Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

Great Breakfast, Hot Rooms at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on July 14, 2016

The owner was very friendly and had a lot of great travel advice for the area. I would rather pay for a nicer, more quiet and stress-free environment as provided by the Bay House, than for a run-of-the-mill hotel with few amenities. Breakfast was great out on the lanai, and they provided lots of on-site entertainment such as books and games. The only downside to our stay was the heat. Rooms don't have air conditioning and it was pretty hard to sleep at night, even with the windows open, a small floor fan, and a slight breeze coming in.

View more reviews for this inn


Spectacular natural setting, friendly, homey service at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on July 12, 2016

We stayed two nights, and greatly enjoyed the beautiful natural setting, which includes an overview of Kulaniapia Falls and a nice hiking trail down to the falls where one can swim with permission (we didn't). The host has also constructed a unique bamboo garden along the trail. First rate breakfast each morning, very friendly and downhome service, and a comfortable, stylish room with kitchen space if you want to cook any of your own meals. One slight drawback is that its a fair drive into Hilo, but this also makes for nice privacy and a scenic thoroughfare to the Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


An Amazing Stay at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2016

I was taking a solo trip around the Big Island and stayed at this B&B for 2 nights. The property was amazing, the staff was unbelievable they answered all my questions and were very helpful in booking me a zipline trip. Breakfast was fantastic!! Views were exceptional and swimming by the falls was great. I hope to make it back to the Big Island next year and if I do there is no doubt I will be staying here for a few days again. Thanks for everything. Andrew

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B! at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on June 27, 2016

Great family B&B! Wonderful owners!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Our 2-night stay at the Bayside Bed and Breakfast was fantastic. We especially loved eating breakfast on our private lanai. Host was very helpful and mostly invisible. Being right next to the ocean with a view of the sunrise was fantastic. Very very comfortable bed - one of the best I've ever slept on!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely! Only wish we could have stayed longer! at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 22, 2016

The rooms and common areas are gorgeous and extremely comfortable. The day we were there the falls were rushing so we didn't get to use the paddleboards and such, but the grounds are beautiful, and breakfast on the deck overlooking the falls was serene and gorgeous. Absolutely will stay again if we're in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Hilo's Tranquil Gem at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2016

Our stay was phenomenal! The view of the waterfall was like nothing I have ever experienced. The rooms were comfortable and calming. The innkeepers were delightfully kind greeting us every morning at breakfast and recommending activities and excursions.

View more reviews for this inn


An amazing getaway! at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on June 13, 2016

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls is a beautiful stay on the Island of Hawai'i. The view of the waterfall right next to your room was amazing. The owner is very kind and allows swimming, paddle boarding and canoeing right in the lake of the waterfall. It was an unbelievable experience. If you are traveling with a family of four, your only option is the Pogada Guest House, which is a bit more pricey then the other rooms on property. It is a great romantic place for a party of two. The only option for food is breakfast which starts at 8 or 9 in the morning. We did not attend the breakfast because it was so late in the morning. There is no bar on property, so be prepared an bring your own drinks.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful and relaxing location with beautiful rooms at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2016

The Bay House was as beautiful as the pictures indicate. It is a well maintained property with a relaxed ambiance. The rooms are very clean and are serviced daily. The rooms are open and airy and at night the sound of the ocean waves and frogs make for a wonderful serenade.The hostess was friendly but non-intrusive. Breakfast in the morning consisted of fresh fruit, sweet cakes and an omelette, with cereal, toast, boiled eggs and yogurt available. Yummy! Passion juice and absolutely wonderful coffee were also available. We found the location to be pretty centrally located for all of the sights of the Big island. You could go north to the waterfalls and beaches and south to the volcano fields for about the same drive time and you were very near Saddle road to drive across to the sights on the other side of the island. For those of you needing to stay plugged into the internet, it was spotty. It seemed to work only at certain times of the day and was somewhat slow. But then again, you are on vacation, in Hawaii, so unplugging may not be a bad thing! If we go back to the Big Island, we would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Hit and miss at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on June 06, 2016

I'll break this review into two sections: the bed and the breakfast. Both the public and private rooms were immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. The linens and towels were bright white, and the room included bug spray and flashlights for use in going to/from the very clean hot tub. A special treat was the private lanai for each guest room. I have to mark this location down, though, because of the breakfast. The owner put out trays at 7:00 with breakfast for each room, including what she called an omelet. It was not what I call an omelet, as it was just scrambled eggs cooked without scrambling; no added ingredients. By the time I carried our tray into our room at 7:30, the omelet was tepid. We weren't the only ones who were not impressed - our neighbors returned theirs uneaten. The fruit was good, but the coffee was mediocre, and didn't taste as good as the other Kona coffee we had come to enjoy. A real omelet, either cooked to order or kept warm in the kitchen, would have gone a long way, as would have better quality coffee.

View more reviews for this inn


Second visit as good as our first. at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2016

We stayed in a main house room for our previous stay. We booked the Pagoda for this stay. The view of the falls from the upstairs platform bed was fantastic, especially under the full moon. The breakfast at the main house is great with a soufflé and Belgium waffles plus fresh fruit. The concierge is new from our previous visit and was very helpful in making activity reservations at a discount. The owner continues to make improvements to the gardens. This is the best B&B on the big island.

View more reviews for this inn


Stayed in May at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on June 03, 2016

Great hospitality!! Loved the chirping frogs at night. Comfy and A/C andceiling fan kept the room temperature perfect. Would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in the Hilo area at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on June 02, 2016

This was a beautiful, secluded inn with a gorgeous waterfall on the property. Our host was very pleasant. Pros: beautiful property, nice place to swim, paddle boards available, nice staff, VERY comfortable beds, not "touristy". Cons: shower head in the King Kamehameha was like a pipe that spayed everywhere. Since it was a small shower, there was no way to get out of the way of water to lather up, the door lock on the room was difficult to lock, the hike to the waterfall was a little treacherous. Breakfast was waffles and fruit - no protein. Having said all that, if I were ever in the Hilo area again, I would stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommend at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 29, 2016

Had a wonderful stay here! Great location, beautiful decor, and Matthew was super helpful and knowledgable about the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Great little B&B in Hilo at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 28, 2016

This was a nice place to stay for three nights in Hilo. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The best part was the shared kitchen with all kinds of fixings to make our own breakfast and a nice covered area to sit and eat in the yard.

View more reviews for this inn


Cute and Convenient at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 25, 2016

The space was small, but we were at Volcanos NP all day, so the cottage worked out well. It was quiet and close to the NP and the little downtown area. The local Thai place was good for dinner (not many options).

View more reviews for this inn


Unique & Comfortable at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 22, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn immensely! The waterfall was spectacular! We swam and used the kayak at the waterfall. We had so much fun! The hike was good excercise and the Bamboo garden on the walk back was beautiful! The staff was friendly and exemplified the "Aloha Spirit". We stayed in the Pagoda House, so we were able to take advantage of the full kitchen & cook our own meals!

View more reviews for this inn


May 2nd to May 5th at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on May 10, 2016

We had a beautiful room, with an amazing view out of our balcony! It was a wonderful breakfast and the owner gave us clean towels everyday. My one little complaint was that we like to come home and relax/nap in the middle of the day and there were some very loud talkers there during that time. Otherwise our stay at the Bay house was amazing! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Beautiful! at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 04, 2016

The area was just beautiful, then you add the amazing waterfall....who could ask for more! The staff and owner were very friendly and available. I would recommend this place to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent oasis in Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 03, 2016

This place is fantastic. The hosts are gracious and full of knowledge about the area. The rooms are comfortable and unique. Breakfast is delicious. We loved our private lanai and koi pond. I even loved the frogs. It is in a very convenient location. Don't pass up a chance to stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 02, 2016

Tina is a wonderful host who has thought of all the details for a comfortable stay. The hosts are friendly, but not overbearing which was perfect for us. If you are looking for a chatty and entertaining host, you may want to look elsewhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable with the sound of the waves lapping outside the window. Breakfast is delicious and the hot tub was a welcome treat after days of adventuring. Definitely a great value!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome!!! at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 01, 2016

First time, loved it immediately. Very peaceful and relaxing. Outstanding staff. Will definitely come back again. I wish price could be a little lower though but worth it.

View more reviews for this inn


Two nights at the inn at kulaniapia falls at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on April 30, 2016

Take advantage of the waterfall, they have kayaks and a stand up paddle board you can use all you have to do is sign a quick waiver form. St he staff was laid back and very helpful and gave good tips on places to visit. Really close to Hilo town and shops best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at.

View more reviews for this inn


Hilo respite at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Hilo Bay Hale was a beautiful house and our hose was very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


OUTSATNDING at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 27, 2016

If you enjoy authentic, somewhat rustic travel, you will LOVE this B&B! The staff is amazing, are very helpful with any information about the island and planning your time there. The breakfast is also wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


A Must not miss experience! at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2016

My partner and I have been in the hospitality biz for many years... we have never been to or had a more wonderful stay anywhere!! Barbara and Gary are wonderful hosts, the food from the estate was delicious ...and the house was amazing. Our only regret was not staying longer!

View more reviews for this inn


Great breakfast, friendly atmosphere at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on April 24, 2016

I was in Hilo to teach for three nights and had trouble finding lodging for some reason. This place came up on an internet search so we decided to give it a try. The first room we were in was not air conditioned and was alarmingly warm, but Danny offered us the basement room instead which was considerably cooler and very comfortable. I loved the shower, which pours out water, being used to the water saving shower heads in California which barely wet you down. The place is attractively furnished and the breakfast was excellent. There is not much parking so you might figure on having to park on the street if you stay here on a busy weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Place, Delightful Hostess at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2016

We spent 9 nights at this lovely Bed and Breakfast and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Our room was spacious and clean with cool breezes from the ocean and lovely views from the lanai. We enjoyed a full breakfast each morning and appreciated the location close to Hilo--easy walking distance. The owner is friendly and helpful--we'd stay here again in a heart-beat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Hilo at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on April 22, 2016

We stayed for one night, April 14, 2016. The room was clean and tidy and the owners are friendly. The breakfast was fresh and tasty and being able to sit in the backyard under canopy eating home grown fruit and eggs was real nice. I forgot my computer bag! Penne went out of her way to help arrange the shipment back to Bellingham! Definitely appreciated and highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on April 20, 2016

The rooms at the Bay House are spacious and have very nice patios that look out over the Bay. The on-site parking is very nice. Downtown Hilo is a 5-10 walk, and many attractions are a short distance. The innkeeper was very nice.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}