Plum Panache Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Their Hospitality Exceeded Our Expectations!

5 on July 01, 2014

Our family stayed with David and Elizabeth while in Ottumwa for our son's wedding. Their hospitality exceeded our expectations and they were a calming force in our hectic schedule. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and appetizers. Elizabeth served a delicious and satisfying breakfast. Their garden space was spectacular and was used for some of the wedding photographs. We highly recommend Plum Panache Bed and Breakfast!


Such a wonderful experience!

5 on October 02, 2013

We traveled through Ottumwa on our way to Omaha and had the opportunity to experience hospitality at it's best at Plum Panache Bed & Breakfast. We were greeted at our car and assisted with our luggage which was such a nice surprise. David and Liz were awesome and made us feel so welcome. We had the whole house to ourselves as they have separate accommodations. We enjoyed raspberry cheesecake with hot chocolate by the outdoor fireplace and listened to music while we played cribbage. What a marvelous evening, peaceful and quiet, lovely gardens to enjoy, candlelight breakfast, everything was top notch. We agreed to make this an annual destination getaway. An incredible value!


Lovely Bed & Breakfast

5 on October 02, 2013

We stayed at Plum Panache Bed & Breakfast in August. We have been there several times in the past 2 years as we find it such a perfect place to stay when we visit our relatives in Ottumwa. Once again we found our experience to be simply wonderful. David and Elizabeth feel like family, they greeted us with hugs and questions about our families and careers. We felt so special that they would remember details we had shared with them previously, they truly care about their guests and it's obvious they love what they do because it shows in every detail of their lovely accommodations. We will be back at Christmas and we're looking forward to their fabulous Christmas decor! Thank-you Klanderman's for another lovely weekend.


We'll Be Back!

5 on July 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had during our stay at Plum Panache! Liz and David were so warm and welcoming, the rooms were beautiful, the food was exactly as we had requested, and the stay was truly a joy! Liz even made a special trip to the grocery store to purchase an item that we are not able to find where we live! Both Liz and David went "above and beyond" to help us during our stay. We will definitely return when we are back in town! Thanks, Klandermans! Ann W. and Roger W.


A Perfect Night Rest

5 on July 18, 2013

As newlyweds, my wife and I (later 50s) decide to explore bed and breakfasts in the region. In the middle of our honeymoon, we stayed at Plum Panache and found a true diamond. We were greeted and warmly welcomed when we arrived and given a choice of 2 suites. Wonderful dining advice for the evening was offerred, and we were advised to return in time for dessert before retiring. A wonderful chocolate torte served with fresh raspberries was served and set the stage for a grand night filled with sweet dreams! A tray of complimentary snack items rested on a buffet in the hallway in the unlikely event a midnight snack was needed. The rooms were beautifully outfitted. The three season room provided the perfect atmosphere for my morning quiet time and reading. The only diversion was the filling of my coffee cup to keep the coffee fresh and hot in my cup. Our vegetarian breakfast consisted of a freshly baked vegetable quiche, perfectly ripe fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices to accompany our coffee. To top it all off, a fresh apple cobbler ensured there was no stopping for meals until dinner! While what I have spoken of would sufficiently ensure a high rating, all this was secondary to the fantastic gregarious nature David and Elizabeth conveyed as proprietors. Within minutes of our arrival, we felt as though we were long lost friends who wanted us to be treated to their very best. They were no longer proprietors, they were ambassadors doing all they could to ensure our stay would be nothing less than perfect. Indeed, our stay was nothing less than perfect! All other bed and breakfasts we had on our trip were now compared to Plum Panache, and none (regardless of expense) measured up to the standard David and Elizabeth created on our stay. In fact, we had barely returned home when the question was raised as to how soon we could return. An excellent stay. Outstanding service. Great ambiance. Genuine servants' hearts. We will certainly be returning!


Retreat for old friends

5 on July 13, 2013

When I was searching for a location to host a party of former colleagues who are dear friends. Liz and David were flexible and welcoming. Some of the guests would be staying the night and some would come for the party. All were welcomed to their gorgeous home and gardens. We were allowed to bring our own food and given access to the kitchen. It felt like home only nicer! The overnight guests enjoyed comfortable beds and a delicious breakfast. The detail in the home's decor was fun and whimsical. Thanks so much for sharing your retreat. Leslie Heemsbergen


the plum scores

5 on July 09, 2013

We decided to give this B&B a try on our way to another destination and found ourselves in a lovely, relaxing home for the evening. Perfect...and we will be back.


Spacious and restful

4.6 on June 24, 2013

My husband and I had a quick get-away and was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful hospitality we experienced. We were greeted warmly and welcomed with a cheese and cracker plate and drinks. We had a large choice of movies to watch and also had a wonderful dessert of strawberry shortcake in the evening. The home was an inviting place to roam around and just take in the beauty of the little creative touches they have done. I loved the outdoors with the gardens and the mirrors and lights. So pretty. The breakfast was delicious and leisurely. We just had a wonderful restful time in this spacious home. Thanks, Liz and Dave


Couldn't get any better

5 on May 14, 2013

My husband, son, and I stayed here for two nights during my brother's wedding festivities. Liz and David were so accommodating, they made us feel right at home. What is different and amazing about this B&B is that Liz and David have a room above the garage they move into during your stay. This privacy was awesome! We were pleasantly surprised by the stunning rooms and scrumptious food. Not only did Liz have an amazing breakfast prepared, but we also were spoiled with wine and cheese in the afternoon and dessert at night. Some of my favorite things about our stay: -Chatting with Liz and David -The fireplaces -The gardens (We can't wait until next time when it's warmer so we can enjoy them!) -The pool table -FOOD! Thank you Liz and David for an amazing weekend, we can't wait to come back and see you again!


Wonderful Experience

5 on May 03, 2013

We spent a day there last year. It was outstanding. Soft bed. Lovely garden. Very nice hosts. House was warm and fuzzy. We will be staying 3 days in the end of May into June. Can't wait to get back there. My name is Janis Boehmer from Omaha, NE.


Get Away Weekend

5 on November 05, 2012

This is a beautiful place! Highly recommended! Elizabeth has thought of every detail and makes you feel as cherished guests! Her decorations, bedroom layout, and food are well thought out. The ambiance of her home is peaceful and serene. Her cooking is simply delicious.


A Perfect Getaway

5 on October 16, 2012

We stayed at Plum Panache for our wedding anniversary on the 13th of October. We always stay at B&B inns when we travel and love the ambiance of the homes. This one however really stood out from the rest. It truly offers an elegant but very comfortable environment. We sat by the fireplace outside and played games, sat by the fireplace in the living room and watched a movie with our dessert, and then we laid in bed and enjoyed another fireplace before we went to sleep in our very lovely room. David and Elizabeth have put a lot of thought into the simple basic comfort items that you would have to pay extra for at a hotel. The food was hearty and delicious, and there was the perfect balance of privacy and yet great conversations with our hosts. After we saw pictures of their Christmas decor, we are planning to bring friends back to enjoy a couple of days just hanging out together in this wonderful home! Thanks again for the amazing hospitality!


Above and Beyond

5 on September 23, 2012

I wholeheartedly echo every single word in the ten reviews before mine. From the moment I placed a telephone call to inquire about vacancy at the Plum Panache to the moment I left, I was thoroughly convinced that Liz and David truly love what they do and it shows in every aspect of their hospitality. I was in Ottumwa for a meeting the following day - not enough time to enjoy the splendor of Plum Panache. The next morning, I learned that my car battery was dead. Without a moment of hesitation, Liz said, "Deb, it will be okay; I have jumper cables and we'll make this work. If it doesn't, then you can just take my car." I was so touched by her enormous generosity and trusting spirit; she reminds me of all that is good about Iowa. In the end, Liz started my car and I was on my way in plenty of time for my meeting. I will never forget this incredible experience. Thank you, Liz and David!


New great friends

5 on August 12, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Liz & David made you feel right at home.


Incredible Experience

5 on August 08, 2012

Dear Liz and David: There should be room for 10 stars because that is what you deserve and then some. Staying at the Plum Panache is like staying in a magical place where everything is perfect, all the time. We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful experience. We have never tasted such delicious meals or been pampered so much. The Inn is so lovely and your decorating took my breath away. We love Gabriel and Dickens so much and already miss them and we've only been home an hour! Thank you for helping us with our house hunting in Ottumwa. Wouldn't that be something if we ended up being neighbors? The Plum Panache is magical place and your service, kindess and attention to us exceeds anything anyone can imagine. We can't wait to come back. John and Cathy Krebs


Wonderful!

5 on August 03, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay! Very warm, inviting, friendly & welcoming. We will return.


A sweet escape

5 on July 30, 2012

I stayed at Plum Panache on the 17th of July, this was my second visit to this beautiful bed and breakfast. My first stay was at Christmas time last year where I was overwhelmed by the amazing Christmas decor in every room of this truly warm and elegant home. My room was spacious and comfy, no detail in amenities was overlooked, and I left feeling like I was part of the family. Beautiful gardens greeted me on my last visit where I was able to accomplish some of my work while sitting outside enjoying strawberry lemonade and freshly baked cookies. David and Elizabeth are so easy going and wonderful hosts. Their breakfasts are beautifully presented by candlelight (even when there is just one of you), and you will never leave hungry as the food is plentiful. Plum Panache will be my choice of stay when I am traveling through southern Iowa, it is by far the best B&B experience I have ever had! Thank you Klanderman's!!


Awesome!!!!!!

5 on May 08, 2012

Three sisters and our 90 year old Mother just returned from our most pleasant B & B stay, to date. We like to take 4day trips and stay at B & B homes. I'm not sure we can top this one. David and Elizabeth are exceptional hosts, and you leave wanting to return soon. You might not be going to Ottumwa, but if you are any where near there, give them a call, you will definitely enjoy.


January 2012 in Ottumwa

5 on January 16, 2012

I have another "P" to add to the Plum Panache and that is PERFECT!!!! We drove up from south of St. Louis to meet our best friends who drove in from Omaha to celebrate my milestone 50th birthday and to participate in the Bridgeview Eagle Walk and stayed from Janury 13th to 15th. Our last B&B exeperience, near the Amana Colonies, made us all a little leary, but needless to say we were all 'wowed' beyond words! The home is beautiful with no detail left to chance. But, let me say, even though the home abounds in beauty and elegance it is still warm and comfortable making one feel welcome and at home. David and Elizabeth were the perfect hosts. Our conversations were all interesting and insightful. Even their two soft and cuddly Bischons, Gabriel and Dickens, make one feel welcome and at ease. The breakfasts were simply delicious! Wine and cheese along with a dessert were offered up every evening. If one leaves here unhappy for any reason it is their own fault. I think we will have a hard time finding another B&B to compare to this one. It is truly one that other B&Bs should be measured against and should strive to emulate. David and Elizabeth: Your Plum Panache is perfect in every way and thank you for a wonderful January weekend for four friends to remember!


Business Trip

4.8 on December 08, 2011

I had a wonderful experience while traveling to Ottumwa for a business trip. Such kind host and hostess, and all the amenities! I was impressed, the bathroom even had extras in case I forgot anything...even glasses cleaners. Charming rooms and decor, very comfortable. Bonus they let me use their laptop and printer to print the documents I had forgotten at home...such a timesaver!


Three Cousins Will Return

4.0 on November 18, 2011

Hi Elizabeth and David, Thanks a bunch. I can’t say enough good about your Plum Panache B & B. The hospitality was as wonderful as the name is great. From beginning to end, the décor was perfect – something unexpected and beautiful at every turn. The food was plentiful and scrumptious. Beds and other accommodations were immaculate and comfy. The sun room’s large table allowed plenty of space to spread out our genealogy materials to work and visit. Plentiful windows overlooking primarily hosta and rose gardens, invited sunshine in - the ambience was spirit lifting. The evening in the large pavilion, chatting by the roaring fire in the huge stone fireplace, enjoying cookies and drinks, refreshed us after a long day of searching and researching. We were pampered. No longer having family in Ottumwa, we found a new home (Plum Panache), new family (the 3 cousins and spouses) and new friends (David and Elizabeth). It is difficult waiting until our next return in mid September, 2012. Bless you, jan


A Memorable Experience!

5 on November 15, 2011

Hi Elizabeth and David, many thanks for everything you did to make our stay with you so exceptional. You are Super-Hosts! Your decor is so inviting and comfortable; thank you so much for making us feel like VIPs while we stayed in your beautiful home. Best wishes for a successful Christmas tour (just love the Dicken's Village!) If all goes well, we cousins look forward to staying with you again for our 2012 reunion!


Visiting with Friends

4.4 on September 20, 2011

We stayed at Plum Panache this past weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Scrumptious breakfasts, clean and comfortable rooms, and great host/hostess. If you need to be in Ottumwa, stay here. Lower price than the hotel chains, and way more fun. Matt Taylor


What an experience !!!

5 on September 13, 2011

Dear David and Elizabeth, A quick note to thank you both for introducing us to the uniqueness of a B&B. We could not be more satisfied with the time we spent in your beautiful home. We immediately felt welcome !! Bravo to you for your lovely gardens, home decor and the fabulous dining you presented to us. Rick and I are so excited about visiting you again. We both agree that the experience at your home was one of the best evenings we have spent while travelling. I highly recommend the experience to anyone that visits the Ottumwa area. Hope to see you soon and let me know about any future plans for events at your B&B...count us in !!! Sincerely, A Huge Plum Panache Fan !!! (a/k/a Coleen) p.s. The home-made strawberry shortcake was divine !!!


Truly a panache!

5 on August 13, 2011

This place is incredible and comes with very gracious hospitality. Every room is delightfully decorated with a breathtaking surprise around every corner.


Delightful Stay at Plum Panache

4.0 on July 16, 2011

We were just delighted with our recent stay at your beautiful B&B. You were recommened to us by some friends, and we were not disappointed. We flew to Iowa from our home in North Carolina because of my father's illness. Your hospitality was warm and inviting and we felt very relaxed in your lovely decorated home. Our room was clean and the food was delicious. Many thanks to the chef! Larry and Marie, Sanford, NC


Plum Panache Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $90
  • Reviews (26) 4.9
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6418149205
  • Mobile 1-6412080365

Visit Website »

View details

Top