Volcano Village Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
52 Reviews

Write A Review

Our Belated Honeymoon

5 on September 05, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hale Kilauea suite a few months back. The place is breathtaking. I love the rainforest. The bird calls and the sound of nature were so relaxing. We'll visit again for sure. I've been to Hawaii several times before and never discovered this gem. We also escaped the scorching heat! It's very cool and refreshing there I guess due to the high elevation. If you go don't miss out on the lava tubes and seeing the volcano!


One night stay

4.0 on September 06, 2011

Although we only had one night, the three of us really loved the unit and the property. A quiet and peaceful location allowing us plenty of time to explore the Volcanoes National Park.


Volcano Village - June 2011

4.8 on June 23, 2011

The Lodge was wonderful. We stayed in the Mauna Kea unit. We felt like we were up in the rain forest canopy a million miles away from everything. Innkeepers were friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay again or to recommend to others.


Volcano Village Lodge 5/2011

4.6 on June 03, 2011

10 night stay in the Mauna Loa Suite. Beautifully located, peaceful and relaxing environment. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Would recommend to family and friends.


Fantastic experience

4.0 on April 17, 2011

We were on honeymoon and were met by Jamie. She was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The lodges are very private and like nothing we had ever experienced before. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of the breakfast. We would highly recommend Volcano village lodge to fellow travellers.


Amazing B&B in Hawaiian Rain Forest

4.6 on April 01, 2011

A gorgeous, secluded B&B in the Hawaiian rain forest only minutes away from volcanoes national park. Rooms are in a series of little cabins connected by walkways. Breakfast of fresh tropical fruits, quiche, french toast, and or pancakes is put in your refrigerator each afternoon so that you can eat in privacy and at your leisure the following morning. I would have spent more time here and less on the Kohala Coast had I known how wonderful this place would be.


Pampered simplicity

4.2 on March 15, 2011

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the nicest kitty ever, Gino. We were happy to find a note greeting us and directing us where to go. The room was spectacular, providing more than we ever expected, including soft robes, slippers, a fireplace, a towel warmer, fresh cream for coffee and incredible views of the rainforest. Breakfasts provided were great, although we did stay only 3 nights and had the same breakfast twice. The only thing that did not please us is we paid $195 per night to stay here and the hot tub was not working the entire time we were there. We were looking forward to using the hot tub and this was a major consideration when booking. The sign on the hot tub read it would be ready to use in 1-2 days. We were there for 3 and it was not working the entire time. We would not hesitate to stay at this bed and breakfast again. We liked the secluded feel of it and really felt pampered. Thank you Kay Lee for creating such a beautiful place to stay.


An enchanting 5 days

4.0 on March 05, 2011

The staff were very kind and helpful. The setting magical and peaceful. I would also strongly recommend the Kiawe kitchen in Volcano village, they provided several dinners for us that were at least the equal of any we have had in our many travels.


Perfect!

5 on March 03, 2011

This was our second visit to Volcano Village Lodge. It was perfect in every way and truly a magical place!


beautiful refuge in Volcano

3.6 on March 02, 2011

Tucked into a private corner of the rain forest, this lodge with 5-6 rooms embraces the forest with lots of glass and sunlight. Nice private, separate cottages and a well-done "heat on your own" breakfast. Great library of books and movies; internet access but no TV. Excellent stay.


Cozy and welcoming

4.0 on March 01, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Volcano Village Lodge. We arrived after the 'main check-in' had closed but it was easy to find our way to our rooms and had been left with a list of details about everything we needed to know about the lodge etc. The breakfast spread left in our rooms daily was excellent! I would definitely recommend to others who are looking for a place to stay in Volcano.


Truly exceeded my expectations

4.4 on February 23, 2011

One never knows if the hype will match the reality, but Volcano Village Lodge was at least as wonderful as pictured. Beautiful room and setting; very private--never saw the other guests and only saw the innkeeper when registering (breakfast is set in your fridge the afternoon before so that your morning is uninterrupted. (And seeing some of the current volcanic activity in the park is only 10 minutes away!)


Peaceful Retreat

4.8 on February 22, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Volcano Village Lodge. What a peaceful, relaxing place. It truly felt like we were in the middle of the rainforest. We were only able to stay 1 night because we were passing through to the Kona side. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer. We stayed at one of the larger resorts on the other side of the island and were a bit disappointed. If we return to the Big Island, we would definitely stay at the Volcano Village Lodge.


Rainforest Equals Relaxation

4.0 on February 20, 2011

This was our second visit and we enjoyed our stay as much as the first time. Very quaint, relaxing, and beautiful! Our only disappointment was that the hot tub was out of order. Volcano National Park and the Volcano Winery are nearby as are some wonderful restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Volcano Village Lodge and would definitely return again!!


Feb. 2011 stay

4.8 on February 19, 2011

The pictures on the web site did not do it justice! Our greeting from Chelsea was warm, our room was terrific, the breakfasts delicious.


Two nites at Volcano Village Lodge were great

4.8 on February 12, 2011

Beautiful resort in the Volcano area, they tried to think of everything to make the stay spetacular. Took the Mona Loa Room with my brother-in-law and his wife and had a great time.


Surprise in the rainforest

4.6 on February 12, 2011

We were totally unprepared - and delighted - by this cozy little cabin the the rainforest. Close to the national park and some surprisingly great restaurants. We felt safe and secure. It must be said we prefer the small scale of a B&B more when we don't have to interact with others (our whole stateside life is dealing with others... we kind of want to be alone.) One downside is the in-room lighting. Its aimed at romance, but on some particually chilly and rainy days we wanted to hang out and read. (I was glad a brought a book light) We'd go again


Outstanding R & R in Hawaii

4.6 on February 08, 2011

We stayed in the Mauna Loa room- excellent room. Staff was very helpful with activities and restaurant choices. Highly recommend!


the best b&b experience

5 on February 04, 2011

isolated, but close to volcano area. glass walls brings the tropical folliage feeling inside. every ammenity needed was provided. inkeepers very helpful. unforgetable.


Loved our peaceful stay

4.4 on January 31, 2011

We loved our stay at the Mauna Kea house at Volcano Village Lodge. A great little intro from the staff to the place and all they offer. The room was fabulous, peaceful, just perfect. The breakfast they had for us in the morning was very thoughtful and got us started for another great day in Hawaii. We wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks for making this part of our trip so special. Your place is all you could want on vacation. We hope to be back!


BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!

5 on January 29, 2011

Every six months I go to Hilo for a private retreat. I choose Volcano Village Lodge for three reasons. The accommodations are first class and the location and surroundings are the most beautiful I have seen. But most importantly the staff are always willing to help me create the perfect stay in whatever way I ask them. They are friendly but not imposing and the whole experience is just so healing and I can hardly wait to go back in six months.


Truly a paradise

4.6 on January 26, 2011

It was pouring when we arrived. We were early for check in but Kristen handed us umbrellas so we could unpack our car and check us in. She showed us around the facilities and stressed that any problem what so ever to not hesitate to contact her. The room was immaculate and wonderful. Three walls of glass overlooking the rain forest. There are blinds if you wish privacy. Unfortunetly it rained our whole stay so we pretty much just rushed back and forth to the car and could not enjoy the grounds. We enjoyed the place so much, we would definitely return for another visit.


Felt like we were sleeping in a rain forest

5 on January 24, 2011

The owner, Kay, was incredibly helpful when we had trouble communicating with our daughter in NY. She also made sure that we had everything we needed in our room for a superb stay. We wish we could have stayed another night but all the lodges were booked. No question that we would stay here again and recommend the beautiful setting to our friends and family.


Beautiful Lodge

4.4 on January 23, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay to visit the volcanos. Quiet, beautiful and they provide anything you could want during your stay. You are free to take binoculars, towels, beach mats, you name it. I highly recommend this facility. A bonus was Gino the guardian cat.


Stay at Haleakala

4.4 on January 18, 2011

Beautiful, peaceful setting and lodging. Highly recommend staying here for a visit to the Volcano.


peaceful oasis in a rainforest

4.8 on January 17, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights to check out Kiluea Volcano - should've stayed longer! private cabins in a rainforest just a few miles from Volcano National Park. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings, with breakfast left for you in your fridge to eat in the morning at your leisure. Very clean, soft beds, very private, convenient location.


Volcano Village Lodge-Awesome!

5 on January 14, 2011

Everything from the minute that we walked thru the door early on the morning that we arrived to ask for ice for our cooler for our day at Volcano until we left the property-everything was WONDERFUL!! Thanks to Kay and her staff. Wish we could have stayed longer.


Great spot in Volcano

4.4 on January 11, 2011

This is a relly nice place, very clean, friendly staff, nice cat.


Quiet, relaxation, and privacy

3.8 on December 21, 2010

We stayed here for three nights on a recent trip to the Big Island. We stayed in the Kilauea room - but it's really you're own mini-building. A wooden platform walkway connects each private room and the reception. It's quiet, peaceful, private, and our room, while quiet was wonderfully equipped. I did not expect it to get down to the mid-50s at night, and found the gas fireplace in the room a nice touch to take the chill off. We'd definitely stay here again. And Gino (the resident cat) is awesome.


Amazing rainforest retreat

5 on December 13, 2010

This place is awesome. Its really serene, romantic and unique. The owners and staff accomodated our every request, were very friendly and the breakfast as well as picnic lunch were terrific. Our cottage was beautiful and all luxurious amenities. It's the perfect place to enjoy the Volcano. We had a great time here - would recomend it to anyone in a hearbeat! A must do on the Big Island! Thanks, -Prajakti


rainforest getaway

3.8 on December 03, 2010

LOved everything and enjoyed having breakfast whenever we wanted it. Wish the hot portions were larger,however. The other foood options available compensated for that and more hot portions were provided upon request one of the days. Will recommend it to anyone.


Can't imagine a better place!

5 on November 30, 2010

What a gem in the rainforest! We expected it to be beautiful and comfortable, but the staff attention to the details, including the lovely breakfast presentation, was outstanding. Listening to the light rain drops at night, and the birds in the morning was priceless. Very close to the park so we could come back to the lodge for a refreshing nap and go back for more hiking. We will definitely come back to this unique place.


Amazing time at Volcano Village Lodge

4.4 on November 15, 2010

This is an amazing place to stay. The rooms are beatiful, the amenities are very nice (heated towel rack) and organized. Very clean....very important for someone like me who's OCD and has a fear of public bathroom.s It's very close to the volcano national park (about 10 minutes) which makes it a great place to stay for visits to the east side of the island. Everything was well marked so you knew where you were going and what to do when you arrived. Great place!!!


Perfect place to spend some time!

4.2 on November 13, 2010

We arrived at Volcano Village Lodge after having spent a week on Oahu, Waikiki Beach. What a welcome contrast! Peaceful, non-commercial, lovely surroundings, less than 5 minutes away from Volcano National Park. We'd go back in a heartbeat.


Volcano Village Lodge

3.2 on November 13, 2010

We had a lovely one night stay here. The setting was lovely in the rain forest, the room was very comfortable but the humidifier was very noisy and at midnight I turned it off in annoyance. Overall a nice place to stay.


Holiday at the Volcanoes National Park

4.8 on November 07, 2010

Everything was wonderful and even better than the pictures show. We absoleutly loved our time at the lodge it was very convenient to the Volcanoes national park so we coud go hiking in the daytime and go back at night to view the lava very easily. We stayed three days and every day was wonderful to wake up to the sounds of the rainforest and the birds chirping it was a wonderful change from the hotels. We would highly recommended this place to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing vacation spot.


Excellent lodge

4.8 on October 30, 2010

Very warm reception by Kelsea. The whole place is fabulous! Hardwood ceilings, walls, full length windows, very cozy beds, and every amenity you could want. Fantastic food in our fridge every day, so we could eat whenever we liked, and pack the rest up to eat while hiking in the national park. The nicest bed and breakfast that I think I've ever been in. Volcano is a touch cold, so we only stayed 2 nights. Mahalo!


a tropical treat

5 on July 18, 2009

Such a lovely spot architecturally---glass on three sides facing into the privacy of the rain forest (and it rained, and rained, and rained--at night with the pitter patter on the roof). Great CDs and DVDs available for use in the room. Great selection of snacks and breakfast foods in room. Quiet, quiet place and close to Kileua and Puna coast. Not far from Hilo--but a further drive.


Nice & Quite B&B

3.6 on February 16, 2009

Very nice B&B, Innkeeper and staff very friendly, grounds are wonderful, I highly recommend this B&B. Bad news: The room we booked on B&B.com showing available for the nights we requested actually was not. Good News: Kay, the owner, quickly sent an e-mail with this information and offering her regrets and giving us options. When we arrived at the B&B Kay was sincerely apologetic and gave us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience.


wonderful stay

3.8 on January 13, 2009

unique, peaceful, clean, very friendly and helpful service. thanks


Idyllic hideaway

4.4 on January 12, 2009

Very nice lodge with a small number of individual wooden 'huts', every one with it's own character. The thoroughly chosen interior make the stay unforgettable!


Peaceful perfection!

4.8 on December 08, 2008

We had an amazing stay at the Volcano Village Lodge in late October. This B&B is incredibly peaceful, private and exceptionallly well run. The staff here are pleasant, personable, helpful and really make you feel like you're staying at a good friend's home. Their recommendations on sightseeing, restaurants and finding a fabulour local guide were first-rate. Everything about our stay there was perfect -even the weather, which can be a bit drippy in this area. Definitely a great place to stay for those who value tranquility, privacy and NOT sharing their vacation with hordes of other tourists. (We used this site to find the Volcano Village Lodge, and just wanted to "return the favor" by writing our own review after our trip. So thanks, fellow posters on BedandBreakfast.com!)


Romantic Worry-Free Escape

4.2 on November 25, 2008

My husband and I had a such wonderful time at the Volcano Village Lodge. The bed and linens felt like heaven. Breakfast was in our personal fridge before each morning. The fireplaces made the rooms cozy. The secluded hot tub was very nice. DVDs and CDs were available. There was plenty of privacy. Kind staff. No extra fees or paper work once we arrived. We anticipate our return.


loved it!

5 on November 11, 2008

see above :)


best of paradise

3.4 on November 03, 2008

Very romantic, private, peaceful, blissful. unique setting


exotic

4.8 on October 30, 2008

so exotic and beautiful. Peace and serenity abounds in the rain forest of Volcano, Hawaii


Volcano Village Lodge, Big Island (HI)

4.6 on October 25, 2008

Rooms are outstanding!.....service is outstanding! Extremely clean. Best bed we had in Hawaii, and we were on 4 islands! Right near Volcano Village (less than 5 minute drive). May seem expesive at first, but great value for the price - especially considering other prices of rooms in the area. Great breakfast provided. Good restaurants nearby the Volcano Village. Lastly, excellent advice for what to do on the island - even if you only have a limited amount of time! We highly recommend this place!!!


Perfection!

5 on October 08, 2008

We stayed in the Kilauea lodge for two nights. From the service (Tammi is a great point person and guide) to the accommodations, we fell in love with the place. You won't regret choosing to stay here - we only wish we'd stayed longer!


WOW!!

5 on July 29, 2008

Truly a little slice of heaven in the rainforest. Exquisite property, service and fantastic stay!


Privacy and romance in the volcanoes

4.8 on June 12, 2008

An absolute steal of a gem in Volcano! This was the very first place we stayed in our recent trip to hawaii, and we were absolutely giddy with what welcomed us after a full-day of airplane and car rides. We stayed in the Hale Kilaulea, which is perfect for the couple seeking privacy and romance. Embrace the floor-to-ceiling windows because the view of the forest is an unforgettable sight in the morning. At night you can draw the shades and pump up the gas burning fireplace. Each cottage really felt like a single home; we barely saw any other tenants except in the driveway. Breakfast was scrumptuous with a quiche one day and an omelet the second day. The papaya was the best we had our entire 8-day trip in hawaii. And there is a basket of snacks to take with you on a hiking trip in the national park. Kay was a sweetheart, who was totally accommodating with our late check-in and made sure we were settled the very next morning. Stay here, you won't regret it! Absolutely the best bang for your buck!


Above and beyond

5 on September 17, 2007

Peaceful, beautiful, exceeded all expections! The food was wonderful. Stayed in the smallest room and found it difficult to store luggage. But would not let that keep me from returning.


Volcano Village Lodge stay

5 on August 04, 2007

We got to stay only one night due to our later planning, but, it was simply wonderful!! We would love to go back and stay longer. Kay is such a gracious and personable person. I am so glad that I got to share the aloha with my family, especially since I grew up in the islands.


Volcano Village Lodge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8089859500
  • Fax 1-8089859501

Visit Website »

View details

Top