Recent Reviews in Highlands, North Carolina

Relax and enjoy at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2016

I booked this inn on a whim and didn't regret it for one minute. It is one of the most beautiful, relaxing places I have ever been. The owners are warm and make every guest feel comfortable and content. They go out of their way to make each stay an experience. I will go back and plan to send my friends and family here.

View more reviews for this inn


Be pampered and enjoy at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast (Highlands, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on June 12, 2016

Stayed 2 nights wonderful beautiful B&B spent some time reading and sitting on the wrap around porch where we were served the most wonderful breakfast, please check out her recipes. The Harris room was so comfy, large living /dining area. Donna spoils you with homemade treats. Chis and Donna are great host. If we are in the area this is where we will stay. Just about 5 minutes from down town but you could walk. So quiet. No air needed. on 1-10 it's a 30. thanks for the pleasure of sharing your Inn. We stayed June 10-12-2016

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 24, 2016

Clare and Henry were excellent hosts. We were there for our anniversary weekend. The Inn is absolutely beautiful and the in room breakfast is great and very special. We highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Innisfree at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at Innisfree. Henry and Clare are awesome hosts, the property and rooms are wonderful, breakfast was great, and the entire experience was memorable and enjoyable. I would highly recommend Innisfree as a great getaway for a nice weekend with your significant other!

View more reviews for this inn


relax, refresh, rejuvenate at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 08, 2015

Innisfree is an oasis of luxury! A romantic hideaway with wonderful service in a beautiful setting. The cottage rooms are luxuriously appointed, with the right ouch of antiques plus a garden tub for two, bubblebath included. Breakfast in your room each morning is the finishing touch on a wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Owners were Great! at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on October 28, 2015

Owners were Great. Cocktail party was special. Champagne cruise, nice extra.

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL! at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on October 27, 2015

W O W ! The place is beautiful and Henry & Claire were fantastic hosts. We stayed in the Charles Dickens room and were totally pleased. Very well decorated, great double tub with bubbles provided and nice little veranda for sitting outside and enjoying your favorite drink. Plenty to do around there and some fabulous waterfalls between there and Asheville. Breakfast was served each morning and was very good with more than enought to fill you up. Thanks for a special time and we will be back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Leaf trip at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2015

We enjoyed the mints and the lake. The trip on the lake and the location is near many attractions. The hospitality was nice.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful getaway at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2015

We stayed in the Bronte Suite which has it's own private balcony overlooking the lawn and trees of the property. The staff served us breakfast in the room daily which we loved. The Inn was minutes from hiking and many good local restaurants. We chose to take the champagne tour offered by the owners, Henry and Clare, and it was lovely. The local lake is beautiful. I would definitely recommend Innisfree and would stay there again if we ever get back that way.

View more reviews for this inn


What a Delightful Visit! at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2015

We came for an Easter "get-away" to hike in nearby Panthertown Valley and were warmly welcomed by the owners who host a lovely get together for all the guests each evening offering suggestions for whatever activities they are interested in doing. Our room was richly decorated to carry out the theme of its name, Rudyard Kipling's Jungle Book, and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast there each morning. By the time we left, we felt that we had truly made friends with this lovely couple and will surely return again.

View more reviews for this inn


What a Delightful Visit at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2015

We came for an Easter "get-away" to hike in nearby Panthertown Valley and were warmly welcomed by the owners who host a lovely get together for all the guests each evening offering suggestions for whatever activities they are interested in doing. Our room was richly decorated to carry out the theme of its name, Rudyard Kipling's Jungle Book, and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast there each morning. By the time we left, we felt that we had truly made friends with this lovely couple and will surely return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Event at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2015

Couldn't have asked for a nicer place! It was a wonderful 2 days with 2 lovely hosts Clare and Henry Hoche. They made us feel very welcome and our place was very clean and wonderful. What a great breakfast they brought to us every morning! Loved it and the view too!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Worthy Highlands B&B at Highlands House Bed and Breakfast (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2014

Pros: Very convenient to town, clean and comfortable accommodations, beautiful vistas of gardens and forest from all rooms, dog friendly, fireplace in suite, HBO in room, amazing cocktail hour and breakfast, very friendly and intelligent hosts with many years’ experience in hosting B&Bs. Cons: Wi-Fi not accessible in Fireplace Suite, coffee could be stronger. Okay it was my bad for waiting until the last minute to plan a quick getaway for our anniversary. All the hotels in the area were booked. I have not been to a B&B for many years and luckily found availability at this establishment due to their having a last minute cancellation. Colin and Raleigh have been in the B&B business for many years and it shows from the moment you're greeted and get the home tour. They run a very clean, well decorated, dog friendly establishment. All the comments about the beautiful decor and various sitting areas both inside and out are true. When you step outside you feel like your deep in the forest with many quaint sitting areas with gardens, ponds, and flowing streams. The Fireplace Suite is a very large, beautifully decorated room with comfortable seating in front of the large fireplace. This room has a large bath with sunken Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We enjoyed cocktail hour at 6:00 PM sharp. Our beverages were served in beautiful Waterford crystal and believe me when I tell you nothing but generous premium selections of wine or alcohol served icy cold, followed by refills along with appetizers will make it difficult to return to the Highlands and stay anyplace else. I will say cocktail hour may be bested by the delicious gourmet breakfast served during a flexible morning schedule on beautiful china with silver tableware. First Class all the way and we will be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Positively lovely at Highlands House Bed and Breakfast (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2014

Colin and Raleigh have many years experience in running B&B's and it shows! Their home is beautifully appointed and the gardens/grounds are filled with comfortable seating vignettes allowing private relaxation... enjoy flowers, koi ponds, woods, shade, sun. Whatever your pleasure, they have it on their grounds. Our dog thoroughly enjoyed scouting around... especially the ponds and wooded areas. Two of us had brought our dogs, but you would never know three dogs were in the house (Colin and Raleigh have Tallula, a sweet dachshund)... all well-behaved and friendly, their presence added that much more to the overall experience. Our room was positively lovely with soft linens, fluffy towels, a fireplace and jetted tub (perfect for unwinding after hiking Glen Falls which are a mere mile down the road!). The breakfasts are true sit-down, freshly prepared meals with variety over the course of your stay... no store bought pastries or mystery casseroles here! Cocktails in the evening allow you to get to know Colin and Raleigh better and I suggest you do! They are a charming and genuine pair... we feel so blessed to have had this opportunity to enjoy their company! Highlands was very dog friendly; we had no trouble finding restaurants and stores that allowed us to bring our pup. She was not only allowed, but a welcomed visitor everywhere we went. If you go on a busy weekend, take Colin's advice on making reservations... he will not steer your wrong! I would highly recommend this B&B to couples who like to travel with their dog, hiking/waterfalls during the day and fine dining in the evenings. We are already discussing when we will be going back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay for our anniversary at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary, and greatly enjoyed it. Donna and Chris were welcoming hosts. The room (Audubon) was clean and beautifully decorated, and everything was provided. The owners provided plenty of amenities (tea, lemon bars) and lots of information about things to do in the area and directions to get around. Breakfast was delicious, and we could dine indoors or outdoors. The dining room has a large picture window with a bird feeder, and we spent most of breakfast chatting with Chris or watching birds (including a species I hadn't seen before) and chipmunks. We would certainly visit here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2014

Fire Mountain was the exact place I had been searching for! Very private and secluded! Beautiful place surrounded by nature's beauty! The staff was so friendly.i felt like I had known them forever! I can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great accommodations & hosts are fantastic at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2014

Breakfast is an EXPERIENCE. Amazing food and views. The hosts are genuine and really want your stay and experience to be memorable. They are excellent at recommending local activities. We had a great time.

View more reviews for this inn


Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2013

An excellent B&B. We enjoyed our stay very much. So relaxing & accommodating. The host & hostess were so gracious & the rooms were beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful relaxing experience at Highlands House Bed and Breakfast (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2013

This review comes in terribly late, and to the hosts, I offer my sincere apologies. Everything was clean, neat, comfortable, etc, all the check boxes on great. What I want to highlight is the great hosts, and a truly comfortable time. Raleigh and Colin offer a wonderful evening drink before supper [abroad] that I miss the most: great conversations and hospitality. The unique blend of architecture and items inside were skillfully and tasteful selected, which made for a few great discussions. They offered as much or little privacy as you desired. Their spot on the hill was quiet and quite pretty. All the rooms (I think) opened up to the rear courtyard overlooking the gazebos and garden and water features. At least our 2 bedroom suite did. Breakfast was always special, a real treat. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite downstairs, that was the size of a small apartment. It is the one where every bedroom has its own bathroom. It's the one I'll be staying in again when we return. Between 2 of the rooms lies a connecting foyer that opens up onto the rear courtyard, furnished with games, books, and very comfortable chairs and a sofa. It's all glassed in and servers for a nice warm place to read, or nap (in my case), depending on how long you happen to sit there. I could probably go on and on, but really, these folks offer a warm, inviting stay that you will miss very quickly after you leave. Quick area tip: I won't speak about any unfavorable local restaurant issues that we had. I will say that the Mexican restaurant, only a mile or so closer to town from the B&B was great (AND AFFORDABLE). Everything had the taste and feel of homemade. ALSO I haven't been to Dillard House Restaurant since I was a child, but remember it fondly. If this is your first trip to Highlands, you have to go to Dillard House at least once. The road to Franklin is do-able during the day, but not for the faint of heart at night.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2013

Best vacation ever! Donna and Chris were a great help in guiding us what to see and where to go. Donna is a great cook!

View more reviews for this inn


Beatiful Get Away at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 24, 2013

A wonderful find for our anniversary. It started with a great boat ride hosted by Henry and Clare, with wonderful Clare's Innisfree Fire Crackers and snacks as well as drinks, while Henry piloted the boat and provided commentary about the lake. Great breakfast served every morning on the balcony, and nice views of the mountains, birds and evening sky. A special place that we intend to visit again. Bruce & Rebecca

View more reviews for this inn


Top on mountain top at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2013

during our three-weeks road-trip in southern US we choose Fire Mountain as a break to have some days of rest and relaxation. Fire Mountain exceeded our expectations. It is a real magic place, the hosts Hiram and Mathew are very nice, friendly and helpful and are supported by a good team. Thank you very much again for your hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Inn with view of the lake at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 12, 2013

This was our first visit to this wonderful, romantic inn tucked into the mounains with a view of Lake Glenville. Clare and Henry are wonderful hosts and made sure everything was to our liking. The food was excellent and you can't beat the view. Be sure to check out the champagne cruise. We really enjoyed our stay and will most assuredly return.

View more reviews for this inn


Start with the best at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2013

We just returned from our first, but not last, stay at Innisfree Bed and Breakfast near Cashiers, NC. We just can't say enough about this wonderful place! The elegance, hospitality of the innkeepers, delicious breakfasts that were served on our veranda overlooking the gardens, music playing in our room when we arrived, and the fabulous champagne cruise all added up to a wonderful few days that I can't wait to repeat. You shouldn't miss this place. Put it on your must-do list!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake (Cashiers, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2013

Innisfree is the perfect place to go for a romantic, peaceful getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


SPRING BREAK Unplugged 2013 at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2013

We have returned to our beloved Fire Mountain once again with our three kids (9yo twin girls and 12yo boy) and good dog Bandit. We requested the Hemlock cabin again, because of the expansive floor plan and the Jacuzzi on the back deck. We found the cabin so airy and rustically pristine with the new ...read morewood floors in the main living area and kitchen. The weather was perfect, and things were blooming all over. The five of us spent our late mornings/early afternoons hiking/picnicking in the surrounding area, Standing Indian campground (lunch on Pickens’ Nose has become a family tradition), as well as revisiting such lovely hikes as Whiteside Mountain, which the kids had not experienced before. Our afternoons and evenings were spent soaking in the beauty of Fire Mountain and exploring the property. We were graced with the presence of some beautiful horses on the adjacent farm, as well as some longhorn cattle. In the evenings, with no internet or TV, we just relaxed into our family pattern on the couches surrounding the expansive fireplace, with more Jacuzzi. I highly recommend this unplugged getaway for those of you who have a family that depends a lot on all things digital. Our kids loved it last year, and requested it this year, so that is the best part!

View more reviews for this inn


SPRING BREAK Unplugged 2013 at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2013

We have returned to our beloved Fire Mountain once again with our three kids (9yo twin girls and 12yo boy) and good dog Bandit. We requested the Hemlock cabin again, because of the expansive floor plan and the Jacuzzi on the back deck. We found the cabin so airy and rustically pristine with the new wood floors in the main living area and kitchen. The weather was perfect, and things were blooming all over. The five of us spent our late mornings/early afternoons hiking/picnicking in the surrounding area, Standing Indian campground (lunch on Pickens’ Nose has become a family tradition), as well as revisiting such lovely hikes as Whiteside Mountain, which the kids had not experienced before. Our afternoons and evenings were spent soaking in the beauty of Fire Mountain and exploring the property. We were graced with the presence of some beautiful horses on the adjacent farm, as well as some longhorn cattle. In the evenings, with no internet or TV, we just relaxed into our family pattern on the couches surrounding the expansive fireplace, with more Jacuzzi. I highly recommend this unplugged getaway for those of you who have a family that depends a lot on all things digital. Our kids loved it last year, and requested it this year, so that is the best part!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Wonderful vacation at Fire Mountain!!! at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 15th stay at Fire Mountain. When we first started visiting this wonderfut resort, we stayed for a long weekend and we have grown to love it so much it has morphed into week-long stays. We always like to stay in the cabin, "Hemlock." It is a spacious cabin with warm honey-pine walls, great new flooring, full kitchen and a large stone fireplace. But, by far, our favorite feature is the hot tub that sits on a large deck with a beautiful view. There is nothing better than sitting in a hot tub in the winter, looking at the view and knowing that there is a roaring fire to warm you up when you make the dash back inside! We enjoy the quiet and the privacy. The staff is quietly attentive and our every need was met. We also enjoy the fact the location is so secluded and quiet. Every day life is crazy. But, when we come to Fire Mountain, we can get away from all the demands on our time and reconnect with each other. At the end of our stays we are always refreshed and sad to leave! The hosts, Matthew and Hiram, are always warm and professional. We look forward to seeing and chatting with them upon our arrival (and departure!). They make us feel welcome and "at home." If you want a quiet, secluded place to get away from the stress of our world today, this is the place to go!! Jo & Jerry

View more reviews for this inn


Magnificent Property With Innkeepers Extraordinaire at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on January 02, 2013

We’ve been here multiple times and appreciate the consistency in setting and staff. Don’t be suspicious of these multiple positive comments from essentially every guest. I know from experience that the writers are describing their stay accurately. My experience is with the cabins, but I am certain that all accommodations excel in their categories. The site is a quiet getaway where you can visit with the few others you might see, or you can be assured of absolutely privacy. Stay away if you are looking for televisions and human noise. Do not look for a telephone or alarm clock. The drive, the paths, the art gallery, the views, chairs and bonfire: attention to detail abounds. Your hosts aim to please and can guide you to the abundant nearby scenery or any shopping you need. The support staff will unobtrusively embellish your stay. I see no room for improvement and always look forward to my next stay at Fire Mountain.

View more reviews for this inn


What a great romatic get away! at Fire Mountain Inn, Cabins & Treehouses (Highlands, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on November 06, 2012

Nancy & I stayed the last weekend in October with the leaves at the end of their color. The sunset from our westward Spruce villa was wonderful, as was the food, hospitality from Hiram and Matthew. If you are there for romance ask for the Honeymoon champagne/strawberries: what a great way to start off your visit. We loved the property and plan to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}