Recent Reviews in Honolulu, Hawaii

Cosy retreat at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 26, 2016

This is our second time staying at Manoa Valley Inn.We stayed for our Wedding Anniversary in February and returned to celebrate my husbands birthday.What we enjoy the most id the peaceful setting, ,cozy sheets and the wonderful breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


good place to stay at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on April 21, 2016

we have enjoyed this place for our stay on Oahu.

View more reviews for this inn


Away from the hustle and bustle! at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on April 18, 2016

We stayed with the Youngs for a nice long stay in March. We had a great stay, and they are great hosts. The only reason we gave a 4 for the rooms is to alert you that you will likely share a bathroom. Since we knew that ahead of time, we were fine with it. Phyllis provides a wonderful assortment of yummy and healthy things for breakfast, which are best enjoyed on the deck that overlooks the salt water pool and has a lovely ocean view. We slept soundly and felt at home! Thank you, Phyllis and Don!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 09, 2016

We stayed here in September 2015. Phyllis is a great cook and has very good and healthy breakfasts. The room was good and they had travel books and information handy to read. They are in a beautiful location with great views and very near snorkeling in Hanauma Bay. Don and Phyllis are excellent hosts and helpful. They have a saltwater swimming pool as well.

View more reviews for this inn


very comfortable and familiar at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on April 05, 2016

This B&B, the ornate classical house near the University of Hawaii, is now managed by the Japanese family, so it's very comfortable for us Japanese clients. The room is classical and large, although the bathroom is rather plain. The breakfast service is very good and order-made (but they have little milk). The location is a little far from the city-center, while there are so many connections of bus: it would be perfect to offer some bus tickets to the center.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B in a nice neighborhood in Honolulu at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

I lived in Honolulu as a child and hadn't been back in over 30 years, so I wanted to avoid the tourist highrises of Waikiki. My wife and I were not disappointed, Manoa Valley in was lovely. In comparison to hotel prices in the area, it is a great value, and to be able to hear the birds first thing in the morning and feel like you really are LIVING there instead of just visiting is a treat. The staff are friendly, helpful and not at all intrusive. The garden is wild and lush and I wouldn't want it any other way. I almost want to keep this place a secret, as we will be staying here again the next time we visit Honolulu.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home and neighborhood at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on March 01, 2016

Manoa Valley is a very nice place to stay. Walking the neighborhood for restaurants and bus service was very comfortable. The home was beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Very cute! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on February 28, 2016

I visited this inn with my family. My daughter wished to stay for it's traditional atmospheres. We can enjoy old day Hawaiian old house. It was a great memories for us.

View more reviews for this inn


Visit the past! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on February 19, 2016

We chose this Bed & Breakfast to celebrate our 32nd Anniversary because it looked romantic and unique. Our room was the "Cooke"and it was lovely. The shower was large and had plenty of hot water. The 4 poster bed had a chandelier light above it that was charming.The flowered sheets were soft and cozy.Our breakfast on the patio was generous.It was so delicious with coffee,two types of juice,eggs,Portuguese sausage,potatoes, pancakes,& assorted breads.Rice & sauteed vegetables were offered also. The staff were friendly and polite.We enjoyed our stay very much and will return again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts and great place :) at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on February 04, 2016

We had lots of fun and good talks. The house has a spectacular location! Hosts are very friendly and caring! Thanks Phyllis and Don!

View more reviews for this inn


Musty, dusty, smelly….that describes Manoa Valley Inn. at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

1.0 reviewed on February 01, 2016

Our group reserved two rooms, both were smelly, musty and dusty. Our rooms were on the third floor, no elevator, and parts of the staircase did not have handrails. Bathroom facilities were primitive. Pillows smelled musty; bedding and towels had never seen hot water or bleach. Signage for the Inn was difficult to see..we located it by process of elimination. No staff could be found when we decided to check out after one night so we had to carry our own baggage down the two flights of stairs.Certainly did not meet the expectations set by the B&B listing. If we could have found staff when we left, we would have requested a refund. Don't waste your time or money! Disgusting!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful alternative to a hotel in Honolulu at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on January 02, 2016

Manoa Valley Inn lies near University of Hawaii up the hill and across the H-1 highway from Honolulu. It is a beautiful and majestic palatial house with about 8 rooms on the second and third floor for guests. The first floor is occupied by the host family with their dogs and cats, including Peace, a small and charming dog who greets you and cages pets if you are interested. The furnishings are beautiful Victorian era and house is magnificent. There is a garden and a pool. Breakfast is served on a covered veranda overlooking the garden, with the skyline of Honolulu in the distance. We enjoyed watching the fireworks of Waikiki from our room on several evenings. On the second floor there is a sunroom overlooking the garden and Honolulu to the South. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Our stay was quiet and relaxing. The AC kept the room at a comfortable temperature. On return visit to Oahu, I would look forward to staying again at the Manoa Valley Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Better than any hotel. at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on January 01, 2016

Were only able to stay one night but it was beautiful and peaceful. We will definitly be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise in Manoa at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2015

Enchanting in every way¿¿¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Bit different but pleasant at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on October 17, 2015

Friendly atmosphere, and if you like dogs they are friendly too! Renovations seem close to completion and lovely gardens that could be a bit more growth controlled. Without a car it is just a bit out of the way, until you catch on to the handy by bus system! A refreshing change from Waikiki!! And close to the university. We enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value and location! Awesome hosts! at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on October 08, 2015

We really enjoyed our long stay at the Aloha B and B! The hosts were great, the rooms very nice, the location was very good, and our time there when not out site seeing was both relaxing and fun. Thanks for a great stay! Blessings, G and B

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful & peaceful get away! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on August 12, 2015

We enjoy a wonderful & peaceful stay and recommend the Manoa Valley Inn to others!

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Tranqil Hideaway at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2015

I recently stayed with Don and Phyllis for my first visit to the Hawaiian Islands and I couldn't have found a more perfect location. Their house is a sea of tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki Beach, which stunning views of Koko Head and an easy walk to Hawaii Kai Marina. Close enough to everything you want to do on the island but far enough to feel relaxed and chilled. Don and Phyllis are really welcoming and helpful and I would recommend this without hesitation. Matt

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly, peaceful and very comfortable B&B at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on June 26, 2015

This was my first visit to Hawaii and I could not have picked a more perfect place to stay! The location is provides easy access to all the windward sights and beaches as well as a quick commute to central Honolulu. For snorkeling it is 10 minutes from Hanauma Bay. Less than a mile away are several shopping areas with lots of restaurants, a supermarket and other useful stores. But even better than the location was the friendliness of the inn keepers, Don and Phyliss. They were available to answer all questions, provided helpful advice, and had lots of resources to share. I had the king sized bedroom with a beautiful view of the bay. Everything was clean and neat. Breakfast so relaxed with fresh fruit and other breakfast choices. Most ingredients organic and of the highest quality. I really appreciated being able to enjoy breakfast on my own time, sitting on the lanai, enjoying the view. It was a special treat to come back after a busy day and relax with a quick swim in the pool. Overall, a very warm, welcoming accommodation that truly lives up to its name.."Aloha".

View more reviews for this inn


Change of pace from Waikiki at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on June 09, 2015

My husband and I recently got married in Honolulu. We now live on the mainland, but both our families still live on Oahu. We hotel hopped during our 2 1/2 week stay, so we experienced all different types of accommodations. We booked the Master Suite for the night before and night of our wedding. This is one of the larger rooms, but also the most expensive, as it includes a separate sitting room. Hotels in general are quite expensive on Oahu. Manoa Valley Inn doesn't have additional parking fees, resort fees, and includes breakfast, so it's a great value once you consider all that. But be advised that this place is older. There was ongoing construction when we stayed there at the end of May, which limited parking and during the day construction workers would walk past your windows. Because of this, management gave us a discount, which was great customer service! Also, if are allergic or have a fear of dogs, be aware that there are two dogs on the premises, one being quite large. Both are friendly though and are only on the first floor. I enjoyed our stay here, but things are dustier, have more character. I would also not advise those traveling with kids to stay here as there are a ton of knick knacks everywhere.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding indeed! Many wonderful surprises!! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2015

This historic oasis far surpassed our already high expectations. The house is a joy to explore, many secrets waiting to be discovered. And the staff was superlative- anticipating needs we didn't even know we had! A great breakfast and very comfy bedding in a quiet setting that makes it hard to believe that it is minutes away from the hustle and glitz of Waikiki. As frequent visitors to Honolulu, this discovery will be our permanent future home away from home. Highest rating in every category, including the delightful pets! Mahalo for a truly delightful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A bit of Paradise in the middle of Honolulu. at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on April 07, 2015

Love the yard and our view. Very convenient location and extremely friendly hosts. Breakfast on the veranda was a treat. Would return in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


A Home in Paradise at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 01, 2015

There's a difference in staying at a hotel and actually living in Paradise. This bed and breakfast gives you gorgeous Hawaii as your home. From the warm aloha of the hosts, to the healthy and yummy breakfast choices, I highly recommend this special place. The view is breathtaking and for just a little while, Paradise is yours.

View more reviews for this inn


We enjoyed the rooms at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on March 10, 2015

The parking is way tight. But we loved the decor and the feeling of the place. If you are allergic to dogs, there was a big dog that greeted us when we first arrived (but we arrived really late). Its way worth the value and its a very special place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


lot of charm at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on February 24, 2015

Very helpful, friendly reservation care to Willie Cowart One has to be aware that it is a very old house, where no longer hold everything shines, but it has a lot of charm and it is clean. The garden has several niche areas, sadly lacking in comfortable chairs, there is only a sofa and is therefore only for 2-3 People usable. From the garden of paradise could be made. Since the breakfast area is very small, it would be desirable that the Staff is attentive and wiping down the tables faster and wet Seat cushions replaced. The location is very good, outside of tourist flows. We have everything well reached on foot, including the Waikiki beach, but it also drives a Bus near the B & B

View more reviews for this inn


appealing inn at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2015

We stayed two nights in the Cooke Room, which was very cosy, had a nice view and sufficient space. Just the washbasin taps might be replaced during the next renovation by a bit larger ones. Staff and Owners were very nice and helpful. Reading the other comments about the location and the need for a car: if you have enough time, the stroll to Waikiki is just 40min, the walk to the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific is 60min and the passed neighbourhoods are a nice view.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming, quiet alternative to the busy city of Waikiki at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on January 07, 2015

We had a great stay at Manoa Valley Inn. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable, plus a good view of the city. The Inn itself is in sharp contrast to the towering hotels in downtown Waikiki, as it is full of charm and feels like it has a history. Breakfast on the lanai is great, among a lush garden that makes you feel like you are in the country not the city. There is even an outdoor pool tucked down the garden. Our hosts were very polite and pleasant. The only small drawback is that if you don't have a car you will need to use taxis to get into town, but the owners give you information about good taxi companies locally which was a big help. The Inn was also a location for the programme LOST which was a complete bonus for me as I am a big fan!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and peaceful at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2015

Manoa Valley Inn was the perfect place for us to stay after a few days in Waikiki. It is quiet and peaceful, but still walking/cab distance from lots of places. The room was quirky with eclectic decorations. It has so much character, and I understand each room is very different. I would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Decmber Stay at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on December 30, 2014

Absolutely wonderful! Like an old New England Manse, except with jungle. Staff was perfect. Highly recommend this, particularly who want a change from the bustle of Waikiki.

View more reviews for this inn


manoa valey inn december 2014 at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

2.8 reviewed on December 24, 2014

this is a comfortable B&B located near the University of Hawaii campus; our room was comfortable, but dated; the breakfasts were varied and good; the service was very good; the bathroom fixtures should be replaced with more modern units; some of the electrical outlets should be replaced to accept 3-prong plugs; parking was somewhat tedious in a small lot

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Aloha Bed & Breakfast (4.49)
  2. Manoa Valley Inn (4.09)
Top
}