Free $50 gift card with a $250+ gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Grover, North Carolina

Great History! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 22, 2014

The Inn of the Patriots was a great historical experience. The Baby Ruth room allowed us to experience what it might be like to have lived in the past. The memorabilia was awesome. Marty and Stormy made us feel at home and allowed us to share parts of their lives. I really enjoyed the cooking class and the pizza we cooked was the best I've ever had. I would return and will stay longer...next time. It was a pleasure meeting them and sharing Philly stories with Marty.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 20, 2014

Had a very nice stay at the Patriots Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Good time at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 19, 2014

The cooking class gave us tons of new ideas and it was interesting learning all the presidential fun facts. Kim was soo sweet and the rooms were comfy. We totally recommend the Baker Buffalo Winery, the wine was FABULOUS and the owners were I nice. Thanks for a weekend away!

View more reviews for this inn


Not worth visiting again. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.2 reviewed on October 16, 2014

Marti is definitely a master of self-promotion. I'm just not sure that what is delivered by his cooking class, food, or inn meets the expectations set by his high claims. The inn itself is very cluttered, and I was extremely turned off to be greeted at the doorway by a decrepit gingerbread house that has clearly seen better days. At first I thought our bathroom situation was less than stellar with a shower stuffed in a closet and a toilet in another closet, but then I learned that two sets of guests were sharing a bathroom upstairs with the owner and his family. I guess mine wasn't that bad after all. The food was decent but not remarkable, and Chef Marti didn't actually cook breakfast for us either morning. So if you are excited to eat food prepared by a White House Chef, this may not be the place for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Nature Room at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 09, 2014

Excellent food, service and history. We enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful short holiday near interesting historic sites. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

We visited the King's Mountain battlefield and the Cowpens Battlefield which we found very interesting.

View more reviews for this inn


Polynesian Escape at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2014

A nice place to stay and get great food, service and a history lesson all in a fun way. The luncheon cooking class was great with lots of hands on and a great presentation. Marti and his crew do a fantastic job overall. Give it a try!!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing, fun weekend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 02, 2014

Plan in advance because they are probably booked - and for good reason! We arrived on Friday afternoon and had a chance to look around by ourselves (we received an email stating that Marti and Stormy would be out shopping and to let ourselves in). The decor is great for those interested in history. We went out to one of the recommended restaurants in Shelby (Ni Fen Bistro) planning on having a glass of wine and an appetizer but ended up having a great dinner after hearing about the specials. At breakfast the next morning there were 5 couples who were total strangers. Just by asking the question "How did everyone sleep?" started a conversation that put all at ease and got us all acquainted. The tour of the museum, which consists of several cases of memorabilia throughout the house, was very interesting and entertaining. Marti is an excellent tour guide having lived much of the history showcased. Take advantage of the wine tasting at Baker Buffalo Creek. And don't miss one of the cooking classes. We took the lunch class on Sunday morning and learned how to make pizza from scratch (much easier than you may think and WAY better than anything you'll get from carryout) and a great greek salad. Marti, Stormy and Johnsie are great hosts. We hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Roadtrip Destination at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

The Inn of the Patriots is a wonderful road trip destination. Not only is the area steeped in history, it offers a myriad of activities to suit anyone's tastes. The Inn is a treasure in itself and Marty makes history come alive when he conducts his tour of the property. Two days was not near enough time to fully enjoy everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Beware! Inn does not meet its hype. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

1.0 reviewed on September 25, 2014

This Inn has lots of impressive PR but the reality is very disappointing. The inn's rates are very overpriced for a room with a shared bath used by up to 5 others. All of "Presidential" clutter although interesting are dust collectors meaning the inn needs a thorough cleaning. For a culinary inn, breakfast was nothing out of ordinary: oatmeal, bacon, potatoes, and French toast. This was a very unsatisfactory experience at any price.

View more reviews for this inn


review at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 20, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay and time away. quiet and very enjoyable

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Historic Bed and Breakfast at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on September 17, 2014

Marty and Stormy are wonderful hosts. The rooms and public spaces are beautifully decorated with a mixture of antiques and modern furniture resulting in serene and restfully atmosphere. There are collections of White House and Revolutionary War memorabilia to entertain you as well as books and DVDs. The front porch has rocking chairs that look out on a quiet neighborhood of historic houses. It was the peaceful retreat we were looking for when we booked our vacation. The best part was having breakfast cooked each day by a world class chef! The food was outstanding! We thoroughly enjoyed The Inn of the Patriots.

View more reviews for this inn


The Great Escape! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2014

There are not enough adjectives to use to rate our stay at the Inn of the Patriots, but we will try to use a few to describe it. Our stay was restful, wonderful, educational and entertaining to say the least. We received a wonderful tour through the museum that was insightful and eye opening to some of the history of North Carolina as well as some wonderful antidotes about Marti's time at the White House. The breakfast each morning was impeccable with food fresh from his garden as well as local vendors. The cooking class was marvelous. Who knew that one could make fresh dough for pizza in eight minutes or less as well as have it being quite tasty too. We had such an enjoyable time and got to do the one thing that we wanted to do more than anything which was relax. We would definitely recommend the Inn of the Patriots for an insightful, entertaining, restful and eye opening time.

View more reviews for this inn


White House culinary history and good food! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 07, 2014

Marti is a gifted storyteller of local history and history of presidential menus...stories he shares during the cooking class and house tour. A stay at the eclectic Inn of the Patriots is both restful and entertaining. The cooking class is fun for cooks and non-cooks with lots of helpful and healthy instructions. The breakfast included local farm foods and of course one White House dish complete with story. While you are in the area be sure to also visit downtown Shelby and Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens in nearby Gastonia. There are several good wineries inn the area. Ask Marti for directions and advice.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Patriots! Marti was a joy to talk with and we really enjoyed his cooking class. Breakfast was delicious each morning! Support a Vet by staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Inn of the Patriots (4.48)
Top
}