Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Tranquility in Paradise

4.8 on September 30, 2014

My husband and I came across Hale Maluhia while searching for the ideal Bed and Breakfast. We couldn't have located a more perfect residence for our 4 day Kona stay. "House of Peace" is the perfect name for this beautiful home. Surrounded by foilage, Birds of Paradise, a breakfast garden to enjoy in the morning (or anytime) filled with native birds and a waterfall as well as caring staff and owners - a traveler is bound to decompress from the Mainland and experience the spirit of aloha in this wonderful place. Our breakfasts were just awesome - a grand array of hawaiian fruits, delectable homemade breads and other goodies complemented the 'make your own' omelettes and waffles. And located in near proximetry to coffee plantations, the coffee is just the BEST!! We were joined on 3 of the mornings by a gecko who shared a piece of papya with us!! Our room was very comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to meet our needs and make us feel at home including being serenaded by beautiful piano music during breakfast. There is a peace here that almost defies explanation. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to the Big Island, we will be certain to stay again. John and Kathy Raimondi


5 stars

4.0 on January 24, 2012

Real Hospitality: Having read the most recent review before this one, I wonder if we stayed at the same place! We found it to be very relaxing, comfortable and clean. As far as insects, there were ants but it's a tropical island and that is to be expected. Our hosts were very outgoing and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts were incredible. We would definitly recommend this place to everyone and stay here again should our travels take us back.


A Slice of Paradise

5 on August 15, 2011

We highly recommend this place if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, traditional inn. They were very accomodating to every request and looked after our every need, their motto was, "Hey, you're on vacation, relax!" The breakfasts were wonderful with a wide variety of fresh fruits, homemade breads, and make your own omelet bar. This place is surrounded by a wide variety of exotic plants, birds, and flowering trees, very lovely. We enjoyed sitting in the jacuzzi at night and listening to the sounds of the tree frogs chirping. If you are used to a modern resort atmosphere, this place may not be for you, but if you want a slice a paradise, this is the place!


A truly peaceful retreat

5 on June 21, 2011

As we entered our bungalow we were enveloped by the peaceful comfort of serenity the suite offered. The song birds, the view, the service and food far exceeded our expectations. The serenade of frogs were a beautiful lullaby to the end of our day. Skip the boxy rooms of the busy hotels for a truly peaceful retreat experience.


Lovely 3 nights in Kona

3.8 on January 15, 2011

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights on our honeymoon. The B&B served our purposes very well, being close to Kona in a lovely peaceful area in the coffee country. The service was friendly and the breakfast and room had everything we wished for and more. The B&B had good facilities for everyone to use. Special thanks to Monica for superb coffee and the delicious surprice elements at breakfast!


Just wow!

5 on October 13, 2010

Friendly hosts, nice rooms and houses, quite and peaceful environment...we love it and would like to recommend it to everybody who does not want to stay in a big anonymous hotel...this place is heaven! Thank you for the nice time although we could not really appreciate everything because of our limited time. Thanks from Germany Bille and Roman


Truly a House of Peace

4.8 on April 28, 2010

My wife and I spent our first wedding anniversary on the Big Island and stayed at this most delightful B & B which was truly a “House of Peace” for us. Owners Ken & Sue Smith were most accommodating extending a discount for our longer stay. Inn Keepers, Adam & Pam Mather (along with precious little 5 yr old Jade) went above and beyond to make our stay most enjoyable. From providing us with home made cracked wheat bread along with their breakfast self-serve buffet to supplying us with water & beach equipment, they served us royally. We will not forget them! This well-equipped B & B is nestled up on the mountain side in the midst of a lush green landscape. It has the feel of being built in the old-style Hawaiian fashion almost like the “Swiss-Family Robinson” home. Although it has a sense of being secluded, it is in fact very accessible to all points of interest. With all of the amenities you could ask for including a covered hot tub, internet access and large screen TV’s with movies, we could not have asked for more. This will certainly be our point of destination and stay the next time we return to the Big Island! It is well-worth your stay! Don & Bonnie


The Best of a two week vacation.......

5 on April 11, 2010

I stayed at the House of Peace for one night and part of the following day. The property is a wonderful place to find oneself. The owners, Ken and Sue Smith touched my life in a way I will never forget. I would love to be there now. Steven Hill


Big Island adventure

4.8 on March 28, 2010

We booked at Hale Maluhia going on their web info. it was as advertised and more. We updated to the Banyan Cottage - very private for a couple, unique design, cheaper than a deluxe room at a resort, luxurious accommodations. Hosts Adam and Pam provided insight to local spots, great breakfasts, met all needs, answered all questions. We stayed 7 nights, went to another B&B, found it lacking and went back to Hale Maluhia and were lucky enough to get booked for our final 3 nights. The inn is just up the plateau from Kona, close enough to all the best beaches and within driving distace of all the Big Island sights. Best beaches- Mahai'ula Bay- Makalawena, Hapuna, Waipi'o valley black sand beach. Best adventure- waipi'o valley. best pizza and beer- Kona Brewing Co.


A quiet affordable and peaceful stay

4.2 on March 12, 2010

We spent four nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The owers, Ken and Sue, and managers, Adam and Pam (and their wonderful little girl Jade) were the perfect hosts. We felt more like old friends during our stay. The accomodations were very nice and we really liked the layout, which provided a feeling of privacy, while at the same time were easy to get around. The breakfasts included a wide array of fresh fruits, breads, and excellent omelet bar. We truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful place to stay. Mahalo, Don & Betsy.


A Tropical Paradise

5 on February 22, 2010

If you want a holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the big hotels, this is the place to stay. After attending a time share presentation at one of the big hotel chains, we were glad to get back to our quiet room. Hosts Pamela and Adam made us feel like one of the family. The breakfast each morning was awesome. Fresh eggs from their own chickens, freshly baked bread, fresh fruit, juice, coffee etc. Included were free internet, phone, TV, DVD, hot tub, library with books, DVDs, CDs. Beautiful grounds with Koi ponds and lots of shade trees. Away from it all but only minutes from shopping and beaches. We made new friends each morning at breakfast on the lanai. If you want a true Hawai'ian holiday, this is probably the place for you. We hope to come back again. David and Katherina, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada


Peaceful Hawaiian haven

4.6 on December 01, 2009

We stayed in the Banyon Cottage, a lovely retreat. The cottage is huge and comfortable. Our host, Ken Smith, went out of his way to make us feel as though it was our home while we were there. Breakfasts of local fruit, fresh pastries, and eggs right from Ken's chickens were plentiful and delicious. Wild turkeys roamed and colorful tropical birds fed as we ate on the front patio. We felt ourselves exhaling and relaxing. Our recommendation: book the Banyon Cottage for privacy and beauty. Aloha!


great place to relax!

5 on September 28, 2009

We want all to know that this B&B far exceeded what we were expecting. Our host, Spiro, was gracious and friendly. He was very helpful and knowlegable. Very clean and quiet rooms. We will stay here again, for sure! Gary & Venette of Colorado


Hale Maluhia Country Inn

4.6 on April 23, 2009

Lovely tropical gem perched on mountain side with views of oceanside. Personal service loved the place!!!! Will go again!


Beautiful property, excellent services

4.4 on December 30, 2008

Stayed there from Dec. 11-13, our first stop on the big island. The property is beautiful. Nice host and great services. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. It's a quiet paradise for a vacation.


stay in Paradise

4.2 on July 24, 2008

excellent service Excellent hosts Paradise environment Fabulous breakfast


Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace)

Details

  • Nightly Rate $87 - $177
  • Reviews (16) 4.6
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8083291123
  • Fax 1-8083295773
  • Mobile 1-8088968937

Visit Website »

View details

Top