Blackwell Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Best place to stay

5 on March 08, 2014

Liz is the best, extremely caring and enjoys her part in making the guest comfortable. The room was plush and perfect. Great place to stay for a romantic weekend. Feels like home, but better.


New Year's & 50th Birthday

5 on January 09, 2014

My husband booked the signature room for my 50th birthday Jan.1. This was the best birthday I have ever had!! I NEVER wanted to get out of that bed...until I soaked in the claw foot tub!! Beautiful mix of Victorian architecture and modern art. Liz is AWESOME!! Felt like home but so much better!! We visited with two other couples and were making plans to come back in February because we just couldn't get enough.


Our December stay at the Blackwell Hotel

4.8 on December 19, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Blackwell Hotel in early December. It truly was very peaceful and relaxing, the room and old fashioned decor was very nice! We really enjoyed visiting with Liz and she truly made us feel right at home, as they told us to feel...like it was our own home for one night! Kitchen facilities were great and we could snack on anything we wanted, including the wine and beer that was available...a very nice place to relax...thank you, Liz!


Great Place

5 on October 18, 2013

We highly recommend staying at the Blackwell. This charming property is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants and hiking trails in Coeur d’Alene. Liz and staff made us feel at home and provided outstanding service.


Best place in Coeur d'Alene

5 on October 09, 2013

I have never been treated so well. Liz is an exceptional hostess. She made me feel like I was home (except I didn't have to make the bed or wash the dishes!) There was always a cold beer or a glass of wine and good company to talk with. One evening I was even included on a local Arts Council event with an open bar and hors d' oeuvres. I will never stay anywhere else in Coeur d'Alene.


Gotta try this place!

5 on October 08, 2013

Beautifully restored, extremely comfortable and convenient, wonderful hostess and staff. We were in town to visit family and have stayed at the resort in the past...but now that the Blackwell is open we will only stay here! Thanks Liz for a wonderful stay!


Great Stay at the Blackwell

4.6 on September 19, 2013

Liz was a wonderful hostess, quick walk to downtown, bed, room and bath were great.. All in all fantastic! Rich & Babs


September Wedding

5 on September 17, 2013

Mike Holbart Coeur d Alene We had my daughter's wedding here. Liz and Abigail worked with us to make it as worry free as possible. Liz knows the ropes... When a bad relative showed up that upset the bride to be, she was called upon for advice. She got right in front of Amy and told her who'd day it was and distracted her. That's just one of the many things she did, but one of the funnier that I heard of. She let us do what we wanted, but directed us to the proven methods for the wedding to proceed (based upon past experience). They were there at our beck and call throughout the process. She loves the property, being that she had a hand in restoring it over many years. We found it easier to rent the whole house for the weekend, so we had all of the rooms. We enjoyed a nice leisurely breakfast in the mornings, before all Heck broke out. She would provide whatever we needed and got hugs from all of us in the end. Thank you Liz and Abigail!


Amazing Stay

5 on August 30, 2013

The manager, Liz, is the queen of hospitality. We wanted for nothing and have never before stayed at such an accommodating place. Beer and wine was freely available along with snacks to go throughout the day. The staff members were very efficient and courteous and the folks we met in travel, always pleasant. Wonderful experience all around. Perfect location with easy access to downtown and the beach. We took a motorcycle ride to CDA and had booked room 2 for our stay. The entire place was spotless, nicely appointed and the room was spacious and airy. The private bath/shower is across the hall and assigned to the room. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and even had a sleep number mattress! We couldn’t pack much and were in sore need of laundry services so Liz offered to put our load in before they did house laundry. Then offered to put it the dryer for us so we could go play! Who does that? My wife and I returned towards the end of our vacation, this time in room 3 which was amazing and had a walk-in shower that could host a small party! We didn’t see the other rooms. We’re looking forward to coming back next year.


Wedding

5 on August 26, 2013

Beautiful, can't wait to return


Great stay

5 on August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay at Blackwell. All the small town charm with modern conveniences. Friendly and clean, close to downtown and the lake. The grounds are fabulous, eat outside, inside, on the front porch or in your room. There are snacks and beverages available throughout the day. We hope to return again and again!


Perfect location in Coeur d'Alene

4.8 on August 12, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week in Coeur d'Alene and found the Blackwell Hotel to be comfortable, quiet and with a perfect central location for exploring Coeur d'Alene and the surrounding area. The Continental Breakfast was more than adequate, especially the fabulous array of fresh fruit. There is also a constant day and night supply of other beverages. Best of all was the hospitality of both Liz and Abbey, both of whom were friendly and always available to answer any of our questions and/or see to our particular needs throughout the week. We pass through this area frequently, and will stay at the Blackwell Hotel again.


Perfection!

5 on July 24, 2013

Wow! I really can’t say enough about our stay, the staff and their outstanding service. They went above and beyond to ensure our wedding was spectacular and our guests were happy. From beginning to end, I felt our needs were anticipated and met. The rooms were nothing short of amazing, the turnover from our ceremony to reception was flawless….I could go on and on for days! Thank you times a million for creating an unforgettable weekend for us, our family and our friends. xo, Heath and Wendy


Fantastic place for a wedding

4.8 on July 23, 2013

My best friend had her wedding here and rented the place for the bridal party all weekend. It was beautiful, excellent breakfast, full access to the house and kitchen. Liz was amazing taking care of the wedding plans and helping everywhere she could. It was like she was part of the family trying to make it as special as possible. It was also close to shopping and the lake. We were able to take morning hikes and enjoy the views!


Liz makes the place exceptional.

4.8 on July 23, 2013

Judy Devereaux


Perfect Wedding Venue/Weekend Getaway

5 on July 20, 2013

I just held my wedding at Blackwell and it was fabulous. We ended up renting the venue for the entire weekend and we could not have made a better decision. The property is absolutely beautiful, the beds are to die for comfortable and Liz was amazing. Her hospitality and help throughout the weekend made everything go so much smoother for my wedding, and she did our wedding ceremony too. I am glad that I decided to go with the Blackwell as my wedding venue and to rent it for the entire weekend. It allowed me, as the bride to really relax and take my time on the day of the wedding since we were able to set everything up the day before. Liz also was a hug help with that, she made sure things were taken care of so that my mother could also relax and enjoy my special day. Although I am from the CDA area, I am sure my husband and I will return next year for our anniversary. It was just an awesome experience and I have nothing at all to complain about. I highly recommend looking into the Blackwell if you are looking for a wedding venue, and if you are just looking for a place to stay, this is more affordable and a very great experience that you cannot receive at either the resort or other hotels.


My sray at the Blackwell

3.8 on July 16, 2013

Was expecting more then a continental breakfast. It was nice but a protein would be a great add:)


Fabulous stay in Coeur d' Alene!

4.8 on July 13, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! We stayed in room #1 for two nights and were very pleased. The king bed was so comfortable as were the silky soft sheets. The bathroom was roomy with an old fashioned claw foot tub with shower attachment. Breakfast was simple but delicious with fresh fruit and granola, juice and coffee. Wine, beer were offered in the afternoon and evening. We were told to help ourselves in the kitchen so after being out to dinner we peeked in the freezer and found tubs of ice cream, huckleberry being our favorite. Liz and Abby were fantastic! They were friendly and helpful with great suggestions about where to bike, swim, and eat. The hotel is within walking distance to dining, shopping, and the lake. Highly recommend!


Charming and modern

4.6 on July 02, 2013

This was a very charming and quiet hotel, and Liz was very friendly and eager to help us to feel comfortable. We stayed in room #4 with our two children, and it was a bit of a tight fit: the room only has a queen sized bed (comfortable mattress but a loud creaking bed) plus a pull-out sofa bed and small-ish but charming private bathroom. The common areas were very comfortable and decorated beautifully (we were especially happy for the upgraded central air), and the family really enjoyed the shuffleboard in the basement and the large yard, plus the easy walk to downtown. If you have children that need to be in the same room with you, this is the only space in the hotel for it and it's just a bit cramped, but if you can put your children in a separate room then I recommend any of the spacious separate rooms that are just across the hall.


An amazing and relaxing stay!

5 on June 20, 2013

We had an amazing night at the B&B. We stayed in room #3 which is definitely worth the money with a beautiful bathroom, fire place, very comfortable bed, and many windows. The dual shower heads in the bathroom were icing on the cake. Very professional and friendly staff made the breakfast very nice, and was just what we were looking for in B&B atmosphere. Thank you! -Jared and Krystle


Great little getaway

4.4 on April 21, 2013

Lizz was amazing. We booked only hours before showing up. She decided that since the TV was not 100% she would upgrade us at no cost. The room was great and we had an amazing anniversary! We took an easy walk into town for dinner and drinks. We couldn't of asked for a better stay.


Delightful, Homey and Comfortable

5 on April 13, 2013

My 82-year-old father flew in to Spokane on March 21 to watch my 14-year-old daughter compete in the 2013 Idaho State Gymnastics Championships. We had driven up from Moscow to pick him up and then whisked him over to the Blackwell. Liz was instantly likeable and made us feel at home immediately. The establishment is charming, architecturally facinating, well furnished, and we loved all the fireplaces, large windows, spacious kitchen and dining areas, the rooms and bathrooms. Most importantly, my father was delighted and enchanted with the amenities and the ambiance; my daughter loved the place and really liked Liz; I loved the reasonable price, fabulous location (right near downtown,the lake and the Gymnastics Meet location at N. Idaho College), the charm, the comfort and could not have been more pleased to have both a happy dad and a happy kid. Kudos and I intend to pass on our experience to everyone I know!


Wonderful Inn Keeper and Charming B&B

4.8 on March 13, 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Blackwell Hotel. Liz met and exceeded all of our needs in addition to providing a wealth of information for visiting local establishments. The home was cozy, even in the winter gloom. It was close to downtown restaurants and stores. The shuffle board table with the large screen TV was a bonus. We would definitely stay here again. Airstream Owners - Seattle WA


Superb Stay at Blackwell

5 on February 27, 2013

Finally a place to stay that doesn't feel like a cookie cutter motel experience. The Blackwell was a wonderful stay. The House is very nice old Victorian with plenty of upgrades and elegant little touches to make it stand unique. The beds where super comfortable with feather Duvets and Feather Pillows. Nice sheets and they didn't smell like some one dipped them in horrid fabric softener like many motels. The Property Manager Liz was great. She really took great care of my son and I. Oh Yea and they have a shuffle board table in their basement that we played about 10 games on. Next time we come to town we want to rent the whole place for our group.


Truly amazing experience!

5 on February 22, 2013

My love surprised me with an overnight stay at the Blackwell Hotel for our Valentine's celebration. I cannot say enough how awesome it was! I loved the modern decor mixed with the original old charm. It was a perfect balance. The manager Liz was amazing and it was very apparent that she took a great deal of pride in creating an exceptional experience for their guests. Our room was gorgeous, clean and quiet. Even the sheets smelled incredible! I can't wait to go back!


Loved it!

4.6 on January 06, 2013

We had a great time here. The rooms are beautiful and unique, not something you'd fine in a chain hotel, and yet still affordable. Great service as well! Thanks Liz!


Classic Old School Charm with Comfy Updates

4.6 on December 23, 2012

Great old house with tons of charm good vibe and energy. Detailed nooks and cranny's. It has been updated with very nice touches. I would recommend the Blackwell (cool name too!) to friends and family and you.


What a Surprise!

4.6 on November 05, 2012

My husband surprised me with a birthday "staycation" and it was amazing. We stayed in the room with the firplace and it was very romantic. Everything was really great!


Blackwell Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $250
  • Reviews (28) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2087657799

Visit Website »

View details

Top