Recent Reviews in Huron, Ohio

Wonderful place to stay! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of days and it was just what need needed. Our stay was relaxing and calm. What a beautiful house! The food was great, Nancy made us feel very welcome. We will be back. If you want a beautiful, charming get away this is the place to be! Dan & Gay Hoermle

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway on Lake Erie! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on February 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed at Captain Montague's last evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary! I have stayed at two B&B's before and was very disappointed both times. You will NOT be disappointed when you stay at Captain Montague's. The house is absolutely gorgeous with beautiful decorations and antiques. We stayed in the "Anniversary Suite". It is just stunning with a beautiful fireplace and great private bathroom. The owner is just so sweet and kind. You can tell she takes pride in her home and treats her guests as family. She made us a delicious Valentine's Day breakfast this morning and we sat next to a beautiful windows and enjoyed a picture perfect winter view out the window. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. I can't wait to stay there again. It was so comfortable and welcoming that I didn't want to leave this morning. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Carolee Brunken

View more reviews for this inn


A PLACE TO REMEMBER at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2015

My husband chose Captain Montague's as a surprise to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My first thought upon arrival was WOW! Captain Montague's is beautiful!!! We were in awe of the size, landscaping, decor and cleanliness of the home. We were greeted by Nancy who was very warm but professional. We felt very comfortable. We stayed in the "Jenny" which is the anniversary suite. The room included a fireplace and a celebrity style bathroom....it was perfect! Breakfast was SERVED at 9 am and I have never tasted anything as good as Nancy's fresh baked "monkey bread". We truly felt pampered and refreshed after just 1 night. So grateful! We will be loyal guests.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic stay at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on September 01, 2015

First of all we weren't supposed to be there at all. I called a B&B in Sandusky but they were going out of town and when I asked for a recommendation they immediately said 'Captain Montague' in Huron. So I called and spoke to Nancy and made our last minute reservation. She was more than happy to meet us there 2 hours before the normal check in time. It's a very clean and well maintained home and she was more than happy to show us around and answer out questions. We stayed in Sarah's Room and it was very clean, quiet and complete with an ensuite bath with tremendous water pressure. And the bed! Wow! We slept the sleep of the dead, waking refreshed and ready to take on Cedar Point. There's a sign there that says "Arrive a guest, leave a friend" and I like to think we did just that. Great people and a great place. You can't go wrong.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2014

We could not have asked for a better time. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. What a great experience! Judy, our hostess, was pleasant, had great stories, and quite knowledgable. The accommodations were comfortable and relaxing. Cannot wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Get Away!! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2014

We have stayed at Captain Montagues many times and were there again just this past weekend. We went with two other couples and it was so relaxing and we had such a good time!! The innkeeper, Judy is a wonderful hostess. The rooms are all so quaint and clean and the breakfast is very delicious!! Give this bed and breakfast a try. You will be so glad that you did!! Cheryl

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2014

Judy is one of the most friendly and gracious B& B owner we have ever stayed with. Her home is beautiful, immaculate and in a great location. We loved the pool area and the common areas of the house. Our room was tastefully decorated, and the Irish theme was prevalent throughout the house. What a great home and a truly wonderful experience. Sincerely, Aaron and Cheryl

View more reviews for this inn


Wish we could have stayed longer at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on August 19, 2014

Captain Montague's has location, history and a wonderful host. It is within easy walking distance to the Huron yacht basin and has easy access to the highway to reach the main attractions in the Lake Erie Vacationland area. Each of the rooms has it's own character and is spacious. The breakfasts are delicious and filling. The home originally belonged to a sea captain and the owner is a wealth of information not only on it but also the area. She truly makes you feel at home.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful Irish home in Huron, Ohio. at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2014

As experienced visitors to bed and breakfasts we were delighted to find a piece of Ireland in Huron. Captain Montagues is the most beautiful b and b we have ever visited. The hostess, Judy, is delightful and a great source of knowledge about the surrounding vacationland. The food was wonderful and the other guests very friendly.We are sure you will be as delighted as we were with the Captain's. Paul and Joan B.

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2014

We only had one night to spend at Captain Montague's B&B but it was awesome. We were warmly greeted by Judy when we arrived in the afternoon. After checking in we had a little tour and a bit of history. We asked for suggestions for places to eat, hike and shop. We followed her suggestions and were so happy that we did. Our room was just beautiful as was the rest of the house. It is such a peaceful and calm retreat. Breakfast was delicious. There were snacks available and a wonderful choice of teas. It was just so nice to get away to such a welcoming place. I can't think of anything else that Judy could have done to make it better. I highly recommend Captain Montague's, you will love it. Thank you, Judy for a great stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2014

What a great place to spend a special anniversary or event. Comfortable with lots of history and a great hostess. Thanks Judy!

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2014

Was a getaway for our Anniversary and was perfect. Judy is an awesome hostess and breakfast was delicious!! Definitely would love to go back!!

View more reviews for this inn


A trip to remember at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2013

Our stay was absolutely perfect. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything exceeded expectations. Judy and Mike were so kind and welcoming and the home was gorgeous. Judy served up an amazing breakfast for us and her and Mike treated us so wonderfully. As first time B&Br's we were blown away by the hospitality and the accomodations. What a perfect place to celebrate our engagement. I look forward to our next visit and can't wait to go back! Thank you so much Judy and Mike for everything! Michael and the future Allison Cassandra

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place to unwind and relax at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 15, 2013

We just returned from Captain Montagues. This was our sixth year in a row that we have gone to this wonderful B & B. We join three other couples each year to just relax and unwind. Judy and Mike are wonderful hosts and are very accommodating. They go out of their way to make sure that everyone is having a good time. The rooms are so comfy and immaculate and the breakfast is absolutely delicious. If you are looking for a place for a special occasion or just looking for a getaway this is your place. I highly recommend it!! Cheryl P.

View more reviews for this inn


A relaxing weekend at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2013

Our weekend was originally planned around a culinary excursion to Chez Francois in Vermilion, OH. We learned about Captain Montague's from the restaurant's website, & so we decided to stay there. We were not disappointed. Judy & Mike are marvelous hosts who made us feel welcome from the moment we entered their lovely home. Breakfast was such fun conversing with the other guests, & Judy whipped up some great treats. Highly recommended is her Peach French Toast...to die for!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home with views and charm at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

3.8 reviewed on August 25, 2013

We visited Huron for our wedding anniversary. We wanted something on the lake, but away from some of the hustle-and-bustle of Catawba/Put-in-Bay area. Captain Montague's was a wonderful find. The innkeepers are knowledgeable and so very helpful -- helping us find just the type of activities of interest and putting us in touch with wonderful places to eat and visit. The home is a showcase. That said, it's also approachable and welcoming, as are the innkeepers and guests. We'll be coming back here!

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we wanted at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Captain Montague's Bed & Breakfast. The hosts, Michael & Judy, were very welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay just what we wanted. Judy went out of her way to provide a somewhat specialized diet for me each morning, and one day when we wanted to get a very early start, she had a breakfast ready and waiting for us in the fridge. The hosts also went out of their way to provide information about the surrounding area and the attractions we would most likely want to see, based on information we provided about our interests. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The home is situated within easy walking distance of a city park, the lighthouse, library, and eating establishments. Judy provided us with a brochure describing the history of several homes in the historic district (their house is one of the homes on the tour) and we enjoyed an evening of walking in the neighborhood and reading about the homes we were seeing. All in all, this B&B was one of the most enjoyable we have stayed in, and we would definitely recommend it to others

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2013

This was the first stop on my retirement celebration and it was perfect! Mike and Judy were so friendly and fun! Relaxed by the pool, visited a local riverfront restaurant, walked to the lighthouse, but really enjoyed visiting with the other guests and our wonderful hosts. Huron is a great place to visit and Mike and Judy's B & B is beautiful and welcoming!

View more reviews for this inn


Decond stay at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2013

We just had our second stay at Captain Montague's and enjoyed another great time. The location is great for an after dinner walk. Live music at the amphitheater on the river is only a couple minutes away and Judy and Mike are great people. The house is lovely and breakfast is always a treat.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back!! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2013

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. We were delighted with our beautiful room and the yummy breakfast. Judy and Mike made us feel right at home in their gorgeous home. We would definitely recommend Captain Montague's to anyone planning a visit to Lake Erie.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Lake Getaway at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on June 22, 2013

What a wonderful experience at the "Captain". Our room, the Molly, was elegant and charming. The breakfast Judy and Mike prepared was absolutely delicious. The whole experience went beyond our expectations. Excellent!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Wonderful at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 14, 2013

Captain Montague's Bed and Breakfast was the perfect way for my wife and Ito spend our second anniversary. Judy and Mike were such gracious hosts, so accommodating and friendly, and the home is just lovely. My wife and I were only away for one night and felt as though we had at least an extended weekend stay. I truly can't express how special our anniversary was made because of our choice to stay here. Simply wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place for a girls' getaway weekend! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2013

We stayed at this lovely home for just one night and none of us wanted to leave. We have already booked our next 2-night stay. The home and grounds are gorgeous, the owners, Judy and Mike were wonderful, and the memories will last a lifetime. We had planned on going out to dinner in the evening, but once we got there, we decided to just order a pizza and hang out in the parlor all evening. The rooms were lovely, each with their own private bathroom. Just a really beautiful home with so much character. Thanks, Judy and Mike for welcoming us. We'll definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Girls' Weekend at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2013

Fabulous setting! Wonderful rooms and food. Innkeepers are very hospitable. Enjoyed a girls/ weekend celebrating a 60th birthday. Innkeepers were very helpful in suggesting and arranging activities. Couldn'g have asked for a better experience!

View more reviews for this inn


A "slam dunk" decision! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2013

Perfect place to stay when enjoying the local sites and restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


super great at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2012

great location, quiet and beautiful

View more reviews for this inn


Our season ending getaway by Herbie and the Alien at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 15, 2012

My first impression from the outside was "What an elegant place." When we got inside we were overwhelmed by the the 18th century charm . Try and miss the Celtic accents. I dare you . Magnificent! The sitting room was bright and elegantly furnished as well with beautiful period antiques. We stayed on the second floor in Edith's room, named after the daughter of the celebrity Captain. It was decked out in yellow which was her favorite colour. Furnishings included a nice comfortable double bed, reading chairs and other period appointments and furnishings. Our full bath was private with a walk in shower. Downstairs for the tour of the guest accessible areas which include a formal dining room, room on the left after the sitting room that can accomodate 16 comfortably. A fully equipped kitchen if you are in the mood to prepare meals other than the fantastic gourmet breakfasts offered by our wonderful hosts. Three coffee makers, One for tea, regular and decaf. (pay heed, our host likes her decaf nice and strong) the long hall which contains hundreds of books for reading, puzzels, games and the like to pass the time on those drearier days when exploring is not a good option. The drawing romm included cushy overstuffed sofas, chairs and other period furnishings with the exception of the television. LOL. All within 25 minutes nearby are the cities of Vermillion, Sandusky, Port Clinton and of course the islands. Each have their own pleasing attractions restaurants and shops. Of course we visited them all. We discovered that this was an excellent time of year to experience this part of Ohio. What a wonderfull B&B. What a pleasant stay. Lots to do or not. Leisure was the agenda this stay. We will be back .

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2012

Judy and Mike are wonderful hosts. We felt right at home as soon as we got to Captain Montague's. It's a very beautiful home in a great location close to some beaches, little towns, and Sandusky. Compared to other breakfasts we've had at other inns, Captain Montague's was top-notch! We would recommend it to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Super clean, delightful breakfasts and awesomely relaxing at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on September 01, 2012

Great B&B for Cedar Point stay, boating weekends or relaxing. Wife and I came to reconnect after long deployment. We throughly relaxed, enjoyed and explored Capt Monague, Huron, Toft's ice cream, Cedar Point, Tiffon Crystal Works and Tann's super hospitality, great Restraunt recommendations and conversations. Definate for future long weekends

View more reviews for this inn


Just like home - only better! at Captain Montague's (Huron, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2012

My sister and myself wanted a mini get away from the normal hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. We were so glad we chose Captain Montague's to do so. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were greeted by Mike and Judy who took the time to give us a little tour and some history of the Bed and Breakfast. The atmosphere and decoration took us to another time and place. We felt like we had been transported to a different era. We stayed in the Captain's room, which was so cozy. Even the roll away bed was comfortable. Mike and Judy are the perfect hosts. They were so friendly, yet also let us have our own space to make us comfortable. We felt quite at home as we went about our business, yet felt as though we belonged while we were able to play several card games in their spacious dining room. Judy was very accommodating as she inquired about special needs and had gluten free bread ready available for dietary needs. The only bad thing about Captain Montague's is that you don't want to leave when it is time to go! I am sure this will not be our last stay there. Thank you Mike and Judy for your kindness and hospitality. You were better than outstanding

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Captain Montague's (4.75)
Top
}