Recent Reviews in Houston, Texas

Love this place at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

I love the spirit about this place and will stay here again. For a bit of constructive criticism, I did have issues with wifi. The speed was so slow.It was difficult to have any page load in a timely manner and streaming was impossible. I did not have a chance to speak with the owner/manager about this. Maybe it was just the particular day I was there.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful time at Silver Sycamore (Pasadena, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

I took my sister here for her bachelorette evening. We rented two of the tiny house cabins with a few girls and it was a delightful experience in a spectacularly crafted setting topped off with a scrumptious breakfast in the morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis in Midtown at La Maison in Midtown an urban bed and breakfast (Houston, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 07, 2016

Genora and Sharon are gracious hosts. This is a purpose built B&B with large rooms, comfortable sitting areas and great breakfast area. The location is very convenient and within walking distance to everything in Midtown. Clean, comfortable and inviting. Highly recommended over any hotel in downtown.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2016

Awesome in every way. Great staff, great breakfast, great location and great value for the price!

View more reviews for this inn


Modern B & B Houston at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 16, 2016

Wonderful stay. The room was beautiful; and Lisa and Dinora were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included which was great. Eggs are made to order. Also wine and snacks are provided in the late afternoon.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect base for a Houston visit at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 12, 2016

My goodness, how lucky was I to find this fantastic accommodation for my first time visiting Houston (and Texas). It has the perfect mix of a B&B and a serviced apartment. Denora welcomed me warmly on my arrival - it wasn't a busy time so I was upgraded to a room with a private bathroom (as opposed to a shared bath) which was enormously appreciated. There was also a care package in the room itself and I was given a full rundown on the house and the surroundings. It's a great facility, with a kitchen for the use of guests if required, a large shared living space and then a separate kitchen and dining area for breakfasts. My room was huge, and the bed was incredibly comfortable - after a 15 hour flight from New Zealand, it was perfect. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean as is the bathroom, there is free wi-fi and plenty of power points (not always something you find at B&B's/apartments) The breakfast is mainly continental but Roxanne in the kitchen also makes eggs to order - I had some delicious omelettes in my three night stay. She also gave me some great tips on where to eat in the surrounding area. I also met Lisa during breakfast who was a wonderful and exuberant host and she helped break the ice amongst the guests at the breakfast table. The location of the Modern is very close to both the Rothko Chapel and the Menil Collection - in walking distance about 15 minutes. The Museum District is also walkable if you have energy (about 45 minutes). I didn't have a car for this visit but the neighbourhood is safe and I was more than happy working around the surrounding area (which is a beautiful neighbourhood). I cannot recommend the Modern enough and it will be my first port of call should I ever return - this is one place in Houston where you won't have a problem.

View more reviews for this inn


great place to stay in midtown Houston at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on March 10, 2016

Great location and huge room (with closet the size of many rooms - good for getting dressed without waking up your roommate...). Stayed in Cityview room on third floor which means lots of stairs - good exercise. One of the best omelets I have ever had for breakfast. Potato-crusted quiche another morning. Lovely smoothies. Only drawback to the top floor in this building is that the kitchen of the unit is directly below and you can hear late night gatherings in that space. Otherwise a perfect stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Modern B & B Marvelous at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 09, 2016

Tree Room was fantastic, great views and spacious. Bathroom with shower and whirlpool bath top class. Met interesting guests at breakfasts which were excellent and fast food cook on hand. Close to the art scene of Houston, Menil, Rothko chapel, Cy Twombley etc

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2016

Always a fun time and interesting guests

View more reviews for this inn


World's most comfortable bed at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on February 25, 2016

Friendly and clean with amenities that made the stay comfortable and very welcoming. Other guests were lovely people too. Solid breakfast. Bed was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Always a great stay at the Modern at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on February 23, 2016

I'll start this by saying that I am biased, having stayed at the Modern upwards of a 20 times a year since 2008 so I'm a committed regular. However I am because I've always found Lisa and her staff welcoming, the rooms clean, the food good, and the service excellent. Once I stayed there I never stayed anywhere else. Almost always someone there to chat with and enjoy company with and a short walking distance to a great outdoor bar and award winning taco truck!

View more reviews for this inn


I think I fell in love again!! at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on February 13, 2016

I loved everything about my stay! It was WONDERFUL! The bed was amazingly comfortable. The whole house is beautifully decorated in a modern clean sophisticated style but it still feels warm and inviting. The food was healthy and very good! Everyone I encountered and dealt with from staff to other guest made me feel so welcome and at ease. I just can't say enough great things this B&B. My only constructive criticism would be to mark it better so travelers can find it more easily. Mark parking more clearly. Clean the little nooks and crannies better. This house was CLEAN. I just saw small areas that the shelf in my bathroom and the stairs that needed to be cleaned. I will send everyone I know here-- LOVED EVERY MINUTE!

View more reviews for this inn


3rd stay at Modern B&B at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on January 03, 2016

I have stayed 3 times at this B&B. The 1st 2 times in mezzanine room and 3rd time in Cityview room. City view room clearly superior to Mezzanine room at not much additional cost, During my 2nd stay in mezzanine room, I had difficult time with temperature control and would never want to stay in that room again. The issue was that the air conditioning vent was in my room but the temperature controls were in hallway. People would increase the decrease the temperature setting because they were hot and I would "freeze to death" in my room. Services such as evening snack & wine is very nice and staff & owner are very friendly. The breakfast is good, but not gourmet like I have experienced in some other B&Bs. Great Location!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience! at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on December 16, 2015

This is the first time I've stayed at a B&B. It really felt like I was staying at a home away from home! :-)

View more reviews for this inn


Montrose close at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

2.8 reviewed on December 07, 2015

Inn keeper kind and helpful. Upgraded room for free, but king bed had a big dip on one side and jacucci tub super hard to get in and out. Quiet area; breakfast and other guest great; cook was not having a good morning, but would stay again in another room.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2015

This was our second stay and once again everything was perfect. Robin and he staff make you feel like you are more than welcome. Zandra Pellet

View more reviews for this inn


Total Relaxation at Deer Lake Lodge Resort and Spa (Montgomery, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on September 16, 2015

My husband and I were looking for something different to do for our weekend away. We are not big into sitting around and drinking we wanted something that made us feel rested. We stumbled upon this little jewel in our search. Deer Lake Lodge is a very quiet peaceful getaway tucked away in the woods. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We attended a yoga class in the morning then enjoyed the spa and pool the remainder of the day. They do not offer any food on property because they are a juicing detox facility but we found an adorable cafe up the street. My husband and I cant wait to come back and enjoy their full detoxing program.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Evening at Silver Sycamore (Pasadena, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2015

Perfect little cabin getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Happy repeat customer at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2015

I stay at the Modern several times a year, and am always happy with the location, the rooms, and the service.

View more reviews for this inn


In here you are not a guest you are family. at Uphouse Manor B&B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2015

I just spent three nights at the Uphouse Manor, and words can't express how grateful I am for the hospitality of the entire family. Katrina, Claire, Alex, Katrina's mom, and even Lego, the doggie are not just hosts.... They are your adopted family for the time you spend at the house. From the moment you walk through those doors, you feel special, and you are treated not as a guest, but like family... Or at the very least, as an old friend. What a great feeling to come back "home" after a busy work day for a glass of wine, many many (did I say many?) laughs, and to be taken back on time to your childhood through Alex's Littles eyes (and adventures), I have to say.... He's a fun firecracker! Katrina's place is impeccable, beautiful in every detail. The bed in my room (the blue room) is about the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. I have to confess I was bummed before booking it to learned there were no TVs in the rooms and that I would share a bathroom. Wow.... Am I ever so glad I "took the risk"! There was no TV, and that gave me the opportunity to hang out with amazing people that just don't come around too often.... And the bathroom? Never even noticed it wasn't all for me! Wonderful place.... But what really shines at the Manor is a wonderful family.... I miss them all, and I can't wait to go back to Houston and see all of them again soon! Thank you Katrina, Claire, Alex, Lego, and please say hello to your sweet mom.... She is a blast! Carolina

View more reviews for this inn


A home of your own! at Seventh Heaven Bed & Breakfast (Cypress, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2015

This was our first bed and breakfast ever and I have to say that this B&B sets high standards for our future B&Bs stays! The host and her family went above and beyond for us! Homemade delicious breakfast cooked for us every morning and let me say that the food here is way better than restaurant food! We enjoyed every minute of our stay! Our room was beautiful and spacious for the price we paid. The location is awesome! 15 minutes from the outlet center, 30 minutes to downtown Houston and neighborhood is very nice. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a personal chef and a home of their own!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place to stay inside the Houston inner loop at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on May 13, 2015

When looking for a B&B inside the loop for our anniversary, I quickly came across Modern B&B. I was attracted to the modern styling (not that I have anything against traditional styling) and the large open spaces of the common area. These did not disappoint! We spent a lot of time here because of the interesting acoustics from the high ceilings and various angled walls. We stayed in the top-level Treehouse room, but I would consider staying in any of the rooms due to the time spent in the common area. However, the whirlpool tub and private balconies were enjoyable. The owner and staff were all very friendly giving the place a feeling of warmth that we absolutely hope to visit again... Something one will just never get from a hotel.

View more reviews for this inn


Sometimes.. at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on May 11, 2015

Our stay was great except for an invasion of flies- - due to dead squirrel - other than that it was perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like home in great local neigbhorhood at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on May 02, 2015

Second time staying at the Modern... blocks from Menil Museum, Alabama Ice House and other great south Montrose area spots. Lisa is a welcoming host. Great place for business travelers looking for alt to soulless hotels. Tip: best to have a rental car -- or be prepared to call taxis far enough in advance.

View more reviews for this inn


One great experience at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 29, 2015

My room was very comfortable and the bathroom. The entire facility was uplifting with lots of artful decorations. the breakfast was superb with many healthy choices.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely! at La Maison in Midtown an urban bed and breakfast (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2015

This is a beautiful place to stay. Our hostess, Sharon,warmly welcomed us on arrival and showed us to our room. The room was handsomely appointed with a very comfortable bed. And Chef Matthew prepared a delicious breakfast of omlets, toast, fruit and freshly brewed coffee. We enjoyed our stay from beginning to end!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding breakfasts, spacious rooms in the heart of the museum district at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2015

This is an excellent bed and breakfast that I would recommend without qualm, both for its bed and for its breakfast. We slept on the top floor on a bed the size of my bedroom with sweeping views of Houston over the balcony and a jaccuzzi in the bathroom. The breakfasts were something to write home about, complete with fresh fruit smoothies, home made pancakes, quiche, yoghurt and granola -- you name it. The building itself is interesting architecturally, designed by the former partner of the owner, with a huge inner atrium that lends a sense of spaciousness to the surroundings. It is within walking distance of the Menil Collection and several good restaurants, to which the friendly staff can point you.

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect getaway at Aycock Crews House B&B (West Columbia, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2015

This place is just perfect. My husband and I (from the Netherlands but live in Houston) wanted to escape the city for a weekend and found this wonderful house in this peaceful area. Just grap a book and land on the porch and watch the animals and birds playing in the garden. Flem and Sheryl are the best and their breakfast is to come back for. The brazos park is a short drive away for some activities during the day but the be honest I could stay there for the whole weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Back to my old neighborhood at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on March 05, 2015

Although this B&B has been in my neighborhood for the whole time I lived here, I never knew it existed. Hotels in the area are a problem, nothing close and never any place I wanted people to stay. I found Modern B&B and am thrilled. The location was exactly where I wanted to be and both the food and accommodations were better than expected. There is no question that I will stay there again when I return. Thanks to Lisa and her attentive staff for a great place to gather family for our big event weekend. Sharon

View more reviews for this inn


PERFECT LOCATION at Modern B & B (Houston, Texas)

3.8 reviewed on March 02, 2015

This B&B was located very close to the all the many art venues we wanted to visit, and the neighborhood was quiet and safe. The owner/managers were friendly and helpful, the wifi perfectly fine, and the breakfasts healthy and fresh. All great. Our room, The Spa, was fine for us, but should never be offered to the un-spry! Climbing in and out of the tub (whether to spa or to shower) took some flexibility and ingenuity. That said, the bath was luxurious once we got in--a treat well earned. Really, though, the climb could well have hospitalized my aging mother! The room next door, without a whirlpool, looked nice and far more conventional.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}