Hale Hoola B&B Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Hale-Hoola B&B

4.6 on March 13, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this very quaint B&B.We enjoyed Mary's homemade breakfast and the wonderful talks with Bob.we will definitely stay here again.Thank you Mary and Bob


Great hospitality

4.6 on March 12, 2014

We arrived late and our room was ready and very welcome after a very long day. Had a great sleep and met Linda, Mary and Bob in the morning over a great cup of coffee and a beautiful view from the lanai.Then breakfast was served. Perfect. We had a great visit with them and their other guests. It was a wonderful introduction to our first day in Hawaii. Our stay was only two days and we thoroughly enjoyed the time there. We returned for a short visit and coffee with Bob, sorry to have missed Mary, and was given a good explanation of the macadamian and coffee industries on the island.It is folks like Mary and Bob that make holidays great. Thank you. Terry and Donna


Thank you Mary & Bob for your warm wellcome and to stay in your beautiful home!

4.4 on January 12, 2014

We have been during christmas 2013 in this lovingly and bright appointed home. I love this kind of appointing,.it remember me at italien Livestile. The breakfast made by Mary was great special and the talks with Bob helpfull as well as funny! ;-) Both are huge hosts and we did enjoy our stay. If we would stay a second time on big Island we would coming to you again. Thank you Mary & Bob and have a HAPPY HEALPHY NEW YEAR! Germany city Leipzig / Christian & Sabine


Delightful place!

4.0 on December 08, 2013

The room was fine, but the grounds and breakfasts and friendly service were outstanding. This was our first B&B experience and definitely set the bar high. Extra amenities available for borrowing (beach towels, body boards, snorkeling gear, coolers, etc.) were very helpful.


Hale Ho'ola - a place to go!!!

5 on October 21, 2013

Bob and Mary are so helpful and friendly. Our room was beautiful with a wonderful view. Homemade breakfast with fresh fruits from the garden - amazing.


Hawaiiain paradise

4.2 on October 11, 2013

Only managed to spend 2 nights at this beautiful location. The breakfasts that Mary provided were fabulous, and set us up for the day, to explore their tropical paradise. Over what was like a family breakfast, Bob provided us with a local's knowledge of what to see and where to go to find it, away from the tourists. His suggestions for Dining were spot on, a real local fare and setting. Recommend this place, a wee drive out of Kona, but well worth it.


The Making of our Hawaiian holiday!

5 on September 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hale Ho'ola B&B with the delightful Bob & Mary for our 5 day visit to the Big Island. They made us welcome and comfortable, and were both a delight to be with, and a never ending source of advice for the time pushed traveller! Bob's local knowledge of both places to see and places to eat was invaluable to us, and meant that we were able to really get the most out of Hawai'i in the time we had available. Mary's breakfasts were fabulous and different each day, giving us a local flavour as well as a taste of American breakfasts from wider afield. The coffee was great as well, so much so we bought 1lb bag to take home with us from Bob! I definitely recommend doing the same. (Give the money to Mary though...she'll appreciate it! ;-) ) Breakfast is a leisurely affair, with a relaxed chat being the main thing to do. We discussed everything from local politics to white pineapples, and it gave us a fully rounded flavour of what life in paradise is like! The room was comfortable, with it's own 'veranda' (Lanai) looking out to sea over the trees behind. There's also your own fridge out there which was very useful for keeping drinks and snacks cool. Bob & Mary also have a selection of things for the beach available, plus numerous books on the area..although their own local knowledge is the best thing to use! On the whole, our stay was very peaceful (apart from the night time wild life, that is reminiscent of a jungle at times! It didn't disturb our sleep though!) and the very friendly and helpful personalities of Bob & Mary really made our stay here very very happy. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, or head on back if I were ever to get to the Big Island again, they made our Hawaiian holiday! (Oh, and look out for the Geckos as well..Mary has a unique way of making sure they don't eat your Dragon fruit at breakfast..ask her to show you her idea for an Olympic event!)


Friendly and welcoming/agradable y acogedor

3.6 on September 04, 2013

Bob and Mary we did spend ¿¿a pleasant stay in your home, the breakfast was good and plentiful. Bob y Mary nos hicieron pasar una estancia agradable en su casa, los desayunos fueron buenos y abundantes.


Charming hosts

4.6 on July 20, 2013

Had a lovely stay with Bob, Mary and their friend Linda. The food is outstanding, and the local konwledge they provide is invaluable. Based on Bob's recommendations we snorkeled at a local spot near the hotel and were amazed to find ourselves swimming with a pod of nursing mother/baby spinner dolphins. They also made us a yummy breakfast basket along with a thermos of hot coffee on a day when we had an activity that required us to leave before their regular breakfast time. All in all is was a very pleasant stay.


A nice place to stay

4.4 on July 14, 2013

Très bonne adresse, Mary et Bob sont des hôtes très agréables. Les chambres sont situées au RDC de la maison et possèdent toutes un balcon, bien agréable pour profiter de la fraicheur du soir. Vue sur la mer au loin. Une partie salon commune aux 3 chambres permet de disposer d'un micro onde, d'assiettes et de couverts, ainsi que quelques livres (en anglais bien sûr) Tous les accessoires de plage sont à disposition. Le plus génial sont les petits déjeuners sur le balcon de l'étage en compagnie de Mary et Bob et des Geeko's (petits lézards verts) qui viennent chaparder du jus de fruit jusque dans vos verres. Mary et Bob sont de très bon conseil et aiment bien échanger leurs expériences avec vous. Attention, les petits déjeuners peuvent se prolonger en débats sur la façon dont vous vivez dans votre pays.


Paradise with a view

4.6 on June 19, 2013

Secluded and quiet with a great view from the balcony. Wonderful breakfasts and very helpful and friendly hosts.


Great relaxing place

5 on June 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Bob and Mary. since my husband is handicapped, it was easy for him to get around. They were very acommodating to his needs. The B and B his the fastest up to date wifi I've ever used on my travels.


Great company, fabulous breakfasts!

3.8 on May 15, 2013

The Hale Ho'ola is a comfortable place to stay that is very close to fabulous snorkeling. If you want to be close to Kona town, it's a bit of a drive. But, the private lana'i is a great place to unwind in the evening, and Bob and Mary provide excellent company over Mary's fabulous breakfasts!


A little Gem!

4.4 on February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights. We absolutely adored this very comfortable, relaxing, clean anq quiet place. We wished we had spent some more days. The place is situated in a very open green area, with lot of fruit trees. Mary and Bob made us feel as part of their family and breakfast was super, with home made pumpkin bread, fresh coffee, fresh fruits and cereals. Bob gave us information on sightseeing and where to eat. Very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.Would definitely recommend this place.


Just delightful

4.6 on January 14, 2013

We spent 13 nights over christmas and new years eve – and it was pure joy. We love to stay away from the main tourist areas, away from the resort .... to get in touch more with locals and the local culture. And that's what we got: a couple of miles south of Kailua Kona, quiet, rural, nice. The days started perfectly with a delicious breakfast from Mary and nice chats with Bob. The best lava tour, the most beautiful spot to snorkel, the hidden treasures of local cuisine – Bob knows it all. And shares.We. Just. Loved. It.


Had a great time at Hale Ho'ola!

4.4 on December 02, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Mary and Bob for five nights, and had a very nice stay. Mary and Bob are knowledgeable and polite hosts and provided good advice on sights and very pleasant conversation over breakfast. The best advantages of staying at Hale Ho'ola over a hotel are definitely the hosts! We would like to give a special thanks to Brian who served us our breakfast on the last two days of our stay, including some great french toast made from guava flavored sweetbread! We very much enjoyed our stay and we think you will too!


Like living a comfortable dream!!!

5 on November 16, 2012

What a blast!!! From the moment my husband and I took our first step out of our rental vehicle we knew we had found a very special place! The thick, tailored, landscape and vibrant colors were just like something out of a dream while an even bigger surprise was the many varieties of fruit harvested and served right from those plants to the breakfast table by Mary. And then just when you think it can not get any better, you are served fresh Kona coffee while Hawaiian music tracks are prepared and played by Bob! The rooms were very clean, comfortable, quiet and the gorgeous weather made it just perfect for a great night sleep too. There is so much to see and do here. From the volcanos to the coffee fields or tasting areas to the goergeous beaches and top notch restaurants we are a few of the lucky ones who have been able to expereience such a magical place. You just can not go wrong with this stay and as mentioned in almost all other reviews - you just could not meet two better people than the owners of this property, Bob and Mary... They take the time to help you manuever your way around the island and make great suggestions to make your vacation and memories exactly what you want it to be. Do yourself a favor - GO NOW!!


Our wonderful time at Hale Hoola B&B

4.8 on August 21, 2012

Hale Ho'ola B&B was all we wanted it to be and so much more. Mary and her granddaughter were great and made us feel so-at-home. They made our 25th wedding anniversary time there so special and something we will never forget. The breakfasts were out of this world with wonderful fresh fruit each morning on a porch/deck overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We really enjoyed talking with Mary and getting to know her as she went out of her way to make sure our needs were being met. Our room was also a very clean roomy suite with private bath. All the reviews I read about Hale Ho’ola B&B before coming are so true! If we ever come back to the Big Island, this is the place we want to go to and stay again. G&C Richmond, VA


Alternative to Kona

4.4 on May 10, 2012

Rather than stay at Kona we chose this B&B for our visit to that part of the island. We were guided by previous reviews and found them to be accurate. The breakfasts were delicious, served on the patio with Bob hosting and geckos as entertaining guests. On the morning we had an early appointment with a snorkel tour Mary provided us with early coffee and breakfast in a basket. Mary and Bob were knowledgeable and had helpful suggestions on eateries, snorkel sites, and shopping. They also loaned snorkel gear for our use. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. There was some noise through the wall from adjoining room but it was minor and did not interfere with sleeping. The one thing we missed was a coffee maker in our room; however, we were aware of that at the time of booking. All in all it was a good choice!


A great place

4.6 on April 03, 2012

We spent a lovely three nights in our comfy room, enjoyed fabulous breakfasts, and had chats with and good advice from our charming hosts.


Great Stay with Friendly Hosts

4.6 on March 19, 2012

Our hosts Bob and Mary were very friendly, kind, generous and accommodating. With Bob’s knowledge of the Big Island, he was able to do some bookings for us at the last minute and also advise us on the best routes to take etc. We even managed to buy a book from Bob on Big Island (Big Island Revealed)which we had been looking for everywhere. Everybody is commenting about Mary’s breakfasts and we found that it was so good that we used to spend a lot of time eating and chatting in the lanai and gazing at the beautiful scenery. They gave us a list of restaurants and descriptions about each eating place so that we could select where to have our meals. The place has a nice meeting room for all the guests, beach equipment to take with you to the beach, Kailua Kona a ten minute drive away, a nice lanai with good views, which seems a good place to enjoy your takeaways. The colourful Caribbean lizards provide ample photography opportunities, but can get a bit too close during breakfast time. True to its name, it really is a place of healing and if you are open, magic happens! Bernadette


Gracious and delightful

4.4 on March 05, 2012

Mary and Bob's hospitality made us feel at home and well taken care of. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants. The beds were firm and comfortable, making for a sound night's sleep. The breakfast included an inspired variety of tropical fruits, home-made breads and a delicious cheese mushroom and ham frittata, all served on a deck looking out over the ocean amidst scampering green geckos. We can't wait to go back.


Wonderful stay

4.8 on March 03, 2012

After tenting around the rainy Puna area, we were desperate for a place to dry off for a few days. We were able to book a room at the last minute. Bob and Mary offer a very warm and friendly vibe. They provided us with suggestions of restaurants and what to do in the area (we checked out several of their suggestions and were all well worth it!). Breakfasts were fabulous -- complete with fresh fruits, guava juice, home-grown Kona coffee, and whatever Mary decides to bake in the kitchen! The geckos provided some good after-breakfast entertainment! The rooms are small, but comfortable, and have a nice private lanai for sitting. Yes, there are roosters nearby that will likely wake you up at 5 am, but hey, it's nothing compared to Kauai, and why wouldn't you want an early start to your day in beautiful Hawaii?


my review

3.0 on February 23, 2012

very friendly hosts, rooms a little scrappy around the edges; but good value


Great place

4.0 on February 13, 2012

Enjoyed our time here. Great hosts. Great food. Nice view from room overlooking the ocean. Appreciated the resources of boogie board, sunscreen, snorkel masks, towells, coolers, etc for the beach as well as microwave, mug, tea/coffee, refrig as well. Rooms had private lanai which were very nice - although sound travels from one lanai to another. We will stay again if we come.


Wonderful time in paradise

4.4 on December 14, 2011

Great experience with friendly, helpful host. Great location for quiet days and beautiful sunsets. Amazing breakfasts. Knkows the local area. Pics are accurate.


The Roi's

4.2 on November 15, 2011

My wife and I totally enjoyed our 1st visit to Hawaii's big island. Of particular enjoyment was our stay at the HALE HO'OLA bed and breakfast. Our hosts (Bob and Mary) couldn't have been nicer.... Their friendly knowledge of the island and their wonderful breakfasts as well as conversations made our stay especially enjoyable. We highly recommend Hale Ho'ola B&B and plan on staying there again on our next visit to the Big Island.


Like Visiting Old Friends

4.8 on October 30, 2011

We spent six nights with Mary & Bob and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was like visiting old friends, only problem, we enjoyed visiting so much we got started out a little later than we usually do-our fault, not theirs. Two mornings we had to leave very early and Mary got up and made us an excellent breakfast to go (one morning at 4:30 AM-above and beyond call). Their suggestions of where to go and shop were excellent, we would have missed a few things wee it not for them. But if you want to go to the green sand beach, pay the locals $15 round trip rather than walk. Took over an hour (one way) in a wind tunnel, through the dust and lava, and we are good walkers. Would stay here again any any time we return. My gold standard, everything was spotless and comfortable.


Excellent B&B in relaxed environment

4.6 on August 08, 2011

We stayed at Hale-Hoola for 3 nights in early July 2011. Our room was quite nice with a beautiful private lookout; we really enjoyed the breakfast setting on the porch upstairs though. Mary made excellent breakfasts and Bob was a great help in helping us figure out our activities during our stay. Secluded, beautiful, welcoming. Just perfect.


Lovely home away from home

4.2 on July 28, 2011

We had a wonderful 9 night stay. Perfect location for us to cruise up and down and explore the Kona coast and Puna without staying near the touristy and busy Kaiula village (which is about 30 minutes north). Wonderful breakfasts and hospitality. Amazing lanai views from each room in a wild and tropical setting. Very natural and very aloha with comfortable beds and great hosts. Close to some of the best beaches and diving in the world..We'll be back. Mahalo!


Warm and Friendly Hosts

4.8 on July 21, 2011

The Hale Ho'ola is a warm and friendly place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel at home. Mary is a great cook and serves a delicious breakfast, including coffee and tea, juice, fruit, a sweet, and a hot entree. Bob is friendly and can fill you in on the fun things to do in the area. They are a joy to know, and they quickly make you feel as if you'd known them forever. We just returned from a week's stay there, and I hated to come home. I would recommend the Hale Ho'ola to anyone who wants a comfortable, quiet place to stay, away from the big resorts. If you're looking for glitz and glamor, this isn't the place for you. But if you want friendly hosts, quiet evenings, a clean, comfortable room, and delicious breakfasts, then this is your place.


Hale Hoola B&B

4.4 on June 07, 2011

Great hospitality and surroundings, lanai/garden! Sumptuous breakfasts with a friendly chat/bite with Bob & Mary & their gecko friends! Thank you so much for making our stay unforgettable! Kindest regards Lars, Pernilla & Frida from faraway Sweden


Would definitely stay there again

4.2 on April 06, 2011

Hale Ho'ola is exactly what we needed for the last two nights of our around-the-island week-long vacation. Bob and Mary were very pleasant hosts, and we enjoyed their company at breakfast every morning (along with the geckos :) We had the smallest of the three rooms situated around a common lounge area, but it was clean and comfortable with a private bath. Bob and Mary were helpful with suggestions for dining in the evenings, and their south-central location made it easy to visit all the spots we wanted to see on our highlight tour. We would definitely stay there again.


Lile Visiting Friends!

5 on March 29, 2011

We were very comfortable at Hale Hoola. Bob and Mary are wonderful hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the island and always willing to give suggestions and directions. Breakfast is outstanding: fresh fruit and juice every morning, main breakfast of pancakes or waffles or a delicious egg and biscuit bake. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the B&B grounds are gorgeous and well landscaped. We will absolutely be back!


Thank you for a wonderful stay!

5 on March 10, 2011

Bob and Mary are wonderful hosts and the accommodations are wonderful. I especially enjoyed the foliage, breakfast, the visits with Bob and Mary and the geckos!!


Great place to stay with fantastic hosts

4.8 on November 18, 2010

Great views, fantastic breakfasts and the best coffee ever, the hosts are wonderful with the best sense of humour, recommend it to anyone staying in that area without any doubt.


Our Stay at Hale Hoola B&B

4.4 on October 26, 2010

This was my second stay at Hale Hoola and I can't say enough about Bob and Mary and their wonderful hospitality and friendliness. A visit here is like visiting family or friends. We really felt at home. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast outstanding with fruit served from Mary's garden and trees. If you are traveling to the Big Island, you must stay with Bob and Mary at the Hale Hoola.


Mahalo from Three Canadians

5 on July 18, 2010

My husband, mother and I visited Hale Hoola B&B during our stay on The Big Island. Bob & Mary are wonderful hosts! They thought of everything we would need to make our visit to the island enjoyable and memorable. The accommodations and meals were fabulous, but the best part of the stay was our visits with Bob & Mary each day. We felt like we were visiting with family. I will definitely recommend Hale Hoola to others visiting The Big Island. Patti


Wonderful

4.0 on May 27, 2010

Me and my friend Silvana went to Hale Hoola B&B from 4 to 10 May. We stayed very well...the room was wondederful with a large lanai in front of the sea. In the morning we wake up with the birds song and the sun light. The breakfast was special with fresh fruit and every day something new preparate by Bob and Mary daughter. They are very beautiful people, always smile and available to tell us every kind of information. If you want a peaceful and family site for your holiday...choice B&B Hale Hoola..I recomend it!!!! From Italy, Michela and Silvana


Check in as Guests; Check Out as Friends!

4.6 on February 24, 2010

You will feel like you've made new friends as you enjoy the company and wonderful tropical locale. Scrumptious breakfasts, wonderful conversation, and real island insight are yours when you stay with Mary and Bob!


Relaxing!!!

4.0 on February 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay, it was extremely relaxing. We were treated in a warm, friendly way- it felt like we were staying with family! Hale Ho'ola has beautiful views, delicious food, and great conversations with the innkeepers. We highly recommend this property to family and friends who want to get away, relax and enjoy each other!


Aloha!

5 on February 10, 2010

We had a wonderful first visit to the Big Island! Thanks to Mary and Bob and their luminous and cozy B&B we got to experience total harmony in the morning with delightful breakfast; freshly made cake, Kona coffee and fresh fruit, hawaiian music and a view that would make a yogi sigh! The youngest loved feeding the animals and go fruit hunting with Mary while Bob told us about possible excursions during the day. It was a pleasure coming back in the evenings. We keep a very varm memory of this B&B.. Mahalo nui loa! /Carola, Olivier & Mélina


We made new friends

5 on November 14, 2009

Bob and Mary are now life-long friends. The ambience, coffee, meals and music on the beautiful lenai every morning was incredible. Thank you for making our first trip to Hawaii not our last!! Marlayne and Robert


big island

3.8 on July 20, 2009

rooms are very nice, location is very tranquil and beautiful, and a good location to explore island from. I highly recommend this beautiful Hawaiian retreat!


Hale-Ho'Ola

3.6 on July 16, 2009

nice and clean, very friendly and helpful hosts. Good breakfast.


A Beautiful Stay

4.4 on January 30, 2009

What a wonderful three days my husband and I spent at "the house of healing." We enjoyed the quite, the views of the Pacific Ocean, the wonderful breakfasts and fresh fruit, especially the home grown papaya, each morning. The rooms and private bathrooms were very clean and fresh. Bob and Mary are the best inn keepers I've ever met! Fabulous people who shared with us their knowledge of the Kona coast, restaurants, must see places and shopping. We loved our stay there and felt like Bob and Mary were long lost friends. Thank you very much, Bob and Mary, for sharing your home with us.


Big Island Culture Experience

3.4 on January 22, 2009

Mary and Bob are friendly people who share their Hawaii knowledge with you giving you insight into the local culture. Their yard full of tropical fruit is refreshingly the true Hawaii.


From Oklahoma to Paradise

4.0 on September 28, 2008

We were very happy with Bob and Mary's B&B. They are great hosts and Mary is a wonderful cook. We felt very comfortable there as if we were staying with friends. It was fun to eat the fruit from their orchard and have our first cup of Kona Coffee with Bob and Mary. It is a convenient location for heading out each morning to see the Big Island. Ron and Jamie Oklahoma


EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

5 on February 02, 2007

Bob and mary are simply the best B&B hosts we have experienced. They are knowledgeable about the area and were able to steer us to some places and activities we had not thought of. The Inn is VERY clean and well kept. Kudos to "The House of Healing!"


Hale Hoola B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $150
  • Reviews (49) 4.4
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8083289117
  • Fax 1-8777750345
  • Toll free 1-8776289117

Visit Website »

View details

Top