Recent Reviews in Hazel Green, Wisconsin

Anniversary Trip at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

A Very enjoyable and cozy country like setting. A Scrumptious breakfast!! Susan and Don are very gracious innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

We had the great pleasure to stay at Farmers Guest House in Galena, Illinois last week. It was truly a welcome respite from the daily grind of the work week. Susan and Don were the most welcoming hosts and treated us to a relaxing stay in their lovely inn. Within the first few minutes, we felt as though we had known them for years, as they graciously chatted with us about our upcoming stay. Extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding restaurants, attractions, and amenities, they took it upon themselves to make sure we had a great experience. We would be remiss if we did not mention the scrumptious breakfasts that awaited us each morning...from egg casseroles, to caramel apple pancakes, to farm fresh scrambled eggs, each meal was a culinary delight. The cinnamon rolls, berry coffee cake, and french toast (a special request from my husband) were to-die-for. It is clear that they are passionate about treating each guest to a visit they will remember for years. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House and most assuredly would not hesitate to return for another wonderful vacation stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Can not thank Susan and Don enough. We showed up hours before check to get our day started and walked in to find Don at the desk all smiles and ready to help. Gave us all sorts of great tips, and made our dinner reservation. Walked around town for a few hours but of course made it back for wine time. More then generous pours and great conversation. The room the Jennie was perfect for us, we knew we were going to spend more time out and about then in our room but the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave! Would go back for sure and would highly recommend. I know I will be back since I forgot a cookie on my way out. Oh and how could I forget breakfast, amazing is an understatement!! Thank you again Don and Susan.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My wife and I couldn't have had a more pleasurable experience at Farmers Guest House. The atmosphere was inviting and relaxing. The breakfast was deliciously prepared with fresh locally grown produce. Don and Susan were incredibly helpful and welcoming. I would highly recommend the Farmers Guest House for any stay in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


The BEST vacation I have experienced on so many levels!! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2016

Coming from a busy winter season in Argentina, I was desperately looking for some vacation and time off in nature, peace and beauty. The Inn at Irish Hollow was the perfect "green" setting with the lovely sounds of birds chirping everywhere you set foot. Each meal was not only a work of art, but also made with so much love and incredibly delicious. They especially offer fabulous gluten-free options for all of their dishes that are absolutely spectacular (like the Salmon Eggs Benedict, homemade granola and muffins)! Their organic coffee and teas were the best I have ever tasted and they even sell all of these wonderful products in their lovely boutique. I was fortunate enough to stay in two different cottages, Station House and Gardener's Cottage and oh-my-goodness the design and layouts are gorgeous - each with a precious and spacious patio area! Taking a bath with champagne by the fireplace and then taking a nap in the most comfortable bed every day made this the perfect vacation. The masseuse was also incredible (I fully recommend the 90 minute hot stone massage). The entire staff is absolutely wonderful and one immediately feels like they are a part of the Irish Hollow family upon arrival. Thank you so much Bill and Tony for having created and for sharing this special "oasis" - which is unique to the world! Am feeling vibrant and renewed and am definitely planning on coming back as soon as I have more vacation time :)

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Expectations at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This B and B has it all---location, quality, friendliness, amazing food, Inkeepers (Don and Susan) who truly want your stay to be memorable and are accommodating in every conceivable way, and just a very warm vibe that makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. Everything is super clean and neat. Every room is unique in a very thoughtful, fun, and inviting way. The breakfast is wonderful, the wine hour is fun and just what one needs after shopping or exploring Galena. There are many restaurants in Galena, and Don and Susan are very helpful in helping you choose one that fits your particular wants and needs. Couldn't do better than the Farmers Guest House. Don't miss this one!

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday weekend with sister at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. Don and Susan were excellent and tended to our every need. This trip made me want to take another bed & breakfast sometime with my husband.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful room and Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on July 08, 2016

My husband and I stayed on a Thursday night and checked out on Friday. The room was clean and decorated based on the time period the building was constructed. The service was great and the staff would do their best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful and the fresh cookies available in the kitchen was an unexpected treat. We would stay at Farmers Guest House again the next time we head to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

This was the second time we stayed at Farmers Guest House, and both have been excellent! The service, the food, the amenities, the atmosphere – everything is just wonderful. We will be heading back, and will be taking part in with the cooking classes offered by one of the owners.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway spot outside Galena! at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2016

We stayed in the French Cottage, which was immaculate and equipped with everything needed for a delightful stay. The owners have done a wonderful job, and every request was met with courtesy and promptness. Couldn't ask for a better experience!

View more reviews for this inn


June 2016 Visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better time! The accommodations are fabulous, the living room is so inviting and homey with the many quilts and afgans! The dining room is awesome! Spent our evenings playing games! Also working on a puzzle in the LR. And then there is the breakfast. They are so delicious, they are to die for! Susan, Don & George are there to help make your stay fabulous! We cannot wait until our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


great first time at a bed and breakfast! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2016

The owners of Farmer Guest House are so wonderful and the place is beautiful! The room was great and the suite worth it with the great bath tub with jets! Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING!!! We will be coming back and staying more than one night next time, that's for sure!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend with friends at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Farmers Guest House. Don and Susan made everyones stay so enjoyable. The inn is clean. The hosts friendly. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. We plan on returning and hope to take a cooking class with Susan on our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


anniversary get away at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2016

we had a wonderful time staying at the Farmers Guest house. Warm, inviting atmosphere helps you relax and feel like home. Innkeepers were great hosts along with Charles. Rooms were clean and comfortable with luxury linens and towels. Breakfasts were delicious and flavorful.We would highly recommend a stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent breakfast and service!!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

We had an outstanding stay the weekend of May 21-23. Outstanding gourmet breakfast each day. Very close to Main St. We loved wine night each night too! We had issues with the AC in our room but Don and Susan moved us in to the cottage at no extra charge. We enjoyed our stay and will be sure to recommend the Farmer's Guest House to our family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible Bed and Breakfast!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2016

We had an amazing stay in the cottage room as part of a romantic weekend. Don and Susan are top notch hosts, welcoming, helpful and friendly. I really felt like we were old friends coming back. When I had questions before my visit, Susan was very responsive. She provided local dining recommendations and then offered to make the reservations for us. The cottage was fantastic--private, comfortable, romantic and immaculately clean. The breakfast was unbeatable--loved Susan's special twist on French Toast. We will come back again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Royalty Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

If you want to be treated like a King/Queen, then you must stay here. Don and Susan are the ultimate hosts. The place is immaculate and it's so relaxing! Susan makes a mean breakfast and you will NOT walk away hungry. After two days, I didn't want to leave. I will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


1st B & B! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2016

Great hosts, food and location! Certain that we will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hospitality, facilities and food for the value at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Farmers Guest House has the best hospitality, rooms, service and dining for the value, Don, Susan and Charles were very attentive and accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Easter Vacation at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

First time staying at a B&B, but will not be the last. Don, Susan, and Charles are very welcoming and have all the little details down. Breakfast was AMAZING! We really enjoyed eating in the well decorated dining room with relaxing music in the morning. Wine time in the evening is also really nice. The house is right next to main street so we could walk everywhere. Our room was perfectly clean and we liked winding down at the end of the day by picking out a DVD from the big collection and watching it in our room.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2016

My 5-star review goes without hesitation. First and foremost, Don and Susan (and Charles) were fantastic. Their hospitality is second to none to the point where I felt we may be distant relatives. My wife and I stayed in the newly remodeled Annie’s Cottage a couple weeks ago, which was a surprise getaway for my wife that went down as the most romantic getaways to date. The rustic yet modern décor coupled with the oversize Jacuzzi, fireplace, winding decks, etc that populated the 2-story cottage not only exceeded my expectations, but certainly gave my bride an experience that she will remember for some time. There were many highlights to note, but one to mention were the phenomenal breakfast entrée’s prepared by the famed Food Network celebrity, Susan Steffan. The dishes were paired and portioned perfectly, so that you can savor every succulent bite to the end feeling full but energized. Another special treat were the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, and the wine sourced from the local vineyards. Needless to say, my wife and I look forward to returning in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Valentines Day at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2016

Susan and Don were great hosts. Great ambiance in all of the inn. Our room (the Jennie) was spacious and tastefully decorated. Great wine and cheese reception in the evening. Gourmet breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to downtown. DVD library if you'd like with viewers in each room. WiFi connection was good. Very comfortable stay. Will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on February 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit, went by way too fast. Breakfast was amazing and Susan and Don were great hosts. Enjoyed wine time to get to know the other guests. Hope to be back in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

We visited the Farmers Guesthouse last weekend and had a wonderful time. The breakfast and great, as usual, and I noticed a few cute decorations were out for Valentine's Day and I love seeing the different festive things Susan puts out. I also sit in on the Saturday Breakfast Diva class and I loved it!! The food we made was delish and easy enough to follow the recipie at home. I'll definitely be back for another class too!

View more reviews for this inn


BEST IN GALENA at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 27, 2016

FARMERS THE BEST! LOCATION GREAT, FOOD OUTSTANDING! SUSAN TREATS YOU LIKE FAMILY. SHE APPEARED ON THE FOOD NETWORK SHOW FOR HER OUTSTANDING BAKING, WHICH SHE WILL MAKE FOR HER GUESTS, CAN'T BEAT THAT! DON'T MISS OUT ON FARMERS GUEST HOUSE

View more reviews for this inn


Winter getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 15, 2015

The fresh baked cookies, wine and cheese and the overall hospitality are top notch. I would recommend this B&B to all my family and friends. I have stayed there twice and I going to set up another trip for February.

View more reviews for this inn


One of our favorite places... at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2015

My husband and I have been coming to Farmer's Guest House since before we were engaged. This was our fourth time staying there, and it only gets better! We chose to stay for a few nights after our wedding as a "mini-moon" since we can't take our actual honeymoon until later this year. It was the perfect getaway after a busy wedding weekend! We feel so relaxed when we stay at Farmer's Guest House. The food is delicious! The hospitality is impeccable. We splured for a suite and it was well worth it! We loved having a little extra space to relax, a private entry, and a cozy jacuzzi. We love that the town is a short walk away so we never have to drive. We feel okay indulging at the restaurants because we get a good amount of walking in. Don't take that the wrong way though, the town is in no way far away, and should you choose to drive into town, it would take 5 minutes and parking is a breeze. You can't go wrong staying at Farmer's Guest House!

View more reviews for this inn


SNOW at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2015

We had another enjoyable and unforgetable stay at the Goldmoor. Thank You for ordering the beautiful snow during our stay, but more importantly thank you for allowing to carry-over our one night stay from our June fiasco of a flooded basement. We continue to appreciate your attention to detail and you have earned our trust in that we will always be treated as family when we stay with you both.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the BEST at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2015

This was a return visit for a quilt retreat. Our room was recently redone and just perfect. The breakfasts over the top and the whole environment was warm and relaxing. Get a massage of some kind.!

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have been better! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2015

To be honest, our choice to stay at the Farmer's Guest House was a random one as we desperately looked for a nice, QUIET place for a weekend away on our car trip home from a particularly harried family vacation with two toddlers this summer. What we found when we arrived at FGH was nothing short of heaven. From the very first greeting, Susan and Don were so sweet, friendly, and helpful. The rooms (we chose The Charlotte) was large, beautiful, and exceptionally clean. Amenities ranged from beverages and cookies available 24/7 to help from Susan to set up nightly reservations at some of Galena's best restaurants. Nightly Wine Time was just the icing on the cake and we will be back most definitely.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}