Ma'ukele Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Paradise

5 on April 18, 2014

Ma'ukele lodge is a special place - spiritual and breathtakingly beautiful. Travelers will appreciate the location and generosity of the owner!


Kalapana Market

4.8 on March 30, 2014

We enjoyed our upper floor stay. The property is nicely landscaped and the blue ocean is only steps away. We selected this location as it is ocean front and about 1/2 mile from the Kalapana Wednesday night market (family friendly) that goes from 5pm to 9pm. If you haven't been to the Wednesday night market, this is a must do! Excellent Hawaiian music, hula, food vendors, jewelry / flower / souvenir / incense / and the vendor list goes on. The town of Pahoa (off the main road) is also special, especially the restaurants. We would definitely return and we enjoyed our hosts. The bed is very comfortable and the sheets are lovely. Our private bath was equally nice with hot water on demand. Our hosts provided snacks and water bottle in our room. In the morning we enjoyed coffee, papaya with berries, yoghurt and pancakes. Our hosts were relaxed, engaging and helpful. We look forward to returning.


A unique experience

5 on January 15, 2014

We were so fortunate to find the Ma'ukele Lodge near Kalapana on the Big Island. We stayed there for two weeks and felt very much welcomed and at home thanks to our hosts Raven and Mark. The lodge is in a quiet and beautiful setting with beautiful views of the ocean and a newly formed lava/black sand beach. The region is lush with greenery and fresh fruit is abundant. Every morning we were treated to a fabulous, healthy breakfast (provided by Raven, our lovely host) on a beautiful deck with ocean views. Raven and Mark went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and special. Raven's attention to detail was appreciated. Additionally, she is a fascinating person with a unique background. You won't find this local knowledge and attention at resort hotels or big B&Bs. Mark took us a on a few tours of the area including a generous drive up Mauna Kea (where we took the little hike to the peak and to the permafrost lake). We feel like we have made new friends and will definitely go back. If you want to explore the active volcano, this is a great place to stay. At Ma'ukele Lodge you can hike over lava flows into old Kalapana, visit the interesting Painted Church (on foot), explore the many sights to be had along route 137 (also good for runners and cyclists) and you are very close to the spectacular Pahoa town. Some people want to be closer to the highway, but we liked being a bit more isolated. It was a true getaway.


Magnifique!

5 on December 25, 2013

I would just have one word to say: "WOW"! This place is so amazing, my only dream is to go back there. Let's start by the place: Ma'ukele Lodge is a lovely wooden blue house in the middle of cocounut trees and all kinds of exotic plants. The house is right next to the ocean, you just have to cross the beautiful garden and you arrive on lava fields where waves are crushing (it's too rough for swimming). And the room: you must have the Hawaiian Suite with its confortable beds and with its outdoor bathroom and shower. Being able to shower in the middle of exotic plants, birds singing and coqui frogs at night (but still with privacy) is a wonderful experience! We felt sooo relaxed at this place and so close to the nature, it was just perfect! And finally, but not least, the hosts, Raven, and Mark were so nice, welcoming and helpful. We sat with them on the deck watching the ocean and chatting. Mark told us everything there is to do around the island and told us great stories on Hawaiian people. Raven is a perfect host, cooking delicious breakfasts (indeed the banana pancakes are delicious) and leaving sweets and flowers in our room so that we felt even more welcome at their place. Every other place we slept on this and other islands in Hawaii after staying here felt so neutral then... Thank you Raven & Mark for sharing thie piece of paradise with us and others.


Ma'ukele Lodge

5 on December 18, 2013

Mark and Raven are the perfect hostesses! The room was fantastic- the view, the tropical surroundings, Awesome!! They are so nice, helpful and want to make your stay w/them perfect!


Ma'ukele Lodge- A true taste of island living!

5 on December 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Hawaii, my first experience in a B&B, my first night in authentic island living. It was SUPERB! Unforgettable!!! Highly Highly Recommend.


In the Middle of Lava

3.2 on December 12, 2013

Amazing Nature Contrast: Ocean, Lava, Beach...you feel the power of nature....


Paradise and Renewal found at Maukele Lodge and the Volcano Kiluea

4.4 on September 16, 2013

My husband and I began our 10 day sojourn in Paradise at the Maukele Lodge (InnKaimu). Near Kohala. Our Renewal and revival of souls began almost the minute our feet landed in this peaceful place. Raven is an artistic eclectic decorator, and a very good cook and thoughtful hostess. She makes the inn special; we stayed in her best room for 3 nights and the outdoor, secluded tropical bathroom took us a little getting used to--at least 5 minutes (we especially enjoyed it at night under a Milky Way of millions of stars and the chorus of Coqui frogs). Breakfast on the spacious deck with full ocean view and tiny gecko companions was delicious, peaceful, and memorable....the Lava hiking and black sand beach, the beautiful abundance of tropical fruit, flowers, birds, and the Trade Winds blowing in regularly made it a very memorable and pleasant stay. It is also very near the newest vent where Lava empties into the ocean (via the world-famous shield volcano, Kiluea) and many Lava Tours are available. Very Nearby are snorkel beaches and a thermal pool--we swam it every morning...we plan to return soon.


Love the Ma'ukele Lodge

4.6 on August 30, 2013

Its a hippie eco friendly super loving place.I will return for sure. We love Raven and Mark. The room was just beautiful and the privet beach is something wonderful. A must on big island. If you want to enjoy the outdoors stay here!


Great place

4.6 on August 26, 2013

Luxurious combination of old Hawaiian decor and forestry shore environment; with modern conveniences and helpful interesting hosts.


Perfection

5 on August 26, 2013

How do you improve on perfection? We first stayed with Raven in 1990. Its a mystical, beautiful experience in every regard.


Tranquil

5 on August 22, 2013

The stay here was awesome. The room was clean, the decor was gorgeous! The environment by the ocean is so tranquil.


Wonderful Hawaiian Experience

4.6 on July 20, 2013

Stayed July 14-18, 2013..My family and I (2 kids and husband) stayed here for 4 nights. Raven was a wonderful hostess. She provided us a delicious breakfast on the Lanai every morning. We had little geckos visit us every morning. They were fun to watch and very entertaining. Our room was wonderful. The outdoor bathroom was different for us but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The frogs at night are loud but Raven provided earplugs if needed. The room was always cleaned daily with fresh linens and towels. Raven's decor is cool The location of this bed and breakfast is awesome. You can walk out to the ocean and sit on the sand/lava to watch waves crash (very quiet spot). The place is on a road that is loaded with sites to visit i.e. tide pools, light house, and snorkel tide pool. There is a great cafe down the street that has great food and a Farmer's Market on Wed. night (fun to do). This was a wonderful place to stay to truly get a tropical Hawaiian feel. If ever in Hawaii again, we will definitely go back to stay at this Bed & Breakfast. Thank you Raven, for a wonderful stay.


Tropical paradise

5 on April 21, 2013

Inn Kaimu/Makuele Lodge is simply paradise. We stayed in the Hawaiian Suite, beautifully and eclectically furnished, with an extremely comfortable bed. The outdoor bathroom was very private, especially the shower in the garden. Innkeeper Raven Slaughter is a gracious and accommodating host. Her gardens are simply beautiful, and she's an excellent cook. The garden opens to a walkway down to the lava and black sand beach. We stayed two nights and would happily return to visit again.


The Real Hawaii

4.6 on February 01, 2013

Great location....the best hospitality ever! Raven and Mark opened their home and hearts to us making for a great week and adventure. Mahalo Nui for a great week. Bill and Lora


WONDERFUL PLACE, AMAZING PEOPLE

4.6 on January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night (too short, in retrospect). Raven and Mark treated us so warmly--we totally felt at home. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Raven's breakfast was delicious. The property feels like real, authentic, old Hawaii. It is a piece of history, as one of the few remaining buildings that survived the big lava flow that wiped out the town of Kalapana in the area. If you are looking for a typical cold, modern condo, this may not be for you, but I would HIGHLY recommend it for anyone who likes a place with character. An eclectic bohemian air surrounds you. Close drive to awesome tide pools, black sand beaches, the cute town of Pahoa, and steps from Uncle Robert's Awa. Great base if you plan to hike to the lava currently flowing into the ocean.


Rainforest experience PLUS wild volcano adventures

4.8 on January 06, 2013

Our family, including our six year old, had a magical stay at the Ma'ukele Lodge over the New Year holidays. We were looking for adventure and found a beautiful place to explore the coastline (which had turquoise waves breaking against black lava cliffs), relax among the natural Hawaiian vegetation and make new local Hawaiian friends! This is a must for anyone who needs something more than a resort to have a memorable vacation. P.S. Fresh fruit breakfast on the deck overlooking the Pacific were fabulous too ;)


One of a kind

5 on December 24, 2012

Just perfect! Raven is wonderfull and helpfull. Quiet place (yes, there a lot of frog but come whit nature!), breakfast verry good and a lot of little friends (gecko). We did a lot of BB in US and Canada and it's one of the best.


Wonderful writer's retreat

5 on December 04, 2012

I stayed with three of my friends in the Hawaiian suite at Ma'ukele lodge and loved the room. The outdoor bathroom was great. The best was the views of the ocean from the porch and the delicious breakfasts made by Raven. A delightful experience overall!


Hidden gem

4.8 on October 21, 2012

We stayed here last winter and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The decor is very eclectic and whimsical and the outdoor shower is a truly unique experience. I loved falling asleep listening to the chorus of frogs but if you're an ultra light sleeper, you might want to bring ear plugs. Raven is a gracious hostess and fantastic cook. If only I could wake up and have breakfast on the lanai all the time!


A destination unto itself!

4.4 on April 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ma'ukele Lodge for three days and absolutely loved it! Raven is a wonderful host, friendly, kind and caring. We met several of her friends and the experience could not have been better. I could have easily spent a whole day there, walking along the beach and watching geckos run around the veranda. The view is amazing! We have recommended this place to everyone, friends and strangers alike. Would definitely stay there again!


Best Kept Secret!

5 on April 08, 2012

Excellent hospitality and the lodge owners have a wealth of local knowledge and willingness to share it all! Mahola!


Wow, heaven on earth!

5 on March 05, 2012

Magical and comfy beds. Definitely will return.


On the Black Sand Beach

5 on February 26, 2012

I travel while working, Ma'ukele Lodge provides a classy, yet family feel on the Black Sand beach.


Ma'ukele Lodge

4.4 on February 12, 2012

Sun-dappled lanai with Kona coffee and fabulous breakfast decorated in tropical fruits (starfruit, papaya, etc.). Comfortable four-poster bed -- antique from the Royal Hawaiian Hotel... our suite opened to a private garden replete with outdoor clawtooth bathtub & shower -- beachfront -- fabulous!


Paradise

4.2 on February 12, 2012

A picture postcard, a true tropical paradise. Our gracious and beautiful host, Raven, provided us with all the comforts of home. The room was an absolute dream as well as the delicious breakfast that was served on the lanai overlooking the garden, black beach and breaking ocean waves. The miraculous sunset while standing on the old lava flow completed our magical day...


A nice, new experience by the sea

4.4 on January 22, 2012

Our accomodations at this lodge were quite good for our group of 4. Our experience here was new for all of us. The room had an outdoor tub, shower, and toilet, although we had access to an upstairs bathroom in Raven's home if needed. Also, we had a nightly chorus of tree frogs singing to us as we fell asleep. Our experience here was fun and lightened things up as were were nearing the end of our busy 8-night trip to Maui and the Big Island. The lodge met most of our needs. We wanted to keep within a limited budget, so this lodge was great. In addition to the king bed, our room was large enough to fit an extra bed (futon) and could have fit a 2nd futon if needed, so there was no need to rent 2 rooms for all of us. Breakfasts were yummy and the little geckos that visited for some papaya were so cute. We also wanted to be within reasonable driving distance to the Volcano National Park (~45 minutes) and other activities in the area. The lodge is located close to the Kapoho tide pools (great for beginner or experienced snorkelers) and a hot pond. We also got to watch some whales at a random roadside pull-off near the lodge. Whales here were much closer to the land than in Maui, so viewing was really cool here. Mark and Raven can tell you where to go and what to see nearby and even draw a map for you.


Magical

4.4 on January 18, 2012

Wished we had stayed longer than 2 nights. Raven is a great hostess and cook. We felt part of the family and hope we will remain friends for life. This is a magical place in a tropical jungle. No need for curtains just let the whistling frogs lull you to sleep then watch the dawn rise to see the dramatic foliage and beautiful birds. Beautiful geckos help you eat your Papaya at breakfast on the Lanai. Raven's two adorable cats are very friendly. raven has a great knowledge of the area and this is a great location for visiting the lava flow, volcano, Puna district and Hilo. Hope to visit again.


Raven is a pure soul.

5 on December 29, 2011

Thank you Raven for all your time, efforts and positive energy about life. Nice. Great place. I love the scenic road to the tide-pools for the best snorkeling in Hawaii. I love to local cafe and store. The beach in front has a great sand and gravel landing for times when surf is down. I have been coming to Hawaii since 1976, and have many relatives on the big Island, was nice to have a place to hide and relax. We will see you again soon.


Forest & Ocean

4.0 on December 27, 2011

Tucked in the forest and just a stone's throw from a lava foot path that leads immediately to the ocean, this secluded B&B is serene, relaxing, private, clean & rejuvinating. Your Hostess has extensive local knowledge, is keen on service and will make sure your needs are met.


AWESOME

5 on October 26, 2011

I had the most wonderful experience here!!! Raven is so welcoming and gracious, I felt like we had been friends forever!!!! It is so peaceful, queit and just beautiful here! Pictures do not do this place justice!!!!


A most beautiful & peaceful place to stay!!

5 on June 22, 2011

Volcano viewing was close, amazing to see! Raven is a great host and cook! wonderful ocean view and can walk right to the ocean and sit and listen to & watch the waves & we saw a Moon rise from the ocean, Wow!!! With a little wine & cheese! Nice! Great place to stay!


Ma'ukele Lodge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8089602336
  • Toll free 1-8885077421

Visit Website »

View details

Top