous! We cannot wait until our next visit!


great first time at a bed and breakfast!

4.8 on June 15, 2016

The owners of Farmer Guest House are so wonderful and the place is beautiful! The room was great and the suite worth it with the great bath tub with jets! Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING!!! We will be coming back and staying more than one night next time, that's for sure!!!


Great weekend with friends

5 on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Farmers Guest House. Don and Susan made everyones stay so enjoyable. The inn is clean. The hosts friendly. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. We plan on returning and hope to take a cooking class with Susan on our next visit!


anniversary get away

5 on June 07, 2016

we had a wonderful time staying at the Farmers Guest house. Warm, inviting atmosphere helps you relax and feel like home. Innkeepers were great hosts along with Charles. Rooms were clean and comfortable with luxury linens and towels. Breakfasts were delicious and flavorful.We would highly recommend a stay here.


Excellent breakfast and service!!!

5 on May 31, 2016

We had an outstanding stay the weekend of May 21-23. Outstanding gourmet breakfast each day. Very close to Main St. We loved wine night each night too! We had issues with the AC in our room but Don and Susan moved us in to the cottage at no extra charge. We enjoyed our stay and will be sure to recommend the Farmer's Guest House to our family and friends.


Incredible Bed and Breakfast!!

5 on May 30, 2016

We had an amazing stay in the cottage room as part of a romantic weekend. Don and Susan are top notch hosts, welcoming, helpful and friendly. I really felt like we were old friends coming back. When I had questions before my visit, Susan was very responsive. She provided local dining recommendations and then offered to make the reservations for us. The cottage was fantastic--private, comfortable, romantic and immaculately clean. The breakfast was unbeatable--loved Susan's special twist on French Toast. We will come back again!!


Royalty Service

5 on May 26, 2016

If you want to be treated like a King/Queen, then you must stay here. Don and Susan are the ultimate hosts. The place is immaculate and it's so relaxing! Susan makes a mean breakfast and you will NOT walk away hungry. After two days, I didn't want to leave. I will definitely be back.


1st B & B!

5 on May 19, 2016

Great hosts, food and location! Certain that we will return!


Great hospitality, facilities and food for the value

5 on April 29, 2016

Farmers Guest House has the best hospitality, rooms, service and dining for the value, Don, Susan and Charles were very attentive and accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.


Easter Vacation

5 on March 28, 2016

First time staying at a B&B, but will not be the last. Don, Susan, and Charles are very welcoming and have all the little details down. Breakfast was AMAZING! We really enjoyed eating in the well decorated dining room with relaxing music in the morning. Wine time in the evening is also really nice. The house is right next to main street so we could walk everywhere. Our room was perfectly clean and we liked winding down at the end of the day by picking out a DVD from the big collection and watching it in our room.


Romantic Getaway

5 on February 23, 2016

My 5-star review goes without hesitation. First and foremost, Don and Susan (and Charles) were fantastic. Their hospitality is second to none to the point where I felt we may be distant relatives. My wife and I stayed in the newly remodeled Annie’s Cottage a couple weeks ago, which was a surprise getaway for my wife that went down as the most romantic getaways to date. The rustic yet modern décor coupled with the oversize Jacuzzi, fireplace, winding decks, etc that populated the 2-story cottage not only exceeded my expectations, but certainly gave my bride an experience that she will remember for some time. There were many highlights to note, but one to mention were the phenomenal breakfast entrée’s prepared by the famed Food Network celebrity, Susan Steffan. The dishes were paired and portioned perfectly, so that you can savor every succulent bite to the end feeling full but energized. Another special treat were the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, and the wine sourced from the local vineyards. Needless to say, my wife and I look forward to returning in the near future!


Valentines Day

5 on February 18, 2016

Susan and Don were great hosts. Great ambiance in all of the inn. Our room (the Jennie) was spacious and tastefully decorated. Great wine and cheese reception in the evening. Gourmet breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to downtown. DVD library if you'd like with viewers in each room. WiFi connection was good. Very comfortable stay. Will return.


Weekend Stay

4.4 on February 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit, went by way too fast. Breakfast was amazing and Susan and Don were great hosts. Enjoyed wine time to get to know the other guests. Hope to be back in the future!


Excellent stay!

5 on February 10, 2016

We visited the Farmers Guesthouse last weekend and had a wonderful time. The breakfast and great, as usual, and I noticed a few cute decorations were out for Valentine's Day and I love seeing the different festive things Susan puts out. I also sit in on the Saturday Breakfast Diva class and I loved it!! The food we made was delish and easy enough to follow the recipie at home. I'll definitely be back for another class too!


BEST IN GALENA

5 on January 27, 2016

FARMERS THE BEST! LOCATION GREAT, FOOD OUTSTANDING! SUSAN TREATS YOU LIKE FAMILY. SHE APPEARED ON THE FOOD NETWORK SHOW FOR HER OUTSTANDING BAKING, WHICH SHE WILL MAKE FOR HER GUESTS, CAN'T BEAT THAT! DON'T MISS OUT ON FARMERS GUEST HOUSE


Winter getaway

5 on December 15, 2015

The fresh baked cookies, wine and cheese and the overall hospitality are top notch. I would recommend this B&B to all my family and friends. I have stayed there twice and I going to set up another trip for February.


One of our favorite places...

5 on November 29, 2015

My husband and I have been coming to Farmer's Guest House since before we were engaged. This was our fourth time staying there, and it only gets better! We chose to stay for a few nights after our wedding as a "mini-moon" since we can't take our actual honeymoon until later this year. It was the perfect getaway after a busy wedding weekend! We feel so relaxed when we stay at Farmer's Guest House. The food is delicious! The hospitality is impeccable. We splured for a suite and it was well worth it! We loved having a little extra space to relax, a private entry, and a cozy jacuzzi. We love that the town is a short walk away so we never have to drive. We feel okay indulging at the restaurants because we get a good amount of walking in. Don't take that the wrong way though, the town is in no way far away, and should you choose to drive into town, it would take 5 minutes and parking is a breeze. You can't go wrong staying at Farmer's Guest House!


Simply the BEST

5 on November 19, 2015

This was a return visit for a quilt retreat. Our room was recently redone and just perfect. The breakfasts over the top and the whole environment was warm and relaxing. Get a massage of some kind.!


Couldn't have been better!

5 on November 10, 2015

To be honest, our choice to stay at the Farmer's Guest House was a random one as we desperately looked for a nice, QUIET place for a weekend away on our car trip home from a particularly harried family vacation with two toddlers this summer. What we found when we arrived at FGH was nothing short of heaven. From the very first greeting, Susan and Don were so sweet, friendly, and helpful. The rooms (we chose The Charlotte) was large, beautiful, and exceptionally clean. Amenities ranged from beverages and cookies available 24/7 to help from Susan to set up nightly reservations at some of Galena's best restaurants. Nightly Wine Time was just the icing on the cake and we will be back most definitely.


Weekend getaway

5 on October 29, 2015

We had an excellent stay and were delighted with Farmers Guest House, the people and our room !


Pleasant Stay

4.4 on October 23, 2015

We want to thank Susan & Don for a very enjoyable stay at the Farmer's Guest House. I had never stayed at a B & B before and this was a very pleasant experience. Susan is a great cook and they are very caring & helpful. I would recommend this B & B to anyone.


An unforgettable first-time getaway

4.8 on September 23, 2015

To say that our stay was a complete joy would be an understatement. As first-timers to Galena, Susan and Don were extremely accommodating. Our day began with a delicious, home-cooked breakfast, followed by enjoyable conversation and interesting facts about the town. We felt like we were in a different world, able to relax and enjoy our little get-away. Be sure to join in on wine-time, as this is a wonderful opportunity to take a break from all of the sight-seeing. My only regret was not making arrangements for a massage during our stay. Once we realized that was offered, all appointments were booked. We will definitely be returning!


Awesome B&B

5 on September 08, 2015

Perfect place to stay in Galena. My husband cannot do stairs easily and the street level rooms suited us perfectly. Don and Susan were very accommodating to our needs. Just a very comfortable, roomy and relaxing stay. We bragged to all at home about the amazing breakfasts. Farmers Guest House is ideally located for shopping and restaurants- an easy walk. The only downside was that we were not able to stay longer!


Fabulous!

5 on September 07, 2015

Luxury and comfort at the same time! If you want a relaxing treat, stay at Farmers Guest House.


FGH stay

5 on August 31, 2015

Susan, Don and Charles made our stay the MOST enjoyable. An excellent bed and breakfast all the way around. Couldn't have asked for better food, company or competence in knowing the area. Superbly cooked, top- notch breakfasts and, of course, wine time. We had a phenominal and memorable trip to Galena, due to their efforts!!!


Great Hosts, great rooms, great location, great food!!

4.8 on August 30, 2015

We had a lovely couples getaway! Food was fabulous! Susan had no trouble accommodating my need for gluten free. Our only regret was that we didn't stay for two nights instead of one! Next time!!


Great Stay at FGH

4.8 on August 24, 2015

Susan and Don were gracious hosts. They served us a delicious breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean and dining area is unique, many interesting things to look at while your eating. FGH reminded us of places we visited in Italy. Great weekend get away! Thanks Susan and Don


"Found a home"

5 on August 19, 2015

This was our second trip to the Farmers Guest House in less than a year, so we definitely feel we "found a home" there and we highly recommend this B&B. Our first stay was a very special occasion celebrating our 50th anniversary and this time was a "just because we wanted to go back stay". Susan,Don and Charles are such a great working team at FGH. You are so warmly greeted when arriving and feel so welcome. The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable, breakfast so delicious and beautifully presented, 5 o'clock wine time is a great time to visit with other guest staying there. Can't say enough about FGH. They go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. We are looking forward to return trips to a very special B & B we call "our place" !


Wonderful experience

4.8 on August 14, 2015

My grand daughters and I have been coming to Galena for several years and we always stay at Farmers. Don and Sue are such wonderful hosts, so friendly and sincere. The homemade breakfasts are always so good, the rooms so clean and comfortable. We have already booked our visit for next summer. We always stay for 3 nights and are always kind of sad when we have to leave such a great place.


Comfort and Cozy

5 on August 12, 2015

Outstanding hospitality from the owners Don and Susan. Their warmth made your stay enjoyable. We stayed in the smallest room, Minnie but was large enough for us and still comfortable and extremely clean. We stayed three nights and would come again. The location of the B&B to the town was within walking distance, which was good to generate some exercise. We toured the town and saw some of the other B&Bs that we were thinking about reserving, but we are so glad we didn't and extremely glad we chose The Farmers Guest House.


Perfect balance

4.8 on August 11, 2015

Owners Don and Susan struck the perfect balance between being attentive (helping acquire tickets to attractions, recommending favorite entrees at restaurants) and letting you relax and enjoy your stay. Rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was homemade, plentiful, and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Wonderful place to stay!!!

5 on June 09, 2015

If there was a rating above Outstanding, I would have chosen that. Farmers Guest House is one of the best B&B experiences I have ever had. Beautiful rooms, extremely accommodating owners. Fabulous food. Walking distance from downtown. I would highly recommend FGH and will book again.


Great Place to Stay

5 on June 02, 2015

This was our 1st time at a Bed & Breakfast and I am so glad our kids sent us here. Excited breakfast, room was beautifully decorated, you have your own bathroom and 5 O' clock wine and cheese. I would highly recommend Farmers Guest House. enjoy!


Romantic Getaway

5 on May 19, 2015

Fabulous and attentive hosts, luxurious accommodations, and an award winning breakfast. We loved every minute of our stay, and have already booked our return. Susan and Don made certain every aspect of our stay was perfect, from the chilled water and a Keurig coffee maker in our room to the bath salts for our whirlpool. Bottomless jars of fresh baked cookies, the best fresh ground coffee we have had in ages, and a heavenly bed. Every restaurant referral they gave us was a winner as well. A perfect romantic getaway!


Every need was met

5 on May 16, 2015

Our stay at Farmers Guest House truly exceeded our high expectations. We were warmly welcomed and cared for with excellence. Don, Susan, and Charles made sure our every need was met. The room was beautifully and cheerfully furnished with period decor that matched the building but was never fussy or dusty. There was something beautiful and interesting to see everywhere we looked. Breakfasts were truly amazing, full of delicious food served with grace and style. The gardens are restful and inviting.


B&B at its best

5 on May 16, 2015

We have stayed at B&Bs before and this one was top notch. Warmly greeted and made to feel at home. Breakfast was served in a warm and casual setting. The food has to be tasted to believed ! Susan & Don did their best to make sure your visit was what you hoped for.


Lovely Accommodations

4.4 on May 12, 2015

Our first bed and breakfast experience was an excellent one at the Farmer's Guest House. Wonderfully clean and comfortable. Very welcoming hosts. Super nice fellow guests and a charming town with lots to see and do. You could stay a month and not take in everything. Very nice. Highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Wonderful Stay

5 on May 11, 2015

My husband and I were very happy we chose Farmers Guest House for our bed and breakfast stay in Galena. Don and Susan are amazing and so was the food. We will definately stay with them again for our next trip!


Outstanding hospitality

5 on April 30, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Farmers Guest House this past weekend. We had a wonderful time, the owners Don and Susan offer top rate service. They are friendly, warm and generous. The Inn is clean, quiet and the guest rooms are beautiful! We have been back many times and I would continue. I love Galena and the Farmers Guest House!!


HIGHLY PLEASING EXPERIENCE

5 on April 28, 2015

Farmers Guest House was hands down the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The owners, Don and Susan, were very cordial from the outset and gracious throughout our visit. Their hospitality was enhanced by the comfy accommodations and amenities---cozy bed, ceiling fan, luxurious towels, makeup mirror in bathroom, homemade cookies, Keurig coffee, movie library, water bottles in the fridge. We enjoyed Susan's culinary talents every morning for sumptuous and satisfying breakfasts, which were served quite readily by Don and Charles. This all made for a very warm atmosphere that made us and our fellow guests feel entirely at home and at ease. We highly recommend that anyone traveling to Galena book a room with Don and Susan at Farmers Guest House. You will not be disappointed!


Wonderful retreat

5 on April 21, 2015

We took a last minute overnight trip to Galena and we're lucky enough to get a room at Farmers Guest House. The whole place was gorgeous the pictures online don't do it justice. I loved how guests had access to a refrigerator stocked with water and soda and tea,coffee and cookies at anytime of the day. They also do wine time and I appreciated the glass of wine after shopping all day! Don and Susan are very lovely hosts and would do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast was amazing!


2nd Visit as Exceptional as the First

5 on April 19, 2015

We just returned home after an exceptional weekend in Galena, Il. We stayed at The Farmer's Guesthouse for a second time and could not be happier! The passion that Susan and Don have for their B&B is quite apparent. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable (had been renovated since our first visit 1 1/2 years ago). Breakfast was delicious! If anyone goes hungry it is their own fault! We will return!


Chillicothe Couple

4.4 on April 03, 2015

Short two day/night trip to Galena for relaxation, good food, and shopping.


Exceptional and welcoming!

5 on March 24, 2015

Don & Susan ~ amazing hosts with a fantastic B&B! We stayed in the Julia suite which was recently renovated and quite charming. All of the 9 rooms are amazing decorated with period style items. Each has it's own name and decor - so pleasing to the eye. Our whirlpool tub was so inviting after many hours of walking. We were wakened each morning by the smell of fresh brewed coffee and a deletable breakfast. Charles was there to assist with breakfast and other items, also a walking book of knowledge! Short walk downtown shopping & restaurants. If you're in a quandary of where to eat, Don & Susan are able to help with your decision. The history of the Farmers is wonderfully told by them. The little touches of helping yourself to coffee, tea, soda and the COOKIE jar whenever you want. Tons of DVD's to watch. A massage room was in place, but we were so busy we were not able to partake. A social gathering was at 5 pm to meet other guests with a glass of wine and cheese, so welcoming. Plus hearing about everyone and where they are from was nice. If you want to escape somewhere else for the day just ask & Don or Susan can direct you. We had a great trip to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We will definitely be back.


Delightfully charming

4.8 on March 12, 2015

It was delightful, we arrived just in time for 5:00 wine and cheese! Everyone there was so friendly and cheerful Don and Susan made sure our glasses were full and sat and joined in with all of us. The Inn is so comfortable and cozy, breakfast was done to perfection with great attention to presentation as well as being outstandingly good.


Birthday surprise

5 on March 10, 2015

Our stay in Galena this past weekend (3/6-3/8) was a birthday surprise for me. We had never experienced a B& B atmosphere before so we had not idea what to expect. Upon check in - Susan was so sweet to us. She remembered it was a birthday weekend for me and immediately wished me a happy birthday. The décor was so warm and inviting. We loved it all. Our room was a suite and so spacious. We stayed in the Julia room. This B&B is definitely worth it. We will be back.


Fantastic stay and hospitality

5 on March 04, 2015

We took advantage of the winter special to stay at Farmers Guest House. I have traveled extensively over the years and this inn was the BEST! We stayed for 3 nights and the hospitality of our inn keepers and staff was 5 STAR! Breakfast was a wonderful experience. The food was fantastic and the display and taste could rival a 5 star restaurant in Chicago where I am from. We took advantage of the massage on site and it was wonderful, and all we had to do was say we wanted one and they handled everything for us. Wine time was always a blast in talking to other guests and our hosts about what we did that day and what we wanted to see next. The hosts were so helpful in all things about the area from restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing, and history of the area. We did a girls getaway and I to come again soon with more friends. Susan, Don and Charles were the best and made our stay top notch. I recommend it to anyone. After 3 days we were so relaxed it felt like we had been gone for a week. Thank you Farmers for the awesome trip.


Winter Getaway

5 on February 09, 2015

Great food, wine time and visiting with Don and Susan and other guests. We stayed in the cottage which was private and cozy. Short walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants.


Best B&B in Galena!

5 on January 22, 2015

I have reviewed Farmers Guest House before on trip advisor and I am glad to say it is still the best B&B in Galena. I had another wonderful weekend away (this time girlfriends get-a-way for my Birthday!) and was amazed at all the improvements Susan & Don have made to the FGH. The robes in the rooms, the lap desks, the breakfasts, the massage studio, the redecorated rooms - look at their website to see the pictures of the rooms! They continue to setp up in every area to a standard of excellence. I appreciated Susan asking at our check in about dietary needs and accommodating my friends requests - really above and beyond. The biggest thing for me, that will keep me coming back, when I walk into my room or one of the common areas, I can tell that it has been cleaned. I am a germ-a-phobe in some ways and at FGH I am at ease because you can just tell that it is clean. Really clean, but not smelling like disinfectant. Actually I loved walking in to the smell of fresh baked cookies! Farmers Guest House is so very comfortable, welcoming, and relaxing. Totally love it!


Could not have been better!

5 on January 17, 2015

From beginning to end, our expectations were exceeded. Hard to say what was the most delightful -- awesome vintage Xmas decor and then later the "normal" collection, the friendliness and knowledge and hospitality of Susan and Don, the innkeepers, the evening wine tasting, our comfortable thoughtfully appointed room or just simply the badly needed escape and pampering. Would definitely recommend without reservation, and hope to return this year.


Great stay in Galena

4.8 on January 03, 2015

The Farmer's Guest was our first time at a B&B and we're sold for the future! We had an ideal two night stay. The accommodations, common areas, and socializing met our very high expectations. We would strongly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Galena, which was also a lot of fun with great dining options!


Fantastic B&B

5 on December 19, 2014

The Farmer's Guest House was our first B&B and we loved it! It was very clean and comfortable, the Christmas decor was amazing and the Julia suite we stayed in was very spacious and cozy. The breakfast was amazing and Don and Susan were very helpful. They were extremely nice and inviting and made us feel at home. The inn is within walking distance of Main St. And they also have a spa room on site so you can relax without having to leave. We will definitely stay again!


Terrific B&B in Galena

5 on December 03, 2014

Great rooms, hospitality and breakfast. The hosts create a warm atmosphere and are very attentive to your needs. Highly recommend, we will visit again.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on November 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in July 2014, our first time at a bed & breakfast. What a wonderful experience we had! Susan and Don made us feel like "old friends" the minute we walked in the door. Don insisted on carrying our bags while Susan gave us a tour of the common rooms. Susan's breakfasts are delicious and Don is the perfect "waiter." Both were so helpful in every way, making reservations, giving helpful hints for activities on Main Street, providing directions, etc. Charles tidied up our room every day. Felt like royalty! We also enjoyed sitting in the living room to read in the evening. It was just like home. I was so impressed with Farmer's Guest House that I returned in November for a Quilt Retreat. Again the same ambience, kind and helpful service and such a good time. (Susan even remembered that my husband had one food allergy! And he wasn't even with this time.) Same wine time in the late afternoon with much comradery. I'm already signed up for the Quilt Retreat next November. I guess you can say that this is my (our) one and only B&B!


A+++ Bed & Breakfast, not to be missed

5 on November 14, 2014

If you love Galena, and you love B&B's, this is one you should not miss. We had the most wonderful stay over Veterans Day. Our suite was absolutely wonderful, we couldn't have been more comfortable, and the hosts - Don & Susan - were so gracious and welcoming, felt like we were with old friends. So much to see at this wonderful lodging, I couldn't stop taking photos of all the marvelous decor, and even got a photo of our hosts. The food was fabulous, and the wine & cheese hour with all the other veterans and their spouses was a blast, what a perfect touch to the evening. Thank you so much for hosting all of us, you are truly a very special couple. And definitely in the right line of work, such a perfect fit. We definitely look forward to visiting again! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!


Great Experience

5 on September 29, 2014

Susan & Don were great hosts. They wanted to make sure everything was right for us. We had never stayed in a B&B before, and it was a great experience.


The Perfect Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on September 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for our tenth anniversary and were VERY pleased. I'm one of those shy people who likes Bed & Breakfasts in theory (it's nice to feel like you're staying in someone's home), but often find myself feeling uncomfortable (it can be awkward to feel like you're staying in someone's home.) Right from the moment we walked in, this place had all the warmth of a B&B without any of the awkwardness. The owner, Susan, made us feel right at home. You have access to all sorts of free stuff in a common area--a room that's super interesting but where you have the choice to mingle with others or hang out with your wife alone, without seeming unfriendly. We stayed in the Charlotte suite, which had its own door to the outside and was HUGE with a great hot tub and its own fireplace. Wine tastings at 5pm...not a wine drinker, but I kinda wished I had been. (My wife missed it one day and Susie went and got her a glass anyway.) The breakfast was AWESOME and they had veggie options for us--bonus. I always felt like Susan was there if I needed something, but I never once felt like I was intruding; so...bottom line: it had all the romance, warmth and intimacy you want for a romantic getaway, without sacrificing privacy. I've been to Galena about 4 times and stayed at 4 different places. This is where I'll stay next time I come. And the time after that. Oh! And get this: I forgot my charger. Susan just mailed it to us! That was so nice! : )


Amazing homemade breakfast!

5 on September 21, 2014

Plenty of hot coffee, fresh fruit and each day a different and delicious breakfast. The french toast was like none I've ever had. The entire place is very clean. Linens seemed to be fragrance free which I really appreciate. Guests are also invited to wine & cheese time each evening. I've stayed at several B & B's around the country and this was the friendliest one. Yet your privacy is respected at the same time. I stayed alone and felt very comfortable. I shall return!


An Amazing B&B!

5 on August 30, 2014

We spent three nights at the Farmer's Guest House and felt right at home the minute we walked in the door. Don and Susan make you feel like family and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant from the outstanding breakfasts, tips on things to see in Galena, to making dining arrangements at local restaurants. We will most definitely stay there again if in the Galena area!


Best B&B in Galena!!!

5 on August 29, 2014

This is our sixth stay at the Farmer's Guest House Inn and we have already booked another stay. Susan and Don are so accomodating! Susan makes the most delicious breakfasts and she is very attentive to any dietary needs. Both Susan and Don make a special point of getting to know all their guests. The rooms are so comfortable and clean! We have been to other B&B's but this one will always be our favorite!


Charming guest house with a killer breakfast

5 on August 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at Farmers' Guest House during a weekend getaway in Galena. Susan and Don were so nice and helpful during our stay. They go out of their way to accommodate any special needs and requests. We hadn't read many reviews beforehand, so the quality of the breakfast was a total surprise. Wow, it was amazing. The house was very clean and full of character and history. I would give Farmers' Guest House my highest recommendation to anyone looking for first class accommodations in Galena.


Outstanding bed & breakfast

5 on August 24, 2014

We just enjoyed our second stay at the Farmer's Guest House in Galena Ill and are ready to return for another stay! Innkeepers Susan & Don strive to give each guest a wonderful experience from the delicious breakfast served every morning to "wine time" in the afternoon. You will feel welcomed and "at home" during your stay! The rooms are each decorated nicely, housekeeping is excellent, and the gardens are well maintained.


Fantastic breakfasts, beautiful place, wonderful people

5 on August 06, 2014

Just got home from a 3-night stay in the Charlotte suite at Farmers Guest House, and it was tough to leave. Every morning there was something homemade and delicious for breakfast. I ate every bite, and I'm not usually much of breakfast person. Don and Susan are so friendly and accommodating, making dinner reservations for guests, and always ready with recommendations for activities and restaurants in town. Also every evening there's a social hour, with wine and cheese. Perfect way to start the evening before heading into town for dinner. This was my first time at the B&B, and I hope to return. Wonderful place, can't recommend highly enough!


A Real Treat!

5 on July 26, 2014

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Farmers' Guest House. On our next trip to the Galena area we will definitely stay there again. The food was a gourmet's dream--all homemade and delicious. There was even a cookie jar with yummy treats. The rooms were charming. The lovely garden area and the sitting rooms were spacious and homey. The owners, Susan and Don, helped lodgers with restaurant and entertainment reservations. Definitely a 5 star lodging!!!


1st experience at a bed and breakfast

5 on July 04, 2014

Don and Susan were great and very helpful in planning where to eat and what to see. Loved being served a very delicious breakfast that Susan made. Met some very nice people too. Would recommend staying here.


Great place to stay

4.6 on June 20, 2014

Don & Susan are wonderful! They make you feel at home. They have delicious home made breakfasts with generous portions and go out of their way to provide for special diets! The wine, cheese and crackers, beverages and cookies are a plus :)


Great Place

5 on June 18, 2014

This is our 3rd time back at Farmers Guest House. We just love all that it offers, from the great breakfast,the wine time and the endless cookie jar. Don, Susan and Charles do so much to make your stay so nice. The new Spa Room was a nice touch. We enjoyed our massage it was just what the Dr. ordered.Thank you Don and Susan we had a wonderful time and are looking forward to coming back again soon.


A real treat

5 on June 12, 2014

The room was very clean and comfortably updated, and the historic building was delightful to explore. Freshly-baked cookies and wine time were nice hospitality touches. The breakfasts were varied and delicious. Don and Susan had a lot of information about Galena and area activities. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will return.


Charming and friendly

5 on June 10, 2014

Charming and friendly place to stay. We loved the beautiful accommodations, which were right around the corner from historic downtown Galena. The B&B innkeepers made sure our stay was perfect. We enjoyed the wine and cheese time and the delicious breakfast. The room was spacious and perfectly clean!


Great Place to Stay

5 on June 10, 2014

Had an extremely enjoyable experience at Farmer's Guest House. Breakfast and service was excellent, owners and staff made us feel at home and provided a luxurious experience we've never had at other B&B's. We will definitely be back.


A wonderful B&B experience!

5 on June 10, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Farmer's Guest House and we couldn't have been happier with the experience. We have been going for several years now and each time is still a delight. The whole house is warm and inviting and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The food was excellent – my wife loved the Strawberry French Toast but I loved the Mushroom and Egg Flatbread. Susan and Don went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed (from dietary restrictions to making dinner reservations to local attractions). I would recommend the Farmer’s Guest House to anyone looking for a relaxing and very enjoyable weekend away. We always feel welcome and we've already booked our next stay!


Great first experience at bed and breakfast

5 on June 07, 2014

We can't say enough about Don and Susan and their hospitality. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast and would never stay at a hotel again if given a choice. Wonderful company and conversation. Spacious cottage with jacuzzi. Delicious homemade breakfasts, cookies always in the jar, frig with soda and water. Great resource to Galena activities. They were so warm and welcoming. Thank you Don and Susan


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on June 02, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay! They innkeepers, Sue and Don, are wonderful. I felt like I was at home even when I was over 200 miles away. They do the best they can to give you discounts or gift cards to make the stay more affordable. The breakfast was amazing every morning and are more than willing to make something that you will eat. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend to anyone!


Outstanding!

5 on May 20, 2014

Wonderful guest house. Amazing hosts. Unbelievable food. I highly recommend this fine establishment! Robert S. Rochelle, IL


Great Anniversary Getaway!

5 on April 02, 2014

Kudos to my husband (Marco) for planning this trip all by himself,and surprising me with the dates to get ready. This is a trip of firsts for us ... our first trip to Galena, and our first stay at a B&B. Our stay at Farmer's Guest House immediately set the bar high of any expectation we have for any future B&B's. It was an amazing experience, and it will really be difficult for us to stay at another B&B! Don and Susan are so warm that you feel right at home and welcomed. Breakfasts are always something to look forward to. We come down in the morning excited to see what's for breakfast. Love the coffee, fruit servings, muffins, and the main dish. We got to taste the sticky buns, and they are to die for! Wine time is fun time! Great wine selection, cheese and crackers on the side, and best of all good company. It was a good time to meet the other guests and catch up on how our day went, swapped stories, and get good laughs out of it. We stayed at the Melvina room, and it is a nice and quiet room. It was always kept clean and neat with the help of Charles. Thank you Charles! Oh, and all the testimonials about the "chocolate chip cookies" of Susan are true. We are already plannning our next trip, and will definitely be back at the Farmer's Guest House! Thank you Don and Susan for making this our first trip to Galena a memorable one.


Top Notch

5 on March 30, 2014

What a wonderful stay! We felt immediately at home when we walked into the front door foyer. We were greeted warmly and shown all the amenities. We were very pleased with the Julia suite. The bed was very comfortable, I did miss my feather pillow though. It was so comfortable we slept 10 hours each day. Needless to say we definitely got much needed sleep. Our inn keepers were very hospitable and knowledgable about the town and the area restaurants. We can not say enough about breakfast. The food was delicious. The innkeepers even prepared a breakfast for our special diet. The Farmers Guest House has all the amenities you would look for in a top notch B&B but with a personal home type feel. We will definitely be back.


Outstanding Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on February 17, 2014

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and it was amazing. From the moment we walked in until we left, it was a real treat! Felt at home, met interesting people and enjoyed some down time while exploring the shops and restaurants of Galena. Innkeepers were top notch. Didn't schedule a massage but was told they're great, so we will next time. Can't wait to go back!


Wonderful!

5 on December 17, 2013

Like you, I was searching for reviews on B&B's in Galena. My fiancee (then girlfriend) had always wanted to go so I decided to take her there and propose as well. It could not have been a better trip. Don and Susan are wonderful and will take amazing care of you. Breakfast is wonderful as is the property. They will help you with any reservations you want to make or any activities you want to do. The location is amazing and is within walking distance of the main drag in town. I highly recommend this property and you will not be upset with your decision.


WOW!

5 on December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Farmers Guest House from 12/03/13-12-06/13. This was my first trip to magical Galena and my first ever B&B experience, though I have travelled extensively. Upon entering the front door of Farmers, we were greated by Susan. It was as if we were old friends coming to visit. Her welcome was so warm and genuine and really made us feel at home. We were scheduled to stay in Minnie, but were offered to stay in Charlotte (a suite). After a quick tour of the two rooms, we chose to upgrade to the suite. While the Minnie would have been comfortable and cozy, Charlotte was quite roomy and a treat! We had a sitting room with a couch, coffee table, small dining table and a whirlpool tub. Our bedroom area had a king sized bed, fireplace and chairs. The fireplace warmed up the space nicely and was such a comforting way to end our day. Just outside our room was the dining area, along with many amenities such as Keurig coffee maker, hot chocolate and an endless supply of some of the best cookies ever! After we arrived we were told that wine time is at 5:00. We loved this time of the day! We were able to spend time talking to Susan and Don, and the other guests while sharing a glass of wine and nibbling on cheese...such a great touch! The next couple of days I really looked forward to this time. Each morning we were served a WONDERFUL breakfast and our food dislkikes were even taken into consideration! If you have ever been to Galena, you know that there is not a shortage of great restaurants, but I have to say..Susan's were some of our best meals! The decore of Farmers was vintage (not frilly or lacey) and kept in the historical time period. I loved how Susan and Don decorated and took care of the Inn, it really showed how much they love what they do! The furniture and bedding was clean and of great quality! I don't know how I will ever top this B&B experience and hope to get back to Farmers again soon!


Great experience

4.8 on December 15, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B, and I couldn't be more pleased. Breakfast was delicious. Happy hour wine time was a great touch. It was a convenient location to the downtown area with off street parking. The room was terrific. It was spacious and luxurious, and we loved the fireplace and the jacuzzi tub. Don and Susan were friendly and gracious hosts. Highly recommended. Can't wait to come back again in the summer or fall season.


Wonderful!!!

4.8 on November 05, 2013

My mom and I really enjoyed our stay at Farmer's Guest House. Susan and Don were friendly and welcoming. Susan was very accommodating in preparing breakfasts that worked with our food sensitivities. This is a wonderful place to relax and unwind!


Didn't expect the B&B to be the Highlight of the Trip

5 on October 24, 2013

We took off for Galena for a quick short getaway (October, 2013) hoping to get in some good hiking in fall colors. Horseshoe Bluffs was a great hike in the Mines of Spain just south of Dubuque, Iowa with a great view of the Mississippi and the Julien Dubuque Monument across the river. But the trip was made by our stay at Farmers' Guest House. It was unexpected that the lodging would be the highlight. We had three gourmet breakfasts; no silly buffet or choice of omelet but a fancy delicious fruit dish with some great piece of pastry followed by a delicious warm entree with fresh sausage presented as competition for Master Chef. Susan's breakfasts can't be beat. The ten person table, plus overflow tables for the "late comers", made for great conversation about yesterday's happenings and today's plans. Then came happy hour, when Susan and Don served wine and cheese and we guests gathered around the table for more discussion of the day's experience and tomorrow's plans as Don made dinner reservations for those too lazy to do it earlier. The mingling of the owners and the guests created a fun conversation environment to discover all of the coincidences in social gatherings and always had someone with "that" sense of humor to generate the laughs. For those needing precision: Breakfast is served from 8:30 AM to 9:30 and Wine Happy Hour is from 5 PM to 6. Plan your schedule around those times. The House is a short walk to town, maybe 8 minutes to the beginning of Mains St and another 10 to the end of Restaurant Row. The walk requires an elevation change up 40 feet on a ramp and back down 40 feet via steps. This is an easy walk unless you have walking problems. It is a 5 minute drive with parking in town being the challenge depending on day of week and time of year.


Great Experience at Our First B&B

5 on October 21, 2013

Thank you to Don and Susan and Charles for a great experience at our first bed and breakfast. We absolutely enjoyed our 18th wedding anniversary at the Farmers Guest House. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed conversations during breakfast and wine time. It was great to meet others from all around the area. We will definitely be back and will tell all of our friends and family!!


Could not have been better!

5 on September 27, 2013

We stayed two nights for a pre-wedding get away and Susan and Don could not have been more welcoming! The common areas were inviting....our room was comfortable and cozy. Coffee, water and soda available at all times and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious! This was the first time we had stayed at a B & B and we will be back! Thanks to Susan and Don (and Charles) for a wonderful time!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are delighted your stay was everything you hoped it would be and look forward to seeing you again. Many happy returns, Susan


Will stay again

5 on September 05, 2013

This is the first B & B we have stayed at and it was a great experience. Don and Susan are wonderful Innkeepers with an attention to detail that makes your stay feel like home. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies when you walk in the door, wine and cheese at "Wine Time" and an amazing breakfast that does not disappoint.


Comfortable and Friendly

5 on July 15, 2013

We had a great weekend with Susan and Don. They gave us everything we could possibly need and more. The room was HUGE, comfortable and clean. We had a great time and wouldn't stay anywhere else!


FGH

5 on May 30, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful three night stay. We will be back again. The wine, cheeses, cookies, breakfast and the suite were great. Thank you Don and Susan!


Ryan & Jinene Dunne

5 on May 28, 2013

Ryan & I stayed in the cottage on back. Complete privacy, hot tub, Very cozy, modern, and spotless. The couch was a fold out So you could accommodate a third person or couple. The food Was awesome and the service outstanding. We highly recommend It and we would definitely come back. Thank you again Don, Susan and Charles for a great weekend away!


excellent

5 on May 06, 2013

Thank you Don and Susan we had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed my birthday and look forward to booking for our anniversary. Chuck and I already recommended this B & B to our parents and plan on recommending it to friends. I believe the excellent jelly will go very well on mothers day. I am also planning on booking a room for my brother so he can relax and I can enjoy my nieces and nephews. Good for everybody. Tonya and Chuck McHenry IL


Friendliest B&B in Galena

5 on May 06, 2013

This was our second visit to Farmer's Guest House. We were looking forward to our stay..But we were happily & pleasantly surprised by the attention that Don & Susan paid to their guests. They make you feel like family. My husband even mentioned he felt bad that we had to leave. That's how Great they are!


A First rate B and B experience

5 on February 04, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Farmers Guest House. We stayed in the Charlotte suite, which was warm and cozy. Susan and Don are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed their hospitality. Breakfast was great and the presentation was so pretty. This was a first rate B and B experience, we look forward to staying here again!


Wonderful Getaway

4.8 on February 04, 2013

Farmers' Guest House was my wife and I's first B&B experience and it surpassed our expectations. We only stayed one evening this past weekend, but Don, Susan, & Charles were very friendly and hospitable. The Julia Suite was wonderful! The rooms were very clean, as well as were the common areas. Everything from the library (with books and games), to cookies and drinks, to Wine Time, to the amazing breakfast were wonderful! We will definitely be back!


Well Done!

4.8 on October 30, 2012

A warm and friendly environment, a great breakfast, warm hosts, and an intriguing city. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again!


Beautiful Guest House in Galena

4.8 on August 11, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Galena, but had never stayed at the Farmers Guest House. We've admired it for years and finally decided to book a couple nights. What a fabulous place! From the moment we walked in the door we felt welcomed and at home. Our room was beautiful and cozy as well as comfortable. Breakfast was excellent both days. We enjoyed being so close to downtown. It was a 5 minute walk to Main Street. The hospitality was top notch and the entire guest house was impeccably clean. We were very impressed with the original hardwood floors throughout the house. What a beautiful, well maintained! We look forward to returning to soon!


Farmers Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $299
  • Reviews (98) 4.9
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8157773456

Visit Website »

View details

Top