Recent Reviews in Hedgesville, West Virginia

Great B & B! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 09, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by this beautiful B & B. The innkeepers were very gracious & friendly. Our room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was excellent! The area is peaceful & quiet and, as it turned out, we had the whole house to ourselves. We definitely plan to stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful visit at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 06, 2015

My husband and I originally picked Cider Mill House because it accepted BedandBreakfast.com gift certificates. We definitely will return. The home in which Kat grew up is impeccably kept and comfortable -- not to mention beautifully decorated! We ended up finishing our visit to a nearby town earlier than expected, so we called and asked if we could check in. They welcomed us warmly, gave us a tour, and basically said, "The place is yours!" They are both artists and you can view their work throughout the home. They live in another home on the property, so it's not a place where you feel like someone is always hovering or looking over your shoulder. They had coffee and various kinds of tea on hand, not to mention soda and water in a small refrigerator -- and told us to help ourselves! Breakfast the next morning was like nothing I've ever had -- seriously. They both cook and while they don't call themselves chefs, they should! It started with small, very yummy homemade muffins and coffee. Then we had strawberries and vanilla yogurt/cream. Next came a broccoli and cheese frittata with sausage patties fried in apple butter and finally a poached pear with homemade vanilla whipped cream and chocolate! OMG! I couldn't even begin to eat it all, and I felt bad because they obviously put so much time and thought into making their guests happy! But again, they weren't upset. We enjoyed talking with both of them and seeing their animals. We definitely plan to make a return trip. Without a doubt, this B&B is in the awesome category.

View more reviews for this inn


sweet escape at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2015

it was a wonderful stay. very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely 19th century farmhouse at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2015

We enjoyed four nights in a well maintained and appropriately decorated 200 year old home. From the original plank flooring to the simply curtained windows to the primitive style paintings on the walls to the spring water, our hosts succeeded in treating us to a unique experience in a bed and breakfast stay. The beautiful grounds afforded walks along the quiet lanes and pastures, with an evening serenade from the cattle. Well worth the money, peaceful and secure!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2015

Quite simply. it was an incomparable stay. The resident menagerie, the walks in the rolling pastures, the long and lovely talks with our hosts, the leisurely and scrumptious breakfasts provided by our hosts comprised a perfect get-away week end for us.Ed and Kat were the most gracious of hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Cider Mill House at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on October 15, 2015

I will definitely be back. The owners are warm, funny and exceedingly knowledable of the area if you don't know it and want options on what to do and see. The rooms are affordable and impecably appointed and the three course breakfasts are so delicious and filling, you'll be full till dinner time. Wonderful, historic location. I could not rate my stay there more highly! You must stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2015

Cider Mill house is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the West Virginia mountains. The expansive property is a nice place to spend the day on its own, but there are plenty of places to see within about 30 minutes of the inn. Kat and Ed are gracious hosts full of information about the region. Breakfasts are massive. Don't eat for a week before you arrive.

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect get-away at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2015

Venture off your busy highway to a secluded valley, journey down a long gravel driveway, and breath in the quiet seclusion of refreshing B&B that wraps you in 19th century charm with modern comfort and convenience. Additionally, Ed and Kat make you feel as if you are at home in their presence. And they cook up a breakfast that makes you wish you had a much larger stomach!

View more reviews for this inn


A piece of West Virginia heaven at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2015

My husband and I were pampered from the minute we set foot on the grounds of this gorgeous property. Ed and Kat welcomed us most warmly, and set about to make our 2-night's stay a most memorable experience. The stunning landscape is restful and serene, the gorgeous home is welcoming and comfortable, and our room was bright, airy and beautifully decorated. But the crown jewels were the four-course breakfasts that Ed prepared with creativity, elegance and so much flavor! As well, Kat's exquisite art pieces decorate the walls with rich country charm. This is by far one of the best B&B's that we visited in our many travels.

View more reviews for this inn


Wondeful Secluded Spot at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2014

Kat and Ed are interesting, charming, and wonderful, hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again. We really liked hearing about the history of the farm and the area. Can't say enough good things about Kat and Ed. Jennifer & Dave

View more reviews for this inn


Great three days and two nights with the Goats! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2014

I would really give the service and food a 6. The goats were great, the hens were beautiful, the chickens were, well, .... they looked like dinner, and the inn keepers were the best!! Fantastic Place!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2014

What a fantastic place to celebrate our anniversary of 23 years!! Wonderful evening rocking on the sunset on the porch. Big, fabulous breakfast that was vegetarian friendly (and delish). Thanks so much to our hosts - Kat and Ed and the supporting crew - Tilly, Fred and Sunny (and others)

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hospitality! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2014

My four night stay in early September was a most delightful experience! The old stone house was exceptionally warm and homey! Kat and Ed were delightful hosts and two of the nicest people I have ever met! I plan to return again later in the fall with my elderly father. The accommodations will be perfect for him! The grounds are lovely and the breakfasts are exceptionally delicious! I recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all folks who love the country life and nature!

View more reviews for this inn


In our top 5 at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2014

As we drove into the farmyard, I knew this would be good. The old farmhouse was very inviting including a well done addition that proved to be just as nice inside as out. The Fox's Den is a beautiful room with 4 sets of windows that not only provide pretty views, but some great ventilation as well as country sounds that lull you to sleep. It brought back memories of my childhood on the farm when woken by the rooster. The 4 course breakfasts were delicious and most important included dessert. Why don't we always do that! Ed was a wonderful cook and Kat did a great job with teaching us about different types of biscuits...yum. Kat had great ideas for day trips that were just perfect for our enjoyment. You will love spending time with them in the country...go soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Yum and fun! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on July 24, 2014

Lovely unexpectedly wonderful B&B with experienced, warm innkeepers. We especially loved being introduced to the goats. Room was spotless, well-appointed and our shower was huge. Breakfast with farm fresh eggs from their on-property henhouse was a real treat. Delicious and plentiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2013

A beautiful place to get away from it all - serene, quiet, relaxing, incredible, beautiful, creative breakfasts too. Very close to D.C year "FAR AWAY".

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and Welcoming! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2013

What a beautiful place! We so enjoyed our 3-night stay at Cider Mill House in September 2013. The room was cozy and had all the comforts of home. The bountiful breakfasts were unbelievably delicious from beginning to dessert (Yes, dessert for Breakfast!). This was our very first stay at a B&B. All others will have to measure up to this one, because our entire experience was excellent! Our hosts were so friendly and informative, and we felt they went above & beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend this one!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2013

Most pleasant and relaxing place to stay for R&R. Great food, scenery and wonderful host and hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2013

Fantastic experience. Loved staying on the farm. The Cider Mill House accommodations were charming and very comfortable. Breakfast - superior and loved the history from the Owners Kat and Ed.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful getaway for our mini-honeymoon! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on July 04, 2013

My husband and I came here for a weekend away from D.C. to celebrate our recent marriage. It was an amazing place to take in nature--the farm is immaculate and perfectly quaint--and we fell in love with the goats, chickens, and guinea hens. Ed & Kat were amazing hosts--super friendly, laidback, and great storytellers. The breakfast was magnificent: zucchini broccoli frittata, potatoes, sausages, and more! We also browsed Kat's beautiful artwork and bought a couple prints as souvenirs. We definitely recommend this place and hope to return one day.

View more reviews for this inn


Back Again! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2013

I first discovered Cider Mill House in 2010 as I searched for places "off the beaten path". What a great find it was! While it is somewhat off the beaten path, there is so much to see and so many places to visit in just a short drive. It was fabulous to take in the history and sites of nearby towns and then return for a relaxing evening on the front porch at Cider Mill. I just had a second stay at the house, and it was just a wonderful the second time! Patty SC

View more reviews for this inn


Weel Worth the Trip at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cider Mill House in Hedgesville, WV on our way home to Georgia from a visit to New England in June. The accommodations were wonderful! The room was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, and offered a lovely view of the picturesque farm on which the house is situated. Our hosts presented us with a warm welcome, a hearty fresh-cooked breakfast, and pleasant conversation. The B&B is a little off the beaten path but not inconvenient and certainly well worth the side trip if only for the scenery. We would recommend the Cider Mill House as an excellent choice for anyone visiting or passing through the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Pleasant at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 14, 2013

That says it all! Royal treatment abounds. The food and service were outstanding and we ate on the patio which made it even better! Thanks.

View more reviews for this inn


Great food, AMAZING setting! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2013

Welcomed and enveloped by nature. This location takes you away from your busy life and pushes you to relax, be still and be at peace. Great getway just a short drive from DC or Baltimore. Breakfasts were huge and covered us till dinner. We hope to get back there again. Thanks Ed & Kat (and all those farm animals!)

View more reviews for this inn


Feel Like Family! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2013

Ed and Kat treat you like family - family that they like - a lot! A stay at Cider Mill House is peaceful, relaxing and low key. Kat and Ed fuss over you when they feel they need to and give you all the space and freedom you need the rest of the time to come and go, or to stay around and roam their land. You immediately feel like you're home and totally relaxed. If you like quiet, rural, country life, but comfortable accommodations this is the place for you. Everything you need is there. The bathrooms are renovated, luxuriously tiled and spacious - quite a surprise in an old house like this. It was Kat's childhood home and her pride in it and her family provide the inspiration for many wonderful stories of life growing up at Cider Mill. It's a truly special place and a privilege to be there. Ed and Kat both appear in the house kitchen early each morning to prepare your fantastic, (personally tailored if necessary) breakfasts (even when there's only two of you). Ed is the master chef! No hurrying here - they totally devote themselves to your needs with little surprises and personal touches and wonderful conversation you wouldn't get anywhere else. My gluten free, dairy free cookies and treats were delicious and created specially for me! I didn't expect that. Fresh farm eggs - yum! You can meet the chickens that provide them and call them by name. Love it. This is not your run of the mill B&B. Can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


One of our best B&B experiences! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2013

This is a great place in a spacious, clean, country setting. The inn is clean, and innkeepers go above & beyond.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hideaway at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2013

We always have an enjoyable time when staying at the Cider Mill House. They offer a wonderful getaway that is very peaceful and quiet. The scenery is very calming and the animals very amusing. The food is wonderful and the company of the keepers is always enjoyable. Kat and Ed do very well to make one feel they are right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back. Thank you Ed and Cat! at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights with Ed and Cat, and could not have been happier or better taken care of. The Cimaglios or both gracious and accomodating, as well as very knowledgable about the local area. Additionally, the farm and surrounding area have great places to walk, interesting things to see, and if you walk away from the breakfast table hungry it's your own fault. The food is plentiful and very well prepared. We will stay with Cat and Ed any time we are in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Restful, scenic, great breakfast. Our favorite place year after year at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2012

I’ll be brief, incase all you read is the first paragraph. This is a wonderful place. The setting is quiet, secluded and full of nature’s beauty and not hard to get to. The breakfasts are delicious. The rooms are very nice: clean, cozy and comfortable. The hosts are devoted to making your stay at the Inn enjoyable in every way. This is definitely our favorite B&B. They’ll have cookies waiting for you when you arrive. You should get in some practice exercising your will power before you come here. You’ll need it. “Everything in moderation”… “Everything in moderation”… Oh well, how much damage could one weekend of indulgence do? Your comfortable room will feel like home almost immediately. If it’s still light take some time to explore the farm, If it’s not just enjoy the evening sounds and anticipate the morning when you can see the beauty of the place. Breakfasts are one of our favorite things about the Inn. Ed is a wonderful, creative chef. Everything he’s made for us has been delicious, well prepared and nicely presented. After more than 6 trips to the Cider Mill House we’re still waiting for a repeat. One thing I always like to highlight about Ed’s culinary skills. He’s very careful preparing your food when you require a special diet. My wife has Celiac disease. She’s allergic to the gluten in wheat, rye, barley and oats. Her diet has to be gluten free. If you know anything about it you know that cross contamination is a constant worry. Ed knows that too and is very careful. He’s as fussy about it in his kitchen as you would be at home. My wife has never had a problem with anything that Ed’s made for her. So, to sum it up: great breakfasts, wonderful hosts, comfortable rooms, beautiful setting. It’s our favorite place. Each year when it’s time to head back home at the end of our weekend we’re already eagerly looking forward to when we can return.

View more reviews for this inn


A restful retreat with a fantastic breakfast at Cider Mill House (Hedgesville, West Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2012

My wife and I are repeat guests at the Cider Mill House. We’ve enjoyed each and every stay there. Kat and Ed are wonderful hosts. They’re totally dedicated to making sure your stay is a pleasant one. There are always fresh cookies on the table in the dining room and hot water available for your afternoon or evening tea. Their goal is to give you a place and an opportunity to escape and unwind from the hectic pace of life at home. The breakfasts are the signature attraction. They’re without equal. Ed is a fantastic cook. As repeat guests he feels freer to out new recipes with us. Each has been wonderful. Besides the deliciousness factor they’re nicely presented and feature lots of fresh, local ingredients. The portions are so generous and the courses so numerous you’ll have no need for an early lunch. (How often does breakfast include dessert?? Ed’s do!) My wife has a food allergy and needs to have a gluten-free diet. Ed and Kat have always taken excellent care of her. Ed actually enjoys the challenge of finding new gluten-free things for her. He’s super careful in the preparation so that none of her food is ever cross-contaminated with something glutinous. The farm that surrounds the Inn is a beautiful place. It’s far enough from the main road to be completely secluded but not so far as to be inconvenient or hard to get to. If you’re inclined to be active there’s plenty of room to get out and stretch your legs after the wonderful breakfast or you can just stay close and admire their flocks of goats, chickens and Guinea hens. If we could go there every weekend, or even once a month, we would – in a hearbeat! But for now it’s our special annual gift to ourselves. We can’t wait until it’s time to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Cider Mill House (4.89)
Top
}