Recent Reviews in Hesperus, Colorado

March visit at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.4 reviewed on March 29, 2016

The property is beautiful. Lots of natural areas and we had a stunning view of mountains. The staff was very attentive and friendly but not on top of us.

View more reviews for this inn


Extraordinary Experience at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2014

This was our first time to stay at a B&B and it was an extraordinary experience. The room was gorgeous, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the other guests seemed to be all enjoying their stay also. We felt very much at home at the Blue Lake Ranch. In fact, we did not want to leave even though our travel itinerary had us moving on to Colorado Springs. If we are ever near Durango again, we will make Blue Lake Ranch home for the duration of our visit. Kari & Greg

View more reviews for this inn


a piece of paradise at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2014

Well I must say this was one of the most enjoyable vacations I have ever had with the family! if you want peace and quite, outstanding views and unprecedented wildlife this is for you. the staff was very helpful, delightful and courteous well beyond what would be normal service. we also had my daughters wedding with them and they were amazing and helpful throughout the whole process as we were from out of state. Breakfast's were top notch and well beyond you typical "continental breakfast". My wife and I will be coming back ASAP. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Last week we spent 3 lovely & cozy nights in the Lake View room. The staff was helpful & knowledgable about the area, breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Can't wait to come back to see the gardens in the summer. Very quiet area with lovely views. at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2013

D&D Kelly

View more reviews for this inn


A beautiful place to stay in an out of the way setting at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.6 reviewed on October 28, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay in the La Plata Vista room which was lovely with a nice view. Felt price was very reasonable in comparison to some of the other places we have stayed. Location is very peaceful although you need to drive a bit to get to restaurants and shopping. Breakfasts were very good and very ample. Staff was nice but our only frustration was that they alternate days and communication was a bit lacking. We requested a box lunch from a staff member for the next day. She was not working the next day and did not communicate to who was working the next day. Would have been nice to have had cookies or snacks available in the evening, however I am not complaining as the price we paid for the room was very reasonable. TV reception was lacking (probably due to mountains but radio was good) They do have DVD. I wish we had brought our own DVDs as their collection was not very broad. But I highly recommend this place to stay and we would definitely return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

3.8 reviewed on July 21, 2013

We stayed a week—four adults ages 42 to 72. Because we booked late, each couple stayed in two different rooms during our visit. All four rooms were pleasant, private and beautifully decorated in Southwestern style. The landscape is a high desert mix of sagebrush, pinon trees, and shrubby dry-land flowers, but there are also many big areas of cultivated flowers, including hundreds of hollyhocks attracting hummingbirds. We spent two gloriously relaxing days at the ranch just reading, looking at the flowers, talking in the many quiet shady areas, and eating delicious box lunches provided by the staff. The breakfast each morning was a delight—homemade granola and yogurt, fresh fruit, dried fruit, and nuts. There was also a cooked breakfast that varied daily—bacon, scrambled eggs or poached eggs with basil, ham cooked with potatoes and corn, tamale pie, etc. There were many beautiful places to sit—by a trickling fountain, on a shady porch, or overlooking a garden. The staff were friendly, helpful and casual. This is a very nice place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Fun, Romantic Getaway at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2013

Beautiful, pleasant inn. The grounds were spectacular. We stayed in the Lake View suite, which is in the main house. It was beautifully decorated and had a big picture window with a relaxing view. The balcony was very pleasant and we enjoyed sipping wine and watching the sun set. Breakfast was very good, especially the home-made granola (yum!). We will go again! The Ranch is located close to Durango and very convenient. Friendly, efficient staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Would love to come back at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.6 reviewed on October 31, 2012

Everyone was very friendly and helpful while allowing us as much privacy and space as we desired. I didn't include this request when making our reservation, but Candace made a gluten-free waffle for me when I saw that waffles were on the menu for breakfast. We recommend the Kennebeck Cafe for dinner. We are thankful for the mid-week, off-season rate for our room (Sunset Casita) because it was affordable for us and just amazing. We recommend the drive to Silverton and Ourey which was spectacular!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Blue Lake at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.0 reviewed on October 15, 2012

We recently stayed in the Sage room for one night. The ladies running the Inn were just lovely - very helpful and very friendly. The room itself is gorgeous, it's like luxury camping. The grounds are beautiful, we hope to return and spend more time at the ranch.

View more reviews for this inn


Great fall stay at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.4 reviewed on October 05, 2012

Beautifuk stting, would be really beatiful with all the many flower gardens in full bloom.

View more reviews for this inn


Blue Lake Ranch--a hidden jewel at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.2 reviewed on September 30, 2012

Stayed in a cottage among a sea ofperennials--a perfect and relaxing getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


The very best B&B in Colorado at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2012

We ahve been return guests for the last 10 years, this was our fourth time to visit and stay in the Cedar Casita we wish we could visit more often. We rate every other B&B against Blue Lake they have become the benchmark for our stays. the food and staff are awesome.

View more reviews for this inn


First timers at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.4 reviewed on August 04, 2012

We were in the Garden Room and loved the decor, comfort, and patio view of the lake. We will surely stay with you whenever we are traveling in this area.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Blue Lake Ranch. It is truly the ultimate Bed and Breakfast experience and then some. The rooms, hospitality, food, and grounds exceeded our wildest expectations. Sitting on the balcony and viewing a thunder and lightning extravaganza while sipping Colorado wine was the ultimate in vacation splendor. If you are looking for the comfort of an upscale bed and breakfast in a beautiful rural setting, then the Blue Lake Ranch is for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Experience. at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2012

Amazing Experience. Well appointment rooms, exceptionally friendly and helpful serice from the entire staff. Landscaping that bedazzles your eyes and senses. Highly recommend that you consider spending a few days there. Rick Kamenshine, Seattle, WA

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant place but dirty sheets. at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

2.6 reviewed on July 18, 2012

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The area is beautiful, the breakfast was delicious and the service was great. On the downside, the sheets had stains on them, a used bar of bathsoap (not ours) was left in the soap dish in the shower, there was no coffee though the room had a coffee grinder, coffee maker and coffee cups. It gave the impression that the room was abandoned before the cleaning was complete. Upon notifying the staff of the situation they immediately provided clean sheets and coffee, but left the used bar of soap in the dish---yuk. Instead of removing it, they left us 4 new bars of soap, so I think they misunderstood the used soap issue. The exterior of the casita we stayed in had numerous cobwebs around the doorway and light fixture and the lamb's ear plant at the entry into the gate was so overgrown we had to high step over it to gain entrance to the casita. But overall, the grounds were well kept and lovely.

View more reviews for this inn


July 2012 at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2012

We visited 10 years ago and fell in love with Blue Lake Ranch. We decided once our kids were old enough to appreciate we would share the experience with them and we were not dissappointed. We stayed in the Mountain View Suite and loved it, perfect for a family! The views of the mountains are wonderful. Plenty of wildlife to enjoy. Breakfast was amazing - I've never seen my oldest eat so much! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The kids are still talking about the fishing.

View more reviews for this inn


June 2012 at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2012

spectacular-David and Shirley are great hosts who take both pride and pleasure in having guests stay in their lodging. also, Jackie was extremely sweet and prepared a breakfast spread like no other and took so much pleasure in a guest's enjoyment in the most humble and gracious manner.

View more reviews for this inn


Night and Day at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

2.8 reviewed on June 28, 2012

This review represents the average of two nights, one of which was dreadful and the other of which was fantastic. We spent two nights at Blue Lake Ranch. The first night was in the Mountain View suite. It was dreadful. The a/c didn't work and when we returned at 8 pm the room temp was 91 degrees. We had no alternative but to open all the windows and run a large fan to try to cool the rooms. By the time we went to bed at 10 pm it was 88 degrees. I understand mechanical malfunctions, but more inexplicable was the lack of attention to the Mountain View Suite. While there were good views from the large picture windows, it appeared they hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. When we first arrived we killed a dozen spiders, and there were all forms of bugs. Fortunately none of them seemed interested in humans. The second night we were moved to the Upper Sprinklake Suite, which was a totally different experience...one of the best places we've ever stayed. We were amazed at the number of deer in the early morning and at dusk. If you stay there, be sure to ask for one of the newer accommodations and definitely stay away from the Mountain View.

View more reviews for this inn


Blue Lake Ranch at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.0 reviewed on June 06, 2012

The pictures on the website give an accurate portrayel of the rooms and main building. The place is srruounded by flowers, plants and all the accompanying insect, bird and wild life that it would support. It is beautiful and a perfect place to relax outside with a glass of wine and a good book. There is also a large pond with huge fish, geese and ducks. The room was confortable, although it could get a bit warm since it was upstairs but there is an air conditioner that worked well. The staff was friendly and helpful, from the person who checked us in to the cook. There was a wide variety of food to choose from, including vegetarion options, and everything was delicious. Although we were attending a wedding, we visited both Durango and Mesa Verde and both locations were easily acessible from the Ranch.

View more reviews for this inn


A peaceful visit at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.4 reviewed on March 07, 2012

This places wonderful. We will be visiting again in the future and bring friends next time. The staff are the most helpful and kind, they treat you like family.

View more reviews for this inn


Best second visit ever! at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2012

Our second visit was as wonderful as our first 17 years ago with our children. Now with our grandchildren it was even better. It has become a family tradition that we hope to continue. Best get-away ever!!!! Thanks for the wonderful memories. Kennemer and Boyle families

View more reviews for this inn


A Fantastic Place to Stay at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.4 reviewed on December 21, 2011

My wife and I have been to Blue Lake Ranch a number of times, and we are constantly impressed and pleased with the staff, the rooms, and the food. This is a great place to stay, just 15 minutes outside of Durango. We highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


November Stay at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2011

I have never been to a bed and breakfast before but my stay at the Blue Lake Ranch was phenominal! The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome and comfortable. The property is very beautiful, quiet, and private. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. I recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to get away. Very relaxing!!

View more reviews for this inn


Third Trip at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

3.6 reviewed on November 09, 2011

Loved it. Our third trip to Blue Lake Ranch. Just had the one hiccup when we found a syringe on the floor in our room. I'm sure we'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


BEST B&B IN COLORADO at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.6 reviewed on October 28, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this location. Facilities and grounds are beauitiful in addition to being comfortable and clean. Gormet breakfasts will keep you coming back if nothing else! We would never even consider staying anywhere else in southwest Colordo.

View more reviews for this inn


Blue Lake Ranch at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.0 reviewed on October 14, 2011

The rooms were outstanding, as well as the atmosphere. the views were gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


A very charming place to stay at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.0 reviewed on October 12, 2011

The breakfast end of this bed and breakfast is fantastic. They served us what was truly the best posole I'd ever had in my life the first day, and on others, fantastic bread puddings, pancakes, and so forth. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, the ambiance wonderful. Be aware, though, this is the countryside and you may find countryside things in your countryside cottage. Lastly, the thermostat in my room was non-functional during my two-night stay. I didn't realize this until the second night, however, when it got very very cold just when it was too late to feel comfortable bothering anyone on staff about it. If you're staying in the fall or wintertime you might want to inspect such things before curling up for the night. All in all I enjoyed myself very much. The grounds and views were gorgeous, the rooms were charming, and the service was friendly. Recommended place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A home away from home at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

4.0 reviewed on October 06, 2011

My husband and I had reason to visit Durango for 5 days in August, 2011. We were so glad to have stumbled upon the Blue Lake Ranch website. The Upper Spring House exceeded expectations -the view and changing light over the La Plata mountains was very beautiful and we enjoyed the privacy that the Spring house affords. The accommodation was spacious comfortable and very homely. The staff were friendly and attentive. The breakfasts were delicious and varied - coming from Australia we appreciated the opportunity to sample a variety of local fare. It was great to be close to Mesa Verde and the Durango/Silverton Train station but also to have a private oasis to return to in the evening. The proximity of the local restaurant, Kennebac? was another bonus as it saved us having to travel into Durango for dinner. Durango CO is a beautiful area and should we have the opportunity to return Blue Lake Ranch is a must.

View more reviews for this inn


Blue Lake Ranch at Blue Lake Ranch (Hesperus (Durango), Colorado)

3.4 reviewed on October 06, 2011

Blue Lake Ranch is a beautiful place to stay. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of options and the cook would make to order if required. Housekeeping could have improved somewhat.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Blue Lake Ranch (4.50)
Top
}