Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Highly Recommended

4.8 on April 14, 2011

We stayed in the Hibiscus Room 4 nights of our 9 night trip to Hawaii and absolutely loved it. I felt as comfortable in this B&B as I do at home - the mattress was firm but not hard, the separate sitting area was a nice addition and used often. If you like movies, they do have a great DVD library - including a lot of recent movies. My husband was not completely full on the breakfast, but I was. It was definitely sufficient. My only comment for improvement was that they could have offered a bit of variety in the breakfast as they just seemed to alternate very similar items every other day. Todd & Jerry were very unobtrusive, and the dogs really only came out if you asked to see them. I would highly recommend this B&B and would stay here again if we ever return to the Big Island.


Beautiful Home and Lovely Host!

5 on December 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Coconut Cottage in November of 2010. We came in late and everything was arranged for us with a key and directions to our room. There were snacks set up for us because I told Todd we were taking the Volcano boat tour at 4:30 in the morning. We returned to find a wonderful breakfast, great Kona coffee and great conversation with Todd. Todd & Jerry's home is spotless, the decor is up to date and the amenities are perfect.


Abosolutely Amazing!!

5 on May 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Coconut Cottage for a second honeymoon and found it to be even better than our first! This place really knows how to do it. They think of everything from beach towels and sunblock to amazing breakfasts. The grounds are just amazing with hundreds of tropical flowers, including orchids. There is so much to do near by like the hot ponds, lava viewing, black sand beach. Our room, the Bali, was perfect. It was spacaious and the elegant touches realy made it. We can't wait to go back for our third honeymoon!


Avoid this facility

2.0 on April 06, 2010

My family stayed at many Bed and Breakfast facilities. This one is at the bottom of my recommend list. The original plan was to stay at this place for three nights but after our first night at the Royal Hibiscus Room, we checked out the next morning. Both my wife and I did not get any hot water for our shower that night. The owner told me that they turn off the hot water at 9:00pm. Why they decided not to provide the hot water 24/7 is beyond me. There is not enough lighting for the room we stayed and there are steps inside the room. Safety is a constant concern in my mind, especially for the kids. Breakfast was not good. My son did not eat at all. It was unfortunate for us to stay at this facility. I am still dealing with the owners to have our money back. They sent me email promising to get back to me, and almost one month passed, they still did not get back to me.


a second home in paradise

5 on January 29, 2010

The coconut cottage was like a dream of old hawaii coming true! Near beautiful big island attractions. Helpful welcoming staff. I cannot wait to go back!


It's True! The Best B&B on the Big Island!

4.4 on December 30, 2009

I wanted to treat my daughter to a much-needed vacation during her college break. We read the phenomenal reviews on Trip Advisor about Coconut Cottage and decided to give it a try. We found “Shanga-la”. A one-acre wonder of lush Hawaiian plants, flowers and trees. We thought we were staying in a botanical garden. There is even a grass roof gazebo hot tub that is a welcomed delight after roaming the island. We stayed in the Grand Pineapple Suite and what a room! We had a beautiful king bed with a lovely Hawaiian quilt and even a pillow in the shape of a pineapple on the bed. The huge bathroom had two sinks, which was perfect for us. The best thing about the room was that it overlooked their antherium garden outside. I kept reading about how great the breakfasts were and they didn’t disappoint us. In fact, that was the best part of the stay. We were there a week, so we got to sample most all of their culinary delights. From coconut macadamia nut pancakes to frittata to stuffed French toast to quiche, we were amply prepared to start each day. Todd and Jerry, our wonderful hosts, were so informative about the activities and sights. Their location is absolutely perfect for the explorations on the eastern side of island. They are literally about 10 minutes from the lava flow, a beautiful black sand beach and magnificent snorkeling. We even did the lava boat tour. Our stay was such a pleasure that we did not want to leave. We were supposed to spend the last 3 days of our trip in Kona, but ended up calling the Sheraton and canceling our reservation, so we could stay longer at Coconut Cottage. We had to move rooms, but that was not a problem because they put us in the Bali Spirit Suite. Another absolutely beautifully decorated room. It even has an antique Bali bed. Thank you Jerry and Todd (and Todd’s mom Ginny, who was visiting at the time) for a truly memorable vacation that will remain in our hearts forever! We will be back!


Excellent accomodations

4.0 on November 08, 2009

This was the best place to stay. I was there for the volcano and the staff was wonderful. I felt so comfortable even tho I was traveling alone. Breakfast was great and the company was wonderful. I would recomment this to anyone going to The Big Island, Fran Cox


The hosts with the most

5 on August 16, 2008

The rooms are large and spacious. The grounds are lush and tropical. The breakfast will make you weep with joy. But the hosts of Coconut Cottage, Jerry and Todd, are what will make your stay special. Not only do they cook an amazing breakfast and serve it in style, they know everything to do in the area, and they make you feel at home. The Cottage and it's grounds are a great place to relax in peace and quiet. There's lots to do in the area during the day, a lovely dinner in Pahoa (T&J can make recommendations), followed by a soak in their hot tub and perhaps a DVD from their extensive collection. Compare all the above to staying near the airport in Hilo in a dump of a hotel for $99 plus tax, which I did after returning from the Kona side, before flying out. Or to the even more expensive hotel options in Hilo. The intimate escape provided by Coconut Cottage is just amazing, and worth every penny.


The Big 50

5 on July 20, 2008

Wanted a getaway for my big 50 and chose to stay at CCBB. Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms, supurb breakfasts, great location, close to everything. The inkeepers, Jerry and Todd are best. I felt very at-home in their home. Can't wait to return!


True Hawaiian atmosphere and hospitality.

5 on May 17, 2008

I'm not sure where to start. I guess the beginning... My Sweetheart and I have never stayed in a B&B before, and the differences between this wonderful place and a hotel is vast. When we first saw this B&B we fell in love! It is in a beautiful neighborhood, it is very tropical and cheerful both inside and out. The landscaping was so well done that even upon returning "home" we felt like we were still having fun on a tropical island. Sitting on the porch listening to the birds chirping and, later in the evening, the frogs’ chorus was fantastic. And then there was the hot-tub... beautiful, quiet, romantic, cozy...sigh. I miss sharing it with my Love. And then there are the owners, Jerry and Todd. Very nice, very pleasant, very helpful with advice on where to go and things to see. And they had some great stories to tell about different things with the island and the people. They were also very attentive to the smallest details. We stayed in the cottage in the backyard and they would stock it daily with bottled water and tropical sodas, chips and cookies and fresh coffee, I was in heaven. We stayed for seven nights and they even went to the trouble to change the dinnerware, mugs and glasses in the middle of our stay. I was both happy and amused that they took the time to do this. It was a nice touch. I have so many pictures of just this B&B that are going to be in my favorites list. From the flowers and trees to the interesting objects in their yard, natural and landscaped. If there was a sixth star, I would give it to Jerry and Todd at the Coconut Cottage for making us feel at home and helping to make our stay in Hawaii a very pleasant experience. Thank you both. :)


A wonderful inn

5 on April 21, 2008

We have stayed at B & B inns in many locations in the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The Coconut Cottage is among the best. Jerry and Todd are new to the business and bring incredible enthusiasm, management skills, caring personalities, and taste to the task. The accomodations are tasteful, comfortable and complete. The breakfasts are superb. The grounds are beautiful. The inn is located between the coast and Volcano NP, accessible to Hilo. Pahoa is an interesting, small community with one excellent restaurant and several other good ones. We recommend the Coconut Cottage to anyone who is seeking a B & B in this area of the Big Island. Val and Andy Amherst, Massachusetts


Great Location, Wonderful Hospitality

4.6 on March 10, 2008

Can't say enough about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast. Todd & Jerry have done a great job getting their dream up & running. My husband & I and our two young children were graciously welcomed and accomodated during our 4 night stay. We highly recommend booking the Garden Bungalow, a detached cottage separate from the main house. Todd & Jerry are very knowledgeable about the area and helped direct our travels. Coconut Cottage is far enough from Hilo to make you feel that you're out of the city, yet close enough to be only a 10-20 minute drive from the airport, restaurants and grocery store. It's also a great location to call home base as you're visiting the southeastern part of the Big Island. Only 10 minutes to the hot ponds, 20-30 minutes to Volcanoes National Park and near many other natural attractions. When you’re done for the day, enjoy Todd & Jerry’s extensive collection of DVDs, or a dip in the hot tub. Then awaken the next morning to a delicious breakfast, complete with tropical fruits & juices & island coffee to get a kick-start for another day in paradise!


A touch of paradise

4.0 on March 09, 2008

We enjoyed our two nights stay here in Feb 2008. Jerry and Todd were courteous and very pleasant inn keepers ready to accommodate last minute changes. Our grandchildren lived in Pahoa and they decided to join us at the B&B. Jerry and Todd were gracious and the kids stayed over night for both nights. This place offered special benefits to everyone. It had the antherium garden next door and a lot of mo'os (geckos) and specials bugs that were of interest to the 5 year old. It also offered a patio for the 3 year old to play with her Barbie dolls and her play-dough and another 3 year old guest staying at the cottage. The 11 year old was totally blown away by the numerous DVD movies that Jerry and Todd had collected and chose a movie each night with which to fall asleep. The kids were in awe having morning breakfasts served on crystal and china. The ham/cheese omelets and the stuffed French toast were big hits. The children enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and the yard in which they played. The house was very clean and organized with special items throughout the rooms. Their exquisite taste in bedding and pillows was a welcomed touch of class. We look forward to another visit to the Coconut Cottage Bed & breakfast in the near future.


Highly Recommended!

4.6 on March 09, 2008

The perfect way to end our trip to Hawaii. Accommodations were perfect for us -- very comfortable, clean, friendly, and relaxing. Jerry and Todd were very accomodating for our schedule of late-night lava viewing near Kalapana, and generous with amenities. Close to snorkeling, hiking, good food, and the old Hawaii side of the island, ideal for those looking for the right place. Thanks!


A Piece of Heaven on Earth!

5 on March 09, 2008

I'm honestly hoping that when I get to Heaven it will look like Coconut Cottage B&B. It was an absolute paradise! Todd and Jerry have taken you back to vintage Hawaii in the most elegant Tommy Bahama style and vision! They definitely know their niche. They rival any 5 star major hotel...only they give you that extra personal touch. And they have thought of everything...from chocolates on your bed at night, to fresh orchids in your room, spa robes and a DVD library that would equal Blockbuster! The breakfasts were absolutely amazing. Gourmet style breakfasts that were so delicious. They really should publish their own cookbook. We stayed there 5 days and had a different breakfast every morning. From macadamia nut pancakes to fritatta's to stuffed french toast to quiche. Truly scrumptious! We stayed in the Bali Spirit Suite and it was beautiful. The cleanliness of the place is emaculate! The decor is absolutely breathtaking. Complete with an antique Bali wedding bed. We asked to see the other rooms...but of course they were all filled up with guests...but as we were checking out we were able to see 2 of them. Just as amazing as our room. The grounds are actually a one acre botanical garden with a grass roof hot tub. We didn't want to leave our little resort. However, if you have to venture out there are so many things to see. They are perfectly located to see many of the attractions in the area. From black sand beaches, volcano viewing, marvelous snorkeling, breathtaking waterfalls, excellent restaurants and hiking! It was truly another world experience when we were hiking back at night from the volcano looking up at the millions of stars and hearing the whales of the coast! Everyone should experience that feeling in ones' lifetime. All I can say is we will definitely be back and can't wait to experience that small piece of Heaven again.


Enjoy Old Hawaii at Coconut Cottage

4.4 on March 07, 2008

We first discovered Coconut Cottage by way of this B&B's web site. Take a look, it's fabulous! Full of information and it really embodies the feel of Old Hawaii, the kind of Hawaii I could only imagine existed back in the 1930s and 40s. Sure enough, once we arrived by day's end, we were not disappointed. Hosts Jerry and Todd truly reflect the "Aloha" spirit with friendliness and eagerness to provide all sorts of tips about what to do in this most exquisite part of the Big Island. (Even supplying sunscreen for our snorkeling trips and flashlights to explore the nearby lava flows!) We had just come from a huge resort on the other side of the island and were tickled to stay in the suite filled with personally-chosen Balinese furniture and with a private lanai. (Thanks for the early morning coffee on the lanai!) Breakfast was out-of-this world both in terms of quality and beauty (Macademia nut pancakes the first day, frittata the next morning. Lots of fruit and killer banana bread.) The grounds are filled with beautiful flowers. We couldn't have found a better Aloha fit than Coconut Cottage. This area of the Island is utterly enchanting...and with this B&B, you'll have a feast for your senses.


Coconut Cottage was perfect!

4.0 on March 06, 2008

We spent our last few days on the big island at Coconut Cottage and couldn't have been happier. Todd and Jerry made us feel so at home. The place was very neat and well decorated. Our room, the Grand Pineapple Suite was away from the rest of the house. The entrance is thru a movie room filled with hundreds of titles (leaning towards the campy.) The room has more closet space than anyone can ever use. Todd and Jerry were both very helpful with information about dining and local attractions. They really have a lovely breakfast. The room is delightful and it's so nice to get a chance to chat with the other guests as we dined on pancakes and assorted fruit. Just lovely! We only wished that our schedule allowed us to have breakfast there each morning. But they knew of our schedules and diet limitations and always sent us on our way with a nice bagged breakfast. Being in the hottub under a mossy cabana at night was heavenly. The lighting and those chirping frogs made for an exotic and extra special soak. It was hard to believe that Todd and Jerry have only recently taken over this place. They do it better than most other well-established b&b's. Thanks to them both for a wonderful end to our first Hawaiian vacation.


Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $140
  • Reviews (17) 4.5
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8089650973
  • Toll free 1-8662047444
Top