Charlie and Jane's Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Best hosts ever!

5 on July 10, 2014

I came to Mt. Ayr knowing nobody, to do some family history research. The Lawheads made me feel like family immediately! The room was clean and comfortable, with lots of lots of neat details in both the decorating and the service. The food was awesome, from the fabulous pancakes (winner of a seven-recipe family taste test) to the wild plum jelly and yummy fresh fruit. It also was great that they had a collection of local history books right at the house, not to mention knowing the library's collection (and the librarians.) Hope to come back soon!


B&B Jewel in a Beautiful Iowa Small Town

5 on June 25, 2014

Charlie and Jane's Bed and Breakfast is a perfect place for a relaxing and restful stay in Mt. Ayr, IA. Mt. Ayr itself is a jewel of a small town that has stubbornly withstood the economic turmoil that has ravaged many of America's rural small towns. The Bed and Breakfast is set in a beautiful neighborhood just off the town square. The house is gorgeous. Collus and Jane Lawhead are wonderfully nice owners and perfectly reflect rural American decency that makes Mt. Ayr what it is. They have very clean and well appointed rooms for their guests which allow for a comfortable and quiet restful stay. Plus you cannot miss their breakfasts. Perfectly prepared with recipes that are family heirlooms. My wife and I are looking forward to our next stay. It can't come too soon!


Fun and relaxing

4.2 on March 19, 2014

Friendly host and hostess providing great food and very accommodating.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast!


Made us converts!!!!

5 on November 11, 2013

Best place ever. Breakfasts to wake up early for. Chatter in the kitchen. Stress relievers to pet. And do ask about the bed selection process. You will keep coming back.


Anita and Art's stay

5 on October 08, 2013

The room was perfect the breakfast delicous


Fantastic place to stay

4.4 on September 28, 2013

I was in Ringgold county for a work project and Charlie and Jane's was the perfect spot to "come home to" after a long day...especially since the job was supposed to take 2 full days to complete (meaning I only booked one night) but ended up taking longer and they were able to take me in for another night on short notice (as in I just showed up on their doorstep, exhausted and stressed out and they welcomed me in with absolute graciousness). The bed and room were very comfortable (I stayed in the Rhodes suite) and the breakfasts, which were vegetarian friendly per my request, were delicious. I really enjoyed my stay and recommend Charlie and Jane's to travelers looking for a homey place to enjoy Midwestern hospitality.


Enjoyed our stay at Charlie and Jane's

4.4 on August 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Charlie and Jane's very much. We were treated just like family. Great breakfast.


Reunion 1963

5 on June 01, 2013

Completely pleased with hospitality and service. They made us feel at home and we had a wonderful stay. Would recommend to anyone. The breakfasts were amazing.


wonderful!

5 on December 17, 2012

Lovely home and hosts, great value for the price. The countryside surrounding the town is beautiful. It was the exact getaway we needed!


Excellent Hospitality and Fantastic Breakfast

5 on October 17, 2012

We had a wonderful overnite stay, we were very pleased and would go back again. We will also recommend to others! Thank you, Jane!


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.8 on July 12, 2012

Mt. ayr is a very loving community that takes pride in their town. The stay was wonderful and we really enjoyed the huge bathroom and window air conditioner in the 100 degree weather outside. The breakfasts were to die for We found the down town to be a fun place to shop The only draw backs is that everything closes by 4 pm with the exception of a couple of places.


Wonderful peaceful place

5 on June 15, 2012

As others have noted, the hosts couldn't be any more charming and helpful. The house is a delightful throwback to a simpler time. I enjoyed relaxing on the porch in the morning and listening to the crickets as I fell asleep. Breakfasts were wonderful. Doesn't get any better than this.


AMAZING

5 on September 25, 2011

I stayed at Charlie and Jane's with two friends this past weekend for a wedding. It was absolutely FANTASTIC, and I know that their hospitality MADE the weekend for all of us. The food was fabulous, Charlie and Jane were both incredibly friendly, helpful, and fun, and their two cats (Jasmine and Reeses) were also a nice addition. If you're ever in Mt Ayr, or anywhere in the area, I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It's worth even driving a bit out of your way for, and the small town of Mt. Ayr is equally charming.


Welcoming and relaxing get away!

5 on November 03, 2010

This was a great rural B&B. The owners take care to see that you have all that you need. They even ask you what you wish to have for breakfast. They know the area and help you find shopping and entertainment.


Trip back in Time

4.8 on September 01, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Charlie and Jane's. Our hostess made a great breakfast exactly to our liking and even gave us a snack bag to take along on our trip. Loved sitting on the porch, being able to walk downtown. It was a little vacation spent back in time. Wonderful time. Very nice and friendly couple. Rates were not out of line and were even a little better than I expected.


our first vacation

5 on May 03, 2010

We stayed in the suite and what a wonderful time we had. The breakfasts were out of this world...something different every morning. They know the history of the county and recommended places for us to see. We highly recommend them. They are a wonderful friendly couple. Thank you for everything we really enjoyed our stay in your wonderful town.


A most delightful respite in Iowa.

5 on August 13, 2009

The room was beautifully furnished and very large with thick beautiful towels and lovely linens. All the comforts of home. The breakfast was enormous and all the left-overs were sent along with me. I loved my stay! Thank you so much.


Wonderful

5 on August 10, 2009

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but had heard how terrific they were. Charlie and Jane's exceeded our expectations. The hospitality was fantastic as well as the food. Thank you so much, we will definately be back!! Thanks


charlie and jane b&b

5 on June 06, 2009

we have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, and after this experiance, we will definately be back! they have a very clean and welcoming home! everything about this place (inside and out) was amazing! i have zero complaints! they are very charming and friendly people that made us feel very comfortable from the moment we pulled in the driveway to the moment we got back in the car to go home. we will be back! thanks guys! for everything! (lacey and christi)


Charlie and Jane's

Details

  • Nightly Rate $55 - $85
  • Reviews (19) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6414642564

Visit Website »

View details

Top