Get a free $60 gift card with a $300 gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Grover, North Carolina

The Great Escape! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2014

There are not enough adjectives to use to rate our stay at the Inn of the Patriots, but we will try to use a few to describe it. Our stay was restful, wonderful, educational and entertaining to say the least. We received a wonderful tour through the museum that was insightful and eye opening to some of the history of North Carolina as well as some wonderful antidotes about Marti's time at the White House. The breakfast each morning was impeccable with food fresh from his garden as well as local vendors. The cooking class was marvelous. Who knew that one could make fresh dough for pizza in eight minutes or less as well as have it being quite tasty too. We had such an enjoyable time and got to do the one thing that we wanted to do more than anything which was relax. We would definitely recommend the Inn of the Patriots for an insightful, entertaining, restful and eye opening time.

View more reviews for this inn


White House culinary history and good food! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 07, 2014

Marti is a gifted storyteller of local history and history of presidential menus...stories he shares during the cooking class and house tour. A stay at the eclectic Inn of the Patriots is both restful and entertaining. The cooking class is fun for cooks and non-cooks with lots of helpful and healthy instructions. The breakfast included local farm foods and of course one White House dish complete with story. While you are in the area be sure to also visit downtown Shelby and Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens in nearby Gastonia. There are several good wineries inn the area. Ask Marti for directions and advice.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Patriots! Marti was a joy to talk with and we really enjoyed his cooking class. Breakfast was delicious each morning! Support a Vet by staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


'Getway Night at B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.4 reviewed on August 24, 2014

The Enn could be a real gem but contains far too much clutter. The owners need to decide if they are running a B&B or a museum. Every inch of the main area and rooms contain far too many collected keepsakes from his career. Even the dinning table was cluttered with keepsakes and non essential items. Parking was in rear with path to back door. Wrong! - no answer. Had to go around to front door ( which was plastered with so many stickers and signs to looked like a cheap hotel. Entry foyer,once we were finally let in, was same way. The Breakfast was a real disappointment since we figured since he was a chief we would have an exceptional breakfast. Wrong!! The breakfast was disorganized and what I would have expected from a basic Cafe. Coffee was in carafes on table with no service. Girl brought out a bowl of grits by then selves. Guests asked what else are we getting and the answer was " I don't know". About 5 min later a bowl of bacon was brought out by its self and then a bowl of cereal a few min later and again we were left wondering if this was all there was. Finally a plate of toast and later a breakfast skillet was brought. We had to ask for jam and butter..We never saw the chief until after all this. The taste and presentation of what was brought was what I would expect from a cafe - no more. After breakfast the owner/chief made a history presentation and explained a lot of his career and collections and was very interesting; but, until they get their act together on breakfast and clutter I cannot recommend to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Marti makes cooking fun... at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on August 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking classes, they were casual, stress-free and informative. Inn is unique and charming, although would have liked a private bath. Come and go as you please, view the interesting memorabilia, or sit just on the porch and read a good book.

View more reviews for this inn


Great overnight stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

Had a great overnight stay. Downtown Shelby close by with great dining. Chef Marti was an excellent host and the home was very interesting to look at with all of the items on display. Breakfast was fantastic. Home was very quiet and comfortable. Thanks !

View more reviews for this inn


OUTSTANDING, yes I know I'm shouting at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 12, 2014

This is the first time that I've stayed at any B&B. The house is loaded with historic artifacts and interesting memoribilia. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE!!!! The history lesson by Marti was enjoyable, entertaining, and informational.

View more reviews for this inn


Red Velvet Waffles at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2014

The Inn itself is located at the Carolina border (you can walk to South Carolina if you want to) and is a 10-30 minute drive from 2 wineries and 2 state parks. I definitely recommend Buffalo Creek Winery and Crowders Mountain State Park if you go. Aside from the surrounding area, which is lovely, the Inn itself is also quite nice. I spent two nights in the Magnificent Polynesian room and slept like a champ. The breakfast (both mornings) was some of the best food I have had in a while and served in a family style that promotes interaction with other guests. After breakfast Marti gives a very good tour of his house, providing a history lesson ranging from the battle fought at Kings Mountain to the china used by presidents at the white house. There are a lot of games scattered throughout the house and plenty of places to sleep and lounge as well. It may take several years to happen but I would definitely go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2014

Great time, Marti was a fantastic host.

View more reviews for this inn


A Room with Entertainment at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2014

This trip was one of the most relaxing and fascinating short term bed-and-breakfast stays. I've ever experienced! The incredible local history was made alive by Marti'a amazing stories spun in the first person as though it was happening today! The entire inn was a living Museum dotted with artifacts, displays, and books; all about the early American Revolutionary period. His antidotal stories of his life in the Navy and as a chef for the president at Camp David all made history seem more alive and personal! Add to that the beautiful rolling landscape of the rural community outside of Grover and you have yourself one of the best bed-and-breakfast experiences you'll ever have!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 26, 2014

The food is awesome! I enjoyed the cooking class as well. Marti was very accomodating, helpful, and welcoming. Would definitely visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT TIME AT THE INN! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

I love the Oceanius Room with the king size bed! Great hospitality by Chef Mongiello, his wife and beautiful daughter! Hearty homemade breakfast was the best part! A tour of the house was a great way to understand its history! We loved the cooking class and complimentary wine tasting! We will definitely be back for more!

View more reviews for this inn


Overall a Wonderful Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The inn keeper was very nice and very knowledgeable about the town. The food was absolutely amazing. We can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


4th of July Vacation at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on July 07, 2014

The Inns of the Patriot was a great choice for our 4th of July vacation. The tour was very interesting and the cooking class was great fun.

View more reviews for this inn


An enlightening experience. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on July 07, 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The opportunity to talk to Chef Marti with his seemingly endless amount of information on history (world, american and presidential) cooking and presentation was priceless. We had a delicious meal at Nifen and we purchased a few bottles at the Baker Buffalo Creak winery while having a long talk with Ann (owner and hospitality professional).

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Inn of the Patriots (4.50)
Top
}