Kauai Beach Inn, Poipu Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

Now Closed

3.0 on August 17, 2014

Lovely B&B, but now closed for business.


Cannot recommend due to change in innkeepers

3.4 on August 09, 2014

Location was good. Down the road from much more expensive hotels in a prime area, centrally located. The place is showing age though, and the innkeepers have departed so i would not recommend. I am not sure that place is taking reservations.


A Pearl in paradise

3.8 on August 03, 2014

Stayed at Kauai Beach in for 12 nights and could easily have stayed for another 12. Located within walking distance to the Beach, and a small shopping mall with excellent dining. The Room was nice and cosy, with a small private patio just out front. The inn keepers, was very service minded and helped me plan my sightseeing during My stay. Their knowledge of the Island and the sights was High. Unfortunately they are handing over the place to the land Lord by the end of july 2014, so it won't be the same.


Comfortable, friendly, great location

3.6 on June 03, 2014

Bob & Patti were easy-going hosts who gave us great advice on places to eat and visit during our stay. Patti's hearty and delicious breakfast was a great way to start any day. Whilst not the Grand Hyatt, the accommodations were clean and comfortable. Walking distance to some good eats. Just remember to bring your ear-plugs (for the ever roaming Kauai roosters)!


One of Kauai's Best

4.6 on May 30, 2014

Terrific hosts with great breakfasts and comfortable rooms with lots of amenities.


Comfortable at Poipu!

4.6 on April 30, 2014

These 3 days spent with Patti & Bob were so what we needed after the death of my mother! They were discrete with our information but so forth coming with warm condolences, much sharing after the other guests had left for the day, helped with FAXING necessary papers to the mainland. It was like staying with old friends!


Perfect Stay

4.2 on April 26, 2014

We stayed in the Plumeria Suite for 9 nights and absolutely loved it! Patti and Bob are amazing people! We appreciated their tips about the island, where we should go or what we should do very much. The breakfasts were a surprise every morning. The great variety of them were amazing and we enjoyed every one of it. As mentioned, we stayed in the Plumeria Suite which was very clean and comfortable. You really feel at home. Some people might find the noise from the road disturbing, we thought it was nice to hear "the life going on" around us. Most of the time you'll hear birds or chickens rather than cars anyway. And yes, there are a lot of chickens (as everywhere on Kaua'i) and therefore roosters, and yes, they crow in the morning, but after some time we didn't hear them anymore. There is a big assortment of beach-stuff available. And even though the sea isn't right in front of the house, it's only a short walk away. Lots of nice places to go for a swim, snorkel or watch Green Sea Turtles feeding off the rocks! For dinner there are a lot of different choices you can walk to! We never got bored and never went to the same place twice... All in all a very pleasant stay with lots of good moments we will remember for the rest of our lives. Thank you Patti and Bob so much and keep up the fantastic work!


Loved our stay!

4.4 on April 18, 2014

Patti and Bob are amazing hosts. This was a wonderful home base for exploring Kauai!


Kauai Beach Inn, a lovely place.

5 on March 10, 2014

We spent two nights at this B & B and enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were great. The owner very nice and friendly which I would expect since she is a Pennsylvania transplant! The accommodations were second to none. The other guests were very friendly and conversation was easy during our stay.


Kauai escape

4.0 on March 09, 2014

Great location and very helpful staff. Breakfast was wonderful. Next time I will go in the summer when hiking and snorkeling are better.


Enjoyable stay

5 on March 06, 2014

Very nice and friendly b&b for a reasonable price. Bob & Patti have always good informations and tipps about what is going on on Kauai. Very helpful in every way.


Room small - rest great

3.8 on February 20, 2014

The room was to tiny for two people, the bathroom could need more effort. Service, Breakfast and Innkeeping was great.


Great place, great hosts

4.2 on January 17, 2014

Bob & Patti were super hospitable, friendly, and helpful, and the comfortable house has a lot of historic charm. Breakfast and conversation were great every morning. A place we were sad to leave, for sure. We had a fantastic time there, and we recommend it to anyone looking for a better view of Kauai than you'd get at a resort.


Mellow Poipu hospitality

3.4 on January 16, 2014

Patti and Bob were very friendly and helpful. felt like we have known them for Years!


Home away from home

4.4 on January 11, 2014

The owners, Bob and Patti, did everything possible to make my stay comfortable and memorable.


Perfect Place To Stay In Kauai

5 on January 07, 2014

A real gem!!! We highly recommend this B&B when you want to stay in Kauai. Bob and Patti (the owners of the B&B) are very friendly and helped us everytime we needed them. Even as our car didn´t start anymore because of a low battery. One call and Bob came with his car to help us. Amazing! Furthermore they gave us advices for our daily trips, which were everytime awesome. What´s better than insider tips?! Claudia & Marek And the daily breakfast was absolutely great. Tasty! All in all we only can say: "Thank you Bob and Patti for making our vacations so wonderful. It was a pleasure to meet you. When we will come back to Kauai, we will stay another time at your B&B!".


Somewhat disappointed

2.2 on January 06, 2014

Positives: The owners were nice and knowledgeable and gave very good advice. The location is also a good spot for exploring Kauai. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. (bonus points for Netflix too) However overall we were quite disappointed. The rooms were extremely overpriced given the quality -- dark and dank rooms (your bathing suit will not be dry after 24h), lots of bugs (difficult to control because the windows are glass louvers)… Our "private lanai" was the front porch, no privacy or direct access from the room, we had to walk around through the common room and basically were sitting on the road. Also the much-touted breakfast was disappointing -- overcooked eggs and no fresh juice? Also our breakfast tray stayed out on our lanai for over 24h without being cleared, kinda gross. Important note: they are not kidding about the roosters, so light sleepers should stay away or take them up on the earplugs they offer. Also, the B&B is right on a busy road and the noise of the cars is bothersome. (louver windows provide no sound proofing at all).


Wonderful Stay at the Kauai Beach Inn!

3.8 on December 26, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at this B&B. Extremely knowledgeable,congenial, and kind hosts. Very helpful and welcoming to all.


Kauai vacation

4.8 on September 30, 2013

During my 7 day stay, Bob & Patti went out of their way to make my stay pleasant and enjoyable. They are friendly and hospitable. The B & B was in an extremely convenient location: close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants. Patti's breakfasts were memorable.


Good Times on Kauai !

5 on September 20, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy Kauai and the Poipu area in a very relaxed, "at home" atmosphere. The owners are friendly, engaging and helpful with information on any activities or locations you'd like to do or see. An added bonus is that they are a 2 minute walking distance to a variety of good restaurants and places to shop. There's great snorkeling and beaches a 2 minute drive away as well.


Wonderful stay at the Kauai Beach Inn Poipu Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on September 03, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Kauai Beach Inn Poipu Bed and Breakfast. The inn was perfect and hosts Bob and Patti Kurtz were wonderful. Patti makes delicious eggs and also served fresh mangoes grown on the property. Pleasant conversation, privacy when needed, and a peaceful setting made my vacation! Mahalo nui loa, Bob and Patti. I'll be back!


Helpful owners with a quaint B&B!

4.4 on July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Kauai and I attribute a good portion of that to our decision to stay at this B&B. Bob & Patty were extremely welcoming! They shared their opinions on what to do on the island and even made reservations for us for tours and events. Some mornings they joined us at the table and talk with us. I do review places based in other accommodations and thus, my review probably seems lower than how highly I just spoke of the owners. I have quite a bit of experience at B&Bs so I will share what I think is important to know about it. The location is wonderful. Parking is tight but they have it well organized and it was never a problem. If you're researching a trip to kauai, you've probably read about the obnoxious chickens. It's true. The windows are open often, so you'll def hear the chickens! The room we stayed was very comfortable and the tv wa connected to their free wifi. Being a huge fan of B&Bs, I was a bit disappointed with breakfast. It wasn't so much that the food wasn't "ok," but it was a small breakfast (toast and eggs with papaya yogurt and granola) in comparison to what I'm used to. We had the same meal each day (except one day we had to leave before breakfast was served) which was a little disappointing. My kind suggestion to these wonderful people would be to mix it up a little. The day we had to leave early thu gave us yogurt, fruit and a huge muffin which we greatly appreciated. I actually started buying the brand of yogurt she served! With that said, I would most def retirn. We really enjoyed our stay. We hope to come back someday!


Your Kauai Home Away from Home

4.4 on May 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kauai Beach Inn, Poipu B&B for 9 nights and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. There are many other nice hotels or resorts to stay on Kauai, especially if you have very deep pockets, but I can't imagine any of them providing for a more welcoming, comfortable place to come home to after a long day of adventure or sightseeing. If you want a fancy room with a big landscaped pool area, the B&B won't be for you, but if you want attentive, accommodating and knowledgeable hosts who will make you feel like old friends, the Kauai Beach Inn could be just the spot for you. The rooms have everything you'd want, and Bob and Patti can provide the rest. Great breakfast - best part of the day was often just sharing the meal with the Bob and Patti and the other guest, trading plans for the day and recounting adventures from the day before. Would definitely stay again on a future visit.


Service is outstanding!

3.8 on September 03, 2011

Last month I have the opportunity to visit Kauai and I stayed at the Kauai Beach Inn, Poipu Bed and Breakfast. What makes it more beautiful is the genuine service that the innkeepers gave.


Home away from Home

5 on August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Poipu Bed & Breakfast for our honeymoon. We were there for 9 nights and felt like we were staying with dear friends. Bob and Patti are incredible hosts with great recommendations. Skip also helps out and is just as warm, friendly and fun to be with as Bob and Patti. The food was the best that I have ever had at a B&B by far. I felt like we had picked the best place to stay at on the entire island and I look forward to going back.


Very nice place

4.6 on August 01, 2011

The innkeeper couple were very nice and helpful.


Great place to stay

4.8 on July 27, 2011

My husband and I were only on Kauai for three nights, but we feel that Bob and Patti, the innkeepers at Kauai Beach Inn, helped us make the most out of our time on the island. The B&B is centrally located on the south side of the island, which gave us plenty of options during the day. We are runners and feel that running is a great way to see a new place. Lucky for us, Skip, the assistant innkeeper, is a runner and he had great route recommendations! The breakfast featured local fruits and was absolutely delicious. Our only complaint is the rooters, which you cannot get away from anywhere on the island. We just turned on "white noise" on our laptop but ear plugs would probably do the trick as well. We felt right at home at the B&B and can't wait to go back!


A wonderful place

4.4 on June 17, 2011

I had a wonderful time at this B&B. The people who run this place are lovely and always very helpful.


Living Like a Local

4.6 on November 23, 2010

I was welcomed in like an old friend and had a wonderful time listening to live music on the porch. My host, Domonic, gave me great advice for hikes and excursions on Kauai. The location was perfect, near the ocean with fantastic snorkeling and sandy beach within a short walk, big shopping/eating center a short walk in the other direction. Dramatic sunsets every night. Room was big and clean, plenty of towels. Breakfast was relaxed and flexible, whatever I ask for, I got! This was so much more fun than when I stayed at the nearby Sheraton for twice the price. The outstanding, friendly service by my host, his staff, and getting to hang out with some entertaining musicians made my stay most memorable. I felt like I was a real Hawaiian local for a week ---a dream come true! I’ll be back! -Michael from San Francisco


Adventure Inn Oct 2010

4.6 on November 07, 2010

The Adventure Inn was the best B&B we ever stayed in. The room was great! It had a beautiful breeze blowing thru all day and night. The Inn Keeper Dom was awesome! He made us feel like we were home. He was so helpful with recommendations for various activities to do on the island. Staying at the B&B afforded us the extra money to use for the fun stuff! Great value compared to the hotels in the area. Thanks again Dom! Marliese & Rob


Summer break in Kaua'i

3.4 on July 10, 2010

Great location to south & west shore sights. Excellent hospitality made us feel very welcome.


Our X-mas Time Stay

4.4 on January 25, 2010

If you're looking for hospitality, friendly people and lots of laughs, then you MUST stay at the Poipu B&B!!! My boyfriend Alex and I stayed for X-mas eve and day, and decided to add on one more day after all the great adventures we spent with Nick, JD and Monica at the Poipu B&B! It's a lovely old-fashioned house, very nice rooms, we even had a jacuzzi in our bathroom! There was always something happening in the house, whether a talent show put on by young guests in the living room, or delicious meals in the kitchen! But the best part of our stay were our hosts: we rented The Poipu B&B's rental car and were brought on an amazing Roadtrip led by our guide, Capitan JD! He brought us to all the secret spots on Kauai island, and showed us the real beauty of Hawaii. We were also taken on an exclusive snorkel tour by Nick to watch sea turtles begin their day! We would go back in a heart beat. Definitely recommended!!!


A beautiful place with extraordinary owner

4.0 on December 23, 2009

Never before has such an open arms welcome me. The Poipu Inn and its owner, with the fantastic location, were an enrichment in my experiences. The B&B is centrally located and the village center can be reached within few steps. The sea is just across the street. The dinner was extensive and specific. We all sat at one table and laughed without end. Young and old. The owner, Domonic, was always with us and entertained us with his fantastic guitar playing. The rooms are spacious and very clean. My peronal hightlight was the night dive, followed by a shrimp meal, which they impose themselves. I felt like home. All in all, I can strongly recommend Poipu B&B Inn.


Kauai Beach Inn, Poipu Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $299
  • Reviews (33) 4.2
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8082121942
  • Toll free 1-8002942924

Visit Website »

View details

Top