Get a free $60 with a gift card purchase of $300

Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

Wish we had stayed longer at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Stayed one night as we toured the Big Island. Property is beautiful. Breakfast was great. Wish we had had the time to stay longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at the Bay House at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on August 07, 2014

Fabulous stay. Host is very friendly but not intrusive. Bay House supplied gluten free bread, along with a lovely breakfast, and left a special gift of chocolates and wine for my husbands birthday, which was a nice touch. We stayed in the Palm Room which was spacious, and the lanai was private. The premises are well taken care of and really clean. Short walk or drive into Hilo to restaurants and markets.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy little get away at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on August 06, 2014

Very cozy home. Easy access to the town center. Gracious hosts, delicious breakfast! Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Deception! at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

1.0 reviewed on August 06, 2014

My family stayed in the Pagoda house after viewing the wonderful photos on the website. However after staying at this location we found it to be very different than the photos and the description. The website description say it will sleep “up to 4 adults and 2 children (16 and under)”. My 13 year old son is a very tall, and we wanted a full side bed for him, so based on the description and photos the Pagoda house should have been fine. Unfortunately, the photos on the website are deceiving. The second floor has only one bed and the website shows this same bedroom decorated and arranged in two separate ways, leading one to believe there are two beds not one. The bottom floor had a broken trundle bed but it was very small for our teenager. After going back to the website and looking again at the two bedroom photos I discovered the deception. The bamboo-wood floor was nice, but unfinished. The floors had no end-caps when transitioning to other rooms and left rough cut edges exposed to bare feet. The screen doors did not meet flush with the corners so 2” gaps allowed insects to fly freely in the house. The indoor paint was chipping in several places. The dust was pervasive, and so were the cobwebs. Above the second floor bedroom is a recessed lighting area that was full of cobwebs and spiders. The shower curtain was stained and discolored with mildew. The refrigerator doors were lined with mold. In a word: disgusting. The website states that “included in your room rate is a full and complete breakfast”. However, we were informed that our breakfast was already in our refrigerator and that we would be cooking our own breakfast. This was a shock. In the refrigerator we found a ¾ full mason jar of premade pancake mix, a jelly jar with about three spoon scoops of jelly at the bottom of the jar, half a stick of better (previously used), overripe fruit, and slices of bread that had been repackaged into ziplock bags. And mold. Our shock quickly turned to disgust.

View more reviews for this inn


Hilo Waterfall Hideaway at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on July 31, 2014

Staff was helpful in planning our daily schedule. Everything was equal to or better than advertised on their website.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Hilo at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on July 27, 2014

The host and hostess are a delightful, helpful couple ready to share a wealth of information about their home, its origin and history, and their little part of the island. Their breakfast is a seasonal array of exotic fruits and beans. Tree frogs chirp through the night, but either exhaustion, the comfortable bed, or the available earplugs made them irrelevant to our experience. Overall, our stay was a very positive experience in a great vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

Even though we stayed for two nights in Hilo during a rain storm, the Shipman House was luxurious respite for our getaway. Thank you Barbara and Gary.

View more reviews for this inn


Nani Nani at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2014

Barbara and Gary Andersen are wonderful host for their lovely home in Hilo. They epitomize the Hawaiian term "oluolu" kind and gracious. The room was lovely and the breakfast buffet was over the top.

View more reviews for this inn


4 nights in the Bay Room at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2014

We had a perfect stay in the Bay Room. Can't say enough about the accommodations, the yummy breakfasts, the proximity to everything in Hilo and the marvelous sound of the ocean waves.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks Alan & Penne at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on July 16, 2014

Aaron's is run by the nicest folks in Hawaii! Alan and Penne are super helpful, know the island intimately and are always willing to give advice to their guests. The rooms are clean, nice sized and, given that I have the haole's dislike of humidity, the A/C was a godsend. The food, much of it grown on the property, was very good. The B&B is located close to a non-touristy little beach, really a tide pool with some sand at low tide, that is great in the mornings.

View more reviews for this inn


we had a great stay at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on July 16, 2014

we had a great stay. It's close to the main area of Hilo--walkable.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B, great host at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on July 07, 2014

This is a charming B&B just a couple of blocks from the center of Hilo. The room was quite comfortable (no air conditioning, but good ceiling fan). In the morning we were met by our great host, Mathew. He was very friendly and had prepared a great tropical breakfast. Would certainly stay here again when in Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Zen Time at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on July 04, 2014

It was very relaxing and refreshing, and we would go back again, next time we will get a room with a clear view of the falls, We had a wonderful room, we could hear the falls all the time. We had only a partial view of the falls. Next time we will book one of the rooms with a full view!!!! I would and already have told others they need to stay there.

View more reviews for this inn


Very kind owner! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 30, 2014

We stayed three days here. While staying, we requested many things. Owner readity compilede with our requests every time. You should stay here instead of hotel when you go to Hilo. You must have a great time!

View more reviews for this inn


Hilo B&B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on June 26, 2014

We had a large front bedroom, en-suite. Some bedrooms have separate bathrooms. It does get quite warm in the house as there is no A/C but fans are provided. Speak with owners about which rooms are the coolest if this is an issue. Very personal experience and the breakfast is quite nice featuring many locally grown fruits and their own cereal. Nice location in a neighborhood. Pretty easy to get around to access local sightseeing and restaurants. Hilo may not be a "resort" destination but there is plenty to see and do. Owners are quite helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely b&b at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2014

The palm room was spacious and private, on the corner. Ocean view from the lanai was beautiful, although not as wide as the view from the other 2 rooms. Tina was very pleasant and gave us some great suggestions (farmers market, manta ray snorkel tour). Location was walking distance to Hilo downtown area where there are stores and restaurants and farmers market. Breakfast consisted of a hot dish, tropical fruit, bread, coffee, juice (yogurt and hard boiled eggs were in the fridge for anytime). Highly recommend this b&b.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Retreat at Historic Shipman House at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on June 18, 2014

Shipman House is a uniquely historic property, an elegant and lovingly restored Victorian home, circa 1899, located on five lushly landscaped acres. Jack London and his wife Charmian were once house guests, as was Queen Liliuokalani, who enjoyed playing the Steinway piano in the parlor. In short, a visit to Shipman House is one of those rare opportunities to glimpse what life was like for a privileged few in turn of the century Hilo, Hawaii, while enjoying thoughtfully designed baths, and breakfasts featuring exotic fruit, often grown on the estate, and much, much more. History buffs will be fascinated to learn about Barbara Andersen's family, their long history on the island, and how they came to acquire Shipman House. Gary is a font of information about things to see and do in Hilo and beyond. We stayed in the guest house on the "Mauka" side, the one away from the main house (with the headboard from the original Jack London bed), and we couldn't have been more pleased or more comfortable (and we imagine the Londons were as well). Our room afforded plenty of storage, a small refrigerator stocked with water and juices, earplugs if the coqui frogs were just too much (we found them lulling), a notebook full of information about the house itself and really, really good restaurant tips!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2014

This place took our breath away as we drove up. Fantastic! Our room was perfect, as was the whole place. The posted pictures are good, but being there is even better. The best part was sitting on the porch and watching the sun rises and then the great breakfasts of local fruits and breads (hence the 5 stars for "dining"). Our hosts were gracious and well informed. They know the island well including places to visit and to eat as well as the island's history. Highly recommend the Shipman House.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Hilo B&B at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2014

What a great find in the middle of a beautiful forest in Hilo. Loved the tranquility of the property and the hiking area to the falls and Bambo gardens. Breakfast with a waterfall view what more could you ask for!

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant stay, despite the frogs! at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on June 14, 2014

Happy having made that choice instead of a regular hotel room. Nice breakfast, great view of the Bay.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay - one of our best. at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2014

The setting is stunning - we had the Gabor room with lovely views of the sea. The breakfast wer varied and delicious - a full choice of hot and cold, fruit, cereals and juices. Bay house was also within a easy stroll to od Hilo town. Tina was a wonderful hostess who made us feel very welcome. In all a highlight of our holiday in Hawaii.

View more reviews for this inn


gorgeous incredible breakfast area of fruits! at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 08, 2014

Beautiful location, close to town, in fact we walked to dinner. Barbara is wonderful. We had a lovely stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on June 06, 2014

This was a great bed and breakfast wish we could of been there for more than 1 day Penne and Alan were very great Host Im coming back for sure but to stay a lot longer Thanks Penne and Alan

View more reviews for this inn


Nice overnighter, wish we stayed longer at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on June 05, 2014

We had our base camp in Kona but wanted a leisurely tour of the volcano and Mauna Kea, so we opted to spend the night "on the Hilo side". It was a great spot, and although our place is Kona was right over the ocean, we realized it was lovely to be out in nature, listening to only frogs and crickets. We wished we would have stayed here more than we did. We stayed in the main house, in a room on the waterfal side and a view of the Hilo airport runway, which was also kinda cool (as a seasoned pilot, I geek out on airplanes and airports). Anyway, the area is lush, you can take a swim in the little waterfal lake, and had great mac nut waffles. Yum!

View more reviews for this inn


Large room, friendly owners, no rolling luggage on floors at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on June 03, 2014

Just keep in mind that it is an old house, and there are tons of lizards and frogs living all around (and inside). The price was a bit steep compared to every other hotel we stayed at on the Big Island (especially if you compare what you get for the $$ at the mega resorts on Kohala Coast), We stayed in the "Shell Room", which meant we had to walk into the common hallway to get to our bathroom (not shared). The bed was comfy, the owners were very friendly and talkative. She had given us bad advice on our lava tour hike -- she advised against walking through mud as a 60+ yr old guest hated the experience, whereas my gf and I are early 30's and really enjoyed it. Still, we had a lovely view from all the windows, incredibly clean floors (have to be as shoes aren't allowed inside), secure parking (hidden from road), fresh fruit for breakfast every day, and a prepared binder full of Hilo restaurants and general house info. We enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Shipman House Recent stay at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 31, 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed our 2 night stay. The historic home is absolutely lovely and well maintained. Breakfast on the lanai was a treat with all the fresh locally grown fruits and homemade breads. The owners are very friendly, filled with great stories and advice, but not intrusive nor invasive! We recommend this lovely B&B to anyone wishing a quiet getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


FAbulous B and B, quiet and restful at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 29, 2014

Best night's sleep in a long time! Great bedding, peaceful, quiet environment, going to bed with the sound of the waterfall in the background. Will be returning there soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Bay house at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 27, 2014

The bay house exceeded meg expectations. The room was lovely, breakfast every morning way so yummy. The breeze from the bay really helped cool the room down since there is no a/c. The location was ideal also

View more reviews for this inn


May 2014 at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 27, 2014

The B&B was very well kept and Matthew was an excellent host. Would definitely recommend the accommodations to anybody who wants to explore the Hilo side of the island.

View more reviews for this inn


Just Like Home at The Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2014

We simply loved our stay - the Cottage was roomy - neat - clean - and well stocked. Bob and Bonnie were great and freely provided information and suggestions on where to eat and what to see. Highly recommend staying at "The Artist Cottage"

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}