Garden Island Inn Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining3.7

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Garden Island Inn made our vacation 5 star

5 on December 12, 2014

Upon check in we knew right away we had made the right hotel choice. We were greeted and treated with Island Aloha the entire stay. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed our evenings after dinner relaxing in the beautiful gardens drinking wine and meeting fellow guests. In morning the coffee and special breakfast treats made it easy to get an early jump on all our activities. We also made use of the free beach towels, beach chairs and lots of other island essentials provided. They even had sunscreen! I can't say enough aloha about the staff that always steered us in the right direction and made our stay one to remember. A special aloha to Patrick he was the maintenance guy always sprucing things up but always made time to give us the island knowledge that kept us ahead of the crowds. Rob and Robin McAfee So. CA


Fun little place to stay

3.6 on November 10, 2014

We only stayed here for one night at the end of our stay on the island but it was great. The front office was helpful, fun and friendly and we would definitely stay here again.


Perfect Place

5 on November 06, 2014

It's close to the airport. Free parking. Original hand painted pictures in the rooms and around the hotel. The hotel grounds are well kept. The rooms are normal size. The hotel staff was the best I've seen yet. They let us borrow boogie boards, beach umbrellas, a little grill, towels, beach mats, beach chairs....They printed our boarding passes. Beach, great restaurants, and shopping are just a minutes walk away. I would definately stay there again.


awesome place to stay in kauai

4.4 on November 03, 2014

Hotel was very festive rooms very hawaiineii and I extended my stay and for the same rate they upgraded my room since the room i stayed in was booked. Its right in the middle of Kauai so perfect to do everything with out changing hotels they also have boogie boards and snorkel gear you rent for free and beach is across the street. -Mahalo


A bit of Magic

5 on October 26, 2014

This place is wonderful. Each of the room doors are painted with its own unique image or scene by a local artists who was living at the hotel at on point. The grounds have been turned into a beautiful garden with a gazebo and flagstone paths. St night the Gazebo and surrounding trees are illuminated with little white lights- it is so pretty it looks like a bit of magic in the modern world. It isn't just how great the place looks. The people who work there are sincerely nice and helpful. I thought it was a family business because of how they interacted with one another. Every employee had lived on Kauai for years, and would answer questions thoroughly based on their knowledge of the island. These people were super nice and easy to talk to and it felt like having a home while we were there. IN addition to beauty and good people, the amenities here were excellent. Books, scuba gear, DVDs for guest use in the office. The rooms had little refrigerators and microwaves, plus enough plates, napkins, utensils that you could make snacks or easy meals in your room. The rooms were clean, big, and bright. The location is great! Not far from the airport. Shops and restaurants ar within walking distance. Easy access to the road you can use to travel al the way to the north shore or to the east side of the island. My boyfriend and I loved this place and would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone going to Kauai.


Great value for a central location on Kauai

4.2 on October 18, 2014

We booked a few days stay on Kauai a bit late and decided in the Garden Island Inn because of the reviews and price. We weren't disappointed. The value was terrific! The location turned out to be very central and although the room was a bit old fashioned and on the small side, the was nothing tired and worn out about it. It gad been brightly finished with fun paintings and the grounds were clean and fun. The real stand out was the very friendly service from EVERYONE on the desk and the little extras. Beach towels? Beach chairs? Snorkeling gear? Movies? Snacks? Help yourself. Plus they provided one of the best local guide books I've ever used for our entire stay. We didn't spend much time in the room, and they really helped make the most of a beautiful island. Great value and delightful stay.


A Room with Character

3.4 on October 17, 2014

My husband and I only spent one night here, but it was a fun place to stay. The room wasn't large, but it was well furnished. I loved that not only was there a refrigerator and microwave, but plates, bowls and silverware too. If you bring your own food or have leftovers, you tend to need those things and most places don't furnish them. Nice touch!!!


Love this place

4.0 on September 29, 2014

Beyond expectations. We had a great stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.


A very nice stay

3.4 on September 22, 2014

We had a very nice experience at the Garden Island Inn. The room was very clean and the staff corteous. The Hotel had everything we need it, chairs, umbrellas, coolers, towels, and beach toys. We will definitely come back.

Innkeeper Response
Mahalo for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to use our complimentary beach gear. Kalapaki Beach has so much to offer, SUP & surf lessons, clear clean protected water, and a great sandy palm tree shore! Visit us again, aloha! Lis & Steve Layne


Charming retro feel

4.6 on September 15, 2014

Garden Island Inn is a quaint little inn that is right in the thick of island activities. The staff treats you like family. Grounds landscaping is gorgeous and it is right across the street from a wonderful beach. Shopping and great restaurants as well as small eateries make this inn a come back place.

Innkeeper Response
We are a small boutique artsy hotel very delighted to have original art on doors, walls, and canvases in every room. Immerse yourself in the tropical paradise at our hotel and away! Guest service, comfort, value plus a great location is happening here at our Retro Hotel. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne


Charming place

3.8 on September 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night on arrival on the island. We had a time share on the north shore but wanted to come in a day early; Garden Island Inn was perfect, very near the airport for a late evening arrival. Room very clean and comfortable, better than expected given other reviews about the place being dated. It is a throwback to a less fancy era, but really, had everything we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful regarding places to eat, beaches, free use of equipment and beach towels. Convenient for exploring either north or south; we would stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us, glad you enjoyed our hotel, staff and location. Please stay with us again when you need a room pre or post time share. Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne


Great place to stay!

4.4 on September 03, 2014

When making plans to go to Hawaii (Kauai), you just want everything to be as good as it can be. We reserved one of the condos and couldn't have been more happy. In fact, when we return (and we will) we are definately going to stay at the Garden Island Inn. The staff was very helpful and provided us with beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, etc..just about everything we needed.

Innkeeper Response
Great to hear you had a great trip to Kauai and will come back to stay at our hotel. We are constantly making upgrades to the hotel providing the highest value and comfort with our guests experience the top priority.Many thanks for your comprehensive glowing review! Hope to see you here again soon! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne


Updated/Funky 1960s Motel – Worth a Look

4.4 on September 01, 2014

We stayed four nights in August, 2014. We chose it because of its location, and its (relatively) budget pricing. We had a third-floor room with air conditioning. The facility looks to originally date from the 1960s and, objectively-speaking, falls into the low side of “two-diamond.” It’s clean and basic, but not ritzy. However, the unique painting and decoration goes a long way to make it more interesting! Our third-floor room, with a high ceiling, felt bright and airy. The bathroom had been partly updated. The staff are very helpful. There’s a garden area out front where you can sit and read in the shade. The location is terrific – you can walk to a nice beach and a good selection of restaurants… and an easy drive to many more. Combine all this with the reasonable price, and it’s not a bad deal. A few more comments: The back side of the hotel is built into a hill. That’s where a man-made water feature is located. The water is loud, but it masks sounds that might otherwise be audible from other rooms. Being built into a hill, however, the hotel’s very close to the native wildlife. Kauai as a whole has tons of geckos, so don’t be surprised if a little one finds his way into your room. They’re harmless, eat bugs, and kinda cute, but a surprise if you’re not prepared. We also found a very large bug in our room one night – again, presumably because of the surroundings. This was a surprise, and NOT cute. However, the place was quite clean and there was no sign of cleanliness being a factor in the bug’s presence. On balance, the Garden Island Inn is definitely worth considering, especially for a third-floor room.


Perfect Location, Amazing Customer Service

4.8 on June 30, 2014

Great customer service. Beach essentials available - boogie boards, coolers, chairs, even sunscreen. Wonderful cookies at the front desk and even a pumpkin pie with berries one morning. Granola bars as well. The location in Lihue is the perfect spot to see what Kauai has to offer. Across the street from the beach and restaurants/shopping.


Midwest Island Hoppers

4.4 on May 07, 2014

My wife and I had a very nice relaxing three day stay at the Garden Island Inn. The location is close to many shops, eating establishments, a nice beach and many watering holes. The staff at the facility were very helpful and super friendly. The freshly made treats in the lobby were outstanding. We would definitely stay here if we made a return visit to the beautiful Island of Kauai. Aloha and Mahalo!!!


Bright, Colorful Inn with a Great Staff

4.4 on May 07, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights after a week at Poipu. Family left and Dad had time to himself. Convenient location to all shopping in Lihue, airport and local restaurants including my favorite-Kauai Pasta (Lihue location). Health club across the street was welcoming to drop-ins, swam in the harbor both days, so all was good here. The bright colors always put a smile on my face-very uplifting and cheerful. Enjoyed my stay! Please note: The program won't let me skip the dining rating. The Inn does have coffee makers, small fridges and microwaves in rooms, but does not offer breakfast. Not a big deal to me. Cheapest breakfast is at the mall in Times Supermarket-a buffet of sorts by the pound. Plus, musabi. Grabbed some eggs, bacon and musabi each day. Good enough for me.


Garden Island Inn

3.8 on April 22, 2014

THis is a small, quaint and a little funky option for the Kauai traveler who wants to be away from the more beaten tourist path. A lot of nice Hawaiian features and close to some good dining options like Dukes.


First night in Kauai.

3.4 on April 18, 2014

The hotel is close to the airport, the taxi there was $21. We liked the fun and colourful decorations and the place had a nice atmosphere in general. We only stayed for one night so I can't say that much about it. The bech is on the other side of a bigger street. There are lots of other more wild and natural beaches so go explore but this was a good place for us to start our Kauai adventure.


Small, older hotel with nice ocean views and central location.

4.2 on July 25, 2013

Clean rooms with AC, great staff, good central location with ocean views. Our last day stay was in room 21 on 3rd floor. This room is on the front corner with a full wrap lanai overlooking the bay. Was well worth the extra $20!


Alternative to big box hotels

3.8 on July 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Garden Island Inn. It's charming and fun. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Lovely facility, surrounded by flowers and tropical plants. Convenient to airport and local shops and restaurants.


Delightful stay, hoping to repeat

4.4 on May 29, 2013

Staff were generous and helpful, cheerful and friendly at all times, very organized and flexible with our late arrival after a long flight from Australia. The amenities are terrific -- beach towels, snorkeling gear, always cookies and coffee in the lobby. It is a real pleasure to stay in a place with its own delightful, charming and artistic personality, all exemplifying the beauty of Kauai. And, the location is excellent: easy drive from the airport in the dark of late night, walking-distance close to shops and restaurants, and the beach!


Garden Island Inn, NICE !!

4.4 on February 26, 2013

I live in the Garden Island Inn. from Feb 7, 2013 to Feb 13, 2013. The room is very Hawaii, and I realy love it.If I travel to Kauai the next time, maybe I will choose here again. All in all, NICE !!


A great day at the beach thanks to Garden Island Inn.

4.2 on November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here before going on to our next place up north. We returned our last day on the Island with an odd request. We asked to store a couple of items and to borrow towels and boogie boards for a few hours of beach play (across street) before catching our plane. The hostess not only graciously agreed but even offered to call a taxi to set up our ride to the airport. Great Aloha spirit.


Pleasant surprise

4.2 on March 31, 2012

Stayed for our first two nights because it is near the airport, but I wish we had stayed longer. We got a corner room on the top floor with a kitchenette- great value and the space was incredible. Very clean and comfortable. Parking ample. Very short walk to beach, shops, and great restaurants. Friendly front desk person went out of her way to make calls for us. Drawbacks: noisy during day with open window, so-so view, almost no hot water.


Rainy Stay on Kauai

4.4 on March 19, 2012

My friends, who I met on Kauai, stayed here 4 years ago, and recommended this place. It's not a swanky resort, but it's a great value and very friendly and clean. The room was spacious, and equipped with a fan, TV, good shower, microwave and small refrigerator. Also had a coffeemaker, coffee, cups, mugs, plastic bowls and plates and silverware. The office provides a morning paper, coffee, granola bars and cookies. One can borrow DVDs, used books, beach towels, beach chairs, etc. for your stay there. Staff is very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were cleaned daily and well.


our Lihue trip

4.2 on September 26, 2011

First of all , I have to say the staff is outstanding, polite,helpful in every way...They will chart out a day trip for you that you will thoroughly enjoy and not forget. The hotel will loan you everything you need for a pleasant beach experience. The value is hard to beat, considering the location ( withing walking distance ) to shops, restaurants, the beach and park. O did I mention the tangelo juice thats made each morning by Wayne from the fruit harvested on the property...Yes we would stay there again and I have no problem recommending this hotel to friends...


Garden Island Inn

3.8 on June 08, 2011

Spent our last day in Kauai here. It's quaint, friendly, colorful, funky with nice landscaping & garden. Within walking distance to Duke's Barefoot Bar plus other bars, dining & places for some last minute shopping. Room was small, busy road out front, no pool but had a view of the ocean, 2nd floor room, with a nice beach within a 5 minute walk. A good place to stay for a day or two but not your entire vacation. I would stay here again.


Best Value on Kauai

4.2 on February 23, 2011

Beautiful property, great location, awesome service. No better deal on the Island!


Not too bad for a short stay

3.4 on January 18, 2011

The "boutique" style hotel is really an old hotel. The location is very good though. Walking distance to the shopping "mall" and lots of options for dining. The Kalapaki beach was across the road and is very nice. No rocks and smooth sand. The service desk was OUTSTANDING! They helped us with some small but important items, let us print out our boarding passes there... were very friendly and helpful. The local mosquitoes are vicious. Tiny but so much pain in the butt :). Don't forget your repellent! The room we had was very small, but ok for 2 people. The kitchenette was there but also very small. Microwave and tiny fridge. Very old TV (not a flat screen... For the price in Hawaii - not too bad for a couple of days stay. Otherwise, it is better to get a house shared with the bunch of friends. More comfortable and less expensive. :-).


disappointed

2.8 on November 01, 2010

The room was adequate for our need - 1 night after a long flight before traveling to our ultimate destination. However, the vertical blinds were missing several slats which made privacy an issue as people could see into our room. We didn't bother to mention it since we were so tired and only stayed the one night.


Garden Island Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $150
  • Reviews (30) 4.1
  • Rooms 21

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8082457227
  • Fax 1-8082457603
  • Toll free 1-8006480154

Visit Website »

View details

Top