Change your search

Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast

216 N Bench St , Galena, IL 61036-2239 USA (Show map)

Visit Website

About

Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast is a regal Queen Anne,located one short block off Galena's historic Main St. With 19th Century splendor and 21st Century comfort, it is popular for its warmth and hospitality. The classic wrap-around porch invites you to relax in the rocking chairs, or glide on the porch swing while enjoying a drink or some homemade chocolate chip cookies. Drinks await you at the 24/7 drink buffet in the upstairs hall.

Reviews

Overall
4.5

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
99 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place to stay!

4.6 on June 10, 2015

This place was wonderful! It was right behind main street and was in walking distance to everything. Joe the owner was very nice and helpful with questions about the area. We will definitely be coming back here.

Innkeeper Response
Our guests are the best part of being an Innkeeper. Most of them are friends I have not meet yet. Your welcome back anytime. :)


Anniversary Weekend Away

4.6 on June 03, 2015

The Room my husband chose for our special weekend was perfect. The Anniversary package which included roses, chocolates, and 2 beautiful coffee mugs was a delightful surprise. The pecan french toast that Joe served for breakfast on our last day was my favorite. My only minor complaint is room was a little dusty but to be fair with so many interesting collectibles I would expect it. Also Joe was very knowledgeable on local history of Galena and nearby towns. My husband and I really enjoyed are getaway.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the suggestion, and glad you had a good time while you were here.


weekend in galena

4.8 on May 21, 2015

rooms are nice and clean and comfortable Joe makes a great breakfast and is a very attentive and gracious host

Innkeeper Response
Wonderful to have you here. Come back to visit if your in the area.


Brier wreath stay

3.6 on May 17, 2015

We had a lovely time in planning a last minute weekend getaway to Galena, IL. Tithe location was perfect. However, the decor was a little excessive and not really our taste, but it was definitely unique and full of character. The food was a little too bread-centric and I prefer more of a protein centered breakfast, so I wish there was a little more options available. We had a nice time and Joe was very helpful and kept the place very clean and cozy.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry you didn't get the breakfast protein centered like you wanted. The breakfasts I make are clearly labeled on the website and I do offer a different breakfast to someone who requests one. Thank you for your kind words even if the décor was not to your tastes. I think the pictures on the website clearly show you what to expect.


Review of my stay

3.8 on May 01, 2015

Very relaxing and nostalgic. The breakfast was amazing both days!!


Wonderful 1 night Anniversary Getaway

3.8 on April 07, 2015

Joe was prepared and very friendly upon arrival, and everything for our stay was ready to go including freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. The room had a very authentic B&B feel and had everything we needed. The house was in a perfect location, just steps from Main Street, close to everything. The Pecan French Toast breakfast was tasty! We will be back to Galena!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you.


A great place

5 on April 01, 2015

One block from downtown Galena. Warm, cozy home with a wrap around front porch.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Glide on the porch swing or enjoy the rocking chairs.


Best place to stay in Galena

5 on March 26, 2015

Brierwreath has always been the best place to stay in Galena. It is our home away from home!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you!!! Come back anytime. :)


Quick Weekend Away

5 on March 23, 2015

First, I apologize; I don't have the writing expertise to capture the beauty of Brierwreath nor the wonderful memories I have there. The innkeeper, Joe, was incredibly accommodating, prepared delicious meals, and gave us terrific advice for wandering the city. We booked on a Tuesday, showed up on the subsequent Friday, and haven't been able to get Galena or Brierwreath off our minds since. I loved the home, the location, and the people. Brierwreath is gorgeous and spacious. I'd recommend it to anyone looking to stay downtown Galena. As I told Joe as we departed, we will be returning as often as possible to Galena and there is only one place we'd trust handling our overnight stay: Brierwreath Manor B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much!!! It is wonderful to have you here. :-) I look forward to your return so we can visit. Spring is coming and the front porch awaits your return.


Very Great Valentine's Day!!!

4.8 on February 18, 2015

Joe was a great host, excellent cook and a superior house keeper. He made sure we accommodated our late Friday arrival and he made a special breakfast for my wife without a fuss or whimper! Our stay was reasonably priced and very good value. The house is FILLED with charm and was within walking distance of all things Galena. This was a great Valentine's Day/weekend experience overall. Thank you Joe! Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your very kind words. It was my pleasure having you both here, and hope you find time to return when you need some stress relief. :)


View More Reviews

Rooms & Rates

Mayor's Room

This room use to be the bedroom of Galena's Mayor. Frank Einswieler. He was mayor of Galena for about 15 yrs from the early 70s to the mid/late 80s.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $100 - $120

Country Charms

This room will sleep 3 with a queen and a twin sleeper/sofa, decorated in American country.

  • Maximum Capacity: 3
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen , 1 Twin

Nightly Rate: $100 - $120

Heirloom Suite

Queen size bed with a twin day bed. Huge private bath with walkin shower,and antique clawfoot tub.

  • Maximum Capacity: 3
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen , 1 Twin

Nightly Rate: $110 - $130

Nightly Rate: $110 - $130

Visit Website

Location

Location Type

Downtown, Small town, Wine country

Airport

Dubuque, IA (DBQ) 25 miles

Directions to property:

Turn north onto Main Street off of US 20. Proceed on Main St. to the first stop sign. Franklin ST. Turn left, go 1 block, turn left, onto Bench ST. we are 4th building on right.

Area Attractions

Antique Shopping, Aquarium, Art Galleries, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Live Music, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Night life, Boutique Shopping, State Historic Sites, Scenic Views Mississippi Valley, Hiking and Biking, Apple River Fort State Historic Site, Ghost tours, Performing Theater, Picnic area, Religious Services, River, Ski area, Tours, Vineyard, Winery

Inn Details

Establishment type

Other

On-site amenities

Board games, Copier, Fridge, Library, Microwave, Parking, Telephone, Washer/dryer , Home made chocolate chip cookies, Garage / Motorcycle parking, Off street parking, 5 Golf courses within 10 miles, Porch, Rocking Chairs, and Swing, Mississippi River within 5 miles

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, CD player, Ceiling fans, Coffee/Tea facilities, Fireplace, Hairdryer, Ironing Board, Private entrance, Radio, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Wi-Fi

On-site activities

Bicycles, Bird watching, Hiking trails, Wine Tours,Historic walking tours, Grants Home, History/civil war era, 19th Century Architecture, Scenic Views, National Mississippi River Museum/Aquarium, Shopping, Sight-seeing

Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 4-9 PM
  • Check Out:: 10 AM
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: Outside only
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided No
  • Suitable For Children: Limited Not encouraged. teenagers ok
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No allergies
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: 2 night on weekends Fri/Sat Sat/ Sun
  • Accepted payments VISA, Discover, Mastercard, Personal checks, Cash
  • Cancellations: We require a 14 day notice. If we rebook the room there will be no charge to you. However if we can not rebook the room your credit card will be changed for a one night stay.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Joe Cook

Languages spoken

English

Resident Pets

Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Free

  • Time Served: 8:30am to 9:30am
  • Serving Location: Dining Room

Special meal options

Low fat , Restrictive , Vegetarian , Gluten,sugar free, Vegan , No Lactose


Signature Dish

Apple Blueberry Pancake
An oven baked pancake with apples, blueberries & walnuts covered by an apple cidar sauce & served with fresh fruit and breakfast meat. Ham,sausage,bacon. Coffee and juice


Recipes

Details

216 N Bench St , Galena, IL 61036-2239 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Give the gift of a getaway!