Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Services5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

Weekend away

5 on November 24, 2013

My Husband and I had the privledge to stay at Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms. It was a very cold weekend but so nice and warm on the inside.The rooms are just beautiful.It was a great treat. If you are looking for a very special get away. Check it out you will not be disappointed.


Friendly

4.6 on August 13, 2013

The host and hostesses were awesome. She gave me the name of her beautiful peony bushes and the product she used to finish her wood floors with. Enjoyed chatting with them also about breeding black Herefords.


Great Beginnings

5 on July 25, 2013

My husband and I started our 20th anniversary trip at Miss Spenser's. The setting is casual elegance and the service is outstanding! Donna and her daughter Spenser are wonderful hostesses. They accommodated our special dietary needs without blinking an eye. We wish that we lived closer so that we could visit more often. You definitely want to include a stop at Miss Spenser's of Longview Farm on your next trip.


City Kids Get Away

5 on July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I are always glued to our electronics and decided to checkout for a weekend. What a wonderful experience we had at Miss Spenser's; I didn't want to leave! Donna and Spenser were lovely hostesses, and the breakfast was absolutely delightful every morning. This is a must stop on your trip. You won't find better.


You will want to return again and again.

5 on July 08, 2013

Donna and Spenser must really love what they do because they made my husband and I feel so welcome. It was obvious that between the room and the tearoom and food that it is a labor of love. You won't find better.


A Great Get Away!

5 on November 19, 2012

My husband and I had an opportunity to get away from our very busy and hectic life! This was just what we needed! It was relaxing and peaceful! Charming and Cozy! Breakfast was Wonderful! I'd recommend it to anyone!! Can't wait to return!


Californians go to Iowa

5 on October 19, 2012

We are urban Californians who have now made four visits to Iowa. Why? For the small town experience, the leaves changing and the people. All of these goals were more than met when we spent three nights (October 13-15, 2012) at Longview Farms. We had the Room With a View but it is more a house than a room. The whole second floor; living room, dining area, and bedroom. The rooms are spacious; the bed was extremely comfortable.. The B&B is brand new and beautifully done. Donna and Spenser brought breakfast to us each morning. Not just the usual eggs, fruit, meats and coffee (brewed in our room by them) but fabulous pastries that they made. Although we were only 30+ minutes from Des Moines, we were definitely in the country -- which means quiet with views of the countryside. The gravel road may have been two miles but it didn't seem so given the quality of the road and the beautiful scenery.Would we return? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend this? Absolutely.


B&B Review

5 on October 16, 2012

The Garden Room was beautiful. Having tea and snacks upon arrival was wonderful after a long day of traveling. The bed was very comfortable and it was so quiet. It was the perfect start to a cousin weekend get-together. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality. Shari, Huron, South Dakota


An anniversary to remember

5 on August 24, 2012

As my husband put it "Our Room with a View was a 'Peak at Heaven'. Every corner a new discovery!!" Afternoon Tea when we arrived was a joy, even for a retired Navy S.E.A.L.!!!! Can't say enough Lynne & Peter Roers


One of the Best

5 on August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Longview Farms B&B this past week for 2 nights. We were both so amazed by the size, the cleanliness, the beauty and comfort of our suite. It was beyond any expectation we had. The hospitality of Donna and Spenser was also above expectations. The snacks and breakfasts were hearty, delicious and beautifully presented at the perfect temperatures. We hope to go back soon. It is one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. We have not found one even close to compare at this value.


Totally Delightful Stay

5 on August 11, 2012

One night at this delightful B&B just wasn't enough. Tea in the afternoon and a comfy, cozy room were just perfect!


Lady Donna & Miss Spenser

5 on August 10, 2012

A gracious and charming set of rooms. They pay special attention to all the amenities of a hostess, making you feel so special.


A relaxing escape

5 on August 03, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Longview Farms. The room was beautiful and relaxing, the innkeepers very kind and hospitable, and the breakfasts excellent! We plan to return to this peaceful escape.


Best Date Night Ever

5 on July 25, 2012

We were in the area with family and decided to have a romantic get away before going home. It was the best place ever to stay. Quite ,clean, and the best food around. We will be going back again.


Elegant and Relaxing

5 on June 02, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Miss Spenser's B&B for our anniversary. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway. What we received was so much more. Our hosts, the Hardins, were overwhelmingly accommodating. They welcomed us with homemade cookies and an extremely exquisite and very elegant bedroom suite. Donna and her daughter, Spenser, were very polite and always available for any of our needs. Yet they were very respectful of our private time and were never a bother. The breakfasts were superb, and our entire stay was very relaxing and peaceful. We stayed in the suite, and they allowed us to view the Garden View room as well. My wife and I agreed if the suite was unavailable, we would gladly stay in the smaller, but very nice, Garden View room. The suite is divided up into 3 separate, but open to each other areas: bedroom and bathroom, kitchenette with dining and sitting area, and living area with TV and fireplace. Each of which is very elegantly decorated and made for relaxing. The quiet, off-the-main-highway location of this B&B is what helps to make this place so appealing. There is no traffic to be heard. Yet, shopping and dining is only 30 minutes away to Des Moines, or less than that if you are satisfied with the smaller Indianola. Or, one may simply choose to come prepared to make a few small meals (there is a large dorm-sized refrigerator and microwave) and stay in for quiet, all-day relaxation. If you're looking for a quiet, elegant B&B with some of the most accommodating hosts you'll ever find, this is the place for you. My wife and I are already looking forward to our next stay.


Wonderful B&B

5 on May 31, 2012

My granddaughter and I had a most wonderful stay in the Garden Room. It was very nicely decorated and especially clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable, towels very soft,food absolutely wonderful! We enjoyed the large choice of movies to watch and also played with the cards/games provided. Miss Spenser's hospitality was exceptional and she provided for our every need. The B&B was a little drive off Highway 35, but well worth it. Highly recommend.


Delightfully Refreshing!

5 on March 27, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Miss Spencer's per the recommendation of a friend. My desire was too treat my wife to a little get-away from the ordinary. In making our way to Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms I had no idea we would be transported to an authentic English Tea Room, Garden, and countryside, in rural Iowa! Never before have we stayed in such an attractive, peaceful, and refreshing bed and breakfast. Our room was crisp and clean, the great variety of tea was wonderful, the food exquisite, the atmosphere warm, and the hospitality amazing. The only regret was that we could not stay an additional evening. Not only do we plan to return but my wife is making plans to treat our daughters to special visits to the Tea Room. If you enjoy feeling rejuvenated, refreshed, and renewed you will absolutely want to make plans for a visit!! Thank you Miss Spencer (& Mrs. Hardin) for making our trip so special!


Absolutely Superb! You Have To Stay Here!

5 on February 25, 2012

We recently spent the weekend with the Hardins and we loved it! The suite was really beautiful, spacious and even had a little kitchen with snacks, tea/coffee and a microwave and mini fridge. It had the comfiest couch to lounge on while reading a book or watching a movie. Donna and Spenser were very friendly and available. The breakfasts were amazing!!! And very romantic in front of the fireplace. Way too much food but delicious! It's not especially close to any city attractions, but if you're looking for a romantic weekend in with your special someone, this is perfect. We are definitely going back.


Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $165
  • Reviews (18) 5.0
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6413421547

Visit Website »

View details

Top