Recent Reviews in Huntington, Texas

Wonderful and educational at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

3.8 reviewed on August 23, 2016

The stay was very nice. It was interesting to learn about the area. We could feel the TLC.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Away at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on December 08, 2015

Wonderful property to escape for a few days. Rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast, awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


25th anniversary getaway at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on December 29, 2013

It was perfect! I wanted to surprise my husband with something out of our ordinary and had a little of what we both liked. I love older homes with history (check - plenty of that) and he loves seclusion and fishing (another check - plenty of that). We took advantage of the option of dinning in that evening and our B&B host (who is by the way a legit chef) cooked us one of the best meals my husband and I have eaten. We are still talking about that steak and tilapia! Definetly would recommend and am planning on going back myself!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Perfect at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2013

I could not have been happier. This trip was planned so I could propose to my now fiancee and the weekend went perfectly. Brice suggested a private dinner for two the night we arrived and the food was exquisite. The house, the room, the grounds and the scenery were simply beautiful Brice went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of, including a dozen roses at dinner for my fiancee. We will definitely be going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazingly Excited. at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2013

I was very happy to find that there was such a great place in East Texas for Weddings and Family Reunions. It is very well kept and I will continue to recommend it to everyone I know.

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Getaway at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on January 01, 2013

Easily the nicest B&B I've encountered. Secluded location, exceptional service, great food and an amazing historic house. Rodney and Julianne are gracious and share a wealth of interesting history about the house. We'll be back in the Spring to enjoy again in warmer weather. Visit the forestry museum in Lufkin to really understand the history of the area and this house. David

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Inn at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2012

If you want a relaxing and quiet getaway, this is the place to stay. The inn is beatifully decorated, and the innkeepers are very gracious and hospitable. The food was absolutely amazing. We will definitely visit the Texas Forest Country Retreat if we are in the Piney Woods area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Reminisce, Relax, and Rejuvenate at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2012

What a wonderful way to wrap up 2011 and greet 2012. We stayed in the Miss Ruby room. We roamed the ruins of the sawmill town of Manning, where my father-in-law was born and lived with his family until the sawmill burned. We had fabulous accommodations and delicious breakfasts. Our hosts, Judy and Rodney, saw to our every need. We had a bonus visit with Bob on Saturday morning. It was great to be able to hear and read some of the history of Manning and the sawmill days.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical surprise at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2011

Myself and my wife booked this B&B at very short notice on 16th Dec. We arrived 2 hours later. Rodney (the proprietor) was there waiting for us and made us very welcome. We decided to stay in the Stephen F Austin room which was very charming and comfortable. The house is really beautiful, built in the early 1900's, very well restored and has lots of character. We woke up the next morning to a fantastic breakfast cooked by Rodney's wife, Judy. We had the best French toast ever. We didn't have to eat again until evening! Rodney and Judy sat with us while we ate breakfast. It was only at this stage that we learned we were actually staying in the only remaining house in the former sawmill town of Manning, which at one stage back in the 1920s had been home to approximately 1500 people. We didn't for one second consider this when we looked out our window in the morning and saw that there was nothing else around us!! We walked down to the old mill pond and to the ruins of the old saw mill. What started out as a very pleasant stay in a beautiful old house also turned into a very interesting history lesson. If you are interested in getting away to a lovely old house in very quiet, tranquil and historic surroundings, then you can't go wrong by staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Country Oasis! at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2011

My husband just got back from a year long deployment in Afghanistan and I wanted to surprise him with a calm getaway and to keep everything going on in the world at bay. Texas Forest Country Retreat did all that and so much more. This B&B is one of the most beautiful places we've ever seen; charming, well-preserved, and absolutely stunning. Rodney and Judy were extremely hospitable, humble, and such great hosts. And holy French Toast! Indescribable. We have been many places and have very high standards when it comes to traveling. This experience was beyond what we were looking for. Thank you for making this the perfect retreat my husband deserved and for creating a special weekend after a very long year away.

View more reviews for this inn


"Were you at Manning?" at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2011

This was one of the best places we have ever visited. If you want to "get away from it all", this is the place. If you want to discover some history about an almost forgotten town, this is the place. If you want to eat THE best French Toast that has ever been made, this is the place. We loved staying in the "mansion" and felt like we were home. I recommend a hike to the sawmill ruins and reading about the history of Manning while you visit. Rodney and Judy are the perfect hosts and really add to the visit here. Me and my wife loved talking with them and look forward to return trips. They even sent us home with some banana bread! How cool is that? This place is truly a jewel!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway! at Texas Forest Country Retreat (Huntington, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2011

My wife and I stayed over the Labor Day weekend and we had a fantastic time! The retreat is in a beautiful part of east Texas that is very secluded and private, yet only about 20 minutes outside of the town of Lufkin, which has restaurants and stores. The owners, Judy and her husband, Rodney, were very helpful and extremely sweet throughout our stay. They were able to give us restaurant recommendations and recommendations on what to do in the area. The french toast served for breakfast is OUTSTANDING! It's the best I have ever had and you will be full until at least dinnertime, so bring your appetite. The house itself is very well restored and decorated, very clean, well kept and spacious. We were greeted with fresh iced tea, lemonade, pecan rolls and fried pies in the kitchen when we arrived. We stayed in the Whipporwill suite, which was very comfortable and had a private balcony overlooking the front yard. The bed itself was very comfortable and my wife and I were able to get 9 hours of sleep during the night, which we rarely get in the city! We would definitely recommend the Texas Forest Country Retreat to friends and can't wait until we can get back for a stay! Thanks again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Texas Forest Country Retreat (4.77)
Top
}